View Full Version : Midfield Coach Noms

ghostdog
9 Aug 2010, 19:07
Camporeale's gone.
Many people here have been whining about the deficiencies of our midfield.

So who should we go for?

I've said I wouldn't mind Brett Kirk with the gig.
On reflection, I probably prefer Nigel Lappin. Someone get on the phone!

abers47
9 Aug 2010, 19:24
What recent or upcoming retirees are there? They should be announcing retirements soon.

Godzke
9 Aug 2010, 19:44
Brett Kirk was already mentioned a few months ago and the general consensus was 'no'. Type of bloke you could learn a lot from watching him play but he's horrible at articulating his opinion or any point he's trying to convey.

What about Hardwick? or Akermanis?:p

Can't think of any immediate goodies that come to mind.

Ben the Gooner
9 Aug 2010, 19:45
Scott Burns.

EVERLAST
9 Aug 2010, 19:47
Robert Harvey perhaps.

Caracella would have to be considered also.

Dare I suggest give Misiti an opportunity if he wants it.

Godzke
9 Aug 2010, 19:48
Yeah I was going to suggest Caracella but not sure where he's at. At Collingwood?

DVD Player
9 Aug 2010, 19:56
I like the Caracella and Scott Burn suggestions. Lappin wouldn't be half bad either, he knows what it's all about.

yodellinhank
9 Aug 2010, 19:58
Yeah I was going to suggest Caracella but not sure where he's at. At Collingwood?

Geelong. As Ken Hinkley's replacement.

Godzke
9 Aug 2010, 20:00
So he's had some exposure down at Cat land then. Definitely can contribute something to our mob then. :D

Bring him home ... err... Hamilton? Whose role is to appoint assistant coaches?

Ludwig van Bertstare
9 Aug 2010, 20:03
Scott Burns.

I heard he was moving to Collingwood once Buckley took the reigns?

Ben the Gooner
9 Aug 2010, 20:04
I heard he was moving to Collingwood once Buckley took the reigns?

Me too.

Would be my number 1 candidate though.

Towno78
9 Aug 2010, 20:05
Lappin and Goodwin both sound good to me.

yodellinhank
9 Aug 2010, 20:11
Gerard Fitzgerald?

yaco55
9 Aug 2010, 20:18
Seems to be a lack of understanding of how coaching works.

All the coaches work together to create a coherent plan - so all the zones need to work together.

This means that you dont need a midfielder to be a midfield coach.

I want the best possible coach - Not someone, because they are a good midfielder.

centurion
9 Aug 2010, 20:21
Don't think we as Essendon people could survive without you yaco..

Ofcourse we will select the best possible coach, nevermind what faceless people want on a forum..

MAAAATTDAAAAMON
9 Aug 2010, 20:23
One man, and one man only.

The one, the only, Jimmy Plunket.

pazza
9 Aug 2010, 20:26
If O'Donnell is kept, he goes there and TD takes the defensive job?

Ludwig van Bertstare
9 Aug 2010, 20:26
James McDonald

Crimsons
9 Aug 2010, 20:28
Simon Black or Ben Cousins if they become available. Cousins may be a bit contentious ...

Godzke
9 Aug 2010, 20:34
Don't think we as Essendon people could survive without you yaco..

fogdog vs yaco (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=356173)

rather amusing

yodellinhank
9 Aug 2010, 20:42
David Flood.

Mumbo Jumbo
9 Aug 2010, 21:09
Shane Woewoedin?

HFF_07
9 Aug 2010, 21:19
Simon Goodwin would be at the top of my pile..

Forward, Midfielder, Defender.

He has done it all over a long period of time and would be a perfect coach I imagine.

sup3rfish
9 Aug 2010, 21:28
how bout James Hird? doesnt want to be a senior coach so why not see if we can get him back around the club and help mentor the midfield? then when the times is right part ways with Knights...

yaco55
9 Aug 2010, 21:36
fogdog vs yaco (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=356173)

rather amusing

Ha Ha Ha

And that was the censored version.

Skeeta Olly
9 Aug 2010, 21:41
Dean Rioli

Towno78
9 Aug 2010, 22:50
Seems to be a lack of understanding of how coaching works.

All the coaches work together to create a coherent plan - so all the zones need to work together.

This means that you dont need a midfielder to be a midfield coach.

I want the best possible coach - Not someone, because they are a good midfielder.
You don't think that the midfield coach might have a dominant role in, hmmm I dunno, maybe stoppages?
I personally would like someone who has had plenty of experience at stoppages, rather than someone who has not.

lemon chicken
10 Aug 2010, 00:02
Our next senior coach. 2 years to get to know the list (maybe less) and then take over.

yaco55
10 Aug 2010, 00:28
You don't think that the midfield coach might have a dominant role in, hmmm I dunno, maybe stoppages?
I personally would like someone who has had plenty of experience at stoppages, rather than someone who has not.

