View Full Version : Former Players

Squizzy1970
14 Aug 2010, 17:47
Saw an interesting article the other day about former AFL players in the Essendon District League.

One name that stood out : Barry Brooks.

Currently playing for Craigieburn with Fatty Whitnall, Angleo Lekkas, and Evangelos (Ang) Christou.

Fair to say he has not been shredding them at that level despite being what should be his prime at 26yo.

Look2Me4Guidance
14 Aug 2010, 19:07
Plenty of good players run around in that league.

Greenvale have Scott Lucas, Jason Johnson, Stephen Paxman are are coached by Steve MacPherson.

Keilor are coached by Mick McGuane.

Doutta Stars coached by John Barnes.

Maribyrnong Park have Brodie Holland and Steve McKee running around.

Chris Johnson is the coach of Avondale Heights.

Craigieburn are really up against it in A grade. Brooks is happy just to play and is working as an engineer I believe.

Squizzy1970
14 Aug 2010, 20:51
Keilor are coached by Mick McGuane.

Doutta Stars coached by John Barnes.

Geez, there's a couple of Norman Einsteins. They got any other rocket surgeons?

Look2Me4Guidance
16 Aug 2010, 14:20
Geez, there's a couple of Norman Einsteins. They got any other rocket surgeons?

Actually Squizz, McGuane's record as a senior coach is outstanding.

Look2Me4Guidance
23 Aug 2010, 14:12
Was at a Coburg Past Player's Luncheon on Saturday with Father Guidance.

Took in the Tigers v Bullants.

Post game had a chat with Alroy Gilligan who is on Richmond's list. I asked him if he knew Ross Tungatulum and he was very surprised that he was no longer at the Saints as he believed he had awesome talent.

Was surprised to see Alroy on the Bundy and Coke post game. I wouldn't have thought many of the Zebs players would do similar?

Squizzy1970
8 Sep 2010, 11:27
Some interesting and funny shit in this one from Spider:

http://insidefootballonline.com/rhysjones.html

"It wasn’t that I didn’t get along with Thomo, it was just that I thought he couldn’t coach. The same with Blighty – I thought he wasn’t really interested at the time."

"With Thomo, I could go and have a beer with him but I couldn’t be coached by Thomo."

"if I’ve ever got a function where they ask me to bring someone, I take Milney because he is such good value."

"For years and years I’ve thought that I kicked a goal with my first kick but someone bought me the DVD this year and I watched it and it was a grubber kick out of bounds!"

"In 1993 I had nearly been dropped from the seconds."

"Alves had been around a few years and I’d played up forward. We went away in 1996 and they asked me to put on a bit of weight, but I put on the wrong sort of weight and came back with skinfolds of 112. It’s a long way back from there to get back to 50. I just ate dim sims and chips!"

"I trained the last training session, but realistically it was only three or four weeks after I had done it and I would have been against Shauny Rehn ... if I had my time again I would chase anyone to staple it – pin it."
Rhys-Jones: Of course St Kilda barrackers think that if you had played in that 1997 Grand Final, the Saints would have won.
"There’s no doubt about that!"

"We were playing West Coast in Perth in the last game of the season under Timmy Watson. We were $4.30, and $21 for over 39 points. I said if everyone puts in $100 – $80 head to head and $20 for over 39 points – we would put the bet on. We had players, officials who were in. We had the bloke ready to run down and put it on. Nathan Burke had cracked the shits and said you shouldn’t have to bet on yourselves to win. Everyone pulled out and we had to give the money back. But five of us got on and we won by 43 points. The five of us were pumped!"

"Brian Waldron didn’t want us to have a beer while we were waiting for the phone call to go to the Chinese restaurant at Jupiters and get Blighty as coach. Hally and I ordered one and he went nuts. When we walked in, the first thing Blighty said was take off your ties and get some beers. We had quite a few … Hally let the crayfish out in the restaurant that night!"

"Burkey was holding the contract and and they were pushing him to get Blighty to sign it but Burkey was saying “No way” (because Blight had had a few drinks)."

Squizzy1970
15 Dec 2010, 07:21
http://www.sportingpulse.com/club_info.cgi?client=1-109-34758-0-0&sID=56342&&news_task=DETAIL&articleID=14082244&sectionID=56342

The Redland Bombers have landed another huge recruiting coup with the return of St.Kilda draftee Brad Howard to the Bombers for the 2011/12 seasons.

Howard, who was drafted to St.Kilda with their second pick in the 2006 National drafted from Redland, played two senior games for the Saints across two seasons before joining with the Sandringham Zebras in the VFL for the past two seasons.

