View Full Version : Favourite Australian Artists
mouldy_bread
24 Jun 2003, 12:04
Just wondering who your favourite Aussie artists are?
There's so many quality acts around.
My faves.. Kasey Chambers, Darren Hanlon, Magic Dirt, One Dollar Short and Something for Kate.
Also don't mind 28 Days.
happy_in_hell
24 Jun 2003, 12:09
Nick Cave, Paul Kelly, Jebediah, Something For Kate, INXS, Superheist (loved what Kelly did with their CD on the Osbournes last week:D ), Two Up.
More to come as I think of them. i love and support Aussie Music
The Clouds and The Falling Joys are my all-time favourite Aussie acts, but I also like The Hummingbirds, Def FX (early stuff), The Divinyls, Midnight Oil, Stella One Eleven and Waikiki.
Deestroy
24 Jun 2003, 13:56
A few of my Aussie favs: Sunk Loto, Bodyjar, Frenzal Rhomb, 28 Days, INXS, Superheist, For Amusement Only, Jebediah, Grinspoon.
Mobbenfuhrer
24 Jun 2003, 14:27
TISM, Olivia NJ (pseudo-Aust), Hunters & Collectors, Died Pretty, Schnell Fenster.
hans moleman
24 Jun 2003, 14:53
custard, you am i
oldies..... Pseudo Echo, 1927, OMD, LRB, ONJ, inXs, Boom Crash Opera, Dragon, Misex....
fitzmantle
24 Jun 2003, 16:35
Dirty Three, The Church, The Hummingbirds
The Living End, Something for Kate, Grinspoon, Midnight Oil, Ben Lee, Jebediah
BomberGal
24 Jun 2003, 17:50
Powderfinger, Motor Ace (mostly before their latest album, this recent stuff is too poppy for them), CrashPalace, The Vines (I know, I know), and I don't mind Something For Kate, Midnight Oil and The Living End. Oh, and the Superjesus.
Can't stand 28 Days.
lioness
24 Jun 2003, 18:00
Midnight Oil, Boom Crash Opera, Southern Sons, INXS, 1927.
A couple more: Silverchair, Things of Stone and Wood.
Noddy Holder
24 Jun 2003, 18:40
My Top Ten Aussie Bands of all Time
1. INXS
2. Midnight Oil
3. AC/DC
4. Men At Work
5. Dragon
6. Divinyls
7. Savage Garden
8. Eurogliders
9. Cold Chisel
10. Icehouse
Port1978
24 Jun 2003, 20:04
Jimmy Barnes
Cold Chisel
Crowded House (not sure if they're Australian or NZ...)
Savage Garden
INXS
windyhill
24 Jun 2003, 20:25
Acca Dacca , Skyhooks , Cosmic Pyshcos.
mouldy_bread
24 Jun 2003, 20:30
Originally posted by BomberGal
Motor Ace (mostly before their latest album, this recent stuff is too poppy for them)
I love Five Star Laundry, but I agree that their most recent album is absolute crud.
manutd/dogs
24 Jun 2003, 21:14
silverchair
Powderfinger
The Whitlams
motorasis (after songs like 'When the Feeling Is Gone', the path is now clear)
Something For Kate
The Vines could still be something... maybe...
Don't mind You Am I and The Waifs either.
Dogwatcher
24 Jun 2003, 21:17
Crowded House
Split Enz
Dragon
The Datsuns
Dave Dobbyn
Mi-Sex
Russell Crowe
The Swingers
Noiseworks
Great Australian performers IMO.
Mobbenfuhrer
24 Jun 2003, 21:46
Originally posted by Dogwatcher
Crowded House
Split Enz
Dragon
The Datsuns
Dave Dobbyn
Mi-Sex
Russell Crowe
The Swingers
Noiseworks
I thought the Swingers were Aussies? If not, I better remove Schnell Fenster from my list.
The Scarecrow
24 Jun 2003, 23:32
INXS, Powderfinger, The Living End, Silverchair, Grinspoon, Australian Crawl, Men At Work, AC/DC, Jimmy Barnes, Johnny O'Keefe.
