View Full Version : Forward thinking... McKinley, Gamble, Knights, Jones, Mundy
What do people think? Forward line didn't work this year, think the Dons should seriously look at all of McKinley, Gamble and Knights. All over 22 yrs of age, be good to bolster the age bracket of 22-26 with these guys. With a new club and more opportunities they could be a real go.
Before everyone looses the plot, i think they could release Gus into the midfield and Hardingham to a back flank. Throw Paddy at full forward with a fit Willo at his feet, think it would be a good over haul for the side.
Thoughts?
On the midfield front, news has indicated that the Dons are keen on Nathan Jones from the Dee's. Think he would add some toughness and grunt into the middle that was lacking this year, and the addition of Mundy would certainly add some class.
Thoughts?
table tennis
14 Sep 2010, 17:46
If we can keep pick 8 and snare mundy and Nathan jones. I will be stoked.
Don't see either of them leaving now though.
Ethernia
14 Sep 2010, 18:00
With a fit Williams, all we would need to do is improve our delivery into the 50, don't think we need recruit any forwards.
Mid is the main issue.
Darealrath
14 Sep 2010, 18:06
With a fit Williams, all we would need to do is improve our delivery into the 50, don't think we need recruit any forwards.
Mid is the main issue.
:thumbsu:
I like Jones, wouldn't give up pick 8 but would give up our second round pick in a heartbeat, though I think it would take more than that.
Skeeta Olly
14 Sep 2010, 18:27
Gamble and McKinely.
No.
Dunn - Well Done
14 Sep 2010, 18:36
I dont think we need any more forward either
We need to wait for Gumbelton/Neagle to develop which will take a bit of time, but Gumby was awesome this year and showed great signs. Neagle isnt going to be that special of a player, but i reckon he can be a 40 goal kicker in a year player. If he doesnt develop than we always have the option of our resting ruckmen or Hurley whos a big ace for us.
Davey, Jetta, Williams (as the small forwards who add pressure and crumb)
Neagle, Gumby (Good enough spine players when fully developed)
Hardingham (x factor player)
Monfries (defensive forward who does his role week in and kicks a few for us)
We need to develop our midfield and add players to it. Mundy is our man. If we get him than we should look alright. Mundy is an important line breaker that we are missing. I personally would like to see Dempsey push up and play a permanent win position and have Watson (our Luke Ball inside hard ball get midfielder), Stanton (our Dane Swan, isnt as good), Mundy if we can get him (our Pendlebury, clearance player with polish and skill can also run and create), Winderlich on the wing (our daisy thomas).
Probably need to get a tagger in there which could possibly mean Dempsey goes back to a HBF if we get Mundy. Mundy, Stanton, Winders gives us enough run and carry break the line footy. I think Mundy would really just complete our team. Means Stanton doesnt get tagged. Need Winders to step up majorly next year and we will start to be complete.
Our backline probably needs a bit of help. Flecther, Pears, hooker and Hurley are fine. We lack a player who can play on a small forward and a player that can give us run and carry. We probably need 3 good quality HBF X 2 and BP x 1. Myers is also the player that needs to step it up for us to help put our only Dempsey. Might need to look at a quality back pocket who can not only defend well but have skill.
BTW i would happily hand over pick 8 for Mundy or our second round pick + Jetta
I dont think we need any more forward either
We need to wait for Gumbelton/Neagle to develop which will take a bit of time, but Gumby was awesome this year and showed great signs. Neagle isnt going to be that special of a player, but i reckon he can be a 40 goal kicker in a year player. If he doesnt develop than we always have the option of our resting ruckmen or Hurley whos a big ace for us.
Davey, Jetta, Williams (as the small forwards who add pressure and crumb)
Neagle, Gumby (Good enough spine players when fully developed)
Hardingham (x factor player)
Monfries (defensive forward who does his role week in and kicks a few for us)
We need to develop our midfield and add players to it. Mundy is our man. If we get him than we should look alright. Mundy is an important line breaker that we are missing. I personally would like to see Dempsey push up and play a permanent win position and have Watson (our Luke Ball inside hard ball get midfielder), Stanton (our Dane Swan, isnt as good), Mundy if we can get him (our Pendlebury, clearance player with polish and skill can also run and create), Winderlich on the wing (our daisy thomas).