Flyingsaint
1 Jan 2011, 16:50
as expected Luke has gone back west

SWAN Districts' chances of defending its 2010 WAFL premiership have been given a massive boost with the signing of West Coast premiership player Adam Hunter
Jarrhan Jacky (from Adelaide), John Williams (Essendon), Jarrad Blight (Collingwood), Luke Miles (St Kilda) and Alex James (West Perth) will also don a black-and-white jumper in 2011.

http://www.perthnow.com.au/sport/afl/former-eagle-adam-hunter-to-play-with-swan-districts-this-season/story-e6frg243-1225980032696

Flyingsaint
1 Jan 2011, 20:09
1 year in the AFL - even as a rookie who got few games is valuable; just read that Mark Hutchings is at East Perth

I can confirm that Mark Hutchings will be at the football club next season also, he has been training with the team since pre season began in a limited capacity due to post season surgery.
His attitude is excellent and he has changed his entire body shape in his time at St Kilda and he will be a very valuable addition to the team for 2011.;

http://www.waflonline.com.au/forum/index.php/topic,1946.15.html

Squizzy1970
5 Jan 2011, 09:31
In response to a post that was subsequently deleted which I presume enquired after Brian Gleeson. - K

He was at the funeral recently for John James (who attended the same school in Ballarat).

I hadn't realised that he did his knee practice match after being appointed captain and never played again (a comeback in Qld led to injuring his other knee).

http://www.saints.com.au/TheClub/History/HallofFame/BrianGleeson/tabid/9050/Default.aspx

He commented on the (original) proposed move to Frankston, so still obviously has good ties to the club.

Flyingsaint
5 Jan 2011, 10:50
sorry Squizzy- as i was trying to find the delete button you replied.

Yes I asked if anyone knew what Brain gleeson had done post career and was doing now

I also found he had gone to QLD to restart his football a couple of years later and did the other knee.

Squizzy1970
5 Jan 2011, 11:32
No problemo.

I didn't know alot about Gleeson, so - as a former captain and Brownlow Medallist - thought it was worth posting the info (for others) despite the deletion.

Flyingsaint
11 Jan 2011, 08:52
short time saint
http://boxhillhawks.com.au/news-read.aspx?NewsId=715
Adam Pattison at Bow Hill with coaching role as well as player.

Flyingsaint
17 Jan 2011, 13:53
another short term saint- Justin sweeney
http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/hillmen-sign-former-saint/story-fn53klg1-1225989568282
promise not fulfilled...

Flyingsaint
17 Jan 2011, 19:12
Blake McGrath staying in the area-

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/sandys-sautner-may-line-up-for-frankston/story-fn53khop-1225989696983
Goosey hopes Sautner will come on board but said there was "a bit of water to go under the bridge" before he signed.

Meanwhile, the Dolphins have recruited former St Kilda-listed 211cm ruckman Blake McGrath.

"211cm athletes don't fall out of the sky very often," Goosey said.

McGrath, 19, played elite basketball in NSW before being drafted as a rookie by the Saints in 2008.

Kildonan
19 Jan 2011, 21:20
Another injury setback for Xavier Clarke (http://www.news.com.au/another-injury-setback-for-xavier-clarke/story-e6frf9jf-1225991332954)
Herald Sun
January 20, 2011

SAINT turned Lion Xavier Clarke will have a second knee reconstruction, placing his career in jeopardy.
Brisbane said Clarke ruptured the anterior cruciate ligament in his right knee at training on Tuesday.

Bad luck for the fella, I suppose it justifies our delisting of him - he has been one of the most fragile footballers to pull on a boot. Can't help thinking what might have been, though. :(

aussiethunda
24 Jan 2011, 15:04
Ex-Saint rookie Steven Gaertner has signed with Dromana Football Club for season 2011.

http://www.sportingpulse.com/club_info.cgi?client=1-6182-80743-0-0

Squizzy1970
24 Jan 2011, 15:53
Had a feeling he'd have a run somewhere. Massive signing for a club which won 4 games last year. Fingers crossed he reconsiders his stance on AFL later in the year.

Goddardisgod
25 Jan 2011, 07:06
Had a feeling he'd have a run somewhere. Massive signing for a club which won 4 games last year. Fingers crossed he reconsiders his stance on AFL later in the year.

And then we promote him onto the main list. Mwahahahaha!:D

No seriously, it would be nice to have him back, but it's fantastic that he's not lost to football, and I wish him luck in all his future endeavours.

Squizzy1970
25 Jan 2011, 07:22
http://hastings-leader.whereilive.com.au/sport/story/ex-saint-hooks-up-with-dromana/

The just-turned 21-year-old was chased by several suburban clubs, including Noble Park, after he stunned the football world by walking out on the Saints at the end of November.

The Dromana Tigers could barely believe their luck when he agreed to join them.

Tigers coach Gavin Artico said Gaertner was keen to enjoy footy again after the pressures of being in the AFL system.

“Seven-days-a-week AFL footy is not as glamorous as everyone thinks so he was just looking to get back and play some good local footy,” Artico said.

“He was being groomed as a tall defender (at St Kilda) and having spoken to him he enjoys playing in the ruck,” Artico said. “I said, ‘Mate, that’s beautiful because it’s what we’re looking for’.”

Pie eyed
31 Jan 2011, 16:25
Not sure if this is the appropriate place and could see nothing on your main board.
Bad news regarding Baldock and I hope he pulls through or if not goes peacefully.

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/ailing-darrel-doc-baldock-in-critical-condition-in-launceston-hospital/story-e6frf9jf-1225997078416

SA1NTER
3 Feb 2011, 15:18
Thanks for that Pie Eyed :thumbsu:

Flyingsaint
25 Feb 2011, 20:19
http://www.saints.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/5315/newsid/108301/default.aspx

That’s what happened recently when it was claimed that 2010 Hall of Fame inductee Ken Walker was the oldest Saint at 91.

