View Full Version : TV Australian Amazing Race

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Shell
9 Aug 2010, 10:07

http://au.tv.yahoo.com/the-amazing-race/

I'll be the first to say that I wont be signing up as much as I love the show. I'm hopeless when it comes to finding my way around- under pressure like TAR I'd be absolutely useless. :o

Plus i couldnt get the time off work. (September- December for 5 weeks)

alfy!
9 Aug 2010, 11:26
Oh wow, interesting!

Shell
9 Aug 2010, 11:42
Oh wow, interesting!

Oh, wow **** off.

alfy!
9 Aug 2010, 12:54
I wasn't being sarcastic, I'm a big Amazing Race fan, but okay, thanks.

buck bundy
9 Aug 2010, 13:30
Ugh... Aussie Survivor debacle immediately comes to mind.

US version is great, expect our version to be a complete train wreck.

Shell
9 Aug 2010, 13:32
I wasn't being sarcastic, I'm a big Amazing Race fan, but okay, thanks.

My apologies. But your post sounded totally sarcastic..

Shell
9 Aug 2010, 13:34

Same.

You never know, if the production is good and they get some good teams together it might be alright.

the fly
9 Aug 2010, 13:35

There are a few different races going around (Amazing Race Asia and Amazing Race Latin America come to mind) so I won't write it off yet.

If the editing is anything like the mid-stage recap from the opening stage of TAR9, you may be right on the money.

Selective Retention
9 Aug 2010, 15:37
Yeah nah interesting decision by seven to say the least. Giving they have arse ****ed it over and over, switching nights and timeslots on a whim, how do they endeavour recovering what would be huge production costs on an Australian version.

buck bundy
9 Aug 2010, 16:13
What huge production costs?

Economy air tickets are cheap, a camera & sound person per team still in the race for 3 weeks is relatively cheap, logistical crew setting up challenges not expensive, can't see 7 paying too much for a host... what am I missing?

Add to that potential for product placements (ie cars, phones, search engines, etc) and seems relatively cheap compared to crud like Underbelly.

alexx
9 Aug 2010, 16:15
im a fan of the show, i mite consider applying for it. ive got time off during that period. but i dont think the show would be successful either

Ljp86
9 Aug 2010, 17:03
Saw this a few hours ago. Very excited that Seven are going to do one but I wonder how good it will actually be keeping in mind that Australian TV tends to do versions of American shows very poorly.

If they can keep the format of the show very similar to the American one it should do pretty well and they'll have no problem getting people to sign up for it. Getting Keoghan to host the show or making an appeareance even would be great too. :D

Warsaw
9 Aug 2010, 19:54
If it weren't for a dislike on travelling long on planes I would totally sign up. Alas I won't.

fryingpan
9 Aug 2010, 20:04
Application done & making the video this weekend. Some of those questions were stupid.

buck bundy
9 Aug 2010, 20:07
Make sure you gay it up on the vid panny... there needs to be at least one gay couple on the show. You could better your chances if you said you were either childhood sweethearts, long distance dating, homophobic [relative], still in the closet but will come out on the show.

None of it has to be true, but it'll get you on the show.

Bombers_Forever
9 Aug 2010, 20:10
I think they can make the Aus version work but one of the features of the show is it shows how dumb Americans can be. That is the entertainment factor of the show.

Good luck to any applicants - obviously you have to 'stand out', have a story that is interesting or have something unique in the relationship.

I would have preferred they actually show the US series at a decent time, without delay from the US and stick with it.

Plugger35
9 Aug 2010, 20:51
Will be interesting to see how this turns out. Not sure Seven would have the budget to make the show as good as the US version but would be good to see some Australian contestants rather than the usual clueless Americans.

Wouldn't mind having a crack at doing the race myself but not sure I could be bothered going through the application process and organising time off to do it. I doubt the prize money for winning would be as good in the Aussie version.

Shell
9 Aug 2010, 21:48
If it weren't for a dislike on travelling long on planes I would totally sign up. Alas I won't.

