View Full Version : North.

Pages : [1] 2

King Elvis
15 Jul 2010, 11:39
I like this guy, but why is he still in the side?

http://www.theage.com.au/sport/cricket/north-exposure-20100714-10b3a.html

The left-hander's dismissal for a third-ball duck on the first day of the match continued his record of failing to pass 10 in more than half of his innings at Test level. North's 25 innings since his promotion to the Australian team in the summer of 2008-09 have produced a total of 945 runs, although 797 of those runs - 84.3 per cent - have come from eight innings. In the remaining 17 innings he has scored 148 runs at an average of 8.7.

He's a 70% chance to score less than 10 when he strides out to bat, which makes him a massive liability and puts pressure on all of those around him.

He isn't a Ponting, Hussey or Katich, he hasn't got a ton of credits in the bank to carry him through a poor patch of form.

This is going to come back and bite us on the arse, right now is the time we should be playing Khawaja, Hughes or Klinger, to see if they're up to it. Otherwise, we'll be half way through the Ashes discussing who to bring in for North, and fretting because none of those guys have been given the chance to prove they're well and truly up to it.

But we know North isn't.

djrossie
15 Jul 2010, 12:46
To me he's like a "poor mans" Brian Lara with his batting style. I think we need a fighter that far down in the order. We have too many attacking batsman like North Haddin and now Paine. We need another Katich:cool:

BERBA
15 Jul 2010, 20:39
He has a huge chance to score a ton when it matters right now :thumbsu:

Goldencats
15 Jul 2010, 23:39
He has a huge chance to score a ton when it matters right now :thumbsu:

and still fails :thumbsu: surely next test is his last chance

Doodlesweaver
16 Jul 2010, 06:09

Problem is, can Khawaja play spin?

Can any of our young batsmen play spin? I'd like to know where they learnt if they can.

Marcus North was one of the leading spin bowlers in Sheffield Shield cricket last year. Shows how cruddy the standard is.

Series before this North had a ton and an 80. I think he'll be at least on the tour to India. I'll be really surprised if he isn't as launching Khawaja on to the world stage on turners in India is just mean.

Doodlesweaver
16 Jul 2010, 06:26

One of the stupidest things I've seen from the Aus team (even though it came off by some miracle) was sending Mitchell Johnson, whose batting form is even lamer than North's, out to protect North.

Despite the fact that Johnson did a sterling job under difficult conditions, it just shows how up shit creek we are going to be against decent teams.

Cousin Jed
16 Jul 2010, 08:42
Every team uses the old night watchmen these days :confused:

jimmy_clement#8
16 Jul 2010, 09:54

Can any of our young batsmen play spin? I'd like to know where they learnt if they can.

Marcus North was one of the leading spin bowlers in Sheffield Shield cricket last year. Shows how cruddy the standard is.

Series before this North had a ton and an 80. I think he'll be at least on the tour to India. I'll be really surprised if he isn't as launching Khawaja on to the world stage on turners in India is just mean.
Khawaja isn't great against spin. And that's probably flattering.

HSSB
16 Jul 2010, 12:12
I thought the exact same thing, poor summer and he's still put in the team, wtf?

Phone
16 Jul 2010, 12:14
Have you guys forgotten he pretty much dominated during the NZ tour? He probably shouldn't have been in the team for that tour, but he deserved his place for this tour.

Goldencats
16 Jul 2010, 12:29
Have you guys forgotten he pretty much dominated during the NZ tour? He probably shouldn't have been in the team for that tour, but he deserved his place for this tour.

As I have said, you practically have to have broken a leg to get out the current side, according to the selectors one good score in every 6 innings is good enough to keep you in the side, despite the other 5 being scores below 20

A trademark of Australian sides in the past is that they crave consistency, that doesn't seem to be the case anymore, it's more of a case that the selectors don't hae enough faith in our younger brigade who are the cornerstone of the future of Australian cricket

Caesar
16 Jul 2010, 13:14
I think we all knew that after no significant changes to the side were made for the first Test of the Australian summer, this was probably going to be the batting order we carried into the Ashes series.

Quite simply we all know that the selectors are very conservative about changing the team, and the 18 months between the Ashes have been so full of uniformly rubbish teams that it's been pretty much impossible for any halfway decent batsmen not to make enough runs to keep him in the side.

Kram81
16 Jul 2010, 22:17
Picked up a couple of wickets :p

edit - another one, brilliance from Katich.

rhaz
16 Jul 2010, 22:35
**** sake. He has this annoying habit of popping up with handy runs or wickets right when he is most likely about to be dropped.

Monocle
16 Jul 2010, 22:41
4 Wickets is a very handy contribution. :thumbsu:

360noscope
16 Jul 2010, 23:19
North is a very handy player indeed. :D

Jimpson
16 Jul 2010, 23:24
Greatest allrounder since Sobers

Kim Hagdorn
16 Jul 2010, 23:40
What a gun.

lemmon
16 Jul 2010, 23:45
Bowling hand grenades

Monocle
16 Jul 2010, 23:56
6 for. :D

All over...................... great effort MN. :thumbsu::thumbsu:

King Elvis
17 Jul 2010, 03:32
Meh, his job is to make runs.

Doodlesweaver
17 Jul 2010, 05:27

Can't believe I wrote this tosh. What was I thinking? The man is a bowling GENIUS.

Well, I wasn't expecting us to get the Ashes back anyway.

Xtreme
17 Jul 2010, 08:41
Life imitating art

He's a handy spinner (much more effective that Hauritz, Clarke, White etc) in International Cricket 2010 on the 360 :p and Ashes 2009.

crownie
17 Jul 2010, 11:56
Meh, his job is to make runs.

i think if you are being bowled your job is to take wickets :p

Axel.
17 Jul 2010, 12:17
Bowling hand grenades

This.

Subaru Impreza
17 Jul 2010, 13:01
Im a fan of Marcus North, think he is one of the more liked players in the dressing room.

Great to see him bag 6 wickets last night, seems to have a liking for English conditions. (Did well in the Ashes in that final test too)

Think if he can hold a role as an all rounder, having him and another specialist spinner in the team can do wonders.

I personally, think , he will have gained confidence out of this test, and this could lead to his batting improving at the same time.

triplejdude
17 Jul 2010, 16:24
We don't need him as a spinner though. IMO would far prefer Smith.

There's big wraps on Khawaja, what would it have hurt to bring him in for a couple of nothing tests against a crap opposition? Let him prove what he's made of before the Ashes.

A bit of abstract thinking from the selectors would have paid off massively instead of having North failing time and again.

triplejdude
17 Jul 2010, 16:25
On another note, when was the last time an Australian player was so maligned after taking 6 wickets in any form?

The Reaper
17 Jul 2010, 16:51
On another note, when was the last time an Australian player was so maligned after taking 6 wickets in any form?

Hauritz?

On another note I find it quite amusing that North will be in the honor board at Lords

Johnson#26
17 Jul 2010, 21:27
Can't believe he took 6-55.

Where was my call up? :@

Jimpson
17 Jul 2010, 22:37
Why is Kwahaja pumped up so much on here? He's had one good season. Seems like whenever some young NSW player has a half decent series everyone wants him in the test team.

If we're going to play a young NSWelshman i'd rather go with Hughes, even if we put him out of position at number 6.

Caesar
18 Jul 2010, 19:49
Khawaja gets a rap because he's one of the few young batsmen playing regularly and succeeding at first class level. How many other guys under 25 are putting runs on the board in Sheffield Shield?

