Box Hill Hawks
Saturday 7th August
@ Casey Fields
3:00pm
Both Teams TBC
stemline
5 Aug 2010, 19:22
Teams are in. No Dowler or Lowden.
http://www.sportingpulse.com/assoc_page.cgi?client=1-118-0-0-0&sID=129988&&news_task=DETAIL&articleID=12890373§ionID=129988
Good to see Savage playing, and Robbie Campbell is named in the seniors.
rdhopkins2
5 Aug 2010, 19:33
Thanks for posting the teams link Stemline. Will have a good look after tea
Good to see Big Bob named for the seniors but concerning that Dowler isn't named in either side.
TheFourPillars
5 Aug 2010, 19:45
Looks like last weeks game in the mud has taken its toll on young lowden probably have a rest young fella see you in a week. Dowler has some sort of injury.
Henry Jr
5 Aug 2010, 19:47
Believe Lowden is being rested this week.
TheFourPillars
5 Aug 2010, 20:05
Believe Lowden is being rested this week.
It was an educated guess by myself :D
Mitchell Madness
5 Aug 2010, 20:07
Looks like last weeks game in the mud has taken its toll on young lowden probably have a rest young fella see you in a week. Dowler has some sort of injury.
apparently he felt something in his chest beat and wondered what it was
go hawks!!!
5 Aug 2010, 20:12
apparently he felt something in his chest beat and wondered what it was
I can't get over some of the s%^t dowler is copping. My suggestion is 'think it, don't write it'
Henry Jr
5 Aug 2010, 20:22
I can't get over some of the s%^t dowler is copping. My suggestion is 'think it, don't write it'
Pot calling the kettle..... :rolleyes:
TheFourPillars
5 Aug 2010, 21:16
Should be a great contest this one can't wait for Sunday. Pods may play will schoenmakers play on him? Love to see "young" Bob this week in the ruck maybe? Hopefully whitex can take his demotion on the chin and kill at box hill this week. Cmon boys we need the win top 4 is still there for us if we want it.
Number 24
5 Aug 2010, 21:17
Who is the poster, Go Hawks , who is quick to nominate players who that poster says did not go in hard enough ( that is chickened out ), even when that allegation is grossly wrong.
Think it , not say it, eh !!
We know you are a strong supporter of Dowler. That position is respected. You are entitled to love anyone you like, no matter how ugly they might be.
In the meantime Dowler needs to earn his pay check or explain why he can't.
go hawks!!!
5 Aug 2010, 21:24
Who is the poster, Go Hawks , who is quick to nominate players who that poster says did not go in hard enough ( that is chickened out ), even when that allegation is grossly wrong.
We know you are a strong supporter of Dowler. That position is respected. You are entitled to love anyone you like, no ,atter how ugly they might be.
Grossly wrong; in your opinion that is.
Henry Jr
5 Aug 2010, 21:54
We know you are a strong supporter of Dowler. That position is respected. You are entitled to love anyone you like, no ,atter how ugly they might be.
Always loved your work N24 :thumbsu:
Calls it like he sees it :D
rdhopkins2
5 Aug 2010, 22:58
Certainly another important game for Box Hill this week. I won't be able to make this game but I look forward to reports hopefully of another Box Hill Hawks hard fought victory!!
TheFourPillars
7 Aug 2010, 19:29
2010 VFL Reserves
Casey Scorpions 1.4 3.8 7.12 8.15 (63)
Box Hill Hawks 7.5 9.6 14.9 17.11 (113)
GOALS:
Casey Scorpions: Plummer 2 Waite Petropoulos McDonald Costigan Lees Weekes
Box Hill Hawks: Orr 4 Smithwick 3 Burnage 2 Johns 2 Renton 2 George Kitchin Duryea Johnston
BEST:
Casey Scorpions: Petropoulos Riseley Plummer Healey Patti Costigan
Box Hill Hawks: Sierakowski Mirra Walker Duryea Williams Orr
Interesting to see Sierakowski Duryea and Williams in the best for the development side did anyone go to the game? If they could give us a run down of the game
hawksome
7 Aug 2010, 20:21
2010 VFL Reserves
Casey Scorpions 1.4 3.8 7.12 8.15 (63)
Box Hill Hawks 7.5 9.6 14.9 17.11 (113)
GOALS:
Casey Scorpions: Plummer 2 Waite Petropoulos McDonald Costigan Lees Weekes
Box Hill Hawks: Orr 4 Smithwick 3 Burnage 2 Johns 2 Renton 2 George Kitchin Duryea Johnston
BEST:
Casey Scorpions: Petropoulos Riseley Plummer Healey Patti Costigan
Box Hill Hawks: Sierakowski Mirra Walker Duryea Williams Orr
Interesting to see Sierakowski Duryea and Williams in the best for the development side did anyone go to the game? If they could give us a run down of the game
Good to the these boys in the best today
Sirra- HFC rookie ex NSW
Duryea and Williams-HFC main list
Orr and Mirra- 2010 Victorian State Screening both very well done.