Oh yeah I forgot about that as well!! I like travelling, but dont really like the plane part lol. I also CANNOT sleep on planes- also cant sleep on buses, trains, etc etc. So I would be at a massive disadvatage already, not being able to nap before you had to run around like a crazy person. :D

Dam jealous of those who get to go but. Will be interesting to see how the show turns out and what tasks they have to do..

Vonsche
24 Aug 2010, 15:59
Bump.
Apparently, they're looking at Ben Cousins to host this.

A Seven Network source suggested Cousins, 32, was on the short-list, behind industry tip Daniel MacPherson, to host the show following his "outstanding" performance at the press conference announcing his retirement and the strength of his interviews in Such Is Life.http://www.news.com.au/entertainment/television/ben-cousins-in-running-to-host-australian-version-of-the-amazing-race/story-e6frfmyi-1225908638124

Wonder if he'll get the gig.

tazlgnd
24 Aug 2010, 16:01
me and one of my good mates are going to enter with the story that we met at the pub the night before applications closed and applied.

figure two run of the mill uni student arent gonna make it on without a good story

tazlgnd
24 Aug 2010, 16:03
i love planes now haha

when i was in SE asia recently we took a public ferry because it was $30 cheaper but took 5 hours instead of 1 and a half.

decided to get the 1am ferry so we could get there at 6 and truck on to our next destination.

turns out the public ferry entailed sleeping out on the open deck on what was effectively a park bench.

the ride to the next spot in the 1980's nissan van was luxury after that.

planes are like a bed.

Shell
24 Aug 2010, 17:33
me and one of my good mates are going to enter with the story that we met at the pub the night before applications closed and applied.

figure two run of the mill uni student arent gonna make it on without a good story

Hahaha good luck!!!

But in the American version there is always a "frat boy" team which is the equivalent of uni students I guess..

Selective Retention
24 Aug 2010, 17:51
If MacPherson is the preferred option, they should just drag out Grant Bowler.

matty p
24 Aug 2010, 23:19

Grant Bowler would be perfect! He was great on the Mole, and something like the Amazing Race needs someone low key like Grant.

When will Channel 7 realise that their "celebrities" simply don't work. Tom Williams, Grant Denyer, Daniel McPherson, Luke Jacobz. They ruin shows.

And Ben Cousins? Haven't they learnt anything from Matthew Newton??

samwise
25 Aug 2010, 16:11
Over 21..shattered. Must be going to America for part of it or something.
Me and my friend would dominate that show:p
Should have youth to make it more exciting. Probably will have some overly gay couple or something instead though.
The more emotional your reason for going on is the more likely you will go close to getting selected.

red+black
25 Aug 2010, 16:43
Cannot wait for some token hotties :thumbsu:

Cousin Jed
25 Aug 2010, 16:50

You would have had a better chance if you went for a "dating on and off" angle. ;)

TheColeTrain
25 Aug 2010, 16:57

If MacPherson is the host I almost certainly will not watch.
It will just be typical channel 7 shit.

Rowie09
26 Aug 2010, 15:51
Missus and I are going to apply. Doubt we will get on, but why not. :thumbsu:

Shell
26 Aug 2010, 15:52
Missus and I are going to apply. Doubt we will get on, but why not. :thumbsu:

Good luck!!!!

How funny if someone from BF got on it. :thumbsu:

Admiral Afterworld
26 Aug 2010, 18:04
Seven should make Matthew Newton and his girlfriend one of the couples.

Hard Ball Get
26 Aug 2010, 18:14
Might apply but doubt I'd get around to it.

dogz
28 Aug 2010, 09:25
Just as long as Tom Williams is not host!

ata33cro
30 Aug 2010, 20:34
Grant Bowler would be perfect! He was great on the Mole, and something like the Amazing Race needs someone low key like Grant.

When will Channel 7 realise that their "celebrities" simply don't work. Tom Williams, Grant Denyer, Daniel McPherson, Luke Jacobz. They ruin shows.

And Ben Cousins? Haven't they learnt anything from Matthew Newton??