Ken (born 17 October 1919) is, however shaded in the age stakes by a couple of even more senior Saints. Terry O’Brien (born) 7 November 1918 is 92, but the oldest of all is Len Boyd-Gerny.

Len was born on 21 May 1916 which makes him 94.

Len succeeded Eric Ward as the longest living Saint.

Eric passed away last year at the age of 97.

AFL Statistics chief Col Hutchinson tells us that the longest living Saint of all was Archie Richardson (born 18 July 1879, died 7 March 1981) who was 101.

Like all our old Saints he had an interesting tale. Archie served in the Australian army in World War I and was in the US army in World War II.

Squizzy1970
26 Mar 2011, 19:01
http://www.wafootball.com.au/wafl/2520-dashing-defender-miles-pumped-to-be-back-at-swans

Luke Miles found himself surprisingly nervous as he played his first WAFL game for Swan Districts since winning the 2007 Swan Medal, but he has had no trouble fitting back into the club and he's delighted to be back in black-and-white.

Once he got out there, though, he was able to show his quality in the black-and-whites' defence as he resettles there in a role that saw him winning the club's fairest and best award in 2007 ahead of three years and two AFL games while with St Kilda.

"To tell you the truth I was actually pretty nervous leading into it. It's been a pretty hectic road getting back here to Swans with moving back from Melbourne, dealing with the girlfriend who is yet to come back and juggling all that along with starting a new job and finding a house," Miles said.

Squizzy1970
26 Mar 2011, 19:04
http://www.perthnow.com.au/sport/afl/west-perth-records-come-from-behind-victory-over-subiaco/story-e6frg243-1226028568866

After a quiet start, former Royal Mark Hutchings was influential through the midfield for West Perth

WEST PERTH 5.3 7.7 10.7 15.7 (97)
SUBIACO 5.0 11.5 12.10 13.12 (90)

BEST
WP: R Bartholomew, S Zanetti, J Salecic, M Hutchings, A Strijk, S Browne.
S: B Randall, M Rix, A Cockie, R Kerr, C Phelan, J Bristow, J Anthony.

Squizzy1970
3 Apr 2011, 13:54
Spoke to Jarryd Allen today. Poor bugger had his hip replaced six or so months ago. Seems to be going OK and is doing some landscaping work.

Flyingsaint
3 Apr 2011, 23:09
Spoke to Jarryd Allen today. Poor bugger had his hip replaced six or so months ago. Seems to be going OK and is doing some landscaping work.

Thanks Squizzy- there was a St Kilda leader of the future- he was a quality young man :(

alsoin news today- Steven Geartner to Dromana
Justin Sweeney to Red Hill
Cadyn Beetham to Sorrento with Troy and Ben.
http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/big-names-abound/story-fn53klg1-1226032890895

Squizzy1970
6 Apr 2011, 09:02
I guess no-one really needs confirmation of the draft tampering, but anyways:

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/pies-85000-man-20110405-1d31w.html

The timing of Ball's frontloaded deal is tantamount to an informal ''allowance'' for the Magpies, who had planned to pay Ball a little more than a million dollars over three years when he placed a massive price on his head before the 2009 national draft in a bid to dissuade clubs besides Collingwood from picking him. By nominating terms of $950,000 over two years, Ball frightened off clubs that did not want to pay him at that exorbitant level. But it is also apparent he was willing to play for Collingwood on not much more than the minimum in his third year.

The three-year total averages out at $340,000-$350,000 - virtually the same as the three-year contract St Kilda offered him before he walked out on the club after the 2009 grand final.

Melbourne was one club that was willing to pay Ball at high levels - the Demons would have paid $1.6 million over four years

Grade A arsehole.

The Falcon Strike
8 Apr 2011, 14:07
Can someone tell me a little more about Mark Hutchings?

Delisted by you guys after 2 years on the rookie list - and is still only 19.

Has been BOG for us my beloved Falcons in our first 2 games

How'd he go at Sandy last year?

Squizzy1970
8 Apr 2011, 14:50
Check the separate thread (now locked but you can read some comments).

I notice Michael Rix was BOG last week for Subi (but wasn't able to manage many AFL games either).

Squizzy1970
3 May 2011, 11:26
23 Apr 2011
Dromana
Goal Kickers: D. Minchington 4, R. Hawkins 3, S. Gaertner 2, P. McLean Wilson 2, T. Banks , P. Minchington
Best Players: D. Day, R. Johnston, L. Hogan, S. Gaertner, D. Minchington, S. Clarke

30 Apr 2011
Dromana
Goal Kickers: P. Minchington 3, S. Gaertner 2, R. Slocombe 2, J. Savage , J. Wood , R. Johnston , B. McMurray , R. Hawkins
Best Players: T. Wright, S. Gaertner, R. Slocombe, P. Minchington, M. Gillis , D. Day

SaintsSeptember
4 May 2011, 21:22
did i say i'm still dirty on gaertner leaving.
Actually he's still on the list.
Someone make him an offer he cant refuse.

Squizzy1970
9 May 2011, 15:34
Just came across a bloke who played 16 reserves games in the SANFL last year (4 times in the best) and 6 reserves games this year (nil in the best).