How did Mouse and Grimmers go?
Rudi Gilham
7 Aug 2010, 20:38
I get the feeling Jimmy Orr will be hot property come late November. A bit surprised Luke Andrews & Jayden Hoegel weren't invited to the screening.
TheFourPillars
7 Aug 2010, 21:32
I get the feeling Jimmy Orr will be hot property come late November. A bit surprised Luke Andrews & Jayden Hoegel weren't invited to the screening.
Yes he does look a likely type. I wonder if he will get a game in the seniors soon
2Sewell4School
8 Aug 2010, 12:04
Heading off in a bit to see the boys run around.
Great day for it.
Let's hope some of the HFC listed players put their hand up for a promotion next week.
A big game by Rhan Hooper would be an absolute bonus.
can someone give us an update
tommyk72
8 Aug 2010, 15:20
Hawks up by 3 or 4 points at half time. Were kicking against the wind in the first, and outplayed at the start of the second, but had a great finish to the third quarter, coming back from 16 down to be in front at the half.
Have heard a few names, sounds like Robbie Campbell is doing well and Skipper is being useful. Savage is having a bit of a dirty one. Every time they call out Whitecross' name, he's doing something good, though haven't heard a heap of hooper and peterson.
If you're interested, you can listen here:
http://www.3wbc.org.au/
go hawks!!!
8 Aug 2010, 15:52
20 mins 3 rd qtr down by 5 points
Changa10
8 Aug 2010, 16:12
Gibson goal after 50m penalty Box Hill 10.12 to Geelong 6.12
Musto on the full, followed by a point to K-T, Hawks 25 pts up early in the last
BlackByrd
8 Aug 2010, 16:12
Box Hill 72 to Geelong 48 start of the 2 minutes into the 4th
Changa10
8 Aug 2010, 16:16
Shane Savage goal....31pts up
Changa10
8 Aug 2010, 16:19
Sam Gibson kicks his 3rd, Hawks now up 86-49
Changa10
8 Aug 2010, 16:23
Goal to the Cats, 86-55.
14 minutes gone final quarter
Changa10
8 Aug 2010, 16:25
Goal to Lisle, Hawks now up 93-55.
Whitecross playing well. Shiels in everything atm.
Changa10
8 Aug 2010, 16:29
Tom Allright snags one back for the cats. 19 minutes gone final qtr, BH 93-61
Changa10
8 Aug 2010, 16:39
Kicking a lot of points now; 13.20:98, plays 8.13:61, game almost done
Changa10
8 Aug 2010, 16:57
Siren Sounds - Box Hill 13.21: 99 def Geelong 8.14: 62
Goals: S Gibson 3, R Campbell 2, then I lost connection
Best: S Gibson, Whitecross, R Campbell, Shoenmakers, Pedersen, Shiels
According to 3WBC commentary.
Cheeseman
8 Aug 2010, 17:06
Just got in, it was resounding win in the end, Box Hill finishing on 99, the other mob a fair way back, but I forgot to look at their score.
I had Whitecross and Skipper raffling the BOG, Morton and Whitecross were the most vocal in the defenders huddle, both showing a fair amount of leadership.
Lisle played as Centre Half Bowden for a while, but went forward in the last and was good wherever he went.
There's a fair few positives to take from this game, Schoey was good again, Hooper showed plenty of intensity and ran out the game, Musto ran straight at the ball and was committed.
There's plenty to add, but I need to go warm up my hands, hopefully someone with a better eye for the game can provide a half decent report.
