View Full Version : TV The Event s01
Gasometer
18 Sep 2010, 13:08
Looks to have some potential...be nice to fill my LOST withdrawal symptoms...but needs character empathy and Blair Underwood and the ER Doctor leave me ambivalent.
j4vumb8J-x8
flight23
18 Sep 2010, 13:15
looks interesting, thanks for the heads up
i can handle blair
Little Jerry
18 Sep 2010, 14:14
Looks good.
matt_897
18 Sep 2010, 15:06
Blair Underwood was fantatstic in the show In Treatment, the show does look to have some potential. there's a lot of good looking shows this season, there will be some disappointments...
Bombers_Forever
18 Sep 2010, 16:11
Looks good but Flash Foward also looked great and it lost its appeal pretty quickly.
Gasometer
19 Sep 2010, 15:37
Spooky...I typed THE EVENT in the title above...how did the reverse E happen?
that IS the event :p
Gasometer
20 Sep 2010, 21:20
But how and who reversed the "E" in my title?
stuart27
21 Sep 2010, 11:21
But how and who reversed the "Ǝ" in my title?
I'm not surǝ. But if this show turns rǝvǝrsing 'Ǝ' into a fad I'll bǝ vǝry disappointed.
Gasometer
21 Sep 2010, 12:43
Maybe there is a script running somewhere that identifies the word EVENT and automatically reverses it?
Whatever the case, it's up for the dl now...
stuart27
21 Sep 2010, 19:36
Maybe a mod did it.
Maybǝ. I guǝss wǝ'll nǝvǝr know.
Little Jerry
22 Sep 2010, 20:07
Watched the first ep and was left confusƎd.
Gasometer
26 Sep 2010, 19:31
Gettin some serious promo rotation over this weekend for tomorrow night.
Confused...possibly a good sign...was very confused after the pilot for LOST....actually come to think of it, most of the 6 seasons...
flight23
26 Sep 2010, 21:28
top start
seemed to have taken a few of the great things from lost
the music was tense
flash backs were great/confusing
Wow. I did not see that ending coming at all.
stabler
27 Sep 2010, 22:34
kinda getting over these drawn out, drip fed mysterys. They all wanna be like Lost but they never will be.
Bombers_Forever
28 Sep 2010, 08:38
OK start - at least with Lost it was a little more straight forward to start and then it became confusing. Hopefully the next episode or so start to make it a little clearer.
flight23
28 Sep 2010, 21:46
LOL!!!!!!
episode 2
people will either love this show, or jump straight off now
I'M IN!!!!!
Will watch ep 2 later tonight but just flicking through some of the start. Plane, heavy turbulance, people shouting, shit flying everywhere, landing in the middle of nowhere.
Sounds familiar?
I liked the first ep, and thought the story was pretty decent, though none of the characters were particularly illuminating.
Flashbacks are so annoying. First 10 minutes op episode 2 had 2 flashbacks in it.
Apart from that it's ok, will give it another 1 or 2 episodes.
Gasometer
2 Oct 2010, 21:29
I just hope we dont spend 10 episodes finding out "who" the things are that the ER doctor leads....I think producers now realise that LOST was a one off and that audiences are tired ever since of being led nowhere for so long...agree/disagree?
Forthwrite
3 Oct 2010, 21:38
I just watched the first 2 episodes and enjoyed them.
I think many people will hate it because they try to nitpick everything about the show rather than just watching it for what it is and enjoying it.
It's definitely entertaining enough for me to keep watching at this stage.
Those flashbacks are really annoying...
But I'm enjoying it.
ThePezDispenser
4 Oct 2010, 21:23
Yeah, ok. But not too sure. ATM I don't really care about any of the characters (even after the main blokes little teary in the back of FBI car) and I don't find this 'event' all intriguing at present time. Less flashbacks and maybe it will be more enjoyable :thumbsu:
flight23
5 Oct 2010, 19:30
watched episode 3, really enjoying it, not picking it apart, that'll just do your head in
Gasometer
6 Oct 2010, 18:34
I just hope we dont spend 10 episodes finding out "who" the things are that the ER doctor leads....
Well my issue of last week was resolved sort of early in Ep 2.
