View Full Version : Never played before - would anyone take me on?

Rigby
4 Oct 2010, 19:56
So I've been following the AFL for a while now and would love to get my hands dirty so was just wondering if anyone knows of any clubs in Brisbane that aren't super serious and wouldn't mind taking someone on board that has never played before?

I'm 19 and of average fitness but don't really have a lot of muscle. I can kick a footy alright but that's about as far as my playing skill extends at the moment!

I go to UQ so the Red Lions looked like they'd be good but after talking to a few people they seem like they're pretty serious.

Appreciate any advice!

RoaringUniLions
4 Oct 2010, 21:53
Rigby my friend, delighted that you should speak up.

I'm a Red Lion myself mate. And I can tell you we are a pretty fun bunch of blokes mate. We welcome all to come and play mate and would love to have you on board. We get a bulk of new guys each year with little or no experience so I think you'd fit right in.

Plus we have the best song in the damn competition :)

Thommo 42
31 Jan 2011, 21:14
Rigby,

Go down to the Woodsmen, they sure as hell don't take anything seriously and welcome half a dozen blokes every season who have never played before. It's a great group, plays in the bottom division and is very social.

www.woodsmenafc.com

Toucan Soup
14 Feb 2011, 10:18
G'day Rigby,

You are very welcome to come along to Yeronga. We are always keen to bring in new players, regardless of their experience.

Best place to start is with our Thirds, and take it from there. We have had other players with no prior experience, commence in the Thirds, and go on to be much better players in higher grades once they got the hang of the game.

Let me know if you would like further details about Yeronga.

Thommo 42
14 Feb 2011, 12:58
oh, just realised there are no contact details on the woodsmen page.

woodsmenafc@hotmail.com

training starts this week on Wed night at 7, which is probably asn indication of how seriously thye take it ;)