HF: Hardingham Neagle Colyer
F: Monfries Hille Davey
Foll: Ryder Houli Howlett
Int: Reimers Winderlich Lonergan Prismall
Out: Gumby; In: Winders
George Washington
5 Aug 2010, 16:58
Good changes.
Zaka on a wing and Houli in the middle. Yes Knighta! Now get Dempsey on a wing of a HFF!
BomberTime
5 Aug 2010, 17:00
Yep, couldnt be too unhappy with those changes. Hopefully stants is ready to be released back into the midfield after a few weeks freshening up down back.
gO_bOmBeRz
5 Aug 2010, 17:04
Good stuff :D zaka on the wing and houli in the middle :D
i think knighta has started to read these forums ;)
Darealrath
5 Aug 2010, 17:04
Great that Winder is fit enough to play!
We certainly aren't losing this on selection. I think that side gives us just about our best midfield rotation all year.
Frothies Mcveigh
5 Aug 2010, 17:07
Happy with the changes. Hopefully Zaka and Houli actually play in those positions.
Donakebab
5 Aug 2010, 17:07
Happy. :thumbsu:
gO_bOmBeRz
5 Aug 2010, 17:09
i hope were not risking winderlich.
BomberTime
5 Aug 2010, 17:10
NLM, Myers and Carlisle emergencies.
Looks great. Interesting to see Neagle named at CHF, Houli in the guts first bounce. Hope it lines up as named.:thumbsu:
Shouldn't run out of legs with that side.
i hope were not risking winderlich.
It's only his hand, I wouldn't be too worried. Not like he's coming back from anything serious.
gO_bOmBeRz
5 Aug 2010, 17:21
NLM, Myers and Carlisle emergencies.
:thumbsu:
gO_bOmBeRz
5 Aug 2010, 17:21
B: Jordan Russell, Michael Jamison, Aaron Joseph
HB: Dennis Armfield, Paul Bower, Shaun Grigg
C: Heath Scotland, Chris Judd, Bryce Gibbs
HF: Kade Simpson, Lachie Henderson, Marc Murphy
F: Shaun Hampson, Jarrad Waite, Eddie Betts
Foll: Robert Warnock, Andrew Carrazzo, David Ellard
I/C: Marcus Davies, Jeff Garlett, Richard Hadley, Mitch Robinson
Emg: Joe Anderson, Mark Austin, Setanta O'hAilpin
In: Hadley, Armfield, Davies, Robinson
Out: Brad Fisher, Andrew Walker, Chris Johnson, Chris Yarran (ankle)
New: Marcus Davies (Tasmania U18)
cAsEy_18
5 Aug 2010, 17:25
Not too much of notice in the Blues changes. Nothing to fear coming in, but not a whole lot going out. They're going to be physical from the first bounce, if we can match them at the clearances early, I think our run will get them in the end.
Hille and Ryder + a very good balance of inside and outside mids. A recipe for success against a team like Carlton :thumbsu:
Very happy with selection. :)
The Donners
5 Aug 2010, 17:30
I'm not so worried about our in and out... good work by our team selection panel by the way... I'm more concerned about Carlton's changes, they've brought in Mitch Robinson, we're screwed now! :o
BomberTime
5 Aug 2010, 17:32
Yarran out is a big plus for us, i think they may have had us worried down back with Betts, Garlett and Yarran. Mcveigh will take Betts, Dempsey should be able to go with garlett but it would have left Hocking to take Yarran most likely which would have worried me. Hopefully Hurls and Hooker can take Henderson and Waite and leave fletch to clean up again down back. Who is this Marcus Davies? Position? Some research needed i think.
Darealrath
5 Aug 2010, 17:37
I'm happy Fisher is out, I actually rate him a bit, good hands.
gO_bOmBeRz
5 Aug 2010, 17:39
Yarran out is a big plus for us, i think they may have had us worried down back with Betts, Garlett and Yarran. Mcveigh will take Betts, Dempsey should be able to go with garlett but it would have left Hocking to take Yarran most likely which would have worried me. Hopefully Hurls and Hooker can take Henderson and Waite and leave fletch to clean up again down back. Who is this Marcus Davies? Position? Some research needed i think.
Quick midfielder/defender who possesses great power and endurance, as well as sound skills by hand and foot. Performed well as a key defender for Tasmania at last year’s NAB AFL Under-18 Championships. Works hard and is prepared to run and carry the ball.
