View Full Version : preview NAB AFL Draft

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

HFF_07
9 Sep 2010, 00:13
As we edge closer and closer to draft time, I thought that it is about time we stickied a draft only thread for all things draft..

Here you are able to put up your opinion on players who you would like to see Essendon draft and why, try and go deeper, not just go the first pick, but try and go deeper.

Any ways, here is what I am thinking what is going to happen.

4 National Draft Spots (Before Exchange Period), 4 Rookie Draft Spots

National Draft:

# 8: Inside Midfielder: Brodie Smith: Smith is the man I want, an explosive type who has been likened to Chris Judd in his pack busting runs and explosiveness from the pack.. A couple of extra things I like about Smith is his leadership exploits so far in his short career having captained the U18 South Australian team, whilst I also find his ability to play down back as another very, very enticing thing to have, especially in our dire straights at the moment..

# 30: Inside Midfielder: Cameron Gutherie: A very solid choice at this stage, more a safe bet in this middle stage of the draft. Gutherie is an extremely good tackler and is very tidy by hand and foot without being spectacular. He gets his own ball and would certainly benefit from being in a more professional enviroment.

# 47: Best Available: Would like to see us go with Best Available here as they need to get some quality late, someone like a Blayne Wilson, Reece Conca may slip, so nab them A.S.A.P.

# 74: Ben Howlett Rookie Upgrade: After a breakout year, Howlett will surely be upgraded to the senior list and stay there for the next couple of years.

ROOKIE DRAFT:

Round 1: Ruckmen: Pick the best remaining ruckmen, someone like a Johnathan Ceglar or a Ben Brown may still be left come this time. So expect us to nab a ruckmen in the rookie draft.

Round 2: Small Defender: A small defender is definitely on the cards I imagine, I may be criticised for saying this but a young Michael Stockdale (20) from Casey Scorpions would be a very good addition to our squad and a player that could push out labourers such as Henry Slattery or Mark Mcveigh.

Round 3: Midfielder: More midfielders must surely be on the cards, hopefully we can find some more quality on our rookie list having been lucky of late with some gems found here in Howlett, Hocking and potentially Silverlock.

Round 4: Best Available: Try and take someone that could potentially be a star. Try and unearth the next budding gem from the rookie list, would be a steal if we could land a Barlow or a Broughton.

So in summary we will have added:

Midfielders: x 3
Small Defender x 1
Ruckmen x 1
Best Available x 2
Ben Howlett Rookie Upgrade

OK guys, lets see what you have got, put your neck out there and predict what we are going to draft for, put some names out there that you would like us to pick up..

Discuss??

--------------------------------------------------------------------

Just editing the OP

The list of Draft Combine attendees is out and this is the list
here (http://www.afl.com.au/development/nabaflrisingstarsprogram/nabafldraftcombine/meettheplayers/tabid/16667/default.aspx)[/URL]

Gives a profile of all the attendees as well as a clip from the prospective draftee.

Enjoy

HFF_07

keepzitreal
9 Sep 2010, 11:06
Starting to hear a bit about this Brodie Smith.. are we any realistic shot at getting him or will he be well and truly gone by then?

table tennis
9 Sep 2010, 11:36
If jetta plays midfield which he is more suited to, then we can afford to draft one less midfielder and get a goal kicking small forward. Monfries is a lead up, Williams a lead up, davey is a defensive forward. We lack a ballantyne/Milne type.

Basically draft a pest

Slattery_20
9 Sep 2010, 11:46
Mid mid ruckman mid back pocket; or maybe mid ruckman mid mid back pocket.

That's the mix tho. Mainly mids.
Improve on Quinn, improve on Laycock, improve on whichever midfielder gets cut off the main list.

yaco55
9 Sep 2010, 14:27
HFF

Like your spread of players would prefer an extra draft selection.

bombersno1
9 Sep 2010, 15:19
Pick 8- Midfielder (Gaff/Smith/Luke Parker)
Pick 30- Small defender (best available)
Pick 47-Midfielder (either mature aged or a slider)
Pick 74- Ben Howlett (rookie upgrade)

Rookie draft
Round 1- Midfielder
Round 2- Small forward (look at the WAFL/VFL)
Round 3- Mature aged forward
Round 4- Delisted player

eth-dog
9 Sep 2010, 16:35
pick 8: Caddy- from all reports I've heard, he's pretty good. apparently suits our needs perfectly.

30: mid

47: Orren Stephenson- mostly for bendigo, but would be useful if Hille/Ryder go down.

74: Ben Howlett- upgraded

Rookie:

mid, Small Forward (crumber), Small defender, mid

Duckworth
9 Sep 2010, 17:09
I expect we will get at least 1 ruck, probably 2.

timbo3195
9 Sep 2010, 17:18
National Draft

8: Brodie Smith
30: Please slip Ben Jacobs
47: Best Available Ruckman
74: Howlett

Rookie Draft

Round 1: Ben Duscher
Round 2: Small Defender
Round 3: Inside Midfielder
Round 4: Pesty Small Forward

ceebs
9 Sep 2010, 19:37
I also really like the look of Brodie Smith and would love to get him at 8. And at 30 I wouldn't mind Mitch Hallahan.

