HB: Kyle Reimers, Cale Hooker, Mark McVeigh
C: Stewart Crameri, Jobe Watson, David Zaharakis
HF: Angus Monfries, Jake Carlisle, Travis Colyer
F: Kyle Hardingham, Jay Neagle, Patrick Ryder
Foll: David Hille, Jake Melksham, Ben Howlett
I/C: Brent Stanton, Ricky Dyson, Sam Lonergan, Courtenay Dempsey
Emg: Leroy Jetta, Brent Prismall, David Myers
In: Dyson, Slattery, Melksham, Carlisle, Crameri
Out: Alwyn Davey (arm), Jason Winderlich (hand), Brent Prismall, Bachar Houli, Dustin Fletcher (hamstring)
New: Jake Carlisle (Calder Canons), Stewart Crameri (Bendigo Bombers)
http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/100203/default.aspx
B: H. Slattery - Hurley - Hocking
HB: Reimers - Hooker - McVeigh
C: Crameri - Watson - Zaharakis
HF: Monfries - Carlisle - Colyer
F: Hardingham - Neagle - Ryder
Foll: Hille - Melksham - Howlett
Int: Stanton, Lonergan, Dyson, Dempsey
In: Carlisle, Crameri, Dyson, Slattery, Melksham
Out: Fletcher, Winderlich, Davey, Houli (omitted), Prismall (omitted)
B:Maxwell - Prestigicomo - B. Johnson
HB: O'Brien - Brown - Shaw
C: Wellingham - Swan - Toovey
HF: Didak - Cloke - Lockyear
F: Beams - Brown - Sidebottom
Foll: Jolly - Pendlebury - Thomas
Int: Blair, Medhurst, Dawes, Macaffer
In: Brown, Medhurst, Lockyear, Blair
Out: Reid, Davis, Ball, Goldsack
RedFeather
12 Aug 2010, 16:51
Fantastic to see Carlisle debut, I'm real excited. Crameri too will be interesting to watch.
One thing I'm not happy with though is dropping Houli and Prismall for Dyson and Slattery...
Pocket_Pears
12 Aug 2010, 16:52
I'm confused... how do we get consecutive games + confidence into Houli and Prismall if they keep getting dropped...?
And surely that should be T Slattery in for Fletcher, rather than H Slattery...?
Tailypo
12 Aug 2010, 16:53
Do not like:
*1 or 2 changes too many.
*Jetta very stiff with Davey out
*Myers stiff
*Houli would be just about gone you would think
Do like:
*Slattery to take Medhurst who I'm assuming will come in. Played well on him on the weekend.
*Debutants. Let's just hope it's not a baptism of fire..
I'm confused... how do we get consecutive games + confidence into Houli and Prismall if they keep getting dropped...?
And surely that should be T Slattery in for Fletcher, rather than H Slattery...?
Nope, its Henry.
Selection is a joke, again.
StealthBomber
12 Aug 2010, 16:57
Very frustrating to see the team constantly changed. GIVE THESE GUYS A CHANCE!! Yes you drop Prismall for the turnovers, but you also play him on Judd to gain experience/confidence. Where do you think his confidence has gone now???
Needless to say about Houli!! Poor guy cant get a break!! One average game and he's back in the 2's when the rest of the side should be equally questioned!
Slattery will be required to tag davis who has been average......but can anyone explain why Dyson and melksham get a call up? Will those two be better than Houli/Prismall? And why?
Cheers.....
H Slattery was always going to be in this week. Heath Hocking is absolute shit at back pocket, but he's decent elsewhere. Slattery does about a good job as anyone could considering how often it comes there from midfield turn overs. Clearly improves the team structure. Dyson is the bad one.
Donakebab
12 Aug 2010, 17:00
Why must players be spoon fed confidence after being amongst the worst on field in a complete slapping?
Slatts earned his spot through the VFL by doing a great job on Medhurst. How is his selection a joke when he may very well be playing on him again?
BomberTime
12 Aug 2010, 17:01
Thats looks a terrible team. Thought Houli might have been given the luxury of having one unimpressive game before being dropped, he wasnt the worst last week. But he is not dyson or slattery i suppose. Cant believe dyson is in...the guys no good, that simple.
Myers again overlooked...what more does he have to do at Bendigo? Surley he is not in Knights delusional plans and will seek a trade and i dont blame him..get far away from Knights.
We are playing into Collingwoods hands selecting so many plodders...we need speed to cut them open on the G. Its going to be a blood bath!