Draft History
2009 NAB AFL Draft 3rd round selection (Carlton) No. 43 overall.
Source:
http://www.carltonfc.com.au/players/playerprofile/marcusdavies/tabid/7854/playerid/21603/category/senior/season/2010/selected/bio/default.aspx
BomberTime
5 Aug 2010, 17:43
Cheers mate, very helpful.
Damn, was hoping johnson and fisher were playing, those blokes are useless.
Good to see Knights not making 3-4 changes like he normally does. Players like Colyer, Prizza and Howlett deserve to stay in the side for more than one game at a time. Hopefully Jetta, Myers and Carlisle get a chance in the final month of footy.
The Angry Bomber
5 Aug 2010, 18:13
B: Hocking Fletcher Dempsey
HB: McVeigh Hurley Hooker
C: Zaka Watson Stanton
For the first time in weeks, I'm happy with our selections. Think Knights has been paying attention and reading all those articles written about him.
Suggestion Number One - Play Houli for the rest of the year
Suggestion Number Two - Keep the same playing group out there week in /week out. So they can get used to playing as one team. Make minimal changes
Suggestion Number Three - Give some of the younger plays a chance; Colyer, Howlett, Hardingham.
Suggestion Number Four - Stop dropping Prismall and give him a chance to be apart of this midfield group
Either he's learning to become a better coach or he's worried about getting the ass.. either way, the right moves are finally being made.
Ah, Dostoevsky. The Mad Russian. Good stuff, good stuff...
B: Hocking Fletcher Dempsey
HB: McVeigh Hurley Hooker
C: Zaka Watson Stanton
Just one change.. I'm McLovin' it!
Stop Betts, stop Carlton.
kelvin_sheedy
5 Aug 2010, 18:44
The cosmic forces have aligned. We are all in agreement. Everyone is happy. Strange times.
Lance Uppercut
5 Aug 2010, 18:45
I'm happy Fisher is out, I actually rate him a bit, good hands.
same, the less marking power in their forward line the better
Sack Knights Agreed; this is almost surreal having no bickering.
Pretty happy with that.
I'll throw in a curveball for the sake of it: Who'll play CHF? Neagle can't run out a game there, surely.
Though I guess he could start there, drop back and have Monfries play as the unofficial CHF, as he so often does.
Sack Knights Agreed; this is almost surreal having no bickering.
Pretty happy with that.
I'll throw in a curveball for the sake of it: Who'll play CHF? Neagle can't run out a game there, surely.
Though I guess he could start there, drop back and have Monfries play as the unofficial CHF, as he so often does.
Easy, our run and carry through the midfield will be too much for them, kicking it deeper to Neagle, Ryder and Hilley, hardly needing a CHF.
Brent Prismall#9
5 Aug 2010, 19:11
Very happy with selection not just this week but the past two have been very pleasing. Earlier in the year I'd be worring all Thursday as who's going to be unfairly dropped, who'd thought that Prissa and Houli would play three matches in a row together in the seniors :p
Well done knighta :thumbsu:
The Dustbin
5 Aug 2010, 19:13
I'm not so worried about our in and out... good work by our team selection panel by the way... I'm more concerned about Carlton's changes, they've brought in Mitch Robinson, we're screwed now! :o
For physical presence. :D:o
gO_bOmBeRz
5 Aug 2010, 19:17
I have a good feeling about this game.
Simply putting it.. i dont know how they're going to beat us :S
In the backline Fletcher, Hooker, Hurley and co will have the night of their lives and now with Yarran as an out "sentantas little helpers" will be easier to maintain.
In the forward line we will see the usual Monfries 4 goals +
with Hardingham who i feel will explode with the crap defence of Carlton
Riemers will probably continue his good form against the scums.