Eljay Connors.

On reflection, that 2007 draft crop was very ordinary - and the Saints did very well with McEvoy, Schneider, Dempster and Steven.

SaintsSeptember
9 May 2011, 16:45
Seems that Fergus is , umm , well I'd call it pedalling bullshit, but there are probably nicer descriptions.

http://bastionbrands.com.au/about/

SammyFish25
14 May 2011, 18:21
Red Hill vs. Dromana
16th May

Red Hill: 9.5.59
Defeated by
Dromana: 10.9.69

Red Hill
Goal Kickers: J. Sweeney 3, R. Jones 2, M. Bateman , B. Maguinness , J. Mold , P. Dal Lago
Best Players: J. Sweeney, H. Larwill, J. Mitchell, K. Hopgood, J. Mold, P. Dal Lago

Dromana
Goal Kickers: S. Gaertner 5, R. Hawkins 2, D. Minchington , R. Johnston , B. McMurray
Best Players: L. HOGAN, S. Gaertner, A. Burns, A. Hunter, B. McMurray, T. Wheeler

Good to see a few of our old boys (Justin Sweeney and Steve Gaertner) playing well for their respective clubs.

Both would probably be pretty handy in the forward line at present, Garts as the 3rd tall and Sweeney helping out Milney.

sammm
24 May 2011, 10:20
Steve Gaertner would have been elevated to the seniors by now if he was playing for the saints instead of giving up and playing for dromana

Squizzy1970
24 May 2011, 10:59
Only kicked 3 goals last week :(

http://www-static.sportingpulse.com/pics/00/01/28/18/1281839_1_L.jpg

Look2Me4Guidance
24 May 2011, 14:24
Steve Gaertner would have been elevated to the seniors by now if he was playing for the saints instead of giving up and playing for dromana

Harsh way to put it.

He's obviously enjoying being at less of a professional level.

He wasn't enjoying his footy the same way at the Saints.

Squizzy1970
15 Jun 2011, 14:02
http://www.neafl.com.au/index.php?id=16&tx_ttnews%5Byear%5D=2011&tx_ttnews%5Bmonth%5D=05&tx_ttnews%5Btt_news%5D=216&cHash=31340fc79dff143e6244b2ba01aae508

Former St Kilda listed defender Luke Miles, considered a certainty for WA selection, did his anterior cruciate ligament in Swan Districts’ loss to Claremont on Saturday and is also out of the State game.

Squizzy1970
15 Jun 2011, 14:06
http://moorabbin-leader.whereilive.com.au/sport/story/ex-saint-leigh-fisher-tipped-to-be-afl-umpire/

Former St Kilda player Leigh Fisher makes his debut in the Southern Football League on Saturday, but not as a player - as a field umpire.

Coming off a stint in the VAFA, Fisher, 27, will have charge of the Division 2 match between Murrumbeena and Oakleigh District at the Beena Arena.

Gieschen said yesterday that the 55-game Saint was developing well and was destined to umpire in the AFL. “He’s got fantastic potential,’’ he said.
“He’s very advanced and one of the reasons is that he really wanted to go down this player-to-umpire pathway.

“We believe he’ll come through the system a lot quicker than what people think."

“I really believe both the boys (Bannister and Fisher) will be umpiring in the AFL in the very near future,’’ Gieschen said.

aussiethunda
15 Jun 2011, 16:58
Gaertner kicked another 5 on the weekend. Actually headed down to watch it and he put on a good display. He seems to be enjoying his footy again which is good. Reckon theres a outside chance he might want to come back next season.

aussiethunda
15 Jun 2011, 17:00
He has kicked 22 goals in his 8 games so far at ave of 2.75

SaintsSeptember
15 Jun 2011, 17:05
Gaertner kicked another 5 on the weekend. Actually headed down to watch it and he put on a good display. He seems to be enjoying his footy again which is good. Reckon theres a outside chance he might want to come back next season.

Have we still got him on the list? ( Gives us first dibs if he wants to ).

Whats with all the goals? Is he playing as a forward? Why were we playing him as a backman ( again ).

Goddardisgod
16 Jun 2011, 16:34
Have we still got him on the list? ( Gives us first dibs if he wants to ).

Whats with all the goals? Is he playing as a forward? Why were we playing him as a backman ( again ).

I read something earlier in the year that said he'd be playing ruck.

Armitage2Riewoldt
16 Jun 2011, 18:03
Shattering for Lukey Miles.

Maybe our club knew something was up. Just picked that he'd probably do his ACL this year...

As for Gaertner. He's good enough to dominate at a lower level. I don't think it would really matter what position he was playing. He'd still be amongst the goals every week.