It has nothing to do with his state. Victoria has no right to whinge about Khawaja getting attention when they have let talented youngsters like Michael Hill languish in the Second XI for years.

gbatman
23 Jul 2010, 20:24
North is a horrible batsman, just horrible. It's about time Philip Hughes realised he isn't an opener and is a middle oarder batsman and takes his place. Even Hauritz is a better batsman than North. Even Khawaja is a better option.

King Elvis
23 Jul 2010, 20:26
Get rid of him ffs sakes, he's not up to it.

Mentally weak.

Dujon11
23 Jul 2010, 20:41
Has to be dropped, is in horrible form.

Blue Dimension
23 Jul 2010, 20:49
I can't believe how many lives he has had, and how few Hughes had. What a joke.

Hughes is by far a better option than North no matter where in the order he bats.

Cousin Jed
23 Jul 2010, 20:56
Sometimes you use the big scores to show how much talent a player has.

In North's case the litany of failures just outweigh them by far too much. He can't even make it to 10.

Add in his disgraceful Shield efforts and it all proves he is clearly not up to it.

Must have his papers marked. But he won't. His spin bowling will keep him in in India

King Elvis
23 Jul 2010, 20:58
If North isn't dropped, I will vomit on myself.

And then, I demand support, we'll march on CA HeadQuarters.

Free Punch and Pie.

Johnson#26
23 Jul 2010, 21:54
Gotta get the boy off - Slug Jordan.

Zeke
23 Jul 2010, 22:09
It's time.

Toshowyouwhy
23 Jul 2010, 22:11
But, but, but, but...... he took 6 wickets!! He's therefore perfectly suited to be our number 6 bat!

It was all well and good to search for all rounders after the 05 Ashes when we had blokes that could do one thing well, now we've got dunces that are mediocre at everything and still getting a gig.

dumb
23 Jul 2010, 23:57
still the lowest score for the series, starting to stink. has to take 6 wickets just to make up for his shit this test.

Take Aim
24 Jul 2010, 01:21
It is all well and good to say a guy has to be dropped, but you then have to replace him.

Hughes is currently recovering from a shoulder reco, and is no certainity to right for the 2010/11 home season in Australia.

That leaves Kwahaja or Smith, both very inexperienced and Im not sure I want either of those guys at 6 at this stage.

2 tests is difficult for any batsmen to find form if they come in short of runs.

North averaged 105 from 3 innings in NZ with a 100 and a 50.

I think he deserves more time. I guess those 2 hundreds he scored in England last year count for nought as well?

gbatman
24 Jul 2010, 01:33
north lacks consistancy and he like haddin never make runs when it really counts, plus he looks horrible, poor technique etc. May as well move on. even hodge out of retirement would be better by miles.

Doodlesweaver
24 Jul 2010, 04:54
It is all well and good to say a guy has to be dropped, but you then have to replace him.

Hughes is currently recovering from a shoulder reco, and is no certainity to right for the 2010/11 home season in Australia.

That leaves Kwahaja or Smith, both very inexperienced and Im not sure I want either of those guys at 6 at this stage.

2 tests is difficult for any batsmen to find form if they come in short of runs.

North averaged 105 from 3 innings in NZ with a 100 and a 50.

I think he deserves more time. I guess those 2 hundreds he scored in England last year count for nought as well?

You are aware that his average is down to about 35 now?

Take Aim
24 Jul 2010, 06:30
Yeah, but what do we do?

It is alright saying he needs to be dropped, but he will then need to be replaced. Im not sure Smith is ready to take on a top 6 position. Hughes is injured. That leaves Kwaja (sp).

It is the off-season in Australia. Australian won't debut a batsmen for the 1st test at the Gabba unless it is due to injury.

North will probably be selected to go to India. In NZ he was great. I think it would be harsh to drop a guy after two test matchs that came in the middle of the off-season.

Im not convinced about North either, but until someone better comes along and puts their hand up I'll stick with him. Whether that is Hughes coming back from injury, or whatever.

England's attack in Australian conditions will be an easier prospect then Pakistan's attack with a duke cricket ball. We also need to keep that in mind.

Australia are most likely going to draw the series 1-1. Lets not get carried in terms of rolling the changes.

Doodlesweaver
24 Jul 2010, 06:51
Yeah, but what do we do?

It is alright saying he needs to be dropped, but he will then need to be replaced. Im not sure Smith is ready to take on a top 6 position. Hughes is injured. That leaves Kwaja (sp).

It is the off-season in Australia. Australian won't debut a batsmen for the 1st test at the Gabba unless it is due to injury.

North will probably be selected to go to India. In NZ he was great. I think it would be harsh to drop a guy after two test matchs that came in the middle of the off-season.

Im not convinced about North either, but until someone better comes along and puts their hand up I'll stick with him. Whether that is Hughes coming back from injury, or whatever.

England's attack in Australian conditions will be an easier prospect then Pakistan's attack with a duke cricket ball. We also need to keep that in mind.

Australia are most likely going to draw the series 1-1. Lets not get carried in terms of rolling the changes.

I know what you mean, I've said before that it is very unfair on a young player to debut them in India, especially if they are dicey against spin. And I think most of our young players probably are.

Take Aim
24 Jul 2010, 08:32
I guess one alternative is dropping Watson down to 6 and drafting in Hughes after he has recovered from injury. Im not sure on Hughes current rehab status, but I'd be surprised if his ready for the Indian tour.

Right now my gut feel is that North will tour India, after that is anyone's guess. Probably best to take it one series at a time, especially considering the next your is India with it's off-field perils and harsh on-field conditions. We only need to see what happened to Brett Lee after the 2008 Giardia episode which arugably cost him 6 months fitness and form.

sammy 2
24 Jul 2010, 10:16
it is all well and good to say a guy has to be dropped, but you then have to replace him.

Hughes is currently recovering from a shoulder reco, and is no certainity to right for the 2010/11 home season in australia.

That leaves kwahaja or smith, both very inexperienced and im not sure i want either of those guys at 6 at this stage.

North averaged 105 from 3 innings in nz with a 100 and a 50.

I think he deserves more time. I guess those 2 hundreds he scored in england last year count for nought as well?
more time' surely your takin the piss,i would rather mike whitney batting before north,at least hes a fighter and would do anything to try and hang around fight for his country.north is mentally weak.

nobbyiscool
24 Jul 2010, 10:34
i find this north scenario a bit bizarre.

he was initially selected over other batsmen because his bowling was seen as handy. but then it was rarely used.

for me, but the time he got the 6 for, it was akin to gillespie's 200 - it meant little for future selection, because as great as the performance was, it isn't what he's in the side for.

two options for me... one is cameron white, because i'm still holding onto hope that he's our next test captain rather than clarke. option two is haddin at 6 with smith at 7 i reckon.

Power21
24 Jul 2010, 10:53
Klinger.

Has plundered runs for two seasons down here in SA, been one of, if not the best, batsmen at domestic level yet doesn't get a look in.

Caesar
24 Jul 2010, 11:01
Plundering runs when your home ground is Adelaide Oval is expected. Besides, someone Klinger's age is hardly the future of Test cricket.

King Elvis
24 Jul 2010, 11:36
He's made runs everywhere though, hasn't he?

And right now, I'm not worried about 12-24 months from now, I'm worried about winning the Ashes.

Klinger should be looked out; consistent performer who deserves a chance - he's not going to be any worse than North.

We'll then probably have Hussey retire at the end of this summer - bring Khawaja or Hughes in then.

Drawn series isn't good enough.

These Selectors need to stop accepting losses so readily.

Chris25
24 Jul 2010, 12:03
Callum Ferguson will be in the team by the end of the season. Obviously he will have to put in the time at SA after coming off a lengthy layoff, but I'm expecting a big season from him. Plus he has actually shown he is capable at international level.