Hille and Neagle will run amok u wait and see :D
Ryder will tear it up with no proper ruckman *have fun ryder*
Not to mention the speedsters in Colyer and Davey against the 4 "grunt" inclusions of Carlton hahhahahhah (sorry couldnt help it)
Watson and Stanton with the odd 30+ touches ;)
Johnny619
5 Aug 2010, 19:33
I have a bad feeling about this match.:(
gO_bOmBeRz
5 Aug 2010, 19:38
Dont worry we wont put them into depression rehab ;)
bombersaway
5 Aug 2010, 20:10
Me too the last bloke I wanted them to pick was Robinson he's one of few in this match with c**t in him everyone else can bag him him all day long he doesn't do that much but when he does it has an effect a physical game like they are talking up is not what we want we have no mongrels in our side, to be honest if Carlton don't want him next year I hope we get him hold your tongues people I'd hate to see him have the last laugh
TeamHurley
5 Aug 2010, 20:12
I have a bad feeling about this match.:(
This.
It's got danger written all over it this game.
I think Carltons have more in and under players than us and if it rains our outside runners will struggle.
Big game for Lonergan helping out a sore Watson.
Lance Uppercut
5 Aug 2010, 20:48
meh, I'm the last d00d to get over-confident, but we are really going to smash these guys tomorrow.
They have no avenues to goal we can't shut out; we have better inside players; we are WAAAY faster than them; we have far more small forward options to crumb off Hille/Ryder & Neagle.
All they have going for them is the shame of last week. Sure they'll come out fired up, but that will only last for 10 minutes or so, then it's man on man.
This might come back to bite me, but they are still favourites, & we'll still belt them
gO_bOmBeRz
5 Aug 2010, 21:07
meh, I'm the last d00d to get over-confident, but we are really going to smash these guys tomorrow.
They have no avenues to goal we can't shut out; we have better inside players; we are WAAAY faster than them; we have far more small forward options to crumb off Hille/Ryder & Neagle.
All they have going for them is the shame of last week. Sure they'll come out fired up, but that will only last for 10 minutes or so, then it's man on man.
This might come back to bite me, but they are still favourites, & we'll still belt them
Very true.
ghostdog
5 Aug 2010, 21:10
Pleased to see stability in the selections:thumbsu:
Have been stoked with Houli being included and I hope we keep him. Interestingly, on Selection Table Knights said it was really good for our future to have Houli, Howlett and Zaharakis playing alongside Watson and Stanton.
Awesome! I'm on the 'keep Houli at Essendon bandwagon'! All aboard!:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:
gO_bOmBeRz
5 Aug 2010, 21:17
Pleased to see stability in the selections:thumbsu:
Have been stoked with Houli being included and I hope we keep him. Interestingly, on Selection Table Knights said it was really good for our future to have Houli, Howlett and Zaharakis playing alongside Watson and Stanton.
Awesome! I'm on the 'keep Houli at Essendon bandwagon'! All aboard!:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:
All Aboard ! :thumbsu::thumbsu:
Lets just hope it isn't too late. :(
I reckon our forwardline could be a bit of a handful for them-
*Neagle and Monfries as lead-up types, and they'll definitely want to shut out the latter. So Monfries will get their 1st or 2nd best defender.
*The 2 resting ruckmen, who both offer something different but equally as damaging. Either of those would also warrant their best defender.
*Leaves the rest of their defence to look after Neagle, Hardingham, Davey, and whichever of Reimers/Houli/Zaharakis etc is in there at the time. Their mids don't offer as much support as St Kilda, who really made a concerted effort to get back to stop Hardingham's leap and run at the ball. Do Carlton have a medium type that could go with him?
Hopefully the ball is going in there quickly.
Also: if, by chance, we get a bit of a run/break on them, they might throw Waite back as the 3rd tall to stem the flow. Would love for Hurley to follow him there and do a bit of damage :D
gO_bOmBeRz
5 Aug 2010, 21:24
I reckon our forwardline could be a bit of a handful for them-
*Neagle and Monfries as lead-up types, and they'll definitely want to shut out the latter. So Monfries will get their 1st or 2nd best defender.
*The 2 resting ruckmen, who both offer something different but equally as damaging. Either of those would also warrant their best defender.
*Leaves the rest of their defence to look after Neagle, Hardingham, Davey, and whichever of Reimers/Houli/Zaharakis etc is in there at the time. Their mids don't offer as much support as St Kilda, who really made a concerted effort to get back to stop Hardingham's leap and run at the ball. Do Carlton have a medium type that could go with him?
Hopefully the ball is going in there quickly.