The House
12 Aug 2010, 17:02
I ****ing knew that ****ing shit truck Slattery would get a game this week. Your mates Slatts eh Knightsy????? (too bad Houli and Pris, Henry played finally played a decent game so he's straight back).:thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd:
You say we need speed to beat Collingwood.......but also say Houil and Myers have been treated harsh. DOES NOT MAKE SENSE. neither of them have it.
B: Nick Maxwell, Simon Prestigiacomo, Ben Johnson
HB: Harry O'Brien, Nathan Brown, Heath Shaw
C: Sharrod Wellingham, Dane Swan, Alan Toovey
HF: Alan Didak, Travis Cloke, Tarkyn Lockyer
F: Dayne Beams, Leigh Brown, Steele Sidebottom
Foll: Darren Jolly, Scott Pendlebury, Dale Thomas
I/C: Paul Medhurst, Brent Macaffer, Chris Dawes, Jarryd Blair
Emg: Josh Fraser, Luke Rounds, Simon Buckley
In: Medhurst, Brown, Blair, Lockyer
Out: Leon Davis (quad), Luke Ball (hip), Ben Reid (quad), Tyson Goldsack (ankle)
StealthBomber
12 Aug 2010, 17:04
As I posted in the same thread about this:
Very frustrating to see the team constantly changed. GIVE THESE GUYS A CHANCE!! Yes you drop Prismall for the turnovers, but you also play him on Judd to gain experience/confidence. Where do you think his confidence has gone now???
Needless to say about Houli!! Poor guy cant get a break!! One average game and he's back in the 2's when the rest of the side should be equally questioned!
Slattery will be required to tag davis who has been average......but can anyone explain why Dyson and melksham get a call up? Will those two be better than Houli/Prismall? And why?
Cheers.....
Why must players be spoon fed confidence after being amongst the worst on field in a complete slapping?
Slatts earned his spot through the VFL by doing a great job on Medhurst. How is his selection a joke when he may very well be playing on him again?
I wasn't refering to the inclusion of Slattery, more so the inclusion of Dyson over Houli and Prismall. We keep hearing about Essendon building a midfield for future success but how are they going to be apart of it when they play one poor game and get dropped? That is a joke.
Henry got mentioned because I was simply refering to a question.
Houli dropped after 1 average game.
Piss off Knights.
which game would houil have got a vote for? i am confuse.
bisazc887
12 Aug 2010, 17:10
No Davey or Gumbledon 2 of your top scorers
No Fletch in defence, Beams and Cloke could kick 12 between them
This could get real real messy :eek:
St.Kilda ;)
TeamHurley
12 Aug 2010, 17:13
No Davey or Gumbledon 2 of your top scorers
No Fletch in defence, Beams and Cloke could kick 12 between them
This could get real real messy :eek:
It's Gumbleton.
Houli dropped after 1 average game.
Piss off Knights.
This. Honestly why couldn't he play him for the rest of the season? It makes no sense at all to drop him. He was almost BOG two games back and now one bad game (a game in which the whole side was terrible) he is dropped.
I have no problem with Slattery coming back into the side, we need a small lock down defender to help McVeigh out and free up Hocking.
Youthful Pie
12 Aug 2010, 17:15
interesting with the collingwood changes.
Ben reid and nathan brown swap.
Medhurst and davis swap.
Blair and ball swap (obree is finished)
and
Lockyer and Goldsack swap..
to be honest, theres not huge ramifications for the pies with those swaps.
although:
i dont see how you're going to stop collingwood kick a high score; and see you kicking 'a score.
conservative tip; 40 points.
bisazc887
It's Gumbleton.
Yeah true but messy messy regardless
BomberTime
You say we need speed to beat Collingwood.......but also say Houil and Myers have been treated harsh. DOES NOT MAKE SENSE. neither of them have it.
Houli is fairly quick. Ok myers is overly quick but after after being in the bests for Bendigo every week i would have thought his selection was warranted before dyson.
Jetta should have come in to replace the speed and tackling pressure we lose with davey.
Poor selction overall but its good to see carlisle though
Cheers:thumbsu:
Nasty Penguin
12 Aug 2010, 17:17
Interesting that Dempsay is named on the bench wonder if he'll go up forward.
Slatts is in for structure will get a job on medhurst i'm guessing. Fletcher is a big out be good to see what the backline is made of without him. Good luck to Crameri and Carlisle be good to see them on the big stage.
Houli and Pris are both a bit stiff but it's coming to season end so maybe giving dyson and slatts a chance to stake their claim. All players should be on notice to be honest.
St.Kilda ;)
http://i36.tinypic.com/2n8pqpe.jpg
Hooker, Hurley, Fletch, Gus, Watson for 5 before Houil.
Dyson before Houli and Prismall is a joke. Sure, they both had bad games last week, but if we are truly building for the future, then this selection bemuses me.
