View Full Version : Melbourne Fans should complain to the ABC

Joffaboy
30 Jun 2003, 10:17
For a start congrats to the Dees for a great win. I am bitterly disappointed with the Saints game but thats not your problem.

I didn't get to the game, but driving down to Lorne on Saturday arvo I listened to the game on 774 ABC. The commentary was so bias and one sided toward the Saints even I had to commentate to my wife.
beside the usual snide remarks about 4 wheel driving Dee supporters, all the special comments men did was bag the absolute s.hite out of the Dees, even though the game was even until late into the third quarter.

Then at 3/4 time the special comments bloke, (either Mclure or Hafey) basically stated that the Dees would crumble in the last quarter, even though they were seven goals up.

This type of critisism I suppose stems from the Dees past two months poor performances, however it didn't even sound as though they were watching the game and basing there critisism on past prejudice.

Anyway good luck Dees. Well won and good luck for the rest of the season.

no. 5 is alive
30 Jun 2003, 12:35
Cheers Joffa, a lot of people have been commenting on the bias against us (on Demonlology and Demonland). The thing is, we play much better as underdogs, so the more the media bag us the better, I reckon! It only upsets me if it may be deterring people from becoming members.

You sound like YOU should barrack for Melbourne - off to the seaside instead of the footy :p

Kidding.

Don't be too sad about the loss because you have a list capable of doing anything. Gee that number 12 of yours is a wonder to watch.

BT
30 Jun 2003, 20:41
Originally posted by Joffaboy
For a start congrats to the Dees for a great win. I am bitterly disappointed with the Saints game but thats not your problem.

I didn't get to the game, but driving down to Lorne on Saturday arvo I listened to the game on 774 ABC. The commentary was so bias and one sided toward the Saints even I had to commentate to my wife.
beside the usual snide remarks about 4 wheel driving Dee supporters, all the special comments men did was bag the absolute s.hite out of the Dees, even though the game was even until late into the third quarter.

Then at 3/4 time the special comments bloke, (either Mclure or Hafey) basically stated that the Dees would crumble in the last quarter, even though they were seven goals up.

This type of critisism I suppose stems from the Dees past two months poor performances, however it didn't even sound as though they were watching the game and basing there critisism on past prejudice.

Anyway good luck Dees. Well won and good luck for the rest of the season.

Not much we can do about it really. I'm used to it by now. People are entitled to their opinions, even if in this case it shows up their own lack of knowledge of the situation.

The section of our support that fit that stereotype are the MCC members most of whom aren't part of the 20,000 members we have anyway & therefore not supporting the club financially. They're not terribly vocal unless it involves getting stuck into the coach as he walks past at the quarter breaks & rarely turn up to Melbourne games played away from the MCG. The real true passionate Dees fans are the 10,000 or so who'll go to Optus Oval & Telstra Dome no matter where we are on the ladder.

The whole Snow Bunny/Range Rover/Chardonnay thing is done mainly in jest. A usually professional setup like 3LO should be above cheap shots like that. But I guess that's why MMM & AW are so popular these days.

footyman
30 Jun 2003, 20:57
Originally posted by BT
A usually professional setup like 3LO should be above cheap shots like that. . What do you expect from a station who has their A team headed by Dan Lonergan and Drew Morphett. If they can pick some decent commentators and I might listen to them.

Ms.Storm
1 Jul 2003, 04:43
Joffa is a Saints fan, no a Melb Fan.....he also likes rugby league:D .

He's just being nice to Dees supporters, but I promise, if he sees me on here, he won't be nice to me...he he he;)

Anyway, Joffa, I wouldn't worry about the abc comments too much.

Supermercado
1 Jul 2003, 14:46
The ABC are hardly ones to snipe about chardonary drinking snobs, that's what consitutes the majority of their listener base.

Or do those people refuse to listen to the football and only turn on when some tosser like John Faine is talking?

dees01
9 Jul 2003, 12:31
Originally posted by BT
They're not terribly vocal unless it involves getting stuck into the coach as he walks past at the quarter breaks

I hope you are not referring to me!?

BT
9 Jul 2003, 15:04
Originally posted by dees01
I hope you are not referring to me!?

No not just you ...