View Full Version : James Hird and the Essendon coaching saga
Anyone else notice his answer to the daily question: "are you coaching Essendon next year"?
Not even close to a denial. Infact he pretty much hinted something was happening but the night wasn't about him. My son and I looked at each other like "did he just say that"?
Interesting indeed.
Lance Uppercut
20 Sep 2010, 20:00
Anyone else notice his answer to the daily question: "are you coaching Essendon next year"?
Not even close to a denial. Infact he pretty much hinted something was happening but the night wasn't about him. My son and I looked at each other like "did he just say that"?
Interesting indeed.
mmm he said something along the lines of "we'll keep it to ourselves". I must admit, I raised an eyebrow
shhhh
Ludwig van Bertstare
20 Sep 2010, 20:15
I have come to the conclusion that means he'll coach Essendon.
centurion
20 Sep 2010, 20:18
Front page news tomorrow in the HUN.:thumbsu:
lemon chicken
20 Sep 2010, 20:18
He is just becoming more and more unconvincing :D.
Since I'm banned from the main board, I'm hijacking this thread.
http://images.theage.com.au/2010/09/20/1938308/j-600x400.jpg
Just me or does that look like Gaz with long blonde hair and lipstick? Of the WAGs, Pendles and Swan are winning from what I've seen. There's Rebecca Twigley of course but she's too skinny for me.
The Donners
20 Sep 2010, 20:27
Since I'm banned from the main board, I'm hijacking this thread.
http://images.theage.com.au/2010/09/20/1938308/j-600x400.jpg
Just me or does that look like Gaz with long blonde hair and lipstick? Of the WAGs, Pendles and Swan are winning from what I've seen. There's Rebecca Twigley of course but she's too skinny for me.
Thank f**k I'm not the only one! :thumbsu:
I can't handle the sticks, she's also fooling no one with the fake titties! :cool:
OzBomber
20 Sep 2010, 20:30
I missed it, what heppened?
The Donners
20 Sep 2010, 20:32
I have come to the conclusion that means he'll coach Essendon.
Are you serious or taking the piss??? Tent. Pitch. Trousers.
lemon chicken
20 Sep 2010, 20:37
Of the WAGs, Pendles and Swan are winning from what I've seen. There's Rebecca Twigley of course but she's too skinny for me.
Abletts girl. Never dresses bad. Never.
zamboyz
20 Sep 2010, 20:40
I believe thats the reason why the Essendon Football Club are prolonging the announcement till October. I think they are giving Hirdy as much time as possible to facilitate him in wrapping up his business commitments and solely focus on the coaching job.
Ludwig van Bertstare
20 Sep 2010, 20:52
Are you serious or taking the piss??? Tent. Pitch. Trousers.
Taking the piss that his comments mean he'll coach Essendon. However, I do think he'll coach Essendon.
Meanwhile, Jobe on 7 votes after 8 rounds. Reckon he'll finish around 15? I'm praying he miraculously manages 20 and finishes top 5 ... making good on my bet earlier this year at juicy odds for a top 5 finish.
zamboyz
20 Sep 2010, 21:39
The jPod is polling pretty well.....considering its his debut season....haha
Interesting indeed.
I saw this aswell and was shocked, if James was sure he wasn't going to coach he would've just said no... but he didn't he left the door wide wide open!!!
WOO
Question, is there any rules against a playing coach? cos' if he coaches we should totes go down that path.
We get pummelled in the final 4 rounds. I thought it was a fair presumption at the start of the season that we'd win 8-11 games I thought. Had we done so then Jobe would've cracked 20 imo.
Tre Bones
20 Sep 2010, 22:36
he got drilled a bit "On The Couch" again so he may just be sick of answering it, I know I would.
ESSENDON chief executive Ian Robson has fuelled speculation James Hird will coach the club next year. (http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/watch-this-space-over-the-essendon-coaching-position/story-e6frf9jf-1225927000617)
MAAAATTDAAAAMON
20 Sep 2010, 23:55
Wow, interesting stuff indeed! Becoming more and more likely Hird will be involved in some capacity. I would be very, very excited to hear that he is coming with Thompson (2 I thought were little to no chance), Williams or maybe even Laidley. Will be very worried, however, if it Hird alone - which I dont think the Dons would do.
