View Full Version : 16. Andrew Collins
Jeremias
9 Oct 2010, 17:12
Welcome to Carlton! :thumbsu:
http://www.carltonfc.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/4311/newsid/103975/default.aspx
Very happy to see him in Navy Blue.
Will need to do a bit of work to break into the best 22 but is good back up and with his potential to improve it's certainly a very good get by Swicke!
Mister Carlton
9 Oct 2010, 17:53
Welcome Collins.
Look forward to watching you develop in the Navy Blue jersey.
Sin City
10 Oct 2010, 09:03
Welcome aboard Andy.
This is the guy who did some hypnotherapy work on Tambling when he was playing VFL in 2009 and changed his mindset which saw him finish 4th in Richmond's B&F that year.
TheGeneral
10 Oct 2010, 20:11
Number 14 thanks.
Bluebear
10 Oct 2010, 20:45
Will need to do a bit of work to break into the best 22 but is good back up and with his potential to improve it's certainly a very good get by Swicke!
Maybe not far off, but I rate him a bit more highly than that TBH.
We will fall in love with his harndess at the ball, and he seems to get in the right position in front of goals a lot.
Uses his body a bit like Robbo but is probably more skillful. I was worried that losing Grigga meant we lost a little bit of hardness/mongrel, but I think we have actually just increased it a bit.
In Collins we get a guy who had to work his butt off to get to where he is.
In Grigg we lose a guy who seemed to expect things and not work hard to get better.
Just had a look back at our second meeting vs Tiges, and esp the 3rd Q when they got going for a little patch. Collins was directly involved in the first 3 goals in the third Q, slotting a nice pass to Post, then winning a free and goaling after crumbing, then crumbing again and feeding a nice HB to cousins for another.
I like him.
Sin City
10 Oct 2010, 20:54
Number 14 thanks.
Yeah that'd be alright :thumbsu:
Blue and Silver
10 Oct 2010, 21:17
Number 14 thanks.
I concur
blueblood25
11 Oct 2010, 10:46
Na for mine it's 25 for Andy. Won't have as much pressure wearing it as say Lachie would. Good bloke deserves a historic jumper.
blueblood25
11 Oct 2010, 11:44
First media appearance as a Blue :):thumbsu:
http://desmond.yfrog.com/Himg178/scaled.php?tn=0&server=178&filename=xwo.jpg&xsize=640&ysize=640
http://a.yfrog.com/img543/4013/ybvq.jpg
Lovely kid :)
TheGeneral
11 Oct 2010, 13:48
Na for mine it's 25 for Andy. Won't have as much pressure wearing it as say Lachie would. Good bloke deserves a historic jumper.
14 is a historic jumper.
Collins admits trade came as surprise (http://www.carltonfc.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/4311/newsid/104009/default.aspx)
"I hold no angst against Richmond," Collins said from Etihad Stadium on Monday.
"They've been very good to me, it's been my home for the last four years, so I leave on good terms there. That's footy I suppose; it throws a few curve balls.
"I'm very excited. I suppose a couple of days ago it came as a bit of a shock, but I couldn't be more positive about the move. I'm really excited about the faith that Carlton has shown in me. I can't wait to get down there and get started.
"I think Shaun Grigg is obviously a quality player. Richmond were very keen on him and were willing to let me go. That's footy; it just happens."
"I've spoken to Ratts about it and it will be a bit of both I think," he said.
"In today's game you need to be able to play a few positions and that's what I want to do. I'm a midfielder who can go up forward and try and snag [a goal] or take a mark.
"[But] there's a lot of water to go under the bridge, a lot of training to be done. I just hope I can work my way into the side and eventually have an impact."
Collins admits trade came as surprise (http://www.carltonfc.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/4311/newsid/104009/default.aspx)
Mister Carlton
11 Oct 2010, 17:30
Lovely kid :)
Pervert.