EDIT: No Skipper or Morton in the best is laughable.
2Sewell4School
8 Aug 2010, 17:51
The final result flattered Geelong with the last quarter spent in our forward 50.
It seemed like we kicked 10 points or so with many guys having snaps and JKT missing an absolute sitter from the square.
WhiteX - was dominant off the back flank all day, providing run and reading the play beautifully. Seemed well above this level along with Taylor Hunt from Geelong.
I really liked Muston's game. He seemed to get a fair bit of the pill, took some very good defensive marks. Would be pushing for selection for mine.
Skipper seemed to have something to prove today and while undersized he battled well against Geelong's giant ruckman in Blake (who was very dissapointing for mine) and Simpson. Kicked a goal or two and popped up all over the ground. Would be unlucky to be overlooked next week.
Morton showed some desparation, taking some very good defensive marks and kicking a beautiful set shot from about 50 to ice the game in the last.
Lisle played both back and forward in the last, kicked a goal in the last when Robbie Campbell crashed a pack of two Geelong defenders forcing the ball to trickle to Shiels locked deep in the pocket. Shiels hears a call and threads a grubber in between a few defenders to find Lisle running into an open goal. Great little passage. Lisle is a serious footballer who can read the play very well. When defending he zoned off from his opponent a number of times and intercepted the ball coming in. He is improving every game and is dangerous at either end.
Hooper was impressive and looks as fit as anything. His closing speed is amazing. Will be selected next week.
Peterson kicked a steadying set shot in the 3rd and had a couple of ball on a string moments.
Jeez it was good seeing Robbie Campbell out there. His leadership during the huddle was great to see. The midfield group hung on every word and he seems to have been given a tactical role. He changed the set up during the break, asking the boys to spread laterally at stoppages. We seemed to win more clearences after this. Broke his nose late in the game and was rested forward but always looked dangerous. He still has a few years in the AFL ahead of him IMO.
Will post more if I can think of anything -also sorry about spelling
The final result flattered Geelong with the last quarter spent in our forward 50.
It seemed like we kicked 10 points or so with many guys having snaps and JKT missing an absolute sitter from the square.
WhiteX - was dominant off the back flank all day, providing run and reading the play beautifully. Seemed well above this level along with Taylor Hunt from Geelong.
I really liked Muston's game. He seemed to get a fair bit of the pill, took some very good defensive marks. Would be pushing for selection for mine.
Skipper seemed to have something to prove today and while undersized he battled well against Geelong's giant ruckman in Blake (who was very dissapointing for mine) and Simpson. Kicked a goal or two and popped up all over the ground. Would be unlucky to be overlooked next week.
Morton showed some desparation, taking some very good defensive marks and kicking a beautiful set shot from about 50 to ice the game in the last.
Lisle played both back and forward in the last, kicked a goal in the last when Robbie Campbell crashed a pack of two Geelong defenders forcing the ball to trickle to Shiels locked deep in the pocket. Shiels hears a call and threads a grubber in between a few defenders to find Lisle running into an open goal. Great little passage. Lisle is a serious footballer who can read the play very well. When defending he zoned off from his opponent a number of times and intercepted the ball coming in. He is improving every game and is dangerous at either end.
Hooper was impressive and looks as fit as anything. His closing speed is amazing. Will be selected next week.
Peterson kicked a steadying set shot in the 3rd and had a couple of ball on a string moments.
Jeez it was good seeing Robbie Campbell out there. His leadership during the huddle was great to see. The midfield group hung on every word and he seems to have been given a tactical role. He changed the set up during the break, asking the boys to spread laterally at stoppages. We seemed to win more clearences after this. Broke his nose late in the game and was rested forward but always looked dangerous. He still has a few years in the AFL ahead of him IMO.
Will post more if I can think of anything -also sorry about spelling
Could Kare less about the spelling- thankyou for that report mate!! Would love
To see a lot of the players mentioned in our team next week. Cheers
Hungry Hawk
8 Aug 2010, 18:36
Great to see depth and players continuing to push for senior selection.
Thanks for the reports.
2Sewell4School
8 Aug 2010, 19:15
Great to see depth and players continuing to push for senior selection.