The Scarecrow
24 Jun 2003, 23:34
Crowded House
Split Enz
Dragon
The Datsuns
Dave Dobbyn
Mi-Sex
Russell Crowe
The Swingers
Noiseworks
I thought Split Enz were New Zealanders?
silverchair, sunk loto, grinners
Crowded House
Split Enz
Dragon
The Datsuns
Dave Dobbyn
Mi-Sex
Russell Crowe
The Swingers
Noiseworks
lol... nice list :D
richard hadlee is my fave aussie cricketer of all time ~
re artists...
regurgitator
Woodson
25 Jun 2003, 00:43
Originally posted by DonFan
My Top Ten Aussie Bands of all Time
1. INXS
2. Midnight Oil
3. AC/DC
4. Men At Work
5. Dragon
6. Divinyls
7. Savage Garden
8. Eurogliders
9. Cold Chisel
10. Icehouse
Still think that 'The Models' were very underated...where is Hoodoo Gurus ??? Ever heard of Skyhooks and the Easybeats...
Australian music rates highly with me... :) Don't like comparing as each one has given us great value...even Angry Anderson in the infamous Batmobile :o Fav All time Aussie band in my view....the Oooooilllls !!
Noddy Holder
25 Jun 2003, 00:53
Originally posted by Woodson
Still think that 'The Models' were very underated...where is Hoodoo Gurus ??? Ever heard of Skyhooks and the Easybeats...
Australian music rates highly with me... :) Don't like comparing as each one has given us great value...even Angry Anderson in the infamous Batmobile :o Fav All time Aussie band in my view....the Oooooilllls !!
My top ten was purely my own opinion ranked on how big a fan I am of each group not on how successful I think they were. I was never really a big fan of Hoodoo Gurus or Shyhooks.
Katthawk
25 Jun 2003, 01:14
Not in order -
Aussie Crawl
Crowded House
Inxs
The Church
Something for Kate
Split Enz
Hoodoo Gurus
Icehouse
(thanks for reminding me of some of these) :D
JEBEDIAH.....more Jebediah and then some Jebs :D
Other aussie acts I enjoy...
Silverchair
Powderfinger
The Vines
Living End
Something For Kate
Crowded House (if considered Aussie)
mouldy_bread
25 Jun 2003, 09:19
Originally posted by The Scarecrow
I thought Split Enz were New Zealanders?
We claim all Kiwi talent as our own.
Leaping Lindner
25 Jun 2003, 09:24
Keeping it to five(as I could list heaps more)
The Saints, Radio Birdman, TISM, Scientists, and Skyhooks (What can I say I was a teenybopper in the mid-70's:D )
Of current recording artists Paul Kelly and Nick Cave (well until the last two albums anyway.)
For the record (reckon we've done this one before) Crowded House are technically two thirds australian (Seymour and Hester).
go team
25 Jun 2003, 09:43
Dallas Crane, You Am I, Sleepy Jackson, Warped, Augie March
BomberGal
25 Jun 2003, 09:53
Originally posted by mouldy_bread
I love Five Star Laundry, but I agree that their most recent album is absolute crud.
Do you have their EP, or know the songs on it? My fave MA song is Chromakey from the EP, which unfortunately is not on either album. But at least they play it live! :D :)
doug thomas
25 Jun 2003, 10:18
My favourite Aussie bands.
This is from a LIVE point of view:
Hard-Ons
Cosmic Psychos
Happy Hate Me Nots
Psychotic Turnbuckles
Pollyanna
Exploding White Mice
Celibate Rifles
The Spikes
DT
Leaping Lindner
25 Jun 2003, 10:27
Originally posted by doug thomas
My favourite Aussie bands.
This is from a LIVE point of view:
Hard-Ons
Cosmic Psychos
Happy Hate Me Nots
Psychotic Turnbuckles
Pollyanna
Exploding White Mice
Celibate Rifles
The Spikes
DT
Nice list DT. Did you by any chance see the Hard Ons/Celibate Rifles gig at the venue in the early 1990s? Brilliant show. Also I reckon I saw the Mice 100+ times and never saw a bad gig.
doug thomas
25 Jun 2003, 10:50
Originally posted by Leaping Lindner
Nice list DT. Did you by any chance see the Hard Ons/Celibate Rifles gig at the venue in the early 1990s? Brilliant show. Also I reckon I saw the Mice 100+ times and never saw a bad gig.
