View Full Version : Box Hill V Bendigo next Sunday@ Box HIll
walhawk
22 Aug 2010, 18:58
http://www.sportingpulse.com/comp_info.cgi?client=1-118-0-102874-0&pool=1001&action=FIXTURE&round=0
Rockin'
Following players eligible
Luke Breust, Beau Dowler, Jarrod Kayler-Thomson, Jordan Lisle, Riley Martin, Jarrod Morton, Garry Moss, Beau Muston, Shane Savage, Ryan Shoenmakers, Liam Shiels, Cameron Stokes, Matthew Suckling, Travis Tuck, Jordan Williams
its game on
22 Aug 2010, 19:29
http://www.sportingpulse.com/comp_info.cgi?client=1-118-0-102874-0&pool=1001&action=FIXTURE&round=0
Rockin'
Luke Breust, Beau Dowler, Jarrod Kayler-Thomson, Jordan Lisle, Riley Martin, Jarrod Morton, Garry Moss, Beau Muston, Shane Savage, Ryan Shoenmakers, Liam Shiels, Cameron Stokes, Matthew Suckling, Travis Tuck, Jordan Williams
Taylor, Lowden, Duryea, Sierakowski, Milne?
HAWKS HEROES
22 Aug 2010, 20:21
will be there i am sure
Rudi Gilham
22 Aug 2010, 20:52
I hope it's the ABC TV game.
TheFourPillars
22 Aug 2010, 21:12
Taylor, Lowden, Duryea, Sierakowski, Milne?
I think its because there is a set number of games that a player must play before he is eligible. Lowden and taylor have come back from injury and duryea and siera have played mostly with the development squad
BlackByrd
22 Aug 2010, 23:13
Surely Riley Milne has played enough games...
TheFourPillars
22 Aug 2010, 23:30
Well didn't have a pre season was injured played a few games in the development squad before joing the seniors not sure to be honest.
pomahawk
23 Aug 2010, 04:23
Well didn't have a pre season was injured played a few games in the development squad before joing the seniors not sure to be honest.
Rockin'
Riley Martin,
Surely the two 'Rileys' are one and the same?
rdhopkins2
23 Aug 2010, 09:39
2:00 PM Sun 29 Aug @Box Hill City Oval seems to be the go. Looking forward to getting along to the game now I'm back in the country!
Whitehorse Rd (scoreboard) end will be the one to hang around if you don't know anyone and want some fellow BF Hawks to hang round with. I'll be the ugly mugg taking pics of the game and tuning into 94.1FM
3WBC.
TheFourPillars
23 Aug 2010, 10:57
Surely the two 'Rileys' are one and the same?
Yes didn't read the post properly obviously ricky martin's brother ain't playing
I hope it's the ABC TV game.
ABC is doing the Roosters V Scorpions game.
walhawk
23 Aug 2010, 21:54
However, as long as Hawthorn are playing the same week, we can play whoever we like, with a max of 12 Hawthorn players the following week if we play Port.
Box Hill Hawks vs. Bendigo Bombers
First Elimination Final
Sunday 29th August
Box Hill City Oval, Box Hill at 2:00 PM
Box Hill Hawks
B: Breust Muston Savage
HB: Lowden Morton Kayler-Thomson
C: Tuck Moss Schoenmakers
HF: Ladson Duryea Sierakowski
F: Shiels Pedersen Suckling
R: Taylor Lisle Milne
Int: Fagan J. Hoegel Mirra Kenna Campbell Kiel S. Gibson Jackson
http://www.sportingpulse.com/assoc_page.cgi?client=0-118-0-0-0&sID=60264&&news_task=DETAIL&articleID=13102936§ionID=60264
Jordan Lisle, a handy inclusion.
moginie
26 Aug 2010, 19:43
Did our development squad finish top of the ladder?
If so, that's a great achievement.
Rudi Gilham
26 Aug 2010, 20:15
This is a game we should win. Bendigo have been decimated by Essendon's long injury list.
They have the likes of Neagle, Houli, Atkinson, Bellchambers & Quinn, but little else. Reimers is named, but he will play for Essendon.