TheGeneral
12 Oct 2010, 14:42
Uok-Tk8tXhQ
Mister Carlton
14 Oct 2010, 17:49
http://i54.tinypic.com/10z2smq.jpg
TheGeneral
22 Oct 2010, 11:00
Andrew Collins to shadow another great (http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/andrew-collins-to-shadow-another-great/story-e6frf9jf-1225942019398)
Collins started to become confident in his ability to play at senior level when the call about the Carlton move came from manager Anthony McConville last week.
"I'm excited and take it as a positive that Carlton thought me worthy of recruiting. And I have liked what I have seen of the club in recent times," Collins said.
"Their ability to beat a few good sides in 2010 appeals to me. It takes a good side to do that.
"Carlton coach Brett Ratten explained they would like me to play both as a midfielder kicking inside 50, and someone who can take a mark in the forward line."
Andrew Collins to shadow another great (http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/andrew-collins-to-shadow-another-great/story-e6frf9jf-1225942019398)
Mister Carlton
27 Nov 2010, 13:30
http://i482.photobucket.com/albums/rr189/bub1395/IMGP6210.jpg
Blueinblood
3 Jan 2011, 13:31
My 2011 buddy. Preview up later tonight
Sin City
4 Jan 2011, 07:24
ea0_dLfKoZQ&feature=player_embedded
The Big Sticks
4 Jan 2011, 08:57
My 2011 buddy. Preview up later tonight
Where's that preview, BIB?
I was looking forward to it.
Blueinblood
4 Jan 2011, 14:06
Preseason so far:
Unfortunately for Andrew, he suffered a minor shoulder complication in the early stages of pre-season, hindering his preperation so far. He joined in light skills jsut before the Christmas Break, and apparently will be doing nearly everything when he resumes.
His Role:
Apparently, Collins has been told his role next year, or the spot he will fit in the team is as a high half forward, who delivers the ball Inside 50, often with longer range kicks, whilst hitting the scoreboard most weeks. The MC view this as his next stepping stone into becoming a permanent midfielder.
Best 22?
Borderline. He has a bit of competition for a spot. Houlihan will be in before AC, as he has a great ability to shut down oppositions premiere running defenders. Mitch Robinson's move to the midfield frees up a spot at half forward, but Andrew is one of a number of candidates to fill it, that is if the MC doesn't decide to include a another midfielder into the rotations.
What to expect
Its doubtful Andrew will play every game in 2011, but its not out of the question to expect 15 games. When he tackles the oppostion player stays tackled. He is a player that you always know will give 110%, will show passion and will try his guts out until the final siren. He averages around a goal a game, so you would think that would continue, but it is to be noted he either scores multiples, or not at all. Simply, when he is on, he hits the scoreboard hard.
Here's hoping AC shows a bit in the Nab Cup and books a spot Rd 1, and shoves it right up those Tigers.
Mister Carlton
6 Jan 2011, 18:13
http://i482.photobucket.com/albums/rr189/bub1395/5328279137_6cf86556eb_z.jpg
First training session of 2011.
TheGeneral
10 Jan 2011, 18:52
Andrew Collins' interview on 3AW's Sports Today (6/01/2011) (http://media.mytalk.com.au/3AW/AUDIO/060111_Sports_Today_Replay.mp3)
Interview starts at the 21 minute mark.
TheGeneral
13 Jan 2011, 22:57
Andy is a good pick up. His endurance is up with the best and he can cover the ground quickly as well. What also appeals is is ability in the air. He can take good marks on packs. As yet he is a bit light and doesn't go body on body. With work in the gym he could develop into a really good utility. He is a project worth the investment.
Andrew Collins - now this kid has the tools. I think we might have found our late-round Rishitelli (an off-the-rader, unrated gem). Collins was classy with his ball use. His kicking was wonderful at times. He looked like a 3rd year pro with his poise, clean hands and class. Played as a centreman and looks like a guy who has an AFL game. Tired badly and was running on the spot by the end - also got plenty of breathers on the bench. When he gets some AFL level petrol in his tank I really think we will add someone to the centre-square mix. And a good one - no hoofer / tackler. Genuine must-stop centreman.