Notorious_29
6 Oct 2010, 20:35
Worth watching?
If it's just another Lost rip off like Flashforward, then I won't bother.
flight23
6 Oct 2010, 23:24
Worth watching?
If it's just another Lost rip off like Flashforward, then I won't bother.
very similar, in a lot of ways, so you probably shouldn't bother
It is brilliant show. Episode 3 is wonder.
Gasometer
11 Oct 2010, 21:39
Watched Ep 3 tonight and interest is starting to decline....esp the dead waking scene at the end...I sense a switch to 7MATE in coming weeks.
This from the US last week...who knows...
“The Event” Ratings Fall Yet Again, “Chase” Disappoints Again
October 5, 2010
By Brian Cantor
Cancellation is far from imminent or even yet a real possibility, but NBC’s “The Event” is not showing long-term promise in the ratings department.
The serialized drama
dropped another 17% in the ratings this week, posting a 2.4 adults 18-49 demographic for episode three. Total viewership was down to 7.46 million viewers.
Television analysts were somewhat forgiving of last week’s 20% decline due to the fact that heavily-hyped shows almost always bleed from their premieres. Moreover, at a 2.9 rating in the demo, it was not as if “The Event” had suddenly become a weak link for the struggling NBC.
This week’s massive drop is more alarming. A 2.4 rating is nothing to celebrate regardless, and the fact that the show seems to be on a ratings free fall is even more discouraging. Serialized dramas require a true viewer commitment, and it is thus quite difficult for a series of the sort to make significant ratings gains over the course of the season (so there is little hope of the show suddenly jumping back above a 3.0). The focus now is on finding the bottom.
Gasometer
2 Nov 2010, 22:05
Missed three Eps and caught up today, and without the constant ads this show is getting right into it now...noticed its being bumped to later timeslot Monday's...
The flashbacks are starting to draw the story together...but as I feared at the start, there is little warmth about any of the characters like serials such as 'Lost' or '24' or 'Alias' etc. A great story needs great characters...this show is lacking in this department despite the story slowly being fleshed out.
Anyone still watching?
flight23
2 Nov 2010, 23:41
yeah im still watching it
keeping the expectations low, and not picking it apart
stll enjoying it
but you're right, theres no locke or desmond
The event is IMO going to be another of those wonderful tv series that have started well and then ended poorly due to a lack of funding, ideas or whatever.
See: Lost and Jericho for almost post-apocalyptic ideas that are great and then lose their way.
I fear this will happen to the event and it seems that it will be lucky to survive.
Gasometer
3 Nov 2010, 19:53
See: Lost and Jericho for almost post-apocalyptic ideas that are great and then lose their way.
LOST lost viewers who were to lazy to bother...watching the re-runs on 7Mate and the jigsaw pieces were slowly being placed together in mid-late S03 and early S04. I can see the same thing happening with 'the Event'...due patience and it will fall into place.
ThePezDispenser
10 Nov 2010, 10:35
So what are people up to. Just watched episode 7!
krusden
10 Nov 2010, 10:45
LOST lost viewers who were to lazy to bother...watching the re-runs on 7Mate and the jigsaw pieces were slowly being placed together in mid-late S03 and early S04. I can see the same thing happening with 'the Event'...due patience and it will fall into place.
how much patience will be shown to it from the tv networks though?
NSWCROW
11 Nov 2010, 00:34
So what are people up to. Just watched episode 7!
Yep still watchin.
Gasometer
11 Nov 2010, 04:56
OMG!
The last 5 seconds of Ep 7 is the creepiest stuff I have seen in ages in a TV show...I am still picking up my jaw...flipped over from sci-fi to some horror there...those little girls!
I was expecting...actually I dont know what I was expecting...wasn't ugly old women's heads on 7 year olds. Gave me chills!
Just that 5 secs has me hooked big time...wtf is that all about!???:eek:
ThePezDispenser
11 Nov 2010, 08:39
haha, yeah same was a bit trippy. I had to rewind and watch it again to make sure i saw it right.
Forthwrite
11 Nov 2010, 09:35
I still really like this show and I'm glad it got picked up for a full season.