Even though I like B Cousins, I am not sure if he is the right person to host the show.

I don't mind Daniel McPherson as a host.

JADED
31 Aug 2010, 03:30
Freakin awesome show but I don't have the sort of life that'd allow me to apply these days. (plus I'm rather boring)
Would need to come up with a pretty good application video as over 100,000 applications have been received. Something would need to stand out. Imagine the team sitting there watching the applications. They'd take 1 look at some people and press stop.

I'd love to (1 in a million chance) stumble upon the filming and help a team out by being their taxi/tour guide for a leg of the race. It's happend a few times where some random has helped a team accross the line.
You'd get a fair idea of what they're like and could get their hopes up, only to take an "awsome short cut" that lands them in last place. aaaahahahaah.

rfctigerarmy
31 Aug 2010, 22:09
Cannot wait for some token hotties :thumbsu:

:thumbsu: :cool:

It's a good show too, which helps.

tandino
1 Sep 2010, 22:59
Was there not an Australian Amazing Race-type show about 10 years ago? All I can remember is one group had to go from New York to Philadelphia by train, and were begging the locals for cash.

Shell
2 Sep 2010, 12:21
Was there not an Australian Amazing Race-type show about 10 years ago? All I can remember is one group had to go from New York to Philadelphia by train, and were begging the locals for cash.

:confused:

Dont recall that at all.

Only remember Australian Survivor. -shudder-

jo172
2 Sep 2010, 12:33

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Race_Around_the_World?

Now that was a show I liked:thumbsu:

always right
2 Sep 2010, 13:25
Apparently Aker and Johnno have applied as a team.

Alistair Clarkson should apply....going by previous teams the producers seem to like angry little people with dwarf-like features.

GhostofJimJess
12 Sep 2010, 16:35
Applications are all done and dusted. Apparently the producers let you know if you have got an audition, but not if you haven't got one.

So if anyone here gets a call, I'm sure we'd all appreciate it if you'd let us know on this thread so that the rest of us can just get on with life, and not be waiting for a call that ain't gonna come.

Cheers, Ghost.

pepsi
13 Sep 2010, 19:45
Actually applications have been extended til this Friday because of the huge number of applications they have received.

GhostofJimJess
14 Sep 2010, 19:01
Actually applications have been extended til this Friday because of the huge number of applications they have received.

I think you'll find it's because of the low number of "suitable" applicants.

Ess_don
15 Sep 2010, 00:48
Wouldnt it be great if 2 AFL footballers applied as a team? Sure they dont need the cash (donate to charity) but they should dominate in the physical challenges and would be great viewing...

RustyHawk
5 Nov 2010, 07:45
Small update.

I believe the 'race' started last Wednesday 3 November 2010. 3 weeks of filming ahead.

red+black
5 Nov 2010, 11:28
Wouldnt it be great if 2 AFL footballers applied as a team? Sure they dont need the cash (donate to charity) but they should dominate in the physical challenges and would be great viewing...

This would make an interesting discussion. Name a pair of footballers to team up and do the Amazing Race.

Andrew McLeod & Tyson Edwards
Wayne Carey & Glen Archer
Tim Watson & Derek Kickett

MYOB
5 Nov 2010, 12:49
This would make an interesting discussion. Name a pair of footballers to team up and do the Amazing Race.

Andrew McLeod & Tyson Edwards
Wayne Carey & Glen Archer
Tim Watson & Derek Kickett

David Hille and Jason Akermanis

RustyHawk
5 Nov 2010, 14:35
Jordan Lewis & Shame Mumford

GhostofJimJess
5 Nov 2010, 15:58
Small update.

I believe the 'race' started last Wednesday 3 November 2010. 3 weeks of filming ahead.

Thanks for that Rusty. I was hardly sitting around the phone eagerly anticipating a call-back, but it's nice to be able to put it to rest once and for all.