Just ignore Weaver's view on Jack Riewoldt. ;) :eek: :D
lucky i read that post before the delete :)
Andy loving life as a blue :thumbsu:
TheGeneral
10 Feb 2011, 23:20
Why did he delete it? :confused:
Richmond are shit.
TheKITC
11 Feb 2011, 00:59
Sorry I've been having trouble posting on here since I got my new laptop, thought it didn't get through properly so I deleted it. I did copy it in case I could get it working so here it is again :o
---
So I haven't posted on here for a while after being overseas and what not, but happened to have a chat with Andy over the holiday season when we were both out in Bendigo one night and thought some people on here might be interested in what he had to say about his move from Richmond to Carlton.
This is by no means a troll on Richmond but Andy said coming to Carlton was a real eye opener. He described it as if he had gone from a local bush footy team to a major league club (obviously in terms I could relate to having done both).
He said that the training was so much harder and better organised as well as the place just being an overall more professional club.
His exact words were '100% more professional' and ' far less amateur'.
Interesting to say that least.
TheGeneral
11 Feb 2011, 10:45
I could understand TheKickItToCollins deleting the post if it was a private conversation.
This is by no means a troll on Richmond but Andy said coming to Carlton was a real eye opener. He described it as if he had gone from a local bush footy team to a major league club (obviously in terms I could relate to having done both).
He said that the training was so much harder and better organised as well as the place just being an overall more professional club.
His exact words were '100% more professional' and ' far less amateur'.
I can't believe that as Griggy said exactly the opposite and Griggy knows. :rolleyes:
Blueinblood
27 Feb 2011, 11:07
Good to see Collins plays his first game in Navy Blue yesterday. From all reports he was a solid contributor across Half Forward and the wing. Given long kicking is back in vogue this year, he will come in very handy as that high half foward this year. Hope he plays the next few games to push his case.
Grigg will come good once he gets the Blue blood out of his system.
:) :) :) :) :)
yarran13
27 Feb 2011, 11:35
lol Richmond. Gotta feel for yas.
Jeremias
27 Feb 2011, 12:59
Grigg will be good when he learns how to kick the ball to a team mate.
Can't see that happening at Richmond, though.
Sin City
27 Feb 2011, 16:22
i will come good once i get the piss out of my system.
efa :D
Mister Carlton
27 Feb 2011, 16:33
Didn't take long for Collins to get Shitmond out of his system. I wouldn't expect any miracles to happen with Grigg.
Enjoy. :thumbsu:
Blue since 72
10 Mar 2011, 13:55
Haven't paid much attention to Andy in the game's he's played. Can anyone enlighten me as to his defensive pressure as it's looking pretty unlikely that Hoops will be playing rnd 1.
Stubba1
10 Mar 2011, 14:18
Haven't paid much attention to Andy in the game's he's played. Can anyone enlighten me as to his defensive pressure as it's looking pretty unlikely that Hoops will be playing rnd 1.
I have watched Collins pretty closely in the last two pactice matches. He has very good defensive skills and he tackles hard. There is no worry about him in this regard. He strikes me as a fairly tough custmoer - his effort for Richmond against Sydney last year after being knocked out was full of merit
How do you say this? Let's just say I'm glad he doesn't play the way he looks.
Quite a tough customer is Collins and a pretty good kick also.
There are no issues with Collins' intent on the ball and the kid can run all day.
For now I'm not quite sure as to why Richmond gave up Collins for Grigg. :confused:
Blue since 72
10 Mar 2011, 14:33
I have watched Collins pretty closely in the last two pactice matches. He has very good defensive skills and he tackles hard. There is no worry about him in this regard. He strikes me as a fairly tough custmoer - his effort for Richmond against Sydney last year after being knocked out was full of merit
How do you say this? Let's just say I'm glad he doesn't play the way he looks.
Quite a tough customer is Collins and a pretty good kick also.
There are no issues with Collins' intent on the ball and the kid can run all day.
