View Full Version : TV The Amazing Race 17 - SPOILERS

NERDY
5 Oct 2010, 17:49
Seeing as though there isn't a SPOILERS thread for the 17th season of The Amazing Race, well here's one.

Must say, I love it when they go to remote Counties either in Africa or saying India in Asia. The teams always have more problems and it's much better TV.

Was sad to see the mother/daughter team go (Andie/Jenna). Would have liked them to spend a little bit more time together.

And how intense were the last four teams cab rides to the Pi-Stop? WOW.

So far my favorite team would be Brook and Claire. Loving Brook, she's really getting the most out of the race.

Selective Retention
5 Oct 2010, 20:02
How funny were the Ghanaians just taking the piss out of them when selling the sunglasses :D

I wonder if they had some security following each team. I would be very uneasy going through Ghana, you only have to see the bloke that spat on the nerds for not giving him a handout to see how quickly it could degenerate, especially dangerous for the all women teams!

NERDY
6 Oct 2010, 00:49
How funny were the Ghanaians just taking the piss out of them when selling the sunglasses :D

I wonder if they had some security following each team. I would be very uneasy going through Ghana, you only have to see the bloke that spat on the nerds for not giving him a handout to see how quickly it could degenerate, especially dangerous for the all women teams!

Yeah that was gold. Loved the part when that women tried the glasses on then walked off and didn't want to pay Nick I think it was. Gold.

Also virtually every team being asked for $$$. I'd be worried as hell hahaha.

NERDY
12 Oct 2010, 15:39
Anyone seen Episode 3?

I absolutely loved it, and a great twist at the end having an early non-elimination leg as they stayed in Ghana.

Finally we saw some bickering from one of the teams, loved the fighting between Nick & Vicki, Nick was going off.

I think this episode also showed again why it's SO important to read the clues correctly. I think 3-4 teams forgot either a wheelbarrow or another utensil. Come the end of the race, mistakes like that will cost a team $1M.

I also felt sorry for the father/son team Michael & Kevin. Michael is so limited and I really felt sorry for them as they would have easily been in the top 4-5 had his body been a few years younger.

Next week looks like a ripper, love how they're going from scorching temperatures in Ghana to the freezing cold of the arctic next week. Will make for an interesting episode.

Paulkanga2000
12 Oct 2010, 21:22
Anyone seen Episode 3?

I absolutely loved it, and a great twist at the end having an early non-elimination leg as they stayed in Ghana.

Finally we saw some bickering from one of the teams, loved the fighting between Nick & Vicki, Nick was going off.

I think this episode also showed again why it's SO important to read the clues correctly. I think 3-4 teams forgot either a wheelbarrow or another utensil. Come the end of the race, mistakes like that will cost a team $1M.

I also felt sorry for the father/son team Michael & Kevin. Michael is so limited and I really felt sorry for them as they would have easily been in the top 4-5 had his body been a few years younger.

Next week looks like a ripper, love how they're going from scorching temperatures in Ghana to the freezing cold of the arctic next week. Will make for an interesting episode.

Nerdy,

I was really surprised that the team didn't clue in about the detour witht e symbols on the walls of the school. All they had to do was look around the building and they would have seen the words and the symbols that they needed to match them with.

Was suprised at the early NEL but phil did say at the start of leg 1 that there would be 4 NELS this season

NERDY
12 Oct 2010, 21:40
Nerdy,

I was really surprised that the team didn't clue in about the detour witht e symbols on the walls of the school. All they had to do was look around the building and they would have seen the words and the symbols that they needed to match them with.

Was suprised at the early NEL but phil did say at the start of leg 1 that there would be 4 NELS this season

Yeah so was I, especially when teams were changing to do the other Detour challenge, I thought they'd see the symbols as they would of, I thought anyway, turned around.

And yeah a surprise non-elimination leg, but considering they stayed in Ghana, a good thing.

Selective Retention
13 Oct 2010, 14:16
They must have given Nick and Vicki a flattering edit on the map challenge, they had literally dozens of names on the board :o

NERDY
18 Oct 2010, 22:26
Anyone seen episode 4?

I'll post my full thoughts tomorrow, but I thought this was the best episode thus far. I also loved how they went from one extreme in terms of the weather, going from Ghana to Sweden and the freezing cold.

Just a shame the Princeton boys got eliminated. Also went from one extreme to another.

Paulkanga2000
19 Oct 2010, 17:11
nerdy,

i saw it last night.