No I didn't but I remember the so called last gig of the Hard-Ons before their current reformation. It was at The Proscinium (not sure of spelling) with TMOC. There were guys climbing onto the wooden rafters which were about 10 metres up and the "crowd controllers" were having a hard time getting to them. One of the dudes knocked a huge mirror ball off and how it didn't scone anyone no- one knows! Nearing the end of the Hard Ons gig this other dude fell from the rafter flat on his back. What a funny night.:p
LL did you ever see the EWM's play at a little bar in Fenn Place just off of Hindley street? Can't remember the name of it. It was the night the bass player Andy was so out of it he could hardly stand at all, swaying all over the stage. Eventually he fell over the drum kit and it was goodnight from Andy McQueen. The Mice just played on! They were excellent live.:D
DT
The Scarecrow
25 Jun 2003, 12:17
Just like they claim our talent...sounds fair.
AC\DC
Icehouse
Hoodoo Gurus
Noiseworks
Spiderbait
Regurgitator
You Am I
Silverchair (Not the first 2 albums)
Gina G. Ha, remember her! :p
Asprilla
25 Jun 2003, 19:39
You Am I, INXS, Powderfinger
catattack
25 Jun 2003, 20:26
Powderfinger and The Living End
mouldy_bread
25 Jun 2003, 22:30
Originally posted by BomberGal
Do you have their EP, or know the songs on it? My fave MA song is Chromakey from the EP, which unfortunately is not on either album. But at least they play it live! :D :)
Don't have it and don't know the songs on it, but I may have heard the song you are talking about. Saw them live when I went to see Blink 182, they were excellent, way better than Bodyjar and Blink who were freakin' awful.
Going to look on eBay, to see if I can find that EP :)
harry_hawka
25 Jun 2003, 23:20
My top ten- both new and old:
1. Midnight Oil
2. AC/DC
3. Grinspoon
4. 28 Days
5. The Whitlams
6. INXS
7. Silverchair (Frogstomp and some of Diorama)
8. Hoodoo Gurus
9. Frenzal Rhomb
10. Powderfinger
Delta goodrum
Human nature
silverchair
28 days
emmanuel carella
I like most aussie artists.
Dogwatcher
26 Jun 2003, 09:47
The Proscinium (not sure of spelling) .:D DT
Just for interests sake it is: The Proscenium.
Great place to go. Never forget seeing a whole dancefloor vacated cos some guy cut his arm to shreds on the dancefloor while dancing to Nine Inch Nails - Closer.
Scary stuff.
Dogwatcher
26 Jun 2003, 09:50
oh yeah, I forgot to add these bands to my list of favourites:
Push Push, Straitjacket Fits and Headless Chickens.
PS: I will put up a real response as soon as i can align all of the stars in their rightful places.
Leaping Lindner
26 Jun 2003, 10:42
oh yeah, I forgot to add these bands to my list of favourites:
Push Push, Straitjacket Fits and Headless Chickens.
PS: I will put up a real response as soon as i can align all of the stars in their rightful places.
You forgot The Verlaines and The Bats.
Leaping Lindner
26 Jun 2003, 10:48
No I didn't but I remember the so called last gig of the Hard-Ons before their current reformation. It was at The Proscinium (not sure of spelling) with TMOC. There were guys climbing onto the wooden rafters which were about 10 metres up and the "crowd controllers" were having a hard time getting to them. One of the dudes knocked a huge mirror ball off and how it didn't scone anyone no- one knows! Nearing the end of the Hard Ons gig this other dude fell from the rafter flat on his back. What a funny night.:p
LL did you ever see the EWM's play at a little bar in Fenn Place just off of Hindley street? Can't remember the name of it. It was the night the bass player Andy was so out of it he could hardly stand at all, swaying all over the stage. Eventually he fell over the drum kit and it was goodnight from Andy McQueen. The Mice just played on! They were excellent live.:D
DT
I don't remember a venue down at that end of Hindley Street. Was this post 1994? Poor Andy and his "self-medicating".
I was at Mice gig once just after Giles left where he(Giles) jumped up on stage and attacked the T-Shirt(a EMW one) that Dave Mason was wearing with a texta! Unbelieveable.