I think a lot will depend on what happens with Haddin and Hauritz. If they are both fit, then I wouldn't be surprised to see Khawaja get the first chance in India. But if Paine and Smith are still in the team, I'd expect them to stick with North solely to avoid such an inexperienced middle order.

The Governor
24 Jul 2010, 13:05
Hi,

As I have been blogging on this forum for the past 18 months, the Australian cricket selectors have to make the bold tough decisions for the long term interests of Australian cricket. With our top test players having huge sponsorship contracts and mortages to pay, our selection panel led by Andrew Hilditch has not been prepared to make the tough decisions in the same manner as Trevor "Cracker" Hohns. The selection panel has been prepared to reward average to poor performances instead of looking at the bigger picture.

Stephen Smith is the best young talent in Australian cricket and the selectors have to bite the bullet and bat him at the number 6 position for the 2 test matches in India in October this year. He is an attacking batsman who can give the side an x-factor at the number 6 position. He is not afraid to take up the opposition bowlers in the mould of a Doug Walters and Andrew Symonds, and he lives by the phrase, "attack is the best form of defence".

The selectors should drop Marcus North and Michael Hussey from the side for the long term interests of Australian cricket. Will these two left handers play for Australia in 2013? I don't think so.

And, I would make the bold move and pick Usman Khawaja as a replacement for Michael Hussey.

Yes, I know I am being bold, crazy and eccentric.

But, lets go back to June 2005. The English selectors with RW Marsh as head of the UK Academy and an English Selector had to choose between Kevin Pietersen or Graeme Thorpe. Graeme Thorpe was a loyal servant to English cricket and Pietersen had the runs on the board at County level for Hampshire. The English selectors picked Pietersen ahead of Thorpe and English cricket have not looked back.

This is my TEST XI for the 1st TEST MATCH AGAINST INDIA

Simon Katich
Shane Watson
Ricky Ponting (CAPTAIN)
Michael Clarke
Usman Khawaja
Stephen Smith
Brad Haddin
Nathan Hauritz
Mitchell Johnson
Clint Mackay
Doug Bollinger

In my opinion, Mitchell Johnson's future in the test side has to be questioned. Even though he can bat, you cannot classify him in the same class as Aamir. Gee, Aamir bowls with a great action and after the release the ball from his hand, the seam does not travel down to the batsman in a scrambled fashion.

THE GOVERNOR

Axel.
24 Jul 2010, 13:17
Simon Katich
Shane Watson
Ricky Ponting (CAPTAIN)
Michael Clarke
Usman Khawaja
Stephen Smith
Brad Haddin
Nathan Hauritz
Mitchell Johnson
Clint Mackay
Doug Bollinger

Pretty solid team. I'd go with..

Katich
Hughes
Ponting (c)
Clarke
Watson
Smith
Paine (wk)
Hauritz
Johnson
Hilfenhaus
Bollinger

Doodlesweaver
24 Jul 2010, 17:52
Callum Ferguson will be in the team by the end of the season. Obviously he will have to put in the time at SA after coming off a lengthy layoff, but I'm expecting a big season from him. Plus he has actually shown he is capable at international level.

I think a lot will depend on what happens with Haddin and Hauritz. If they are both fit, then I wouldn't be surprised to see Khawaja get the first chance in India. But if Paine and Smith are still in the team, I'd expect them to stick with North solely to avoid such an inexperienced middle order.

They are going to have to put up with an inexperienced middle order at some time, but they are probably not prepared to put up with it till after the Ashes.

India's bowling attack, seam anyway, looks bloody ordinary (depending on Khan's fitness) so we aren't going to find out much there. Spin wise it depends if Bhaji is planning to hurl in flat darts or give it some air. They have other options, Sehwag is a very handy part-timer and almost any of the other young full-timers they pick will be better than anything we front up with.

Blue Dimension
24 Jul 2010, 18:09
Callum Ferguson will be in the team by the end of the season.

Ferguson had one good season which was preceded by a lot of seasons where he did not hit the mark. Yes, he did a great job when he pulled on the green and gold, but he's got to not only come back from a long layoff but also consistently put runs on the board. Phil Jaques is an example of how hard it is to do, and Jaquesy is a quality batsman. I'm betting it'll take Ferg a long while before he plays for Australia in Test cricket.

Doodlesweaver
24 Jul 2010, 18:30
Ferguson had one good season which was preceded by a lot of seasons where he did not hit the mark. Yes, he did a great job when he pulled on the green and gold, but he's got to not only come back from a long layoff but also consistently put runs on the board. Phil Jaques is an example of how hard it is to do, and Jaquesy is a quality batsman. I'm betting it'll take Ferg a long while before he plays for Australia in Test cricket.

Spot on. On another thread I compared him with Shaun Marsh. Good for a 50, not so hot for a ton and with the added comparison of only one good season despite having been around for a while.

We've already got too many in the team who can't push on to the big landmarks.

Chris25
24 Jul 2010, 18:30
After his Australian run last year, I'm betting the selectors would be pretty high on Ferguson. And when the selectors like someone, a good domestic season suddenly becomes a great season.

Omegaville
24 Jul 2010, 20:44
**** sake. He has this annoying habit of popping up with handy runs or wickets right when he is most likely about to be dropped.

Happened when Mike Hussey went through a lean patch... took him ages but he finally came through with a ton. Difference is, this isn't Mr Cricket, it's Marcus North.

Jonty Rhodes used to be like this for South Africa... picked for his fielding, when his position was questioned, he'd peel off a century and show he was still useful.

Michael Bevan.

Doodlesweaver
24 Jul 2010, 20:53
Happened when Mike Hussey went through a lean patch... took him ages but he finally came through with a ton. Difference is, this isn't Mr Cricket, it's Marcus North.

Jonty Rhodes used to be like this for South Africa... picked for his fielding, when his position was questioned, he'd peel off a century and show he was still useful.

Michael Bevan.

It's different with Huss. He's got credit in the bank from other formats as he can really adapt. North only plays test cricket and plays like a drain most of the time. His catching isn't even what it could be for a man who has been sitting in slips for WA for I don't know how long.

God this last match was weird. Really fine catchers like Huss and Watson dropped sitters and North took difficult ones. :confused:

dr nick
25 Jul 2010, 12:03
Statsguru wasn't working for a while on Marcus North.

I think it saved his career.

King Elvis
25 Jul 2010, 14:14
It's different with Huss. He's got credit in the bank from other formats as he can really adapt. North only plays test cricket and plays like a drain most of the time. His catching isn't even what it could be for a man who has been sitting in slips for WA for I don't know how long.

God this last match was weird. Really fine catchers like Huss and Watson dropped sitters and North took difficult ones. :confused:

I think he was saying that mate;

Difference is, this isn't Mr Cricket, it's Marcus North.

He arguably was given too much time to recover his form, but Huss has definitely earnt the right to be carried through a bit of a lean patch.

North hasn't.

courtjester
25 Jul 2010, 16:16
I figure that if Ponting, Hussey and Katich all suddenly retire, the selectors dont want to leave Clarke with just Watson and no one else.

People keep spruiking Khawaja and Ferguson (and i'm sure they're good), but if the three above retire in the next 12 months, it leaves us a bit bare:

1. Watson
2. ????
3. ????
4. Clarke
5. ????
6. North or ????

I know North isn't making runs, but i'm sure his experience counts for something...

jiphoc
25 Jul 2010, 17:16
I think Smith in for North. His batting is better then North's and his bowling has a lot more upside then Norths slow lollypops.

