View Full Version : Today tonight never wrong!
dreampolice
22 Jul 2003, 10:01
The purveyor of all that is correct and right about current affairs suffered a hitch last night.
The story of the miner who cut his right arm of was shown and it was indeed tragic yet moving.
Problem was the re-enactment was sort of wrong. The animation showed the machine he was driving tipping over catching and crushing his left arm. This must have been a worry to the miner who proceeded to cut of his right arm.
Perhaps it was the stress and shock of the moment that led to him amputating the wrong arm. The good news however is that his left arm got better.
Ahhh today tonight you've done it again!
Leaping Lindner
22 Jul 2003, 10:32
Did it happen in Barcelona?:D ;)
My North
22 Jul 2003, 23:29
and TT they were bagging Eddie show 2 weeks ago. ACA much better show with Ray.
Docker_Brat
23 Jul 2003, 01:15
Originally posted by Leaping Lindner
Did it happen in Barcelona?:D ;)
He must've come across a detour sign. ;)
Originally posted by My North
and TT they were bagging Eddie show 2 weeks ago. ACA much better show with Ray.
The ran another 'exclusive' on monday as well.
Both those shows are complete and utter garbage.
You'd think channel 7 they could do more than recylce trash they had on two weeks ago... oh wait, don't they also screen home and away? so on second thoughts, it's not suprising.
Originally posted by My North
ACA much better show with Ray.
Ray managed to drag out his exclusive chat with Rusty Crowe over 2 nights. :rolleyes:
How many times did they call each other mate ?
Steve76
23 Jul 2003, 10:44
I remember a ray interview with the PM once, and I'm sure he called him "mate" too - the rest of the time was as "John" .
Mr. Snrub
23 Jul 2003, 14:48
Got to love the current affair type shows...I'm trying to remember how Ray's interview with The Don a few years back went - did he call him "mate" too, or just Don? Strange to think Ray used to be a serious journalist considering some of the stories he's had on his show.
Those reconstructions are fantastic - when they realise "hey we've got a story but no footage - so let's get some actors to reconstruct this guy cutting his arm off!"
you_idiot
23 Jul 2003, 16:34
Originally posted by Mr. Snrub
Got to love the current affair type shows...I'm trying to remember how Ray's interview with The Don a few years back went - did he call him "mate" too, or just Don? Strange to think Ray used to be a serious journalist considering some of the stories he's had on his show.
Those reconstructions are fantastic - when they realise "hey we've got a story but no footage - so let's get some actors to reconstruct this guy cutting his arm off!"
See, that's what I can't stand about these kinds of show... no credibility whatsoever, nor any apparent intent to show any.
In our home, I refer to it as "the fake news", as in, "not to be confused with the real thing".
I'll tell you what, and this is a blanket statement about shows like "A Current Affair", "Today-Tonight", and anything else which falls along the lines of "tabloid television" as a whole: I don't think they're run by the respective news divisions of the given networks, but rather by the entertainment departments. If the networks really want the public to take their content seriously, then they have to give off the illusion that it's almost like news.
And if they actually admitted what I'm guessing, about the entertainment divisions running these shows, they'd lose any shred of credibility that remains.
Don't get too worked up, folks-- it's only info-tainment...
Mr. Snrub
23 Jul 2003, 18:38
Originally posted by you_idiot
I'll tell you what, and this is a blanket statement about shows like "A Current Affair", "Today-Tonight", and anything else which falls along the lines of "tabloid television" as a whole: I don't think they're run by the respective news divisions of the given networks, but rather by the entertainment departments. If the networks really want the public to take their content seriously, then they have to give off the illusion that it's almost like news.
Well, that would be one way to avoid any obligation to report their stories in a fair and unbiased way - to get them classified as entertainment and not news.
Mr. Blonde
23 Jul 2003, 19:24
How many stories can be done about weight loss, shonky tradesmen and welfare cheats?
These shows are pathetic and were taken off perfectly by the Working Dog team with Frontline.
Mr. Snrub
23 Jul 2003, 20:39
Originally posted by Mr. Blonde
How many stories can be done about weight loss, shonky tradesmen and welfare cheats?
These shows are pathetic and were taken off perfectly by the Working Dog team with Frontline.
Apparently an infinite number...
But people must be watching these shows and really care about the stories about dodgy tradesmen, aussie battlers and dole bludgers that they have or they wouldn't keep showing them, and that's the really scary thing.
Frontline was genius - should be required viewing for everyone (in NSW at least it was used in an elective on satire in English)
go team
23 Jul 2003, 21:08
'A Chaser Affair' this week exposes the dodgy dry-cleaner who gave his wife cellulite. Now he wants it back.
Plus: how safe is your home? Our two-dollar trap exposes Australia's laziest con-man. And the miracle aging pill he doesn't want you to see.
And up close and personal. The tennents from Hell talks exclusively with Michael Crawford. Lifting the lid on his life as a fat kid.
'A Chaser Affair' screens on CNNNN: http://www.cnnnn.com/
Originally posted by Mr. Blonde
But they run stories that 'no family can afford to miss'. :o
How is Rusty Crowe spilling his sperm considered a major story on an a current affairs show ?
Ray needs a "special" friend he can drag out every 6 weeks,although the anorexic chick maybe it.
Naomi has no credibility at all.Her show actually makes ACA look good.