SaintsSeptember
16 Jun 2011, 22:20
Miles spent a fair bit of time at the Saints injured. Its not going to get better when he gets away from Dave Misson.

aussiethunda
17 Jun 2011, 08:32
Miles was still the biggest shock last year, couldnt believe they delisted him, especially after he played late in season and was impressive and looked like exactly what we needed.

aussiethunda
6 Jul 2011, 11:42
Steve Gaertner

18 June
Goal Kickers: J. Savage 4, J. Williams 4, T. Banks 3, R. Johnston , P. McLean Wilson , P. Minchington , S. Gaertner , R. Hawkins , R. Slocombe

Sat 25/Jun
Goal Kickers: S. Gaertner 4, T. Wheeler , P. Minchington , R. Slocombe , J. Savage , T. Banks , J. Wood , R. Hawkins
Best Players: R. Johnston, L. O''Neill, J. Savage, S. Clarke, R. Slocombe, S. Gaertner

Makes it 27 goals for the year from his 10 matches.

aussiethunda
5 Aug 2011, 11:28
http://au.news.yahoo.com/thewest/sport/a/-/wafl/9979268/rix-a-hit-as-lions-charge-up-ladder/http://au.news.yahoo.com/thewest/sport/a/-/wafl/9979268/rix-a-hit-as-lions-charge-up-ladder/

Subiaco ruckman Michael Rix is on track for one of the most prolific hit-out efforts in the WAFL in recent times.

Rix has averaged just short of 40 ruck knocks a game in 2011, producing 55 when the Lions beat Peel by 44 points at Bendigo Bank Stadium last Saturday.

That followed other big hauls this season, including a three-week run starting in round five of 52 against Claremont, 47 against East Perth and 49 against South Fremantle.

While Tigers ruckman Mitch Andrews eclipsed him for a single match with 60 in round 10 against South Fremantle, Rix has amassed 554 hit-outs in 14 matches this year at an astonishing average of 39.57 compared with Andrews' 34.2.

Squizzy1970
6 Aug 2011, 07:15
http://www.ntnews.com.au/article/2011/08/06/251911_ntsport.html

Territory Lion Xavier Clarke's AFL career is on a knife edge.

Clarke, 27, tore a tendon in his left foot last week, an injury that requires season-ending surgery.

"I won't play again this season, so who knows where I'm at with my career," Clarke told the NT News last night.

"I'll sit down with the club at the end of the season for a bit of a chat on where I'm at."

Squizzy1970
24 Aug 2011, 16:13
Noticed Wool kicked another 5 on the weekend (44 for the season to date).

Look2Me4Guidance
8 Sep 2011, 07:57
Barry Brooks won the EDFL B and F last night by 5 votes.

aussiethunda
15 Sep 2011, 09:05
Steven Gaertner 5th on the goal kicking list with 51 goals from 19 games

aussiethunda
23 Oct 2011, 07:32
http://www.perthnow.com.au/sport/afl/falcon-mark-hutchings-steal-for-afl-rebirth/story-e6frg1xu-1226173960214

WEST Perth onballer Mark Hutchings is a ready-made AFL midfielder and could be a steal for whoever punts on the St Kilda reject, according to his WAFL coach Bill Monaghan. Hutchings, 20, was the captain of WA's victorious under-18s team in 2009 and spent 2010 on the Saints' rookie list but didn't play an AFL game before being delisted after one season.
The gutsy ball winner, originally from East Perth, switched to the Falcons in 2011 and averaged 21 possessions a game in the WAFL this season.

Hutchings made recruiters from around the country take notice with a scorching testing session at the State Draft Combine last Sunday.
Significantly for a player who had previously been criticised for a lack of pace, Hutchings' time of 2.83sec for the 20m sprint was faster than any time recorded at the National Draft Combine and was .27sec faster than the time he posted in 2009.

Flyingsaint
5 Nov 2011, 11:58
Barry Brooks is lining up in the NT this weekend

@xclarke15 (https://twitter.com/#!/xclarke15) Former port power and saints big man Barry Brooks will line up for st mary's in the NTFL this weekend..

Flyingsaint
5 Nov 2011, 11:59
whilst another former Saint can thank the Saints for being free.:(

Ohhh mad Dog
http://www.heraldsun.com.au/news/more-news/footy-career-helps-save-drink-driver-mad-dog-from-prison/story-fn7x8me2-1226186235809

aussiethunda
3 Dec 2011, 07:00
http://www.adelaidenow.com.au/sport/afl/eagles-get-their-man-eddy/story-e6freckc-1226212641579?sv=1f53db23139036f1c00f238bc9619074THE

Eagles have landed their biggest pre-season signing by securing St Kilda grand final player Robert Eddy for the next two years.
The 23-year-old midfielder joins Woodville-West Torrens after playing 33 AFL games with the Saints, including both of the 2010 grand finals against Collingwood.

Eddy was courted by other SANFL clubs but his friendship with former St Kilda team-mate Phil Raymond was a crucial factor in luring him to Oval Ave.

``When the SANFL competition became a viable alternative for me my preference was to play for the Eagles where I already have some really good relationships from my time in the AFL system,'' he said.

``So I am thrilled that the club wanted me too.''

Eddy was rookie-listed by St Kilda in 2007, delisted at the end of 2010 then re-rookied for 2011 but failed to play a game.

Now he's ready for his next challenge.

``Having watched (this year's) grand final I know I will be coming into a midfield that has some real depth and I look forward to establishing myself as an important part of it,'' he said.

Eagles coach Michael Godden said Eddy was a recruiting priority.

``Robert was our priority and from what we know a number of other clubs' recruiting priority so I am really pleased that we have got our man in that respect,'' Godden said.

``Although he has been recruited as a midfielder, he has the ability to play at both half-forward and half-back which is important to our structure.''