The Governor
25 Jul 2010, 18:07
I figure that if Ponting, Hussey and Katich all suddenly retire, the selectors dont want to leave Clarke with just Watson and no one else.

People keep spruiking Khawaja and Ferguson (and i'm sure they're good), but if the three above retire in the next 12 months, it leaves us a bit bare:

1. Watson
2. ????
3. ????
4. Clarke
5. ????
6. North or ????

I know North isn't making runs, but i'm sure his experience counts for something...

I totally agree with you on this one and I have blogging away for the past 18 months about the lack of forward planning by Andrew Hilditch, Ricky Ponting, Tim Nielsen, David Boon, Jamie Cox and Merv Hughes!!

Ever since the retirement of McGrath, Warne, Gilchrist, Hayden and Langer, the selectors have adopted stop gap selection decisions. These decisions include the selection of Marcus North and the continual persistence of using Mr Cricket.

Gee, under Trevor Hohns, we would have seen the sudden exits of Mr Cricket and the Master Chef from the Australian side ie Michael Hussey and Simon Katich for the long term interests of Australian cricket.

Can you honestly think that Katich, Hussey and North would tour the UK in 2013? Will they be in their prime of their careers? I don't think so.

The selectors have a wonderful opportunity to partner Shane Watson with Phil Hughes at the top of the order; play Usman Khawaja at number 5 and bat Stephen Smith at no 6. I have identified 3 players who have at least 10 years of test match cricket in their blood.

And, there is Aaron Finch from Victoria. Aaron Finch, in my opinion, is the ideal replacement for RIcky Ponting at the first drop position. He can attack, defend and he has all of the shots to bat at number 3!! He reminds me of a young Ricky Ponting back in 1995 to 1997.

Since 2007, Australian cricket has gone backwards. We lost the Ashes last year; struggled to beat the West Indies and Pakistan during 2009-2010 season and Pakistan beat us in the test match where Ricky displayed the captaincy traits of Kimberly John Hughes and William Morris Lawry!!

If Hussey, Katich and Ponting retire within a 12 month period, we will experience another dark period in Australian cricket. Where are the replacements? What has happened to the forward planning processes to allow young players like Smith, Finch, Hughes and Khawaja to learn from Ponting and Hussey? Andrew Hilditch and his fellow selection panel members are leaving in a fantasy world!! Gee, wake up!!

The selectors have followed the path of the West Indian selectors back in the late 80s and 90s by picking players for the short term instead of the long term interests of the test side. ENgland did not get anywhere from 1982 to 2003 until RW Marsh gave England a huge kick up the backside by forcing ENgland to pick Flintoff, Pietersen, Harmisson, Hoggard, Strauss and Cook.

In conclusion, if Stephen Smith, Usman Khawaja and Phil Hughes are not picked for the test match series against Sri Lanka and England this season, I am going to declare that AUSTRALIA WILL NOT RECLAIM THE ASHES AND RICKY PONTING WILL BE SACKED AS AUSTRALIAN TEST CAPTAIN!!

And, we can thank the Stephen Rodger Waugh legacy for RIcky's failure to become an imaginative and creative captain!!

THE GOVERNOR

Doodlesweaver
25 Jul 2010, 18:18
I totally agree with you on this one and I have blogging away for the past 18 months about the lack of forward planning by Andrew Hilditch, Ricky Ponting, Tim Nielsen, David Boon, Jamie Cox and Merv Hughes!!

Ever since the retirement of McGrath, Warne, Gilchrist, Hayden and Langer, the selectors have adopted stop gap selection decisions. These decisions include the selection of Marcus North and the continual persistence of using Mr Cricket.

Gee, under Trevor Hohns, we would have seen the sudden exits of Mr Cricket and the Master Chef from the Australian side ie Michael Hussey and Simon Katich for the long term interests of Australian cricket.

Can you honestly think that Katich, Hussey and North would tour the UK in 2013? Will they be in their prime of their careers? I don't think so.

The selectors have a wonderful opportunity to partner Shane Watson with Phil Hughes at the top of the order; play Usman Khawaja at number 5 and bat Stephen Smith at no 6. I have identified 3 players who have at least 10 years of test match cricket in their blood.

And, there is Aaron Finch from Victoria. Aaron Finch, in my opinion, is the ideal replacement for RIcky Ponting at the first drop position. He can attack, defend and he has all of the shots to bat at number 3!! He reminds me of a young Ricky Ponting back in 1995 to 1997.

Since 2007, Australian cricket has gone backwards. We lost the Ashes last year; struggled to beat the West Indies and Pakistan during 2009-2010 season and Pakistan beat us in the test match where Ricky displayed the captaincy traits of Kimberly John Hughes and William Morris Lawry!!

If Hussey, Katich and Ponting retire within a 12 month period, we will experience another dark period in Australian cricket. Where are the replacements? What has happened to the forward planning processes to allow young players like Smith, Finch, Hughes and Khawaja to learn from Ponting and Hussey? Andrew Hilditch and his fellow selection panel members are leaving in a fantasy world!! Gee, wake up!!

The selectors have followed the path of the West Indian selectors back in the late 80s and 90s by picking players for the short term instead of the long term interests of the test side. ENgland did not get anywhere from 1982 to 2003 until RW Marsh gave England a huge kick up the backside by forcing ENgland to pick Flintoff, Pietersen, Harmisson, Hoggard, Strauss and Cook.

In conclusion, if Stephen Smith, Usman Khawaja and Phil Hughes are not picked for the test match series against Sri Lanka and England this season, I am going to declare that AUSTRALIA WILL NOT RECLAIM THE ASHES AND RICKY PONTING WILL BE SACKED AS AUSTRALIAN TEST CAPTAIN!!

And, we can thank the Stephen Rodger Waugh legacy for RIcky's failure to become an imaginative and creative captain!!

THE GOVERNOR

You so sure Huss would retire? I am pretty sure he'll be a real cling-on and have to be forced out with a tazer.

Katich is still reliable and his bowling comes in extremely handy at the odd moments when Punter is prepared to bowl him. I was really surprised he hasn't been given a twirl in this series. But then I love watching Kat bowl, probably more than any of our other bowlers apart from Johnson on the rare occasions that he is on song.

You can count Watson opening as another stop gap decision in my books. If they want to get overs out of him, they are mad to have him opening and sitting at first slip most of the time. This is a very injury prone player, he's not in Kallis' league in terms of quality and he is carrying quite a load in terms of the requirement of concentration. I really do think our selectors are so paranoid about losing that they literally think one series ahead.

With lots of young players at once, we'll have to put up with a fair few losses for at least a year or so, but that bullet has to be bitten to form a cohesive squad. This idea of debuting players at the age of 30 gets so far up my nose, it's coming out of my ears.

frankrizzo
25 Jul 2010, 18:39
If ponting hussey and katich all pack it in at the same time then we are in deep shit and quite frankly north being in our out wouldn't make much difference in that situation.

The Governor
25 Jul 2010, 18:42
You so sure Huss would retire? I am pretty sure he'll be a real cling-on and have to be forced out with a tazer.

Katich is still reliable and his bowling comes in extremely handy at the odd moments when Punter is prepared to bowl him. I was really surprised he hasn't been given a twirl in this series. But then I love watching Kat bowl, probably more than any of our other bowlers apart from Johnson on the rare occasions that he is on song.

You can count Watson opening as another stop gap decision in my books. If they want to get overs out of him, they are mad to have him opening and sitting at first slip most of the time. This is a very injury prone player, he's not in Kallis' league in terms of quality and he is carrying quite a load in terms of the requirement of concentration. I really do think our selectors are so paranoid about losing that they literally think one series ahead.

