View Full Version : TV new AMC series "The Walking Dead"

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7

DivideandMultiply
29 Aug 2010, 19:51
yg46DWI_fCE

Announced to begin on Oct 31st, AMC Networks new series (have brought us Mad Man, Breaking Bad and now Rubicon) The Walking Dead has been created for television by Frank Darabont (director of Shawshank Redemtion) and producer Gale Ann Hurd (Terminator, Aliens etc.)

Based on one of the more critically lauded comic book series in recent years and certainly a fan favourite, it is a post apocalyptic tale filled with zombies, tragedy, heartache and plenty of gore.

Really, really looking forward to this. As both a fan of the original comics and AMC's short run of original series, the show looks like it could be an absolute winner. Killer director, solid cast, great story and amazing production values it will certainly rival The Broadwalk Empire as my most anticipated show this year.

Little Jerry
29 Aug 2010, 20:32
Looks good.

I've always been a fan of post apocalyptic films so I'll be checking this out for sure.

DivideandMultiply
29 Aug 2010, 20:36
Looks good.

I've always been a fan of post apocalyptic films so I'll be checking this out for sure.
First thing I thought when I heard about this was, bring on the zombie apocalypse.

AMC seems to be the new HBO so I have high hopes.

Also glad this is a TV series and not movie because it is very character driven and I don't think 2 hours could do the original comics justice.

Little Jerry
29 Aug 2010, 20:45
First thing I thought when I heard about this was, bring on the zombie apocalypse.

AMC seems to be the new HBO so I have high hopes.

Also glad this is a TV series and not movie because it is very character driven and I don't think 2 hours could do the original comics justice.

Yeah I agree, had it been on any channel except HBO and maybe SHO (because of Dexter) I doubt I'd even consider this.

ExTasDeeMan
29 Aug 2010, 22:17
Cool - Lincoln was tops in Teachers, good to see him getting some exposure across the pond.

DivideandMultiply
29 Aug 2010, 22:50
Cool - Lincoln was tops in Teachers, good to see him getting some exposure across the pond.
I loved Teachers though I only ever watched the first 2 seasons.

DivideandMultiply
15 Sep 2010, 03:57
ZrSHsZtZa4E

Quick interviews from Comic-con with some of the cast.

If Lincoln is to be believed and this stays true to the comic books in terms of impact and character development the series will be raw and very graphic.

Hurry up October........

jenniferhomes
24 Sep 2010, 20:37
It would be interseting to see that is AMC will beat its own show breaking bad or not? this new series is like zombie or something horror. I am looking forward to it.

Warsaw
24 Sep 2010, 21:41
It would be interseting to see that is AMC will beat its own show breaking bad or not? this new series is like zombie or something horror. I am looking forward to it.
What...

Got a fright looking at my EPG with 'Walking the Dead' being aired now. Fleetingly thought abc had jumped the gun on everyone.

SolidTiger
25 Sep 2010, 05:36
Looks interesting. How he wakes up in the hospital reminds me of 28 days later. I always had a problem with that a scene, why didn't they attack the person while they are in a coma? Going by that theory the best way to get by a zombie apocalypse is to pretend to sleep whenever you come across a zombie.:D

While many people many people claim that 28 days later a great movie I thought it was average. Though I believe that it was the first to introduce the "running" zombie. I thought that was a good idea because they appear to be more of a threat than the slow walking shuffling type. It also means that even one zombie can be a threat while with a walking zombie a person can easily escape it with a light jog.

Anyway I like how they made this into a T.V series. I've often thought that zombie apocalypse type stories would translate better as a T.V series. What I would like to see however is a T.V series where it starts with the cause (most likely a virus) of the zombie apocalypse is released and then shows the world slowly decending into chaos as it spreads. All the zombie movies start with a person "waking up" in an already developed apocalypse.

stabler
25 Sep 2010, 09:53
the zombie genre has been done to death.

pun intended.

Kid Presentable
25 Sep 2010, 19:22
Looks great, can never have too much zombie action!!

Warsaw
26 Sep 2010, 15:48
This is just too awesome. And it's fan made:eek:

phLVlvMKVi8

Little Jerry
26 Sep 2010, 16:00
This is just too awesome. And it's fan made:eek:

phLVlvMKVi8

For a fan made intro that is unbelievable.