I feel for Jetta, who was one of our best at Bendigo, yet the selection committee goes for Dyson again. As much as Dyson improved last year, what value is there in playing him now, once the season is over?
This season is a write-off for him, he should get his body right and come back next year and show what he can do. Houli and Prismall need consistent games.
I sound like a broken record, but they can't be dropped after 1 bad game, they are never going to learn from their mistakes if they aren't given an opportunity to do so.
And I don't know how Dempsey survived selection given Pris and Houli decisions. Gifted Garlett alone 4 goals on his own because he refused to man up.
Sigh.
Deefolt
12 Aug 2010, 17:18
why doesnt knights like bachar, any essendon supporters expalain to me what the pitfalls of houli on the field are because there are 15 other clubs that would jump at the chance of signing him
HighettBomber
12 Aug 2010, 17:19
Another pathetic effort by the selection committee. How the hell are we going to get any run by loading up with slugs in the backline. Jetta in for Davey would have been sensible, Crameri will most likely play in the backline so why bother with Hank. Dyson doesn't deserve a game ahead of Houli and neither does Melksham.
It was also a good chance to play Tyson Slattery, to give us a bit more flexibility in the backline. If they have Cloke, Brown and Dawes down there who is going to be the third tall defender? Tyson may not be Fletch, but at least he can play on talls or smalls.
I'm glad I have a HS reunion. This is going to be bloody!
BomberTime
12 Aug 2010, 17:20
Medhurst and davis swap.
and
although:
i dont see how you're going to stop collingwood kick a high score; and see you kicking 'a score.
Um..thanks? Not too many people here are going to argue with you champ. Its going to be ugly...im talking jarryd roughead ugly.:)
Houli is fairly quick. Ok myers is overly quick but after after being in the bests for Bendigo every week i would have thought his selection was warranted before dyson.
Jetta should have come in to replace the speed and tackling pressure we lose with davey.
Poor selction overall but its good to see carlisle though
Cheers:thumbsu:
Agree Jetta should be in. Myers would have been in if a Longeran or Jobe were out but they weren't and Myers can't really play any of the other roles vacated this week. If Longeran was an out and Myers wasn't an in I'd be very disappointed, but...
Oh and (insert joke about Houli being quick....IN ONE DIRECTION here)
bisazc887
12 Aug 2010, 17:21
Medhurst and davis swap.
and
although:
You are been very conservitive. I dont usually bet points but Pies 60+ easy money. Cloke will get his kicking sorted this week and kick a bag
xMichaelx
Hank did a number on Medhurst in Bendigo last week (or week before?). So he will most likely sit on him again. While no Jetta is interesting and the inclusion of Dyson is iffey.
Tailypo
Curious as to what role Dyson will be playing, actually. Maybe they've swapped him with Houli to play a more defensive HFF role? He has done it a few times before.
thebigboy
12 Aug 2010, 17:22
It's been heavily stated that Houli shouldn't have been dropped. Were wasting our time dropping the same players over and over again.
1 bad loss, automatically out goes Houli and Prismall. Yes, Prismall was ordinary last week, but dropping him every month doesn't achieve anything, especially when we are carrying players like McVeigh who's had 1 good game this year.
On a positive note, It'll be good to see how Carlisle goes. We lacked another marking target up forward last week and he might be able to straighten us up.
As a tip - this will get ugly.
why doesnt knights like bachar, any essendon supporters expalain to me what the pitfalls of houli on the field are because there are 15 other clubs that would jump at the chance of signing him
15 other clubs did have the chance. He slid to 42 for a reason y'know?
Nasty Penguin
12 Aug 2010, 17:24
Curious as to what role Dyson will be playing, actually. Maybe they've swapped him with Houli to play a more defensive HFF role? He has done it a few times before.
Gus plays the HFF defensive role can't see dyson providing that scoreboard pressure.
essendon
12 Aug 2010, 17:28
Have no idea whats going on......but the same usual suspects like a frekin merry go round, Jetta for Davey was obvious but no, you have slattery & dyson but no Myers, Houli dropped after one bad game .....Prismall out, no atkinson....hate to see the trade season when it starts there may be queue offering to leave i reckon if Knight is still there next year....
it will be definitely another Friday the 13th Episode - the " Knightmare continues.... " it may get real ugly tomorrow night if the Pies are switched on....
eth-dog
12 Aug 2010, 17:30
good to see Carlisle get a run. hope he plays well. trying to stay positive
Slattery was obvious. You bring in Myers, where does he play? Jetta is the bad one.
And you make "no atkinson" sound like a bad thing.
