View Full Version : rumour Dean Laidley to coach the Bombers next year ?
strategy
23 Jul 2010, 07:54
Brad Hardie said that Laidley could be coaching the Bombers next year !
Anyone heard differently ?
Doubt that. I would like to come in as an assistant coach but that's about all. Ummmmm
TheDon35
23 Jul 2010, 08:57
Could be much worse.... We could have the ignighter.
daics cousin
23 Jul 2010, 09:28
Here is the scenario from what i have heard.
If West Coast decide to allow Worsfold to step down or that Worsfold does decide to step down,hands down Laidely will coach West Coast next year.He is from Perth so that suits him fine cause he'll inherit a good young list with a cashed up club.West Coast would be laidely's first option i reckon.
Now if Knights is sacked or leaves the Bombers, the most likely scenario would be that Choco Williams will coach the bombers,cause he was an assistant there and his wife wants to come back to Victoria to live.
James Hird will become an assistant to choco with a progression plan similar to that of Collingwood.Williams gets three years and Hird takes over after that.
Everything is not set in stone ,but ideally i think Choco would have gone to West Sydney with Sheedy had his wife not wanted to come back to Victoria.Choco incidentally expressed interest in coaching Collingwood a while ago but that will never happen now,so The Bombers is the only club he would consider coaching outside,Adelaide,becuse there is a strong concetion with the bombers and port,since hardwicke and Wanagneen were ex bombers,and Choco loved his time at Essendon.
Natural fit i reckon with Hird taking over in a few years,imagine what.Choco would do at Bomber land,they will be playing regular finals in no time i reckon.
Noddy Holder
23 Jul 2010, 09:34
James Hird will become an assistant to choco with a progression plan similar to that of Collingwood.Williams gets three years and Hird takes over after that.
I actually suggested that to a mate at the footy last weekend. That would be great.
Laidley, god no.
stugots
23 Jul 2010, 09:37
dont you mean 'what i have previously read 100 times on various bf threads"??
got as much of a clue as the rest of us as to who will be coaching next year, which is sweet **** all
daics cousin
23 Jul 2010, 09:41
If West Coast decide to allow Worsfold to step down or that Worsfold does decide to step down,hands down Laidely will coach West Coast next year.He is from Perth so that suits him fine cause he'll inherit a good young list with a cashed up club.West Coast would be laidely's first option i reckon.
Now if Knights is sacked or leaves the Bombers, the most likely scenario would be that Choco Williams will coach the bombers,cause he was an assistant there and his wife wants to come back to Victoria to live.
Everything is not set in stone ,but ideally i think Choco would have gone to West Sydney with Sheedy had his wife not wanted to come back to Victoria.Choco incidentally expressed interest in coaching Collingwood a while ago but that will never happen now,so The Bombers is the only club he would consider coaching outside,Adelaide,becuse there is a strong concetion with the bombers and port,since hardwicke and Wanagneen were ex bombers,and Choco loved his time at Essendon.
Natural fit i reckon with Hird taking over in a few years,imagine what.Choco would do at Bomber land,they will be playing regular finals in no time i reckon.
Ah yes forgot to mention that if Choco does end up at Bomber land,you can guarantee he will definately lure a few players over to bomber land
with him.............Especially a player by the name of Travis Boak .
Boak has expressed interst to stay at Port but you never know.After all Boak is a victorian,and the lure of his old coach coaching the bombers may be the sweetner he needs to move back home....just a rumour at this stage.
daics cousin
23 Jul 2010, 09:46
dont you mean 'what i have previously read 100 times on various bf threads"??
got as much of a clue as the rest of us as to who will be coaching next year, which is sweet **** all
If you can look at a sitaution logically you'll see it all makes sense.
Read between the lines and look at how things are unfolding...Knights is under the pump and if the bombers don't do a quick turnaround it will be curtains for him at year's end.You the suppoerters have made sure that happens
One thing io would like to say about Knights......Good bloke tries hard but has not been a premiership player,was not involved in premierships therefore doesn not know waht to do to help a team win one,therfore his time is limited,he may be a better VFL coach than an AFL coach.
Seems logical but not necessarily desirable. I just don't see Hird as a game day coach ... ever. Not a successful one anyway.
Ah yes forgot to mention that if Choco does end up at Bomber land,you can guarantee he will definately lure a few players over to bomber land
with him.............Especially a player by the name of Travis Boak .
Boak has expressed interst to stay at Port but you never know.After all Boak is a victorian,and the lure of his old coach coaching the bombers may be the sweetner he needs to move back home....
LMAO!!!!!!! Proves you have NFI!!!
hahahahha
LMAO!!!!!!! Proves you have NFI!!!
hahahahha
This :thumbsu:
I think this Daics guy has been to the Krudd/Knights school of spin. It all sounded quite nice in theory, but the fact he has no clue that Boak has signed with Port for a couple more years gives him zero credibility.
daics cousin
23 Jul 2010, 10:26
This :thumbsu:
I think this Daics guy has been to the Krudd/Knights school of spin. It all sounded quite nice in theory, but the fact he has no clue that Boak has signed with Port for a couple more years gives him zero credibility.