One of the last Mice gigs I went to before moving to Victoria was a Sunday Arvo gig in the back room at The Crown and Anchor and I reckon that Jeff Stephens, Johnny Cave (who was mixing) and myself were the oldest guys there. They had this whole new audience which was pretty impressive I remember thinking.
Also missed the Hard ons/MOC double bill but should mention I also found The MOC to be a shirt hot live band.
Rusty Brookes
26 Jun 2003, 12:24
Give me a shot:
The Saints, Radio Birdman, the Eastern Dark, the Celibate Rifles, the Easybeats, the Master's Apprentices, the New Christs, AC/DC, Rose Tattoo, the Coloured Balls, the Loved Ones, The Missing Links, the Scientists, Cosmic Psychos, the Sunnyboys.
doug thomas
26 Jun 2003, 12:29
I don't remember a venue down at that end of Hindley Street. Was this post 1994?
also found The MOC to be a shirt hot live band.
Definately post 94, IIRC I would have said 86-87.
And yes, TMOC are an awesome live band.
DT
fitzmantle
26 Jun 2003, 14:29
Originally posted by Leaping Linder
You forgot The Verlaines and The Bats .
And the 3Ds, Bailter Space and Garageland
BomberGal
26 Jun 2003, 16:56
Don't have it and don't know the songs on it, but I may have heard the song you are talking about. Saw them live when I went to see Blink 182, they were excellent, way better than Bodyjar and Blink who were freakin' awful.
Going to look on eBay, to see if I can find that EP :)
If you can't find it, I'd be happy to burn it for you.
BTW, two of the songs on there are on FSL - Criminal Past, and Chairman of the Board.
Fat Pizza
26 Jun 2003, 16:58
Current:
Digby
The Living End
The Louisville Sluggers
Klinger
The Lucksmiths
Oldies:
Moving Pictures
Mi-Sex (I guess we're including NZers)
Skyhooks
The Angels
Wendy & the Rocketts
Mental As Anything
Hoodoo Gurus
Easybeats
Leaping Lindner
26 Jun 2003, 18:08
Unless it's Mark Williams and Dave Dobbyn (shudder)!
icehouse
26 Jun 2003, 19:29
Icehouse
Something For Kate
AC/DC
Grinspoon and The Whitlams a small bit
Ray Nolan
26 Jun 2003, 23:56
Crowded House (there were more Aussies than any other nationality in the band most of the time)
The Superjesus
Something For Kate
Powderfinger
The Vines
Motor Ace
INXS
George
The Lovetones
Dogwatcher
27 Jun 2003, 09:52
Unless it's Mark Williams and Dave Dobbyn (shudder)!
Sorry Leaper: Dave Dobbyn has been named an Australian artist.
I have cd box set of Australia's greatest hits from the 1950s to the 1990s and he's on it.
Very good compilation set - still available but you have to order it. if anyone wants to know more about it, let me know. it's great for parties.
Ummmm....as for adding the 3Ds the verlaines and Garageland.....I dont think theyve ever been claimed as Aussies, well at least I dont think so.
McAlmanac
27 Jun 2003, 10:17
Unless it's Mark Williams (shudder)!
C'mon - Show No Mercy and the theme from Home & Away; it doesn't get any better. ;)
Isn't Jenny Morris a Kiwi? Mark Williams used to do backing vocals for her on her early albums (I'm ashamed I know that).
McAlmanac
27 Jun 2003, 10:21
LL did you ever see the EWM's play at a little bar in Fenn Place just off of Hindley street? Can't remember the name of it.
Limbo? Strange sort of place. I saw Jeff Duff (from Kush; remember THEM?) there once - one weird dude.
Leaping Lindner
27 Jun 2003, 11:23
Originally posted by McAlmanac
C'mon - Show No Mercy and the theme from Home & Away; it doesn't get any better. ;)
Isn't Jenny Morris a Kiwi? Mark Williams used to do backing vocals for her on her early albums (I'm ashamed I know that).
She sure is. First came to Australia as part of the band "The Crocodiles" and then had some chart success with QED.
Re: this NZ/Australian debate let's put in footballing terms. Stephen Kernahan moved to Victoria to further(?) his football career in the 1980's and has lived here since. Is he now a Victorian or still a South Australian?