With lots of young players at once, we'll have to put up with a fair few losses for at least a year or so, but that bullet has to be bitten to form a cohesive squad. This idea of debuting players at the age of 30 gets so far up my nose, it's coming out of my ears.

Michael Hussey has to retire!! Gee, Trevor Hohns forced out David Boon, Mark Taylor, Craig McDermott, Mark Waugh and Ian Healy with a tazor gun whilst Andrew Hilditch prefers to walk his players along the beach with his Golden Retriever!!

I would leave Shane Watson as an opening batsman. Gee, he has the best defensive and offensive technique for a top order batsman and I would leave him there!

Simon Katich only has 12 months of good cricket ahead of him. Gee, he has scored an abundance of runs but will he be around in 2013?

We have to plan for the future instead of picking players to fill in the gaps whilst we are a top side.

We are not a top side anymore. People have to remember that!! England and India are the top two test nations at the minute even though I detest India!!

THE GOVERNOR

Chris25
25 Jul 2010, 18:52
They wont all go out at the same time. Ponting will keep playing, regardless of form, until he is literally dragged out of the rooms. Hussey could potentally go at the end of this season though. Not so sure about what Katich will do though.

One name who hasn't been mentioned as a possible replacement for North is George Bailey. He captained Australia A against Sri Lanka A, and scored 260 runs from his three innings. If the selectors had any intention of replacing North during the Pakistan series, it wouldn't have surprised me if Bailey went instead of the younger Khawaja.

Doodlesweaver
25 Jul 2010, 18:54
Michael Hussey has to retire!! Gee, Trevor Hohns forced out David Boon, Mark Taylor, Craig McDermott, Mark Waugh and Ian Healy with a tazor gun whilst Andrew Hilditch prefers to walk his players along the beach with his Golden Retriever!!

I would leave Shane Watson as an opening batsman. Gee, he has the best defensive and offensive technique for a top order batsman and I would leave him there!

Simon Katich only has 12 months of good cricket ahead of him. Gee, he has scored an abundance of runs but will he be around in 2013?

We have to plan for the future instead of picking players to fill in the gaps whilst we are a top side.

We are not a top side anymore. People have to remember that!! England and India are the top two test nations at the minute even though I detest India!!

THE GOVERNOR

But Kat is only playing test cricket so he can probably cope physically at international level.

Watson is playing all formats and opening and bowling in all formats. (even though he didn't bowl much in the short formats in the UK). Considering his injury record, this is flying in the face of good sense. They need to think about how they use him. Sticking him further down the order in the test side would give him a bloody breather. Sure he probably wants to do it all, but as we haven't got a back-up for him, they could manage him a little bit more thoughtfully.

Cleavy
25 Jul 2010, 19:02

We're not playing Sri Lanka in Tests, just ODIs and a 20/20

Sir CJ
25 Jul 2010, 22:25
It will be quite embarrassing if North keeps his spot in the team, that will tell you one of two things
a) we have absolutely **** all batting depth in Australia or
b) the selectors and captain have no faith in blooding new players

I can't understand the notion of sticking with dead wood, surely if a player is not performing he doesn't deserve his spot in the team, cricket must be the only sport in Australia where you can be very confident of keepig your spot in the team despite a poor run of form

jiphoc
25 Jul 2010, 23:47
It will be quite embarrassing if North keeps his spot in the team, that will tell you one of two things
a) we have absolutely **** all batting depth in Australia or
b) the selectors and captain have no faith in blooding new players

I can't understand the notion of sticking with dead wood, surely if a player is not performing he doesn't deserve his spot in the team, cricket must be the only sport in Australia where you can be very confident of keepig your spot in the team despite a poor run of form
Australia is so far off getting any sustained success at the moment is aint funny. Look at the power house at the moment which is South Africa. They where not afraid to make the big calls about 24 to 36 months ago about some of the older players. Now look at them. England and India have had a similar approach.

Right now we should be looking at the future. If not then come ashes we will almost certainly loose and on home soil.

Firstly imo Punter has to go as captain and if he wont then get him out of the side. Inconsistent and I have a strong feeling some of the questionable team selections come as a result of him. Clarke imo is a much better captain anyway. Why waste that. Hughes would be the likely replacment for him.

North out Smith in for a direct swap. Beter batsmen and bowler.

Hussey probaly stick around for a bit and when the time comes you have players such as Khawaja, Ferguson, White or even Henriques.

nobbyiscool
26 Jul 2010, 00:24
u can't drop ponting. not yet, anyway. if you were going to pick an australian to bat for your life, i defy you to pick anyone other than ponting.

clarke as the most suitable captain? i can't agree with that on any level. personally, i keep hoping that white or bailey will get selected at 5 or 6, or that tim paine will replace haddin permanently, because all 3 have far better cricket brains than clarke in my opinion.

the short sightedness of the selectors has been a problem for years. when we had the exodus a few years back, the selections of katich (as much as i rate him), macgill and hogg; and eventually the selection of north and the prolonged selection of hussey set us back years.

i'm not a believer that you hand out baggy greens for nothing. but at some point we needed to have more confidence in one or two players who showed potential in the way that warne and mcgrath were shown that confidence.

smith is a good start. paine would be good if i thought they were going to stick with him. ferguson would've been in for north if not for injury.

we did it with the fast bowlers... the likes of siddle and mckay (albeit wrongly with mckay i think) were shown confidence when they might not have been the obvious selections - but we've never done it with the batsmen.

i'm going to list my 2013 ashes team below. it's not overly different to our team now. but the point is that the future needs to be now - our period of dominance is not going to be defined by simon katich, marcus north or mike hussey. and we can't continue to dip our toes in the water with guys like hughes and smith if we aren't going to follow through with them.

1. hughes
2. watson (since he played that season for tassie as a specialist batsman cos of stress fractures, i've considered him a quintessential number 3 - he has the perfect technique for it... but horses for courses unfortunately)
3. ponting (i'm really open to him dropping down to 5, but with watson opening i don't consider anyone in this team to be a better first drop)
4. clarke
5. ferguson/bailey/kwahaja
6. white (he needs to work on his bowling and make himself an allrounder option!)
7. paine (such a talented batsman - could bat 6 with smith 7 or vice-verca)
8. smith (i don't rate him that highly as a leggy - but he seems to be the best we have)
9. johnson (maybe... we'll see)
10. hilfenhaus
11. bollinger

i was speaking to my brother yesterday about how we went from a team with at leat 8 genuine superstars to a team with nothing coming through. we agreed upon two reasons.

the first is that we changed the structure of the cricket academy, seemingly for no other reason than because we got bored with it and because we thought that when rod marsh moved on we thought that he was the lifeblood of it and it would die without him. the likes of mcgrath, warne, ponting, langer et al all did stints there. now? well, who even knows what's going on with it now.

the second reason we agreed upon was too much cricket. you improve by playing against people better than you. if we have a shield competition full of mediocre players, then everyone will remain mediocre. but take george bailey for example... as a 22 year old kid, if he was sitting next to ricky ponting in the dressing room, then going out to the middle to face glenn mcgrath or shane warne, i'm pretty confident that he'd be a much better player now than what he is.

we need to play less international cricket. ditch 50 over matches, the format is dead. constant rule changes designed to breathe new life into it had the opposite effect, the time has come to kiss it goodbye. we should be playing no more than 6 test matches and 6 t20 games a summer, and there should be none of this nancy boy "i'd rather hang out with my wife in wagga than go and represent my state" crap. barring injuries, our test players should be playing at least 2-3 shield matches a year.

jiphoc
26 Jul 2010, 00:56
u can't drop ponting. not yet, anyway. if you were going to pick an australian to bat for your life, i defy you to pick anyone other than ponting.

