View Full Version : Box Hill Hawks vs. Williamstown Saturday 21st August Box Hill City Oval at 1:10 PM
TheFourPillars
19 Aug 2010, 19:21
The Teams are in note the time change this week starting at 1:10pm
http://www.sportingpulse.com/assoc_page.cgi?client=1-118-0-0-0&sID=60264&&news_task=DETAIL&articleID=13031638§ionID=60264
Dowler is on the bench in the seniors and listed in the development team. Should be a cracker I will be there. Others who can't make it should note that this is a televised game on ABC TV starting at 1:00PM
Rudi Gilham
19 Aug 2010, 19:52
Huge test for Box Hill this week. Williamstown are worthy ladder leaders and have been the best side in the VFL this year.
That forward line is star-studded (for the VFL), with Matt Little, Patrick Rose & Josh Hill all capable goalkickers.
Finally get to see them televised, and they leave out Luke Lowden!
Sierakowski & Duryea are both up from the seconds.
go hawks!!!
19 Aug 2010, 22:45
I will not be at the game, instead I will be following the mighty hawks at Aurora. TFP - look forward to your report.
TheFourPillars
19 Aug 2010, 22:51
I will not be at the game, instead I will be following the mighty hawks at Aurora. TFP - look forward to your report.
Yes will do. Wish i could afford the trip mate but alas have to sustain my footy fix at box hill this week as last and i will have to come back for the replay of the Hawks game. Can't be without going to the footy mate have to smell those hot dogs, pies and cheap beer :D
rdhopkins2
20 Aug 2010, 08:53
Thanks for posting the match thread! Currently in Waikiki and wishing I had my laptop! Will be back Sunday though and hopefully to news of a Box Hill Hawks win!
TheFourPillars
20 Aug 2010, 11:53
I think this is the game where we will really see how far Morton and Schoey have come as defenders. I hope to see Muston and Milne show a bit of dash of the half back flank Go Hawks
CrowdedHouse
20 Aug 2010, 15:42
A quick heads up that there will also be a Radio and Internet Stream of the game, live from 12pm (1.10pm is first bounce).
Radio: 94.1 FM - in Melbourne's Inner East
Internet Stream at: http://www.3wbc.org.au OR if that is full...
Back Up Stream: http://www.techtalkradio.com.au/ttr3stream.asx
Of course it's live on ABC 1 TV and replayed on ABC iView on the net during the week.
Goldhawk
20 Aug 2010, 19:22
Yes will do. Wish i could afford the trip mate but alas have to sustain my footy fix at box hill this week as last and i will have to come back for the replay of the Hawks game. Can't be without going to the footy mate have to smell those hot dogs, pies and cheap beer :D
Hey TheFourPillars,can i sms you to find out the scores as i will be over in Tassie.
stemline
20 Aug 2010, 20:16
Worth noting the Reserves are playing at 9:30am in a 1 v 2 top-of-the-table clash. Should be an epic match on the eve of the finals.
TheFourPillars
21 Aug 2010, 00:19
Hey TheFourPillars,can i sms you to find out the scores as i will be over in Tassie.
Lol i only got on here at this time you are already logged off hmmm and i probably wont get on here tomorrow have to go vote before the game. I don't want to give my mobile on a public forum. How else can i give u the mobile num?
HAWKS HEROES
21 Aug 2010, 08:13
get down today to box hill records are in the van beanies $5 old logo !! come on down for a good day !!!
RustyHawk
21 Aug 2010, 13:39
27min 1st quarter and Willy enjoy a lead
BHH: 02.01.13
Will: 05.02.32
Hoegal has kicked one for us
Roughead 1 for Willy
RustyHawk
21 Aug 2010, 13:45
End of 1st Qrt and Willy have extended their lead.
BHH: 02.01.013
Will: 06.02.38
Sam Gibson & Hoegal the Box Hill goal kickers
SHAKESPEARE
21 Aug 2010, 13:46
Geez Roughie and Little look good.
RustyHawk
21 Aug 2010, 13:48
Roughie does look good. Would have been a good pick up for us :o
Rick Ladson, one of the three Hawthorn senior squad emergencies is playing for Box Hill.
Have not seen Shiels and Savage with at least one if not two down in Launceston.
SHAKESPEARE
21 Aug 2010, 13:52
Ladson unsighted :(
Campbell would walk straight back into our side. Looks slow but this level does that to ruckman. Still gets heaps of the ball :)
RustyHawk
21 Aug 2010, 13:55
Shiels is playing so Savage must be the 23rd man for Hawthorn.
2nd Q and Williamstown score another goal through ex Hawk Matt Little.
SHAKESPEARE
21 Aug 2010, 13:58
We are getting sliced up by Rose in the midfield.
They are running the ball so easily whilst we fumble and piss around with the ball far too often.
Game is gone.
SHAKESPEARE
21 Aug 2010, 13:59
56-13.
They run it fast and kick quickly. How hard is this to follow?
spudmaster
21 Aug 2010, 14:10
It feels weird watching RC and Tails in the ruck together. Keep expecting to see Willow, Crawf, Dew and Croady too.
Unotuchable
21 Aug 2010, 14:15
So why did Campbell retire for you guys? He's moving around fairly well.
sahawka
21 Aug 2010, 18:08
so what was the final score?
The BIG X
21 Aug 2010, 18:29
so what was the final score?
Agree - please tell:thumbsu:
HAWKS HEROES
21 Aug 2010, 18:40
bh 48 willie 142
HAWKS HEROES
21 Aug 2010, 18:42
Shiels and gibson got the prizes for best on ground they give a prize to a hawk listed and a nin hawk listed player and one for the opposition they gave it to jolly
The BIG X
21 Aug 2010, 20:12
thanks HH - very disapointing result
TheFourPillars
21 Aug 2010, 20:25
Box Hill Hawks vs. Williamstown Saturday 21st August 2010
Usually i give a run down of the game quarter by quarter. Given our effort today. I don't think i want to relive this game even in my mind. Lets just look ahead to next week. Put this down to the fact that we had been up for 7 weeks and were due for a downer. Better now than in the finals.
We really missed lisle today and lacked any structure going forward. I feel lowden should come in next week. He adds that extra around the ground. Savage was also sorely missed in saying that willi were super great transferring the play from the backline. Awesome delivery into their forwards. The best team i have seen play this year in the VFL. How good is Matt Little hmmm.
A lot of you caught this game on tv any way. So i will just go through some of box hill better players (there weren't many). The bolded players hawthorn listed
Shiels: Tried hard all day and ran his heart out can't figure out if he was tagging someone or he was being tagged today. If he was being tagged that is a big step for Shiels a bit of recognition for his last few weeks.
Gibson: Ran all day kicked a great goal in the first our first for the game. He along with shiels was in our best
Morton: He might have been beaten by his opponent not sure but the ball was going in there so often he did a serviceable job. Can punch the ball away and has shown that these last few weeks playing in defence he can take some contested marks a god send back in defence.
Pederson: Valiant effort in defense was beaten by Little on the day but the way the ball was coming in there who wouldn't. Didn't give up all game.
Muston: Tried to create run and carry put his body into the contest and went all day.
Moss: Tried hard.
Observation we lack genuine leg speed and get caught out by sides. Casey was a perfect example. It was just that it bucketed down that game and we were able to overcome that deficiency by playing harder football.
moginie
21 Aug 2010, 21:22
Thanks for the report 4P.
What was the result for the Development Squad game?