I left with the impression that there is a hunger amongst our younger set to push for selection.
Shiels ran all day and created get out options by making space. He is still a little on the thin side but he took some big hits and just dusted himself off.
Muston also just seemed to pop up everywhere and I think he is really finding some form. He would have been a very handy inclusion yesterday in Sydney with his long kicking and gut running.
It was hard to see the ins and outs of contests that were in the centre or over the other side plus it was very congested around the ball but Tuck seemed to get a few clearances and looks to be over his injuries. I hope we can keep him.
Savage kicked beauty in the last but I didn't notice him too much during the game.
It bloody confusing trying to keep an eye on everyone with their different numbers and also being unfamiliar with them.
PatientHawk
8 Aug 2010, 19:47
Thanks for all the reports Guys:thumbsu:
Musto has been consistantly good for a while now, and I beleive he was very unlucky to be dropped from the seniors.
Does this win guarantee finals?
TheFourPillars
8 Aug 2010, 21:37
Box Hill Vs Geelong 8th of August 2010
Arriving at the ground it seemed the absolute opposite of last week’s confrontation with Casey. Both sides had been greeted with ground bathed in sunshine and there was a great turnout both from Box Hill and Geelong supporters.
I had picked up my old man and he was rather excited about the whole thing having never been to a box hill game. I bought him a footy record so he could follow the AFL listed players. I also wanted to introduce him to some of the box hill listed players. It was a great atmosphere and my old man said that he hadn’t experience this since the days at Glenferrie. We sat down and got ready.
Geelong has struggled this year and they don’t look like making the finals. Box hill on the other hand are on a high after their great victory last week. In saying all of that the Geelong supporters beside me were pretty upbeat and looking forward to a great contest.
Geelong started on the right foot by kicking with the wind in the first. There was a 2 or 3 goal advantage towards the Whitehorse end of the ground. Lisle started the first quarter as loose man in defence alongside Morton, WhiteX, Milne and Pedersen. Muston started on the wing with skipper tuck and shiels in the centre. Up forward we had young Punky , Gibson , Hoegel and few other box hill listed players. Young Bobby was on the bench to start.
Geelong made full use of the wind early. It was like watching the Geelong senior side out there. They were handballing and playing on at every opportunity and running and spreading. In the early going it was all Geelong but they were luckily a bit wayward with their kicking for goal and didn’t put on any scoreboard pressure. Box hill steadily worked its way back into the contest winning the contested footy and kicking it forward. Skipper was having a fantastic first quarter he took some great contested marks and he gave a not so subtle reminder to the selectors that he wants back in to the senior side next week. Our pressure on the ball carriers around the ground increased. Shiels and Tuck where great in and under stokes was providing a bit of run and should have kicked a goal Muston was providing a target as we went forward and was doing a lot of running.
WhiteX and Morton were providing great run of the half back line. Milne was ok and Schoenmakers was getting his hands on it. However and i find especially early in games he is very indecisive and turned the ball over a couple of times was taking a bit of time to settle. Good thing about that though it didn’t stop him hitting the next contest hard. He improved as the game went on.
Savage, Peterson, Punky, and Hooper had hardly been sighted and were not really in the game. Lisle was providing the link up play as he was lose man. Booby came onto the ground and almost had an immediate impact when he drifted forward to kick a goal much to the appreciation of the box hill crowd. Geelong and Box hill 3 goals each at the end of the first.
After fighting back in the first the hope was that second quarter would provide box hill with an opportunity to kick with the wind and make good use of it. Lisle was shifted forward for the second term. No one told Geelong that because they came out and playing with similar dare and risk they quickly built a 3 goal lead. Box hill were being run off their feet and were too loose on their opponents. Being 3 goals behind stung the box hill boys into action. Led by skipper, bobby and our midfield of Tucky, shiels and JKT they kicked the next few including a great mark in the goal square by bobby. WhiteX was having a good second quarter along with Morton who was proving to be a revelation down back. Not only was he playing well but his presence down there has released Muston to the wing half forward to be more creative. Muston also had quite a few touches in that quarter. Like the first Box hill fought its way back into the contest it was 6 goals to 5 box hills way at half time.
