View Full Version : News Knights Sacked

Pages : [1] 2 3

Dkid
29 Aug 2010, 15:31
The club and Knights have just parted ways.
http://www.smh.com.au/afl/afl-news/matthew-knights-sacked-20100829-13xdi.html
Thoughts?:confused:

DVD Player
29 Aug 2010, 15:33
Yeah, nah...

RiCHii
29 Aug 2010, 15:34
Knights has been sacked. Caroline Wilson broke it on 3AW just a minute ago.

The Great Barry Besanko
29 Aug 2010, 15:34
holy **** on the HS site!!!:eek::eek:

Tambu
29 Aug 2010, 15:36
Stay the course!!!!

Duckworth
29 Aug 2010, 15:38
http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/matthew-knights-parts-ways-with-essendon-bombers/story-e6frf9io-1225911514537

Power_Knight_1
Knights has been sacked. Caroline Wilson broke it on 3AW just a minute ago.

Bring on Chocco and Hird ..

Phone
GONNA WIN THE FLAG NOW dfdf

BLue_Bloys
29 Aug 2010, 15:39
holy **** on the HS site!!!:eek::eek:

Lol do you remember last year when The major newspapers had reported Terry Wallace had been sacked in like round 4?

I'll believe it when Knights or Essendon confirm it.

bombersaway
29 Aug 2010, 15:42
lol do you remember last year when the major newspapers had reported terry wallace had been sacked in like round 4?

I'll believe it when knights or essendon confirm it.

will be confirmed shortly

eastaugh36
29 Aug 2010, 15:42
You bloody beauty!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I'll add more later, too busy now but this has made my day. Surely its Choco to come in!!

Bombers_Forever
29 Aug 2010, 15:43
Had to be done.

stay true
29 Aug 2010, 15:43
Lol do you remember last year when The major newspapers had reported Terry Wallace had been sacked in like round 4?

I'll believe it when Knights or Essendon confirm it.
Yeah I know what you mean. I've got a feeling this is legit though. Just heard on Triple M that they tried to contact the club and they aren't answering soo I dunno.

Dkid
29 Aug 2010, 15:44
I honestly didn't think the board had the balls..

bomberfan101
29 Aug 2010, 15:45
OMG I really did not expect this to happen so sudden!! Less than 24 hours after our last match for the year.

WOW...speechless...

DVD Player
wtf, since when? I thought we had all established he was staying, right?

rines
thankfully.

I hope Hird gets back to the club and get lloydy involved and we start to rebuild.

Maybe this helps convince houli and others to stay a little longer.

Don't understand why we had to wait this long but maybe seeing the crowd over the last 3 weeks finally make them act.

Go Bombers!

Ben the Gooner
29 Aug 2010, 15:46
Added "news" tag.

tubbis
Hrmm.. hope it's not destabilising. I guess at least the new coach will have the whole pre-season to work with the team.

TeamHurley
http://img.uphaa.com/uploads/127/Dancingman.jpg

bombersaway
you bloody beauty!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I'll add more later, too busy now but this has made my day. Surely its choco to come in!!

choco with alan richardson not sure if its a 2 year hand over thing with choco coach or richo coaches and choco the mentor i heard this last week or 2 weeks ago cant remember but ill back my source

Prog Rocker
We saw this coming but that was quick!..well Thank god for that! Now lets get the right Senior Coach and his assistants in place to look at our list and stear us on the right path...It was clear the Board was worried with the backlash it would have recieved from members if he stayed!

*sings*...."DING DONG THE WITCH IS DEAD"

The Smaller Warrior
29 Aug 2010, 15:47
Interesting,

It was reported today that Alan Richardson is now the favourite for the PAFC Job.

GetOverIt
29 Aug 2010, 15:47
Mark Williams? or James Hird? Another Voss like scenario for us? Why can't we get this right?

Ben the Gooner
29 Aug 2010, 15:49
Interesting,

It was reported today that Alan Richardson is now the favourite for the PAFC Job.