Stoppages happen all over the field and aren't just the domain of midfielders.

yaco55
10 Aug 2010, 00:31
Gerard Fitzgerald?

Highly decorated coach at North ballarat for about 15 years.

Has premiership success in the VFL.

Coached in alignment with AFL clubs for a number of years.

Good history in developing young players.

Educational background.

Would be a good get for the coaching panel.

Beerfish
10 Aug 2010, 00:39
how bout James Hird? doesnt want to be a senior coach so why not see if we can get him back around the club and help mentor the midfield? then when the times is right part ways with Knights...

Surprised it took over 20 posts for this suggestion.

bombre-boy
10 Aug 2010, 01:17
Not sure if this would be a step up/ sidewards for him, but how about Shannon Grant.
seems to have done a half decent job with bendigo this year...

The Dustbin
10 Aug 2010, 08:43
Depending on the movements at years end, I'd throw the cheque book at Sanderson or Tudor. :heart:

Slattery_20
10 Aug 2010, 08:55
Brett Kirk was already mentioned a few months ago and the general consensus was 'no'. Type of bloke you could learn a lot from watching him play but he's horrible at articulating his opinion or any point he's trying to convey.

Has been a sensational face for the Swans. Mate of mine who worked with him once upon a time reckons he was a great bloke.
In footy career, ultimate self-belief, absolute machine of a bloke, & a genuine leader as opposed to a maintainer of the status quo.

Only thing I'd have against Scot Burns is his coaching career.
He's been at WCE for two years, best facilities in the land & a bunch of high draft picks, working off a great ruckman, and they're about the only club with a midfield set-up consistently worse than ours.
Apart from that, though...

Godzke
10 Aug 2010, 11:21
Has been a sensational face for the Swans. Mate of mine who worked with him once upon a time reckons he was a great bloke.
In footy career, ultimate self-belief, absolute machine of a bloke, & a genuine leader as opposed to a maintainer of the status quo.
And I don't doubt any of those traits.

It's one thing to be a great player, another to be a great articulator. I would liken him to many of my uni professors: knows their content inside out but can't teach for shit.

Perhaps a bit harsh on a bloke who hasn't really taken any steps towards coaching yet, but I've seen him in the media a few times and he always seems to struggle a bit when expressing himself.

Possibly a role for him at Windy Hill, but not in the box on game day.

Slattery_20
10 Aug 2010, 11:34
Plenty of good coaches battle with the written & spoken language. For a senior coach I think that stuff's relevant, but an assistant rarely has to front the media.

Mark Harvey's just one amongst many who really battles through sentences, and even he eventually went on to higher things with some success.

Just have to realise that they're speaking (largely) to guys on their levels.

whats_at_stake
10 Aug 2010, 11:37
Not sure if this would be a step up/ sidewards for him, but how about Shannon Grant.
seems to have done a half decent job with bendigo this year...

He is wating for the next senior coaching oppurtunity. Who knows lose a final with Bendigo even though they are 40 point up and he might get a gig:cool:

Godzke
10 Aug 2010, 11:52
Plenty of good coaches battle with the written & spoken language. For a senior coach I think that stuff's relevant, but an assistant rarely has to front the media.

Mark Harvey's just one amongst many who really battles through sentences, and even he eventually went on to higher things with some success.

Just have to realise that they're speaking (largely) to guys on their levels.
Yeah I realise that but I just don't see him as a coach. Not this early anyway. Perhaps there's a development role for him available, but not in the box.

Anyway, Hird is effectively out of the race (assuming he was even in it, which I'm sure he wasn't) according to Robson.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/100019/default.aspx

Slattery_20
10 Aug 2010, 12:01
Who is, tho?

I've really got no idea.
I watch WCE & they seem to have all the same issues as us, and based on that I don't see Burns as a panacea.

Who's doing it at Sydney? They've been able to get some good results out of an odd mix of sizes & some fair plodders.

Towno78
10 Aug 2010, 13:27
Stoppages happen all over the field and aren't just the domain of midfielders.
And which players are at every single one?
Which players are the specialists at stoppages?
Which players do you find marshalling the troops to ensure their set-up is right at each stoppage?
Which players are those that have a greater focus of training throughout their career on winning clearances?
Full backs?

eth-dog
10 Aug 2010, 14:24
Todd Viney

yodellinhank
10 Aug 2010, 15:25
Depending on the movements at years end, I'd throw the cheque book at Sanderson or Tudor. :heart:

Sanderson supposedly in the running for Port (http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/brenton-sanderson-heads-port-adelaides-list/story-e6frf9jf-1225890019928) and I remember an interview he did on SEN in which it sounded highly likely he join Nathan Buckley as an assistant if Bucks ever got a senior role.