Towno78
10 Sep 2010, 14:40
I know very little about the players in the draft, but this is the strategy I'd follow. Take 5 picks into the ND and at least 2 Rookie picks:
Pick 8: Patrick Dangerfield strong bodied inside mid type
Pick 30(ish): Dan Hannebery polished ball user type
Pick 47: Dane Swan type for more assistance inside
Pick 64: James Hird utility type who'll win us a couple of Brownlow's/premierships
Pick 81: Damien Hardwick ruthless small defender type
Rookie draft: Michael Barlow inside/outside explosive type
Dean Cox type project player
Not too fussy after this point, most needs should be met by now, so take whatever we can get :)

Kaiser Powser
10 Sep 2010, 14:45
I know very little about the players in the draft, but this is the strategy I'd follow. Take 5 picks into the ND and at least 2 Rookie picks:
Pick 64: James Hird utility type who'll win us a couple of Brownlow's/premierships
Not too fussy after this point, most needs should be met by now, so take whatever we can get :)

Cool strategy bro!

The equivalent of Dangerfield, Swan, Hird, Hannebury, Hardwick, Barlow and Cox from the one draft.

Draft of the century.

Lance Uppercut
10 Sep 2010, 15:23

hahahaha I lol'd :D

Houli2Gumbleton
10 Sep 2010, 19:15
Emma Quayle mention that Dion Prestia may be a chance at our 8th pick. Anyone know anything about him? This is all I could find.

"Dion is a very balanced on-baller with great ball-winning ability and the capacity to execute his disposal accurately on both sides of his body. One of the elite midfielders in the TAC Cup competition."

Rohan Welsh

HFF_07
10 Sep 2010, 19:28
Emma Quayle mention that Dion Prestia may be a chance at our 8th pick. Anyone know anything about him? This is all I could find.

"Dion is a very balanced on-baller with great ball-winning ability and the capacity to execute his disposal accurately on both sides of his body. One of the elite midfielders in the TAC Cup competition."

Rohan Welsh

A really good player, a litte snippet Thanks to Wall-E from the BigFooty Phantom draft.

Pick 31: Dion Prestia
DOB: 12/10/1992, Height 175cm, Weight 82kg
Club: Calder Cannons (Vic)

Dion's an inside out mid, with a very very damaging side to his game. Wins the hard ball extremely well, burrowing inside and finds targets well in traffic to release others. When he's not feeding others the ball, he's being an 80 meter player. Runs 20 kicks 60.

Top notch agility, coupled with his flash quick side-step and excellent balance, he has a sense of 'time' when he's got the footy. He's got a great work rate and a good tank to make the most of it.

Not lightning quick for his size, but he's still pretty zippy.

Understands how to run angles to receive two possessions ahead of the play. He's got a very aggressive mindset which, when close to goal, makes him a horror for opposition. He's in range with either foot outside 50.

Plays like a cross between Kerr and a hardened Montagna.

His downfall is obvious. He's short. He can go back and forward at TAC level, but he's going to be a liability when stuck under a high ball. He'll have no problems playing a small forward/half forward role before getting into the middle, but I think he's pretty right to go. Very mature body, fit and smart should see him lining up in an AFL midfield soon.

Not sure if he is good enough to be a first round pick, however he seems to have all the right tools..

Get the feeling he will slide, maybe into the third round..

I also get the feeling that we are going to take a ruckmen, i get the feeling we are going to take one in the first two rounds, or we will wait until the rookie draft..

Would love to get Ben Brown, highly rated Tasmanian kid who is a huge lump of a lad..

Adding to my third round preference, Jake Bachelor (Dandeong Stingrays) would be an ideal fit, uses the ball well and gets a bit of it to as a bit of a link up player for the Stingrays. Vic Metro representative and stiff to miss out on TAC Cup team of the year selection..

I would like to see us have 4 - 5 National Draft picks (with one rookie upgrade - Ben Howlett), hopefully have more of these picks in the earlier rounds (through astute trading).

stay true
10 Sep 2010, 19:33
At this stage, I quite like the idea of drafting Brodie Smith at 8.

HFF_07
10 Sep 2010, 19:35
Starting to hear a bit about this Brodie Smith.. are we any realistic shot at getting him or will he be well and truly gone by then?

Smith is an explosive midfielder who has been likened to a Chris Judd with his explosiveness from the pack a feature of his game..

Captain of the U/18 SA team and was named in the AA U/18 team, so two things that really stand out..

He is also versatile enough that he has played down back in the SANFL seniors and done well here.

I am seriously wanting Smith first, Caddy second then Parker third.

bombermick
11 Sep 2010, 00:24
I like the sound of Smith. An explosive midfielder in the Judd mould is exactly what we need.

Pick 8-Brodie Smith
Pick 30- Dion Prestia (his lack of height could see him slide ala our own pocket rocket)
Pick 47-Orren Stephenson-Need a ruck for life after Hille. Let him develop at Bendigo.
Pick
Pick 74-Howlett upgrade

It would be good if we could manage a 5th pick ... besides we need to clear a bit of dead wood.

bombersno1
11 Sep 2010, 02:20
Do we really need to get a ruck in the National Draft? I see more sense in targetting a mature-aged ruckman from the VFL/WAFL/SANFL who is 22/23years old as a rookie pick. Cheap, and more likely to provide adequate backup if all goes pear shaped.

lemon chicken
11 Sep 2010, 08:10
Do we really need to get a ruck in the National Draft? I see more sense in targetting a mature-aged ruckman from the VFL/WAFL/SANFL who is 22/23years old as a rookie pick. Cheap, and more likely to provide adequate backup if all goes pear shaped.

