View Full Version : TV An Idiot Abroad
arakaan
16 Sep 2010, 20:49
http://sky1.sky.com/an-idiot-abroad
A new Gervais, Merchant & Pilkington doco travel series is starting on Sky UK at the end of the month.
After watching this 2 part preview I cannot wait to see this.
Part 1: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aUTH1coLIWE
Part 2: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TChZa-GfAtA
:thumbsu:
Knob eater get's his own show. :thumbsu:
Will watch.
pacemaker
18 Sep 2010, 15:58
If Australia was to get a version of this show the production team would need to look no further than those losers who post in Bay 13.
The first episode was genuinely one of the funniest things I have seen in a long, long time. :thumbsu:
clivewaterhousen
25 Sep 2010, 18:51
If Australia was to get a version of this show the production team would need to look no further than those losers who post in Bay 13.
you realise you go to ECU? and are not as intelligent as alot of the people that post on bay 13.
you could be the star of this show, except they would have to widen the doors on the plane so your head would fit on.
clivewaterhousen
25 Sep 2010, 20:07
just watched it.
very very funny.
amazing the view some people have on the world.
hans moleman
25 Sep 2010, 20:22
Hilarious...Karl is always quality.
A deleted scene:
7ZaHKgGuNOw
Blacky31
28 Sep 2010, 18:37
I need to watch this does anyone have a torrent for the first episode?
Just search The Pirate Bay. Comes up easily.
McShooter
1 Oct 2010, 03:26
Anywhere I can watch this online without downloading a torrent?
Heard every XFM Show, Podcast, even watched the animated series on Foxtel even though it was just a shortened version of the podcasts. It looks like it could be the funniest thing I'll ever see, so keen to see it.
Anywhere I can watch this online without downloading a torrent?
Heard every XFM Show, Podcast, even watched the animated series on Foxtel even though it was just a shortened version of the podcasts. It looks like it could be the funniest thing I'll ever see, so keen to see it.
I'm pretty sure I saw it up on Youtube the other day.
RoosterLad
1 Oct 2010, 12:58
Just watched the previews above and cried with laughter. Now downloading the first episode, Karl is an amazing man.
RoosterLad
1 Oct 2010, 14:54
Just watched the first episode and it is absolutely fantastic. Definitely not one of the shows where they show all the good bits in the preview, the whole episode is comical.
"I think I've got the wrong place, because this ain't a place where they need an iPod...have a toilet roll first!"
Mint Condition
1 Oct 2010, 22:37
Just watched the 2nd episode in India...I think it was even funnier than the first! Truly hilarious stuff, just some of the things he comes out with and some of the analogies he makes are brilliant. And they've really put him in the right places and scenarios to get some gold reactions.
Too many highlights to single out, more laughs in it than just about anything else I've seen lately.
I've been to a couple of these places featured on the show too so it makes it extra funny to see how badly he copes with it all. 3rd episode looks like it'll be classic as well. I've been to Petra, it's magic - can't wait to see what he thinks of it. :D
Maybe I over watched the first one, but i didn't find the second one as funny.
flight23
2 Oct 2010, 12:50
i just want to hear ricky cracking up at him and merchant with that shocked laughter
"go on"
ds a directors commentary kinda thing going on, maybe not all the time
its good but its the other 2 that cap karl off
needs a directors commentary kinda thing going on, maybe not all the time, but for certain bits, hearing ricky and merchant talk about him would be just as hilarious
clivewaterhousen
2 Oct 2010, 18:25
Maybe I over watched the first one, but i didn't find the second one as funny.
i agree
i felt sorry for him in this one, not like last time when it was just funny, making him sleep in that shop was rediculous
i agree
i felt sorry for him in this one, not like last time when it was just funny, making him sleep in that shop was rediculous
Yeah I would agree actually, I didn't think that was the idea of the show. You could see he was fed up really, and not providing as many laughs.
Mint Condition
2 Oct 2010, 21:04
I really disagree...I think the more fed up and incredulous he gets the funnier he becomes. The "ensuite shed" and all his interactions at the Holi festival were gold IMO. Loved when he kept getting paint thrown on him for the festival and was being so warmly embraced by local families etc yet he was just complaining about his shoes. Most people would find that a great experience. The whole point of the show is to see how someone who's lived a very insulated life and has no interest in the world around him copes when way out of his comfort zone. His observations of things are really funny but seeing him cope so badly with things that other people would find a great experience is the other half of what makes it funny - for me anyway.