Box Hill may even have some late changes, with the likes of Shiels, Muston & Duryea carrying injuries.
We have the home ground advantage, and more senior listed players.
TheFourPillars
26 Aug 2010, 22:04
I will be there box hill have to come out and make a statement after last weeks performance looking for a thumping this week. Go Box Hill cmon guys get down after saturdays win (fingers crossed) should be a good game.
gunbarrelstraight
26 Aug 2010, 23:59
Good preview on the Box Hill website!
http://www.boxhillhawks.com.au/news-read.aspx?NewsId=682 :thumbsu:
CrowdedHouse
27 Aug 2010, 11:27
G'day gang.
Don't forget to take your radio to the game and tune into 94.1 FM 3WBC from 1pm.
For those at home, get a webstream live this Sunday from...
Stream 1: http://srv1.mel.apstream.net/3wbc_relay
or
Stream 2: http://www.techtalkradio.com.au/ttr3stream.asx
BUT more importantly - SHOW UP AT THE GROUND!
rdhopkins2
27 Aug 2010, 18:23
I reiterate the comments made about support at the ground! It would be fantastic to have a massive turnout this week! Cheer the boys to victory this finals series!!!
By the way, if you have Facebook, there is a BHH page on there too which you can join! Quite a few BF people on there also which is fantastic!
halfback dasher
28 Aug 2010, 08:56
Will be there....do we know if there will be any stuff for kids as i think this will be a great chance to bring my two for there first time....:thumbsu:
rdhopkins2
28 Aug 2010, 21:05
Jumping castle near the scoreboard should be up and running for the kids. Bring a footy so they can play kick to kick on the ground at half time.
go hawks!!!
28 Aug 2010, 21:45
I look forward to the game tomorrow, still pumpecd after the hawks win today. hopefully, HFC listed boys create some selection pressure!
Henry Jr
28 Aug 2010, 21:55
I'm looking forward to the Jumping Castle. :D
go hawks!!!
28 Aug 2010, 22:05
I'm looking forward to the Jumping Castle. :D
ummmmmmmb okay,
TheFourPillars
28 Aug 2010, 22:09
I hope the cobbler has a good game along with savage, morton, shiels and muston. Keep the pressure up on seniors
halfback dasher
29 Aug 2010, 08:04
I look forward to the game tomorrow, still pumpecd after the hawks win today. hopefully, HFC listed boys create some selection pressure!
They need to GH.......;) And they know it......
walhawk
29 Aug 2010, 14:24
Quarter time score?
I'm going to head down after half time.
passionate81
29 Aug 2010, 14:59
Quarter time
Box hill 5.10
Bendigo 5.1
According to ABC
Changa10
29 Aug 2010, 15:17
BH 11.13 - 79
Bendigo 5.2 - 32
Half Time
RustyHawk
29 Aug 2010, 15:17
Half time
Box Hill 11.13.79
Bendigo: 05.02.32
Bendigo scored just 1 point that quarter.
2 goals to Lisle and Hoegal.
RustyHawk
29 Aug 2010, 16:05
Q3 - ongoing
BHH: 15.14.104
BB: 08.07.055
+ 49 to Box Hill
Lisle with 4, Hoegal with 3
RustyHawk
29 Aug 2010, 16:09
3qrt time only 1 point to Box Hill
+ 50 point lead to Box Hill
BHH 15.15.105
BB: 08.07.055
Dewnior
29 Aug 2010, 16:42
any update?
RustyHawk
29 Aug 2010, 16:43
25 min last quarter hawks easily
BHH: 20.16.136
BB: 10.11.71
Lisle has at least 5
Breust off with concussion.
RustyHawk
29 Aug 2010, 16:46
That is the final score. 136 to 71. 65 point win
Goal kickers include
5 to Jordan Lisle
3 Hoegal
2 each to Sam Gibson (ex Hawk rookie) and JKT current Hawk rookie
1 each to Luke Breust, Bea Muston and Jarryd Morton amongst others
Roddy27
29 Aug 2010, 16:50
That is the final score. 136 to 71. 65 point win
Goal kickers include
5 to Jordan Lisle
3 Hoegal
2 each to Sam Gibson (ex Hawk rookie) and JKT current Hawk rookie
1 each to Luke Breust, Bea Muston and Jarryd Morton amongst others
Cheers Rusty!!! Sounds like some good form from a few hawks which makes for good times at 'the selection table.
