View Full Version : News 'Bomber' Thompson Comes Home (16/11 Update: Bomber to have full-time role)
stugots
28 Sep 2010, 11:23
Just on SEN apparently news out & about that Bomber has officially resigned from the cats
stay true
28 Sep 2010, 11:24
gCySTWFcnlM
xMichaelx
28 Sep 2010, 11:26
Just then on SEN said Bomber was staying on another station. :S
A caller to KB'S show alerted them to the Kim Hagdorn article that RIG posted in another thread earlier.
Zacstars
28 Sep 2010, 11:33
I've heard that Bomber Thompson has definitely resigned. Geelong exec's have called him in for a last ditch meeting to try and keep him.
Gary Ablett Jnr to announce on Friday that he is going to GC
Valve Bounce
28 Sep 2010, 11:36
just on sen apparently news out & about that bomber has officially resigned from the cats
link please!!!
Waverley73
28 Sep 2010, 11:39
I've heard that Bomber Thompson has definitely resigned. Geelong exec's have called him in for a last ditch meeting to try and keep him.
Gary Ablett Jnr to announce on Friday that he is going to GC
Are both of these gut feels or do you actually have proof of them?
Zacstars
28 Sep 2010, 11:44
The only proof I have is from my housemate who is in some secret Big Footy forum. Things that are said on this forum are 99% correct.
whats_at_stake
Would prefer he stay with Geelong- would rather Choco or Laidley
Ludwig van Bertstare
http://www.geelongadvertiser.com.au/article/2010/09/28/214221_news.html
KB on SEN read an online article from the Geelong Advertiser
Thompson has resigned as coach of GFC.
Zacstars
28 Sep 2010, 11:48
http://www.sportsnewsfirst.com.au/articles/2010/09/28/thompson-shocks-the-cats-with-resignation/
Ben the Gooner
28 Sep 2010, 11:49
would rather Williams or Choco.
If you had a gun pointed to your head, which would you chose? Williams or Choco?
AndyLesPaul
28 Sep 2010, 11:51
If you had a gun pointed to your head, which would you chose? Williams or Choco?
Definitely Choco.
Excellent news.
I can see hird being 'coach' superficially, but really assistant coach as he adjusts himself to the role
aidancdaman
28 Sep 2010, 11:52
I'd be taking Williams and Choco ;).
What a day for the club....
Ethernia
LOL, talk about an impossible choice to make!
Ludwig van Bertstare
Press conference at 2PM?
Would prefer he stay with Geelong- would rather Williams or Choco.
Ha Ha Ha
You were leading the charge to sack Knights - But you are still dissatisfied with the proposed coaching panel.:(
stay true
28 Sep 2010, 11:56
As they say... haters gonna ha-brrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr rrrr
SNAP!!! Robson is quickly proving why he is the best CEO in the buisness!
whats_at_stake
28 Sep 2010, 11:58
Ha Ha Ha
You were leading the charge to sack Knights - But you are still dissatisfied with the proposed coaching panel.:(
More so because I think Thomposon has made Geelong into a arrogant team and fails to change his gameplan (i.e. plan b) and given his primary role is to be tactician I think he is not the best for the job. Also he has not gone through the interview process like the others.
The second reason is we will lose our competitive advantage to other clubs with Bomber.
Say for example Bomber is a 9, Williams a 7 and Laidley a 5. If we take Bomber clubs such as Carlton will now be able to get the people who missed out- so we gain 9 points but lose 12.
If we had taken Choco and Laidley and Bomber retires in a year- that experience is lost and we keep all of the experience and keep our competitive advantage.
Ben the Gooner
28 Sep 2010, 11:59
Say for example Bomber is a 9, Williams a 7 and Laidley a 5. If we take Bomber clubs such as Carlton will now be able to get the people who missed out- so we gain 9 points but lose 12.
What is Choco though?
AndyLesPaul
28 Sep 2010, 12:00
Thompson is a mad pickup.
Laidley and Williams will be assistants.
GO'D can do as he pleases.
More so because I think Thomposon has made Geelong into a arrogant team and fails to change his gameplan (i.e. plan b) and given his primary role is to be tactician I think he is not the best for the job. Also he has not gone through the interview process like the others.