Probably need to get a tagger in there which could possibly mean Dempsey goes back to a HBF if we get Mundy. Mundy, Stanton, Winders gives us enough run and carry break the line footy. I think Mundy would really just complete our team. Means Stanton doesnt get tagged. Need Winders to step up majorly next year and we will start to be complete.
Our backline probably needs a bit of help. Flecther, Pears, hooker and Hurley are fine. We lack a player who can play on a small forward and a player that can give us run and carry. We probably need 3 good quality HBF X 2 and BP x 1. Myers is also the player that needs to step it up for us to help put our only Dempsey. Might need to look at a quality back pocket who can not only defend well but have skill.
BTW i would happily hand over pick 8 for Mundy or our second round pick + Jetta
Get where your coming from, but word is Hardingham will line up down back and Gus wants a midfield gig in 2011. Think Neagle has stalled and wont be given many opportunities with a new coach, same goes for Reimers. Which leaves a fair few positions up for grabs.
Your right, down back a Shannon Hurn would be handy. But i think Hocking and Dempsey off half back aren't bad options.
With myers, welsh and houli leaving i hope jetta stays. i think the dons will be able to orchestrate deals to secure jones, mundy and mckinely without giving up pick 8.
DVD Player
14 Sep 2010, 19:00
Since when is Myers leaving?
Skeeta Olly
14 Sep 2010, 19:01
Monfries has been liked with a midfield role just about every year and always lines up down forward.
ghostdog
14 Sep 2010, 19:13
With myers, welsh and houli leaving i hope jetta stays. i think the dons will be able to orchestrate deals to secure jones, mundy and mckinely without giving up pick 8.
This hasn't been confirmed, has it.
Dunn - Well Done
14 Sep 2010, 19:31
Get where your coming from, but word is Hardingham will line up down back and Gus wants a midfield gig in 2011. Think Neagle has stalled and wont be given many opportunities with a new coach, same goes for Reimers. Which leaves a fair few positions up for grabs.
Your right, down back a Shannon Hurn would be handy. But i think Hocking and Dempsey off half back aren't bad options.
I think Hardingham used down back or up forward is both what were missing in those positions. I see him as our SJ or B.Burton up forward but ive also seen him domiante WAFL at HBF with plenty of run and carry and long kick. Dont mind what position he plays he looks the goods. If he plays down back than we probably need another forward like him and you have named a few.
Monfries has been intended to play midfield just about every year like Skeeta mentioned, but he never does. Doesnt yet have the tank and no role for him. If we play him and Watson in the middle we will be way too slow. Only one of them can play in there and this is why continually doesnt get a spot. Just doesnt seem to have the ability to be the player who can get across the ground and kick long. Definite player i like as an inside player when Watson is resting. Zaha is the other player up forward who is capable of playing his forward role.
Havnt followed Neagle for a while but if he is stalling than we may need to look at Hurley playing forward with Pears and Hooker holding down back. Or have a permanent resting ruckmen playing in the goal square. Both are fine ideas. I always thought he was a worse Tom Hawkins.
Mckinley i dont think we should look at. Can play that Hardingham role up forward but he is way too slow, and doesnt have any defensive pressure. I wouldnt be too upset if we did get him and pushed Hardingham back.
We have some good WA boys to use as trade bait in Jetta and Myers (both top 18 picks IIRC) havnt come on but showed glimpses late in season to add value to the trade.
Mrs Mercuri
14 Sep 2010, 20:15
McKinley would be a much better option than Neagle and Daniher at the moment but I can't see the club going too top heavy on the list next season (unless Still or Daniher are delisted).
Gamble and Knights would be handy but as others have said they are not really the type of players we are lacking.
All our energy should be going towards Mundy and Jones at the moment.
daisy is a spud
14 Sep 2010, 20:33
Chris Knights can definitely play midfield as well so i think he is the kind of player we are looking for, versatility is always useful.
Yeah all work into landing N Jones and Mundy would be the best bet currently, whens the last time a bald nut was running around for the Dons? And i mean a real bald nut, not shaved heads... i think it is what we are missing, the bald heads
Knight Ryders
14 Sep 2010, 20:57
Incredibly impressed with Carlisle late in the season. Together with Gumbleton and Hardingham, we have something to really work around. Forward line just needs time to develop.
I'd have a look at Gamble as a dynamic FP/HF if we could get him for next to nothing.