Donakebab
12 Aug 2010, 17:41
Slattery was obvious. You bring in Myers, where does he play? Jetta is the bad one.
And you make "no atkinson" sound like a bad thing.
+10 cred
eth-dog
12 Aug 2010, 17:45
Going against the trend and say dons by 12
http://i36.tinypic.com/2n8pqpe.jpg
Hooker, Hurley, Fletch, Gus, Watson for 5 before Houil.
D!CK!
Houli could have easily polled votes in that game.
Garry Lyon had him in the best 3. He was our best player in the first half.
Hooker was NOT better than Houli that night.
Hooker was our far and away our best player in the first quarter and continued in the second. His second half was less good (but still good), when the game was there to be won he was our best. Houil had a very good 2nd quarter, yes. But the other three quarters were average.
Donakebab
12 Aug 2010, 17:52
D!CK!
Houli could have easily polled votes in that game.
Garry Lyon had him in the best 3. He was our best player in the first half.
Hooker was NOT better than Houli that night.
Yes he was.
also add howlett and stanton to the 5. Houil had a good game. Because his supporters have been waiting so long for it, it's quickly gained undeserved 'great' status.
Skeeta Olly
12 Aug 2010, 18:01
Houli had an ok game against North, a bit overrated, his game against St Kilda was probably his best thus far, but was disappointing against Carlton.
Maybe a bit harsh to be dropped.
Pie Legend
12 Aug 2010, 18:02
What's the consenous on Crameri?
Reading through his profile it says a ball carrying defender who can also play in the guts..where has he been playing for Bendigo this year? And where might he line up this week?
Hooker was our far and away our best player in the first quarter and continued in the second. His second half was less good (but still good), when the game was there to be won he was our best. Houil had a very good 2nd quarter, yes. But the other three quarters were average.
Hooker gave away 2 free kicks in the first quarter, he gifted Reiwoldt the easiest of goals.
Houli's first half was outstanding, clearly our best player to half time, I'm pretty sure that was when the game was there to be won.
Yes he was.
No, he wasn't. FFS, his out of touch opponent had 6 scoring shots on him.
Houli went back to his usual soft, hanging around packs, soft tackling self last week. Good bye to bad rubbish.
Judd or no Judd Prismall was absolutely terrible with the ball in his hands last week, and is slower than Hooker chasing someone, I'm glad the club doesn't put up with this rubbish.
2 outs I'm more than happy to see.
Donakebab
12 Aug 2010, 18:12
No, he wasn't. FFS, his out of touch opponent had 6 scoring shots on him.
lol, whatever, next time watch the game rather then reading the stats sheet.
He gave away a soft free-kick. HANG HIM.
He also took plenty of marks and inflicted plenty of spoils and kept their most important player to one goal despite pretty much every second Saints forward 50 entry going to him and his rebounding was good too. He was our best player in the first quarter and one of our best all-night.
Houil as mentioned had a great second quarter but didn't do really do much for the other three quarters. He had a good game, but to say he was in our best three is just wrong.
carloss
12 Aug 2010, 18:23
Is Atkinson finished at Essendon? I thought he would have played more games and at least offers more than Dyson?
ManWithNoName
12 Aug 2010, 18:24
Jetta and Davey are not similar players FFS. Ones a defensive forward. The others a goalsneak/winger without a defensive bone in his body. Just because they're both black doesn't make them the same type of player.
SirJimi05
12 Aug 2010, 18:31
I sound like a broken record, but they can't be dropped after 1 bad game, they are never going to learn from their mistakes if they aren't given an opportunity to do so.
And I don't know how Dempsey survived selection given Pris and Houli decisions. Gifted Garlett alone 4 goals on his own because he refused to man up.
Sigh.
Prismall was given a longer stint to prove himself than most on the list and many people were wondering if he was Knights' new lovechild given that he kept escaping the axe. The penny took a long while to drop, mate.
Houli I agree with. No harm in giving him the rest of the season to prove himself. He deserves the same luxury that guys like Prismall and Dempsey have had over the last 2 seasons.
I think the team was going to look crap regardless of who we brought in (with all our current injuries it's hard not too) but I don't know why we're persisting with Dyson but not one of Houli or Prismall.
Lance Uppercut
12 Aug 2010, 18:38
Houli went back to his usual soft, hanging around packs, soft tackling self last week. Good bye to bad rubbish.
Judd or no Judd Prismall was absolutely terrible with the ball in his hands last week, and is slower than Hooker chasing someone, I'm glad the club doesn't put up with this rubbish.
2 outs I'm more than happy to see.
