View Full Version : Which player(s) needs the biggest pre-season of their career?

BomberTime
23 Aug 2010, 12:04
Apart from the obviously unfit Jay Neagle.

I will say David Myers to build a big motor if he seriously wants to play fulltime in the midfield.

Kyle Reimers- Is a beautiful kick and a nice set shot for goal, but no work ethic...he will get a new contract i think but needs to work harder, 7 disposals in a match is not good enough for a 3rd year player.

What do other people think?

table tennis
23 Aug 2010, 12:15
There are 40 odd on the list. THey as a collective need to pull thier fingers out.

theboxmike
23 Aug 2010, 12:33
Watson - Gun but we need a Superstar right now, not a A+ player
Ryder - Could be one of the best players in the game, not to sure whats wrong with him
Myers - as said above
Pears - Get back to his best as we desperatly need him at Full Back.
Gus - Bad year improve keeping his feet
Jetta - Would love to see him further up the ground, but needs to build a tank

Theres more but i CBF atm

The Donners
23 Aug 2010, 12:49
Ryder - Could be one of the best players in the game, not to sure whats wrong with him Lacks intensity, always has.
Myers - as said above What difference does it make, he'll play backline if Knights is in charge.
Pears - Get back to his best as we desperatly need him at Full Back. Was ordinary just before he was injured after a very promising 4-5 games to start the season.
Gus - Bad year improve keeping his feet Trade.

Theres more but i CBF atm

The rest I agreed with.

WN123
23 Aug 2010, 13:10
There are a couple who we really need to become midfielders.
Monfries, Zaharakis, Reimers Jetta and Lonergan. The last three need to step up for there careers sakes. Gentlemen.... build you engines.

Slattery_20
23 Aug 2010, 13:18
All of them except Watson & Prismall. Literally everyone else has run out of legs.

Melksham & Zaha are probably priorities.

thebigboy
23 Aug 2010, 14:41
I would have thought all of them need to have a big pre-season.

In particular, Neagle, Myers, Stanton, Ryder and Hurley.

anf06
23 Aug 2010, 15:30
Get Gus in the midfield. Now.

austinthedog
23 Aug 2010, 15:30
All of them except Watson & Prismall. Literally everyone else has run out of legs.

Melksham & Zaha are probably priorities.

prismall, you got to be kidding, his disposal over the past few weeks has been nothing short of d grade

Colin D'Cops
23 Aug 2010, 18:33
Watson - Gun but we need a Superstar right now, not a A+ player

Haha you for real or? I feel that Watson has reached his absolute peak now. If he can sustain this level of performance throughout the rest of his career he will be remembered as a great player (is current A Grader at the moment). Can't get much higher than that, the improvement needs to come from the B & C+ grade players.

* Tyson Slattery
* Darcy Daniher
* David Myers
* Leroy Jetta
* Kyle Reimers
just a few off the top of my head, leaving out Jay Neagle of course who would be on the list.

Skeeta Olly
23 Aug 2010, 18:41
Everyone.

bombermick
23 Aug 2010, 19:09
Myers- Is a great kick but needs to improve his pace and engine
Reimers- Needs to get to more contests and become better in close
Daniher- Is well behind our other KPP atm. Seems like he's there to get his brother.
Jetta- Has great skill but needs to improve his fitness

Two others that are not playing for their careers are Gumby and Carlisle. Both are good marks but are too skinny. The sooner they add some weight, the sooner Neagle is removed from the side. Neagle was okay in his first couple of games back, but has been hopeless in his last two.

JD11
23 Aug 2010, 19:15
Ryder, we need to get him on the Marigiliani diet. Could be a freak, for me the biggest disappointment of the year, he has truly gone nowhere from last year, he doesn't look any bigger at all, maybe his frame isn't built for it, I don't know but I think he'll be tonnes better if he can become a buff ****.

AndyLesPaul
23 Aug 2010, 19:31
Daniher really needs to step up or he'll be disposed of.
Reimers needs to pull his head in and realise it's not all about him, I'd consider trading him even, it's what got Hislop delisted

pazza
23 Aug 2010, 19:44
Fair few of them - Lovett-Murray, Reimers, Williams, Ryder, Daniher, Still, Myers, Dempsey, Lonergan, Welsh, McVeigh, Prismall, Stanton, Dyson, Neagle.