The second reason is we will lose our competitive advantage to other clubs with Bomber.
If we had taken Choco and Laidley and Bomber retires in a year- that experience is lost and we keep all of the experience and keep our competitive advantage.
Apparently he wanted to change the gameplan this year but the players wanted to go with tried and tested. Was in an article a while back.
Little Jerry
28 Sep 2010, 12:01
What will this mean for Choco and Laidley? Hoping we can still nab Laidley.
stay true
28 Sep 2010, 12:04
More so because I think Thomposon has made Geelong into a arrogant team
I dunno about you, but this is one massive thing we have lacked for a long time. We need that arrogance back.
whats_at_stake
28 Sep 2010, 12:04
Apparently he wanted to change the gameplan this year but the players wanted to go with tried and tested. Was in an article a while back.
That says more about the coach then players- surely as senior coach you should be strong enough to make a change to the gameplan. Will he simply be a Hirdy "yes" man? We need strong people around Hird who are willing to have their opinion heard.
whats_at_stake
28 Sep 2010, 12:06
I dunno about you, but this is one massive thing we have lacked for a long time. We need that arrogance back.
I know what you mean but there is a different type of arrogance. Just the way he talks, the sandwiches, sleeping during the club song- this is what I do not want.
I want the EFC to be feared again and that requires some arrogance but not tool behaviour.
Personally I'd prefer confidence to arrogance. Although I'd accept both when we have some results to back it up.
What exactly did Choco and Laidley do this year at Port? Yes, Bomber turned Geelong into an arrogant team- so much so that the players wouldn't accept a plan B- although he did try.
I like to hope that he learnt from that lesson. What lessons have choco/laidley learnt from this year?
That says more about the coach then players- surely as senior coach you should be strong enough to make a change to the gameplan. Will he simply be a Hirdy "yes" man? We need strong people around Hird who are willing to have their opinion heard.
Fair enough. Think what you want to think, I just cant understand how you cant be happy with what has happend today.
Oh Tayteridge
28 Sep 2010, 12:08
I'm not sure how much you can possibly change with such an ageing list which has primarily been centred upon the same style through their entire experience of senior success.
Changing their game plan would mean substantially altering their list, too. Unfortunately, that's not something that is going to be done as soon as they win their 2nd premiership in 3 years.
I'm not sure how much you can possibly change with such an ageing list which has primarily been centred upon the same style through their entire experience of senior success.
Changing their game plan would mean substantially altering their list, too. Unfortunately, that's not something that is going to be done as soon as they win their 2nd premiership in 3 years.
I guess thats what they said at the start of the year too. :cool: Anyway I am rapt with the appointments.
whats_at_stake
28 Sep 2010, 12:12
Fair enough. Think what you want to think, I just cant understand how you cant be happy with what has happend today.
Course I am happy- this is a great day in the history of the EFC and I am desperately trying to find the press conference (anyone link???).
Just am thinking it through as well and I genunially think Bomber is not the one for the job (nor has he gone through the process).
One thing I will say though is the fact that we are trying to pull off these coups says that the EFC are back to the strong ways of the past where no one is safe from the EFC's grasp.
The sleeping giant re-emerges. The Essendon Bombers are back!
stay true
28 Sep 2010, 12:15
I know what you mean but there is a different type of arrogance. Just the way he talks, the sandwiches, sleeping during the club song- this is what I do not want.
I want the EFC to be feared again and that requires some arrogance but not tool behaviour.
I think you're reading into that a little too much. Sandwhiches, well they were up by over 10 goals and Bomber was hungry. Sleeping during the club song - I think Bartel was asked about that and he said the boys just have a little competition going on who can do something "funny" on camera after a game.
Personally I'd prefer confidence to arrogance. Although I'd accept both when we have some results to back it up.
Yeah, don't get me wrong - I'm not interested in wanker arrogance - but the arrogance that intertwines with confidence that really good teams have is what we need. Knowing that you are good and having that belief in your abilities.
Oh Tayteridge
28 Sep 2010, 12:15
I guess thats what they said at the start of the year too. :cool: Anyway I am rapt with the appointments.