RustyHawk
29 Aug 2010, 16:51
Box Hill Hawks have to play Port Melbourne @ Port Melbourne next week.
Last years final against Port Melbourne was a great game until about the last few minutes when PM made a determined run and ran over the top of us :mad: Hopefully we can change that around next week.
spudmaster
29 Aug 2010, 16:57
Lisle is sounding like a great player. With Boyle retiring early, and Thorp and Dowler not eventuating, could he potentially be the 3rd tall forward we have been looking for?
At 196 he is the same height as Buddy, but listed as 10kg lighter at the moment. Or is he more likely to play the 2nd ruckman role (ie Skipper) and then float forward when having a rest (much like Ottens from the Cats) rather than being interchanged?
FriarTuck
29 Aug 2010, 17:42
Good showing by the lads. Pretty much put the cue in the rack at half time.
Robbie and Tails rucked. Neither jump at stoppages. Tails got his hands to the footy a lot but is way out of from. Robbie second efforts are still magnificent. He played the last half at FB. Was OK.
Sheila -lot to like about this kid. Very very hard. Ran tirelessly, good hands and his kicking was precise. Really happy on how he is progressing.
Sav was on the wing. Good game. Coming on nicely.
Sucko was in my best. His ball use was beautiful. Played both ends. Would not surprise me if he gets one more year.
Morto started well with some long searching runs of the back flank but then he just disappears.
Schoey is a seriously good kick - given time. Lost a few body on body contests but everything else was very good. Would like to see him chuck on 5kgs.
No Stokes, Tuck or Lowden. Tucky must be in strife for another year.
Moss played mainly up forward. When he takes the game on he can play. Not doing enough at this stage of his career.
Laddo was excellent off the HBF. Played angry and ran hard.
Sirra was in the play a bit and looked comfortable. Plays as a flanker.
Bruester got injured. He is very good at every aspect of the game. The only question is does he get near the ball often enough.
Too often Musto had the ball and time. This is worst case scenario.
Lisle, good VFL player.
29 Aug 2010, 17:48
The VFL site had Lisle with 4, and Hoegel with 5. (not that I'm doubting you Rusty!).
I wonder how seriously Hawthorn will look at Sam Gibson & Jayden Hoegel?
I realise Gibson has been tried before, and is about 25yo, but his form of late appears to have been excellent, and he is a goalkicking mid.
Young Hoegel knows where the goals are. I reckon he may make a handy flanker/goalsneak at AFL level.
LuvMyHawks
29 Aug 2010, 17:51
Thanks for great reports guys..A terrific win by the boys..Let's hope they can repeat it next week...
Lisle, good VFL player.
29 Aug 2010, 18:03
Surely that's harsh?
Not really, he can't be anything else until he plays a senior AFL game. ;)
I think he'll make it personally.
Henry Jr
29 Aug 2010, 18:55
Good win today by Box Hill.
Highlight for me was N24 eating both a pie and a pastie at once!
Great skills by the big man.....
walhawk
29 Aug 2010, 19:00
Port game Sat or Sun?
tommyk72
29 Aug 2010, 19:13
Did the development squad also play a final today?
Henry Jr
29 Aug 2010, 19:28
Did the development squad also play a final today?
Positions 1 & 2 had a bye this week in the finals.
tommyk72
29 Aug 2010, 19:38
Cheers HJ
TheFourPillars
29 Aug 2010, 20:03
Box Hill V Bendigo Bombers 29th August 2010
Finals footy had arrived at Box Hill city oval. Box Hill had been humiliated by let’s be honest a pretty awesome Williamstown last week and needed to show that they meant business this week. In saying that Bendigo weren’t setting the world on fire either and needed to pull their finger out and show a bit. On form Box Hill should really take Bendigo to the cleaners.