DaSawx bringing da common sense yet again :thumbsu:
ManWithNoName
12 Aug 2010, 18:41
Houli would've been told "You're getting a game because we like your improvement in your hardness, your willingness to attack the ball and your second efforts. Go back to that lazy, selfish shit again and you're dropped"
He did so and guess what, he got dropped.
kelvin_sheedy
12 Aug 2010, 18:42
Prismall dropped - great news. It's amazing that he's actually got 13 games this year. Most based on reputation I would suggest as his output has been terrible.
Houli - meh. Was pretty ordinary last week and is another version of Prismall. He is a better kick and is quicker but isn't afforded the luxury of getting free games.
Crameri is just a good ordinary VFL player and for him to be selected in front of guys like Myers and Jetta who we should be pumping games into does not make sense at all.
Nothing to see here folks apart form the ring a rosy selection policies of the past 3 years.
bombersno1
12 Aug 2010, 18:51
Knights has lost it. Mind you I'd rather Myers not get picked this week, if we get within 15 goals, it is a win for mine. Why bring back more slowish players though. Our only chance is to outrun them.
TheDon35
12 Aug 2010, 18:55
Wow...
Hopefully one step closer to the end of the Knights disaster.
Myers - consistently in the best. Clearly an issue here.
Houli - Very good game against St Kilda, ordinary like everyone last week and dropped for a reasonable VFL player who won't be an AFL player. If only he was afforded the same free passage as Winderlich
Prismll played in a position reflective of the coaches competence and dropped for it.
H Slattery in.. oh dear.
Dyson... Oh dear.
Loose your only crumbing fwd and don't replace him.... yes with another crumbing forward....
I can handle three more weeks if it means i never have to listen to his tripe again. Must have been hard for him today. Ussually trots out his assistants on a Thursday after a big loss... Oh that's right, they've gone too.
sup3rfish
12 Aug 2010, 18:57
Prismall was given a longer stint to prove himself than most on the list and many people were wondering if he was Knights' new lovechild given that he kept escaping the axe. The penny took a long while to drop, mate.
HE WHAT?!..... come on kid seriously.... he played the first 2 and then out for 3....in for 6 out for 1... in for 2 out for 2... then in for 3 and dropped again..... doesnt sound like a love child to me.....
And as for last year he had too be played because he was coming back from a serious injury... played all games after round 11 and held up well IMO.....
This year is a JOKE.... Selections are like a chook raffle..... Hope the new Midfield coaches are able to convince Knights that hes a knob and needs a more consistent approach to the team.....
I might apply for the job....
Squad is good given the circumstances.
stander
12 Aug 2010, 19:33
Wow...
Hopefully one step closer to the end of the Knights disaster.
Myers - consistently in the best. Clearly an issue here.
Houli - Very good game against St Kilda, ordinary like everyone last week and dropped for a reasonable VFL player who won't be an AFL player. If only he was afforded the same free passage as Winderlich
Prismll played in a position reflective of the coaches competence and dropped for it.
H Slattery in.. oh dear.
Dyson... Oh dear.
Loose your only crumbing fwd and don't replace him.... yes with another crumbing forward....
I can handle three more weeks if it means i never have to listen to his tripe again. Must have been hard for him today. Ussually trots out his assistants on a Thursday after a big loss... Oh that's right, they've gone too.
You forgot to mention young Carlisle, but that would mean tempering your tone with positivity... Oh dear.
The_Young_Gun
12 Aug 2010, 19:33
I'd if we won!
AndyLesPaul
12 Aug 2010, 19:38
All players that were quite solid last week.
Prismall had a shocker, Houli was quiet and really didn't get to do much, so I support these in's.
SirJimi05
12 Aug 2010, 20:02
HE WHAT?!..... come on kid seriously.... he played the first 2 and then out for 3....in for 6 out for 1... in for 2 out for 2... then in for 3 and dropped again..... doesnt sound like a love child to me.....
Listen noob. He was rubbish last season. He had an excuse because he was coming back from a knee but what is his excuse this season?
He played 6 games of rubbish before he was dropped. Guys like Houli and Myers get droped after 1 bad game and mostly they are played out of position anyway.
My initial point is that it is wrong to compare Houli and Prismall. One guy has been given opportunities the other hasn't. Look at the post I quoted. thanks, KID.
Lance Uppercut
12 Aug 2010, 20:13
I'd if we won!
yeah, me too...
Houli was rated 5th best player against StKilda according to the Coaches Award.
TheDon35
12 Aug 2010, 20:26
You forgot to mention young Carlisle, but that would mean tempering your tone with positivity... Oh dear.
And you've failed to acknowlede any of Knights thousands of failings over the course of the year... But that woud mean posting with objectivity... Oh dear.
