View Full Version : Who is the most exciting Blues player you have seen?

The Old Dark Navy's
17 Mar 2001, 19:32
Which Blues player is the most exciting you have ever seen play?

Steve Silvagni has taken some ripper marks and done some freakish things. Kouta is an excitement machine. Peter Bosustow was capable of amazing feats. Wayne Harmes, Jezza, the list is endless. Over a career, I think Sos has been the most exciting both in defense and in especially up forward. Kouta would be the most exciting player going around today IMO.

What do you think?

amazonstud
19 Mar 2001, 15:09
I think the most exciting would have been Bosustow. Jessa Sticks Johnston Harmes etc were great players and did some unbelievable things on the field but the Buzz was a one off. He did the freak things week in week out and sometimes I don't think he even he knew what he was doing.

The mark of the year, the goal of the year, the tackle of the year, and yet you would say he didn't really star. Like Daicos at Collingwood he seemed to be able to kick goals from anywhere but he lacked discipline and that was his undoing. A career cut short by a foolish act.

I think the days of the freak are just about gone with most clubs insisting upon conformity with players capable of playing both ends and more athlets than footballers.

walshy93
22 Apr 2008, 18:48
Bump.

BlueDevil
22 Apr 2008, 19:01
hmm interesting, still have to say kouta as i've yet to see judd play live (dont have to wait any longer, i'll be at the G saturday),when at his best Kouta was freakish and a thrill to see play live.

Blue Bawls
22 Apr 2008, 19:01
Chris Judd. I can't remember anyone tearing up a midfield the way Judd does. His goal out of the centre was mercurial and the assist to Fev - the way he ran through that pack and linked up with the players around him was astonishing.

Greg Williams was another - what hands...

NWTYRX
22 Apr 2008, 19:10
Now that I've seen Juddy play live, there's really no contest

jj1978
22 Apr 2008, 19:18
Pre 2008 could have said Williams/Kouta... but f me dead... Judd within 5 games has won this hands down..

It's the aura Judd has... he's mesmerizing..

The Real Deal
22 Apr 2008, 19:34
Juddy. Everything he does is class. Can't wait to watch him play from week to week. And even his articles in the Age on the weekend are entertaining!

HBF
22 Apr 2008, 19:41
For someone different, i'm going to say Chris Judd.
I just about p1ssed my pants when he ran, bounced and goaled from outside 50 against Melbourne.

walshy93
22 Apr 2008, 20:00
Nice Bump Walshy!

GPW1
22 Apr 2008, 20:01
jimmy plunkett

Thrawn
22 Apr 2008, 20:02
Kouta, no contest.

Blue Bawls
22 Apr 2008, 20:04
Kouta, no contest.

We're not talking about players you want to boof... :eek::p;)

Rambo Stallone
22 Apr 2008, 22:38
Which Blues player is the most exciting you have ever seen play?

Steve Silvagni has taken some ripper marks and done some freakish things. Kouta is an excitement machine. Peter Bosustow was capable of amazing feats. Wayne Harmes, Jezza, the list is endless. Over a career, I think Sos has been the most exciting both in defense and in especially up forward. Kouta would be the most exciting player going around today IMO.

What do you think?

Well definetly not Kouta,he was overrated,only had 1 year that no one could match,the rest of the years he was Very good to good to ordinary.He was never the same after 2001.

Banga19
22 Apr 2008, 22:44
Well definetly not Kouta,he was overrated,only had 1 year that no one could match,the rest of the years he was good to ordinary.

Don't have to be consistent to be exciting IMO. In fact being consistently awesome for years isn't all that exciting, its repetitive!

Kouta right up their fort mine......along with Judd;)

branedotorg
22 Apr 2008, 22:49
justin madden. seriously.

kernahan, his strength was insane but his kicking could be sub richo.

braddles. he ran a marathon every game before most players & was brilliant at finding the ball

blues4flag
22 Apr 2008, 22:54
Judd and Fev are both brilliant to watch of the current day Blues.

Doctor Moffet
22 Apr 2008, 22:57
Mick Martyn.

thylacine60
23 Apr 2008, 00:24
Mick Martyn.

Starting to think the cops have tasered you one too many times.