It wasn't a real suprise. They were very complacent. Didn't go for the earlier flight, didn't change the detour earlier and the guy with the glasses didn't do a roadblock (he made Flo of season 3 TAR look like a star)

I reckon the roadblock was cool but the sledding detour (ouch and scary) the speed bunp was a bit lame though

Next week: norway

NERDY
19 Oct 2010, 23:02
nerdy,

i saw it last night.

It wasn't a real suprise. They were very complacent. Didn't go for the earlier flight, didn't change the detour earlier and the guy with the glasses didn't do a roadblock (he made Flo of season 3 TAR look like a star)

I reckon the roadblock was cool but the sledding detour (ouch and scary) the speed bunp was a bit lame though

Next week: norway

Haha Flo, how could anyone ever forget her!!

Yeah they should have gone to the other Detour challenge when the volleyball girls went, instead they waited and it probably cost them.

And yeah, that speed bump was lame, 10 minutes on an ice chair, easy as.

Norway next week should be good as the preview looked good.

NERDY
25 Oct 2010, 20:24
Again, another enjoyable episode.

Very glad the volleyball girls are gone, apart from being eye candy, they didn't really do it for me. Anyway, give me Brook & Claire and Nat & Kat any day.

Loved both the roadblock, such a contrast from going down and going up. Gotta love Brook, really did help Claire get up. I loved how when Katie & Rachel were doing it and a couple of teams passed they thought they were still in it, they were miles behind haha!!

The detour was good too. Both had their pros and cons but I do think the boat one was better. A mistake on the bike and you could have seriously injured yourself.

I thought the Fast Forward was easy as well. They weren't even eating that much meat, it was just getting the thought of what it was out of your head. Probably better Kat & Nat didn't know what animal it was.

Overall a great episode, bring on next week!!

Paulkanga2000
26 Oct 2010, 18:41
Again, another enjoyable episode.

Very glad the volleyball girls are gone, apart from being eye candy, they didn't really do it for me. Anyway, give me Brook & Claire and Nat & Kat any day.

Loved both the roadblock, such a contrast from going down and going up. Gotta love Brook, really did help Claire get up. I loved how when Katie & Rachel were doing it and a couple of teams passed they thought they were still in it, they were miles behind haha!!

The detour was good too. Both had their pros and cons but I do think the boat one was better. A mistake on the bike and you could have seriously injured yourself.

I thought the Fast Forward was easy as well. They weren't even eating that much meat, it was just getting the thought of what it was out of your head. Probably better Kat & Nat didn't know what animal it was.

Overall a great episode, bring on next week!!

nerdy,

Another great episode.

I though the fast forward was different. at least Kat finished it. unlike terrance from TAR 13

The roadblock was hard. You had to have great upper body strength to get back up that ridge. Ouch!!!!

Teh detour was good too .it was navoidation fro both and a memory test too

How were Nicky/Vicki not knowing the meaning of the word "taken" at the FF I thought they would forget thweir bike lock for sure LOL

The blonde beach volleyball were athletic but didn't seem to have the hustle. Started last and didn't pass a single team (even though they thought they were close LOL)

Next week: Russia

Selective Retention
26 Oct 2010, 20:34
Nick and Vicki are so dumb, it's amazing they are still there.

Although Vicki is pretty good at the physical challenges. Can't remember if it was Chad or Thomas, they are both stereotypical yank knobs, but she owned whichever one it was on the ascent at the roadblock. Then left the boyfriend in her wake on the bike.

The beach volleyballers were an underwhelming team, can't say I will miss them.

Selective Retention
3 Nov 2010, 10:30
If your parents name you chad, I think you are destined to be a wanker.

Damn hard challenge that music one. They always seem to have some pretty good detours/roadblocks when they go to Russia.

Paulkanga2000
3 Nov 2010, 16:58
If your parents name you chad, I think you are destined to be a wanker.

Damn hard challenge that music one. They always seem to have some pretty good detours/roadblocks when they go to Russia.

SR

Yeah whomever does the scouting and planning of the russian legas deserves an emmy/logie its that good

I didn't like kevin either. His dad kept telling him about the park but no he didn't listen and guess what, it cost them 1st place!!!!

Those babuskhas were stars weren't they?

As for chad, insert, Jonathan, freddie, lake, and just about every sporty macho guy and they all treat theri female teameates like crap.

Paul

Uncle_Leo
3 Nov 2010, 20:40
STEPHANIE!!! COME ON STEPHANIE!!!!!! GOSH!!!

Chad is such a tool

NERDY
4 Nov 2010, 00:37
Absolutely loved the latest episode.