For now I'm not quite sure as to why Richmond gave up Collins for Grigg. :confused:
Cheers guys, looks like he is a good chance of a start in rnd 1.
I've just about got him up at HFF, on my magnet board :D
With Houlihan out he is a very good chance
Stubba1
10 Mar 2011, 16:56
I've just about got him up at HFF, on my magnet board :D
With Houlihan out he is a very good chance
Yep, I've pencilled him in too. There are going to be changes in our line up this year after our pretty ordinary performances in finals over the last two years and Collins is bound to be one of them IMO
Sin City
14 Mar 2011, 19:50
http://www.talkingcarlton.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=29578
I think Collins is so far ahead of Griggs it is not funny.
Sorry forgot Collins
Didn't get a stack of it but is a lovely kick delivering inside F50. Looks a poised HFF who will be a designated kicker inside F50. A lot more poised than Grigg, that is for sure, though Grigg more a ball magnet right now.
But happy with Collins' field kicking inside F50m
Would you rather collins get 15 poss and use them well or Grigg get 25 and give 10 back and kick the other 15 straight up in the air?
Who's 16? Í know I should remember but I can't. He looked good. Very composed.
Collins - impressive. He is tough but what surprised me was his ball use, lifts his eyes and hits targets and is a smart player.
Ta Donstuie. Well I echo the postive comments on him earlier. Would take what I saw of him today over Grigg all day long.
Collins = Houlihan #2. A lot tougher though.
[quote="Juzzy"]
Collins - Reminds me of Houlihan with his movement and skill. Huge upside.
Collins - HF/Mid - Strong lead option and clean kick and surprised me with his chase downs in midfield despite lacking a little agility and should be a good release option when we force the turnover. Still a bit of rust in his set shots, but there were far worse out there in both jumpers today.
- We've traded up by getting Laidler and Collins. Laidler has great disposal out of the backline, and Collins aready looks miles ahead of the one sided Shaun Grigg.
- new boys duigan and collins = all class, laidler looks good too.
Jeremias
5 Apr 2011, 14:32
From all reports, Collins was everywhere in the VFL on the weekend, and was right up there with our best.
Official stats show that he had 33 disposals & 11 marks which, on the face of it, look like very good stats.
If he keeps that kind of form up then I have no doubt we'll see him in Navy Blue sooner rather than later - possibly as early as this week, although that would seem unlikely.
50/50 would be my call on this one.
I'd love to see him introduced to our forward line for this coming week, as he won't slow the game down and courage is not a question with this kid.
Jeremias
5 Apr 2011, 17:58
50/50 would be my call on this one.
I'd love to see him introduced to our forward line for this coming week, as he won't slow the game down and courage is not a question with this kid.
I'd love to see Collo in the team, but the issue of who to drop for him is a significant one.
None of our small/medium forwards/mids performed poorly on Saturday nigh, so it would be a very tough call to drop one of them.
This may be a case of AC having to put his head down and perform on a consistent basis in the Bullants. Eventually, one of the players above him in the pecking order will slip up and he'll force his way in there.
Then the competition will effectively end as the Messiah will have arrived. :thumbsu:
I'd love to see Collo in the team, but the issue of who to drop for him is a significant one.
Easy. Thornton.
Much the better forward flank, long term prospect.
The kids got class and courage and would be a great addition for our forward line.
Did I also say he's a very good kick?
Jeremias
5 Apr 2011, 18:11
Easy. Thornton.
Much the better forward flank, long term prospect.
The kids got class and courage and would be a great addition for our forward line.
Did I also say he's a very good kick?
As much as I don't think T-Bird is a part of our future, as he clearly is not - he deserves his spot, for now.
If you kick 4 goals in a game, regardless of the opposition - you've done a good job, and surely done enough to earn yourself another week in the seniors.
I'd love to see AC in the senior team but not at the expense of Thornton. Not after his last performance.
As much as I don't think T-Bird is a part of our future, as he clearly is not - he deserves his spot, for now.