That's the point. Why would you change a game plan straight out of winning a premiership, whilst you were still under the presumption, rightfully too*, that the premiership window was still open?
*I say "rightfully too" because they have been seen as realistically able to win the premiership, even to the point of having a large expectation to beat Collingwood, up until 2 weeks ago- even if they haven't done so.
DapperDon
28 Sep 2010, 12:21
Would prefer he stay with Geelong- would rather Williams or Choco.
I'd prefer people knew Williams is Choco.
Darealrath
28 Sep 2010, 12:27
To be honest I prefer Choco to Thompson...don't like his arrogance and Choco probably has more to prove after the way he left port.
xMichaelx
28 Sep 2010, 12:32
If we don't show improvement next year with a coaching panel of:
Hird, Thompson, Goodwin, Wallis and x.
Then our list is destined to fail
whats_at_stake
28 Sep 2010, 12:36
I'd prefer people knew Williams is Choco.
Good pick up- sorry meant Williams or Laidley
EDIT: All those posts now make more sense:D
Call Me Cake
28 Sep 2010, 12:37
Herald Sun...
http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/bomber-thompson-set-to-quit-ast-geelong-coach/story-e6frf9jf-1225930803947
BREAKING NEWS: GEELONG'S dual premiership coach Mark Thompson could resign within hours to join former teammate James Hird at Essendon.
http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/bomber-thompson-set-to-quit-ast-geelong-coach/story-e6frf9jf-1225930803947
Remember the last guy we took from Geelong!?!?!?!
Zacstars
28 Sep 2010, 12:43
To be honest I prefer Choco to Thompson...don't like his arrogance and Choco probably has more to prove after the way he left port.
You must be kidding?? Choco helped create the worst culture in the AFL at Port Adelaide. Look at the way he carried on after they won their premiership. Also after their Prelim Final win in 07, the whole of Australia were barracking for Geelong. I am so incredibly grateful we did not go with Choco. He did very little at Port over a long time except help every footy fan to hate Port Adelaide.
dabombers
28 Sep 2010, 12:50
A lot of good relationships a built out of conflict or conflicting ideas.
Hird with Bomber Thompson would be a great duo heading the coaching panal. If they did have differing opinions, which is inevitable, i'm sure they would have the neccesary skills to come to the best decisions for the future of the EFC.
On Chocco and Laidley out of the mix if Mark Thompson comes to Essendon, I say invite them to the party as well. Its not like essendon is short on coin otherwise we would have kept Knights due to financial constraints instead of showing him the door(a near million dollar door mind you). Each person on the staff would have a set of skills which they could provide and work with the players based on these skills.
Choco - motivation, psychology and startegy
Laidley - game day tactics and strategy
Thompson - Skills development, fitness and strategy.
Hird - overall strategy and motivation. eg a CEO leader through example.
Add a cast of secondary support staff, Dean Wallace, Simon Madden, Gary O'Donnell, Simon Goodwin, Alan Richardson, Adrian Hickmont, Shannon Grant and Stuart Cormack. Each playing their part.
AFL is big business now and the level of coaching staff should be as big as most other professional sports worldwide (have a look at how many coaches there are on a NFL side).
Essendon could and should revolutionise the game with as many football experts involved in making decisions on the players, strategy and psychology of this wonderful game.
strategy
28 Sep 2010, 12:52
You must be kidding?? Choco helped create the worst culture in the AFL at Port Adelaide. Look at the way he carried on after they won their premiership. Also after their Prelim Final win in 07, the whole of Australia were barracking for Geelong. I am so incredibly grateful we did not go with Choco. He did very little at Port over a long time except help every footy fan to hate Port Adelaide.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
I can honestly say that when Port played the Dockers in WA the some Port Players were at a night club at 4 am on match day and didnt leave until later and then a few hours later they PLAYED the Dockers.
Thats 100% true .
Zacstars
28 Sep 2010, 12:55
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
I can honestly say that when Port played the Dockers in WA the some Port Players were at a night club at 4 am on match day and didnt leave until later and then a few hours later they PLAYED the Dockers.