Selection was compromised this week with the injuries to davey, winderlich and fletcher, combined with the shocking efforts by prismall and Dempsey.
Ideally prismall and dempsey should have been dropped - One thing is clear - Dont play Dempsey in defence.
Thought that jetta for davey would have been a straight swap.
Maybe houli was dropped because he will be at Collingwood next week.
Slattery was a logical choice ( he gets a game because of the failings of Dempsey and Hocking) and will probably line up on medhurst agaian.
Oh Tayteridge
12 Aug 2010, 20:34
Dyson before Houli and Prismall is a joke. Sure, they both had bad games last week, but if we are truly building for the future, then this selection bemuses me.
I feel for Jetta, who was one of our best at Bendigo, yet the selection committee goes for Dyson again. As much as Dyson improved last year, what value is there in playing him now, once the season is over?
This season is a write-off for him, he should get his body right and come back next year and show what he can do. Houli and Prismall need consistent games.
Sigh.
We know we don't agree on the Dempsey thing, but I completely concur with the Jetta notion and utter lack of consistency in the match selection. I don't like to blame Knights solely for this, as it is the choice of a panel and I prefer not to join the chorus of unashamed Essadun Knights bagging plebs, but seriously- let's get something happening here.
On another note, kudos for the Carlise + Crameri inclusions.
The Great Barry Besanko
12 Aug 2010, 20:39
Houli was rated 5th best player against StKilda according to the Coaches Award.
One of our best. His disposal was faultless. This is just ****ing ridiculous. Myers' omission is frustrating as well. We have to give these guys games now. This is far more important than just this week.
It bemuses me how Dempsey is given a role in defence to defend a player. He refuses to do so, playing 20m off him 90% of the time, and gets another shot at it.
Everyone saying that Dempsey shouldn't be played in defence may well be right. However, if the coach plays you in defence, you defend! I don't care how far your head is up your own arse, if you are playing 20m off your man as a defender, it says 3 things.
1. You are not concentrating on your given task.
2. Selfish player looking for their own benefit first, and the team second.
3. You are not a team player.
A defender playing 20m off the most dangerous forward in the game is equivalent to a full forward not leading. It is unacceptable, it is illogical and it should not be rewarded by gifting them another game. Last week proved to me that there should be no room at Essendon for non team players like Dempsey. The only thing saving him, and I have no understanding why is that according to Knights and Jobe, he is a "potential A-Grader".
stander
12 Aug 2010, 20:46
One of our best. His disposal was faultless. This is just ****ing ridiculous. Myers' omission is frustrating as well. We have to give these guys games now. This is far more important than just this week.
Knights can't win, if he plays a few more seasoned players in an attempt to win the game he'd gets ridiculed for trying to save his neck. Play all the rookies and he gets ridiculed for trying to build for next year. All the ins and outs this week are arguable.
stander
12 Aug 2010, 20:48
And you've failed to acknowlede any of Knights thousands of failings over the course of the year... But that woud mean posting with objectivity... Oh dear.
Up to the thousands now, and you would have a handle on every one of them.
gdaytiger2001
12 Aug 2010, 20:55
I wonder what color jumper Houli will be wearing next year?
It certainly won't be black and red, honestly, who would blame him.
In the best one week has a bad game and omitted again, when the season is dead.
Give the bloke a chance to string a few games together, honestly what does it matter the season is dead, why not give the bloke a go!
kelvin_sheedy
12 Aug 2010, 20:55
anf06 this ain't the 80's. There are zones and guarding areas, there's leaving your man to impact a contest.
Dempsey wasn't great last week but he was one of the few that went hard at the ball and was ok with it. He didn't play selfish football and attacked other players men and his man got free. I'd rather him leave his man and impact the contest then let a guy waltz in and kick a goal.
No defence could deal with Prismalls turnovers last week.
No defence can deal with the way we gave the ball up. We don't play a defensive brand of football and we hardly ever have spare men back to cover. It's why it's a weekly rotation on who is going to get a bag kicked on them.
Ben the Gooner
12 Aug 2010, 20:58
Houli would've been told "You're getting a game because we like your improvement in your hardness, your willingness to attack the ball and your second efforts. Go back to that lazy, selfish shit again and you're dropped"
He did so and guess what, he got dropped.
This.
Happy with all of the changes.
Can everyone calling for Myers to come in say who of Watson, Howlett and Lonergan they'd have dropped for him?
stander
12 Aug 2010, 21:00
No defence can deal with the way we gave the ball up. We don't play a defensive brand of football and we hardly ever have spare men back to cover. It's why it's a weekly rotation on who is going to get a bag kicked on them.