clarke as the most suitable captain? i can't agree with that on any level. personally, i keep hoping that white or bailey will get selected at 5 or 6, or that tim paine will replace haddin permanently, because all 3 have far better cricket brains than clarke in my opinion.

the short sightedness of the selectors has been a problem for years. when we had the exodus a few years back, the selections of katich (as much as i rate him), macgill and hogg; and eventually the selection of north and the prolonged selection of hussey set us back years.

i'm not a believer that you hand out baggy greens for nothing. but at some point we needed to have more confidence in one or two players who showed potential in the way that warne and mcgrath were shown that confidence.

smith is a good start. paine would be good if i thought they were going to stick with him. ferguson would've been in for north if not for injury.

we did it with the fast bowlers... the likes of siddle and mckay (albeit wrongly with mckay i think) were shown confidence when they might not have been the obvious selections - but we've never done it with the batsmen.

i'm going to list my 2013 ashes team below. it's not overly different to our team now. but the point is that the future needs to be now - our period of dominance is not going to be defined by simon katich, marcus north or mike hussey. and we can't continue to dip our toes in the water with guys like hughes and smith if we aren't going to follow through with them.

1. hughes
2. watson (since he played that season for tassie as a specialist batsman cos of stress fractures, i've considered him a quintessential number 3 - he has the perfect technique for it... but horses for courses unfortunately)
3. ponting (i'm really open to him dropping down to 5, but with watson opening i don't consider anyone in this team to be a better first drop)
4. clarke
5. ferguson/bailey/kwahaja
6. white (he needs to work on his bowling and make himself an allrounder option!)
7. paine (such a talented batsman - could bat 6 with smith 7 or vice-verca)
8. smith (i don't rate him that highly as a leggy - but he seems to be the best we have)
9. johnson (maybe... we'll see)
10. hilfenhaus
11. bollinger

i was speaking to my brother yesterday about how we went from a team with at leat 8 genuine superstars to a team with nothing coming through. we agreed upon two reasons.

the first is that we changed the structure of the cricket academy, seemingly for no other reason than because we got bored with it and because we thought that when rod marsh moved on we thought that he was the lifeblood of it and it would die without him. the likes of mcgrath, warne, ponting, langer et al all did stints there. now? well, who even knows what's going on with it now.

the second reason we agreed upon was too much cricket. you improve by playing against people better than you. if we have a shield competition full of mediocre players, then everyone will remain mediocre. but take george bailey for example... as a 22 year old kid, if he was sitting next to ricky ponting in the dressing room, then going out to the middle to face glenn mcgrath or shane warne, i'm pretty confident that he'd be a much better player now than what he is.

we need to play less international cricket. ditch 50 over matches, the format is dead. constant rule changes designed to breathe new life into it had the opposite effect, the time has come to kiss it goodbye. we should be playing no more than 6 test matches and 6 t20 games a summer, and there should be none of this nancy boy "i'd rather hang out with my wife in wagga than go and represent my state" crap. barring injuries, our test players should be playing at least 2-3 shield matches a year.
Interesting read this.

Firstly international players have every right to a break from international duties. Why should they be forced to represent there state in between tours when that could be there only break for another 6 months. If we took your approach then I am telling you a lot of quality talent would be lost to Australia and will become "hired" cricketers, doing 20/20 comps around the world.

Secondly our shield competition is the best local competition in the world and that is accpeted around the world. You look at competitions such as the county leagues in England. They require international players to have a competitive league as the home grown talent drops off very quickly over there. Over here that is not the case.

I think you will find there Australias problems come from the fact that we have so many talented players capable at international level that it is just too hard to pick the correct mix. Heck look at David Hussey and Brad Hodge. They would be 2 players which dominated the Pura Cup (as it was known) for many years and was hardly looked at for international duties. The newer players are just as good.

As for you sugesting Paine as our first choice keeper. Man you must have a short memory. There is this guy called Haddin. I hear he goes alright with the bat. The only thing Paine has over Haddin is his keeping work is a touch better.

Also Hauritz is now and will forever be rightfully Australias first choice keeper abover all others. His improvment over the last 12 months have been superb.

My 2013 ashes side would be:

1. Hughes
2. (insert name yet to apear)
3. Ferguson
4. Clarke (c)
5. Kwahaja
6. Smith
7. Haddin (wk) (I think he will be picked on batting ability)
8. Hauritz
9. Siddle
10. Hazlewood
11. Pattinson

12th man: Mitch Marsh

Someone like Kwahaja has the technique to open so I would not be suprised if we see a Langer type move by him up to open.

nobbyiscool
26 Jul 2010, 01:22
Interesting read this.

Firstly international players have every right to a break from international duties. Why should they be forced to represent there state in between tours when that could be there only break for another 6 months. If we took your approach then I am telling you a lot of quality talent would be lost to Australia and will become "hired" cricketers, doing 20/20 comps around the world.

Secondly our shield competition is the best local competition in the world and that is accpeted around the world. You look at competitions such as the county leagues in England. They require international players to have a competitive league as the home grown talent drops off very quickly over there. Over here that is not the case.

I think you will find there Australias problems come from the fact that we have so many talented players capable at international level that it is just too hard to pick the correct mix. Heck look at David Hussey and Brad Hodge. They would be 2 players which dominated the Pura Cup (as it was known) for many years and was hardly looked at for international duties. The newer players are just as good.

As for you sugesting Paine as our first choice keeper. Man you must have a short memory. There is this guy called Haddin. I hear he goes alright with the bat. The only thing Paine has over Haddin is his keeping work is a touch better.

Also Hauritz is now and will forever be rightfully Australias first choice keeper abover all others. His improvment over the last 12 months have been superb.

1. Hughes
2. (insert name yet to apear)
3. Ferguson
4. Clarke (c)
5. Kwahaja
6. Smith
7. Haddin (wk) (I think he will be picked on batting ability)
8. Hauritz
9. Siddle
10. Hazlewood
11. Pattinson

Someone like Kwahaja has the technique to open so I would not be suprised if we see a Langer type move by him up to open.

see, i have problems with that line up.

firstly, no watson - but i'll forgive that, i assume it's an oversight?

secondly, the bowlers - we've already done the overhaul with our fast bowlers, i think dumping johnson, bollinger and hilfenhaus is counter productive. especially if we're aiming at 2013, when hilfenhaus is likely to still be our best bowler in english conditions. and if we're going to give an up and coming quick the "glen mcgrath treatment", i think copeland is the one with the most upside at the moment.

thirdly, you aren't considering ages - haddin will be 35 going on 36 by 2013. his keeping wasn't ever good enough in the first place that he can afford any slowing of footwork or reflexes. fans will argue this point though i guess... when it comes to the keeper, some will argue that 2013 is an arbitrary date, so keep picking haddin til he can't go any more. i guess i just see it differently - paine is the clear number 2. if haddin won't be there in 2013, then turf him out. on top of that, stats will probably show that haddin has a better batting record. but to watch them play (i think) is to see that paine is a more reliable and consistent batsman. looking forward, i think smith and paine are the ideal 6 and 7.

i can't agree that our batsmen coming through are as good as hodge or dussey - i wish they were! if either of those guys were 7 or 8 years younger, they'd be walk up starts (despite hodge's allegedly abrasive nature). to read through this thread with the uncertainty and lack of confidence in anyone to replace marcus north, i don't think its fair to say that our younger players are just as good - i think we have a massive dearth of talent in the 24-28 year old age group.

i'm not convinced with kwahaja. i just can't help but think that if this kid played for south australia or tasmania, no one would know who he was. for the sake of 3 or 4 years difference in age, i just think that bailey and white are better options.

finally, i don't think we're likely to have the english "gun for hire" system with our best players. i'd like to think that cricket australia contracts are more water-tight than that. and i would also like to think that the australian cricket culture is strong enough that a player will play test cricket for as long as they can rather than becoming t20 mercenaries.