Eddy joins Robert Shirley, Byron Sumner, Jarrod Harding and Chris Kane as off-season recruits at Woodville.

Sipossmagic
3 Dec 2011, 09:21
Sad to Tell of the passing of Sam Loxton last night Aged 90

Born - 29 March 1921 Died - 02 December 2011

"Although he is remembered more for his efforts as a Test Cricketer,Loxton was also a fine full-forward who had a great goal sense.He moved fluently and was a long kick who once booted eight goals in a game.In 1944 headed the Saints goalkicking with 52 and ran second in the best and fairest."

The Encyclopedia of AFL Footballers Holmesby/Main 2004

Kildonan
3 Dec 2011, 16:03
Former St Kilda player Steven Baker signs with Craigieburn (http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/former-st-kilda-player-steven-baker-signs-with-craigieburn/story-fn53klea-1226210416936)
by: Sam Landsberger
November 30, 20114:26PM

The 31-year-old put pen to paper late yesterday after being courted by Eagles ruckman and close friend Barry Brooks.

The pair spent five seasons together at the Saints before Brooks was delisted and joined Craigieburn, winning this year's A Grade league medal.

Squizzy1970
19 Dec 2011, 06:05
http://www.perthdemons.com.au/index.php/news/bevan-signs-with-perth/
Perth (WAFL):
(Paul) Bevan joins an impressive list of recruits for the 2012 season including Leon Davis (Collingwod), Brendon Stack (Western Bulldogs), Alistair Smith (St Kilda), Tim and Ben Noakes (East Perth) and Llane Spaandermann (Swan Districts).

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/hawks-keep-dream-alive-for-pattison-20111217-1p06d.html

As a development officer in Victorian cricket, one of Adam Pattison's key roles is to increase the participation numbers of children aged five to 12, something the summer sport has struggled with in recent years.

The Hawks had expressed interest in him in late 2009 but he ultimately wound up at St Kilda.

Pattison linked with the Hawks soon after he was cut by St Kilda, where he had managed only five matches in 2010 as the Saints maintained a stable side.

But he felt he had done enough to warrant another year. ''It was disappointing to not get another year. I felt I learnt all the game plan. In 2009, my body was no good. I had a couple of ankle surgeries and then a hip operation, so I felt like 2010 was good. I got my body right, learnt the game plan but just couldn't crack in [to the senior team]. I felt like the senior footy I did play wasn't too bad.''

Squizzy1970
2 Feb 2012, 09:47
23 Apr 2011
Dromana
Goal Kickers: D. Minchington 4, R. Hawkins 3, S. Gaertner 2, P. McLean Wilson 2, T. Banks , P. Minchington
Best Players: D. Day, R. Johnston, L. Hogan, S. Gaertner, D. Minchington, S. Clarke

Was just about to post smething else and noticed our new rookie's name in an old post.

Squizzy1970
2 Feb 2012, 09:58
Came across the name Chris Hollow who some may remember from the mid 90s. Thought it was interesting enough to post a bit of "where to".

http://www.messandnoise.com/articles/3710444

[2009]Your old club St Kilda remains undefeated on the AFL ladder. Can they go all the way and win the club’s first premiership in 43 years?

Absolutely. I love the way they’re playing. When St Kilda was in the grand final in 1997 I was jealous I wasn’t there. I had mixed emotions. Then when they lost I was shattered. I’m all for a win this year and good luck to them.

http://t-squat.com/sand-pebbles/

The band has played on the Marngrook Footy Show a few times. Are you guys keen footy fanatics?

Our bass player Chris [Hollow] actually used to play football for St Kilda alongside the show’s host Gilbert McAdam. Just before they introduced us, they showed footage of the worst goal Chris ever kicked in the AFL. We were stoked they asked us to play… but Chris was spewing they didn’t show his Goal Of The Week.

http://www.tumblr.com/tagged/jon-faine

Chris chatted about how he got into writing scripts for Neighbours (“Just through friends … I’d hang out at the same parties, pop up at the right places at the right time. This, of course, took years because I’m socially inept”), playing 24 games for St Kilda (“What position? Centre Half Bench”) and how coach Stan Alves ended his career, joking that his parting words were: “You’ll never make it in the rock ‘n’ roll world.” Chris also dubbed himself a “renaissance man” and said, “Footy and music are very similar - they are both art and my obsession.” He also revealed that Plugger threw up before every match.

http://www.i94bar.com/ints/sandpebbles.html

Q Amongst your more eclectic activities, you've represented St Kilda in the AFL. Who did you play under (coach), and alongside?

I played under Ken Sheldon and Stan Alves in the mid-'90s. And played alongside Robert Harvey, Tony Lockett, Nicky Winmar, Stewart Loewe, Nathan Burke, Gilbert McAdam, Tim Pekin, David Grant and a host of other great players.

Q Are there any music legends hidden in the ranks of the AFL?

No. I’m the only one (laughing).

http://brella.org/sandpebbles/heraldsun04article.htm

Chris Hollow was a St Kilda and Port Melbourne footballer who was pretty sure his teammates didn't share his love of Bob Dylan and 60's psychedelic pop.