Bring on pre-season.

markie
23 Aug 2010, 21:22
A few of them are gunna find it hard laying bricks, mowing lawns or whatever pays thier bills ;)
Serious hard yakka and commitment required by all. They should be feeling hurt and embarrassed as one. This can be good. Leaders- stand up and lead (no kid gloves). Followers - get in behind and work their butts off.
Watchers be amazed.
Doubters - be turned around.
We are Essendon

Towno78
23 Aug 2010, 22:17
Surely this is a question to be asked after list management decisions have been finalised.

Godzke
23 Aug 2010, 23:09
Myers really needs to be taken under the wing by Watson and reminded of where he was at 5 - 6 years ago.

Slattery_20
24 Aug 2010, 08:22
prismall, you got to be kidding, his disposal over the past few weeks has been nothing short of d grade
Hence the Melksham & Zaha bit, need those two to step up and push the older blokes out.
Prismall hasn't run out of legs. His problem is he's forgotten how to kick.

daffo
24 Aug 2010, 09:12
Laycock - He has the ability to be our number two ruckman. If he can stay fit (and with a bit of luck) he could get a game round one
Neagle - If he is still on our list he needs to get his fitness up.
Winderlich - Plays a hell of a lot better when he is fit.

KaaN10
24 Aug 2010, 09:13
Thread title has Neagle written all over it

Eleven 38
24 Aug 2010, 09:23
everyone except Hille and Fletch.

Pweter
24 Aug 2010, 09:28
The kids (players < 21 years or so) need the biggest preseason of there careers, they are the ones that are going to take this club forward. There is some serious talent in this age bracket, they need the engines and physical traits to match it with the top teams consistently.

Other than that, everyone needs a massive preseason. I'd love to see the club focus more on skill execution under pressure too. I believe if we can improve here then skill execution overall will improve. I bet they don't miss so many targets at training as they are in games at present.

Mumbo Jumbo
24 Aug 2010, 10:08
Pre-seasons are overrated.

Last time it was supposed to be a huge preseason with the club overall fitter than it ever had been. We went into the start of the season with a low number of injuries and it still fell away to shit with players unable to run out games.

Sure, we need to give everything to the pre-season, but it's not the biggest factor that will determine how individuals perform next year. Individuals will outperform when they have confidence in themselves to hold their positions, are played in the right positions, have confidence in their teammates, confidence in the gameplan and an understanding of plan A, B and C.

WinderliciouS
24 Aug 2010, 10:46
Get Gumby in the gym, get Neagle off the pizza and get a game plan other than 'play-on'.

Mumbo Jumbo
24 Aug 2010, 12:14
Get Gumby in the gym, get Neagle off the pizza and get a game plan other than 'play-on'.

I lulzd. :thumbsu:

whats_at_stake
24 Aug 2010, 12:34
The entire EFC need a pre-season- I am sick of watching kids from Collingwood be stronger and be able to break tackles then our sticks who are in their fifth year struggle to keep their feet.

Ben the Gooner
24 Aug 2010, 13:04
Neagle needs the tank to play a full game.
Myers needs a tank to play in the middle - I honestly think this is the only reason he's not playing midfield atm.
Melksham needs the tank to play a full game.
Zaharakis needs a tank to play on ball.
Reimers - needs to be influencing the game more.
Jetta would want to be pushing into the middle.

Gumby, Carlisle, Bellchambers, Hurley and Hooker need to keep bulking up.

Godzke
24 Aug 2010, 13:15
Young mob needed to have the minds sharpened as well, so they're not losing to teams like Sunderland.

wait wut

bombersaway
24 Aug 2010, 13:32
Reimers- gee in all honestly he needs a smack in the head or an off feild drama to wake him up(steve johnson comes to mind) i'd start by getting rid of the f**king pink boots, the milionaire syndrome the tuff guy additude, look huimself in the bloody mirror and stay away from night clubs and the piss and have a fair dinkum crack, the kid could be a player but a lot of his mental additude needs to change.