RangaInTeal
26 Jul 2010, 01:25

1. Hughes
2. Marsh.S (if Katich isn't still around)
3. Kwahaja
4. Clarke (c)
5. Ferguson
6. Watson
7. Paine
8. Hauritz
9. Siddle
10. Hazlewood
11. George

King Elvis
26 Jul 2010, 02:47

If Khawaja or Klinger were in the side 12 months ago, we'd be better placed for the retirement of Hussey this Summer and Ponting the following. The longer we wait, the less time guys like them will have to settle in; and we need them settled in when Huss/Kat/Punter do go.

North's experience counts for nothing, his constant failures are now placing even more pressure on guys like Paine and Smith.

He needs to go be shit somewhere else.

Doodlesweaver
26 Jul 2010, 02:52
"As for you sugesting Paine as our first choice keeper. Man you must have a short memory. There is this guy called Haddin. I hear he goes alright with the bat. The only thing Paine has over Haddin is his keeping work is a touch better."

Comments like this crack me up. It says it all about modern cricket.

The keeping side of the wicketkeeper/batsmen role being downgraded to almost a footnote.

courtjester
26 Jul 2010, 05:01
If Khawaja or Klinger were in the side 12 months ago, we'd be better placed for the retirement of Hussey this Summer and Ponting the following. The longer we wait, the less time guys like them will have to settle in; and we need them settled in when Huss/Kat/Punter do go.

North's experience counts for nothing, his constant failures are now placing even more pressure on guys like Paine and Smith.

He needs to go be shit somewhere else.

I agree, I just think this is probably the selectors thinking. When North debuted, they missed an opportunity to replace him with a really young bat while we had Ponting, Katich and Hussey in the side still.

Ponting Hussey and Katich are all at an age now where failure will begin. Once it does, it wont stop. The test team needs to be cleverly managed in the next 18 months. Hussey and Katich both seem the kind of guys who wont retire. I think at least one of the above three needs to be retired, along with North if he doesnt make big runs, at the end of this summer.

I'd back Katich as the guy to stick around a few years yet but in 2013 he'll be 37/38. This needs to start now.

If I was a selector, I would drop North now. Forget his 6 wickets, he is a batsman. Smith would replace him, and our team this summer would be:

Watson
Hussey
Ponting
Clarke
Smith
Katich

Katich becomes our number 6, and Hussey opens. Katich stays down there for the next 2 years (depending on form) as our middle order rock.

After this summer's Ashes, dependant on form, I think either Hussey or Ponting will/should go. They wont make it til 2013, and they should make this their last series. Both should be gone in time for us to build a new side for 2013. The side in 2013 should look something like this:

1. S. Watson
2. P. Hughes
3. U. Khawaja
4. M. Clarke
5. C. Ferguson
6. C. White/S.Smith
7. T. Paine
8. N. Hauritz
9. A. McDonald ( he would get the job done in the UK...MJ should not play in England ever again)
10. P.Siddle
11. B. Hilfenhaus

RangaInTeal
26 Jul 2010, 10:12
1. S. Watson
2. P. Hughes
3. U. Khawaja
4. M. Clarke
5. C. Ferguson
6. C. White/S.Smith
7. T. Paine
8. N. Hauritz
9. A. McDonald ( he would get the job done in the UK...MJ should not play in England ever again)
10. P.Siddle
11. B. Hilfenhaus

Shocking bowling line up. What happens if we bat first and Watson hits a ton or a double ton? McDonald will not take wickets at international level. Hazelwood is the future and George is not far behind him. I think with one of these two in the side the side looks far more dangerous! I can't see how McDonald, Hauritz and White/Smith will take wickets on a regular basis within the allotted time of a five day test match!

RangaInTeal
26 Jul 2010, 10:16

1. Hughes
2. Marsh.S (if Katich isn't still around)
3. Kwahaja
4. Clarke (c)
5. Ferguson
6. Watson
7. Paine
8. Hauritz
9. Siddle
10. Hazlewood
11. George

Looking at this line up, there are three bowlers that all bowl the same, Hiff in for George!

saj_21
26 Jul 2010, 10:34
In the next 12-24 months, Clarke and Watson may only be our surviving batsmen. Eventually I think hughes should come in and Watson bat at 3, whether Ponting is pushed down the order or out of the side is another story. Bailey, White, Klinger, Khawaja, Marsh all need to step up and fill the vacant positions in the middle order.

In the short term, especially in India North DROPPED Smith at 6 he gives us great flexibility he can offer more with the bat, ball and in the field than North. Having a off (Hauritz) and leg spinner in the side is great advantage.

Goldencats
26 Jul 2010, 12:03
FFS just drop North, he is ****en shit and does not deserve his place in the team, obviously the selectors have this uncanny appreciation for players who are not performing their roles? They are the only selectors in the world that have this delusional thinking

Rumblah#16
26 Jul 2010, 12:24
"As for you sugesting Paine as our first choice keeper. Man you must have a short memory. There is this guy called Haddin. I hear he goes alright with the bat. The only thing Paine has over Haddin is his keeping work is a touch better."

Comments like this crack me up. It says it all about modern cricket.

The keeping side of the wicketkeeper/batsmen role being downgraded to almost a footnote.

Paine is a more technically correct batsmen, but they both play completely different styles of Cricket. Haddin is a poor mans Gilchrist, similar aggression, not the same elite eye that Gilchrist possessed. It leads to brain-fades, because he can't pick up on the minor deviations that Gilly saw easily.

Batting at 7, Paine >>>> Haddin

Glovework, my gosh. Has there ever been such a poor keeper actually stand behind the stumps as Haddin? The guys footwork is a joke and this is why he spuds catches and leaks runs.

As a keeper, Paine >>>> Haddin

The Falcon Strike
26 Jul 2010, 13:52
Staggered North is still in the side. He an acceptable if not remarkable first class record - he's not a test quality batsman.

Was bloody lucky to get to NZ.

Take Aim
26 Jul 2010, 14:44

THE GOVERNOR

Here we go :rolleyes:

Did people seriously think we'd remain the 'undisputed number 1' side forever more once Warne and McGrath retired? Add in Langer, Martyn, Gilchrist, Hayden, Lee and Clark.

Come on, everyone here put their hands up if, after losing all of the above players, you seriously expected Australia to remain the top side. If you answer yes, then great, you know nothing about cricket.

We have one remaining player who is a undisputed great - RT Ponting. Some will argue his on the decline and he probably is, but his 35 going on 36. It isn't unrealistic to say his best days are behind him, but by gee, his the only batsmen we have got who can dominate an attack.

Reading between the lines, it is clear that Ponting is going to retire from test cricket after the Ashes and from ODI cricket after the World Cup. A few weeks ago he came out and said that he'd be looking for a new job if Australian didn't regain the Ashes this summer. That was an astonishing quote, to put that much pressure on yourself can only mean one thing, that this summer will be his last and he knows it deep down. He probably feels he has nothing to lose. His made his mind up his going to retire, win, lose or draw.

Australia has only lost 3 of it's past 17 test matchs. Two of those were against SA, and the other against India. For all it's faults, Australia is still a formidable side at home and that is always a good start.

Away from home you sense that Australia is vulnerable, but that is understandable.