When the two met at the Neighbours 2000th episode party, where Michael was a scriptwriter, it didn't take long for talk to turn to music (the Velvet Underground and the Stooges) and film (Clint Eastwood westerns and Sam Peckinpah).

"You can love Peckinpah and you can love football. That's the beauty of it," Michael says. "It's not so obvious these days but back then you were either into footy and a meat head, or you were into films. And if you were into films it was all tosser, arty farty."

http://www.sandpebbles.com.au/post/10473484304/beat-interview-w-christopher-hollow-ben-michael-x

It was via a posting on Wareham’s blog last year that the latest curious Sand Pebbles fact leaked out when Wareham revealed that Hollow had attended the same high school as Julian Assange. “Julian and I are the same age, were in the same class,” Hollow explains. “He was just as mysterious and enigmatic then. He was big into the Lord of the Rings. Whenever he felt put upon by other students he would yell, ‘Philistines! You’re all Philistines!’ It made it doubly funny having to go to the school library to look up what it meant,” Hollow laughs.

Squizzy1970
13 Feb 2012, 11:00
http://www.boxhillhawks.com.au/news-read.aspx?NewsId=854

In a major tick for Box Hill’s culture and facilities, (Will) Johnson said he knocked back offers from other VFL and WAFL clubs before signing on at City Oval.

“They’ve had a good track record at getting players re-drafted in recent years and I still have that desire to play at the top level,” Johnson said.

“I’ve come out of my experience with St Kilda understanding the game a whole lot better.”

Johnson said his delisting, made on deadline day for list changes as the Saints planned for life under Scott Watters, had been a bitter pill to swallow.

“I didn’t get a sense that it was coming at all. I thought I’d had a real breakout year in the VFL,” he said.“At the end of the day it’s a dog eat dog world and there’s a lot of tough decisions clubs have to make.”

“The physios at Box Hill have really looked after me so far, and I just couldn’t have been guaranteed that had I signed on anywhere else.

“The round one game against Sandy at Trevor Barker Oval would be a great grudge match, but I just have to wait and see how the shoulder pulls up.”

aussiethunda
14 Feb 2012, 13:35
Reckon a fair few supporters were bit shocked when he was delisted aswell. Def wasnt one the guys i expected to go!

Looking forward to round 1 when he takes on the Zebs though!

Squizzy1970
15 Feb 2012, 07:56
http://stmaryssalesianafc.com.au/coaches-2012.htm

In what is a massive coup for the St. Mary's Salesian AFC, the President and committee are delighted to announce the appointment of ... Jarryd Allen as Assistant Coach for season 2012. Jarryd comes to the club as Assistant Coach having only recently played at AFL level. Jarryd debuted for St. Kilda in 2008 and was even a part of the 2008 Semi Final win against Collingwood. Unfortunately in that very game Jarryd fractured his left hip in a collision and despite enormous amounts of rehabilitation the amount of cartilage lost forced him to make the very difficult decision of hanging up his boots at only the age of 21.

In his ever so short 4 senior game careers, Jarryd's biggest moment other than his debut with the club was being a part of the Saints Pre-Season Premiership side in 2008.

Flyingsaint
15 Feb 2012, 16:13
a ittle story from Burkey on Past players reflections on the current game
http://www.insidefootballonline.com/burke.html

aussiethunda
1 Mar 2012, 13:55
After Greater Western Sydney showed only a flicker of interest in former St Kilda defender Steve Baker, he decided to look elsewhere.
The veteran Saint has signed at Craigie*burn in the Essendon District League.

Craigieburn coach and Essendon premiership player Paul Barnard says the Giants had some interest in picking up the 203-game AFL veteran after he was cut by the Saints last year.

"We weren't sure whether he was going to GWS, they raised an eyebrow of interest in him," he said.

Barnard said nabbing Baker was a recruiting coup and he joins former St Kilda teammate and ruckman Barry Brooks, ex-Hawthorn midfielder Angelo Lekkas and ex-Carlton defender Ange Christou in the Eagles' nest.

More - http://www.insidefootballonline.com/auswide.html (http://www.insidefootballonline.com/auswide.html)

Squizzy1970
5 Mar 2012, 11:20
Came across a story written for the St Kilda museum (about James - not Jason! - Blake).

One of 11 children, and who lost his father to pneumonia, he recovered from smallpox (after they decided to consult a local chinaman rather than go to the doctor).

In addition to winning state awards in swimming and diving, he became one of St Kilda's early captains in the VFA (evidently the family holds a letter from the club that he was the first), and also St Kilda's delegate on the first council of the VFL.

One of his brothers captained Carlton and another brother finished 6th in the marathon at the 1906 Olympic Games.

The family built a school on the Ballarat goldfields and their general store (near Etihad Stadium) remains today - and is stated to be classified by the National Trust.

There's a bit of history for you.

Kildonan
8 Mar 2012, 00:47
Bouncing to the dark side (http://www.insidefootballonline.com/crackers.html)

Port Melbourne played its first practice match last week out at Casey and, I am sad to say, it got beaten. Everybody gets beaten (although in Port's case, it just went through an entire season without a single loss). Casey's ground was that far out that Burke and Wills were camped under a tree nearby. Ex-St Kilda defender Leigh Fisher was one of the umpires in the main game and I must admit he did a good job in trying conditions. Another umpire who did well in the reserves game was Dan Lawler, son of ex-VFL umpire George Lawler. Players with AFL experience have a lot to offer to umpiring. Jordan Bannister has crossed over to the dark side and a few years back we saw Mark Fraser, who was a very good umpire but had trouble bouncing the ball.