Thompson with Hird as a handover plan - please make it happen!!!!!!!!!
Talk about information asymmetry. Bomber the favourite at $2.25? :S
Really cannot see him leaving the Cats. And if he does, it will be leaving coaching altogether.
Hird could be the most expensive head coach/assistant coach in the history of the AFL.
Three million to buy his share of Gemba and then payment for coaching.
Wow !
No coach until after trade week - That is 2 weeks away - Add one week - That makes it three weeks.
Could EFC be having a crack at Malthouse ?
Hird could be the most expensive head coach/assistant coach in the history of the AFL.
Wow !
Prob make good money back with memberships etc if Hird coaches.
merkystar
21 Sep 2010, 00:59
Wow, interesting stuff indeed! Becoming more and more likely Hird will be involved in some capacity. I would be very, very excited to hear that he is coming with Thompson (2 I thought were little to no chance), Williams or maybe even Laidley. Will be very worried, however, if it Hird alone - which I dont think the Dons would do.
Thompson with Hird as a handover plan - please make it happen!!!!!!!!!
I have heard (from an ex player) that Hirdy WILL be coach next year with both Williams & Laidley to assist. Hird will be the senior coach, laidley the tactician and Williams as the director of coaching. Hirdy approached David Evans approx 10 weeks ago about the position.
Is this a case of overkill.
Do we need two senior coaches to support the Head Coach ?
Can anyone think of another similar situation ?
We will have the most highly paid Coaching Panel in the AFL !
Is this a case of overkill.
Do we need two senior coaches to support the Head Coach ?
Can anyone think of another similar situation ?
We will have the most highly paid Coaching Panel in the AFL !
On top of the $1m we owe Knighter.:mad:
Ess_don
21 Sep 2010, 01:45
Wow !
Could also add the payout we're giving to Knights?
O well, we're rich right? What else are we gonna spend it on? :D
Could also add the payout we're giving to Knights?
O well, we're rich right? What else are we gonna spend it on? :D
Booze cruise, carltank style.:cool: Great way to introduce the rookies to the Essendon Football Club.
stugots
21 Sep 2010, 07:20
agree that Jimmy dropped his guard there for a second last night when he & the missus revealed that YES, he would be back to coach the Prahran under-9s next season:eek:
but on a serial note, the planets appear to be aligning & there is little doubt to me now that Hird will be at the club as senior coach next season.
Eleven 38
21 Sep 2010, 08:20
Atleast we are spending money, whats the point of having money if we are going to finish 10th or below every year???
LocalBomber
21 Sep 2010, 08:41
I must admit I never considered Hird would be coach until last night.
Slattery_20
21 Sep 2010, 08:48
So basically, what Robson's said in that article, is that Hird may be involved, in some way. Which basically hasn't changed for about 6 months.
And what Hird's said there, is that he may be involved, in some way, which - again - hasn't changed for some months.
I think the conclusion we can draw is that Hird may be involved in some way.
I would love the club to get a senior coach, as senior coach, and get Hird on board as an assistant. Screw all this director of coaching, uber-assistant, over-seer stuff.
The Donners
21 Sep 2010, 09:23
If Hird isn't heavily involved, I'd say it's yet another case of the club handling a situation poorly.
Essendon's fans' hopes are now up, if Hird isn't involved I think we may see a Knights situation all over again.
"watch this space"
Slattery_20
21 Sep 2010, 09:26
TBH the last thing I want them to worry about is "what the fans think". **** perceptions, **** supporters, most of them are (frankly) idiots.
Fan-driven decisions = Eade over Clarkson; Cousins to Richmond; Sheedy coaching Richmond...
I'm 99% sure it will have some bearing tho. I just hope it's in the right way. He's not ready IMHO.
The Donners
21 Sep 2010, 09:33
TBH the last thing I want them to worry about is "what the fans think". **** perceptions, **** supporters, most of them are (frankly) idiots.
Fan-driven decisions = Eade over Clarkson; Cousins to Richmond; Sheedy coaching Richmond...
I'm 99% sure it will have some bearing tho. I just hope it's in the right way. He's not ready IMHO.