Brent Prismall#9
14 Sep 2010, 21:18
That Gus to the midfield talk is getting all too familiar, it comes up every year but never eventuates. I don't understand why people would want to move him there anyway, his a gun defensive forward keep him there.
As for you're assumption that those three players are gone I'd like to know where you got that information from.
Shane Hird
14 Sep 2010, 23:09
People, forget about McKinley. He's an A grade amateur/senior WAFL type of player at best, who just hasn't got what it takes to play League football.
Watched him on the weekend in the pre-lim final for East Perth against Krakour's Swans ( with the view of maybe considering him at Windy Hill)and wasn't impressed at all...once again.
Sprays his kicks all the time and has zero defensive skills-even at WAFL level.
He does take some strong grabs and does find space in the F50 with good leads...but that's about it for highlights.
He's a one dimensional player.
He's the last type of player we need at Essendon atm..
Slattery_20
15 Sep 2010, 08:14
Not a priority IMHO. We kick enough goals, even with our FF out for most of the year & a CHF coming in who hadn't played for 2.
Everything else is the problem.
Way, way, way down the list of priorities to address. Like last.
Call Me Cake
15 Sep 2010, 09:23
Monfries would be eaten alive in the midfield.
table tennis
15 Sep 2010, 09:54
Monfries would be eaten alive in the midfield.
Monfries is a forward, anyone putting in his mind he is a midfielder should be seperated from him.
Monfries should be convinced that he is vital in one area, if he doesnt like it, and wants to move on, let us know so we can get some value to him.
He would be used as a forward in any other side, he wouldnt work in the midfield, as he doesn't keep his feet.
jade_00
15 Sep 2010, 15:28
Mid is the main issue.
+:thumbsu:
Our forward line seems ok, its our midfield delivery that is killing us.
Eleven 38
15 Sep 2010, 15:37
Monfries is a forward, anyone putting in his mind he is a midfielder should be seperated from him.
Monfries should be convinced that he is vital in one area, if he doesnt like it, and wants to move on, let us know so we can get some value to him.
He would be used as a forward in any other side, he wouldnt work in the midfield, as he doesn't keep his feet.
ill put my hand up and say before this season i wanted him to move in there, not of the same opinion now....however i think it should be his number 1 priority in the off season to work on core strength & whatever ever else he needs to so he can keep his feet, your no good if your on the ground..
jetta, neagle, myers + 3rd rd pick for mckinley and pick 4
any chance?
would mean we could draft two quality mids
^^^
WTF.... not sure if serious?
jetta, neagle, myers + 3rd rd pick for mckinley and pick 4
any chance?
would mean we could draft two quality mids
Ahahahahahaha mate, we aren't playing Footy Fanatic here :p
I would do a straight swap of Myers for McKinley, and possibly a pick from our end as a sweetener.
Jonesy1987
15 Sep 2010, 16:59
I would do a straight swap of Myers for McKinley, and possibly a pick from our end as a sweetener.
I don't think we'd trade Myers unless we got over odds for him.
Skeeta Olly
15 Sep 2010, 17:09
Pass.
Pretty bad offer, but doesn't compare with the other one. Essendon wouldn't gain anything from trading with WCE unless you're going to offer us an inside midfielder.
Two questions. Would McKinely be delisted if a trade couldn't be found (and he didn't indicate he wanted to leave)? Where is Shuey's contract negotiations at?
table tennis
15 Sep 2010, 17:19
Isnt it exciting to be talking good quality trades...
I cant wait to see who I can swap my garbage bin with out the front on Thursday night.
EVERLAST
15 Sep 2010, 17:55
I'd certainly entertain the idea of a straight swap of McKinley for Neagle.
At least with McKinley, he looks like he's in the shape and recently kicked 6 goals for East Fremantle, so he looks capable of going after it. Neagle shows no signs of urgency, or football smarts to compete at senior level.
Anyone suggesting Neagle still has plenty of upside is kidding themselves.
Apologies for the intrusion but big rumour just reported over on WA 882 radio (our version on 3AW - just worse) that Ryder is heading to the Suns.....would have to trade as he is contracted I thought!
Skeeta Olly
15 Sep 2010, 21:20
Pearlier.
Ben the Gooner
15 Sep 2010, 22:37
Apologies for the intrusion but big rumour just reported over on WA 882 radio (our version on 3AW - just worse) that Ryder is heading to the Suns.....would have to trade as he is contracted I thought!
Yeah, it's true.