After conceding the first goal on the break Box hill started the second half with much more purpose and by the middle of the third was clearly dominating the game without really putting it on the scoreboard. The game was almost exclusively being played in the box hill forward line and there were up to 30 players in there. Geelong was on the ropes we just could not get that knockout punch. Peterson and Hooper who were a bit flat this game had a few touches and Hooper looked a bit angry and was going after the poor Geelong back men with a vengeance.
Shiels and Gibson and Muston were getting a lot of the ball along with WhiteX and Morton. Skipper and bobby were great around the contest. Punky who was also quiet came into it a bit in the 3rd he ran a fair bit up the ground to help out. He might have been shifted to the middle for a bit. 8 goals to 6 box hills way. They really should have been at least 6 goals in front such was their domination.
In the last quarter WhiteX who had been great all day was simply outstanding. He took numerous contested marks. One piece of play sticks out in my mind. Where Geelong on a turnover in the last were streaming forward and the ball was kicked over WhiteX’s head to the goal square. WhiteX ran with the flight of the ball turned around and took a contested mark on a much bigger opponent then proceeded to play on and hit a box hill player I think it might have been Morton with 55 meter pass. The ball went forward and lisle kicked a goal. Morton deserves special mention he was also great in the last quarter and for most of the day Shiels, JKT, Punky along with most of the box hill players really dominated the last quarter and it should have been a 10 to 12 goal win but for errant goal kicking.
For the second week Box hill really ran out the second half and restricted their opponents to 3 goals in the second half. Needless to say it was a great win and sets us up for a big game against Collingwood next week. HFC listed standouts for me for this game WhiteX, Skipper, Shiels, Morton and Muston.
TBoyleSuperstar
8 Aug 2010, 21:53
THanks for all the reports guys. Being in the country never get a chance to see the Hawks, let alone the Box Hill variety so great to get some solid reports on our listed players in the twos. Much appreciated
BullyWee
8 Aug 2010, 22:22
Marvellous report. One problem for me though is the use of nicknames. I, for one, don't know who Punky is. Who is bobby? Is it Campbell, or is it someone else?
Simon_Nesbit
8 Aug 2010, 22:30
punky Brewster....Luke Bruest.
bobby.....Big Bob Campbell (you just know he's going to be a legend around the club functions in 40 years time).
TheFourPillars
8 Aug 2010, 22:46
Marvellous report. One problem for me though is the ues of nicknames. I, for one, don't know who Punky is. Who is bobby? Is it Campbell, or is it someone else?
Yes sorry mate i will in future provide a refernce to the nick names in my post. Hope it provides inspiration to get down to box hill they are flying at the moment
We need to keep Campbell out of the best and draft him ASAP.
TheFourPillars
8 Aug 2010, 23:33
We need to keep Campbell out of the best and draft him ASAP.
Simple he is wearing Max's number just call him max from now on
Collins-Langford-Ayres
9 Aug 2010, 00:02
Great reports folks, thanks.
Nice to see some guys pushing for senior selection.
Excellent reports.
Did notice Schoey and Morton geared up at the SCG on Saturday (at least in track suit top, shorts and runners. Saw them leave the ground at half time. Must have been thinking "Geez, I'm a real chance to get a game next week if I put in a good one for BH tomorrow." Great to see all the boys do well and give the list managers and selectors something to think about.
GNCLongJack
9 Aug 2010, 08:09
punky Brewster....Luke Bruest.
bobby.....Big Bob Campbell (you just know he's going to be a legend around the club functions in 40 years time).
For me it needs to be even clearer............
is this Campbell being mentioned,
our ex-Hawk Premiership player, formerly No. 39?????????????
Simon_Nesbit
9 Aug 2010, 09:51
err....yeah.
The knee injury (well wear and tear) that enforced his early retirement has responded well to rest, and doesn't seem as bad as first thought. Still a long way to go between competent VFL, and AFL quality ruck though.
go hawks!!!
9 Aug 2010, 15:22
A big thank you to TFP for another great report.
I would like to focus on the performance of one player – Whitecross.
We who watch him at the huddles can see his leadership potential, and that is why it was so disappointing that he did not take his opportunity with the seniors in the last 3 weeks.