The Cranium
23 Apr 2008, 00:33
The Duke of Earl was one of my favs, I was at the game he shirt fronted Guy McKenna......met him at the Subi Hotel after...nice bloke....big fcuker though

Go_Blues!
23 Apr 2008, 01:08
I think the most exciting would have been Bosustow. Jessa Sticks Johnston Harmes etc were great players and did some unbelievable things on the field but the Buzz was a one off. He did the freak things week in week out and sometimes I don't think he even he knew what he was doing.

The mark of the year, the goal of the year, the tackle of the year, and yet you would say he didn't really star. Like Daicos at Collingwood he seemed to be able to kick goals from anywhere but he lacked discipline and that was his undoing. A career cut short by a foolish act.

I think the days of the freak are just about gone with most clubs insisting upon conformity with players capable of playing both ends and more athlets than footballers.

So what was the foolish act - have I been ignorant all of these years thinking that Buzz was just homesick?

thylacine60
23 Apr 2008, 01:15
So what was the foolish act - have I been ignorant all of these years thinking that Buzz was just homesick?

All I can think of was the time he smashed his hand through a glass panel after a game back in WA well after he had finished at Carlton. ____ed the tendons etc well bad.

Blue Dawn
23 Apr 2008, 01:21
Nice Bump Walshy!

Oh behave! :rolleyes:

1. Mr Magic Peter Bosustow was THE excitement machine. Mark & Goal of the year in '81 is the perfect illustration of that.

2. Kouta was incredible at his peak.

3. Yes. i did need tissues watching Juddy extend himself properly for the first time this year at the G.

Blue Dawn
23 Apr 2008, 01:33
All I can think of was the time he smashed his hand through a glass panel after a game back in WA well after he had finished at Carlton. ____ed the tendons etc well bad.

Correct - although it has been suggested that it was his inability to get back to Carlton (due to interference from WAFL and his club) that caused him to punch a glass door in frustration.

Go_Blues!
23 Apr 2008, 01:41
Correct - although it has been suggested that it was his inability to get back to Carlton (due to interference from WAFL and his club) that caused him to punch a glass door in frustration.

What was the interference from WAFL? He was contracted to Carlton and although I don't really know, I assume that his contract required only a release from his previous club. Since he had already played 2 years at Carlton, I don't see how the WAFL could have interfered. I thought the original poster was implying that something a bit more substantial had made him leave in the first place?

Brighton_Diggins
23 Apr 2008, 01:56
the 2000 KOUTA!
what a freak.
One particular game i think he got 39-40 poss
and kicked 5. It was against north and Carey was dragged
out of the forward line into the midfield to try and stop him.
When Kouta was 'bringing the loaf of bread back from the deli'
he was unstoppable.
Pity he was injured that year, brownlow was in the bag.

Pred_ator
23 Apr 2008, 01:59
Well definetly not Kouta,he was overrated,only had 1 year that no one could match,the rest of the years he was Very good to good to ordinary.He was never the same after 2001.

Wind the clock back to the 95 finals series, Kouta was on fire, should have won the norm smith grand final day.

Pamam
23 Apr 2008, 08:25
cant go past the great number 34

Ron Delulio

Go_Blues!
23 Apr 2008, 08:39
At Carlton we have been blessed with so many great players it is hard to single one out; Kouta, Kernahan, Bradley, SOS, Dominator, Buzz, Williams, the list goes on. For pure excitement however, it is pretty hard to go past the great Kenny Hunter.

sosos
23 Apr 2008, 08:55
Jesaulenko.

Deej
23 Apr 2008, 09:09
Kouta, no contest.
Agreed.

The Old Dark Navy's
23 Apr 2008, 09:11
Well definetly not Kouta,he was overrated,only had 1 year that no one could match,the rest of the years he was Very good to good to ordinary.He was never the same after 2001.Hmmm and the date of this thread? 17 March 2001.

We had about 4 Carlton supporters here then, thus only one reply.

Dooky
23 Apr 2008, 09:43
well maybe not exciting...
although i did find it exciting watching how ridiculously dependant this player was..
the veterenarian..
ANDREW MCKAY!!!!!!!!