Phone
10 Aug 2010, 15:31
Dracula

Ludwig van Bertstare
10 Aug 2010, 17:03
Dr. Acula.

Phone
10 Aug 2010, 17:04
Ryder Is God

Please don't make fun of my suggestions.

Dracula brings with him a determination that this club lacks.

Ludwig van Bertstare
10 Aug 2010, 17:07
Phone

I was not making fun of your suggestion !

It is merely a reference to the show Scrubs .

Phone
10 Aug 2010, 17:10
phone must have thought ryder is god was re-telling a mitch hedberg joke. (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J-zFQ9fOTSU)

Ludwig van Bertstare
10 Aug 2010, 17:15
Phone

While mitch Hedberg is hilarious , it was not my reference .

Phone
10 Aug 2010, 17:26
Het spijt me voor het misverstand.

Jabso
10 Aug 2010, 17:58
Don't be surprised if it's Shane O'Bree.

yaco55
10 Aug 2010, 19:38
And which players are at every single one?
Which players are the specialists at stoppages?
Which players do you find marshalling the troops to ensure their set-up is right at each stoppage?
Which players are those that have a greater focus of training throughout their career on winning clearances?
Full backs?

How are clearances won ?

A mixture of good anticipation and team-work.

Midfielders cant do it alone.

ghostdog
10 Aug 2010, 21:02
Lappin's contract at Geelong finishes at the end of this year. He helped them to GF success last year and looks set to be part of their journey to a GF appearance again this year.

He's already had exposure to Grand Finals as a player and as part of the coaching staff, so he knows what it takes. As a player he was often lauded for his work rate running back to defend and to attack, so you'd think he knows something about setting up at stoppages as well.

The Brisbane Lions site speaks volumes in its appraisal of his ethic.
'...voracious tackling appetite...'

'Lappin has always been an ultra-professional with enormous heart...'

'...Leigh Matthews paid his hard-running midfielder-defender the ultimate compliment when he said he had seen very few players with the courage to run just as hard into defence as attack.'

'...he was elevated to the official leadership panel, joining Darryl White as a vice-captain alongside Justin Leppitsch and Chris Scott as understudies to Michael Voss.'

...and on the GFC site

'...he quickly displayed the same talent to teaching the game as he had as a highly decorated player.'

His references are impressive to say the least.
I reckon it would be hard to look past him.

Godzke
10 Aug 2010, 22:34
Dr. Acula.
Use to play CS:Source against a spud called Dr. Acula. Had the most nasal and homo voice I've ever heard. Thought he was taking the piss initially but sure enough he continued to talk like the biggest poof with a blocked nose.

Just thought I'd throw that random fact in there. lol :o

Ludwig van Bertstare
10 Aug 2010, 22:51
lol, Source, lol.

ROYAL EAGLE
10 Aug 2010, 23:15
I think Peter Sumich may end up at your club as a assistant next year.

Word is he is looking to move, and a couple of clubs have shown interest, essendon being one.

Ludwig van Bertstare
10 Aug 2010, 23:17
Isn't he going to the Perth Demons?

Beerfish
11 Aug 2010, 00:12
The word in Perth is that he's been approached by the Demons.

Considering Perth have only won one game this season they couldn't do much worse.

I would hate to see him at Essendon.

yaco55
11 Aug 2010, 01:03
Royal Eagle is well connected in Perth - Especially the WC.

Most of his posts are factual.

You could ask him about Leroy Jetta and the WC.

abers47
11 Aug 2010, 08:08
Wasn't he one of the last in line for our senior coaching job?

vast
11 Aug 2010, 19:49
From what I have read in this thread, I think the best candidates would be lappin or caracella. Lappin the better player and midfielder, but gee caracella
has a good pedigree. Played in 2 premierships, within 2 dominant sides under 2 great coaches, worked alongside mick malthouse in the last few years when they have made pre-lims and now and is at geelong, pretty much everywhere he
has been has been successful, bring him home, I say, or even better get both of them.

Beerfish
11 Aug 2010, 23:58
Wasn't he one of the last in line for our senior coaching job?

He was interviewed.

I'd like to think they were just being polite and he was making up the numbers.

BOMBERS 4 LIFE!!!!
12 Aug 2010, 00:14
From what I have read in this thread, I think the best candidates would be lappin or caracella. Lappin the better player and midfielder, but gee caracella
has a good pedigree. Played in 2 premierships, within 2 dominant sides under 2 great coaches, worked alongside mick malthouse in the last few years when they have made pre-lims and now and is at geelong, pretty much everywhere he
has been has been successful, bring him home, I say, or even better get both of them.

Caracella a coach in waiting,could be future coach of Essendon if Jimmy Hird dosnt coach in the next few years.but your right would love to have him back at the club.