I'm also glad we finally found the capability of their powers.
flight23
8 Dec 2010, 11:02
so the final two episodes wont be on for two months?
well thats a known formula for disaster
ThePezDispenser
8 Dec 2010, 11:10
I've seen up to Episode 9 - so is it Ep 10 then a 2 month lay off for the non rating Christmas period?
Forthwrite
31 Mar 2011, 01:35
Are any of you guys still watching this?
It's gone from average to pretty good now, I think.
Plus, the more we get to see of Taylor Cole the better!
http://i.min.us/ijQjJ2.jpg
flight23
31 Mar 2011, 07:51
yeah im still in
agree its gotten better
and she is just a stunner
Same and same. Reasonable storyline, reasonable acting for the most part.
Punchy Bassett
31 Mar 2011, 11:12
Still watching here although I am about two eps behind now I think. Interesting story line, not sure where it would go though if they get more seasons.
I think it's really the last 2 weeks where they've turned it up a notch.
I can recognise its shortcomings as a narrative, but it's got drama, and that's enough.
Have to laugh at how terrible President Martinez is. Heaven help us if the real world leaders are as dumb as him.
flight23
1 Apr 2011, 15:45
http://www.coolmind.net/blog/wp-content/george_w_bush_goofy_inside_out_umbrella.jpg
Gasometer
3 Apr 2011, 15:56
Wow, Ep 14 and 15 were heaps better than most of the season...pity it has taken so long to draw it together!
Perhaps the network told them in the hiatus to quit with the LOST themed flashbacks etc that was a turn off for viewers in Ep 1-6.
gaso
New ep - interesting... Why was Sterling worried about testing the White House? Surely he isn't one of them? He's been their enemy for so long...
Forthwrite
6 Apr 2011, 21:39
I don't think there is any chance Sterling is one of them but it looks more and more like Martinez's wife is one of them.
Maybe Sterling already knows about her being one and was tracking her and was worried because of that or maybe he just doesn't trust this new woman.
Gasometer
19 Apr 2011, 21:53
How is this going to all end up...is it 22 Eps?
Cant find anything on google on a Season 2...so are they going to wrap it all up in this one Season with 4 Eps to go?
Like the look of the 'weapon' for next week.
With a straight narrative it is making much more sense from Ep 12 onwards.
flight23
19 Apr 2011, 21:55
in the last 12 months ive watched 3 shows that did a full season and were canned, this better not happen again
Forthwrite
19 Apr 2011, 22:04
It's become much better in the last 5-6 episodes.
I'm not sure when they'll make a decision but I don't think the ratings have been that great.
I'd love for it to go for another 1-2 seasons so fingers crossed.
When did the "E" in the title turn round again?
Gasometer
20 Apr 2011, 20:06
When did the "E" in the title turn round again?
Dunno, but you are on the money. I originally typed it E but as soon as I added the thread it went backwards E.
Come to think of it, the E hasnt been explained and I am wondering what the EVENT actually is...is it them coming to take over the planet?
betterthanu
26 Apr 2011, 14:00
Dunno, but you are on the money. I originally typed it E but as soon as I added the thread it went backwards E.
Come to think of it, the E hasnt been explained and I am wondering what the EVENT actually is...is it them coming to take over the planet?
When you post a reply you can change the thread title and people respond to the last post rather than the OP. I feel i didnt explain this very well but im pretty sure i know what im talking about.
Anyway i think im gonna start watching this show. You guys have done just enough to convince me.
When you post a reply you can change the thread title and people respond to the last post rather than the OP. I feel i didnt explain this very well but im pretty sure i know what im talking about.
Anyway i think im gonna start watching this show. You guys have done just enough to convince me.
Yeah we know all that, but when he posted the original thread, the reverse E appeared on the main thread title and Gaso didn't do it. Someone else (a mod I guess) did it, but it is no longer there...
So all's gone quiet on here regarding this show. Are people still watching? What are your thoughts? Jarvis is now President and chief stooge. Sophia's character has turned 180 degrees. Sean and Vicki is turning into a sappy love story. Leila's whininess make me wish she died with her old man - who seemed to go to the Nick Cage school of acting the longer this series has run. Is this show stagnating again?
Forthwrite
4 May 2011, 18:35
Lol at the Cage reference. He was actually a lot like him. I also can't stand Leila.
There's only a few episodes left, anyway. It won't get a 2nd season.
Simon will likely team up with Blake now to get rid of the new President.
I kind of want to see the aliens win. Or at least heaps of humans get killed, heaps of aliens come to Earth and then a huge war.
Gasometer
4 May 2011, 22:24
Ep 19 wasnt as good as recent Ep's IMO.
I think Blake should ditch Leila and hitch up with his sidekick...;)
Can someone remind me why Leila's Dad was trying to crash the plane into the Pres compound in the Pilot Episode?
Forthwrite
4 May 2011, 22:54
Ep 19 wasnt as good as recent Ep's IMO.
I think Blake should ditch Leila and hitch up with his sidekick...;)
Can someone remind me why Leila's Dad was trying to crash the plane into the Pres compound in the Pilot Episode?
Blake is the President's security guy who got fired..
He was going to crash the plane because the old guy who killed himself (Forget his name) kidnapped his daughters and killed his wife and made him do it.
This show is so stupid. Why the **** did Dempsey kill himself? What happened to the storyline where he was kidnapping the little girls? That was the only mysterious and interesting part of the show.
Also, what the hell is with the writers killing off half of the show's characters? The show is a cluster****. The amount of crap they've crammed into 19 episodes is ridiculous. The characters have gone from the US to France to some other country in the space of four episodes.
Show had promise, but it's ****ed beyond repair now.
flight23
5 May 2011, 03:03
and there is no chance of wrapping a quarter of this stuff up by seasons end
has the cancellation been confirmed? cos its detracting from my viewing
Gasometer
5 May 2011, 19:54
Blake is the President's security guy who got fired..
^ I cant even remember the characters names. :o
Gasometer
11 May 2011, 21:01
Ep 20...ripper!
ThePezDispenser
14 May 2011, 02:55
This show is so stupid. Why the **** did Dempsey kill himself? What happened to the storyline where he was kidnapping the little girls? That was the only mysterious and interesting part of the show.
Also, what the hell is with the writers killing off half of the show's characters? The show is a cluster****. The amount of crap they've crammed into 19 episodes is ridiculous. The characters have gone from the US to France to some other country in the space of four episodes.
Show had promise, but it's ****ed beyond repair now.
Agree 100%
But with all that over and done with. After Ep20 what now?
seems like original Pres is going to come back and everything is sorted...
Atheist
14 May 2011, 17:26
Show is cancelled. Maybe the writing was on the wall, hence the mad rush to tie up 25000 loose end in one season.
Gasometer
15 May 2011, 21:32
http://tvseriesfinale.com/tv-show/the-event-renewed-season-two-19917/
...well there could be a second, although highly doubtful second chance.....:rolleyes:
flight23
15 May 2011, 22:34
the three month gap between episodes is one of the dumbest moves a show can make in its first season
Gasometer
18 May 2011, 22:48
Well almost there...should be an interesting finale...wonder what we will see that has "never been seen on tv before"?
ThePezDispenser
20 May 2011, 18:17
Meh episode....
Get this over and don with so I can catch up on other shows!!!
Well, it was rushed and all that, but the end still left me wanting more. Hopefully SyFy or someone else picks it up, because it still has potential.
Gasometer
24 May 2011, 21:04
The second half of the season made up for the disaster of the first half that killed the ratings.
Should be interesting to see what happens with it being picked up anywhere.
Interesting concept of two planets living side by side.
And Mrs Pres..."home"!!!
Drummond
24 May 2011, 23:03
I wanted to get into this show, but I missed the start, so that was that. But I did manage to see an episode, 4 or 5 or something around there, and I liked what I saw, seemed to have potential. Hopefully it pops up on some channel in the near future so I can watch it. Judging by comments in there though, maybe not such a good thing. :p
ThePezDispenser
25 May 2011, 21:53
Possibly a waste of time following this.
Only interesting thing was the wife calling it home...
Definitely want more, but doubt it will get picked up, these things never really happen...