Donakebab
19 Jul 2010, 22:04
Loves his club! :thumbsu:
coup de grace
19 Jul 2010, 22:10
agree 100% on his opinions
Big Blow Hard
19 Jul 2010, 22:10
Get Prismall, Houli in and leave em in if they have any future at the club. Move Dempsey to the wing.
I'm not huge fan of them, but I completely agree. Give them 6 weeks to prove their worth to the club. Same would go for Myers and Neagle as well.
PS. Any chance Lloydy might come down and do some goal kicking coaching with Gumby.
Nasty Penguin
19 Jul 2010, 22:12
Pretty toothless report on the club for mine. Didn't expect him to ignite the torch for a witch hunt but expected him to mention a few more names that should be playing or some structure changing. Would like to see Lloyd as the goal kicking or forward coach at essendon next year.
kelvin_sheedy
19 Jul 2010, 22:14
Interesting comments. Dodged the question on whether Knights should be there next year. Summary:
- Next 6 weeks will tell the story of where the club is at
- The club needs a review at the end of year - coach, players, everyone basically
- Sticks by his call of lack of defensive gameplan earlier this year
- Certain players need to be played for an extended period of time. Knights needs to make a call on certain players and stop chopping and changing. Prismall, Houli, Dempsey names mentioned.
- Was unhappy at times last year but still gave his all when on the field.
The more interesting comments came from the audio of David King from 3aw who basically said he'd get rid of Knights in a heartbeat. The lack of defense was his main sticking point.
deeplivid
19 Jul 2010, 22:23
Lloydy was saying what I've been saying all along - they've gotta settle the line up already!
Kelvin Sheedy summarised Lloyd'scomments...
- Certain players need to be played for an extended period of time. Knights needs to make a call on certain players and stop chopping and changing. Prismall, Houli, Dempsey names mentioned.
They need to get that team chemistry working together with a core group, in which payers get a good solid chance to cement their spots in the team. Lloydy said give these boarderline guys like Prismall 6 games straight.
The team chemistry is like a dynamic machine where all the players are familiar with each other's style.... Remember how we used to say the 1999-2001 Bombers were a well-oiled machine? Chopping and changing just throws spanners into the works - it's counter-productive!
Donakebab
19 Jul 2010, 22:27
Pretty toothless report on the club for mine. Didn't expect him to ignite the torch for a witch hunt but expected him to mention a few more names that should be playing or some structure changing. Would like to see Lloyd as the goal kicking or forward coach at essendon next year.
While I do agree that he went a bit light on what he had to say it's understandable that he did. He's already been seen as harsh critic this year even before the current slump, if he had of been more outspoken tonight it would have just fanned the already roaring flames of those calling for heads to roll. I'm doing the rounds of all the footy shows tonight so will be interesting to see what the others say, especially Hirdy.
As for being a forward coach next year, there's no chance of it happening. While the relationship between him and Knights might not have been as bad as it was made out to be last year, after his criticisms this year there is no way that Knights will want him there.
Mumbo Jumbo
19 Jul 2010, 22:29
Lloydy agrees with me :thumbsu:
Donakebab
19 Jul 2010, 22:39
Essendon straight up on Footy Classified right now.
Yes, because Lloyd is going to go down swinging.
http://4gifs.com/gallery/d/81522-3/Boxer_vs_bullies.gif
Big Blow Hard
19 Jul 2010, 22:51
A bit of back peddling by Caro about her article just now.
Caro has been backpedalling for the last week.
Nasty Penguin
19 Jul 2010, 23:07
Caro has been backpedalling for the last week.
At least she can admit when she's wrong. Knights insists his game plan is flawless. Time for him to swallow his pride and seek to fix it.
Not really back pedalling if she's admitting she was wrong. That's being a, well, man.
I would love for Houli to get told that he is in this week and has the last six weeks to prove himself and he won't get dropped. It worked for Gumby at the start of the year.
Hopefully the pressure will be taken off the playing group this week as we won't go in favourites.
Shane Hird
20 Jul 2010, 14:42
Lloydy was good. Didn't bag the club. Said the right things without being too negative.