Dead right, those turnovers and basic skill and decision making errors would have destroyed the confidence of any team, the more they made, the more shattered they became.
No need for a spare man if you have skill like a Geelong.
stander
12 Aug 2010, 21:05
This.
Can everyone calling for Myers to come in say who of Watson, Howlett and Lonergan they'd have dropped for him?
Irrelevant, they just want Myers in, irrespective of his average form in the VFL, and I mean average at that level.
AndyLesPaul
12 Aug 2010, 21:22
I hope we win so bad, Knights will be dishing out so much humble pie :)
lemon chicken
12 Aug 2010, 21:25
Knights can't win, if he plays a few more seasoned players in an attempt to win the game he'd gets ridiculed for trying to save his neck. Play all the rookies and he gets ridiculed for trying to build for next year. All the ins and outs this week are arguable.
So what is he actually doing, developing the list or coaching for wins? Last time we had changes like this (Dyson and co) back in and younger guys dropped, the ins were pathetic and we got smashed.
Dont see why he couldnt have played the same role as Prismall did last week.
lemon chicken
12 Aug 2010, 21:31
Looks top heavy and unbalanced. Melksham was terrible 2 weeks ago in VFL, straight in. Dyson never does anything special and gets a recall time and time again. I fail to see how we are going to improve next season, we will lose some youngish players with talent and keep some list cloggers if selections are anything to go by.
sup3rfish
12 Aug 2010, 21:33
He played 6 games of rubbish before he was dropped. Guys like Houli and Myers get droped after 1 bad game and mostly they are played out of position anyway.
My initial point is that it is wrong to compare Houli and Prismall. One guy has been given opportunities the other hasn't. Look at the post I quoted. thanks, KID.
and Prismall who was drafted to play in the midfield has played where all this year?! He gets played out of position every week and when he gets a run on the ball has to tag and gets towelled up.....
I never said anything about comparing Houli and Priz... i think Houli deserved a spot ages ago.
Myers was terrible against Sydney and again the week after against Geelong... I am all for getting game into the young blokes...
Holi and Priz have both played 26 games for EFC...whilst they bring in Dyson who has played over 90 games.... and probably only half have been above average....
I get that people hate Priz but he is part of the EFC and deserves a good crack to prove why we picked him up... as does Houli....
On the positive well done to Carlisle and Crameri hope you guys are able to keep ur spot...
anf06 this ain't the 80's. There are zones and guarding areas, there's leaving your man to impact a contest.
Dempsey wasn't great last week but he was one of the few that went hard at the ball and was ok with it. He didn't play selfish football and attacked other players men and his man got free. I'd rather him leave his man and impact the contest then let a guy waltz in and kick a goal.
I dont understand your logic.
Why didn't the other defenders get burnt like dempsey ?
Why did the commentators on Channel 7 ask several times why Dempsey wasn't touching his opponent ?
And in every incident the commentators were referring to a stop play situation.
Dont make excuses for Dempsey's loose marking - The only reason he is in the team is because of injuries.
It bemuses me how Dempsey is given a role in defence to defend a player. He refuses to do so, playing 20m off him 90% of the time, and gets another shot at it.
Everyone saying that Dempsey shouldn't be played in defence may well be right. However, if the coach plays you in defence, you defend! I don't care how far your head is up your own arse, if you are playing 20m off your man as a defender, it says 3 things.
1. You are not concentrating on your given task.
2. Selfish player looking for their own benefit first, and the team second.
3. You are not a team player.
A defender playing 20m off the most dangerous forward in the game is equivalent to a full forward not leading. It is unacceptable, it is illogical and it should not be rewarded by gifting them another game. Last week proved to me that there should be no room at Essendon for non team players like Dempsey. The only thing saving him, and I have no understanding why is that according to Knights and Jobe, he is a "potential A-Grader".
Spot on with your post.
Dempsey needs to find another position as he has enough AFL attributes to be a decent player.
This is not what he was doing. If you watched the game, or his game in particular, he was not zoning at all. He was simply standing his man, but the clear thing was, that he was not paying him any respect.
Simple fact is, he thinks he is better than he is, and he thinks that he is better than others. He thinks he can stand 20m away, protect the 'zone' and still spoil the mark that his opponent will inevitably take because he is so far away.
He should be doing it the other way around. Stop your man first, and then if he sees fit, drop off him to take the space, like Fletcher does, Lake does and Hurley is starting to do.
Start on your man and then move into the free space, NOT start in the space and run back to your man.
The Great Barry Besanko
12 Aug 2010, 22:17
This.
What about just putting Myers ahead of Dyson? You know what you get with Dyson, a list filler that's handy for depth when required.