I wouldn't have a clue if he's ready or not but Essendon have made their bed by not putting speculation to... ahem... rest.
Slattery_20
21 Sep 2010, 09:37
I hope they're just being rather good managing the hype without actually locking themselves into anything.
abers47
21 Sep 2010, 09:46
PERFECT - but can we afford it with also paying out Knights???:confused:
knightsgone
21 Sep 2010, 10:17
That would be an awesome coaching panel. I wouldn't mind seeing Michael Long back at the club in some form.
Prob make good money back with memberships etc if Hird coaches.
Probably make good money? Membership will be plus 10,000.
3 year honeymoon, we'll all lap it up. :D
Thompson-Hird - stuff of dreams - too good to be true and therefore probably wont happen.
win1soon
22 Sep 2010, 01:26
http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/hird-likely-to-coach-dons-20100921-15lc0.html (http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/hird-likely-to-coach-dons-20100921-15lc0.html)THE romantic prospect of James Hird returning to Essendon in a senior coaching role now looks certain to become a reality, with the club legend considering his business and family commitments as the Bombers piece together a new off-field football structure for the embattled club.http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/hird-likely-to-coach-dons-20100921-15lc0.html
Thought you might like to read this..
DVD Player
22 Sep 2010, 07:46
By likely do they mean they have NFI?
The Donners
22 Sep 2010, 08:08
By likely do they mean they have NFI?
Exactly.
Unless he puts pen to paper Hird isn't coaching next year - Captain Obvious.
No real new information there. I still think Hird will be there as an assistant coach.
Breaking News: Hird seen strolling into Windy Hill!
The Donners
22 Sep 2010, 10:57
Breaking News: Hird seen strolling into Windy Hill!
Haha stop the press!
It's a Caro so the chance of happening are next to nil.
Valve Bounce
22 Sep 2010, 13:36
Heard it was Hird! told ya couple of days ago already. Just shows that Caro scans our board for info! :D
yodellinhank
22 Sep 2010, 14:17
Whilst the prefix of the thread may have been better as "Rumor", (even though it was printed in a "news"paper; it was a worthy article to bring up. Especially given this bit:
The Age can reveal that the Essendon board has already looked at a remuneration package and job description for Hird should he officially return to the Bombers and that, even before Matthew Knights was sacked, Hird had indicated he was open to an offer but needed to talk with his family.
http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/hird-likely-to-coach-dons-20100921-15lc0.html
Thought you might like to read this..
This last bit is indeed interesting reading, even though the rumors have been around a while, it hasn't really been in print.
Slappery
22 Sep 2010, 15:47
No coach until after trade week - That is 2 weeks away - Add one week - That makes it three weeks.
Could EFC be having a crack at Malthouse ?
Would you support collingwood and hope they win, if it meant.........
Malthouse handing over to Buckley and Micky crossing over to be our senior coach, with Jimmy and Laidley as assistants. Same deal as Mick has with Collingwood now, but it gives him another 3 years as a head coach. He is definately not finished as a senior coach and has the desire to continue.
GO THE PIES........(it hurts sooooooo much)
stay true
22 Sep 2010, 17:50
I can't believe some people are getting worried about financials. We're in the position we are because we've been too skint. Break the ****ing bank and make us hot shit again!
But God damnit don't we all want it to be true?
AndyLesPaul
22 Sep 2010, 18:53
I don't know how exactly I feel
I definitely like the idea of Hird coaching the club, but I want him to become coach based on merit, and not based on name.
I do not want a club champion be ridiculed in a few years time.
Valve Bounce
22 Sep 2010, 18:56
But God damnit don't we all want it to be true?
Two reasons:
1. Hird is determined to succeed and
2. All the players respect him.
We have a very young team, and James will take them to the top. Just give him a little time, that's all.
i want the board to pick the best contender, not the one with the best cred with the fans.
Mad Bomber Sean
22 Sep 2010, 21:06
I haven't posted here for ages as I have been in Bali. Now a scuba diving instructor! ( (insert shameless plug here)
If Hird coaches Essendon it will be a great success but in time.
