View Full Version : the dockers

irish
29 Jun 2003, 16:50
the weather in tassie is woefull today ,the ground was very heavy at york park in the second half that may just help to take a bit of sting out of the dockers legs for next week and the long trip home wont help either. every little thing helps as it will be a big game for the lions this coming week

Stocka
29 Jun 2003, 17:16
I reckon Fremantle lack a bit of physicality, and we should be able to punish them in this regard. If they're tired from this week, it will make it help alleviate the travel factor for us.

ian68
29 Jun 2003, 17:45
How the Headland factor will play out is of great interest to me. Knowing his game and who best to match him can we totally nullify his existance? Will he play a blinder and hurt us badly? Will we give him too much attention and allow others to hurt us (Doubtful but still)? Does it play into the motivational factors for either side? Then only thing I am sure of the media will centre on it as a marketing factor. The thing that worries me is losing our cool if he goes well and subsequently losing the plot for a quarter, as we did against St Kilda.

SpecialBruce
29 Jun 2003, 19:49
Originally posted by ian68
How the Headland factor will play out is of great interest to me. Knowing his game and who best to match him can we totally nullify his existance? Will he play a blinder and hurt us badly? Will we give him too much attention and allow others to hurt us (Doubtful but still)? Does it play into the motivational factors for either side? Then only thing I am sure of the media will centre on it as a marketing factor. The thing that worries me is losing our cool if he goes well and subsequently losing the plot for a quarter, as we did against St Kilda.

Hopefully C Scott is back. I wouldn't mind Chris or Brad running with him for the game. Maybe alternate.

luthor
29 Jun 2003, 20:37
Originally posted by SpecialBruce
Hopefully C Scott is back. I wouldn't mind Chris or Brad running with him for the game. Maybe alternate.

I was going to say the opposite Special.

If Headland goes well, we all know who'll lose his cool.

If Scotty is fit, bring him back in the Reserves.!!!!

Don't even let him on the plane!!! :eek:

LionHeart20
29 Jun 2003, 20:42
I reckon Dessy is in for a big game against us.

SpecialBruce
29 Jun 2003, 21:14
Originally posted by luthor

If Headland goes well, we all know who'll lose his cool.

That's the whole idea. Physical presence on Des "can'tplay" Headland isn't a bad thing.

luthor
29 Jun 2003, 21:18
Not if Scotty gives him 5 or 6 fifties!!

On second thoughts, don't even let him go to the airport!!;)

Stocka
29 Jun 2003, 21:27
I reckon we should bring C.Scott back if he's fit, as he'll be able to help fill the gap left by C.Johnson.

B.Scott would be the best match-up for Headland, I'd think, assuming he's not matching up alongside someone else. S.Hart could also have a crack.

Slax
29 Jun 2003, 21:50
I'm more concerned about other players in the Freo side. They've pulled apart some good sides on the wide open spaces of Subiaco. If Headland is our major concern then I'm happy because I reckon they have a few others who are more dangerous than him.

ian68
29 Jun 2003, 23:22
Originally posted by Slax
I'm more concerned about other players in the Freo side. They've pulled apart some good sides on the wide open spaces of Subiaco. If Headland is our major concern then I'm happy because I reckon they have a few others who are more dangerous than him.

I totally agree with that. Pavelich for starters makes Headland look second rate on most occasions. In fact I would doubt if Headland is in the top-ten B&F for Freo. He (Pavelich) is not an ex-lion however and no different from a multitude of stars that we have to contend with in this competition. The ex-lion bit will bring some sort of emotion into the clash. Whether it is motivation for us to remind him what he is missing, motivation for him to show he can play well without us or something else, only time will tell.

As for who shall play on him, I'll leave that up to Leigh and the boys but I would not be surprised if it was one of the younger guys like Weller, McGrath or even Gram. A bit of now it is our turn hotshot. If JB is playing then Pikey could stitch him up, but he would be my first choice to replace Johnson and better for him not to have a key opponent.

cjwalkley
30 Jun 2003, 14:23
I would definitely start Brad Scott on Headland and let him attack the body consistently early, Des doesn't like close attention at all and could be put right off his game. He will be verballed by everybody as well, which would get into his head.

Pavlich could be an interesting role, with Chris Scott an option here as well. I am a lot more concerned by Pavlich, Hasleby and the like than I am by Headland.

LionHeart20
30 Jun 2003, 14:56
Hmmm, it'll be interesting to see who plays in this game.
Will Chris Scott play?
Will Blake Caracella play?
Will Lynch make the trip to WA?

I reckon we'll miss CJ heaps this weekend.. who'll replace him?
Jonathon Brown will most likely be up for selection this week.

who's in, who's out? :confused:

cjwalkley
30 Jun 2003, 16:24
Ash McGrath can play the role that Johnson usually plays, however we need to get someone else as our designated kicker.....possibly Nige Lappin. It would be good to see Gram and Weller get another game, but it will all depend upon who is coming back.

Mr Ripper
30 Jun 2003, 16:53
One would hope we won't become obsessed with Des in our pre-match planning. I'm sure Leigh won't let it happen. There's plenty of other Dockers to worry about.

NICK THE PIE MAN
30 Jun 2003, 16:57
Jelena will be blanketed.

Brian
30 Jun 2003, 18:34
Subiaco is as big an advantage as the gabba .
The dockers will be pumped and running hard .

rchowell
30 Jun 2003, 18:57
Well I reckon that Brissy are good enough to win no matter what 22 goes over there. As has been said Freo played on a heavy ground, 6 day break, long plane trip etc etc etc it all adds up. And showers are forecast for Saturday, and I can't remember the last time Brisbane lost in less than perfect conditions. Anyway if they bring the same intensity with them on the plane as they showed on Saturday night they'll be in with a red hot chance regardless.

But I just think they should just keep it simple stupid, I mean they all went man on man after quarter time the other night and it worked wonders for them. Just start B. Scott on Headland in the middle, if he goes forward then have C. Scott take him. CHRIS SCOTT SHOULD PLAY IF HE'S FIT. I just wanted to say that :p ankles aren't hamstrings or anything. But if he's not fit then Ashcroft should take him if he goes forward. But yeah have the Scott twins rough Dessy up and get into his head a bit. And of course if the bloke who's on him gets a bit too fired up and starts to lose it, Lethal can always swap the two over and nobody will know the difference :D

But as others have said Headland isn't exactly the biggest worry. There's Pavlich etc., and where exactly does Pavlich play these days? I always thought he was a centre half back but he seems to kick a few goals so I dunno... I would actually like to see Hart on Hasleby cos Hasleby hasn't got the greatest wind tank from what I've heard and Harty's one of the fittest blokes going around, even at age 32.

Probably have Michael on Longmuir and Leppitsch on Croad (is that the way Freo set up their forwards? I don't get to see them very often). I'd like to see McGrath start on Medhurst. Medhurst is probably a bit bigger in the body and maybe a bit smarter as well, but McGrath could really hurt him with a bit of run out of defence, and he laid 7 tackles on Saturday so he gets the big thumbs up from me. Worth a try anyway, and apart from C. Scott and Ashcroft I'd like to know who else they should play on him. I dunno Gram perhaps...

SpecialBruce
30 Jun 2003, 19:52
I'd start Luke Power on Medhurst.

Gram and McGrath are the other ones if we need Power up forward or in the middle.

kimp
30 Jun 2003, 20:27
I thought it was Brad who made the speech at the awards night?