View Full Version : Jamie Oliver
Steve76
22 Jul 2003, 11:27
Did anyone else see that Jamie Oliver show after BB where he sets up a non-profit restaurant that unemployed kids staff. Strikes me as being a bit of a b*astard with his attitude to the kids and others.....
Pantsless
22 Jul 2003, 11:45
I didn't watch it last night, but I saw a few episodes when I was living in London and he is a very hard taskmaster.
He's not a patch on (Gordon??) Ramsay though...now there's a bastard!
Fall Out Boy
22 Jul 2003, 11:48
I love watching Jamie, but after seeing the promos, i decided not to watch this show.
Something about these kids being called "no hopers", turned me off.
Originally posted by phatandphreaky
I love watching Jamie, but after seeing the promos, i decided not to watch this show.
Something about these kids being called "no hopers", turned me off.
Who'd watch if they were all talented chefs who would have no problems.
They're already tools for going on the show, going that little step further calling them no-hopers doesn't make much of a difference.
Spidergirl~RiCkChiCk
22 Jul 2003, 14:22
Beat me to it!
He's such a hottie especially for a pom but gawd what an arrogant one.
Good fresh concept for a show i reckon as i don't recall anything similar done before however i think after the first episode it may fade and get a bit repetative!
Porthos
22 Jul 2003, 16:30
Top show.
Also, what you call arrogance, I'd call protecting his reputation and finances.
Thats real reality TV in action - its not meant to be about being nice or nasty, playing up for the TV audience. Thats surreality TV, like Big Brother, Survivor and so on.
The only way to `win' this one is through ****loads of hard work, a tough skin and top rate self-motivation. Just like every day.
Fat Pizza
22 Jul 2003, 16:37
You have to give him a lot of credit for putting heaps of his own money into this project, which is aimed at giving unemployed kids a chance at having a career. The intention is for the project to be repeated year after year with more & more kids.
Originally posted by Pantsless
He's not a patch on (Gordon??) Ramsay though...now there's a bastard!
Now that's someone you wouldn't want to rub up the wrong way.
Steve76
22 Jul 2003, 17:08
It wasn't so much his attitude to the kids, most of them deserved it - imagine trying to get a job training as a chef and not being able to describe what something tastes like !!! or that odd looking guy who spewed up - don't know why he made it to the next stage.
Mainly it was the way he seemed edgy at the radio station with who I assume was his agent about the DJ's giving him a hard time - what did he expect !!! And when he gave the finger to that guy when he did the photo shoot - the poor bloke was prob just doing his job. He juts seemed a bit more precious that the " cool, laidback kind of guy" image he uses to flog his products.
Oh well, he's much, much richer than I so who can blame him.
Booze Hound
22 Jul 2003, 19:11
The programme was on over here last year.
You should realise Jamie's committment to this and watch the whole series before you judge.
Remember he has given these people a quality of training in the field that is rarely available and risked ruining himself financially.
The Restaurant is, however, now doing really well and has a huge waiting list.
It was rather amusing seeing this nicely presented young man swearing his little head off. I would have been too, those prospective chefs looked pretty bloody useless.
McAlmanac
23 Jul 2003, 00:00
Originally posted by Booze Hound
Remember he has given these people a quality of training in the field that is rarely available and risked ruining himself financially.
The Restaurant is, however, now doing really well and has a huge waiting list.
One wonders about the real risk - whether there was a Plan B if it all went pear shaped. Jamie is a genuine enough guy, but it would have to be said that his career has been somewhat stage-managed.
Lockyer24
23 Jul 2003, 08:28
Will be interested to see how it pans out. Had to laugh at some of the mistakes the kids were making..guess they were a bit nervous :p
He's one ofthe biggest w***ers in Britain today.
If anyone believes that he was at financial risk over this whole thing then to use the vernacular you must have rocks in yer head, he would have more than covered himself by how much he made from the TV series that filmed it all................oh didn't he mention that him & his partner own the TV production company that shot the whole series & then sold it to the TV channel that showed it & then of course he'll have made a few more quid from selling the rights to Australian TV & US TV etc & with all that publicity was the restaurant ever going to really fail?
He's probably written a book about the whole thing as well no doubt that will make a whole heap of money as well.
Basically he's a nob jockey & I despise him, maybe one day I'll ahve the pleasure of 'bumping' into him & shoving a big bunch of parsley down his pseudo co*kney throat.
hans moleman
23 Jul 2003, 21:17
Originally posted by Steve76
Strikes me as being a bit of a b*astard with his attitude to the kids and others..... a blastard? a brastard? :D
...i don't mind the guy, and what i saw of the show seemed okay.