But as we all know you can never count on things turning out the way you think. You just needed to ask those Collingwood supporters and the rest of the league for that matter about our chances against them this week. A great win by the hawks and hopefully some inspiration for the box hill boys to perform well and the AFL listed players to put pressure on the selection panel this week. So without further delay with 3000 odd spectators at the ground we start the first quarter.
Box hill as expected came out fired up and a goal within a minute or so of the start. Things were looking ominous for Bendigo early. Box hill’s pressure and all around run from Savage, Gibson, JKT, shiels, breust and moss who were everywhere in the first few minutes. Jarryd Morton who was playing on the half back flank drifted forward and kicked a goal and missed another. In fact quite a few of the box hill boys missed a few in the first quarter.
To the bombers credit and largely due to some lax marking in the back line and some inaccurate kicking we found Bendigo kick a few in time-on to close the gap. Bolton wouldn’t have been happy to see his backmen afford so much space to their opponents. There were a lot of defensive errors in attempting to kill the high ball. I was hoping I would see a dominating display by schoey but unfortunately in the first quarter our backline looked very suspect one on one. I was also hoping to see a good game from Taylor but he was having a poor game Bellchambers was playing well for Bendigo. He drifted forward on Taylor and kicked a goal. Boxhill and Bendigo 5 goals each at the end of the first quarter.
The start of the second saw a more urgent looking box hill looking to put their stamp on the game. They came out and finally put some score board pressure on the young bombers and they crumbled. Box hill dominated savage was outstanding his run by geez the boy has some toe. JKT, Gibson and hoegel and lil Stevie kenna. Schoey also had a good second quarter. His kicking is something to see. Sucking is a great kick as we all know but schoey ain’t far behind him. He was the go to man to get it forward. Box hill slammed on the goals with the help of Lisle and hoegel who were having great games up forward. They held Bendigo goalless to effectively end the contest at half time. At the end of the half it was 11 goals to 5
At The start of the 3rd Box hill believed its own publicity and didn’t come out to play. They were prematurely looking forward to next week. So was lukey breust who had got a knock in the second and was suffering from concussion. Box Hill fumbled and hand balled too much and basically mucked (you can swap the m for an f IMO) around with it. It was just fortunate that Bendigo who had all the early scoring opportunities couldn’t put any real score board pressure on. Rather lax performance which wasn’t punished and box hill steadily worked their way back into the contest and won the quarter. Gibson, JKT, Lisle Hoegel and Savage amongst our best players that quarter. Bob Campbell also put up a good effort playing on the ball in the quarter. He reminded us all of his great second efforts and centre clearances. Box Hill 15 goals to 8 at the end of the third quarter.
Box Hill went through the motions in the last quarter so did the game there was no intensity or pressure in reality and after the first couple of goals in the quarter. Lisle who had kicked a few was shifted to loose man in defence and bob Campbell was playing full back on bellchambers. Box hill did what they needed to after copping a spray from the coach at 3qtr time. Box hill ran out comfortable winners 20 goals to 10
Of the HFC listed players Savage, Lisle and JKT were our best. Shiels was tagged again today was serviceable but quiet in the second half. Muston tried hard but yet again his finishing let him down. Either by hand or by foot he didn’t make the right decisions sometimes. Tries hard and ran hard all day. Morton didn’t have the best of days either after starting like a house on fire. His great attribute of punching the ball away from his opponents the last 5 or 6 weeks deserted him he lost quite a few one on ones.
Moss was handy so was suckling and milne. Schoey provided great run and carry from the backline and his kicking was some of the best i have seen from him at a box hill game. They used him out of the back half quite a few times to pick out targets going forward. However he lost a few one on ones more because he plays too far of his man. Then tries to close ground as the ball is coming in. It works so long as the guy kicking it forward is under pressure. However against teams like Willi who pin point their forwards that is just too loose.
All in all Box Hill accounted for Bendigo as expected. They needed to put the game against willi behind them and they did. However I would like to say that they will need to lift their game to be any sort of threat next week at Port. Our defence needs to actually defend before worrying about providing run. Our midfielders also need to be more accountable defensively and our rucks Taylor gave away a lot of free kicks today. Perhaps I am being a bit harsh on them this week but that’s how i see it. If they play like this next week they will get done by 8 goals. Port are a very good side. I hope Lowden gets a game next week. See you all at Port next week Sunday arvo i would think.