Bombers_Forever
5 Nov 2010, 18:50
Someone posted a picture from the MCG today with the teams, thier bags and helicopters - they started the race today.

that_dood
5 Nov 2010, 18:53
http://www.tvtonight.com.au/2010/11/anyone-would-think-the-amazing-race-was-filming.html

http://www.tvtonight.com.au/wp-content/uploads/tarau.jpg

http://www.tvtonight.com.au/wp-content/uploads/taraus.jpg

The race started today at the MCG.

Mr Eagle
6 Nov 2010, 13:07
Grant Bowler confirmed as host. He ain't Phil, but he's an excellent "second" choice.

http://www.mediaspy.org/report/2010/11/06/grant-bowler-to-host-the-amazing-race-australia/

that_dood
6 Nov 2010, 14:31
Thank god it wasn't Tom Williams.

According to TV Tonight they are in Bali at the moment. I am looking forward to this series.

Plugger35
6 Nov 2010, 19:11
Wow, Seven are really lashing out on the budget sending them to Bali.:D

What's the bet the next countries are PNG, Fiji and NZ?

Mr Eagle
6 Nov 2010, 21:14
Wow, Seven are really lashing out on the budget sending them to Bali.:D

What's the bet the next countries are PNG, Fiji and NZ?

The way Qantas is going at the moment, it may be Jetstar short hops or nothing ;)

SBI
6 Nov 2010, 23:19
Grant Bowler!

Best decision!

Cousin Jed
7 Nov 2010, 06:45
Wonder if there will be a mole..

Selective Retention
7 Nov 2010, 19:13
I called it :thumbsu:

matty p
7 Nov 2010, 19:40
Love the Grant Bowler decision too!

RustyHawk
1 Dec 2010, 13:39
The race has been run......and run.. but who wins...---< I don't know :P <---

The crew are ..exhausted is one word to describe their current state.

The answer will be revealed sometime in 2011.

ManWithNoName
1 Dec 2010, 14:26
If they go to New Zealand, the local HAS to be Phil.

Plugger35
1 Dec 2010, 20:34
If they go to New Zealand, the local HAS to be Phil.

I didn't even realise Phil was a Kiwi until I saw him interviewed a couple of years ago. No way you could pick it from his accent.

I doubt he would stoop to being involved in the Australian Amazing Race anyway.

Bombers_Forever
11 Feb 2011, 16:26
No air date yet but the newest series of the Amazing Race US (I think it is 18?) will be shown 2 days after it is shown in the US on 7mate.

http://www.tvtonight.com.au/2011/02/returning-the-amazing-race-on-7mate.html/comment-page-1#comment-222287

Ljp86
23 Apr 2011, 00:47
Debuts next month.

Teams

Alana & Mel (Reunited Sisters)
Annie-Marie & Tracy (Workmates)
Anastasia & Chris (Dating)
Dave & Kelly (Married Bikers)
Jeff & Luke (Father & Son)
Joey & Richard (Married Entrepreneurs)
Matt & Tom (Farmers)
Mo & Mos (Friends)
Nathan & Tyler (Surfers - Nathan is Erin McNaught's boyfriend)
Renae & Sam (Models - Renae was Miss Universe Australia Runner-Up 2010)
Ryot & Liberty (Brother & Sister)

Renae and Sam look absolutely stunning!

ManWithNoName
23 Apr 2011, 00:56
Debuts next month.

Teams

Ryot & Liberty (Brother & Sister)

Oh god...

Also, where are the token gays!? And the token blacks!? Channel 7 are doing it wrong.

MarcMaverick
23 Apr 2011, 10:18
Some No-name is going to be hosting The Australian Amazing Race

Shame It can't be Phil.

Also I read on Wikipedia that the end prize money would be $250,000 instead of $1M

ManWithNoName
23 Apr 2011, 12:12

Shame It can't be Phil.

Thou shalt not question Grant Bowler. He hosted The Mole. He'll be awesome.

Selective Retention
23 Apr 2011, 13:38
Yeah Bowler was a gun on the mole. It's hard to say how he will go with the amazing race. Hopefully he doesn't come across too much as poor man's Phil, he's a pretty similar character.

that_dood
23 Apr 2011, 15:11

Shame It can't be Phil.