Warsaw
22 Oct 2010, 09:13
Think the premiere's been leaked. Will download later.

HBK619
25 Oct 2010, 20:51
Cracking opening episode. Loves me a zombie story and this is looking to be a superb one.

It's getting a little cliche the whole "waking up in a hospital after everything has gone down" but I guess it's the only way you can really get to the meat of the action without having to go through the set up of how it all does go down.

Certainly doesn't pull any punches with plenty of violence and probably a semi-controversial opening scene too!

Definitely interested in seeing where this goes.

_JC_
26 Oct 2010, 12:31
C
It's getting a little cliche the whole "waking up in a hospital after everything has gone down" but I guess it's the only way you can really get to the meat of the action without having to go through the set up of how it all does go down.

Definitely agree, with the hospital thing. Its not that hard to think of a situation in which someone is out of contact with the world for a few days to a week.

Apart from that, seemed pretty good. Lol'd at his oh shii moment in the city when he went round the corner.

Also vale horse.

Little Jerry
30 Oct 2010, 16:40
Absolutely loved the first episode.

Zombies movies/TV shows with storys similar to this just don't get old.

NSWCROW
4 Nov 2010, 00:12
Loved it. :thumbsu:

Chief
4 Nov 2010, 00:33
Definitely agree, with the hospital thing. Its not that hard to think of a situation in which someone is out of contact with the world for a few days to a week.
Day of the Triffids was the first one to do something like that I think.

Apparently it was a good first episode. Of course I'll have to wait until it comes to Aus... probably at 1AM on Wednesdays... on SevenTwo.

I've been reading the comics - about half way through. Dialogue is pretty average but the story is solid.

Escobar123
4 Nov 2010, 01:09
Can't wait for the next episode :thumbsu:

flight23
4 Nov 2010, 01:11
love a good head shot

smiths
4 Nov 2010, 02:28
Was a good start to a promising series.

In a couple weeks it could be a real contender along with Dexter for my first downloaded show on Monday.

hawks_time
4 Nov 2010, 06:11
I enjoyed it. I liked the black guy, pity he's not in the rest of the series.

Ryz
4 Nov 2010, 07:48
I enjoyed it. I liked the black guy, pity he's not in the rest of the series.

Does this constitute a spoiler?

hawks_time
4 Nov 2010, 12:13
Does this constitute a spoiler?
I thought about it, but I mean he's obviously not an integral part to the series. I only knew because I checked on IMDB and he's not listed. So it's not a lives or he dies scenario, you just don't see him again. I believe.

Kid Presentable
5 Nov 2010, 14:51
Terrific debut. Captured the mood just right.

Warsaw
5 Nov 2010, 17:29
Loved Morgan trying to headshot his wife. Done well. Hoping we see more of him and his kid.

red+black
7 Nov 2010, 01:33
New vodcast "This Week In Walking Dead" which will become a weekly series.

http://thisweekin.com/thisweekin-walking-dead/

cDzU9L6sVNI

Juicy1
8 Nov 2010, 18:00
Loved Morgan trying to headshot his wife. Done well. Hoping we see more of him and his kid.

I reckon we will see them again after some target practice.

Bit disappointed in Shane, cutting his mates grass so quickly.

Little Jerry
8 Nov 2010, 19:01
I reckon we will see them again after some target practice.

Bit disappointed in Shane, cutting his mates grass so quickly.

Saw that coming the moment Rick went into the coma.

Punchy Bassett
8 Nov 2010, 20:12
Saw that coming the moment Rick went into the coma.

I'm wondering if it was happening even before the coma.....

lions_den
8 Nov 2010, 21:11
I was bored with the opener, probably won't keep watching.

Little Jerry
8 Nov 2010, 22:16
2nd episode was average compared to the first. Still good though.

Warsaw
9 Nov 2010, 00:21
Crazy that they can show bloody and guts like that but you can't say ****. Thought them doing that, covering themselves up, was good.

I hope that Glenn kid isn't planning on doing a runner from the rest of the group, liked him.