HAWKS HEROES
21 Aug 2010, 22:30
bh ds 48
willie 77
thems the scores for the development squad
moginie
BlackByrd
21 Aug 2010, 22:31
2010 VFL Reserves
Box Hill Hawks 5.2 6.2 7.6 7.6 (48)
Williamstown 1.4 3.5 7.7 11.11 (77)
GOALS:
Box Hill Hawks: Dowler 3 Hoegel 2 Renton 2
Williamstown: Panos 3 Lawson Carr McCallum Daniels Dimartino Prato Tanner Cravino
BEST:
Box Hill Hawks: Van Unen Mirra Tobin George Orr Smithwick
Williamstown: Fogarty Cartelli Cravino Muir Wilson Smith
TheFourPillars
21 Aug 2010, 22:31
2010 VFL Reserves
Box Hill Hawks 5.2 6.2 7.6 7.6 (48)
Williamstown 1.4 3.5 7.7 11.11 (77)
GOALS:
Box Hill Hawks: Dowler 3 Hoegel 2 Renton 2
Williamstown: Panos 3 Lawson Carr McCallum Daniels Dimartino Prato Tanner Cravino
BEST:
Box Hill Hawks: Van Unen Mirra Tobin George Orr Smithwick
Williamstown: Fogarty Cartelli Cravino Muir Wilson Smith
REPORTED PLAYERS:
Box Hill Hawks: Nil
Williamstown: Nil
BlackByrd
21 Aug 2010, 22:33
2010 VFL Seniors
Box Hill Hawks 2.1 4.2 5.3 7.6 (48)
Williamstown 6.2 11.2 17.4 22.10 (142)
GOALS:
Box Hill Hawks: Moss JACKSON Shiels Hoegel Duryea Tuck Gibson
Williamstown: Little 5 Everitt 3 Stack 3 Rose 3 German 2 Hill 2 Lockwood Hooper Rampe Roughead
BEST:
Box Hill Hawks: Gibson Shiels Sierakowski Schoenmakers Pedersen Duryea
Williamstown: Jolley Minson Everitt Roughead Johnson Lockwood
HAWKS HEROES
21 Aug 2010, 22:35
i think the boxhill final will be at boxhill sunday they are having a final on the sat too but 2 other teams
BlackByrd
21 Aug 2010, 22:54
I watched the game from my tv and was disappointed to say the least.
Now im going to go on a little rant here so bear with me. Why are some of our senior box hill players being outplayed by our 19 and 20 year old kids?
The likes of Ladson, Suckling, Tuck and Kayler-Thompson were today outplayed by our youth like Shiels, Schoenmakers but even more impressively Sierakowski and Duryea. Both Siera and Duryea have played development squad effectivley the whole year. In a rare start for them in the senior squad both today showed a lot more than what Ladson, Tuck etc: have in the last month in one game. On one hand its exciting to see the youth like Shiels, Schoey, Lowden, Lisle, Duryea and Siera showing a lot of promise but on the other hand its so disappointing to see Tuck Ladson not showing that they are senior squad material. Anyway rant over.
Roll on next week. Hope to see an improved peformance from some of our senior players and the continued development of some of our younger players!
TheFourPillars
21 Aug 2010, 23:09
The most important thing to recruit not just box hill but the hawks is pace we look slow. We were just out run and couldn't keep up. They ran away from us with their leg speed. Same thing would have happened playing casey but the rain saved us that day lets just hope it is a wet finals series :D
Johnson#26
22 Aug 2010, 00:08
Alright so who plays who and where next week?
Please don't end up scheduling Pies-Hawks on Saturday arvo.
rdhopkins2
22 Aug 2010, 06:52
About to fly home from Honolulu, what a disappointing result :(
I'll have a good read once I'm home. Thanks for posting the results anyhow- Maholo!
HAWKS HEROES
22 Aug 2010, 09:42
Alright so who plays who and where next week?
Please don't end up scheduling Pies-Hawks on Saturday arvo.
think i heard box hill will play sunday not sure who against but i think it is not against you guys i am not sure if you are playing sat at box hill
Rudi Gilham
22 Aug 2010, 10:06
It would be the height of stupidity to schedule the Box Hill final at the same time as Hawthorn plays. I hope common sense prevails.
I haven't seen the game yet (taped it). I notice Minson & Roughead in the best for Williamstown. I take it Simon Taylor again struggled?.
walhawk
22 Aug 2010, 10:50
We will play the Bombers.
Could be Sat or Sunday.
If Casey win today, the game will likely be at Port Melbourne, and Willi V Port @ Box Hill to avoid giving Port the home ground advantage.
HAWKS HEROES
22 Aug 2010, 18:04
there are going to be 2 finals at boxhill this weekend one on sat one on sunday that i have heard !
a friend will be helping on the saturday
timhawx
23 Aug 2010, 20:56
First final
SUNDAY 29th AUGUST
2PM Box Hill Hawks vs Bendigo Bombers (1st ELIM) - Box Hill City Oval