He is a great strategist & very very good communicator. I dare say that his footy brain borders on genuis, up there with Leigh Matthews. Furthermore he doesn't tolerate mediocrity so he will cut players when they prove ineefctive. Finally he will bring & attract new gun players to the club, like Mundy & other very very good players. Who doesn't want to be associated with the Hird Aura?
if true I want him more than anyone. I am backing him primarily due to his inspirational nature. He will coach Essendon to it's next flag, Fletcher will also join the coachig staff after retirement to become the backline coach with Lloyd coaching he fwd line.
Laidley will get a match day strategy role.
I belive this will happen because it is his destiny. He will work harder than
anyone to make it so. Some people are born with an idea & work there whole lives to make it happen & it happens. Hird is this the chosen one.
matty lloyd the champ
22 Sep 2010, 21:10
I'm hoping we hire an experienced senior coach and give Hirdy a position as an assistant coach. THe club needs stability at the moment and hiring a coach with no prior experience is the last thing we need right now.
Its a done deal - they are working through the Gemma stuff, need another "icon" sports person as a face of the business.
They are also trying to get Bomber to complete the dream team but that is unlikely.
Chocko will more than likely be involved - maybe Laidley.
Skeeta Olly
22 Sep 2010, 21:50
Nothing new^
SirJimi05
22 Sep 2010, 21:54
Its a done deal - they are working through the Gemma stuff, need another "icon" sports person as a face of the business.
They are also trying to get Bomber to complete the dream team but that is unlikely.
Chocko will more than likely be involved - maybe Laidley.
Pretty sure most people on here also read todays paper, mate.
Mad Bomber Sean
22 Sep 2010, 23:03
I haven't posted here for ages as I have been in Bali. Now a scuba diving instructor! ( (insert shameless plug here)
He is a great strategist & very very good communicator. I dare say that his footy brain borders on genuis, up there with Leigh Matthews. Furthermore he doesn't tolerate mediocrity so he will cut players when they prove ineefctive. Finally he will bring & attract new gun players to the club, like Mundy & other very very good players. Who doesn't want to be associated with the Hird Aura?
if true I want him more than anyone. I am backing him primarily due to his inspirational nature. He will coach Essendon to it's next flag, Fletcher will also join the coachig staff after retirement to become the backline coach with Lloyd coaching he fwd line.
anyone to make it so. Some people are born with an idea & work there whole lives to make it happen & it happens. Hird is this the chosen one.
Bomber32
22 Sep 2010, 23:20
I would be more than happy with a Hirdy/Choco combo and Dean Laidley as the match day tactician.
Sean
Will be in bali Dec 15-19.
Catch up for a drink.
The Great Barry Besanko
22 Sep 2010, 23:55
I felt the same way waiting for Tim Watson to return to Essendon. No offence mate but not sure what makes you think he's a great strategist. He hasn't been a great communicator last 6-8 weeks and when has Leigh Matthews been regarded as a genius football brain???
Hopefully he's back in some assistant capacity.
Makes me wonder wtf someone like Laidley would take a senior role knowing he's just warming the seat for Hird. Or even Choco.
OzBomber
23 Sep 2010, 00:35
I don't want him coaching unless Mark Williams or Dean Laidley is beside him. That is that.
Ludwig van Bertstare
23 Sep 2010, 00:43
JAMES Hird will coach Essendon next year - if he can resolve a range of personal and business issues.
The Bombers legend has told the club he is keen to return to Windy Hill, but the deal has yet to be sealed.
http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/james-hird-on-the-verge-to-coach-essendon/story-e6frf9jf-1225928062508
Kevin-Sheedy has fallen in love with James Hird.
Will he change his ID to James Hird.
Reading through the article it seems Malthouse is out of the equation.
He would need to be Head Coach, rather than a director of coaching - he can do that in 2012 if he doesnt wish to continue coaching.
When Malthouse comes out of contract at the end of 2011, there are about 6 or 7 coaches coming out of contract. So likely to be job offers heading his way.
The Donners
23 Sep 2010, 07:27
Not really anything new:
http://www.foxsports.com.au/story/0,8659,27746294-5018851,00.html
Essendon great James Hird has told the club he is keen to return to Windy Hill and will coach the Bombers next year if he can resolve a range of personal and business issues.