Some no-name?!:eek::eek::eek:

pepsi
23 Apr 2011, 15:31

Shame It can't be Phil.

Also I read on Wikipedia that the end prize money would be $250,000 instead of $1M

I get the feeling you will complain about the entire series and how it is not exactly like the American Amazing Race.

The Australian production will not have the same $$ and I don't think anyone would have expected the prize to be $1 million. In fact, to have that experience I am sure most people would do it for nothing.

Cannot wait for it to start and hoping it turns out to be a good series.

MarcMaverick
23 Apr 2011, 17:57
Thou shalt not question Grant Bowler. He hosted The Mole. He'll be awesome.
Maybe so.

Yeah Bowler was a gun on the mole. It's hard to say how he will go with the amazing race. Hopefully he doesn't come across too much as poor man's Phil, he's a pretty similar character.
Yeah that's what I don't want happening

I get the feeling you will complain about the entire series and how it is not exactly like the American Amazing Race.

The Australian production will not have the same $$ and I don't think anyone would have expected the prize to be $1 million. In fact, to have that experience I am sure most people would do it for nothing.

Cannot wait for it to start and hoping it turns out to be a good series.

I am not for one minute complaining about our version of the Amazing Race. I am just fearing that it will be just like our version of Survivor that's all. I am also in anticipation of this series, however I do not want it to be a failure or a once-of.

Heh Ryot and Liberty. What were their parents smoking? I guess Ryot's the brother and Liberty is the sister.

scottywiper
24 Apr 2011, 09:30
Dave and Kell are mates of mine...going to be very interesting see how they are portrayed.
He is a full-on character, who calls a spade a bloody shovel and always says what he thinks. Always.
Can easily see him being the bad guy of the series.
Should be entertaining to watch.

lemon chicken
24 Apr 2011, 10:03
Is this going on 7mate or the main channel?

Puddy
24 Apr 2011, 11:58
Good to see Wolfgang West again

that_dood
24 Apr 2011, 19:43
Is this going on 7mate or the main channel?

Probably the main channel at 7:30pm on Wednesdays.

That is why they have moved the US series on 7mate to 7:30pm Wednesday to get the audience ready.

pepsi
11 May 2011, 17:58
The show starts next Monday at 8:30 on the main channel. Am hoping and expecting it to be a great series.

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/entertainment/tv-radio/grant-bowler-hosts-channel-7-and-active-tvs-the-amazing-race-australia/story-e6frf9ho-1226054137089

Shell
11 May 2011, 20:43
Not sure if I like the Monday timeslot- would have been nice 7.30pm Tuesday, go back-to-back with Survivor.

Looking forward to it tho. :thumbsu:

Selective Retention
11 May 2011, 22:18
Looks like a cast full of bogans from the previews, I will give it a chance. Mondays are perfect for me, probably the only night I can guarantee that I will be home every week, especially considering this likely won't be available on the net.

BTW shell - Australian Amazing Race ----> One Week at a Time -----> Footy Classified. Good lead in for the footy desperados out there.

Copernicus
12 May 2011, 03:52
Might have to see if I can get a hold of this through demonoid or something from over here. The US Amazing Race just ended so I wouldn't mind seeing how ours compares (probably not very well, but...).

SJ
12 May 2011, 09:45
Might have to see if I can get a hold of this through demonoid or something from over here. The US Amazing Race just ended so I wouldn't mind seeing how ours compares (probably not very well, but...).
Just entering this thread now (so I hope this hasn't already been discussed) but I hope it goes a little better than the premiere of Australian Survivor.

Copernicus
12 May 2011, 10:14
Just entering this thread now (so I hope this hasn't already been discussed) but I hope it goes a little better than the premiere of Australian Survivor.

I didn't catch that - what happened? Just generally amateur?

SJ
12 May 2011, 10:19
I didn't catch that - what happened? Just generally amateur?
The first challenge was cancelled and replaced by a quiz.