Yesterday, Whitey was Luke Hodge like he was everywehere, his defensive pressure was great, his tackling was strong and his disposal was efficient. I am not saying he is luke hodge, however, his persona and leadership is amazing for a 20 year old. This was shown in the last quarter when he took a strong one on one grab in the middle of the centre square and then told the team to calm down, waving his arms around. That brought a smile to my face. Yesterday he played where he should, i.e half back flank in a birchall type role, and was BOG with Gibbo as a close second.
I would like to see whitey back it up for one more game and then potentially push for senior selection, particularly if Ellis/ Laddo / Birch are not performing. I just hope that they don’t stick him up forward and play him on a back flank, similar to last year.
Well done Whitey!
Henry Jr
9 Aug 2010, 15:44
I would like to see whitey back it up for one more game and then potentially push for senior selection, particularly if Ellis/ Laddo / Birch are not performing. I just hope that they don’t stick him up forward and play him on a back flank, similar to last year.
Well done Whitey!
Exactly this. He is not a lock down forward and unfair to play the kid as such.
Goooooooo Whitey! :D
FriarTuck
9 Aug 2010, 16:24
Morton was a real shining light for mine. We are screaming out for defenders and he looked good today. Good overhead and calm with the footy. He needs another 5 kilos and he could hold down a KPD.
Stoker was interesting. I would not be stunned if we drafted him. He showed signs of zip around the contest.
Not sold on Lisle. Saw him get burnt off a few times where his lack of speed was on clear view.
Schoey is an interesting one. His ground work is great. He still needs to work on the 'tall' aspects of his game. Not convinced about the way we are training all our defenders. The lack of body use is frustrating.
Bruest did not have a huge game but always does his one or two things that are a class above VFL.
TheFourPillars
9 Aug 2010, 17:34
Morton was a real shining light for mine. We are screaming out for defenders and he looked good today. Good overhead and calm with the footy. He needs another 5 kilos and he could hold down a KPD.
Stoker was interesting. I would not be stunned if we drafted him. He showed signs of zip around the contest.
Not sold on Lisle. Saw him get burnt off a few times where his lack of speed was on clear view.
Schoey is an interesting one. His ground work is great. He still needs to work on the 'tall' aspects of his game. Not convinced about the way we are training all our defenders. The lack of body use is frustrating.
Bruest did not have a huge game but always does his one or two things that are a class above VFL.
You're not wrong he has transformed himself after going back has had a month of solid football including the last two weeks. This has allowed muston to go lineup on the Wing/half forward (win / win) as far as i am concerned. I said as much in another thread somewhere can't remember where now
Rudi Gilham
9 Aug 2010, 19:00
Great reporting everyone. Another good win for Box Hill.
Two very tough games to finish the year off though. Collingwood next week, stacked with AFL listed players. Top side, Williamstown the next.
Good to see Ryan Jackson in the best. Still no Steve Kenna & Luke Ablett though.
go hawks!!!
10 Aug 2010, 09:43
Further to the above ^^^^ on Whitecross, who should come in this week for guerra, I would like to highlight the improvement in the last 3 weeks of MORTON.
Even since he has grown his 'extremist' beard, Morton has really settled into his position at HBF. About a month ago, I was calling for him to be dropped to the development squad (with Dowler and moss), if a decision has been made on his 'future' and give duryea and williams a go.
Last week, Morton was fantastic, on the other flank from Whitecross. This followed two strong perfromances in the weeks prior.
Morton was strong one-on-one, fairly good with his disposal and showed enough footy smarts in his role.
This is great news, where he is developing into a half back type who can run and run hard, with enough body stregth to push off an opponent. He has never played in that position, but was stuck there mid year when he was completely out of form up forward. Note he wears the 'dreaded' number 19, which was passed on from the messiah....not Dunstall but Mitch Thorp who was delisted last year and has been in the best for Werribee once this year.
If Morton stays at Hawthorn, he will be a back flanker - nothing else, up against birch, milne, laddo (traded for mine), whitecross, murphy and perhaps musto (can't keep them all!).
With another few strong perfromances at BH (and has been named as an emergency against sydney), his value come trade day will be improved (at least from one month ago).
Well in summary, well done Morton for working hard after being down in the dumps one month ago, good to see a turnaround when challenged.