From what I hear, he's not.

JBLUES
29 Aug 2010, 15:51
Not aiming to troll here at all have a serious question about Ray Horsbourgh. This is a guy that sacked (or rather said contract wouldn't be renewed) to Sheedy in what I thought were appalling circumstances given Sheedy is one of the game's and essendon's greats. This is then a guy that had a pretty big say in renewing Knights' contract. Now even though he's finished as chairman he remains on the board. Do you think he's up to it? Should he accept some of the responsibility?

The Smaller Warrior
29 Aug 2010, 15:51
From what I hear, he's not.

Yeah not sure mate,

Was reported before todays game by Chris Dittmar,

Be interesting if this changes things.

Lotch
29 Aug 2010, 15:52
Link (http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/matthew-knights-sacked-20100829-13xdi.html)
Matthew Knights sacked
Caroline Wilson August 29, 2010 - 3:29PM
http://images.theage.com.au/2010/08/29/1862841/fp_knights_2908-300x340.jpg

Essendon coach Matthew Knights has been sacked.

The coach of the past three years was told shortly after 1pm today that his time at the club was finished in a meeting with Bombers chairman David Evans.

Knights and his manager Daniel Richardson met Evans earlier this afternoon and it is understood the decision came after an 8am board meeting.

Essendon now faces a two-year payout which could reach $800,000.

The Age understands the club faced a spill of the board from influential coterie and other supporters and members should Knights be retained.
Link (http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/matthew-knights-sacked-20100829-13xdi.html)

bombersaway
29 Aug 2010, 15:53
from what i hear, he's not.

this si the reason the anouncement was made today richo was right up to his ears with the port job he is the one who put pressure on the board now its a matter of the club trying to convince him to play understudy for 2 years but apparently he's pretty keen to come straight in but from what i hear i think choco gets the nod to then hand it over syd/coll style

yaco55
My only comment is that the Board needs to tread warily when appointing a new coach.

It is imperative that a coach is appointed who ticks all the boxes - Because we have a situation where the Coteries have a taste of blood - And they may act again in the future if they are unhappy with the coach.

sacka
Wow if Caro said it it's gotta be true :rolleyes:
Heard his fate was sealed before the Brisbane game had finished, after certain board members met with high profile members.

bomberfan101
29 Aug 2010, 15:54
They have a report on the footy at 3/4 time! He is G O N E.

ghostdog
Didn't expect this so soon.

James Hird
Leigh Matthews
Dean Laidley
Nigel Lappin
Mark Williams

...who else to add?

I'd like Matthews with Hird and/or Lappin as assistants please, on a three year deal with succession plan for one of said assistants.

Phone
now its a matter of the club trying to convince him to play understudy for 2 years but apparently he's pretty keen to come straight in but from what i hear i think choco gets the nod to then hand it over syd/coll style

LOL SHAMBLES. dfdfdf

Tippaz
29 Aug 2010, 15:56
f*** me http://www.fanfooty.co.uk/forum/images/smilies/yikes.gif

that was quick

JD11
29 Aug 2010, 15:56
F*** me this club is stupid.

What happened to the review?

It's hard to say that at least they have thought this through.

Maybe Knighta wanted a mad Monday as well.

Ben the Gooner
29 Aug 2010, 15:57
Yeah not sure mate,

Was reported before todays game by Chris Dittmar,

Be interesting if this changes things.

I think he might be your leading candidate (just a guess here, not anything from a source), but you aren't the only ones after him.

Little Jerry
29 Aug 2010, 15:59
I'm just glad all this speculations over.

I feel sorry for Knights but I'm happy his gone.

Godzke
29 Aug 2010, 16:00
Disappointed. Should've been given one more year with an improved support panel of coaches. You're not going to get anywhere with Camporeale as an assistant.