It was great seeing Caro on Footy Classified admit she wrote a load of crap....but she just had to add,right at the end before they moved on to something else, that there was some kind of a meeting:rolleyes:
And she had the nerve to say even after that..." I still think there's a story in this."
She is not going to let it ( Knights and the players relationship) go even when it's obvious she is mortified that she stuffed up so bad.
And I'd like to know who were two club inside sources are that she mentioned and why they gave her a bull###t story in the first place.
Gossip Queen.
Lyon was a massive wanker last night on classified as usual, I know it's trash but I still watch it every week. Those four on the panel are a-grade flogs, espeically Hutchy and Lyon.
I like Gary Lyon.. As a media commentator; probably a shit bloke. Grant Thomas knows his football, and Caro's tolerable. Hutchy's the only flog for mine. However he more than makes up for the rest.
Beerfish
20 Jul 2010, 19:34
Agreed with everything Lloydy said. Never expected him to come out bagging the club or the coach. It's obvious his media training is working a treat as he seems a lot more communicative and fluent than when he started. It was pretty obvious he was still intensely passionate about the club and I found that comforting on some level.
Warmed the heart to see his eyes water and the voice tremble when he spoke about how much he's hurting to see the club like this. :heart:
Tony Delaney
20 Jul 2010, 20:20
At least she can admit when she's wrong. Knights insists his game plan is flawless. Time for him to swallow his pride and seek to fix it.
He admitted a little 12 to 18 months ago that they had to 'tweak' it a little to fix the defensive let downs. Tweak - please spare me. Sides still run the ball out of their defence every week like they are the only ones on the field. One week the Bombers look to be manning up then the next it's a complete 180.
By the way Lloydy still looks fit and is what only 32. He wouldn't be very old next year or the one after when GWS start and Sheedy is out their enough to think a fit Matthew Lloyd in the goal square wouldn't be too bad.
centurion
20 Jul 2010, 20:23
By the way Lloydy still looks fit and is what only 32. He wouldn't be very old next year or the one after when GWS start and Sheedy is out their enough to think a fit Matthew Lloyd in the goal square wouldn't be too bad.
Imagine that.
Donakebab
20 Jul 2010, 21:37
Warmed the heart to see his eyes water and the voice tremble when he spoke about how much he's hurting to see the club like this. :heart:
And the goosebumps. :thumbsu:
stugots
20 Jul 2010, 21:53
well as it happens i had a dream last night - fletch was ruled out of our 1st game against gws & they called me up from the magoos to fill in - im pushing, shoving, swearing, carrying on but cant see my opponent however at the last second get me fist up & execute a textbook spoil, then turn around & who's there pulling his socks up chucking grass in the air twirling a sherrin?
And the goosebumps. :thumbsu:
What immeadiately struck me was how much Lloydy still loves this club. :)
Ben the Gooner
20 Jul 2010, 23:35
well as it happens i had a dream last night - fletch was ruled out of our 1st game against gws & they called me up from the magoos to fill in - im pushing, shoving, swearing, carrying on but cant see my opponent however at the last second get me fist up & execute a textbook spoil, then turn around & who's there pulling his socks up chucking grass in the air twirling a sherrin?
So we're to gather from this dream that spoiling will be outlawed by 2012.
table tennis
21 Jul 2010, 10:11
Listening to Dermott Brereton on the way to work this morning, He has been doing some analysing of Essendons implementation of game style.
On freeze frames of Collingwood on Anzac day going forward, there were only 8-10 people getting back into defensive 50.
Going forward there were 8-12 causing no space etc.
Against Hawthorn a week later, this was the opposite. 4-6 players in our forward 50 when we were going forward and 14-16 getting back to help the defence.
I think with confidence and work ethic, comes results, at the moment we have neither.
confidence will come, when the work ethic and running in the right places starts bringing rewards.
The best teams have 16-18 on the field at one time doing the right things at all times. i say 16 as rotations mean that there are almost always two people out of position.
If we are to get this running game going, there has to be a swell of players running from the defence to burst open zones. I think that with our confidence battering lazyness has crept in.
I also believe with too many changes week by week, players are confused to where they are supposed to be. Those that come in have to get used to a slightly different speed and gameplan that they are used to at Bendigo.
I am assuming the Bendigo gameplan is different to the seniors, from watching they are playing a completley different style.