Squizzy1970
8 Mar 2012, 10:27
Seen him a couple of times - he's not too bad (lets alot go, as does Bannister). Can't bounce it for shit though (I'll be happy when they give the bounce away, despite the nostalgia impact).

aussiethunda
8 Mar 2012, 16:36
Gardiner may yet reach Port

http://www.insidefootballonline.com/crackers.html

Michael Gardiner has agreed to be put on the Port Melbourne list – if he decides to play at all this year. Living in Port Melbourne, he is just a kick away from the ground. A popular figure at St Kilda, he would be a welcome addition at the Borough, but as I said last week I am not holding my breath.

Kildonan
26 Mar 2012, 18:28
There's a thread toasting Fraser Gehrig on the main board (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=923554)

Squizzy1970
5 Apr 2012, 15:05
http://www.adelaidenow.com.au/sport/afl/eddy-sets-sights-on-afl-return/story-e6freckc-1226297960784

http://resources1.news.com.au/images/2012/03/13/1226297/956141-robert-eddy.jpg

Robert Eddy "After I got delisted I had a bit of a think about what I wanted to do and I kind of felt like the SANFL was the second-best comp in the country.''

Eddy, 23, was delisted by St Kilda in October after 33 senior games in four seasons with the Saints. The axing followed a similar pain a year earlier, when he was cut from the club's primary list but retained as a rookie.

"The VFL was an option, I had a few clubs approach me, but I feel those clubs are heavily influenced by the AFL now."

Squizzy1970
5 Apr 2012, 15:14
Also noticed Paul Cahill kicked 3 for Sturt and Ali Smith seems to be able to get a kick for Perth.

Squizzy1970
5 Apr 2012, 15:52
One for the oldies. Bob Jones from the 80's does an interview.

http://www.sen.com.au/audioplayer/Audio/The-Marngrook-Radio-Show-Part-3/4190

Didn't realise he is Liam Jones' (WB) dad.

StFly
16 Apr 2012, 00:00
Stevie Baker is in the EDFL playing for Craigieburn (A Grade), in which Craigieburn went down 5.8.38 to Maribyrnong Park 13.13.91. Supposedly started as the rover and was one of the better blokes in the guts but Mari never got out second gear and Craigie didn't have a forward structure hence the blowout. Can't seem to find a report on the match on the usual channels that states much of anything.

This week though they're down at the Keilor rec reserve @ 2:15 for round 2 v Keilor on Sat 21st.

Look2Me4Guidance
16 Apr 2012, 13:44
Stevie Baker is in the EDFL playing for Craigieburn (A Grade), in which Craigieburn went down 5.8.38 to Maribyrnong Park 13.13.91. Supposedly started as the rover and was one of the better blokes in the guts but Mari never got out second gear and Craigie didn't have a forward structure hence the blowout. Can't seem to find a report on the match on the usual channels that states much of anything.

This week though they're down at the Keilor rec reserve @ 2:15 for round 2 v Keilor on Sat 21st.

Craigieburn will struggle. Bit of political off field stuff happening and are struggling for numbers.

StFly
16 Apr 2012, 16:27
Craigieburn will struggle. Bit of political off field stuff happening and are struggling for numbers.

Yeah heard about that (I do footy tipping at the SFSC and we're in the Ballarat league. They were looking at shifting to either the Bendigo or EDFL a couple years back but primarily came back with a no confidence due to two factors on the EDFL being money: supposedly they're paying players about 5x what the SFSC were and the grade we'd be slotted into being 2nd or 3rd division). Got the "recent" scoup on the EDFL this year since Sunbury had a praccie v Aberfeldie (Courtney Johns' team FYI, though he was only in attendance and not playing) of some issues in the backroom.

The old man is the one who noticed since he was in attendance and thus got the records and such and generally tries to keep up to date on the local scene. Just had a look in said book, appears Xavier is also lining for Avondale Heights as well. (also got spanked by Greenvale)

Look2Me4Guidance
16 Apr 2012, 19:27
Yeah heard about that (I do footy tipping at the SFSC and we're in the Ballarat league. They were looking at shifting to either the Bendigo or EDFL a couple years back but primarily came back with a no confidence due to two factors on the EDFL being money: supposedly they're paying players about 5x what the SFSC were and the grade we'd be slotted into being 2nd or 3rd division). Got the "recent" scoup on the EDFL this year since Sunbury had a praccie v Aberfeldie (Courtney Johns' team FYI, though he was only in attendance and not playing) of some issues in the backroom.

The old man is the one who noticed since he was in attendance and thus got the records and such and generally tries to keep up to date on the local scene. Just had a look in said book, appears Xavier is also lining for Avondale Heights as well. (also got spanked by Greenvale)

Barry Brooks was a big lure I think, given he also plays for Craigieburn and as mentioned in this thread won the league B and F last year. Paul Barnard is the coach and I believe a few issues stem from there.