Thats 100% true .
How did they play?
A lot of good relationships a built out of conflict or conflicting ideas.
Hird with Bomber Thompson would be a great duo heading the coaching panal. If they did have differing opinions, which is inevitable, i'm sure they would have the neccesary skills to come to the best decisions for the future of the EFC.
On Chocco and Laidley out of the mix if Mark Thompson comes to Essendon, I say invite them to the party as well. Its not like essendon is short on coin otherwise we would have kept Knights due to financial constraints instead of showing him the door(a near million dollar door mind you). Each person on the staff would have a set of skills which they could provide and work with the players based on these skills.
Choco - motivation, psychology and startegy
Laidley - game day tactics and strategy
Thompson - Skills development, fitness and strategy.
Hird - overall strategy and motivation. eg a CEO leader through example.
Add a cast of secondary support staff, Dean Wallace, Simon Madden, Gary O'Donnell, Simon Goodwin, Alan Richardson, Adrian Hickmont, Shannon Grant and Stuart Cormack. Each playing their part.
AFL is big business now and the level of coaching staff should be as big as most other professional sports worldwide (have a look at how many coaches there are on a NFL side).
Essendon could and should revolutionise the game with as many football experts involved in making decisions on the players, strategy and psychology of this wonderful game.
I agree with a lot of your points, but Hird, Bomber, Choco, Laidley, Goodwin, Madden, Wallace, Grant, Hickmont, Richardson, GO'D, etc. would cost more than our total playing list wouldn't it? :S
dabombers
28 Sep 2010, 13:19
Yeah It would cost heaps. But i'm pretty sure we are not in any financial constraints. I believe footy dept does not come under salary cap.
All these guys could also help the big move from windy hill. Bring in more corperate dollars. Its a big call but it seems a day for big calls.
Does anyone know essendons position salary cap wise. I heard that since we lost lloydy and a few others we had alot of room under the cap for a markee type player.. Could essendon be the smoke and mirrors genius's and make the biggest coup by bringing gary abblett to bomberland.
I know its highly/extremely/ridicously doubtful but imagine if it came true.
Just wanted to make this prediction first.
Paradigm
28 Sep 2010, 13:20
You have not seen arrogance personified until you get a taste of Choco.
Seriously, Thompson would be a great fit. He has nothing left to prove, so no knives coming, perfect for a mentoring role. Williams on the other hand, the my way or the highway man, will just undermine Hird at any opportunity - he wanted the main job, Thompson doesn't. Even this year the cracks were emerging, culminating in his sacking.
Have any of you watched Port the last 5 years???
We will have financial constraints if we're building a new facility. We may be the most asset rich club in the league but drumming up cash (even with government grants) for a site out at Essendon Airport or the Showgrounds will be bloody expensive.
Slattery_20
28 Sep 2010, 13:25
Could essendon be the smoke and mirrors genius's and make the biggest coup by bringing gary abblett to bomberland.
I know its highly/extremely/ridicously doubtful but imagine if it came true.
Just wanted to make this prediction first.
You're about 15th in line.
dabombers
28 Sep 2010, 13:29
Damm 15th magic 8 ball must be working on Daylight savings time.
How many people does it take to make a predition to a rumour to a possibility then to a realistic outcome????
Call Me Cake
28 Sep 2010, 13:30
Time to stop saving money and start using it for it's intended purpose. Spending.
Success will pay it all off in due course.
Wahooti Fandango
28 Sep 2010, 13:32
Remember the last guy we took from Geelong!?!?!?!
He actually got some Brownlow votes, while Dempsey missed out. :thumbsd:
Slattery_20
28 Sep 2010, 13:34
Damm 15th magic 8 ball must be working on Daylight savings time.
How many people does it take to make a predition to a rumour to a possibility then to a realistic outcome????
Unfortunately, that 1 can earn a shitload more elsewhere.
I completely agree. It's a brave path to go down- but it's proved a very successful model around other high-end sports.
And as someone mentioned- what's the point of being fiscally successful if you can't spend it to become successful on the field.
The Age reporting the press conference is at 3pm, elsewhere it's 2pm. Any update?