Nothing he's been put through is really that bad. Even if he'd had to sleep in that shop for one night, I mean please...it'd have been only one night. He's doing a travel documentary, he's supposed to show what things are really like!
I really disagree...I think the more fed up and incredulous he gets the funnier he becomes. The "ensuite shed" and all his interactions at the Holi festival were gold IMO. Loved when he kept getting paint thrown on him for the festival and was being so warmly embraced by local families etc yet he was just complaining about his shoes. Most people would find that a great experience. The whole point of the show is to see how someone who's lived a very insulated life and has no interest in the world around him copes when way out of his comfort zone. His observations of things are really funny but seeing him cope so badly with things that other people would find a great experience is the other half of what makes it funny - for me anyway.
Nothing he's been put through is really that bad. Even if he'd had to sleep in that shop for one night, I mean please...it'd have been only one night. He's doing a travel documentary, he's supposed to show what things are really like!
Yeah the ensuite shed was brilliant. I still think it was because I have flogged the first episode to death, literally rewinding to watch parts again and again, might have desensitised me a little bit to future episodes, which would be a shame!
buzzbuzz
4 Oct 2010, 15:21
I really enjoyed the second episode more as a pure travel documentary than comedy. Looking forward to some laughs and some genuinely interesting images/info in future eps.
McShooter
6 Oct 2010, 01:04
I'm pretty sure I saw it up on Youtube the other day.
Yeh cheers, watched the first ep on youtube yesterday (was bloody hilarious) and was just about to watch the 2nd one but it looks like it's been taken down :(
freofan_mundy
7 Oct 2010, 20:59
haha watching the first one, might watch the second one right after or tomorrow. so damn funny....
jerry springer
8 Oct 2010, 12:00
simply brilliant show.just hearing Ricky laughing sets me off
happy_eagle
11 Oct 2010, 23:42
Downloaded the first three and watched the first one
Geez Karl is a source of great quotes
"Its an alright wall"
"Is he havin a laugh, i cant tell their hard to read"
"where do you draw the line between insects and food"
Here's an excerpt from Ricky's blog hitting back at rumors that the show is scripted.
Week one hundred and thirty-eight - September/October 2010
A Confession
Some people have correctly spotted that An Idiot Abroad is totally scripted. It took ages to write too. Each episode of The Office took us about 2 months to write but they were only 30 minutes long. This show is nearly an hour so each script took us about 3 and a half months to write. Casting was a lot harder too. Just finding that indian actor that looked like Bill Oddie took 8 weeks. It was also a bit embarrassing auditioning people and asking them to wrap their cocks round a walking stick. Still, it will all be worth it when Steve and I win all the BAFTAs again for writing and directing.
I'm a lot prouder of creating the "Pilkington" character (that's not his real name, of course), than I am of David Brent probably. (Although ironically, David Brent isn't a character at all. I am just like that in real life so I didn't have to write any lines for that one. In fact I didn't realise The Office was a sitcom at the time. The BBC just came to my place of work and filmed me selling paper. I've certainly milked becoming famous off the back of that lucky break, right?)
So yeah, Karl is completely fake. When you meet him off camera he's a bit like Steven Fry. We just get him to act dim to make money. All the podcasts and audiobooks were completely scripted too. If you listen carefully you can hear us turning the pages. The good thing about those were that we didn't have to learn the lines by heart as we weren't in vision. A lot easier than in An Idiot Abroad where Karl not only has to learn the whole script but often only gets one take because we only have all those extras for a few hours.
The tricky bit is when he's interviewed on radio and TV. We have to get the presenter in on it so they ask him the right questions. Luckily every single one has gone along with it and never given the secret away. Thanks. But I just thought it was time to come clean. I'm ashamed that I ever lied to you. Sorry.
"Karl" will find it difficult getting different roles in other scripted comedies and dramas as we have typecast him so much over the last few years, so please buy the audiobooks and DVDs as he will need the money.