As you guys have said, whoever does the Russia legs always does such a great job. Again, all the challengers were tough and that's exactly what you want.

I think I would have done the film one for the detour as I think you could have had one person watching the film, and the other searching for it instead of hearing three different classical music parts and trying to hear them out of 20 plus pianos.

I didn't like Kevin either. Usually he makes such good decisions, but this one was a huge fail and they really should have come first. Still, third is a credible position.

Nick and Vicki were very lucky to remain in the race, although I did think it would be a non-elimination. The build up felt like one.

Pumped for the next episode, this series is really moving along nicely.

Selective Retention
29 Nov 2010, 15:14
Predictably the latest episode was non elimination.

Nick and Vicki luckiest contestants ever!

Soft soft effort from Nick. Vicki went through with the eating challenge and he gives up because he is tired :thumbsd:

Paulkanga2000
29 Nov 2010, 17:06
Predictably the latest episode was non elimination.

Nick and Vicki luckiest contestants ever!

Soft soft effort from Nick. Vicki went through with the eating challenge and he gives up because he is tired :thumbsd:

SR,

I know Nick has KF (killer fatigue) but he was a whiny, grumpy, red neck, moronic crybabby tonight. They should have done the bus detour if they were that tired. At least it had alot of light to deal with.

How was the roadblock. How about some bad karaoke with your fake chinese food!!!!!

2 episodes to go, next week South Korea and a drive near the DMZ (how topicla is that)

NERDY
1 Dec 2010, 20:38
I've absolutely been loving this season to be honest, apart from the latest episode as it was a predictable non-elimination leg.

I think that's why Nick didn't really care about the 6-hour penalty as in all likelihood, everyone will be on the same flight to South Korea anyway.

I'm really hoping Brook & Claire win.

NERDY
13 Dec 2010, 19:05
It's taken 17 seasons of The Amazing Race, but finally, an all female team has won the race. Nat & Kat winning the 17th installment of the reality series. They beat fellow female team Brook & Clair, with Jill & Thomas in 3rd.

Look, I'm all happy for Nat & Kat to win the race, they were a likeable team, but I didn't like how unless they made a huge error, they were never really going to lose their lead. They went first on the drop from the crain, and also got to the Rose Bowl first from their helicopter. As usual, the editing made it look closer than it actually was. I'd say they won by 30-45 minutes and Jill & Thomas would have been at least 1-2 hours behind.

Still, overall, this was an enjoyable season for me. Now looking forward to The Amazing Race: 18, which is an All-Stars season which I've been hoping. I think most of the teams are going to be from the last two seasons though. It's premiering in the US on Sunday February 20th, so Monday February 21st here in Australia.

Selective Retention
13 Dec 2010, 20:58
I didn't like Thomas so it was good to see them screwed by the taxi driver - I have GPS :D. Nat and Kat did the smart thing and screened the drivers before jumping in.

I've only watched the last few seasons after a bit of a hiatus from the show and nearly all of the all star teams I recognised. Obviously there a lot (too many) from this series, the cowboys, the detectives and the globe trotters from last time and then the frat boys from the army march in Russia lol.

Didnt watch the season with the goths, caught one of the eps with them in it on 7 two a little while a go and couldn't work out if they were both gay, both lesbians or a man and a woman :o

edit: Ah they are only teasers, I thought the clips at the end of the show must have been the teams in the next race.

edit 2: Going through the seasons it looks like I've seen season 13 and seasons 15-17.

NERDY
13 Dec 2010, 23:27
I didn't like Thomas so it was good to see them screwed by the taxi driver - I have GPS :D. Nat and Kat did the smart thing and screened the drivers before jumping in.

I've only watched the last few seasons after a bit of a hiatus from the show and nearly all of the all star teams I recognised. Obviously there a lot (too many) from this series, the cowboys, the detectives and the globe trotters from last time and then the frat boys from the army march in Russia lol.

Didnt watch the season with the goths, caught one of the eps with them in it on 7 two a little while a go and couldn't work out if they were both gay, both lesbians or a man and a woman :o

edit: Ah they are only teasers, I thought the clips at the end of the show must have been the teams in the next race.

edit 2: Going through the seasons it looks like I've seen season 13 and seasons 15-17.

I'm pretty sure about half the teams they showed will be on it. The Cowboys are definitely one of the teams, as are Flight Time & Big Easy. The Goths are another team definitely on it.

TheColeTrain
14 Dec 2010, 15:31
http://amazingrace.wikia.com/wiki/The_Amazing_Race_18_Teams
Those are the teams that are rumoured to be in season 18