HAWKS HEROES
29 Aug 2010, 20:10
The VFL site had Lisle with 4, and Hoegel with 5. (not that I'm doubting you Rusty!).
I wonder how seriously Hawthorn will look at Sam Gibson & Jayden Hoegel?
I realise Gibson has been tried before, and is about 25yo, but his form of late appears to have been excellent, and he is a goalkicking mid.
Young Hoegel knows where the goals are. I reckon he may make a handy flanker/goalsneak at AFL level.
was a hawk rookie or draftee couple of years back
HAWKS HEROES
29 Aug 2010, 20:14
Hoegal i think it was did an awesome Cyril like goal at the box hill side of the ground mid air awesome as !!!
lickmerocks
29 Aug 2010, 20:50
Not really, he can't be anything else until he plays a senior AFL game. ;)
I think he'll make it personally.
Of course he will make it. Crashes packs and takes contested marks.
Some of the BS i read on this site about players astounds me. I will not mention any names but Lisle right now is in front of at least one Hawthon player on ability that somehow keeps getting a game.
Collins-Langford-Ayres
29 Aug 2010, 20:51
Great to read that some of our younger guys are developing and playing well.
Thanks for the updates guys. It is appreciated.
Cheeseman
29 Aug 2010, 20:59
Some of the BS i read on this site about players astounds me. I will not mention any names but Lisle right now is in front of at least one Hawthon player on ability that somehow keeps getting a game.
Couldn't agree more, he reads the play well, is built like a brick shithouse, and knows how to clunk it.
He might be a little slow, but speed isn't everything, I can see him playing a few senior games next year.
rdhopkins2
29 Aug 2010, 21:14
Well done on the reports guys. It was fantastic to see a good turnout from the Big Footy Box Hill crew and a pleasure meeting Cheeseman. I wandered around the grounds taking in the game from a number of vantage points.
Went down to the rooms with the boys to hear "We're A Happy Team at Box Hill" sung with gusto.
A team effort today which won us the game. Yes we were inaccurate earlier, but most importantly we played with spirit. Next week against Port will be a tough ask but play like we did today and we won't be easybeats on the Borough's home turf.
Roger Rogerson
29 Aug 2010, 21:28
Good showing by the lads. Pretty much put the cue in the rack at half time.
Robbie and Tails rucked. Neither jump at stoppages. Tails got his hands to the footy a lot but is way out of from. Robbie second efforts are still magnificent. He played the last half at FB. Was OK.
Sheila -lot to like about this kid. Very very hard. Ran tirelessly, good hands and his kicking was precise. Really happy on how he is progressing.
Sav was on the wing. Good game. Coming on nicely.
Sucko was in my best. His ball use was beautiful. Played both ends. Would not surprise me if he gets one more year.
Morto started well with some long searching runs of the back flank but then he just disappears.
Schoey is a seriously good kick - given time. Lost a few body on body contests but everything else was very good. Would like to see him chuck on 5kgs.
No Stokes, Tuck or Lowden. Tucky must be in strife for another year.
Moss played mainly up forward. When he takes the game on he can play. Not doing enough at this stage of his career.
Laddo was excellent off the HBF. Played angry and ran hard.
Sirra was in the play a bit and looked comfortable. Plays as a flanker.
Bruester got injured. He is very good at every aspect of the game. The only question is does he get near the ball often enough.
Too often Musto had the ball and time. This is worst case scenario.
Lisle, good VFL player.
Good to hear Sirra showed some form in a ones final. Big decision on him at seasons end given he has been in the 2s all year. He is someone I feel comfortable with the ball in hand. Hope we persist with him. Not going to be a superstar but a reliable foot soldier.
TheFourPillars
29 Aug 2010, 21:44
Couldn't agree more, he reads the play well, is built like a brick shithouse, and knows how to clunk it.
He might be a little slow, but speed isn't everything, I can see him playing a few senior games next year.
