View Full Version : TV ESPN's 30 for 30 doco's

Pages : [1] 2 3

NSWCROW
23 Aug 2010, 22:54
Covers all sports so just thought i'd stick it here.

Best series of sports movies/doco's i've ever seen.
Last night's was " STRAIGHT OUTTA LA " by Ice Cube about the LA Raiders/Gansta rap connection.

Other notables include -

"King's Ransom" Peter Berg (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Peter_Berg) [/URL]
(2009-10-06)
The 1988 trade of [URL="http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wayne_Gretzky"]Wayne Gretzky (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/30_for_30#cite_note-ransom_ratings2-3) from the Edmonton Oilers (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Edmonton_Oilers) to the Los Angeles Kings (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Los_Angeles_Kings) and the effect it had on both Gretzky and Edmonton (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Edmonton).

"Muhammad and Larry" Albert Maysles (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Albert_and_David_Maysles)
(2009-10-27)
A look at the October 1980 Muhammad Ali (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Muhammad_Ali)-Larry Holmes (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Larry_Holmes) fight and its impact, featuring fresh interviews with participants and previously unseen lead-up footage from both fighters' camps.

"Winning Time: Reggie Miller vs. The New York Knicks" Dan Klores
(2010-03-14)
The impact of Reggie Miller (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Reggie_Miller) on the New York Knicks (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/New_York_Knicks) in the 1990s, specifically focusing on the 1995 NBA Playoffs (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1995_NBA_Playoffs) and Miller's interaction with Knicks fan Spike Lee (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Spike_Lee).

"The Birth of Big Air" Jeff Tremaine (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jeff_Tremaine), Johnny Knoxville (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Johnny_Knoxville), and Spike Jonze (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Spike_Jonze)
(2010-07-29)
The life of Mat Hoffman (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mat_Hoffman) and his career, since 1985, of advancing, both creatively and promotionally, BMX riding (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bicycle_motocross).

oxblood
24 Aug 2010, 08:28
Yep have watched a few of these already. Watched Straight Outta LA, Winning Time, Without Bias, Guru Of Go and No Crossover The Trial Of Allen Iverson.

Very impressive.

Daytripper
24 Aug 2010, 09:11
Escobar vs Escobar was one of the better doco's I've seen in recent memory.

Would love to have seen the Len Bias one.

jerry springer
24 Aug 2010, 09:23
brilliant series of docos:thumbsu:

jonesy86
24 Aug 2010, 10:34
i saw the one about the guys who started fantasy baseball... they need to get out more

Magpiespower
24 Aug 2010, 12:31
Best series of sports movies/doco's i've ever seen.

Last night's was " STRAIGHT OUTTA LA " by Ice Cube about the LA Raiders/Gansta rap connection.

Stop giving juice to the Raiders
Coz Al Davis never paid us...

:D

aussiedude
24 Aug 2010, 15:34
i thought "the U" was the best, and the Jimmy the greek one was interesting same with the band that wouldnt die. i didnt like the Ali one. the Bias one was interesting, ive only watched the first 7 have most on IQ2

smitchell
24 Aug 2010, 16:29
Yup, Two of my greatest passions together (sport and documentry) concieved by one of my heroes, the sports guy, Mr Bill Simmons.

It just does not get any better.

Try to watch em in HD if you can. Most are out on dvd already in the states, I'm waiting for the bluray collection.

You can get the '30 for 30' podcast on itunes, hosted by bill and covers one on one with the film makers. While you're at it, try the B.S report with Bill Simmons:thumbsu:

Mr_Smooth
25 Aug 2010, 16:37
the one they had on OJ was unbelievably well done too

was about the few days leading upto his now famous bronco run. no naration at all - but featured live to air tv of what each network ran with

NSWCROW
25 Aug 2010, 17:58
^^
Forgot to mention that one !
So many news outlets covering it that all their signals started crossing.