SEN reported that GFC have a press conference at 3pm with Brian Cook and Neil Balme.
No mention of Mark Thompson.
Wahooti Fandango
28 Sep 2010, 13:52
SEN reported that GFC have a press conference at 3pm with Brian Cook and Neil Balme.
Thompson to speak at Essendon?
Pretty self explanatory ;)
EVERLAST
28 Sep 2010, 14:12
We will have financial constraints if we're building a new facility. We may be the most asset rich club in the league but drumming up cash (even with government grants) for a site out at Essendon Airport or the Showgrounds will be bloody expensive.
The additional Essendon members who will join on the back of this announcement will bring in the much needed revenue, plus the additional revenue they will receive from increased patronage from their pokies, catering, corporate sponsorships will increase.
Every department stands to gain from this and the club is more than equipped to cater for the anticipated increase across the board.
Anyone know the story that is the legend of a phoenix?
A phoenix is a mythical bird that is a fire spirit with a colorful plumage and a tail of gold and scarlet (or purple, blue, and green according to some legends). It has a 500 to 1000 year life-cycle, near the end of which it builds itself a nest of twigs that then ignites; both nest and bird burn fiercely and are reduced to ashes, from which a new, young phoenix or phoenix egg arises, reborn anew to live again.
Similarities :thumbsu:
Geez Everlast. Don't get your hopes up too much lol
centurion
28 Sep 2010, 14:19
There is talk that Bomber will need time off and/or is not coming to the club. Geelong have convinced him to stay.
EVERLAST
28 Sep 2010, 14:23
Geez Everlast. Don't get your hopes up too much lol
Surely you have a fire in your belly also on the back of recent events. The club dumped the biggest rotten egg in Knights and signed one of the best exponents of the modern game.
I saw it first hand when I spent 5 years working at WBFC (02-06) when the club dumped Rhodes and brought in Eade, the immediate lift internally at the club, everyone jumped on board, membership went nuts, social venue went off its head, merchandise was flying out the door, sponsors couldn't sign quicker, trust me on this one, the club will thrive before the first ball is bounced next season.
It has a 500 to 1000 year life-cycle,near the end of which it builds itself a nest of twigs that then ignites; both nest and bird burn fiercely and are reduced to ashes, from which a new, young phoenix or phoenix egg arises, reborn anew to live again.
I want another flag before the year 2500.
Zacstars
28 Sep 2010, 14:26
There is talk that Bomber will need time off and/or is not coming to the club. Geelong have convinced him to stay.
Which is it??? He needs time off, he's not going to a club or Geelong have convinced him to stay??
centurion
28 Sep 2010, 14:28
Which is it??? He needs time off, he's not going to a club or Geelong have convinced him to stay??
Don't know, we will find out soon enough though.
Mrs Mercuri
28 Sep 2010, 14:29
Herald Sun reports that Bomber will stay at the Cats for another season.....
Maybe waiting to move to the Bombers until 2012??
SEN reporting that Bomber is mentally drained and has been ordered to take a break from the club for a while... also suggested that perhaps this isnt about Bomber at all but about little Gazza's decision....
Oh look, I'm as excited by the next bloke but references to finals, phoenixes and some other numskull suggesting a pass mark for 2011 would be 11 wins is just a bit too far for me.
OzBomber
28 Sep 2010, 14:30
Shattered. :( Bring on Choco! :D
Ludwig van Bertstare
28 Sep 2010, 14:31
Guess he's not coming.
What a let down.
Mrs Mercuri
28 Sep 2010, 14:32
Im sure Mark Williams will be just as impressive.... bring on Bomber in 2012!!
EVERLAST
28 Sep 2010, 14:33
Oh look, I'm as excited by the next bloke but references to finals, phoenixes and some other numskull suggesting a pass mark for 2011 would be 11 wins is just a bit too far for me.
Lay down, sir. Give the man some air.
Interested in the reports that Mark Thompson may take a break because he is stressed/burnt out.
Is it a coincidence that this may be announced on the day that Hird is appointed coach of Essendon and Pat Smith writes in an article that Bomber will move to Essendon.