BomberTime
29 Aug 2010, 16:01
Im not surprised in the slightest, but the club have not handled this situation well at all. We are falling away badly on field and off field and are becoming a laughing stock. Time to get some experience into the coaching box and hopefully hird/lloyd involved in the club on a full time basis and start building new facilities at essendon airport and start becoming a feared club again. Bring on 2011..lets win back respect!

stay true
29 Aug 2010, 16:02
F*** me this club is stupid.

What happened to the review?

It's hard to say that at least they have thought this through.

Maybe Knighta wanted a mad Monday as well.
There were murmurs that the review was much further in progress than we were letting on. If they were leaning towards sacking him, then it's better to get it out of the way early so we have more time to bring someone else in before trade week.

Big Blow Hard
29 Aug 2010, 16:04
Alan Richardson will be the new coach.

I'd like to actually thank Knighter for his efforts. The poor bastard was on a hiding to nothing from the beginning, and I think at the very least, he has us heading in the right direction. Some may disagree and thats fine. I don't believe any other coach, Sheeds or Hardwick, would have us sitting any better.

I hope everyone can rally behind the club now and support whoever is lucky enough to take the reigns of Austraias bes football club.

TeamHurley
29 Aug 2010, 16:05
He had to go. His position was unttenable, and despite his absolute failure on the field, if he stayed next year the club would take a massive financial hit.

I feel dirty that my membership fees will be paying out his contract.

TeamHurley
29 Aug 2010, 16:07
Alan Richardson will be the new coach.

I'd like to actually thank Knighter for his efforts. The poor bastard was on a hiding to nothing from the beginning, and I think at the very least, he has us heading in the right direction. Some may disagree and thats fine. I don't believe any other coach, Sheeds or Hardwick, would have us sitting any better.

I hope everyone can rally behind the club now and support whoever is lucky enough to take the reigns of Austraias bes football club.

Was he really? Plenty of people gave him a pretty good go, if he had of achaeived something on the field then I'm sure everyone would be behind him.

DVD Player
29 Aug 2010, 16:08
So what's the deal? Williams and Richardson to take over?

BomberTime
29 Aug 2010, 16:10
The coterie group will pay out a fair chunk of his contract as they drove this move.

Big Blow Hard
He had to go. His position was unttenable, and despite his absolute failure on the field, if he stayed next year the club would take a massive financial hit.

I feel dirty that my membership fees will be paying out his contract.

Well, feel better that they are not paying his role as coach instead. I say **** the money, we have plenty. Just make a good decision on the new coach. Don't throw Hird in because of the romance of it, get the best available.

whats_at_stake
Hopefully Evans resigns or is ousted from the board or sacked as president and most of them are challenged. Whilst the decision is fine at the end of the day they have cost the EFC $800 000 and in any business that is grounds for instant dismissal.

table tennis
29 Aug 2010, 16:11
Not a good decision until there is a good replacement.

I for one am disappointed.

Ben the Gooner
29 Aug 2010, 16:12
Was he really? Plenty of people gave him a pretty good go, if he had of achaeived something on the field then I'm sure everyone would be behind him.

Absolutely he was.

Big Blow Hard
29 Aug 2010, 16:13
Hopefully Evans resigns or is ousted from the board or sacked as president and most of them are challenged. Whilst the decision is fine at the end of the day they have cost the EFC $800 000 and in any business that is grounds for instant dismissal.

David Evans did not re-sign Knights. That was the last clown wasn't it?

bombersaway
so what's the deal? Williams and richardson to take over?

yep or the other way around if richo had he's way(choco mentor)

Noddy Holder
Feel sorry for the guy. You can only do so much with the terrible list that we have. Maybe with Williams or whoever we will win one more match next year. Woopee!!:rolleyes:

westking101
29 Aug 2010, 16:14
Gee, In a way sacking Knights was the easy decision. :rolleyes:
The next decision they make better be right! :D
So is the review finished yet? :cool:

Phone
29 Aug 2010, 16:14
Feel sorry for the guy. You can only do so much with the terrible list that we have. Maybe with Williams or whoever we will win one more match next year. Woopee!!:rolleyes:

looking forward to n00bs on the main board going on about how knights didn't clean out the list.