Ryder-firstly must get he's head right and hit the gym, the club then needs decide where he is best suited chb/ruck/forward make a decision

jetta-has shown in a couple of games that he can make it as a mid or running half back, see harbrow, ash mcgrath, needs to get fit and the coaches put some faith in him.

Neagle- make or break either you want to be there or not

dempsy- needs to be coached on how to play the game, requires some serious one on one time with a coach for the next 6 months

pears-get fit enough to be a rebounding half back

the whole list needs to bulk and harden up, learn how to make a tackle stick and hurt someone.

Watch some old games and find out what passion and playing for the efc is all about

TELLIMAN1
24 Aug 2010, 14:45
Myers- Is a great kick but needs to improve his pace and engine

Think you mean a long kick.......great? got to be kidding!!

saladodger
24 Aug 2010, 16:54
Neagle is now and will forever remain a fat lazy pig. He was gifted a walk up spot in a massive hole left at our club by the departure of Matty Lloyd, all he needed to do was waddle up and squeeze into a jumper. He obviously has some ability otherwise he wouldnt be listed (yeah I hear you saying what about Quinn?) so all the fat bitch needs to do is apply himself, get his fitness right and have a decent crack at becoming a respectable league footballer.

The are only 2 things you can control in footy and they are your attitude and your fitness, everything else is out of your hands. If you have these 2 aspects squared away you can even compensate for a lack of skill through sheer hard work and intensity. On the flipside a player can have all the skill in the world but if he is not applying himself 100% his skills are worth sfa and he will be just another player.

If being a listed AFL player with a big club like Essendon, getting paid a shitload of cash, making a living doing what you love and being able to punch well above your weight (pardon the pun) in the ladies department can't motivate the big fat prick to push himself to his peak then nothing ever will and we should piss him off now.

JD11
24 Aug 2010, 18:29
Individuals will outperform when they have confidence in themselves to hold their positions, are played in the right positions, have confidence in their teammates, confidence in the gameplan and an understanding of plan A, B and C.
This isn't grid iron. What team has three laid out plans that every player perfectly understands?

MAAAATTDAAAAMON
24 Aug 2010, 20:50
Neagle is now and will forever remain a fat lazy pig. He was gifted a walk up spot in a massive hole left at our club by the departure of Matty Lloyd, all he needed to do was waddle up and squeeze into a jumper. He obviously has some ability otherwise he wouldnt be listed (yeah I hear you saying what about Quinn?) so all the fat bitch needs to do is apply himself, get his fitness right and have a decent crack at becoming a respectable league footballer.

The are only 2 things you can control in footy and they are your attitude and your fitness, everything else is out of your hands. If you have these 2 aspects squared away you can even compensate for a lack of skill through sheer hard work and intensity. On the flipside a player can have all the skill in the world but if he is not applying himself 100% his skills are worth sfa and he will be just another player.

If being a listed AFL player with a big club like Essendon, getting paid a shitload of cash, making a living doing what you love and being able to punch well above your weight (pardon the pun) in the ladies department can't motivate the big fat prick to push himself to his peak then nothing ever will and we should piss him off now.

Yep, had his chances. Piss him off.

Cheapies
24 Aug 2010, 22:48
gumbleguts, and fat boy

Mumbo Jumbo
24 Aug 2010, 22:54
This isn't grid iron. What team has three laid out plans that every player perfectly understands?

Yeah, pretty sure most teams have multiple setups or gameplan variations that they understand (attack, lockdown, zones, go wide) if the coach instructs a change during breaks. This is particularly true when coming out of defense.

The House
25 Aug 2010, 00:55
A few of them are gunna find it hard laying bricks, mowing lawns or whatever pays thier bills ;)
Serious hard yakka and commitment required by all. They should be feeling hurt and embarrassed as one. This can be good. Leaders- stand up and lead (no kid gloves). Followers - get in behind and work their butts off.
Watchers be amazed.
Doubters - be turned around.
We are Essendon

love your passion my friend....was saying to a mate during the 2nd quarter of the bris game that we should use the first 3-4 weeks of the pre season putting a few through a mini stokes program.....give them a full time job and have them train after work mon, wed, fri and also sat arvo.
show neagle, reimers, jetta, dempsey, and maybe a even a few others what life will be like for them very soon if they don't pull their finger out and make the next step up to a bonafide afl player....it surely couldn't hurt. but possibly could be a huge turning point....