We have lost so many great players, you can't expect to be number 1 forever. But surely, even the most pessimistic fans should feel encourage by the likes of Smith, Hughes and Paine, not to mention the bowling stocks around the country.

Toshowyouwhy
26 Jul 2010, 15:12
Here we go :rolleyes:

Did people seriously think we'd remain the 'undisputed number 1' side forever more once Warne and McGrath retired? Add in Langer, Martyn, Gilchrist, Hayden, Lee and Clark.

Come on, everyone here put their hands up if, after losing all of the above players, you seriously expected Australia to remain the top side. If you answer yes, then great, you know nothing about cricket.

We have one remaining player who is a undisputed great - RT Ponting. Some will argue his on the decline and he probably is, but his 35 going on 36. It isn't unrealistic to say his best days are behind him, but by gee, his the only batsmen we have got who can dominate an attack.

Reading between the lines, it is clear that Ponting is going to retire from test cricket after the Ashes and from ODI cricket after the World Cup. A few weeks ago he came out and said that he'd be looking for a new job if Australian didn't regain the Ashes this summer. That was an astonishing quote, to put that much pressure on yourself can only mean one thing, that this summer will be his last and he knows it deep down. He probably feels he has nothing to lose. His made his mind up his going to retire, win, lose or draw.

Australia has only lost 3 of it's past 17 test matchs. Two of those were against SA, and the other against India. For all it's faults, Australia is still a formidable side at home and that is always a good start.

Away from home you sense that Australia is vulnerable, but that is understandable.

We have lost so many great players, you can't expect to be number 1 forever. But surely, even the most pessimistic fans should feel encourage by the likes of Smith, Hughes and Paine, not to mention the bowling stocks around the country.
Great post, finally some rational and logical thought.

Despite popular belief, we are not going to win this Ashes series by throwing a bunch of young blokes into the deep end. I'm absolutely stunned at people suggesting that we should drop, of all people, Simon Katich. Our most consistant performer of the last few years, in one of the most critical positions. As much of a fan of Phil Hughes as I am, he is going to have to wait his turn.

They always say it's harder to get out of a cricket side than it is to get into it, and that will continue to be proven correct. I agree that perhaps we need to be a little more ruthless in dropping underperforming players, using North as an example here. But simply dropping players for a huge series like this, because it is felt that they won't be able to play in 2013 is just crazy.

Take each series, each game, each innings and each ball as it comes. There is more than enough quality in this side to win the Ashes in a couple of months time. A kick up the arse is needed, but to change the side as some of you are suggesting would cripple the side, and make a mockery of the Baggy Green.

frankrizzo
Not sure where you get your stats but we haven't even played india in the last 17 tests(which we have actually lost 4 not 3 of)

But really that 17 number is leaving out the two losses to india away and the two losses to south africa at home.

Fact is in the last few years we have lost most of the big series we have played vs the top teams.

South africa at home and england and india away, we have in between this beaten up the poorer teams like nz wi and pakistan and even that seems to have come to an end.

Toshowyouwhy
Edit: Double post. Ghey.

Belnakor
26 Jul 2010, 15:45
Any possibility of Hughes playing at 3 as a "third opener" type scenario?

1. Watson
2. Katich
3. Hughes
4. Clarke
5. Ponting
6. Hussey
7. Haddin
8. Hauritz
9. Johnson
10/11 - Sidde/Bollinger/Harris/George on form fitness etc.

King Elvis
26 Jul 2010, 17:40
I love Ponting, and I back him to the hilt, but somebody needs to take the decision away from him, and move him down the order.

He's a ****ing legend, but he's like Atlas; he'll carry the world on his shoulders because he thinks he has to.

He loves playing for Australia, he's mentally tough and he has balls the size of small planets; but it shouldn't be up to him to be our main man anymore.

It's about time somebody else took some responsibility, let Ponting go down the order where he doesn't have to be the immortal he once was. We need him in the side for the next couple of years, because the absolutely moronic selectors haven't brought new blood into the team anywhere near enough.

Smokey_22
26 Jul 2010, 22:35
I love Ponting, and I back him to the hilt, but somebody needs to take the decision away from him, and move him down the order.

He's a ****ing legend, but he's like Atlas; he'll carry the world on his shoulders because he thinks he has to.

He loves playing for Australia, he's mentally tough and he has balls the size of small planets; but it shouldn't be up to him to be our main man anymore.

It's about time somebody else took some responsibility, let Ponting go down the order where he doesn't have to be the immortal he once was. We need him in the side for the next couple of years, because the absolutely moronic selectors haven't brought new blood into the team anywhere near enough.

I agree.

My ideal top 3 goes like this:

Hughes
Watson
Katich

Doodlesweaver
27 Jul 2010, 01:30

Like that is going to happen. Who exactly do you think is powerful enough to impose that on the skipper?

If Alan Border rang him up and told him to do it, he might listen, but I can't think of a single other person in CA or surroundings who has either the actual or the emotional power over Punter that this type of move would suggest.

I don't believe the selectors would or even could.

About the only other person he might listen to, and that is purely down to his fanboy status towards this player, is Sachin Tendulkar!

Take Aim
27 Jul 2010, 10:53
Not sure where you get your stats but we haven't even played india in the last 17 tests(which we have actually lost 4 not 3 of)

But really that 17 number is leaving out the two losses to india away and the two losses to south africa at home.

Fact is in the last few years we have lost most of the big series we have played vs the top teams.

South africa at home and england and india away, we have in between this beaten up the poorer teams like nz wi and pakistan and even that seems to have come to an end.

Sorry, I ment our last 17 'home' tests.

We beat SA away 2-1 - which was a great achievement.

Lost to India 2-0 - but we were at rock bottom then.

Lost to England 2-1.

Hardly comprehensive.

frankrizzo
27 Jul 2010, 16:30
Our 4 biggest series in the last 2 years were the indian tour the england tour and the back to back south african series.

We were comprehensively beaten in 3 of those 4 big series, the one series we did win was on the back of hughes batting and johnson's all round performance both of which now look like fleeting purple patches.

When you take the overall stats from the last 2 years we have been solid but Australian cricket is about winning the big series and matches and fact is we have beaten the poor teams lately and been poor ourselves against the top teams.

Doodlesweaver
27 Jul 2010, 18:59
Our 4 biggest series in the last 2 years were the indian tour the england tour and the back to back south african series.

We were comprehensively beaten in 3 of those 4 big series, the one series we did win was on the back of hughes batting and johnson's all round performance both of which now look like fleeting purple patches.

When you take the overall stats from the last 2 years we have been solid but Australian cricket is about winning the big series and matches and fact is we have beaten the poor teams lately and been poor ourselves against the top teams.

That's because we aren't good enough to win against the big sides. Most of our players are unreliable apart from Kat and Clarke with the bat. I'm pretty sure that none of the selectors really knows what would be the best bowling combination now either. The bowling line-up has gone through some real changes in both ODI and test matches for various reasons.

nobbyiscool
28 Jul 2010, 01:07
That's because we aren't good enough to win against the big sides. Most of our players are unreliable apart from Kat and Clarke with the bat. I'm pretty sure that none of the selectors really knows what would be the best bowling combination now either. The bowling line-up has gone through some real changes in both ODI and test matches for various reasons.

ur post got me thinking/wondering.

do u reckon they dont know the best line up?

perhaps they know the best line up isnt the one we have now, but like we have with the north situation, they dont want to tell us all that they got it wrong.

or maybe the current line up is the best, and that idea is just really depressing... a tearaway who had one good summer, an honest tryer in a wig, a good swingbowler who now seems injury prone, and an offie who cant get a game for his state. if that is the best line up, no wonder the good countries keep beating us!