Blues_Man
23 Apr 2008, 10:20
Oh behave! :rolleyes:

1. Mr Magic Peter Bosustow was THE excitement machine. Mark & Goal of the year in '81 is the perfect illustration of that.

2. Kouta was incredible at his peak.

3. Yes. i did need tissues watching Juddy extend himself properly for the first time this year at the G.

I'll go with those three, as well as tossing in Wayne Harmes as a personal favorite. :thumbsu:

sosos
23 Apr 2008, 10:25
Can't believe the lack of love for Jesaulenko!

Cat like balance and reflexes, one of the greatest high marks the game has seen.

Kouta was awesome recently, but late 60s and early 70s there was no Blue more exciting than Jezza.

diablo14
23 Apr 2008, 10:27
Pretty simple this one. Jezza is a mile ahead, the Dominator second and Kouta third.

Buzz misses out simply because while he was brilliant at his best, didn't bring it often enough or long enough. He was a bit the same as Bruce Lindner was at Geelong in the 80's.

wdgann
23 Apr 2008, 10:53
Without any doubt Greg Williams. Not spectaculor but was the best user of the ball of all time. Special mention to the dominator and kouta

Faz 2000
23 Apr 2008, 11:11
I'm taking "most exciting" player to mean most spectacular, a player whose presence had the entire crowd (both teams' supporters) on the edge of their seat, a player who had everyone talking.

To me, at his peak (it was so very high, and so very, tragically brief), Kouta was the most exciting player for the Blues I've seen.

His run of form in 1999-2000 (whenever it exactly was, before his knee injury), his ability to utterly take over games, and the muttered "Kouta" that went around the ground every time he was near the ball was just amazing.

He just took games over, did it all, and did it in spectacular fashion. What's more exciting that a key-position-sized midfielder who could pick up the ball with one hand, straight-arm his opponent, sprint away from chasers, kick goals from 55 metres and take massive hangers at will? Nothing, I say.

Note, however, that I believe Kouta was only that player for a very short period of time, so I don't think he was "the greatest" or anything like that. Indeed, he was never even my favourite player. But in that time, definitely the most exciting.

C4[2]Yo`DooR
23 Apr 2008, 11:48
Im probably going to get hung, drawn and quartered for this but ....

Laurence Angwin the player who I was most excited by.

He was a 200 cm player, who could play anywhere, had great skills (as demonstrated by his checkside goals) and great agillity (as he could turn quickly for his size) - also had elite agillity and an outstanding vertical leap.

Everytime I see Paddy Ryder I wonder what could have been ... With the attributes he had ... he could have been anything young Laurence .. all he was missing was a brain.

:(

Faz 2000
23 Apr 2008, 11:56
Yo`DooR;10772201']all he was missing was a brain.

We should have sent him off to see the wizard with a few other guys. Angwin for a brain, Houlihan for some courage, Russell for a heart and Gibbs cos he wants to go home (according to Adelaide fans).

Bronx Bomber
23 Apr 2008, 12:00
and Gibbs cos he wants to go home (according to Adelaide fans).

Ahh so that explains why he signed a new 2 year contract recently...

thylacine60
23 Apr 2008, 12:52
Yo`DooR;10772201']Im probably going to get hung, drawn and quartered for this but ....

Laurence Angwin the player who I was most excited by.

He was a 200 cm player, who could play anywhere, had great skills (as demonstrated by his checkside goals) and great agillity (as he could turn quickly for his size) - also had elite agillity and an outstanding vertical leap.

Everytime I see Paddy Ryder I wonder what could have been ... With the attributes he had ... he could have been anything young Laurence .. all he was missing was a brain.

:(

Agree. Only once have I ever gone to a game just to see a particular player.

Matt72
23 Apr 2008, 13:02
Yanno as a kid Bruce Doull always excited me. I was the only 10 year old I ever saw with number 11 on his duffle coat.
He was deceptively quick and was always sure of himself. Always gave off the vibe of being confident that he knew what he was doing.
One of the saddest days I had at the footy was watching Dunstall carve him up in the 86 Grand Final. I didn't mind losing as much as I minded seeing him do disappointed in his last game.