This type argument will come up more and more in the coming years:
Do you wait for a player to have a poor game before you have a re-think, or do you work proactively to identify possible weaknesses or strengths against your opponent and settle on the right fit.
As it is for now, we're still largely judged on our last game irrespective of adopting a mind-set where you take the "chance" on what you really believe to be the right call.
Thornton may pull one out of the hat this week, but expecting him to kick goals again this week just feels .......... unlikely.
The bigger issue will be T-birds defensive pressure against the best rebounding defenders in the league.
Congratulations young man.
Throw yourself into the game the same way you had in the off-season and you'll be well on your way.
Whichever way this one game goes, Andy will be a good forward prospect with us for some time to come. :thumbsu:
Kades_Dad
18 Apr 2011, 08:33
This thread has gone very quiet very quickly.....
I feel for the kid. By all reports he's chock full of talent and keen to impress, but I can't recall many Carlton players recently that have had two worst games on debut. He's looked like a deer in the headlights.
Hopefully he goes back to the Ants, gets some good form and does some good work next time he is selected.
TheGeneral
2 May 2011, 15:04
Andrew Collins, shoulder: 4 weeks.
http://www.blueseum.org/tiki-index.php?page=David+Collins
http://www.blueseum.org/show_image.php?id=20798
http://www.blueseum.org/tiki-index.php?page=David+Collins
thylacine60
5 May 2011, 11:54
How the hell did you pick that up?
TheGeneral
9 Aug 2011, 11:39
I wonder how many games Collins would have played this year if he wasn't injured...Possibly the last two in place of Houlihan...Need to sign up Lucas ASAP so we have Curnow, Collins, Lucas, Buckley and Kerr pushing for games next year. Getting our hands on a bigger bodied "grunt" to complement these outside players wouldn't be a bad idea.
I wonder how many games Collins would have played this year if he wasn't injured...Possibly the last two in place of Houlihan.
I'd suggest he would have played plenty and especially with Waite being out.
Coaches loved him in the pre-season and that poor game is best binning.
steveo898
9 Aug 2011, 13:30
I'd suggest he would have played plenty
Thank god he didn't:eek:
Why?
When you can tell me why he shouldn't have, I will tell you why he would have.
steveo898
9 Aug 2011, 13:40
I have yet to come across a Carlton supporter(besides people on bigfooty) that weren't blown away by how bad he was in that Essendon game.
But if he can turn it around great! need as many quality players as possible.
I just cant see it happening, hope he proves me wrong!:thumbsu:
I have yet to come across a Carlton supporter(besides people on bigfooty) that weren't blown away by how bad he was in that Essendon game.
Steveo, do these same supporters frequent training sessions?
Do these same people really know a lot about Collins other than what they saw in 120 minutes of football?
Did these same people see Collins in the Ants in the 2 weeks prior to his elevation?
There are rarely guarantees with players such as Collins, but his skills and kicking will compliment our forward line when he gets a few games behind him.
Not suggesting Collins will be a superstar, but his size and skill attributes could fit in quite nicely as a Houlihan upgrade, next year.
GordonBlue
10 Aug 2011, 10:17
What was so terrible about his game against Essendon was his skills and decision making...
Now we actually know his skill are actually sublime and decision making is top notch... so it is guaranteed that this was one of these games for him in which we will play alot better...
If we go by your theory, Hendo would never get another game... do you recall his first game for the year?
TheGeneral
10 Aug 2011, 10:53
Collins had a nightmare in that game, but like a footballer, not an athlete, he was in the right position and clear to receive, but didn't finish like we know he can.
That's right. When the rot set in, it just went from bad to worse.
Apparently, he had to be consoled after that game.
Collins is courageous enough, no question, but I do hope he has the mental application to get that game out of his head.
He's better than that.
BLUES9898
13 Sep 2011, 19:56
how is collins going for his shoulder will he be best 22 come next year
AndyLucimitis
14 Sep 2011, 00:43
Just saw a reference to Andy Collins in the Votes thread and must admit I had completely forgotten about him.