I'm glad the charade is over as I won't need to pretend to find my best mate funny anymore. It's hard laughing at lines you've written yourself. Obviously I don't find him funny at all and we are not really friends. Thanks for watching all this time suckers, and well done to the really smart people who knew all this all along. You got me! You are brilliant.
Ricky.
happy_eagle
12 Oct 2010, 16:09
People that think Karl is fake annoy me
They should listen to the XFM radio series, then they would realise how he came to be
McShooter
18 Oct 2010, 22:27
The latest ep (Mexico) is defs the best one so far. Fkning hilarious, was in stitches the whole way through.
PastiesPeake
18 Oct 2010, 22:30
Link me up? Cant find a torrent
McShooter
18 Oct 2010, 22:47
Link me up? Cant find a torrent
http://www.megavideo.com/?d=YDWAPY4K
happy_eagle
19 Oct 2010, 01:06
I love the fact that he is visiting a new country for the first time, and the one thing that he cares about is getting Mexican Jumping Beans
His dancing at Chichen Itza was classic as well
The best bit was when he was at the cowboy place, and he storms off in a rage, only to come running back because there are bees where he was headed.
True that. Also when he was on the horse, hahahahahaha.
purple sneakers
19 Oct 2010, 11:58
It sure was!!
I just love the round headed manc twat.
I'm sure you guys have all heard the XFM show they did in London but if you haven't download them and have a listen. Absolute gold!
PastiesPeake
3 Nov 2010, 10:59
Although it is hard to top the China episode, the Brazil one comes awfully close.
Absolute classic!!
And the girls in Brazil are very impressive. I need to go there :).
legend166
3 Nov 2010, 15:41
I can't believe how much I sympathise with Karl.
flight23
3 Nov 2010, 15:45
brazil was ok, but mexico was a heap better
go to a drag queens house and then he leaves karl on his own????
mexico
wrestling
fire cracker parade
horses (and bees)
tequilla, worm
gold
brazil
carnivale
beach
drag queen
meh
he's at his best when he's actually doing stuff, not sitting around doing nothing
PastiesPeake
3 Nov 2010, 16:06
To be fair, I fell asleep during the Mexico ep (drunkenness not boredom), will have to watch it again.
flight23
3 Nov 2010, 16:11
he said mexico was his favorite place, don't get me wrong he wined all the way through it, but thats just karl
easily my fav episode so far
hans moleman
3 Nov 2010, 18:54
Karl's reactions and observations are what make him unique. It comes across on TV like it did for XFM.
A good thing about the TV show though, is it's shown that Karl's great at physical humour as well:
Eating Toad in China.
Wrestling in Mexico.
Dancing in Egypt.
All hilarious.
brazil was ok, but mexico was a heap better
he's at his best when he's actually doing stuff, not sitting around doing nothing
Agree.
Strangely enough I think Ricky's influence is a bit of a detriment to the series - he always seems to want to put Karl in shitty accommodation and keep him in a foul mood. Doesn't always make for the best viewing.
The latest episode (Macchu Picchu) is some of the funniest tv I've seen for ages. Poor Karl stuck in the jungle sitting on a camp chair he has cut a hole out of to use as a dunny!
when he said that it was the lowest point of his life, i lost the plot!
RoosterLad
11 Nov 2010, 18:29
when he said that it was the lowest point of his life, i lost the plot!
That part was brilliant!
I believe that was the last episode though which is a shame. Hopefully we get to see Karl back on tv soon.
happy_eagle
11 Nov 2010, 19:40
I reckon he needs his own chat show
Hopefully we get to see Karl back on tv soon.
He was pretty adamant there wouldn't be a series 2 wasn't he! I cracked up when he said "tell them now, don't wait till I get back."
That part was brilliant!
I believe that was the last episode though which is a shame. Hopefully we get to see Karl back on tv soon.
Nah there is an 8th episode actually, which I am guessing should be available for download soon.
The part with him holding up the water bottle and the piss bottle was gold.
AC for PM
12 Nov 2010, 06:48
Hilda was your bog standard old woman
Ok haven't read this thread and didn't realise it was out yet, but will get onto it this weekend!
"The letter was addressed... to Mr Dilkington."
Nah there is an 8th episode actually, which I am guessing should be available for download soon.