Even though the racist guy was a wanker and deserved it, sorta gotta feel for him being left up there and not just being killed or at least being in a place where he could get Zombified...

smiths
9 Nov 2010, 00:30
I don't think the racist guy is dead.

When the black guy tripped over, the camera emphasised on the handsaw for a brief sec so I would not be surprised if he comes back later down the track.

_JC_
9 Nov 2010, 14:04
I don't think the racist guy is dead.

When the black guy tripped over, the camera emphasised on the handsaw for a brief sec so I would not be surprised if he comes back later down the track.

Yeah i agree. I think he could end up being a kind of villain.

hawks_time
9 Nov 2010, 18:31
Already been picked up for a second season (http://twitter.com/RobertKirkman/status/1770681343676416).

CaptainDangerfield
10 Nov 2010, 18:04
I'm wondering if it was happening even before the coma.....

yeah definately. Love a good Zombie show and this is a cracker. Can't wait for episode 3.

exit
14 Nov 2010, 08:52
2nd episode was average compared to the first. Still good though.
Agree with this, but it's done enough to keep my attention for now. I know some people who have read the comics and really enjoyed the story, so I'm sticking by it for now. Come on episode 3, keep me interested. Not much else worth watching these days. IMO.

Little Jerry
14 Nov 2010, 09:41
I've never read the comics before. Is this season following the same plot as the comics or is it just loosely based on it?

exit
14 Nov 2010, 10:50
I've never read the comics before. Is this season following the same plot as the comics or is it just loosely based on it?
According to a source, the first episode was just like reading the comic. Haven't spoken to him since watching the second, but it does appear to be following the same plot.

Chief
16 Nov 2010, 08:38
Yeah it is pretty close to the comics. Second ep departs a little bit.

Though in the comics Lori and Shane don't really have a full on affair. They really make her look bad in the show!

Little Jerry
16 Nov 2010, 12:11
Third episode was lacking some serious zombie killing.

NSWCROW
16 Nov 2010, 23:14
Gee..didn't old Shane wake up on the wrong side of the bed !!!! :eek:

red+black
17 Nov 2010, 18:10
I mentioned one review show earlier in the thread: http://thisweekin.com/thisweekin-walking-dead/

Found another one: http://www.thinkhero.com/?s=walking

AMC site (only available to the US) has a Making Of:

dL0OAhq6cpA

E7gYbnspwGg

ausde13
20 Nov 2010, 09:17
Wathced 1st 3 Eps. Enjoying it. Some insane graphic blood and guts but good show

http://www.couchtuner.com/the-walking-dead/

VicO
21 Nov 2010, 21:26
Loving the first three eps. Read the first 60 comics which were very good also and hoping the show goes in a slightly different direction so things aren't spoiled. Personally I don't like a lot of action in my zombie flicks, the quiet eeriness, the empty vastness is what really makes them good.

Little Jerry
22 Nov 2010, 18:04
Such an epic ending to what was a pretty lousy episode. I just didn't buy the the whole old folks scene. Daryl is also really starting to grow on me as a character.

I had a feeling something was going to happen with one of the sisters just based on the scene between the two at the beginning.

Warsaw
23 Nov 2010, 00:59
I thought that the younger sister was going to come up zombified and attack her older sister. But I guess she's actually dead.

Thought it was a pretty good episode, though I would of much preferred to see a shootout.

FIGJAM
23 Nov 2010, 08:29
I thought that the younger sister was going to come up zombified and attack her older sister. But I guess she's actually dead.
Surely they'd have had to have killed the brain, or do you only get infected via a non-fatal attack?

These things keep me up at night...

Little Jerry
23 Nov 2010, 13:21
I'm pretty sure you die then come back to life, hence the name of the show.

So unless they kill her brain she will come back to life.

tombomb
23 Nov 2010, 18:53
great ending, love the final quote "i remember my dream now ... why i dug the holes"

agree that the standoff scene was a bit of a let down, the way the cop was carrying on I was convinced that he had something really clever planned to ensure they kept the guns and got the kid.

I reckon they will bury that sister and then she will pop out of the ground like the old school zombie movies.