I tend to agree he plays like a "true" KPF if there is such a thing. He uses his weight throws it around and has great hands especially on the lead.
FriarTuck
30 Aug 2010, 09:22
We have no other options so Lisle will be given every chance. I am not hopeful. The trend back to contested footy will work in his favour.
Riley Milne played a HBF role. Got a coat hangar early but kept his eye on the ball. He has a classic kicking action with great balance. Still 10kgs short of where we need him.
I like Hoegel. A real goer. And loves a scrap. On our list he is a bad fit, we have to many smalls.
Pedo must have been on the gas Saturday night. Close to the worst game I have seen him play. This close to draft time it will not help his cause.
Number 3 - Jacko. Anyone got any details on this guy. One to watch.
Rudi Gilham
30 Aug 2010, 09:35
Ryan Jackson isn't really an option Friar. He was previously a rookie with Carlton, and when delisted, moved to WA for a few years. He must be close to 27yo.
Box Hill have really missed him for most of the year. Our recruits for 2010 appear to have been cursed, with Jackson, Shaun Pollard & Luke Ablett hardly being seen all season.
Hawker08
30 Aug 2010, 18:50
Great reports .............not much said about Dowler though. Any comments appreciated.
halfback dasher
30 Aug 2010, 19:14
]Ryan Jackson isn't really an option Friar. He was previously a rookie with Carlton, and when delisted, moved to WA for a few years. He must be close to 27yo.[/B]
Box Hill have really missed him for most of the year. Our recruits for 2010 appear to have been cursed, with Jackson, Shaun Pollard & Luke Ablett hardly being seen all season.
Is 23 , and IS an option for mine.
And Russ , were was the bloody castle.....:mad:
High light was Sav's running bomb , boy he can play.:footy:
HAWKS HEROES
30 Aug 2010, 19:34
Dowler did not play they trained in the morning [development squad] i was not looking but he may have been in that group
FriarTuck
30 Aug 2010, 19:39
Ryan Jackson isn't really an option Friar. He was previously a rookie with Carlton, and when delisted, moved to WA for a few years. He must be close to 27yo.
Thanks Rudi. I thought he was just some kid off the street.
go hawks!!!
30 Aug 2010, 22:01
Is 23 , and IS an option for mine.
And Russ , were was the bloody castle.....:mad:
High light was Sav's running bomb , boy he can play.:footy:
Yes no castle! your kids could have joined the game i was umpiring behind the goals!
rdhopkins2
30 Aug 2010, 22:58
Apologies for the lack of a jumping castle, but there sure were some clowns on the terrace :D
Possibly given it was a final, they didn't have it. Not sure but it's normally there. Cheers.
Henry Jr
30 Aug 2010, 22:58
Yes no castle! your kids could have joined the game i was umpiring behind the goals!
Glad you wern't the only one upset about the Castle. Mum gave me some extra pocket money for it but turned out alright in the end, I snuck over to the canteen.
Buddy the Brave
31 Aug 2010, 02:01
Grow a pair and name names
Number 24
31 Aug 2010, 09:53
Apologies for the lack of a jumping castle, but there sure were some clowns on the terrace :D
Possibly given it was a final, they didn't have it. Not sure but it's normally there. Cheers.
I will name names.......little Henry Jr, Sydney Hawker and Half Back Dasher :D
The tone of the terraces was significently lifted by the presence of Closed Sessions, Houdini Huddo, Bobby (the ball boy at training sessions) and Mrs Bobby, and myself.
Henry Jr
31 Aug 2010, 14:30
I will name names.......little Henry Jr, Sydney Hawker and Half Back Dasher :D
The tone of the terraces was significently lifted by the presence of Closed Sessions, Houdini Huddo, Bobby (the ball boy at training sessions) and Mrs Bobby, and myself.
N24 thought he was going to his poetry club and even brought his own deckchair. Wouldn't even go out on the ground at the breaks to give the team some support. Poor form N24.
N24 is drawing up a submission as we speak to move one of the lightposts that was abstructing his view. :eek: Given that he brings binoculars as well (only so he can find his way to and from the canteen), I don't like his chances of it being sucessfull.