Episode 8 "Karl Comes Home" 11 November 2010. In this final episode, Pilkington meets with Ricky Gervais and Steve Merchant to discuss his travels.
This will be GOLD!
Review show was ok, almost felt like one of their podcasts. Pretty much like their preview show.
Sad to see it end though. :(
flight23
14 Nov 2010, 15:34
ball aching!!!! brilliant intro
BEST EPISODE, felt like the old pod casts
ricky and steve probing karl rather than trying to screw him over
elephant man
what are you playing at
name change to brett
head like a ****ing orange
congress tart (the highlight for me, goddam that was funny)
karl plate spinning
hells angel initiation
6 bananas
so many brilliant karl moments
seemed like gervais and merchants highlights were different to mine
AC for PM
15 Nov 2010, 08:41
"Ball achingly dull"
The last ep of An Idiot Abroat is my favourite of them all - I guess because it's more a throwback to the classic Ricky Gervais Show podcasts and XFM shows. Brilliant.
RoosterLad
15 Nov 2010, 09:04
It was like a podcast but I loved it. I could watch a whole series of that quite easily. Can't wait until their next show involving Karl.
'Fools Gold'? :D
"If your not happy lookin' a knob in the face, there's somethin' wrong"
legend166
16 Nov 2010, 12:04
Congress tart.
happy_eagle
16 Nov 2010, 12:36
I would love Ricky to bring back the talk show "Pilkington" with "Do we need them"
xMriH2VDObQ
September_Glory
21 Nov 2010, 17:02
Best bit of episode 8.
Karl: There's certain things I learnt!
Steve: Tell us, what have you learnt?
Karl: I learnt that babies in China...(pause) a lot of 'em have square heads.
Ricky: *Laughing*
September_Glory
21 Nov 2010, 17:22
Fantastic series.
Very funny and visually stunning. Being able to see Karl's facial expressions brings it to another level for me. He really is a confused chimp.
A couple of weak episodes in there but they're still very watchable and entertaining. The best bits are still when Ricky, Steve and Karl are just conversing (Preview and final episodes are hilariously funny - on par or better than any of the podcasts). Episodes like "China" and "Mexico" are where Karl really shines because the 'weird and freaky' are his elements. "Jordan" had to be puffed out to include a trip to Israel which felt like they had to fill an hour, never good. It seemed like the rigidity of religion in these countries made him uncomfortable and not very funny.
Steve is the same. Always good natured and plays the 'straight' role well.
Starting to turn off Gervais a little, never a fan of his stand-ups but his genius is undeniable. It's just that sheer arrogance is hard to root for, he doesn't even try to hide it with humour anymore. But he can play Karl like a fiddle and he should get full credit for creating the Karl Pilkington sensation. We wouldn't even know about Karl Dilkington if Ricky wasn't such a creative and marketing genius.
I thought it was hilarious when Karl was adamant the series would be called "Karl Pilkington's 7 Wonders"
Next season he should either do that Fool's Gold idea, or travel around doing another set of wonders of the world.
happy_eagle
21 Nov 2010, 20:21
Would love him to see the 7 modern wonders
ie. Sydney Opera House etc..
Still haven't got around to downloading this yet but cannot wait to watch it.
Rough_Edges
27 Nov 2010, 21:24
Have watched all of them up to and including the Egypt one, jesus what a brilliant show. It's just hilarious.
Well, pretty much anything Karl is involved in is hilarious - the man, is a genius.
How he says the things he does, with a straight face is just unbelievable - never has there been a man who makes me laugh so easily.
Just when he says "um..." it makes me laugh.
When they were trying to get him eat Toad back in China and he said
"I think the babies choking"
had me actually hysterical.
K: Davram?
D: America!
K: Davram?
D: America!
K: Are you Davram?
D: Yes.
K: What d'ya mean America?
D: I thought you said where are you from...
About five episodes into this, just delightful, loving every minute of it.
The idiot with a head like a ***ing orange is coming back!
http://www.cinemablend.com/television/An-Idiot-Abroad-Season-2-Trailer-Mines-Karl-Bucket-List-31176.html
The idiot with a head like a ***ing orange is coming back!
http://www.cinemablend.com/television/An-Idiot-Abroad-Season-2-Trailer-Mines-Karl-Bucket-List-31176.html
Excellent !!!