Sounds fishy !
DVD Player
28 Sep 2010, 14:44
thats horse shit
mark1881
It smells like a god damn fish market!
Slattery_20
Shattered. :( Bring on Choco! :D
Kim Hagdorn & Patrick Smith vs the world.
Tempted to back the world there on previous form.
The world wins again.
Maybe Bomber was ' stressed out ' by the thought of returning to Essendon.;)
The world wins again.
To be fair, almost everyone was on this. The Australian, SEN, Geelong Advertiser, 3AW, etc.
Find out in 10 minutes though.
Valve Bounce
28 Sep 2010, 14:52
Well, it certainly wouldn't be the gun, that's for sure. :eek:
Waverley73
28 Sep 2010, 14:55
To be fair, almost everyone was on this. The Australian, SEN, Geelong Advertiser, 3AW, etc.
Find out in 10 minutes though.
No - it was only the Australian - all those other publications and radio stations quoted The Australian as their source.
Call Me Cake
28 Sep 2010, 14:55
Everything so far has had the words "is set to"... yes, even the Herald Sun's backflip claim that he's taking a break but not going to join Hird.
We'll find out the truth at 3pm.
bomberlegend2007
28 Sep 2010, 14:59
But why would they need to call a press confrence to say that he is taking time off?
Sounds like an excuse to me. But we will find out.
http://www.geelongcats.com.au/geelongnews/newsarticle/tabid/3933/newsid/103314/default.aspx
Geelong CEO Brian Cook and coach Mark Thompson met this morning.
Following that meeting, Brian Cook has the following statement.
“Mark has indicated that at the end of the season he feels exhausted and wants to reassess his coaching future.
“He has told me that the issue isn’t whether he goes to Essendon or any other Club, but rather if he wishes to continue coaching at all.
“The Club has advised Mark to speak to his closest associates before he makes any decision on his coaching future at Geelong.
“The Club has indicated to mark that we hope he fulfils his contract, but only if he is fully committed to coaching.
“We expect a decision from Mark sooner than rather than later. In the meantime we will inform all of our stakeholders of this recent development.”
Oh, bugger that. :(
Little Jerry
28 Sep 2010, 15:05
Doesn't look like he is coming.
stugots
28 Sep 2010, 15:09
yeh nah
sounds like boolshit to me
but whatever, would be more than happy with Choco/Laidley
Call Me Cake
28 Sep 2010, 15:10
http://www.geelongcats.com.au/geelongnews/newsarticle/tabid/3933/newsid/103314/default.aspx
Geelong CEO Brian Cook and coach Mark Thompson met this morning.
Following that meeting, Brian Cook has the following statement.
“Mark has indicated that at the end of the season he feels exhausted and wants to reassess his coaching future.
“He has told me that the issue isn’t whether he goes to Essendon or any other Club, but rather if he wishes to continue coaching at all.
“The Club has advised Mark to speak to his closest associates before he makes any decision on his coaching future at Geelong.
“The Club has indicated to mark that we hope he fulfils his contract, but only if he is fully committed to coaching.
“We expect a decision from Mark sooner than rather than later. In the meantime we will inform all of our stakeholders of this recent development.”
Oh, bugger that. :(
Still don't see a "I'm not going to Essendon" statement there...
Just seems weird that this all comes out after Hird's announcement.
While he may be tired of senior coaching, could a fresh new role at another club, as an assistant, be what he needs?
Could very easily be looking to get out of Geelong, and join Essendon a little later when all the dust settles.
But hey, I'm sure we're all stoked we've got our new senior coach, bright future ahead either way. Trade/draft week should be interesting. :thumbsu:
Perhaps he's just freeing himself up so he can actually have an interview later this week?
3 month break.....
Wasnt his stand down period in the event that he left early 3 months?
All sounds weird.
bacon buster
28 Sep 2010, 15:22
doesn't sound like this story is dead yet.
DapperDon
28 Sep 2010, 15:24
So 3 months of visiting his mate Hird everyday to say hi and stuff. Then BANG Thompson announces he is joining Essendon?
Did you guys listen to the press conference? They offered him 3 months off, but he may not take that yet.