They're announcing the joint signing of myself, John Howard and Paddy Ryder on Tuesday.:thumbsu:
Brent Prismall#9
15 Sep 2010, 23:39
And who woula thunk dat ryder broughted a home in moonee ponds da uther week!!!1!11!
Shane Hird
16 Sep 2010, 00:37
Another piece of mindless word drool that has spewed forth from the gossip queens at 6PR.
djrossie
16 Sep 2010, 12:39
If we somehow aquired Mundy and Jones that would be a good result.
The Donners
17 Sep 2010, 14:11
Jones set to re-sign with the Dees.
Really, we're getting no one. Plenty to do with facilities, no coach and a disorganised board. Justin sayin'...
"set to re-sign". Says Jon Ralph :rolleyes:
Not saying we'll get him, but I don't really care for what nearly any journo has to say. I'd take foggy's word over theirs, tbh.
zamboyz
20 Sep 2010, 21:44
With Sherman set to leave the Lions....would the bombers consider recruiting him.....
mayhem20202
21 Sep 2010, 10:32
To start with, let me qualify this comment by saying that I attending 12 Essendon games this season. I am sure there are plenty on here that attending as many or more, so, I am not saying I am the only one qualified to comment, I am just saying that I actually watched the games live, which allows a lot better perspective of the way the forward line is working off the ball.
Anyway, to the point of my post. Neagle has to go, Gumby showed some great signs, Hurley is a capable forward (I am sure some will say, play him down back), Carlisle was extremely promising. We have a few little guys, ie. Williams, if fit, I know he isn't a crumber, Monfries, Davey, any number of others. The main problem that stood out to me during the year was that the midfielders could not hit a target. I think that we need to persist with the forwards that we have and find some mids that can kick. When you have developing forwards, the last thing you need is poor delivery, meaning that have to stop in the middle of their leads, or can't get to the ball drop. If we had some mids that would kick, I think we would be pleasantly surprised by our forwards. The structure needs a bit of a re jib, but, I don't think it is the players that are in there.
By the way, I am all for getting Mundy and Jones, however, I don't think it is likely that we will get both.
Slattery_20
21 Sep 2010, 10:42
We've crucified forwards since about 2003.
Duckworth
21 Sep 2010, 12:23
To start with, let me qualify this comment by saying that I attending 12 Essendon games this season. I am sure there are plenty on here that attending as many or more, so, I am not saying I am the only one qualified to comment, I am just saying that I actually watched the games live, which allows a lot better perspective of the way the forward line is working off the ball.
Anyway, to the point of my post. Neagle has to go, Gumby showed some great signs, Hurley is a capable forward (I am sure some will say, play him down back), Carlisle was extremely promising. We have a few little guys, ie. Williams, if fit, I know he isn't a crumber, Monfries, Davey, any number of others. The main problem that stood out to me during the year was that the midfielders could not hit a target. I think that we need to persist with the forwards that we have and find some mids that can kick. When you have developing forwards, the last thing you need is poor delivery, meaning that have to stop in the middle of their leads, or can't get to the ball drop. If we had some mids that would kick, I think we would be pleasantly surprised by our forwards. The structure needs a bit of a re jib, but, I don't think it is the players that are in there.
By the way, I am all for getting Mundy and Jones, however, I don't think it is likely that we will get both.
It the forwards are suffering due to poor delivery, why wouldn't Neagle get better too?
mayhem20202
21 Sep 2010, 13:51
It the forwards are suffering due to poor delivery, why wouldn't Neagle get better too?
Because Gumbleton and Carlisle and Hurley lead and contest and try, from there they are let down by poor service.
Neagle for the majority of the time stands in the goal square, doesn't lead or leads away from the ball carrier. Also, he is unfit and doesn't seem to have gotten any fitter in his entire time at Essendon, infact he has gotten more unfit.
Thats why.
Slattery_20
21 Sep 2010, 14:05
Piddling Neagle off would set a pretty good standard IMHO. You wanna hang around, you perform. If you're not performing, you train harder. Bit of a joke that Hardingham, bit parts back flanker, has had a better game (goals/touches/tackles) in 6 weeks than Neagle in 4 years
knightsgone
21 Sep 2010, 14:23
A possible Hooker, Jetta or Myers trade when freo could secure use the services of Mundy
Duckworth
21 Sep 2010, 18:39
Mundy has Re-signed.
http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/102999/default.aspx