Who do you have in mind? I hear Cain Ackland and Michale Rix are tearing up the state leagues at the minute. Not exactly a vote of confidence.

lemon chicken
11 Sep 2010, 08:21
Would love to get Gorringe but highly unlikely, looks like he needs 2-3 years to build up which would fit in nicely. I only really like Gaff as far as the mids go. I think Blayne Wilson ticks a lot of boxes for us, reminds me of a better version of Heath Shaw, would use our second pick on him. Not really much to get excited about after GC rape this draft. For the rookies i want to see us head up north and find a freak fwd pocket from NT. Maybe Merv Neagle is still coaching up there and could give us a smokie.

HFF_07
11 Sep 2010, 08:47

Do we really even need a mature aged ruckmen?

1. David Hille
2. Paddy Ryder
3. Tom Bellchambers
4. Christian Bock

Depends on where the match committee rate Bellchambers I suppose. If they think he is not ready to play consistant back up senior football then we will need a mature aged ruckmen, whilst if they do think so then I would not be against the idea of taking a young ruckmen who will be 2 - 3 years away and have two developing rucks on the list (assuming Bock stays).

Then again, if Bock goes we will take one (possibly two) ruckmen in the upcoming trade/draft period, just not sure if one (or both) will be 'mature aged..

bombermick
11 Sep 2010, 11:28
We don't need to draft a mature aged ruck while we have Ryder/Hille and Bellchambers. But we do need to draft a good young ruck with a reasonably high pick for life after Hille. Perhaps one ruck this year and one next year will be enough for us. Aside from that we should be drafting mids and small backs. I'd also like us to pick up Hirdy's cousin who is ripping it apart in the VFL along with Myles Sewell.

Ben the Gooner
11 Sep 2010, 11:34
We need a ruck who's ready to replace Hille by the time Hille is done.

Even with Bellchambers there, we need three AFL ready ruckmen at any given point.

bombermick
11 Sep 2010, 12:12
Most of the better rucks of recent years have come from first round draft picks. Guys like Nic Nat, Kreuzer and McEvoy although there are exceptions such as Stanley and Roughead. I'm not sure about using a first round pick on a ruck in the next couple of years while we so desperately need gun mids.

bombersno1
11 Sep 2010, 12:17
Not when we have ZERO elite midfielders on our list. The trio of Ryder, Hille, Bellchambers is fine. I just don't see the need when we have other major issues. Of all issues, ruckmen is not a high priority.

1. Elite midfielders (or at least A Class)
2. Small Crumbing forward
3. Small defender
4. Full forward.

After those 4, then maybe ruckmen, but not before then.

bombersno1
11 Sep 2010, 12:19
Do we really even need a mature aged ruckmen?

Then again, if Bock goes we will take one (possibly two) ruckmen in the upcoming trade/draft period, just not sure if one (or both) will be 'mature aged..

Wouldn't be against trading for a ruckman on the outer somewhere. Daniel Currie from the Swans springs to mind as he is in the range and would be cheap- no idea on his contract status.

HFF_07
11 Sep 2010, 12:22
I don't even think we need small forwards.

Reimers, Davey, Jetta (at times) are all able to play there. Groom the mids first then fill thw holes later.

cAsEy_18
11 Sep 2010, 13:00
My preference:

1st pick - Josh Caddy
2nd pick - Cameron Guthrie
3rd pick - Jake Batchelor
4th pick - One of the better State league midfielders, haven't seen enough VFL/WAFL etc.. to make this call.

Can rookie list a ruckman at best, it is far from our greatest need.

bombersno1
11 Sep 2010, 13:21
I don't even think we need small forwards.

Reimers, Davey, Jetta (at times) are all able to play there. Groom the mids first then fill thw holes later.

None are crumbing forwards- Jetta and Reimers are wingmen. We need a Milne-like crumber.

HFF_07
11 Sep 2010, 13:26
My preference:

1st pick - Josh Caddy
2nd pick - Cameron Guthrie
3rd pick - Jake Batchelor
4th pick - One of the better State league midfielders, haven't seen enough VFL/WAFL etc.. to make this call.

Can rookie list a ruckman at best, it is far from our greatest need.

I am not completely sold on going to get a mature aged midfielder any more either.

If we were to get one, perhaps a relatively young one, maybe we could look at younf Michael Hibberd, whilst not quite a mid, he possess' all the attributes that could make him into a decent midfield prospect at 20 years of age from Frankston Dolphins.

bombersno1
11 Sep 2010, 14:10
What does everyone think of Valenti? Sure may not work, but as a late rookie pick is he worth it?

Ham109
11 Sep 2010, 17:06
What does everyone think of Valenti? Sure may not work, but as a late rookie pick is he worth it?not hot enough.

lethal73
11 Sep 2010, 18:12
I am not completely sold on going to get a mature aged midfielder any more either.

If we were to get one, perhaps a relatively young one, maybe we could look at younf Michael Hibberd, whilst not quite a mid, he possess' all the attributes that could make him into a decent midfield prospect at 20 years of age from Frankston Dolphins.