VicO
26 Nov 2010, 18:23
Awesome episode, although they really do make the endings insane cliffhangers like the comics.

Little Jerry
1 Dec 2010, 12:49
Five episode wasn't too bad. I don't understand why Jim wanted to become zombified(?) instead of just killing himself.

Its disappointing that next weeks the season finale already. It seems like the show just got started.

HBK619
1 Dec 2010, 15:15
Yeah, it's gonna suck that it'll be done next week.

In terms of Jim, well, for one I don't think they wanted to kill him before he was actually dead ("we don't kill the living" line earlier in the ep about him) and also he didn't want the group to be out a gun when all that will happen to him is he kills himself and they've now lost a gun that could be potentially crucial.

Loving the series so far, it's got it's ups and downs but it's certainly a top notch series. And apparently this CDC take on things is completely different to anything from the comics, so it'll be interesting to see how this makes the series better or worse.

Interesting development though that the entire writing staff have been layed off by Frank Darabont, with him wanting to opt for a more open writing team.

http://au.tv.ign.com/articles/113/1137550p1.html

Fwoy
1 Dec 2010, 16:43
gotta love the brains hitting the camera lens in the head smashing scene.

Kid Presentable
2 Dec 2010, 09:02
Interesting development though that the entire writing staff have been layed off by Frank Darabont, with him wanting to opt for a more open writing team.

http://au.tv.ign.com/articles/113/1137550p1.html

Makes sense based on what has happened - 2 eps written by Darabont, 2 eps written by non staffers (including the comic author). That leaves 1 ep for the staff. They are the Mitchell Johnson of television.

Little Jerry
6 Dec 2010, 23:21
Final episode was a bit of a let down for me. It was a slow episode and just didn't feel epic like a season finale for a show like this should.

flight23
7 Dec 2010, 00:51
bit of a let down for me as well

reminded me of desmond from lost in the hatch

the blowing up of the facility did nothing for me and they made it out like the whole world blew up

the redneck guy is the only one i really like

Warsaw
7 Dec 2010, 01:35
Sort of counting it as a mini season really. Like a Part A of a season, but still didn't mind it. Pissed me off when the old man decided to stay, because you know the sister would go. Not that I don't like the characters but if your going to commit to something, commit.

They had to give us a Lost in Translation moment :rolleyes:

Bond,ShaneBond
8 Dec 2010, 06:54
Damn good season. It did start to tire in the last couple of episodes, but nothing that can't be ironed out. According to Wikipedia, one of the best characters hasn't even been introduced yet but will come in early season 2 so that should give it a kick.

The old man and the blonde woman are my two shittest characters, I was so shattered that they got out. All that woman does is pull her gun on the sheriff or sook. She had to go.

So, I will be very happy this time next year when season 2 comes out.

HigginsHawk
10 Feb 2011, 09:23
I'm not a downloader so my question does anybody know if there is a FTA or pay Australian debut likely anytime soon?

I would have though Scifi or Showtime would have picked it up already.

hamG
10 Feb 2011, 09:46
The show started great but has plummeted so much I wish all the characters would die except the main guy who should get back on his mother****ing horse and go find a new bunch of people.

wowwe
13 May 2011, 04:34
Started watching this 2 days days before a big uni assignment was due which was a terrible idea. Obviously after the first episode its impossible to stop, havent been so invested in a show after just the pilot since Dexter. Shame the second season wont be out til October.

red+black
13 May 2011, 07:21
I concur with those who were excited initially then disappointed later on.

For those that haven't seen Dead Set (5-part British Zombie series), find it. I watched it for the first time after watching The Walking Dead and I loved it.

HQjq639WPiU

wowwe
14 May 2011, 04:56
I concur with those who were excited initially then disappointed later on.

For those that haven't seen Dead Set (5-part British Zombie series), find it. I watched it for the first time after watching The Walking Dead and I loved it.

HQjq639WPiU
Cheers mate, just watched the first ep and im hooked. Loving the Zombies being speedy manic ****ers rather than slow lumbering meat sacks.

Mr Eagle
18 May 2011, 21:54
Just binged my way through Season 1. Fan-bloody-tastic.

flight23
18 May 2011, 22:05
just watched Dead set - great show

loved the ending, great ending

love it when hollywood doesn't get a look in

Equus
28 May 2011, 16:04
Watched two episode so far. Amazing.