Prudster
28 Sep 2010, 15:28
To all Essendon fans, read through this thread in a completely neutral view, if you can. It is some of the funniest stuff i've ever read. An untried coach/club hero has signed on as coach, and the possibility of a premiership coach signing in some sort of role, and there are people talking about Essendon being feared, and some guy talking about phoenix's haha. No offence, but you would see the funny side if Hawthorn or Collingwood were in your position.
But now i pose a question to all you Essendon fans. What happens if Hird flops? On paper, he isn't even as good as Knights, and you can't really just kick him out on is arse if he sucks can you? A four year deal worth a million a year is a big contract, more than most players, and Hird hasn't even coached a team other than his sons under-9's.
Knights had the disadvantage of coaching after Sheedy, who brought success, but also left the list in not so great a way. Given the list he had, Knights was never really going to win you a premiership was he? Hird has a list with more youth in it, but at the moment, still isn't really a premiership list. If he doesn't make finals within his four years, do you humiliate him and desert him as you did Knights? Or do you let your club suffer because he's "James Hird", club hero?
Btw this is not a snipe at Essendon post, i am actually interested in the fans views, considering the strong views many of you had on Knights, and have on Hird now.
marky53
28 Sep 2010, 15:28
he's in...... : )
Slattery_20
28 Sep 2010, 15:36
To all Essendon fans, read through this thread in a completely neutral view, if you can. It is some of the funniest stuff i've ever read. An untried coach/club hero has signed on as coach, and the possibility of a premiership coach signing in some sort of role, and there are people talking about Essendon being feared, and some guy talking about phoenix's haha. No offence, but you would see the funny side if Hawthorn or Collingwood were in your position.
But now i pose a question to all you Essendon fans. What happens if Hird flops? On paper, he isn't even as good as Knights, and you can't really just kick him out on is arse if he sucks can you? A four year deal worth a million a year is a big contract, more than most players, and Hird hasn't even coached a team other than his sons under-9's.
Knights had the disadvantage of coaching after Sheedy, who brought success, but also left the list in not so great a way. Given the list he had, Knights was never really going to win you a premiership was he? Hird has a list with more youth in it, but at the moment, still isn't really a premiership list. If he doesn't make finals within his four years, do you humiliate him and desert him as you did Knights? Or do you let your club suffer because he's "James Hird", club hero?
Btw this is not a snipe at Essendon post, i am actually interested in the fans views, considering the strong views many of you had on Knights, and have on Hird now.
All valid stuff, and I too have reservations.
but... basically imagine Lethal came back to Hawthorn before coaching at the Pies.
You would've jizzed, despite lack of experience/whatever.
Actually more than that, this - along with getting Wellman & whoever out of Williams/Thompson - is also a sign of the club pulling back in favourite sons, successful past players/coaches, and generally getting it's shit together and making a positive, bold move.
hugorune
28 Sep 2010, 15:40
All valid stuff, and I too have reservations.
I don't have reservations.
I firmly believe this is the best thing for the club, and there are no doubts for me about that. I have full faith in Hird's ability as a manager and a team builder. Whether he is backed by Bomber, by Choco, or someone else, is not an issue. There are a number of people with senior coaching experience who are available, and we have the resources to get the ones we need, comfortably.
I don't expect miracles, and I don't hope for them. What I do expect, and I believe I will see, is a solid and determined path forward for the club that will enable us to perform in finals in the future.
smcateer
28 Sep 2010, 15:42
I think a lot of what you say would resonate quite a bit with the Bomber faithful. And the consensus seems to be that we are excited but worried; worried that it won't work and worried that Hird will be taken down a notch by the whole affair.
However, at the end of the day you don't achieve greatness by sitting on your hands. This does represent a risk, but what we are now is a united club and we are going to have a crack. It's all-in and no turning back.
It's important that Hird has access to some experienced mentoring, but is Thompson the be all and end all? I'm not so sure.
stugots
28 Sep 2010, 15:53
nah stuff this pissweak bullshit, 'what if this happens, what if that happens, blah, blah, blah'
have a go, live & die by the sword, good enough for me:thumbsu: