View Full Version : Toast 2010 AFL Grand Final
Oh my god.
I have never seen a better finals game, and with consideration to the importance, perhaps any game.
Unbelievable.
Agreed, amazing game of football and I hope next week is just as good.
mark1881
25 Sep 2010, 17:53
hollow
games like that deserve a result...the AFLs money hungry hands are responsible
djrossie
25 Sep 2010, 17:54
That was Heroic from Brendon Goddard. Can't believe how committed this St Kilda team is. :thumbsu:
Goddard's performance was just about as good as I've seen in a Grand Final.
George Washington
25 Sep 2010, 18:11
hollow
games like that deserve a result...the AFLs money hungry hands are responsible
Yep, so a hundred or so years ago when they decided on this rule, the reason was so they could make more money off tickets and ads etc. Good one mate. :thumbsu:
Think everyone is jumping the gun... plenty of better grand finals than that, the umpiring was typically non existent at crucial times. St Kilda played 2 quarters of footy and if the pies kicked straight would have been a white wash. Staggers me how over rated the Saints are. Having said that, Hayes and Goddard played great games, how Goddard didn't get norm smith is staggering. Thought Jolly, Shaw and Maxwell were best for pies.
Wahooti Fandango
25 Sep 2010, 18:40
Just got back from the game. Was epic.
mark1881
25 Sep 2010, 18:47
Yep, so a hundred or so years ago when they decided on this rule, the reason was so they could make more money off tickets and ads etc. Good one mate. :thumbsu:
they love changing rules yet this one has stayed the same.......hmmmmmmmmmmmmmm? Put two and two together champ...even malthouse said it gives the opportunity for the AFL to sell another 100k tickets.
Andrew and Adrian will be licking their lips!
Eleven 38
25 Sep 2010, 19:04
if either team had a CHF that could kick straight at crucial times there would have been a result....if either cloke or roo needed just to score after the siren youd back em in to kick it out of bounds.....
hopefully gumby can be that CHF!!
I never thought I'd see a drawn GF, but hey here we are.
Ripper game, really looking forward to next week.
Eleven 38
25 Sep 2010, 19:23
they love changing rules yet this one has stayed the same.......hmmmmmmmmmmmmmm? Put two and two together champ...even malthouse said it gives the opportunity for the AFL to sell another 100k tickets.
Andrew and Adrian will be licking their lips!
not to mention the bookies,,,,dont think the saints will be $3 next week though..
Son of Whispy
25 Sep 2010, 20:14
Think everyone is jumping the gun... plenty of better grand finals than that, the umpiring was typically non existent at crucial times. St Kilda played 2 quarters of footy and if the pies kicked straight would have been a white wash. Staggers me how over rated the Saints are. Having said that, Hayes and Goddard played great games, how Goddard didn't get norm smith is staggering. Thought Jolly, Shaw and Maxwell were best for pies.
I agree, i've seen plenty of better grand finals. If Collingwood (sorry Cloke) could kick straight, the game would of been finished at half time.
Great finish though, champions in Hayes and Goddard stood up. Don't underestimate Fisher and Gwilt's game for St.Kilda was. If it wasn't for them in the first half, they would of been 10 goalds behind.
Be very interesting next week, and if body language after the game is anything to read, St.Kilda will win. But it probably means nothing.
Bomber32
25 Sep 2010, 20:31
A magnificent game played by both sides. I'm really looking forward to next week.
Tre Bones
25 Sep 2010, 20:39
Yep good game but deserved a result. I reckon next week each club chooses a charity and all the profits from the game go to the nominated charities, wonder whether Mr D would be keen for that.....:D
Think everyone is jumping the gun... plenty of better grand finals than that1995 is the first Grand Final that I can remember.
Since then, only 2002 (Brisbane def Collingwood by 8 points) and 2009 (Geelong def St Kilda by 12 points) are a chance of being better, in my opinion.
I didn't rate the West Coast/Sydney GFs like most others.
SirJimi05
25 Sep 2010, 20:47
Would have been better if the tip rat had managed to take control of that elusively bouncing ball in the dying seconds.
Tony Delaney
25 Sep 2010, 20:48
Disagree about the kicking straight, the Saints missed one or two easy ones and Thomas's wobbler was a bonus goal and how many out of 10 would Didak kick from there, so it all balances out. The replay imo suits the Saints because the last half they played they outscored the Pies by 4 goals in a low scoring game so i think will have the confidance.
Re the Norm Smith i was of the same thinking but looking at it that was because channel 10 mentioned Goddard flat out for the award. Over the 4 quarters Hayes was brilliant also.
It was a good,intense game, but not as good as the 2009 GF, but better than the Sydney/WC snoozefests.
Wahooti Fandango
25 Sep 2010, 20:59
1995 is the first Grand Final that I can remember.
Since then, only 2002 (Brisbane def Collingwood by 8 points) and 2009 (Geelong def St Kilda by 12 points) are a chance of being better, in my opinion.
I didn't rate the West Coast/Sydney GFs like most others.
1993 is the first that I took notice of. :D
Haha yeah, I remember knowing that Essendon won, and I went to the Grand Final parade, but 1995 is the first GF that I actually have memories of watching.
From then on I remember fair bits of each GF.
Frothies Mcveigh
25 Sep 2010, 22:18
Absolute super game. Deserved a winner but Hayes and Goddard were heroic in that second half.
table tennis
25 Sep 2010, 22:33
Hayes is a god. End of story.
Goddard is his apprentice
Call Me Cake
25 Sep 2010, 22:47
What if the replay ends up in a draw?? :eek:
Really wanted the Saints to seal the deal today... because while they came back from a 4 goal or so deficit after half time, they couldn't have done it without Collingwood's inaccuracy. A lot of things went right for the Saints, and the chances of all of that going their way again is doubtful...
The main reason St Kilda were able to stand up in that last quarter was because Collingwood have recently been questionable in terms of last quarters where they have not generated a substantial lead beforehand. Next week, the Saints need to perform better in the first half if they want to have another good chance at winning, to preferably gather up a big lead. Because, lightning don't strike the same place twice...
With that said, had the Saints won, this would have been one of the best Grand Finals ever. Regardless, imo, it still is. I guess one of the benefits of a replay is that we get to see more. :thumbsu:
Having time-on doesn't always mean a draw wouldn't still happen.
Also, am I the only one who began to notice the Saints figuring out Collingwood's approach to the game, thus being able to match whatever they were given (alongside Collingwood's inaccuracy)?. Hopefully they can make the most of their new-found realizations and start off fresher next week!
Hurley needs to be molded into the form of a Goddard. :D
Colin D'Cops
25 Sep 2010, 23:44
Unreal was the outcome, not much between them all match.
Cloke had a few chances to put away the battling Saints at one point, but the Saints just kept on coming thanks majorly to Goddard & Hayes. Heath Shaw played a nice match off the HBF, was setting up plays for the majority of the match. Swan was a little quiet, thought Davis kicked the sealer after doing nothing all match (at this point was about to walk off) but stuck through it and glad I did.
Agree with what Maxwell had to say at the end, a final outcome should have been sorted today. I understand tradition and all the jazz, but I agree. AndrewD would be loving the draw, more money coming the AFL's way and more money to hand-out to GWS & the GC. Looking forward to the Grand Final (again!).
Darealrath
26 Sep 2010, 07:16
Also, am I the only one who began to notice the Saints figuring out Collingwood's approach to the game, thus being able to match whatever they were given (alongside Collingwood's inaccuracy)?. Hopefully they can make the most of their new-found realizations and start off fresher next week!
I have never seen a team better at that than the saints. They are ridiculously good at making in game adjustments and then just suffocating the life out of their opponents. It's why they have such a good record against the top teams.
Credit must go to Ross Lyon. Brilliant match day coach.
How did my namesake not ****ing win the Norm Smith is beyond me. Next week Brendan, next week!
I think the Saints are a lot more suited to backing it up the following week than Collingwood. Pies had two pretty soft games against Geelong and the Dogs. No where near as physical as what the Saints are.
Saints should be slight favourites now as long as they can halt Collingwood's early momentum boosts.
Towno78
26 Sep 2010, 09:03
Unbelievable game. I have always loved Lenny, and I'm wrapped he won the Norm Smith (and so is my wallet :)), but I was surprised it didn't go to BJ. Great effort from the Sainters to come back from there, and laughable T. Choke was unable to ice it before half time.
Thoroughly enjoyable day, just disappointing it ended with nothing.
Side note, can someone tell me what happened to Gardiner?
Naturally they didn't have money in mind when the rule was first made... But in the 90s they changed the rule of drawn finals to have extra time, yet they left the GF out of the amendment.
WTF? Why did do that? Money of course, there can be no other reason for the ludicrous decision and it's an absolute bloody joke. To have slept out at the ground overnight for a seat for there to be no result is ridiculous and infuriating. Bloody disgraceful from the AFL. I can't begin to imagine how the bloke who camped out for 3 nights is feeling!
Towno78
26 Sep 2010, 09:13
What if the replay ends up in a draw?? :eek:
Really wanted the Saints to seal the deal today... because while they came back from a 4 goal or so deficit after half time, they couldn't have done it without Collingwood's inaccuracy. A lot of things went right for the Saints, and the chances of all of that going their way again is doubtful...
The main reason St Kilda were able to stand up in that last quarter was because Collingwood have recently been questionable in terms of last quarters where they have not generated a substantial lead beforehand. Next week, the Saints need to perform better in the first half if they want to have another good chance at winning, to preferably gather up a big lead. Because, lightning don't strike the same place twice...
With that said, had the Saints won, this would have been one of the best Grand Finals ever. Regardless, imo, it still is. I guess one of the benefits of a replay is that we get to see more. :thumbsu:
Having time-on doesn't always mean a draw wouldn't still happen.
Hurley needs to be molded into the form of a Goddard. :D
Of course it does, you keep having extra time until someone wins.
Just had a flashback to a basketball final I played that had 4 extra time periods... Could you imagine the epic if that happened on AFL GF day!! :eek:
Lance Uppercut
26 Sep 2010, 10:14
if it's another draw, they will play time-on.
A game like that just makes me even more passionate about Essendon getting back to where they deserve - the big day!
table tennis
26 Sep 2010, 12:48
Just glad that we get to get on the gas next weekend! Do
It all again. My missus is spewing, me and the boys love it!
Such a good game. I like the idea of playing it again but am spewing that I wont be able to make the second game. Had a look at flights and cant justify the cost of the plane tickets when buying only 1 week out. But that is how the cookie crumbles....
The game itself had everything though. Hard contests, moments of individual brilliance and Collingwood not winning. Might invite some workmates over and introduce them to the game. Should be a corker :thumbsu::thumbsu:
Expect Collingwood to win comfortably next week.
Their press suffocated the life out of the Saints - Conceding only 35 forward 50's.
There will be no mistake if this happens next week.
On an Aside - My wish for next week is better kicking, especially to leading forwards.
dave_27
26 Sep 2010, 15:57
Must say I have new found respect for a couple of Collingwood players I have dismissed in the past. Dale Thomas putting his body on the line and Nick Maxwell's near BOG for Collingwood in the biggest game of all were outstanding.
Alan Didak on the other hand....:thumbsd:
Goddard took his game to another level, I have never rated him as highly as others who have had a bat over him for years but yesterday he was EVERYWHERE. True matchwinner (well nearly)
Dont think you can say much more about Hayes, his past 2 years have turned everyone into his no 1 fan. Inspirational leader. Up there with Kirk.
SirJimi05
26 Sep 2010, 16:15
Must say I have new found respect for a couple of Collingwood players I have dismissed in the past. Dale Thomas putting his body on the line and Nick Maxwell's near BOG for Collingwood in the biggest game of all were outstanding.
Alan Didak on the other hand....:thumbsd:
Thomas has always been a courageous player who puts his small frame on the line. It's just BF buffies that think otherwise.
Regarding the replay. The AFL have always rejected playing a night grand final citing 'historical' significance as the reason behind it. There would be much more money in it for them if they played a night grand final. Maybe keeping the reply is simpy in line with not wanting to mess with the history behind the GF?
stugots
26 Sep 2010, 16:58
1995 is the first Grand Final that I can remember.
1977 for me (was a closet norf supporter but luckily snapped out of it), when i fell in love with the game.
god i feel old right now & its not just because of the usual post gf hangover;)
Call Me Cake
26 Sep 2010, 19:09
Thomas has always been a courageous player who puts his small frame on the line. It's just BF buffies that think otherwise.
Please.
I agree with Maxwell, but Thomas? Give me a break. Was up and about early on when Collingwood were on the roll, but as soon as they really needed him, he was either showing us his true hackness or disappearing into the midst.
He's lucky he's in such a great team, otherwise he wouldn't be getting a kick anywhere else.
Call Me Cake
26 Sep 2010, 19:19
1977 for me (was a closet norf supporter but luckily snapped out of it), when i fell in love with the game.
god i feel old right now & its not just because of the usual post gf hangover;)
http://www.thehindubusinessline.com/iw/2003/07/20/images/2003072000481301.jpg
;)
centurion
26 Sep 2010, 19:23
Wasn't a classic fightback because the Saints failed to win.
Come on SAINTERS!!!!
stugots
27 Sep 2010, 08:46
http://www.thehindubusinessline.com/iw/2003/07/20/images/2003072000481301.jpg
;)
http://thebovinecomedy.files.wordpress.com/2009/07/billsnydercomplainsaboutthepriceofbeer.jpg?w=256&h=192
;)