Did anybody else find it hilarious when Glenn said that the dead zombie was also a "organ donor" before they commenced hacking him? I couldn't stop myself laughing.

Fwoy
10 Jun 2011, 09:56
http://www.digitalspy.com.au/ustv/s135/the-walking-dead/news/a323913/walking-dead-season-two-first-image-released.html

red+black
10 Jun 2011, 10:28
The show needs to improve. I was super eager for the first couple episodes but by the end, I wasn't impressed overall. Given that it was only 6 eps, I reckon I should go back and watch it again. It seemed to have so much promise.

drd23
10 Jun 2011, 16:20
The show needs to improve. I was super eager for the first couple episodes but by the end, I wasn't impressed overall. Given that it was only 6 eps, I reckon I should go back and watch it again. It seemed to have so much promise.

It did, for the first 2-3 episodes but clearly went downhill from there. I think I've got to stop expecting so much out of AMC shows because their last 3 (Rubicon, The Walking Dead & The Killing) have all been disappointing IMO

flight23
10 Jun 2011, 16:40
It did, for the first 2-3 episodes but clearly went downhill from there. I think I've got to stop expecting so much out of AMC shows because their last 3 (Rubicon, The Walking Dead & The Killing) have all been disappointing IMO

i actually loved Rubicon, that show having a really slow pace seemed to suit the theme of the show, same with the killing, they're both shows that in real life would take a long time to catch a break (if that makes sense) they both felt like actual dramas

zombies are zombies, needs to be high octane constant edge of your seat stuff, there was to much emotion and not enough tension and the finale was just crapola

i hear what you're saying though and know where you're coming from, just feel a little different about them

drd23
10 Jun 2011, 18:17
i actually loved Rubicon, that show having a really slow pace seemed to suit the theme of the show, same with the killing, they're both shows that in real life would take a long time to catch a break (if that makes sense) they both felt like actual dramas

zombies are zombies, needs to be high octane constant edge of your seat stuff, there was to much emotion and not enough tension and the finale was just crapola

i hear what you're saying though and know where you're coming from, just feel a little different about them

The pace of Rubicon is what did me. I couldnt get into it at all and gave up after the 3rd episode, but I heard it got better as the season went on. Might have to give it another look when I dont have anything on.

As for The Killing, I dont mind the pace. Its the huge plot holes, shodding detective work and poor casting/acting that annoys me.

Both shows look great, had heaps of promise early and are better than the average show if im truthful. I think because they were AMC dramas, I had built up a certain expectation because of Mad Med and Breaking Bad and they failed to live up to those lofty expectations.

I agree that there was too much emotion in The Walking Dead for a zombie show. Hopefully now that the writers/show runner knows that they've got a whole 13 ep order they can work on it properly and live up to the promise it showed in the first 2 eps

red+black
11 Jun 2011, 04:35
Safe to say that HBO shows >>> AMC shows?

drd23
11 Jun 2011, 08:17
Safe to say that HBO shows >>> AMC shows?

Mad Men & Breaking Bad (both AMC shows obviously) >>>> Every other drama still in production

Bond,ShaneBond
11 Jun 2011, 08:52
Mad Men & Breaking Bad (both AMC shows obviously) >>>> Every other drama still in production

True, but Boardwalk Empire and Treme have the potential to put HBO drama back on top.

Plus, HBO have the credits in the bank. It depends if you are going on current or all time. All time is obviously HBO, but AMC is currently in front.

Admiral Afterworld
3 Jul 2011, 21:24
Watched the first season over the last few days.

I've enjoyed it :thumbsu: Can't say I have a raging boner for it like I do some other shows but it's enjoyable. Reminds me of Lost a bit. Having a full 13 episodes in the second season hopefully will give it a bit more.

the zombie genre has been done to death.

pun intended.

In the form of horror films and shit films aimed at teens it's been done to death for sure but as a dramatic television series I've never seen it been done before.