It is believed Laidley is ahead of Williams in the race to coach Essendon.
http://www.foxsports.com.au/story/0,8659,27746294-5018851,00.html
Raistlan
23 Sep 2010, 08:20
I thought he was going to return as Captain-Coach.
This is certainly the strongest indication yet that it is going to happen. On the radio coming into work the club side by this time next week a new coach will have been announced. Was only 5AA here in Adelaide, and I have no idea where their sources are but that's what was said. Whether it's Hird or someone else, I'll just be relieved to know
Am I the only one who is getting sick of these Hird to coach speculative articles?
There better be some basis, becuase the fan backlash will be immense if this falls through now and the EFC did not take the opportunity to rule him out publicially if it was all bulltish.
Scott Lucas on SEN yesterday could easily have ruled him out but didn't.
If he is in the mix, Robson and Evans better pull this off as its gone way too far now not to cause a fan backlash. that might be unfair but its the reality.
I thought he was going to return as Captain-Coach.
No that's Lloyd.
If we can get the set up of Laidley/Hird I would be very happy.
Am I the only one who is getting sick of these Hird to coach speculative articles?
There better be some basis, becuase the fan backlash will be immense if this falls through now and the EFC did not take the opportunity to rule him out publicially if it was all bulltish.
Scott Lucas on SEN yesterday could easily have ruled him out but didn't.
If he is in the mix, Robson and Evans better pull this off as its gone way too far now not to cause a fan backlash. that might be unfair but its the reality.
The above should be absolutely screaming 'done deal' to you.
Hird being at the club next year as some sort of coach simply has to be $1.01. Robson was specifically asked, and not only did he not deny it, he actually fueled it a little. As you have said, there has been no denial of any sort from the club and even Hird himself isnt even sputting out the conditional responses anymore, he is just shutting up.
It's a political game...just like Knights had to go as the ramifications on guys like Robson and Evans would have been huge if knights was to flop next season...James Hird is returning home. As you said, if he doesn't, it would simply look too embarrassing for the elected Pres and CEO.
Evans and Robson are not stupid.
http://www.gemba.com.au/
Casting my eyes over his team, and I don't think I spot one ugly chick. lol!
Call Me Cake
23 Sep 2010, 10:09
The club has said time and time again that they cannot control what the media says or does, and most of the time, they don't even care.
The club has every right to stay composed and take it's time when selecting a coach. And it's exactly what they're doing.
I'm pretty sure the club has already said that they have not ruled anyone out, not even Hird. And I'm also pretty sure that they've said it is up to him, thus, they are not in the position to either deny or confirm his interest as they could very well know as much as we do.
Some of you need to get your hand off it.
bombermick
23 Sep 2010, 10:12
Damn. That's going to make it a bit tough to lure him back to Windy Hill! :p
Hird for coach seems to be gathering momentum. I'm just not sure how a Laidley or Williams will feel about training up Hird for the senior job. What happens if the team enjoys real success under either of them? Will they simply give up the job 2 or 3 years down the track?
knightsgone
23 Sep 2010, 10:22
The Coaching panel of Hird/Laidley/Williams and Richardson i would be very happy. Listening to Richardson on Sen now he knows his stuff.
Call Me Cake
23 Sep 2010, 10:31
OOjTgAGjNwM&feature=sub
Oh Tayteridge
23 Sep 2010, 10:41
I want the best coaching panel ever.
That means Thompson director of coaching, Hird coach, Laidley and Williams assistants.
Then I'd be jizzin.
stugots
23 Sep 2010, 10:56
just finished listening to Richardson on SEN - obviously very knowledgeable, hope we dont lose him for at least the next couple of years, but little doubt he will be the head coach somewhere sooner rather than later
http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/james-hird-on-the-verge-to-coach-essendon/story-e6frf9jf-1225928062508
JAMES Hird will coach Essendon next year - if he can resolve a range of personal and business issues.
Looking positive for an answer mid next week.
Lloyd wants Hird to coach (http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/103072/default.aspx)
ESSENDON great Matthew Lloyd has thrown his support behind ex-teammate James Hird, saying it would be “fantastic” if the Brownlow medallist was appointed coach of the Bombers next season.