Fotia2
23 Apr 2008, 13:16
Tim Powell:)

wdgann
23 Apr 2008, 14:47
Tossup between Dominic Fotia, Glen Hawker and Richard Dennis

Sharks On A Plane
23 Apr 2008, 14:50
Damien Lock.

Fotia2
23 Apr 2008, 15:27
Tossup between Dominic Fotia, Glen Hawker and Richard Dennis
& who could forget Allan Thorpe, Mark Athorn, Craig Devonport & Paul Tuddenham??!!

thylacine60
23 Apr 2008, 15:37
As the HMAS Thread Relevance sets sail for the horizon once more.......

Fotia2
23 Apr 2008, 15:40
As the HMAS Thread Relevance sets sail for the horizon once more.......
Sorry, just a bit of fun there thy! I promise I wont post any more mediocre former blues players in this thread!!:)

thylacine60
23 Apr 2008, 15:42
Sorry, just a bit of fun there thy! I promise I wont post any more mediocre former blues players in this thread!!:)

Sweet, mate. Most threads have a use-by date for one reason or another. :)

Fotia2
23 Apr 2008, 15:52
in all seriousness, probably Steve Kernahan is the best player Ive seen in the navy blue. His consistency was incredible & I always get annoyed when he's never really spoken about in the "greatest ever" polls. I had number 7 "the dominator" on my back as a kid & always liked watching Johnno play!

walshy93
23 Apr 2008, 16:01
Good Bump walshy!

Blue Dimension
23 Apr 2008, 16:23
Koutoufides is the best i've seen. However i think Matty Lappin got me going a few times too throughout his career, especially against essendon.

Jezza U Beauty
23 Apr 2008, 16:29
Kouta. Did things that no-one else could, and did them over and over.

Was interesting to read Leigh Matthews quoted the other day saying that coaching the Lions the other night against the Hawks when Buddy was on fire reminded him of coaching against the Blues when Kouta was cutting sick. He basically said he felt helpless.

If i knew how to do the You Tube stuff i'd post some mpegs of Kouta that i have.

gbatman
23 Apr 2008, 17:05
Well i used to love Sticks, he was great, but Kouta in his prime was unique and awesome and made himself the difference in so many games.

Always loved SOS to, im not one to underrate defenders, someone who moved so well, could play at both ends and had closing speed I havent seen matched yet.

Andrew McKay's line/tackle breaking run from the back line, missing that big time, can't wait to see that sort of thing again down there.

But at the moment it has to be Judd! His line/tackle breaking run in the middle and his skill, just awesome.

Fev when he's on is awesome, just love it. But when he's off is the opposite.

1. Kouta
2. SOS
3. Judd
4. Sticks
5. Fevola

I'd expect Judd to move up my list very soon!

gandaal
23 Apr 2008, 17:07
Kouta, no contest.

Agreed. Kouta in full flight was just brilliant.

Gilly1972
23 Apr 2008, 17:07
Kreuzer :)

Jezza U Beauty
23 Apr 2008, 17:17
Can't believe the lack of love for Jesaulenko!

Cat like balance and reflexes, one of the greatest high marks the game has seen.

Kouta was awesome recently, but late 60s and early 70s there was no Blue more exciting than Jezza.

I've never seen Jezza live, nor watched a full game that featured him, but I have read about numerous examples of his legendary awesomeness. I think i read once that there was some home-and-away game where he kicked 6 or 7 goals in 12-15 minutes. That's excitement right there.

gandaal
23 Apr 2008, 17:18
Kreuzer :)

He's snuck under quite a few radars for a number 1 pick 200 cm ruckman hasn't he? The guy is just a freak and its very exciting to think how good he's going to be in a few years time when he's getting 20 taps a game and then running around the ground like a midfielder hitting leading forwards on the chest.

Gilly1972
23 Apr 2008, 17:19
He's snuck under quite a few radars for a number 1 pick 200 cm ruckman hasn't he? The guy is just a freak and its very exciting to think how good he's going to be in a few years time when he's getting 20 taps a game and then running around the ground like a midfielder hitting leading forwards on the chest.

200cm midfielder :)

topjars
23 Apr 2008, 17:23
I used to love Bosustow.
He was exciting; had great hangtime and could mark anything.