And Dead Set gets far too much praise. After the initial parts with the Big Brother-spin it pretty quickly turned into a generic zombie story that wasn't terribly distinct or good. If you ignore the "The characters were on Big Brother so didn't know lol" it could have been any generic zombie story. Perhaps I'm harsh on it.

Geelong_Sicko
10 Jul 2011, 13:47
No further details yet but according to IMDB.com here's the U.S episodes airing dates - can't imagine 'Straya being too far behind;

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1520211/episodes#season-2

FlyingBurittoBro
19 Jul 2011, 16:37
HNmwf_cI8q0

Crimson Azure
20 Jul 2011, 09:26
Just watched the fiorst two episodes last night, quite graphic but interesting none the less.

drd23
20 Jul 2011, 10:14
Just watched the fiorst two episodes last night, quite graphic but interesting none the less.

Thats as good as the first season gets Im afraid :(. Hopefully it gets back to the level of quality as in the pilot for the 2nd season

Dagless
20 Jul 2011, 15:20
Slow zombies or fast zombies?

If slow I'll purchase with fervour.

raven echo
20 Jul 2011, 15:37
I didn't enjoy the first season at all but apparently they sacked the entire writing staff from season 1, so I'm willing to give it another go and see if it is any better this time round.

HBK619
20 Jul 2011, 17:44
Slow zombies or fast zombies?

If slow I'll purchase with fervour.Mainly slow.

Crimson Azure
28 Jul 2011, 19:33
October 16 it airs season two 4:40 trailer:

1OZ0mu8Ey6A&feature=player_embedded#at=45

Sterge10
29 Jul 2011, 17:14
October 16 it airs season two 4:40 trailer:

1OZ0mu8Ey6A&feature=player_embedded#at=45

trailer looks good, I didnt mind the first season really

whoopsman
31 Jul 2011, 21:56
Very much looking forward to the second season and am glad they have taken a different road to the comic storyline.

saintsrfreak
13 Oct 2011, 17:54
Just finished the first season, what do guys reckon happened to Merle? I was hoping to see more of him in season 1.

Hodgepodge
13 Oct 2011, 19:18
Just finished the first season, what do guys reckon happened to Merle? I was hoping to see more of him in season 1.

If Merle is the bad dude then I'm sure he returns to wreak havoc.

Slow zombies, btw . . . which I prefer.

Little Jerry
17 Oct 2011, 16:15
Downloading the first episode now. So pumped.:thumbsu:

Little Jerry
17 Oct 2011, 21:58
Solid start. Should be a good season.

You guys think they'll find the girl?

Atheist
17 Oct 2011, 23:46
I'm finding it impossible to like any of the characters, especially the Sheriff's wife.

red+black
18 Oct 2011, 00:27
anyone got any download or streaming links* for the 6 webisodes?

* that play in Australia

I grabbed them from http://www.movieweb.com/news/watch-all-six-the-walking-dead-webisodes but they're a bit small.

I think I need to invest in a VPN. Sick of this geoblocking BS.

saintsrfreak
18 Oct 2011, 12:32
That episode was AMAZING!

Punchy Bassett
18 Oct 2011, 15:08
I was underwhelmed to be honest, more travelling on random roads and getting stuck with car repairs.

Saint KFC
18 Oct 2011, 15:20
I'm finding it impossible to like any of the characters, especially the Sheriff's wife.

****ing hate the missing girl's mum.

Favourite character is easily Merle's brother. Seems to be one of the very few who isn't an emotionally driven idiot.

How hard is it to shut the **** up for 5 extra seconds when you're in an RV toilet cubicle? Zombies are walking around so, you know, just to be safe?

Crawl out from under a car, instead of running down the road/closer to the rest of the crew who can bludgeon the zombie to death, run into the ****ing forest instead.

Don't even remember half of the stupid shit from last season but definitely feel the same with regards to caring for the characters. Barely a rational brain between them.

saintsrfreak
18 Oct 2011, 17:48
Darryl is easily my favourite character as well.

Pancakes
18 Oct 2011, 21:25
The first 20 minutes was pretty good, the next 40 minutes was completely shit. The last 10 seconds was good again.

The best bit was the SS symbol on Daryl's bike. Funny how a racist redneck is easily the best character on the show.