....it's not like they don't deserve it.

stants if we keep him, understands what gut running is, and whilst kept fit, needs at least 5-6 weeks or whatever it takes of skills training under pressure to improve this current shambles he's serving us up weekly with these mother ****ing turnovers..

as stated i doubt this will work for stants and feel he should be traded before his currency drops, however if we do keep him, that's the approach i'd take.

the rest of the list.....no big secret.
just train every one of them harder than they've trained before....essendon needs to sort the men out from the boys.....smart strength, conditioning and programming to keep injuries to a minimum of course, but ffs have this list run out next year as ready as possible to consistently take it right up to the other 15 sides week after week.....that's all i ask.

Eleven 38
25 Aug 2010, 04:35
love your passion my friend....was saying to a mate during the 2nd quarter of the bris game that we should use the first 3-4 weeks of the pre season putting a few through a mini stokes program.....give them a full time job and have them train after work mon, wed, fri and also sat arvo.
show neagle, reimers, jetta, dempsey, and maybe a even a few others what life will be like for them very soon if they don't pull their finger out and make the next step up to a bonafide afl player....it surely couldn't hurt. but possibly could be a huge turning point....

....it's not like they don't deserve it.

i like this idea, however i think most of the list should do it.

yodellinhank
25 Aug 2010, 16:18
Tayte Pears. The operation he had was quite invasive and left him stuck in a prolonged period of inactivity. I imagine he will need to do quite a bit of work just to get himself back to the level he was at.

EVERLAST
26 Aug 2010, 22:56
Tayte Pears. The operation he had was quite invasive and left him stuck in a prolonged period of inactivity. I imagine he will need to do quite a bit of work just to get himself back to the level he was at.

From all reports, he had dropped at least 9 kgs not long after the operation, if not more. He might not come good until 2012.

Duckworth
26 Aug 2010, 22:59
gumbleguts, and fat boy

Gumby needs a bit of core strength so that he doesn't get pushed off his line so easily. Great jump and good endurance already, just a little bit of gym work.

EVERLAST
26 Aug 2010, 23:16
Gumby needs a bit of core strength so that he doesn't get pushed off his line so easily. Great jump and good endurance already, just a little bit of gym work.

With some size, he could end up like Saint Nick. Big call, but with his endurance and vertical leap, hard not to get excited about his potential after his perseverance.

Mumbo Jumbo
27 Aug 2010, 09:52
Agree Gumby needs a little more muscle conditioning, but this shouldn't be overestimated. Part of the area for improvement is the mental application to impose himself on contests; to take a more aggressive approach in using his body to make a contest his own. I think only an extra 3-4 kgs is necessary, and then if he wants to add a little more then to wait until the following pre-season to give his body time to adjust slowly. Otherwise, he would end up injuring himself again if the change was too quick.

StealthBomber
27 Aug 2010, 11:52
Anyone know how McCormack (not sure on spelling) is preparing these boys physically? I remember the West Coast boys all looking like "TANKS" when coming out onto the field. I understand the list we have is fairly young and will take time to develop so in essence would be good to see a combination of strength, where size follows. This will negate the "getting pushed off the ball easily" we see too often!! This will also instill further confidence in our players ability to hit packs and win their own ball.

More endurance running is also requried so we can get back and actually help our defence out, not just standing there ball watching. And did I mention SKILLS!!!!!!!

I have seen so many times this year with turnovers our defence is left lurking up the ground where our players are exposed due to our run and attack game plan!! That many times i saw the ball sail over Hookers head to their full forward made me want to punch walls in rage!!

Not sure if it comes down to the game plan or players mental attitude and im no coach nor mind reader, but its easy to tell, after disposing of the ball to a team mate up the ground, find your man and cover the space in the back half!!! Its too often we turn the ball over and get exposed!

Slattery_20
27 Aug 2010, 12:18
Not sure if it comes down to the game plan or players mental attitude and im no coach nor mind reader, but its easy to tell, after disposing of the ball to a team mate up the ground, find your man and cover the space in the back half!!! Its too often we turn the ball over and get exposed!
I'm pretty sure, after what I read on here, they get told to stand there hands on hips after doing anything.