TeamHurley
29 Aug 2010, 16:15
People on bb saying he alienated just about everyone, the players, recruiters and assistant coaches... took a my way or the highway approach. Too stubborn with his gameplan.

3 ex premiership coaches were contracted to review his gameplan and were scathing of it.

TeamHurley
29 Aug 2010, 16:16
Absolutely he was.

If we were top 5-8 this year there would be no problem.

DaSawx
29 Aug 2010, 16:17
Feel for the bloke but gotta say I'm relieved.

The total lack of defense in our gameplan after 3 years was really getting to me, then the lack of effort from the team the last 2-3 months topped it off.

Lets get someone who gets us going hard both ways, gets digusted with half arsed efforts, has us competitive at AAMI and Subiaco, and puts some ****ing pride back in the club.

BomberTime
29 Aug 2010, 16:18
Next sacking has to be Adrian Hickmott please...

ghostdog
29 Aug 2010, 16:19
People on bb saying he alienated just about everyone, the players, recruiters and assistant coaches... took a my way or the highway approach. Too stubborn with his gameplan.

3 ex premiership coaches were contracted to review his gameplan and were scathing of it.

Who?

rusman
Not a good decision until there is a good replacement.

I for one am disappointed.

:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu: Under rated post. Lets hope they have a solid sucession plan

Bomber57
Knights gone :) :) YIPPY, will renew my membership next season

rines
29 Aug 2010, 16:20

Yep.. but the alienation started a long time ago.. Lloyd was the tip of the iceberg.. and Lucas.

And not a single person with a brain could have approved of our gameplan. Was never ever going to win a premiership.. ever.

So bloody happy right now. Yes we have more pain but hopefully this time we will get a successful person with a strong background and turn this ship around.

Big Blow Hard
29 Aug 2010, 16:20
Next sacking has to be Adrian Hickmott please...

If this were facebook, I'd hit the "like" button on that.

Some won't like this, but add Gary O'Donnell to the list.

rose jam
29 Aug 2010, 16:21
Who?

Probably Robert Walls, Mark Williams, and Mark Thompson

stay true
Press conference announced for 5:30pm at Windy Hill. Will be live on Triple M.

whats_at_stake
David Evans did not re-sign Knights. That was the last clown wasn't it?

Maybe it was Horsburg? Regardless I am pretty sure Evans approved the extension right?

The Great Barry Besanko

Was interesting listening to Malthouse covering the Ess v Carl game a couple of weeks back on SEN. Made a few comments re our defending that night re not getting enough players back etc. Seemed to imply his lack of respect for our gameplan

Big Blow Hard
29 Aug 2010, 16:22
Knights gone :) :) YIPPY, will renew my membership next season

That attitude shits me. I am an Essendon member, not a Matthew Knights member. I will never hold my club to ransom like that.

kelvin_sheedy
29 Aug 2010, 16:23

David Evans has just saved us millions of dollars of revenue over the next few years.

Ask Stander, he's a CA and can explain it all.

yaco55

Took my or the highway approach - Is my line.;)

In all seriousness, I will be staggered if Alan Richardson is appointed Head Coach.

You cant have someone who is part of the current coaching panel ( been at EFC for 2 years ) undertake this position.

If true it is crazy.

TeamHurley
Who?

not sure mate. Just relaying what I read on bb but comes from a pretty realiable poster.

TeamHurley
29 Aug 2010, 16:25
David Evans has just saved us millions of dollars of revenue over the next few years.

Took the cheaper option for sure.

Bomber57

Sorry, but any good business has to know when to cut its losses, the club was bleeding and could not keep the bleeding going.