" MICHAEL JORDAN rides the bus " aired in the US this morning our time

dmc333
25 Aug 2010, 23:15
Got austar, but never remember to watch the things, so I downloaded a few.

Just watched King's Ransom - pretty interesting.

samwise
26 Aug 2010, 16:17
Seen the first two episodes and the Reggie Miller one. All awesome.
Wish we had sport docos like that. Was disapointed by the first half of the Cousins doco last night.

NSWCROW
14 Oct 2010, 22:50
Just finished watching " THE HOUSE OF STEINBRENNER "
Brilliant...very moving.

This week -
Four Days In October"

The story of the Boston Red Sox (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Boston_Red_Sox) coming back from a 3-0 deficit to defeat the New York Yankees (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/New_York_Yankees) in the 2004 ALCS (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2004_American_League_Championship_Series).

The doco that was just BEGGING to be made !!!!

Mr_Smooth
15 Oct 2010, 08:54
watched Jordan Rides the Bus last week, that was quite an interesting story

jerry springer
15 Oct 2010, 14:29
anyone got a torrent link for any of the newer ones?pm if you have to.would be appreciated

oxblood
16 Oct 2010, 08:04
I watched Once Brothers last night, the story of Vlade Divac & Drazen Petrovic. It was one of the best 30 for 30's I have seen, very moving.

jonesy86
16 Oct 2010, 21:12
They should have done a 30 for 30 doco on Aussie Rules after it was an ESPN staple in its early days.

doodlefeatures
18 Oct 2010, 07:42
The 04 Red Sox one last night was great

lards
18 Oct 2010, 10:31
Have only seen one, its called 'The U'. Its about the rise of the Univeristy of Miami football team. Loved it but being a college football fan it appealed to me, not sure if others would like it as much.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_U_(documentary)

oxblood
18 Oct 2010, 11:51
Have only seen one, its called 'The U'. Its about the rise of the Univeristy of Miami football team. Loved it but being a college football fan it appealed to me, not sure if others would like it as much.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_U_(documentary (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_U_%28documentary))

Yep The U was a good one too. Did you happen to see The Rock (Wrestler) in one of the shots.

alex_is_on_fire
18 Oct 2010, 16:15
Seen the first two episodes and the Reggie Miller one. All awesome.
Wish we had sport docos like that. Was disapointed by the first half of the Cousins doco last night.

Australia used to. In the 1980's or maybe early 1990's channel 9 had a show called 'Sports Sunday' and it was a doco or magazine style show. It started at 4pm and went for an hour IIRC.

UpForGrabs
18 Oct 2010, 17:30
Trying to think of an Aussie Rules story that would have been 30 For 30 worthy and perhaps one on Jason McCartney would be the best.

Rick18
18 Oct 2010, 18:29
Trying to think of an Aussie Rules story that would have been 30 For 30 worthy and perhaps one on Jason McCartney would be the best.

That Headliners show that used to be on Fox Footy was probably the closest we've had to this.

Wonder if those eps are still available anywhere.

DB10
18 Oct 2010, 18:38

the demise of Fitzroy
Ted Whitten and SOO
expansion into NSW/QLD

there would be loads.

HSSB
18 Oct 2010, 20:33
The Rise and Rise of the Hawthorn Football Club
Shane Crawford - What a star
You Buddy Beauty
Delicious - The story of Cyril Rioli, so far

Byron_Clanger
22 Oct 2010, 18:02
I've watched a few of these, they are very good, the ones I have seen are,

The House of Steinbrenner - Talking about the old and new Yankee stadiums

Jordan Rides the Bus - About Michael Jordan retiring from basketball to pursue a baseball career after the death of his Father

One Night in Vegas - Looking at the night where Tupac got shot and his friendship with Mike Tyson

No Crossover: The Trial of Allen Iverson - While Iverson was still in High School he was jailed for his involvement in a brawl at a bowling alley, which cause a whole lot of racial tension

Straight Outta L.A - Looking at the Oakland Raiders and how they moved to and from L.A

Byron_Clanger
22 Oct 2010, 18:03
Ben Cousins would easily get a 30 for 30, a proper one, not that crap that he made

jorel6669
22 Oct 2010, 23:13
Been watching a few of these. Still plenty left to get through.