I agree with you here, mostly because he's my cousin...:D

reincarnated
11 Sep 2010, 18:38
Just looking at the situation...for us to land one of the better midfield player available in the draft, the following needs to happen.

- Day needs to nominate for the draft (will go before pick 8)
- Hope Darling doesn't slide
- Hope Gorringe doesn't slide
- Swallow and Bennell are locked in

That's 5 players. That leaves 2 picks ahead of us.

There are always bolters in the draft, but regardless, looking at who is available around the mark...

- Atley
- Gaff
- Smith
- Polec
- Caddy

If the draft goes as mentioned we'll have a choice of 3 of the above players.

My preference is Atley, Smith, Gaff, Polec and Caddy, in that order. But I think Atley will be gone.

Atley or Smith, I'll be extreamly happy with.

bombermick
12 Sep 2010, 00:06
Just looking at the situation...for us to land one of the better midfield player available in the draft, the following needs to happen.

There are always bolters in the draft, but regardless, looking at who is available around the mark...

- Atley
- Gaff
- Smith
- Polec
- Caddy

My preference is Atley, Smith, Gaff, Polec and Caddy, in that order. But I think Atley will be gone.

The Tigers could go for Gorringe considering their dearth of quality rucks. Vickery doesn't look overly promising. The experts have Darling going anywhere from top 5 to the second round.

enforcer7
12 Sep 2010, 07:58
ben dusher playing in the vfl under 23 young gun game today with a couple of interested clubs waching

bombermick
12 Sep 2010, 11:08
Heppell is now talked about as a potential top 3 draft choice. That could push some of the others down the pecking order. Maybe we can snag Atley. :)

table tennis
12 Sep 2010, 14:21
Heppell is a big game player apparently and in and under type.

HFF_07
12 Sep 2010, 15:35
ben dusher playing in the vfl under 23 young gun game today with a couple of interested clubs waching

Forget Duscher

Luke Potts is a far better prospect than the Doosh, still rate Benny though.

bombersno1
12 Sep 2010, 18:27
Heppell won't go top 3, that is alrwady set with Swallow, Day and Bennell the top 3 picks. After that it becomes a chook raffle. The Tigers will go for an outside midfielder. West Coast I feel will be tempted by Darling but they may play it safe and take a midfielder. Gold Coast will want a ruckman at 5 or 7.

lemon chicken
12 Sep 2010, 19:02
GC have already got Zac Smith who was named in the VFL team of the year and Nixon i think was another who played more as a fwd but was more than capable ruckman. It makes more sense they will look for a bigger bodied ruck than draft another 18yo.

After watching todays match it further confirms to me that Myles Sewell is the most over-rated player running around in the VFL. Would definitely be interested in rookieing number 4 but, Isaac Smith i think was the name.

HFF_07
12 Sep 2010, 19:09
After watching todays match it further confirms to me that Myles Sewell is the most over-rated player running around in the VFL. Would definitely be interested in rookieing number 4 but, Isaac Smith i think was the name.

In all honesty, I agree :eek:

yaco55
12 Sep 2010, 19:13
GC have already got Zac Smith who was named in the VFL team of the year and Nixon i think was another who played more as a fwd but was more than capable ruckman. It makes more sense they will look for a bigger bodied ruck than draft another 18yo.

GC may go both ways.

Get a mature age ruck ( this is essential ) and may also pick an 18 year old - Apparently their are two ruckman from SA who could go in the top 20.

GC can afford to take chances with 9 first round draft picks.

Watched GC vs Northern Bullants this year and the GC were destroyed in the rucks.

They definitely need a mature age ruckman.

lemon chicken
12 Sep 2010, 19:21
In all honesty, I agree :eek:

Looks to have been drinking his own bath water, I could of sworn Joel Reynolds was running around out there.

HFF_07
12 Sep 2010, 19:21
GC may go both ways.

Get a mature age ruck ( this is essential ) and may also pick an 18 year old - Apparently their are two ruckman from SA who could go in the top 20.

GC can afford to take chances with 9 first round draft picks.

Watched GC vs Northern Bullants this year and the GC were destroyed in the rucks.

They definitely need a mature age ruckman.

I think this as well..

With the GC selections, they will probably have the last player selection in the national draft, and could use this on a Russell Gabriel, Orren Stephenson or Johnathan Giles instead of trying to 'rookie' list these guys that alot of the clubs will try and afford to do.

HFF_07
12 Sep 2010, 19:23
Looks to have been drinking his own bath water, I could of sworn Joel Reynolds was running around out there.

I LOL'ed

HFF_07
12 Sep 2010, 19:53
I was at the 'Young Guns Game' today and was super, super impressed in particular with young Luke Potts

Potts is a 180cm, 80kg, 21 year old midfielder from Frankston Dolphins.

Potts began his career at Frankston as a small forward, before moving into the midfield rotations and doing really well. His ability to get his hands free and handball when tackled a feature. He is good in close and looks a natural there, he loves the hard stuff, laying some big tackles today and making them stick.

Potts is just as prominent as an outside wingman. He played as a linkman several times today and looked pretty pacey with a nice side step to boot. He looks good as a run and carry player who can really break the lines.

Potts, uses the ball well, kicking up to 50 meters max (on today's match) and didn't miss many targets (if any at all).

Adding to this, he was made captain of the winning red team, something he should be proud of as there were some really, really good leaders on that team (Trent Shinners, Pierce Liddle, Marc Baguley, Russel Gabriel). A leader will listen when he is being spoken to and this is something that really, really stood out today.

He would be a very, very good rookie prospect as a 21 year old. I think he would thrive in an AFL enviroment.

Thanks guys

The Fourth Son
13 Sep 2010, 18:26
Here's a roughie as a ruckman. Looks to be the Leigh Brown / Tom Hawkins second ruck / utility type except he is far more athletic and compentent in the middle. Joshua Jenkins, former bballer.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Rl3HxX38J_s

beev
14 Sep 2010, 14:08

- Atley
- Gaff
- Smith
- Polec
- Caddy

Yep, Atley or Smith would be ideal. :thumbsu:

I see GC taking mids with 5 and 7. There uncontracted players signed so far, and those to come have been mainly defenders with the exception of Rischa (and Ablett). Plus they already have some solid rucks on there list.

I expect them to take mids at 5 and 7 as they will have Day as a key forward. I expect them to then take Gorriange at 9, then another key position player at 11 as i expect Brisbane to take mid at 10 as well. If they take mids with 5 and 7 they will have 4 mids out of 5 picks with basically all the KPP's available.

Therefore....
1 - GC: Swallow (mid)
2 - GC: Bennell (mid/hff)
3 - GC: Day (kf)
4 - WCE: mid
5 - GC: mid
6 - Rich: mid
7 - GC: mid
8 - Ess: mid

So we could end up with the 5th best available midfielder, for us, the worst possible scenario.

Slattery_20
14 Sep 2010, 14:19
vaguely off-topic, but bear with me:

The best thing that could happen, in trade week, is Hawks or someone else making a big play for Dean Cox. If the Weagles need a ruck (Gorringe), that's one more mid available for us. Keeping in mind, they've gone heavily after mids in the last few years, and none of them have really kicked on. Hopefully they're happy to stick with Masten et al & hope they improve.

I suspect Richmond will go for a tall forward. One more mid available for us.
We may end up with the best non-GC mid in the draft.

yaco55
14 Sep 2010, 14:29
The Cox scenario or another mature aged ruck is almost certain.

McKenna was interviewed at the AA Dinner and stated that the GC needed to recruit a mature aged ruck.

Whether it is a Cox type or a third stringer is yet to be decided.

Mrs Mercuri
14 Sep 2010, 20:26
Lock in Brodie Smith please...... exactly what we need in 2011!!!

Lance Uppercut
14 Sep 2010, 22:06
vaguely off-topic, but bear with me:

The best thing that could happen, in trade week, is Hawks or someone else making a big play for Dean Cox. If the Weagles need a ruck (Gorringe), that's one more mid available for us. Keeping in mind, they've gone heavily after mids in the last few years, and none of them have really kicked on. Hopefully they're happy to stick with Masten et al & hope they improve.

I suspect Richmond will go for a tall forward. One more mid available for us.
We may end up with the best non-GC mid in the draft.

me rikey :thumbsu:

Godzke
15 Sep 2010, 23:09
Ah. If only we had pick #3. :(

Not to derail, but shouldn't we be waiting until after trade week? Right now it's pretty much a "best available" strategy targetting midfielders with a ruckman in the mix for the latter rounds if we can find one. Could've told you this strategy in the first half of the season or earlier. :p

efcboy
16 Sep 2010, 16:09
with the top 3 picks locked in, my top 5 rated players (in order) are:

Andrew Gaff - very good inside/outside midfield and a local boy
Daniel Gorringe - gun ruckman from SA
Ben Jacob - hbf/mid gun left foot kick. B.Goddard type
Brodie Smith - mid/hbf, contested ball winner
Shaun Atley - mid/hbf, quick, good in traffic

At pick 8 we should end up with one of these and i'm happy to simply take best available. Gorringe looks a potential gun ruckman - Hille is turning 30. If he's available i don't think they should ignore him to fill a need. Just select the best player.

bombersno1
16 Sep 2010, 17:42
Except Gorringe, I would be happy. Can we just not waste first round picks on ruckmen please- have we not learnt from the Laycock fiasco. When we are near a premiership window, we can trade for a premium ruckman. We need midfielders and one of Gaff (we won't get him, will go at 4 to WCE), Atley, Smith, Polec would do fine. I'd be leaning towards Smith.

As for ruckmen we have Ryder, Bellchambers, Hille and we'll add 1 rookie ruckman this year. That is enough. In terms of needs a ruckman is the last of our needs.

Kong
16 Sep 2010, 18:39
Never thought I'd say this, but I agree with bombersno1.

Not because of Laycock or past history, but simply because we're screaming out for midfielders. Take the best available pure midfielder (not flanker/midfielder) with the best skills.

HFF_07
16 Sep 2010, 21:18

Not because of Laycock or past history, but simply because we're screaming out for midfielders. Take the best available pure midfielder (not flanker/midfielder) with the best skills.

Is that with pick 8, or pick 31 old mate?

Kong
16 Sep 2010, 21:25
Pick 8 brah.

Imagine if we also manage to land Mundy and Jones.

I'd put $100 on us to make the finals, tbh.

Kong
16 Sep 2010, 21:26
If you (or anybody) had to rank the midfielders in terms of kicking and/or disposal skills?

bombersno1
16 Sep 2010, 21:34
Is that with pick 8, or pick 31 old mate?

Both, we should not be looking at a ruckman till the latter part of the rookie draft.

bombersno1
16 Sep 2010, 21:35

This has got to be the day..lol:eek:

HFF_07
16 Sep 2010, 21:39
Both, we should not be looking at a ruckman till the latter part of the rookie draft.

I was more reffering to if we traded out our pick 8..

bombersno1
16 Sep 2010, 21:54
I was more reffering to if we traded out our pick 8..

We better not be trading that pick, we need that to pick up a very good midfielder. I am all for moving on Houli, etc to improve pick 31 or even pick 8, but we must keep our first round draft choice.

yaco55
16 Sep 2010, 23:28
Pick 8 brah.

Imagine if we also manage to land Mundy and Jones.

I'd put $100 on us to make the finals, tbh.

Whomb

Going out on a limb.

I will bookmark it.:D

Ben the Gooner
18 Sep 2010, 10:58
Whomb

Going out on a limb.

I will bookmark it.:D

Make that two of us - I agree with Whomb there.

Kong
18 Sep 2010, 12:42
Kiss arse.

eth-dog
18 Sep 2010, 13:35
just to be different, I'll put money on Essendon finishing bottom 4 again

Kong
18 Sep 2010, 13:46
just to be different, I'll put money on Essendon finishing bottom 4 againEven if we use pick 8 on a midfielder, and land Mundy + Jones? :confused:

eth-dog
18 Sep 2010, 14:39
Even if we use pick 8 on a midfielder, and land Mundy + Jones? :confused:
I just felt like being different

Kong
18 Sep 2010, 16:36
lol fair enough.

DaSawx
18 Sep 2010, 18:14
Even if we use pick 8 on a midfielder, and land Mundy + Jones? :confused:

I reckon a new coach and gameplean, and respect for the new coach from the players will have a hell of a lot more to do with not finishing bottom 4 than any recruits.

Kong
18 Sep 2010, 19:21
I agree with that.

A sustainable game plan will make a world of difference.

I hope like hell that we get a coach that'll put the fear back in to our players; fear that if they don't do the team things (looking at you, Dempsey), they'll know about it.

DaSawx
18 Sep 2010, 19:26
Damn straight, and at least look pissed off after a poor performance.

HFF_07
19 Sep 2010, 01:46
Just revising my Draft Preview/Strategy

Any ways, here it is:

Delist:

1. Jarrod Atkinson
2. Jason Laycock
3. Sam Lonergan
4. (via trade - 1 of) Leroy Jetta/David Myers/Alwyn Davey/ Brent Stanton

Draft:

# 8: Midfielder; has to be best available and a pure midfielder. Non of this flanker that can run through the midfield crap. Would love to see one of Smith, Atley, Parker in Essendon colors next year.

# 31: Midfielder; I get the feeling this draft will run deep and a midfielder may slip. Would go best available midfielder at this stage also.

# 48: Defender; Would love a small defender here and young Jake Bachelor would be a super pick up around this mark. Rumor has it we are interested and have made contact a couple of times.

# 65: Ben Howlett; Rookie Upgrade

ROOKIES: Delist: Marigliani, Crameri, Quinn,

Rookie Draft:

1st round; Ruckmen, would love to nab a Johnathan Ceglar or a Ben Brown with out first rookie pick.

2nd round; small defender, I would look at a young state player, have a couple in mind with young Luke Potts impressing me no end with his leadership skills on full display. He is able to play inside and outside and seems like he can run and carry the ball also and has a very nice side step that helps him in tight spaces. Another player who I rate very highly is young Michael Stockdale who excelled as a lockdown defender for Casey scorpions this year and came in the top 5 in the VFL B&F in 2010.

3rd round; best available, go best available with this pick here, be it a midfielder or a small forward or perhaps a tall. Just take someone who is taleted..

David Meli; International Scholarship Holder, added to our rookie list (outside of the standard 8 allowed)..

We could potentially add two more NSW Scholarship holders in midfielder James Webster or Josh Cole (Webster more likely).

So overall we add:

2 mids
2 defenders
1 ruckmen
best available perhaps added to one of these groups whilst a NSW kid perhaps also added).
Ben Howlett upgraded to senior list.

I also forgot to add, the draft combine for ruckmen was released the other day, here (http://www.afl.com.au/tabid/208/default.aspx?newsid=102696)is the list with some profiles on some ruckmen expected to be drafted.

Towno78
19 Sep 2010, 09:08
Just revising my Draft Preview/Strategy

Any ways, here it is:

Delist:

1. Jarrod Atkinson
2. Jason Laycock
3. Sam Lonergan
4. Leroy Jetta/David Myers/Alwyn Davey/ Brent Stanton

Draft:

# 8: Midfielder; has to be best available and a pure midfielder. Non of this flanker that can run through the midfield crap. Would love to see one of Smith, Atley, Parker in Essendon colors next year.

# 31: Midfielder; I get the feeling this draft will run deep and a midfielder may slip. Would go best available midfielder at this stage also.