He has indicated he'll stay at port and checked with his family for him to stay.The contract is not signed yet,he may sign at years end or he may not...............Look at how clubs treat players ...........Aker?......Players will now start wisening up if they are not treated well at clubs.
With Gold Coast and West Sydney coming into ther Afl and the fact that draft picks will be scarce for the next few years,Clubs will trade picks for players and there will be many more players come into the AFL system,so if Choco was coach he'd trade to get someone like Boak to Essendon......Choco gets want he wants especially if he was coaching.
your club.
Let's just wait and see what happens .book mark this thread and we'll come back to it after Collingwood take out the flag this year,and the season is over.
DapperDon
23 Jul 2010, 10:46
Sorry daics, Boak has put pen to paper. Would love him in the Red & Black, but he has signed with Port for a few more.
Also, we all heard this theory in March this year so just to let you know it's already been discussed around here at length.
http://www.portadelaidefc.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/6038/newsid/98104/default.aspxTRAVIS Boak has resisted the temptation to return home to his native Victoria, signing a contract extension with Port Adelaide.http://www.portadelaidefc.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/6038/newsid/98104/default.aspx
Errmmm...
daics cousin
23 Jul 2010, 11:12
Sorry daics, Boak has put pen to paper. Would love him in the Red & Black, but he has signed with Port for a few more.
Also, we all heard this theory in March this year so just to let you know it's already been discussed around here at length.
Ok Dapper if has signed,do you reckon with Williams coaching he'll want Boak at Bomberland
Do you reckon he'd trade to get him there?I reckon he would.
With Watson,Boak as the two extractors would make a formidable midfield group when you add in the rest.
Either way the bombers will be back in the finals before you know it.
Too stronger club to rest on its laurels and the supporters demand
that the club and its players get back to being a success,absolutely nothing wrong with that.
Interesting,we will all have a lot to talk about during the off season cause a lot of things will be happening with a lot clubs come season's end.
DapperDon
23 Jul 2010, 11:31
Problem is Daics, it's no longer Williams decision to trade Boak, and I highly doubt that Port would trade him after just signing him. You never know what could happen down the track if Williams is at our club when Boaks next contract is up, but to pin our hopes on a guy coming out of contract in 2 years is poor management.
table tennis
23 Jul 2010, 12:15
Why would anyone want to coach our club? The amount of sh!t that we as a supporter base have put mk through, we should just be thankful we have a coach!
The hysterics shown by us will as a collective, will make it just that much harder to do 2 things:
1. Compete with other clubs to hire the best coach available.
2. Compete with other clubs to recruit the best available players!
Ludwig van Bertstare
23 Jul 2010, 12:43
When has Hardie ever been right?
Ludwig van Bertstare
23 Jul 2010, 13:40
He's Hardie ever right.
lol'd.
The Donners
23 Jul 2010, 13:56
When has Hardie ever been right?
He's Hardie ever right.
Exactly!
Nice "Dad's" joke Whomb! :thumbsu::D
Skeeta Olly
23 Jul 2010, 15:06
There's a guy called Matthew Knights that looks like a chance.
Laidley is a good assistant, not so good coach. He was made to look better than he was thanks to the handful of younger stars we had from the 90s era, as they retired one by one his performance as coach plummeted.
If Choco wanted Essendon and he wanted to bring Boak with him he would've told him that before he quit and before Boak re-signed.
Guys Im pretty sure that Laidley has said a few times that he doesnt see himself as head coach again. His interest is more in tactical analysis and planning.
I think Chocco would be a good fit for your club.
Exactly!
Nice "Dad's" joke Whomb! :thumbsu::DI'm only 22 and it's what I've been reduced to. :p
There's a guy called Matthew Knights that looks like a chance.This. (sorry, Olly)
A few people getting a bit ahead of themselves on this one.
As much as it might kill a lot of people (myself included), there's a very good chance Knights will still be coaching us in 2011.
BOMBERS 4 LIFE!!!!
23 Jul 2010, 16:18
This. (sorry, Olly)
A few people getting a bit ahead of themselves on this one.
As much as it might kill a lot of people (myself included), there's a very good chance Knights will still be coaching us in 2011.
I agree.
The Donners
23 Jul 2010, 17:03
Laidley is a good assistant, not so good coach. He was made to look better than he was thanks to the handful of younger stars we had from the 90s era, as they retired one by one his performance as coach plummeted.
Good to hear the point of view of a North supporter. :thumbsu:
From an outsiders point of view, I'd always thought he did exceptionally well with limited resources but you would know better than I.