Also: if, by chance, we get a bit of a run/break on them, they might throw Waite back as the 3rd tall to stem the flow. Would love for Hurley to follow him there and do a bit of damage :D
Dont you just love Hurley ? :cool:
The thing I get from this weeks selections is that Knights may have found the best 22 we have been searching for. Has taken a bit of chopping and changing but the if the team lines up next year like it has the last few games we will definately move forward :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:.
bombersaway
5 Aug 2010, 21:32
The thing I get from this weeks selections is that Knights may have found the best 22 we have been searching for. Has taken a bit of chopping and changing but the if the team lines up next year like it has the last few games we will definately move forward :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:.
yeah spot on only gumby and taiter inj otherwise deff our best 22 looks so much better without hank and welshy
Longy413
5 Aug 2010, 21:44
Quick midfielder/defender who possesses great power and endurance, as well as sound skills by hand and foot. Performed well as a key defender for Tasmania at last year’s NAB AFL Under-18 Championships. Works hard and is prepared to run and carry the ball.
I don't know if I'd call him quick, but he is hard working and hard running.
Damn, was hoping johnson and fisher were playing, those blokes are useless.
I'm glad Fisher is out, he plays well against us and is the type of under performing, midsized forward that gets the better of us.
This.
I reckon Lonergan and Howlett hold the key.
Their ability to keep the ball going our way when the heat is on and Watson is off the ground is going to be vital.
If they can have a dozen clearances between them, we'll win the game.
bombermick
5 Aug 2010, 22:04
I don't think we should underestimate the loss of Gumby as he provides a great lead-up target. Hopefully Neagle can help to cover his loss somewhat. Winders in gives us another runner, which is so important against the Blues. They've lost a couple of their best runners in Yarran and Walker and replaced them with hard nuts. Hopefully if we weather their early storm our run can get them.
gO_bOmBeRz
5 Aug 2010, 22:21
I don't think we should underestimate the loss of Gumby as he provides a great lead-up target. Hopefully Neagle can help to cover his loss somewhat. Winders in gives us another runner, which is so important against the Blues. They've lost a couple of their best runners in Yarran and Walker and replaced them with hard nuts. Hopefully if we weather their early storm our run can get them.
The weather might play a roll, as i heard there is going to be heavy rain.
Which isn't good for us
EVERLAST
5 Aug 2010, 23:43
I'm tipping a late change with NLM to come in for either Reimers or Lonergan.
stay true
6 Aug 2010, 00:14
Forced changes only, I dig it. :thumbsu:
Duckworth
6 Aug 2010, 01:16
Anyone know why Hardingham has been named for Bendigo. For that matter I'm not to sure who Shimmers is either. :p
http://www.essendonfc.com.au/news/news.asp?nid=7695
Bomber1978
6 Aug 2010, 01:34
Hardingham on a HFF seems to be an error on the Essendon website.
Correct side below:
Bendigo Bombers
B T. Slattery Flaherty Atkinson
HB Dyson Cloke H. Slattery
C Melksham Crameri Jetta
HF Marigliani Carlisle Duscher
F Quinn Bellchambers Still
R Bock Myers Lovett-Murray
Int Thompson Liddle Scanlon
Skipworth Collins Delahunty
J. Williams Dennis* Shinners
Come on now Bombers. Do the right thing.
Keep that Blues misery going. I'm loving it.
This game has trouble written all over it...
Looking at the selected teams, simply we look a lot better in nearly all areas however these games are never played on paper. Given everything thrown at Carlton this week, I'll be surprised if we get up in this one. They're due.
bombermick
6 Aug 2010, 11:12
This game has trouble written all over it...
Looking at the selected teams, simply we look a lot better in nearly all areas however these games are never played on paper. Given everything thrown at Carlton this week, I'll be surprised if we get up in this one. They're due.
Agree. Our form and the respective teams saids we win easily. But they surely have to come out hard. We have to be ferocious in the stoppages, particularly early on.
kelvin_sheedy
6 Aug 2010, 12:48
Could be the making of Matthew Knights.
If we get done to a fired up Carlton then I'll never have faith in Knighter getting the boys up for any sort of performance. It will continue to be jekyll and hyde.
Almost like an away game. We just can't compete.
This game could put the bed the poor performances earlier this year and set us up for finals next year. Belief, confidence and ruthlessness.
We should put away an average Carlton.
Weather won't have an impact to those who think the rain will cause a tight contest. There won't be any heavy rain, supposedly possibilty of a shower.