Any word on his progress ?
What do people think ? Can he break into this team next year, just a depth player or backup for 1AW or is the Grigg/Collins trade a bust for the Blues.
Blue Girl 4 life
23 Oct 2011, 13:53
#16-Andrew Collins
A Little bit about Andrew
Andrew Collins arrived at Carlton in 2011 after a trade with Richmond that saw Shaun Grigg join the Tigers. Andrew stands at 187cms tall and weighs around 80kgs. He calls himself a midfielder who can go up forward and try and kick a goal or take a mark. He had an injury interrupted pre-season, but was fit enough by the time round one came along.
Season 2011 for Andrew
Andrew debuted for the Northern Bullants in round one against the Bendigo Bombers. He played a great game and was named in the best. Official stats showed that he finished with 33 disposals & 11 marks. Carlton’s match committee was impressed with his game and he was called up to make his Carlton debut in Round three. He became the 1,333rd player to represent the Carlton Football club in the AFL when he ran out against the Pies. He was named as the substitute and came on during the third quarter. He made an impact and finished the game with 9 disposals, 7 marks, 1 tackle and 1 behind. Andrew played the next week against the Bombers. He matched up on Kyle Hardingham and finished with 9 disposals, 4 marks, 4 tackles and 2 behinds.
He returned to the Bullants the week after and played a good game. He hurt his shoulder and was out for a month. He returned to the Bullants in late may and played a great game against the Box Hill Hawks, kicking three goals.
In early June it was decided that he would undergo surgery on his injured left shoulder. His injury had restricted his pre-season program and the early part of the season, so surgery was the best option. The surgery meant that he would miss the remainder of the 2011 season.
Where to from here?
Andrew made a good start to his career at Carlton. His shoulder injury meant he could not play to his full potential. Fans didn’t really get a chance to see Andrew at his absolute best. Andrew had surgery on his shoulder early on in the season, which means he has the time to recover and have a chance at completing a full pre-season. This will give Andrew the best chance at earning his place in the senior side in 2012 and showing the Carlton faithful what he can do. He works really hard and gives 110%. I can’t wait to see him really shine in the future.
May your career be long and successful at the Navy Blues Andrew.
The great man has turned 23 today. He still has the face of a 10 year old though...
thylacine60
20 Nov 2011, 15:53
The 10 year old wants it back...
http://beccasearns.com/images/boy_with_no_face_pastels.jpg
Too bad, AC doesn't turn it over!
G'day folks. Just wanted to ask how Andy was travelling after an injury interupted 2011. Is he fit? Cheers
Very fit last time I saw him.
Still moves gracefully and has terrific kicking skills.
Getting into the main team will be somewhat tougher for him than it was last year, though.
thylacine60
5 Jan 2012, 18:38
Can play. Will play. :thumbsu:
Very fit last time I saw him.
Still moves gracefully and has terrific kicking skills.
Getting into the main team will be somewhat tougher for him than it was last year, though.
Thanks for that. Be great to see him get into the blues line up consistently.
TheGeneral
26 Apr 2012, 12:46
Does AC have a future at Carlton?
One wouldn't want to chop and change the side for the Giants too much, but if he doesn't get a game against a bad side, you have to wonder when the next game is coming.
We don't play the Suns until round 22.
*waits for tonight's selection to prove me wrong* #RobertWalls
I'm not too happy he's playing much more on a HFF, that's a very tough spot to crack on our list. Andy may be too slow to add pressure etc. Still see him as a young Houlihan type.
steveo898
26 Apr 2012, 16:30
Unfortunatly I don't think he will be able to make it at Carlton, Our forward line seems hard to break into, There seems to be alot more chance to get a crack if you play back or midfield, But with Betts, Jeffy, Waite, Walker, (Resting ruck), (Resting Midfielder) there really isn't much opptunity.
Jeremias
26 Apr 2012, 16:52
Not sure if he'll be a long-term player at the club, but he does seem to be pressing for selection.
I'd be very surprised if he didn't play next week against the Giants.