St-KriS
27 Jun 2003, 12:03
Mine would be...
Grinspoon
Jerk
Something For Kate (They're really grown on me with there last 2 albums, I used to loathe them)
Aussie Crawl
Ben Harper (He's basically Australian right? He's over here all the time :p )
Testeagles (what happened to them? :confused: )
Machine Gun Fellatio
The Living End
As we are including New Zealanders, I'll add Mi-Sex to my list. Also I forgot to add the Masters Apprentices.
McAlmanac
27 Jun 2003, 13:03
She sure is. First came to Australia as part of the band "The Crocodiles" and then had some chart success with QED.
I saw QED at the Findon. :eek:
Craig McLoughlan & Check 1, 2.
Melissa Tkautz
Bruce Samazan
Collette
Mark Jackson
Peter McKenna
McAlmanac
27 Jun 2003, 15:18
The Triffids
You Am I
Hoodoo Gurus
Icecream Hands
The Stems
Huxton Creepers
Blackeyed Susans (early on)
AC/DC
The Sports
Even
Honourable mention - Jon English
Wicked Lester
27 Jun 2003, 15:53
Tom Roberts
Frederick McCubbin
Conrad Martens
Arthur Streeton
and
Warwick Capper
Mobbenfuhrer
27 Jun 2003, 15:54
Honourable mention - Jon English
He had a great album with some pearlers on it ... one I think was called Darl Horses, another about glass houses I think ... I bought it for a birthday pressie for my sister ... now I feel like breaking and entering here place and stealing it! :D (that bit is a joke)
Mobbenfuhrer
27 Jun 2003, 15:57
Here it is : http://www.angelfire.com/rock3/jonenglish/darkhorses.html
http://www.angelfire.com/rock3/jonenglish/jondarkhorses.JPG
JON ENGLISH
"Dark Horses"
Released in Australia in 1986 on Warner Music. Catalog no. ? (LP) and ? (Music Cassette)
Overture
Dark Horses
Treat It Like A Lady
Winds Of Limbo
I Can Do Better Than That
The Best In Me
Another Brand New Day
Baby Got Style
Mr. Nice Guy <--- Kev note : loved this one.
Emotion
Glass Houses
Rasputin
NakedDeadGuy
27 Jun 2003, 18:54
Hoodoo Gurus
Weddings Parties Anything/Mick Thomas & The Sure Thing
Midnight Oil
Hunters & Collectors
You Am I
Australian Crawl
INXS
Falling Joys
Paul Kelly
Seven Stories
Silverchair
Angels
Icehouse
Saints
Stems
Spiderbait
Boom Crash Opera
AC DC
Jo Camillieri
Grogette
28 Jun 2003, 08:59
1927, Angels, Men at Work, Savage Garden, Crowded House. :p
Grogette
28 Jun 2003, 09:03
Originally posted by Wicked Lester
Tom Roberts
This guy is actually my favourite "Artist" especially his painting "A break away" painted in 1891 , RIP Tom (1856-1951) :(
Roberts did a lot of good work of that period which explains why he did the opening of parliament at the Exhibition buildings in 1901.
If anyone hasn't yet seen it and can make it you've got to go the Federation square in Melbourne and view the Australian exhibition of the NGV which is now there.
beckybiglands
28 Jun 2003, 17:10
grinspoon, MGF, one dollar short, bodyjar, living end, jebediah, you am i, vines, etc etc, the list goes on......
aussie alternate music rocks off my socks!
RoosLuver
28 Jun 2003, 17:48
INXS
Savage Garden
Delta Goodrem
Australian Crawl
The Whitlams
Kasey Chambers
Men at Work
LionHeart20
28 Jun 2003, 18:05
Powderfinger
Killing Heidi
The Vines
Motor Ace
Delta Goodrem
the Superjesus
Silverchair
Originally posted by -PC28-
The Waifs & Jimi Hocking
Jimi the Human & Spectre 7. Awesome stuff.