Lloyd wants Hird to coach (http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/103072/default.aspx)
yay for stuff we already knew being regurgitated by afl.com.au.
TheBlondeBomber
23 Sep 2010, 21:55
Hey, my opinion might be a rather unpopular one but I feel if needs to be talked into it then they shouldn't go for it. I don't want him coaching the team because he may feel obliged or pressured into it by the board and the fans.
Interesting opinion by Leigh Mathhews on 3AW.
Happy for Hird to be appointed as Head Coach because he has rare talents, but made it very clear, that Hird shouldn't need a Laidley, Williams etc, to assist him in coaching.
Mathhews said that you are ready or not ready, to take full responsibilites.
Lance Uppercut
23 Sep 2010, 22:07
Hey, my opinion might be a rather unpopular one but I feel if needs to be talked into it then they shouldn't go for it. I don't want him coaching the team because he may feel obliged or pressured into it by the board and the fans.
god I hate this stupid reasoning. It assumes that Hird is the kind of guy who would change his entire life due to some kind "pressure" from the board & fans. That he's the kind of guy who is so insecure in himself that he can't make a proper decision for himself.
People who worry about this obviously have no idea about the true character of James Hird
Darealrath
23 Sep 2010, 22:26
Alistair Nicholson is on there!!
Do you think Jim calls him every day at 10am asking him to find out who was meant to be playing on him in the 2000 GF?
Alistair Nicholson is on there!!
Do you think Jim calls him every day at 10am asking him to find out who was meant to be playing on him in the 2000 GF?
Certain that I saw the HK Manager of GEMBA out in Wanchai last night.:eek:
TheBlondeBomber
23 Sep 2010, 22:37
god I hate this stupid reasoning. It assumes that Hird is the kind of guy who would change his entire life due to some kind "pressure" from the board & fans. That he's the kind of guy who is so insecure in himself that he can't make a proper decision for himself.
People who worry about this obviously have no idea about the true character of James Hird
You're right, I don't know him personally so I don't know what his thought process will be. I didn't state this as fact nor do I think he appears to be an insecure individual. My only concern is that he has had a long time to think about it and if he still is unsure maybe the time isn't right.
The Great Barry Besanko
23 Sep 2010, 23:29
Made some silly comments when Knights still in charge that made it very difficult for club as well as Knights. Some people can get to be too wrapped up in the player.
I just want a coach who is 100% certain he wants the job. Don't get that with Hird.
Is there any truth in the rumour that James Hird is related to Rob Oakeshott?
DVD Player
24 Sep 2010, 01:20
I have mixed emotions regarding Hird. I want him, but I had my heart set on Williams.
Is there any truth in the rumour that James Hird is related to Rob Oakeshott?
Expect to be flamed.;)
Duckworth
24 Sep 2010, 02:42
And it continues...
http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/hird-eyes-coaching-dream-team-for-bombers-20100923-15owm.html
That is a great read, Myers, Jetta and Houli are all important to Essendon in the future, we need to keep all three kids.
I'm guessing the apointments will be delivered at the B/F.
Mr Mojo Risin
24 Sep 2010, 10:34
Are we looking at the same thing?
While none of them are out and out ugly, only maybe one of them is decent....surely I'm not looking at the right spot
Lance Uppercut
24 Sep 2010, 10:57
You're right, I don't know him personally so I don't know what his thought process will be. I didn't state this as fact nor do I think he appears to be an insecure individual. My only concern is that he has had a long time to think about it and if he still is unsure maybe the time isn't right.
I think you don't understand the negotiation process. That isn't done publicly.
Made some silly comments when Knights still in charge that made it very difficult for club as well as Knights. Some people can get to be too wrapped up in the player.
I just want a coach who is 100% certain he wants the job. Don't get that with Hird.
Your second paragraph contradicts your first.
In any case, you say he made some silly comments, I say he responded honestly to a question.
footywhereever
24 Sep 2010, 11:11
Bring on Lethal Leigh Matthews!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
He will toughen us up and not take any crap, great mentor for Hird and his assitants in Wallis, Goodwin, Richardson & OD