I thought they must be doing a 2nd series.On the recent podcast they did Karl refered to the recent travels he'd been sent on for a TV show.
BTW One HD are going to show series 1 starting sometime in May.
Excellent !!!
I thought they must be doing a 2nd series.On the recent podcast they did Karl refered to the recent travels he'd been sent on for a TV show.
BTW One HD are going to show series 1 starting sometime in May.
One HD? Haha hilarious.
happy_eagle
7 Apr 2011, 22:58
One HD? Haha hilarious.
Becoming less and less of a Sports channel by the day
Rough_Edges
8 Apr 2011, 01:30
Cannot wait for season 2.
He is the funniest man in the alive.
RoosterLad
9 Apr 2011, 10:47
I am stoked there will be a Series 2 despite Karl insisting that he won't be doing it again, this should be awesome.
jerry springer
9 Apr 2011, 17:26
great news!
Rod Stroker
9 Apr 2011, 23:42
I watched the first few eps but could not get through the whole season. A few laughs here and there but I grew tired of his constant moanin' and him being a gullible toff.
Lolwut?
Season 1 of An Idiot Abroad starts on One HD on monday May 16th
jerry springer
18 Apr 2011, 19:48
in related news was watching the view(dont ask) and gervais was on promoting his new show "talking funny"
also has Chris Rock and Jerry Seinfeld in it
think it starts on HBO in a week or two
I believe it is on Good Friday and is only a one-time special.
jerry springer
18 Apr 2011, 20:48
I believe it is on Good Friday and is only a one-time special.
yeah think your right
more info
http://www.pedestrian.tv/entertainment/news/jerry-seinfeld-ricky-gervais-chris-rock-and-louis-/40920.htm
Jolldo87
16 May 2011, 22:31
The first episode was genuinely one of the funniest things I have seen in a long, long time. :thumbsu:
Agreed.
Worth waiting 6 months for it to be shown in Australia.
flight23
16 May 2011, 22:46
worth "taking the risk" and finding alternate ways to view it the day it came out
An Idiot Abroad is released on DVD in Aus on July 21.Being a Gervais DVD it should hopefully have some good extras on it with Karl.
Magpiespower
17 May 2011, 09:15
Laboured one-note joke...
Jolldo87
17 May 2011, 11:08
worth "taking the risk" and finding alternate ways to view it the day it came out
Yeah, I just don't like watching things on a computer.
RoosterLad
17 May 2011, 11:52
Yeah I agree Jolldo but I just download it then transfer to my PS3 via USB so I can watch on the TV.
flight23
17 May 2011, 13:53
Yeah I agree Jolldo but I just download it then transfer to my PS3 via USB so I can watch on the TV.
USB compatible Blu ray player here
alex_is_on_fire
17 May 2011, 20:01
WD Media player :thumbsu:
Got sick of some files not working on my PS3.
always right
18 May 2011, 08:33
Love this show.....love Karl, love Merchant, and Gervais is genius. Just don't let him make another film in the USA. Absolute rubbish. Ricky has been seduced by the yanks and his movie work is bland as a result. His TV work however cointinues to impress.
bradrowe#32
18 May 2011, 09:56
Watched this series over the last few weeks and really enjoyed it. Karl is a bit of a whiner, but he seems like a good bloke and most of his observations were spot-on.
legend166
18 May 2011, 10:51
Stream through PS3 with PS3 Media Server.
Works like a charm.
Magpies B2B
18 May 2011, 19:11
I loved it.
Gervais is a genius.
Bombers_Forever
18 May 2011, 19:35
It is being repeated tonight at 10:30pm apparently
RequiemBlade
18 May 2011, 19:59
Loved the series but the best thing about it was that it opened my eyes to the Ricky Gervais podcasts and XFM radio shows which I have now downloaded and listened too :thumbsu: Pilkington is a legend.
deledio7
18 May 2011, 20:33
Loved the series but the best thing about it was that it opened my eyes to the Ricky Gervais podcasts and XFM radio shows which I have now downloaded and listened too :thumbsu: Pilkington is a legend.
How do I get my hands on the podcasts and radio shows?
Thanks in advance.
flight23
18 May 2011, 20:36
download off itunes
or torrents