Myers is a No 6 pick who just needs some consecutive games to build his confidence. Now, as we're out of contention, is the best time for that.
We need to know sooner (whilst he has some value) rather than later if he can play. Give him next year and year after if needed, but surely these last 3 games against 2 quality teams will help his development.
Ben the Gooner
12 Aug 2010, 22:20
What about just putting Myers ahead of Dyson? You know what you get with Dyson, a list filler that's handy for depth when required.
Myers is a No 6 pick who just needs some consecutive games to build his confidence. Now, as we're out of contention, is the best time for that.
We need to know sooner (whilst he has some value) rather than later if he can play. Give him next year and year after if needed, but surely these last 3 games against 2 quality teams will help his development.
Aren't we all complaining that he's a midfielder not a HBF?
kelvin_sheedy
12 Aug 2010, 22:23
This is not what he was doing. If you watched the game, or his game in particular, he was not zoning at all. He was simply standing his man, but the clear thing was, that he was not paying him any respect.
Simple fact is, he thinks he is better than he is, and he thinks that he is better than others. He thinks he can stand 20m away, protect the 'zone' and still spoil the mark that his opponent will inevitably take because he is so far away.
He should be doing it the other way around. Stop your man first, and then if he sees fit, drop off him to take the space, like Fletcher does, Lake does and Hurley is starting to do.
Start on your man and then move into the free space, NOT start in the space and run back to your man.
I think he should play more like Heath Shaw.. oh wait. :rolleyes:
kelvin_sheedy
12 Aug 2010, 22:41
Why didn't the other defenders get burnt like dempsey ?
Who was on Jarra Waite for his 4 goals and 4 inside 50's? :confused:
Who was on Henderson who had 5 assists.. one where Dempsey went to him because he was running into an open goal and Garlett got a Joe the goose.
Who was on the 61-42 inside 50 count?
Mitch Robinson?
Do you need to man up instead of run to create when Prismall has the ball?
Hooker and McVeigh had 15 touches between them. Maybe if they provided some offense (quality) the ball wouldn't be coming back as quick.
I see lets play an attacking gameplan and then hang everyone out to dry who gets murdered by it. If everyone goes back into their shells and plays selfish self preservation football then we'll get murdered by 100 points each week.
I give up on the Dempsey thing. He's should be played every week and let the kid learn and grow.
HighettBomber
12 Aug 2010, 22:41
This.
You're just happy because lover boy Hank is in for another undeserved game. Why you, and a minority of others, seem to like talentless hacks so much and bag anyone with ability who is not a champion is very difficult to understand. Are we not better off with blokes who are at least capable of playing very well, even if they don't every week, as compared to players who can't get the ball, can't run and can't dispose of it with rerasonable reliability.
Ben the Gooner
12 Aug 2010, 22:43
You're just happy because lover boy Hank is in for another undeserved game. Why you, and a minority of others, seem to like talentless hacks so much and bag anyone with ability who is not a champion is very difficult to understand. Are we not better off with blokes who are at least capable of playing very well, even if they don't every week, as compared to players who can't get the ball, can't run and can't dispose of it with rerasonable reliability.
What part of towelling up Paul Medhurst and the senior team lacking a back pocket makes it undeserved?
Mumbo Jumbo
12 Aug 2010, 22:44
Shouldn't have dropped Houli (this time), shouldn't have dropped Myers, shouldn't have dropped T Slattery, shouldn't have dropped Neagle.
I hope they overhaul the MC too.
Having said that, I still f***ing love this club (no take pisso).
bombersno1
12 Aug 2010, 22:46
Aren't we all complaining that he's a midfielder not a HBF?
Would it be that bad putting one of our midfielders forward? Play Myers in the guts for bursts, and rotate him with that midfielder, and to be honest I'd be happy if Lonergan and Myers went 50/50 in terms of time in the middle and up forward.
Ben the Gooner
12 Aug 2010, 22:48
I'd rather play our forwards forward, just quietly.
bombersno1
12 Aug 2010, 22:50
Well our forwards have been smashing it recently..
We have to build for the future, Myers is too good to be playing for Bendigo, we need to find him a position and Longergan stands out as the person he can replace, so why not TRIAL a 50/50 split. Myers is pretty handy in front of goals.
Ben the Gooner
12 Aug 2010, 22:54
Jesus this place infuriates me.
We're too slow, but we should play an extra inside midfielder.
Myers isn't a HBF, but he should be in instead of Dyson.
We keep getting towelled up by small forwards, but our best BP who's not already in the team shouldn't come in.
Dempsey and Prismall are soft and make poor decisions, but Houli deserves another crack.