Skids
<tongue in cheek>
Bugger. This is what happens when you have too many Richmond types in your club. First Sheeds, a Richmond guy, and the way he stacked the list poorly to keep his job, then Knights, another Richmond guy. Now we're acting like Richmond sacking the coach. If we're not a rabble, we're doing a good impersonation.
</tongue in cheek>

Well, the rabble comparison is fair. I reckon Knights was an average coach on a hiding to nothing. Sheeds was useless in his last years, as Malthouse pointed out, Sheeds in his last 3 years was a worse coach than Knights. People seem to forget how shit we are because of Sheeds. Oh well, next coach will be lucky, Hirdy, Sheeds, et al. can't pull the same stunts twice. And who the **** is this 'influential' coterie group? **** me, what do they think they are? The Praetorian guard? Killing the emperor whenever it suits them to replace him? Sack the coterie group I say!!!!!
</rant>

kelvin_sheedy
29 Aug 2010, 16:27
While I'm over the moon and excited about our new era I do feel sorry for Knighter.

It's a tough and ruthless world out there and you need cold hard people to make the right decisions for the benefit of the club.

Viva la revolution and Essendon 2011. :thumbsu:

TeamHurley
29 Aug 2010, 16:27
<tongue in cheek>
Bugger. This is what happens when you have too many Richmond types in your club. First Sheeds, a Richmond guy, and the way he stacked the list poorly to keep his job, then Knights, another Richmond guy. Now we're acting like Richmond sacking the coach. If we're not a rabble, we're doing a good impersonation.
</tongue in cheek>

Well, the rabble comparison is fair. I reckon Knights was an average coach on a hiding to nothing. Sheeds was useless in his last years, as Malthouse pointed out, Sheeds in his last 3 years was a worse coach than Knights. People seem to forget how shit we are because of Sheeds. Oh well, next coach will be lucky, Hirdy, Sheeds, et al. can't pull the same stunts twice. And who the **** is this 'influential' coterie group? **** me, what do they think they are? The Praetorian guard? Killing the emperor whenever it suits them to replace him? Sack the coterie group I say!!!!!
</rant>

I think it's the nameless faceless men from NSW labour.

bombersaway
29 Aug 2010, 16:28
took my or the highway approach - is my line.;)

in all seriousness, i will be staggered if alan richardson is appointed head coach.

You cant have someone who is part of the current coaching panel ( been at efc for 2 years ) undertake this position.

If true it is crazy.

the board rate him as do port so he kind of has had the upper hand port are expected to make their anouncement soon so the pressure was on efc to move, he will be no 1 ass or head coach

i will make some phone calls and hopefully can get a def answer soon

whats_at_stake
29 Aug 2010, 16:29

The only reason we needed to be "saved" is due to the stupid decision to renew it.

It would be like me lighting a fire and then pouring water over it and claiming I am a hero.

Skids
29 Aug 2010, 16:29
I think it's the nameless faceless men from NSW labour.
****ing NSW right faction! Always meddling where they're not wanted!

Phone
29 Aug 2010, 16:30
****ing NSW right faction! Always meddling where they're not wanted!

Proves what we know, the left is better.

Ben the Gooner
29 Aug 2010, 16:31
If we were top 5-8 this year there would be no problem.

There was a "problem" from Day 1.

In essence, we've had one year which was a fair reflection of our list, one of over-achieving and one of under-achieving.

While this year was unacceptable, the last three haven't been as bad as the backlash would suggest.

Big Blow Hard
29 Aug 2010, 16:31
Off topic but **** me, the Tigers are gunna win this!!

Bomber57
29 Aug 2010, 16:32
That attitude shits me. I am an Essendon member, not a Matthew Knights member. I will never hold my club to ransom like that.

Its not holding the club to ransom it telling the club to get its shit together, better that than sitting on your hands or sticking your head in the sand, like lots here have done.:thumbsu:

TeamHurley
29 Aug 2010, 16:32
the big **** up with all of this is the 2 year contract extension.
If knights contract was running out this year it would have been seamless to get rid of him and saved us 800k.