# 48: Defender; Would love a small defender here and young Jake Bachelor would be a super pick up around this mark. Rumor has it we are interested and have made contact a couple of times.

# 65: Ben Howlett; Rookie Upgrade

ROOKIES: Delist: Marigliani, Crameri, Quinn,

Rookie Draft:

1st round; Ruckmen, would love to nab a Johnathan Ceglar or a Ben Brown with out first rookie pick.

2nd round; small defender, I would look at a young state player, have a couple in mind with young Luke Potts impressing me no end with his leadership skills on full display. He is able to play inside and outside and seems like he can run and carry the ball also and has a very nice side step that helps him in tight spaces. Another player who I rate very highly is young Michael Stockdale who excelled as a lockdown defender for Casey scorpions this year and came in the top 5 in the VFL B&F in 2010.

3rd round; best available, go best available with this pick here, be it a midfielder or a small forward or perhaps a tall. Just take someone who is taleted..

David Meli; International Scholarship Holder, added to our rookie list (outside of the standard 8 allowed)..

We could potentially add two more NSW Scholarship holders in midfielder James Webster or Josh Cole (Webster more likely).

So overall we add:

2 mids
2 defenders
1 ruckmen
best available perhaps added to one of these groups whilst a NSW kid perhaps also added).
Ben Howlett upgraded to senior list.

I also forgot to add, the draft combine for ruckmen was released the other day, here (http://www.afl.com.au/tabid/208/default.aspx?newsid=102696)is the list with some profiles on some ruckmen expected to be drafted.
In theory that looks fairly close to what I'd be thinking HFF. Although I know nothing of the potential draftees, so I'll leave that to our recruiters who I do have faith in, but the strategy looks good.
Although, I'd be changing:
4. Leroy Jetta/David Myers/Alwyn Davey/ Brent Stanton to
4. Dyson/NLM/Winderlich/(too late but Reimers)

Also, I'd be looking at adding 1 more midfielder in there somewhere as our midfield doesn't run deep enough. You have forgotten that we are adding 1 player to the veteran's list this year and so have an additional place on our senior list, so that 1 additional midfielder would fit in there. Could be either an experienced player or a draft pick we've traded for with the outgoing players, not fussed.

Lance Uppercut
19 Sep 2010, 15:19
Delist:

4. Leroy Jetta/David Myers/Alwyn Davey/ Brent Stanton

wtf?

Why would you delist players with currency?

HFF_07
19 Sep 2010, 15:28
wtf?

Why would you delist players with currency?

I was just thinking, like right then, I should really re word that..

Players leaving Essendon in one form or another (Trade/Delist) :o

oddsok
19 Sep 2010, 15:51
I was just thinking, like right then, I should really re word that..

Players leaving Essendon in one form or another (Trade/Delist) :oEven so, why would we delist a Stanton/Jetta/Davey/Myers when we could delist a Lonergan/NLM/Dyson/Slattery. Even a Welsh or Long should go before these guys.

On the other hand if they requested a trade that would be another story.

HFF_07
19 Sep 2010, 16:03
Even so, why would we delist a Stanton/Jetta/Davey/Myers when we could delist a Lonergan/NLM/Dyson/Slattery. Even a Welsh or Long should go before these guys.

On the other hand if they requested a trade that would be another story.

OK, I have said this once, and I will say this again:

Essendon Football Club - Uncontracted players

Jarrod Atkinson - gone
Alwyn Davey - trade?
Bachar Houli - trade?/gone
Leroy Jetta - trade?/keep
Jason Laycock - gone
Sam Lonergan - keep/trade/delist
David Myers - trade?/keep
Henry Slattery - keep
Tyson Slattery - keep
Brent Stanton - trade?/keep
Michael Still - keep/rookie

Stuart Crameri - gone
Marcus Marigliani - gone
Christian Bock - keep
Ben Howlett - upgrade
Michael Quinn - gone
Taite Silverlock - keep
John Williams - gone

As I mentioned earlier, people are not going to come to us and ask about NLM, or Dyson. Why, they hardly played this year and are a best 25 in a bottomw 4 team.. WOW :eek: :p

So that means we must delist/trade a minimum three players from our list.

Atkinson and Laycock are gone, whilst I would hope that the EFC make some tough decisions and grow a pair of balls and trade out a Houli/Myers/Jetta/Stanton and get a quality kid in the draft..

Would prefer we keep (in my order)
1. Jetta
2. Myers
3. Houli
4. Stanton

lemon chicken
19 Sep 2010, 17:02
Would definitely be interested in rookieing number 4 but, Isaac Smith i think was the name.

Edit. i wish. This kid could go top 30.

yaco55
19 Sep 2010, 18:22
HFF

Dont see why we couldn't offer a M.Williams or Prismall - I know they are contracted - But have little to offer the footy club.

Lance Uppercut
19 Sep 2010, 18:45
gosh I hope we get Smith

Kong
19 Sep 2010, 18:48
Does anybody have links to footage of these players?

Might be worthwhile posting up a few threads on our potential draftees.

HFF_07
19 Sep 2010, 19:26
HFF

Dont see why we couldn't offer a M.Williams or Prismall - I know they are contracted - But have little to offer the footy club.

I just don't think people would bother trying to offer up a 4th round pick for these players. Value certainly would have dropped after the shenanigans that Knights put our club through..

yaco55
19 Sep 2010, 23:36
I just don't think people would bother trying to offer up a 4th round pick for these players. Value certainly would have dropped after the shenanigans that Knights put our club through..

More a case of trying to save cap space if they dont feature in the coaches plans.

Seems pointless to be paying 600-700K for no result.

Slattery_20
20 Sep 2010, 09:23
Why would we delist Willo after 1 year, or try and trade him for the peanuts he'd currently be worth?
His injury problems weren't his troublesome knees. That would be a worry. This year he had one-off injuries.
Still our most proven goal-kicker.

Towno78
20 Sep 2010, 11:36
HFF

On exposed form, who at our club has claims to be a better footballer than Williams?
Fletcher and Watson probably. No one else.

I just cannot fathom the stupidity of how many people on here suggest Williams has nothing to offer us.

If Williams had played the exact same career to date in Essendon colours rather than Hawthorn, he would be a hero at Essendon and untouchable. Instead, at just 27 years of age, coming off a not so serious ankle injury that he was minmanaged through this year, he apparently has nothing to offer. :confused:

Slattery_20
20 Sep 2010, 11:49
As I mentioned earlier, people are not going to come to us and ask about NLM, or Dyson. Why, they hardly played this year and are a best 25 in a bottomw 4 team.. WOW :eek: :p

You may be surprised to know that most recruiting managers actually keep files for more than a year. Shock!
Freo enquired about Dyson 2 years back. Wouldn't surprise me if they ask again.

Billy Bob65
20 Sep 2010, 12:16
Why would we delist Willo after 1 year, or try and trade him for the peanuts he'd currently be worth?
Because his youtube highlights sucked. Get with the program Slattery_20.

HFF_07
20 Sep 2010, 17:34
You may be surprised to know that most recruiting managers actually keep files for more than a year. Shock!
Freo enquired about Dyson 2 years back. Wouldn't surprise me if they ask again.

Stephen Hill or Ricky Dyson?

Seems the Dockers have a great blueprint for success and seriously doubt they will enquire about any of our players at all.

yaco55
21 Sep 2010, 00:19
On exposed form, who at our club has claims to be a better footballer than Williams?
Fletcher and Watson probably. No one else.

I just cannot fathom the stupidity of how many people on here suggest Williams has nothing to offer us.

If Williams had played the exact same career to date in Essendon colours rather than Hawthorn, he would be a hero at Essendon and untouchable. Instead, at just 27 years of age, coming off a not so serious ankle injury that he was minmanaged through this year, he apparently has nothing to offer. :confused:

Williams has suffered injury interrupted seasons in 2007/2009/2010.

That is 3 seasons in the last 4.

No certainty how he will go in 2011 - And he played more games for Bendigo than Essendon.

I am suggesting throw up their names and see if there is any interest.

It is more than likely that Williams and Prismall will stay.

Slattery_20
21 Sep 2010, 07:53
Stephen Hill or Ricky Dyson?

Seems the Dockers have a great blueprint for success and seriously doubt they will enquire about any of our players at all.
LOL.
Any idea who runs around in #7, #9, #26 for them??? :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

Again for the slow learners:
1 shit year doesn't turn OK players into complete spuds, apart from bigfooty/goldfish-memory world. Particularly when said players were out injured for the bulk of it.
Conversely, 1 good year doesn't turn their entire list into complete superstars.Freo's depth is still guys like Schammer, Dodd & Hinkley. ie NFG.

At least 3 of our current list have been on their radar in previous years.

hank31
21 Sep 2010, 09:01
LOL.
Any idea who runs around in #7, #9, #26 for them??? :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

Again for the slow learners:
1 shit year doesn't turn OK players into complete spuds, apart from bigfooty/goldfish-memory world. Particularly when said players were out injured for the bulk of it.
Conversely, 1 good year doesn't turn their entire list into complete superstars.Freo's depth is still guys like Schammer, Dodd & Hinkley. ie NFG.

At least 3 of our current list have been on their radar in previous years.

Well said slatts! I'm getting so sick of our over emotional twits on our board who constantly are bashing stants, pris and co.

Ah what am I saying, I think I'm just sick of BF and the crap most posters bring to the table about certian players...

Slattery_20
21 Sep 2010, 09:12
Boy this thread's got off-topic.

hank31
21 Sep 2010, 09:24
Boy this thread's got off-topic.

Yeh sorry about my little rant.. Back on topic.. TBH I think our recruiting staff have done a good job with The last few years drafting getting Pears, hooker, myers, bellchambers, Hurley, Zaharakis, Slattery, melksham, Carlisle, colyer, long, hardingham, silverlock and howlett... All in all it's a pretty good effort for 3 years drafting, hope the continue the good work this year... Also the 2 previous drafts to what I mentioned have been pretty handy!

stay true
22 Sep 2010, 18:04
I'm pretty sure I still want Smith at 8.

hank31
23 Sep 2010, 07:33

If Gaff slides?

Would people be disappointed with Gorringe??

I can honestly say in the short term i would be, but in the long term he could be a beauty...

Really would love mids with 1st 2 picks

Duckworth
23 Sep 2010, 09:48

I7G9KeEjyg8

Some interesting highlights. I like Smith too. Can win his own ball, is quick and a long kick.