Shell
12 May 2011, 12:30
Looks like a cast full of bogans from the previews, I will give it a chance. Mondays are perfect for me, probably the only night I can guarantee that I will be home every week, especially considering this likely won't be available on the net.

Apparently someone asks where they get the train to -insert city name here- from Vietnam- and the city is in a completely different country, across the sea.

Reckon it will be hysterical.

Oh dear lord ANYTHING will be better than Australian Suvivor. -shudder-

alex 17
12 May 2011, 13:17
LOL watch the epic failed first challenge ever of Aussie survivor as they play for the immunity BELL!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u233x5TJsSE&NR=1

that_dood
12 May 2011, 19:17
For those who don't know, the production company that does the US version of The Amazing Race and a few other countries who have their own version will be producing the Aussie series.

So it will be pretty much the same but with bogans instead of hillbillies, and Grant instead of Phil.

Can't wait:p:thumbsu:

Plugger35
13 May 2011, 11:55
Will be interesting to see how it compares to the US version.

It would want to be better than the Australian version of Survivor. It must be a pretty expensive show to produce so Seven would want it to be a success. The Monday night timeslot is a bit strange though, normally they showed the US version on Wednesday/Thursday.

red+black
13 May 2011, 12:43
The Models: Samantha Schoers and Renae Wauhop

http://www.perthnow.com.au/entertainment/sam-and-renae-in-amazing-race-ride-of-a-lifetime/story-e6frg30c-1226036525040

inSXk-49iCI

red+black
16 May 2011, 17:15
Tonight 8.30pm-10:00pm on ch7

alfy!
16 May 2011, 17:35
Don't even compare this to the AusSurvivor, this actually looks good.

Those models, yes please.

Mr Eagle
16 May 2011, 22:17
That was actually good!

And if the oxen in the preview are the infamous "My Ox Is Broken" oxen? My TARphile side shall be most pleased!

Noddy Holder
16 May 2011, 22:20
Wasn't expecting much but wow that was really good.

When it first started I found it a bit cringeworthy climbing up the MCG but after that it was great.

Where is the token gay couple but?

alfy!
16 May 2011, 22:21
Non-elimination leg = fail.

Apart from that was pretty good. Some decent looking chicks too. The two hot birds in the underwater shots :thumbsu:

IanG
16 May 2011, 22:22
I thought most of the contestants were cringeworthy. They obviously didn't get many applying. The best were the Muslim dudes they were awesome. UNfortunateky they don't look like they;ll be there long.

Skeeta Olly
16 May 2011, 22:26
NSW/WA Amazing Race, tbh.

Lots of cringe-worthy contestants. Will grow on me though.

daicos4ever
16 May 2011, 22:33
Wasn't expecting much but wow that was really good.

When it first started I found it a bit cringeworthy climbing up the MCG but after that it was great.

Where is the token gay couple but?

The models ;)

Actually was pretty good I thought, varied group of people and the right amount of cringe. Chris is a loose cannon, going to be great watching that relationship fall apart.

The have the pacing right on imo. I wasn't expecting much when they announced this series but I don't think it's any worse than the US series.

Mr Eagle
16 May 2011, 22:34
Funny, I actually liked most of the contestants. The entrepreurs grate on me, but that's their role I suppose. And the country boys may be portrayed as bumpkins but they're at least genuine.

bradrowe#32
16 May 2011, 22:38
Took me about three seconds to despise Joey. She's a shocker.

Skeeta Olly
16 May 2011, 22:43
Joey is terrible. Pretty ironic that the entrepreneurs got duded for money though, lol'd. Chris is definitely a loose cannon, could tell after he cracked the shits at the kids in the throwing ceremony. Big W women I can't stand, nor the re-united sisters.

Ludwig van Bertstare
16 May 2011, 22:44
I don't even want to get attached to this because like every other series of Amazing Race, 7 will move it around and then cease showing it.

the fly
16 May 2011, 22:51
Liberty's tactics in the detour brought back memories of Kami and Karli in Dubai.