FriarTuck
10 Aug 2010, 16:37
...............Morton was strong one-on-one, fairly good with his disposal and showed enough footy smarts in his role
...................................If Morton stays at Hawthorn, he will be a back flanker - nothing else, up against birch, milne, laddo (traded for mine), whitecross, murphy and perhaps musto (can't keep them all!)..
You look at the history of Morto and this is his third edition. You cannot accuse the guy of not trying to re-build himself.
He is just a tad too small for a KPD and a fair way behind our other HBFers. I think his future will be decided this week.
All of our backs looked tired last week. Could be Morto's opportunity. If he gets a run in the ones this week, he has a chance of survival.
Simon_Nesbit
10 Aug 2010, 18:48
At draft time, I called Morton a prototype HFC FB. Tallish, not genuine KPP height or build, but with a good leap, great grab, and can run all day.
Early signs accross HBF/wing were very promising, then something happened and he basically disappeared for two seasons. What happened? Was he just pigeon-holed as an "almost" KPF/3rd tall?
2Sewell4School
10 Aug 2010, 21:17
At draft time, I called Morton a prototype HFC FB. Tallish, not genuine KPP height or build, but with a good leap, great grab, and can run all day.
Early signs accross HBF/wing were very promising, then something happened and he basically disappeared for two seasons. What happened? Was he just pigeon-holed as an "almost" KPF/3rd tall?
He showed genuine promise early on no doubt, his form just dropped so severely that he has rarely been in the best at Box Hill let alone pushing hard for a seniors game.
I just wonder whether it's too little too late for him.
He was so visible on Sunday and I found myself surprised to see the person with the ball was #72 as bad as that sounds.
I hope he can continue this form and push for selection before the end of this year as a last gasp chance to display his wares.
I didn't see Clarko there on Sunday though not sure whether this would effect his possible elevation?
Coathanger
11 Aug 2010, 09:24
We have a lot of tough calls to make on player's futures at seasons end.
History is littered with players that don't quite make it in the AFL but are a class above in the VFL.I think we have 3 or 4 of these guys..
Roger Rogerson
11 Aug 2010, 13:03
Havent seen a Box Hill game for a while but wouldn't surprise to see Stokes back in the Hawthorn side this week with Rioli still out. Yes Hooper should come in as well but we need 2 smalls up forward. Really hope the penny drops with the selectors and we continually play 2 small crumbing forwards.
Stoker might be our bargain depth player next year on minimum wages. Has ability.
I am surprised it has taken this long for Morton to be pushed into defence given the state of our list. There were discussions on this board at least a year ago suggesting he should be moulded into a defender. They would want to try him up back in the seniors before the year is out so they can make a call on retaining him or not. I guess the question mark remains over Morton with his kicking and I still believe his decision making is hesitant and he puts himself under unnecessary pressure at times with his disposal - he lacks a bit of footy instinct - but perhaps he has improved in this area?
TheFourPillars
11 Aug 2010, 18:25
Havent seen a Box Hill game for a while but wouldn't surprise to see Stokes back in the Hawthorn side this week with Rioli still out. Yes Hooper should come in as well but we need 2 smalls up forward. Really hope the penny drops with the selectors and we continually play 2 small crumbing forwards.
Stoker might be our bargain depth player next year on minimum wages. Has ability.
I am surprised it has taken this long for Morton to be pushed into defence given the state of our list. There were discussions on this board at least a year ago suggesting he should be moulded into a defender. They would want to try him up back in the seniors before the year is out so they can make a call on retaining him or not. I guess the question mark remains over Morton with his kicking and I still believe his decision making is hesitant and he puts himself under unnecessary pressure at times with his disposal - he lacks a bit of footy instinct - but perhaps he has improved in this area?
Ok why not campbell brown and hooper up forward and whitex in the back half where he played exceptionally well at box hill last week. If you remember early 2009 he played in that position and played very well. I remember the game against Carlton where fevola missed that set shot and hit the post. The ball was brought in and whitex had it. Fev started to chase after him and with very little time left in the game he calmly just accelerated away from fev and i think kicked or handpassed it to some one. I really like whitex as a defender back pocket.
rdhopkins2
13 Aug 2010, 16:10
Aloha! Thanks for the reporting guys, a brilliant read!!! Keep it up for the next game :) Mahalo!! Russ