Once Brothers was fantastic. One of the best docos, sporting or otherwise, I've seen.

Four Days in October wasn't too bad. The 2 guys in the bar were annoying, but I felt more could have been shown about the Red Sox being down and almost out, just to heighten to emotion of their comeback and overcoming the curse.

The U was good. Bit too long though. I fell asleep in the middle of it. :P

flight23
23 Oct 2010, 20:05
a few not mentioned......

the Ron Bias one is one of the most emotional ones ive seen

the band that played/marched (cant remember which it is) was great, i like the ones about people and players ive never heard of

the others...

the steinbrenner one started out great, needed more george in his prime

jordan one was alright

frank the greek was a top story

reggie vs the knicks is the best in my opinion, spike is such a funny "villain"

4 days in october was great, im a little biased, that series was the first baseball series i ever watched and it was that amazing

the Oj one just seemed a little disjointed, no real point to it, other than OJ nothing else really happened, big deal the knicks played the middle of a series?????

the U was brilliant, all about the coaches, both of them are such characters

the gretzky one was great, he still seems affected by it

haven't seen the petrovic one, so will keep an eye out

the raiders one is pretty cool, but ice cube narrating is cringeworthy at times

the tupac and tyson one was pretty average, the tupac part was good, but the tyson bit just seemed to get lumped in with it, and the spoken word didn't do it for me

the fantasy football one has no footage from back in the day so it was always gonna be kinda crappy

DB10
23 Oct 2010, 22:06
Steinbrenner one was disappointing I thought. like the director wanted to make a film about Yankee Stadium and Steinbrenner, couldn't decide, and just did a mishmash of both. didn't like it too much.

djrossie
24 Oct 2010, 15:02
"The Guru of Go" was pretty good :thumbsu:

albundysmate
24 Oct 2010, 19:15
last weeks doco was great

NERDY
27 Oct 2010, 03:20
Just watched 'Once Brothers' which was the ESPN 30 for 30 documentary about the once great friendship between Serbian Vlade Divac and Croatian Drazen Petrovic. Honestly, that would have to be one, if not the best documentary I've ever watched. I dunno, maybe it's because I've got a Serbian background so I understand the whole thing more than most, but just watching it gave me total shivers. It was so moving, I don't want to give too much away for those that haven't seen it yet but when they go to the interviews with Drazen Petrovic's mother and brother after Drazen had passed away and their feelings about it, I found it very difficult not to cry. It was that powerful.

If you're a basketball lover, a person that loves documentaries or just wants to see a very well done story about what was a friendship that was more like a brother-ship that then turned sour because of one incident, then Once Brothers is a MUST see. Highly, highly recommend it.

GPW1
27 Oct 2010, 10:44
anyone know when/if once brothers will be shown on foxtel espn?

ive seen most of the ones that have been shown on foxtel, but missed some of the early ones (kings ransom/reggie miller v knicks/without bias). hopefully they repeat them at some stage.

the two escobars was brilliant.

DB10
27 Oct 2010, 11:10
I didn't get to see Four Days in October because ESPN can't finish their shit on time and half the episode didn't record. I even had extend by 20mins on and missed it. :mad:

muttonchops
28 Oct 2010, 09:32
Just watched 'Once Brothers' which was the ESPN 30 for 30 documentary about the once great friendship between Serbian Vlade Divac and Croatian Drazen Petrovic. Honestly, that would have to be one, if not the best documentary I've ever watched. I dunno, maybe it's because I've got a Serbian background so I understand the whole thing more than most, but just watching it gave me total shivers. It was so moving, I don't want to give too much away for those that haven't seen it yet but when they go to the interviews with Drazen Petrovic's mother and brother after Drazen had passed away and their feelings about it, I found it very difficult not to cry. It was that powerful.

If you're a basketball lover, a person that loves documentaries or just wants to see a very well done story about what was a friendship that was more like a brother-ship that then turned sour because of one incident, then Once Brothers is a MUST see. Highly, highly recommend it.

Just watched Once Brothers after reading your post (youtube). What a fantastic documentary. I had really no idea how the whole Serbia/Croatia thing went down and i still probably know very little but it was a very sad story.

I think the bit where Yugoslavia won the world champs in 95 and Croatia finished 3rd and they walked off the dais when Yugoslavia got their medals was fascinating.

I do recommend people watch this fantastic viewing. Heres a link if you wish to watch it on you tube.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3hOst_NExGI&feature=related

SebastianVettel
28 Oct 2010, 15:57

May or may not have spotted Bieber at about 2 minutes in to part 3/6.

SebastianVettel
28 Oct 2010, 16:47
Finished watching the rest. Talk about intense. Very sad. Eyes really welled up at the end.

NERDY
28 Oct 2010, 18:13
Just watched Once Brothers after reading your post (youtube). What a fantastic documentary. I had really no idea how the whole Serbia/Croatia thing went down and i still probably know very little but it was a very sad story.

I think the bit where Yugoslavia won the world champs in 95 and Croatia finished 3rd and they walked off the dais when Yugoslavia got their medals was fascinating.

I do recommend people watch this fantastic viewing. Heres a link if you wish to watch it on you tube.

Yeah, good on you mate.

Another one I'd highly recommned is 'The Last Yugoslav Football Team' which also goes into detail about the war and former Serbian and Croatian players on the former Yugoslav team. This documentary is even more powerful than 'One Brothers', mainly because it also focuses on the two Euro 2000 qualification matches between Serbia and Croatia. In one word, they were intense.

Only problem will be finding it. It might be on YouTube (not sure) and the only available torrents are in Serbian/Croatian. SBS showed it with subtitles a few years back, but it hasn't been on for years so yeah, it'll be very tough to find.

But it's the best documentary I've ever seen, so if you can find it, I highly, highly recommend it as well.

flight23
28 Oct 2010, 20:27
if anyone finds the yugoslav football team one can they let me know, either PM or link in this thread

much appreciated

on a side note, have been watching quite a few NFL docos lately

nfl greatest games are really good, ive only seen 2-3, but they're great watches, you don't have to be a NFL fan to appreciate them either

just good sport docos

NERDY
28 Oct 2010, 21:00
if anyone finds the yugoslav football team one can they let me know, either PM or link in this thread

much appreciated

on a side note, have been watching quite a few NFL docos lately

nfl greatest games are really good, ive only seen 2-3, but they're great watches, you don't have to be a NFL fan to appreciate them either

just good sport docos

It's on YouTube but it's in Serbian/Croatian. There's also a few torrents but you get the same thing, not in English.

Your best bet would be giving SBS an email as they've played it twice, and with subtitles.

DB10
30 Oct 2010, 03:18
the one on Chris Evert and Martina Navratilova was pretty good. also pretty weird how two people who were such intense rivals could be such close friends.

Santana
11 Nov 2010, 19:32
The "Once Brothers" 30 for 30 that was just on.

http://www.tweak3d.net/forums/imagehosting/12254a885fadccc3b.gif

flight23
11 Nov 2010, 21:25
yeah its pretty fricken awesome

has the gretzky one been on espn?

djrossie
12 Nov 2010, 09:31
Once Brothers was excellent. Oscar worthy it was that well done.

NSWCROW
12 Nov 2010, 11:02
ONCE BROTHERS was incredible.
One for the NASCAR fans this week - " TIM RICHMOND to the limit."

paul scholes
12 Nov 2010, 13:18
The Two Escobars was outstanding and moving for everyone.
Jordan rides the bus was interesting (great effort from Michael considering he hadn't played baseball since high school)
Red Sox 04 the highlight was the look of horror on those yank fans when the realization that they were going to lose to the Bosox:p
Fernando nation was another I really enjoyed.

red+black
14 Nov 2010, 01:17
Damn, missed the Once Brothers episode, was really looking forward to that. I'll have to chase it down. I watched The Legend of Jimmy the Greek recently for the Las Vegas, poker and sports betting angle.

Here is the genesis of the 30 for 30 series, an essay from Bill Simmons (http://30for30.espn.com/bill-simmons-essay.html).

lards
14 Nov 2010, 02:57
ONCE BROTHERS was incredible.
One for the NASCAR fans this week - " TIM RICHMOND to the limit."
Thats one of the aims of the series, to show you stories you might not have heard of. I'm not a fan of NASCAR and I've only seen the trailer but that ep looks amazing, like the rest of them.:thumbsu:

http://30for30.espn.com/film/tim-richmond-to-the-limit.html

djrossie
2 Dec 2010, 20:32
Just saw "The Best That Never Was" about American Football player Marcus Dupree. Probably the best one i've seen yet.

Santana
2 Dec 2010, 20:59
Another good one. What a waste of talent. Very sad at the end when the director brings up Dupree's brother.

Warsaw
2 Dec 2010, 22:05
Gotta look out for the Steve Bartman and the Cubs one. Not in the current series, but one to look out for next year.

flight23
2 Dec 2010, 23:10
Just saw "The Best That Never Was" about American Football player Marcus Dupree. Probably the best one i've seen yet.

definitely up there

some of the shit from the 70's and 80's in sport was just crazy, across the board

djrossie
3 Dec 2010, 11:24
Another good one. What a waste of talent. Very sad at the end when the director brings up Dupree's brother.

Yeah agree with this teared up myself. I will say that it was inspirational the way he fought back to finally play in the NFL

flight23
3 Dec 2010, 14:42
when he went back to his moms (or grandmas, can't remember) house and was dusting off all the old trophies was just heart breaking

dude you could have been immortal, just a sad story, really liked him though

pumpter
3 Dec 2010, 17:01
Brilliant series. I despise Gridiron, but have now watched 3 Gridiron related 30 for 30 doco's (Dupree, Uni of Miami, and Ricky), and i couldn't drag myself away from any of them, despite having no interest in the game.

The Depree doco was sad. Just a simple country kid, exploited by family/friends with some stupid advice.

Damon_3388
3 Dec 2010, 17:38
has the gretzky one been on espn?

I remember watching it on there a couple of months back.

djrossie
11 Dec 2010, 15:14
I teared up a bit at the latest one on espn about Terry Fox. Makes what Shane Crawford did seem tame in comparison now. (no diss on crawf though).

TheStinger
11 Dec 2010, 23:00
I teared up a bit at the latest one on espn about Terry Fox.
I knew of the story but had never really seen any of the footage. Was a very hard documentary to watch but very rewarding. Inspirational guy.

The_Flying_Egg
11 Dec 2010, 23:39
Here is the genesis of the 30 for 30 series, an essay from Bill Simmons (http://30for30.espn.com/bill-simmons-essay.html).

I love Bill Simmons, best sports writer going. I constantly check the ESPN site on my phone for any of his NBA articles

samwise
12 Dec 2010, 12:26
Does anyone know where I can download these?
I've got the first 10 episodes as well as the 16th man, Straight Outta L.A., The 2 Escobars, Once Brothers and Marion Jones.
Cant find any of the others so I'd really appreciate any because they are all amazing!!

billyboutsis
12 Dec 2010, 13:27
The last Yugoslav team was shown again during the world cup

flight23
12 Dec 2010, 15:05
Does anyone know where I can download these?
I've got the first 10 episodes as well as the 16th man, Straight Outta L.A., The 2 Escobars, Once Brothers and Marion Jones.
Cant find any of the others so I'd really appreciate any because they are all amazing!!

theres a few more on pirate bay

i watched the iverson one on youtube as well

samwise
12 Dec 2010, 16:46
theres a few more on pirate bay

i watched the iverson one on youtube as well
I could only find "Into The Wind" besides the ones I already have. But any find is good so thanks.

Rick18
12 Dec 2010, 17:44
Demonoid have every episode if you have an account there.

samwise
12 Dec 2010, 19:20
Demonoid have every episode if you have an account there.
Sadly I do not. Invite anyone?:o

DB10
13 Dec 2010, 18:59
they're being released on DVD now.

surprised they haven't been ripped already.

trueblue_91
13 Dec 2010, 22:17
most amazing docos!

i have watched into the wind, without bias, straight out of LA and the 16th man. Fantastic docos so inspiring and tragic

Really want to see the following ones

- The two escobars
- once brothers
- the best that never was

but really want to see them all

flight23
13 Dec 2010, 22:49
Bill simmons commentated the NBA the other day (and he was bloody good too) and he was speaking about how great it was (not because it was his idea) said his fav was the dupree one, which i think is the "best that never was" one, just for the randomness of it

bills the goddam man

sblack
13 Dec 2010, 23:29
Im slowly downloading these. Found a couple of 720p versions too :thumbsu:

Most recent was 'King's Random' on The Wayne Gretzky trade between the Oilers and Kings.

I have watched

- No Crossover (Iverson)
- Without Bias
- Winning Time (Reggie Miller)
- Once Brothers
- One Night in Vegas
- Run Ricky Run
- The U

Also watched, The Two Escobars on ESPN a while back. Don't have a copy of that yet.

'The U' is very good if you haven't already watched it. Same with One Night in Vegas. Love Nas in it, doing his spoken word parts.

Faithful Hawk
14 Dec 2010, 14:02
most amazing docos!

i have watched into the wind, without bias, straight out of LA and the 16th man. Fantastic docos so inspiring and tragic

Really want to see the following ones

- The two escobars
- once brothers
- the best that never wasbut really want to see them all

I have watched both of those in the last 2 weeks and they are top notch.
Have watched about 7-8 all up so far and have enjoyed them all will definately look for the DVD set when it is released.

NSWCROW
14 Dec 2010, 15:30
Got round to watching " THE 16th MAN " yesterday.
Brilliant.

trueblue_91
14 Dec 2010, 20:16
just watched once brothers

Amazing and tragic at the same time. Such a sad story

Santana
16 Dec 2010, 20:00
Enjoyed "Pony Excess" that was just on. Never knew that much about SMU before this.

flight23
17 Dec 2010, 21:48
the pony ecxess was what 30 for 30 is all about, amazing story, too high, too low and then redemption

was one of the longer ones but i was enthralled from start to finish

DB10
24 Dec 2010, 08:22
http://www.amazon.com/ESPN-Films-Gift-Set-Collection/dp/B003YMR98M/ref=sr_1_1?s=dvd&ie=UTF8&qid=1293146418&sr=1-1

King's Ransom
The Band That Wouldn't Die
Small Potatoes: Who Killed the USFL?
Muhammad and Larry
Without Bias
The Legend of Jimmy the Greek
The U
Winning Time: Reggie Miller vs. The New York Knicks
Guru of Go
No Crossover: The Trial of Allen Iverson
Silly Little Game
Run, Ricky Run
The 16th Man
Straight Outta LA
July 17, 1994

not bad for ~$50.

I had a look and I've seen all of them except for Four Days in October, Once Brothers and July 17, 1994. but I'll probably buy it once it's in stock or have a look on eBay.

Crimson Azure
25 Dec 2010, 07:57
I watched Once Brothers last night, the story of Vlade Divac & Drazen Petrovic. It was one of the best 30 for 30's I have seen, very moving.

Top doco made me want to watch the rest of them if the production is as good as this.

All eps:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/30_for_30

topdon
25 Dec 2010, 22:19
Watched "Into the Wind" a couple of weeks ago. It was one of the most moving docos i've seen in my life and i felt cheated that i had never heard of Terry Fox. That kid was an inspiration!! :(

JR#8
16 Feb 2011, 18:11
Just watched Reggie Miller Vs The New York Knicks.

Great stuff. This is the second one I've watched so will be watching a few more. :thumbsu:

Don Draper
16 Feb 2011, 20:31
Awesome ep. Reggie Miller just a freak show.

Loved Patrick Ewing, what a monster of a man.

Watched the Wayne Greski (sp?) when he changed clubs, plenty of emotion in that one.

alex_is_on_fire
17 Feb 2011, 08:38
I’ve seen a few now and watched the one on Marcus Dupree – the best that never was the other week and that was simply amazing. To see his melt down and raise back up from nothing after a number of years, was outstanding.

I’m yet to see a bad one.

ROSEMVP
17 Feb 2011, 08:56
Reggie Miller one was awesome
The USFL or whatever it was called was good

djrossie
17 Feb 2011, 11:43
Watched "Into the Wind" a couple of weeks ago. It was one of the most moving docos i've seen in my life and i felt cheated that i had never heard of Terry Fox. That kid was an inspiration!! :(

I read they've made a couple of movies about him but they should do it again with Jesse Eisenberg :thumbsu:

montybrasco
1 Aug 2011, 17:36
http://awfulannouncing.com/images/stories/30for30logo.jpg

2011 Schedule:

(1) Catching Hell - Sep. 27
http://awfulannouncing.com/images/stories/bartman.jpg
-The story of Steve Bartman and his fateful night in 2003 finally takes the small screen after many had suspected it would be part of the original 30 For 30. Full disclosure, I am a Cubs fan, so I was very much looking forward to examining Bartman's role in the famous Cubs collapse and how Cubs fans have treated him in the years since. It seemed like the doc would be a healing experience for Cubs fans, examining their own shortcomings and exploring the unique connection between fan and team.
That is, until I read that director Alex Gibney was going to use part of the documentary to examine his own anger against Bill Buckner as a Red Sox fan. GAG! Typical ESPN to have a tie-in to one of their darling teams, the Red Sox. I will be extremely disappointed if the Sawx take over this Cubs documentary. If the Buckner aspect is minimized and well done, it could certainly add to the Bartman story, but knowing ESPN, I won't hold my breath.

(2) Renee - Oct. 4

(3) The Dotted Line - Oct. 11

(4) Unguarded - Oct. 18

(5) The Real Rocky - Oct. 25
http://awfulannouncing.com/images/stories/aliwepner.jpg

(6) Charismatic - Nov. 1

(7) Roll Tide/War Eagle - Nov. 8

http://awfulannouncing.com/2011-articles/july/the-watchability-breakdown-for-espns-new-30-for-30-fall-documentary-schedule.html

raffrox
3 Aug 2011, 23:43
Just saw Guru of Go today.

Shed a tear in a few places. I remember 21 years ago (back when I had a Perth Wildcats scrapbook, lol) cutting out and keeping the artcile on Hank Gathers' death. An incredible story.

ROSEMVP
4 Aug 2011, 20:26
my fav is Miller v the knicks.

djrossie
12 Aug 2011, 18:12
Watched the Terry Fox 'Into The Wind' episode for a second time cried all over again. Unbelievably some of these docos.

Mr_Bojangles
15 Aug 2011, 14:17
Caught the one about Steinbrenner (The house of Steinbrenner) on ESPN last week. Was moving to see Yankee Stadium get levelled like that but it had to happen I guess. It's also sad to see it going all corporate with sushi and the like getting sold and tickets getting more pricey. The people in the shit seats having a sook was good to watch.

NSWCROW
14 Oct 2011, 18:38
Just finished CATCHING HELL

:eek:
That poor bastard !!!!

cfc4life
18 Oct 2011, 13:30
When is Scott Hall's 30 for 30 going to be shown over here? Really interested to see that.

Drummer_19
18 Oct 2011, 13:48
The Scott Hall one is part of the E:60 series and not the 30 for series. I think it will likely air in the next couple of days in the U.S, no idea what the delay time from it airing there and here is tho. best bet is to prob download it sometime after its aired in the u.s

cfc4life
18 Oct 2011, 13:54
ahh ok thanks. it's so sad to see how far he has fallen. almost at the Jake Roberts level of drug dependency.

Mr_Bojangles
18 Oct 2011, 13:59
Anyone see the Boston Red Sox one that's been on recently? Really enjoyed it. There actually hasn't one that I've struggled to get through yet, all very compelling even when they're sports I'm not in to (women's tennis for example).

legend166
18 Oct 2011, 15:28
I know everyone on here is all about pirating and everything, but you can get the original 30 documentaries on Amazon for $80:

http://www.amazon.com/ESPN-Films-Limited-Collector-Set/dp/B004OSVTRW/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1318915628&sr=8-1

Gave it to my brother for his birthday. Well worth it.

tb_fanboy
22 Oct 2011, 19:23
Can't wait or catching hell tonight
http://ineedpopcorn.com/images/Catching%20Hell%20(2011).jpg

I feel so sorry for Bartman. Not just abuse from his own teams fans but what he must still be going through. My heart sunk after seeing the vision of him looking back at Alou when Alou shoots him the angriest look and to say "it's all YOUR fault"

Bartmans response:
http://photos-e.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/299180_227540413973681_227540277307028_632835_224131649_n.jp g?dl=1
Can you imagine?

Mentallo
22 Oct 2011, 22:33
Can't wait or catching hell tonight
http://ineedpopcorn.com/images/Catching%20Hell%20(2011).jpg

I feel so sorry for Bartman. Not just abuse from his own teams fans but what he must still be going through. My heart sunk after seeing the vision of him looking back at Alou when Alou shoots him the angriest look and to say "it's all YOUR fault"

Bartmans response:
http://photos-e.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/299180_227540413973681_227540277307028_632835_224131649_n.jp g?dl=1
Can you imagine?

Just finished watching it. Not at all a baseball fan but knew of the incident. Have to say this this has been the best 30 for 30 doco I have seen so far.:thumbsu:

mattys123
22 Oct 2011, 22:37
I also watched Catching Hell tonight.

I remember watching the game, and not thinking much of it at the time, but then again I'm not a Cubs fan.

They did ruin that story a little bit with too much Red Sox crap in there, a little too much Buckner for me, but the parts about Bartman were great to watch.

I loved Alou saying he would have caught it, I was laughing at that part.:D

trueblue_91
22 Oct 2011, 23:04
Just finished watching it. Not at all a baseball fan but knew of the incident. Have to say this this has been the best 30 for 30 doco I have seen so far.:thumbsu:

Was Fantastic, Up there with into the wind in my oppinion. Poor guy, his face said it all

TheStinger
22 Oct 2011, 23:50
I wonder if Bartman will ever resurface and accept some money for an interview and just get it done once and for all. I am sure he thought it would just all go away after a while, but it clearly won't. Kudos to him for sticking to his guns and not going the money grab and keeping his privacy, but I think at some point he will have to do at least something to make it go away and just end the story.

Otherwise it will be 2025 and a TV show will be doing a Where Are They Now episode and looking for him again. Great doco though.

djrossie
23 Oct 2011, 01:34
Yep just caught this one! It's one of the best 30 for 30s (along with 'Into The Wind' and 'The Best That Never Was').
I felt for the guy enormously and I feel he was pretty honourable keeping his silence and all.