DVD Player
29 Aug 2010, 16:33
Insider dude, if they have already selected the new coach, or have a good idea about it, when do you think it will be announced? Is it a next few days thing, or next few weeks thing?

sdb4884
29 Aug 2010, 16:33
Bravo to the Essendon board for having the balls to sack him. Our board at West Coast are ****ing pathetic letting Worsfold remain at the helm after this season.

DVD Player
29 Aug 2010, 16:35
Bravo to the Essendon board for having the balls to sack him. Our board at West Coast are ****ing pathetic letting Worsfold remain at the helm after this season.

Probably don't have the guts as he was a past player and won a flag as coach.

TeamHurley
29 Aug 2010, 16:36
There was a "problem" from Day 1.

In essence, we've had one year which was a fair reflection of our list, one of over-achieving and one of under-achieving.

While this year was unacceptable, the last three haven't been as bad as the backlash would suggest.

Yeh I agree, there was left over resentment from sheedy but I still think success or even improvement would have saved his bacon. At least the next coach won't have to put up with sheedy's ghost (hopefully).

Big Blow Hard
Its not holding the club to ransom it telling the club to get its shit together, better that than sitting on your hands or sticking your head in the sand, like lots here have done.:thumbsu:

Really? If you don't have your membership you are staking funds that go into staffing and facilities that make our club better. No membership = no voice at AGM's etc. There are better avenues to express your dissapointment.

TradeDraft
Heard Alan Richardson will be named Head Coach at the Press Conference

citizen-erased
29 Aug 2010, 16:37
some interesting things to ponder now
1-the board has to get the next coach right
2-every player has to step up. the excuse of the game plan hid a lot of deficiencies some of our regulars had
3-how long does the next coach have to get us out of the bottom 2/4?

i'd like to see us avoid Hird. 3 years up and down means we really cant afford another risk.
i think we need to go down the melbourne, north, tigers path and go a highly rated assistant coach ready to take over
Sanderson & Scott come highly rated. Not sure what Wallis & Caracella are like, but both are assisting at successful clubs.

will be good for the list to get a once over by a fresh coach too

Skids
29 Aug 2010, 16:37
the big **** up with all of this is the 2 year contract extension.
If knights contract was running out this year it would have been seamless to get rid of him and saved us 800k.

This is true. And unlike Sheeds, we wouldn't have knob saying 'he's such a legend, you can't not renew his contract.' That was ****ed. It wouldn't matter if Sheeds had've been Desmond Tutu's butthole and Mandelas left testicle. His time was up, he wasn't renewed, end of story. If we hadn't of given Knights a two year extension, we could've just not renewed. No harm no foul. I say sack the universe! Where was the NSW right faction when the board decided to renew Knights contract for two years? Why didn't they act then? Why didn't they sack Sheeds a few years earlier? Coz of bloody sheeds we have very few decent players in the 24-27 age bracket that you need. At least Knights appears to have recruited a few beauties like Melksham, Collier and Tutu's testicle.

Big Blow Hard
29 Aug 2010, 16:38
:)will be named Head Coach at the Press Conference

Hird Alan Richardson?

eastaugh36
29 Aug 2010, 16:38
Proves what we know, the left is better.

Go support Collingwood or Port Adelaide if thats who you prefer.

bombersaway
29 Aug 2010, 16:39
hird alan richardson?

def not hird romantics

Ben the Gooner
29 Aug 2010, 16:40
Heard Alan Richardson will be named Head Coach at the Press Conference

Quite possibly.

OzBomber
How can you decide a coach a couple of hours after the sacking of another?

The_Young_Gun
Yep, just saw it on channel 7..

$800,000 in the bin, gone! Just a question whether the club was pressured by supporters to get rid of knights, or that "he really" was doing a pathetic job as coach?

Good luck to knighta anyway, this would probably be the worst day of his life.. Couldn't even fulfil his full contract .etc

Don't know how to feel atm, tbh....

Phone
29 Aug 2010, 16:42
Go support Collingwood or Port Adelaide if thats who you prefer.

lol wat?