robbie67
29 Jun 2003, 22:25
Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds/ The Birthday Party
You Am I
The Saints/Ed Kuepper
The Vines
Radio Birdman
Paul Kelly
Even
The Cruel Sea
The Sunnyboys
The Triffids
The Easybeats
The Dirty Three
The Go-Betweens
Died Pretty
Frente
The Hoodoo Gurus
Spiderbait
Something for Kate
Blue Ruin
The Mark of Cain
The Hummingbirds
The Church
TISM
Custard
Inxs
Ben Lee
Sleepy Jackson
Front End Loader
Damaged
Body Jar
One Inch Punch
Pangaea
Shihad/Pacifier (i know)
Gone off You Am I, but i was once a massive fan
Inxs and Midnight Oil were my first music heros
I really wish Regurgitator would release a good album so i can like them again
Not sure i'm a fan of the band, but Magic Dirt's "what are Rockstars Doing today" was a massive fav album from last year or so
Mr Eagle
1 Jul 2003, 03:20
Originally posted by NakedDeadGuy
Hunters & Collectors How does it take four pages for such legends to get their first mention???
Mobbenfuhrer
1 Jul 2003, 08:00
First page.
Originally posted by Mobbenfuhrer
TISM, Olivia NJ (pseudo-Aust), Hunters & Collectors, Died Pretty, Schnell Fenster.
Dogwatcher
1 Jul 2003, 09:23
Originally posted by Carlos
I really wish Regurgitator would release a good album so i can like them again
I'm assuming you like their old stuff better than their new stuff?
Fat Pizza
1 Jul 2003, 10:07
I'm assuming you like their old stuff better than their new stuff? ;)
cjwalkley
1 Jul 2003, 10:21
Weddings Parties Anything
The Lucksmiths
Paul Kelly
The Simpletons
Painters and Dockers
Midnight Oil
Those Bloody McKennas
Mirth/Gentle Persuasion
John Williamson
Slim Dusty
The Clip Clop Club
Mr Eagle
1 Jul 2003, 13:31
First page. Second mention then. My point remains ;)
McAlmanac
1 Jul 2003, 17:17
Originally posted by cjwalkley
The Clip Clop Club
As in the guys who play at the George Public Bar in St Kilda on a Saturday arvo? They are fan-bloody-tastic!
cjwalkley
2 Jul 2003, 10:31
As in the guys who play at the George Public Bar in St Kilda on a Saturday arvo? They are fan-bloody-tastic!
The one and only!
Dad found mum's hand in the haybale
Torn off at the wrist, sort of dried up and crisp
Dad found mum's hand in the haybale!
Dogwatcher
5 Jul 2003, 18:10
I thought the Swingers were Aussies? If not, I better remove Schnell Fenster from my list.
Been meaning to get back to this for some time Kev:
From the compilation It's bigger than both of us (NZ singles 1979 -82).
The Swingers.
Bones Hillman - bass. Buster Stiggs - drums, Phil Judd - guitar vocals.
Debut single: One Good Reason.
A band which grew out of the suburban reptiles and the only one they made in NZ before stardom in Australia.
Buster was in The Models for a while and Bones ended up in Coconut Rough and Midnight Oil under his real name Wayne Stevens.
Also featured on this double cd are the screaming meemees, the chills, the tall dwarfs, danse macabre and the androids.
Leaping Lindner
6 Jul 2003, 22:07
...........The Swingers.
Bones Hillman - bass. Buster Stiggs - drums, Phil Judd - guitar vocals.
Debut single: One Good Reason.
A band which grew out of the suburban reptiles and the only one they made in NZ before stardom in Australia.
Buster was in The Models for a while and Bones ended up in Coconut Rough and Midnight Oil under his real name Wayne Stevens.
As a matter of interest "One good reason" was also the flipside of their debut aussie single "Counting the Beat" but the aussie release was a "slicker" more produced version. I use to have the original NZ 45 and it was the superior version despite being "rougher"(or probably because of it.)
Coconut rough also featured on vocals Arnold Snold who sung with The Swingers after they recorded their one and only LP and subsequently never recorded with them. Their song "Sierra Leonne" is a classic bit of 80's electro pop.
happy_in_hell
6 Jul 2003, 23:04
Has anyone mentioned Craig MacLachlan, Jason Donovan and Peter Andre yet?
If not, why not?:D
Mona, Especially For You and Funky Junky should be part of every Australian Great Songlist!:D
Kylie Minogue :D
Silverchair
Dannii
Delta Goodrem
Amiel
The Living End
Disco Montego