The Donners
23 Jul 2010, 17:06
I'm only 22 and it's what I've been reduced to. :p
Soon you'll be rubbishing the modern music and fashion trends! :p
Eleven 38
23 Jul 2010, 17:19
If you can look at a sitaution logically you'll see it all makes sense.
Read between the lines and look at how things are unfolding...Knights is under the pump and if the bombers don't do a quick turnaround it will be curtains for him at year's end.You the suppoerters have made sure that happens
One thing io would like to say about Knights......Good bloke tries hard but has not been a premiership player,was not involved in premierships therefore doesn not know waht to do to help a team win one,therfore his time is limited,he may be a better VFL coach than an AFL coach.
so wrapped buckley is coaching the pies soon... great spelling by the way.
FWIW, id be surprised if knights wasn't coaching essendon next year (not that im pro knights). if he was gone i think he would have been gone by now. i don't see much to gain by getting rid of him, unless they really want choco and can get hird to assist? but if they waited till the end of next year the choice might include roos/ is bomber out of contract?.
BomberTime
23 Jul 2010, 17:41
As much as i would love to see a Williams/Hirdy combo next year. I think we will see knights next year coaching as less something major occurs.
If things do not improve next year though i would love to see Essendon throw everything at Mark Thompson to coach the 2012 season and beyond, Williams to assistant as similar to Laidley at Port this year after taking a year off from footy and Hirdy will assistant for sure and hopefully take over down the track. Would bring some credibility to the coaching box.
Just something to consider.
Good to hear the point of view of a North supporter. :thumbsu:
From an outsiders point of view, I'd always thought he did exceptionally well with limited resources but you would know better than I.
Don't get me wrong, he did have limited resources and he did do a reasonable job on-field, and as a premiership player and coach I have much love for the bloke.
But, sometimes good players and people with the best of intentions don't always make the best of coaches. My major gripes was player development, very few players progressed forward in their career who weren't great players before he came along, he wasn't that good of a teacher and the players nicknamed him the Bible because he was hard to read. I think a good coach needs to be very transparent with the players.
Skill level was unacceptable and you don't need great facilities to be able to hit targets, there just wasn't the emphasis on skill or the right structures in place to take on the game so we became very reactive and his whole focus was about shutting down opposition rather than winning the game.
He is great with his analytical and strategic thinking but you want a guy leading that says this is the path we are going to take and this is how we are going to play that is going to see us win a flag. That kind of vision he didn't have and every few years he tried to emulate what other coaches had success with.
The_Young_Gun
23 Jul 2010, 18:26
Alan Richardson anyone?
Coaching potential... highly regarded by all aspects of the AFL community.
Ludwig van Bertstare
23 Jul 2010, 18:52
Alan Richardson anyone?
Coaching potential... highly regarded by all aspects of the AFL community.
Yet Malthouse didn't deem him worthy enough to be anything but a development coach :confused:
The_Young_Gun
23 Jul 2010, 19:19
Yet Malthouse didn't deem him worthy enough to be anything but a development coach :confused:
Did Malthouse ever say he's not good enough to be a head coach?
.... Or anything other than development coach??
Don't get me wrong, he did have limited resources and he did do a reasonable job on-field, and as a premiership player and coach I have much love for the bloke.
But, sometimes good players and people with the best of intentions don't always make the best of coaches. My major gripes was player development, very few players progressed forward in their career who weren't great players before he came along, he wasn't that good of a teacher and the players nicknamed him the Bible because he was hard to read. I think a good coach needs to be very transparent with the players.
Skill level was unacceptable and you don't need great facilities to be able to hit targets, there just wasn't the emphasis on skill or the right structures in place to take on the game so we became very reactive and his whole focus was about shutting down opposition rather than winning the game.
He is great with his analytical and strategic thinking but you want a guy leading that says this is the path we are going to take and this is how we are going to play that is going to see us win a flag. That kind of vision he didn't have and every few years he tried to emulate what other coaches had success with.
This is my take on the Laidley situation - He wasnt good at developing younger players and apparently had a testy working relationship with players.
I always thought that Laidley was over-rated and I dont want him at Essendon.
DVD Player
23 Jul 2010, 19:47
Pass
Ben the Gooner
23 Jul 2010, 20:05
I'd love him as an assistant, but not as senior coach.
The Donners
23 Jul 2010, 21:17
Awesome post!
If he wants to be a tactitian and strategist, then by all means, get him here.
Don't think the board has ever been one to spend footy money on an extra coach like this though.
lethal73
24 Jul 2010, 15:48
Why would anyone want to coach our club? The amount of sh!t that we as a supporter base have put mk through, we should just be thankful we have a coach!
The hysterics shown by us will as a collective, will make it just that much harder to do 2 things:
1. Compete with other clubs to hire the best coach available.
2. Compete with other clubs to recruit the best available players!
If you Don't like it, find another club:thumbsd: