View Full Version : North saves his arse.
King Elvis
10 Oct 2010, 15:02
Well, isn't that ****ing wonderful.
He's going to make a decent score, will save his arse, and now we're going to have to watch him struggle and fail when it counts during The Ashes.
Team Mo'
10 Oct 2010, 15:03
This will add another 2 years to his contract...
Anything which ensures ongoing hysteria on BigFooty can't be a bad thing. :thumbsu:
Just continues this extraordinary run of going on with it once he passes 20.
He has one 38 then the rest are 50s and 100s.
thorne89
10 Oct 2010, 15:16
Good! The more WA boys in the team the better ;)
Seriously, if he's performing then why complain about it? Rather than paying out on him we should be hoping he finds some consistency.
outabounds
10 Oct 2010, 15:17
Yep guaranteed spot till after the Ashes are lost. :-(
Good! The more WA boys in the team the better ;)
Seriously, if he's performing then why complain about it? Rather than paying out on him we should be hoping he finds some consistency.
How long are you supposed to hope for. This shit has been going on since he made his debut.
thorne89
10 Oct 2010, 15:21
How long are you supposed to hope for. This shit has been going on since he made his debut.
I was yanking your chain mate. I don't think he should be in the XI at the moment, nor should Hussey, as much as it Paines me to say it. :(
indieswan96
10 Oct 2010, 15:24
again.:(
Bombers_Forever
10 Oct 2010, 16:10
Gee, what is it with some fans...........we want players making runs, and yet we are annoyed when they do.
North isn't the only one out of form - Hussey, Clarke.......lets ask questions of them too.
Southerntakeover
10 Oct 2010, 16:17
So, we're actually mad that a player is making runs and putting the team in a strong position because we want him dropped for not making said runs and putting team in strong position?
How strange.
Bennycoff
10 Oct 2010, 16:22
Good on Northy. Has more value than Hussey and Clarke in that he can bowl some handy spinners that can pinch wickets and keep the run rate down. Important when Hauritz is struggling or we go in with four quicks.
patsmith
10 Oct 2010, 16:29
How dare he make runs when both the team's innings and his career are on the line!
Noobz0r
10 Oct 2010, 16:44
I think we should actually be more glad that he finally made some runs going into the Ashes, hopefully he can finally get a streak of good innings together.
BarneyBent
10 Oct 2010, 16:47
It's bloody annoying. It's not a bad thing, from the perspective that it has helped the team immensely in this particular situation, but based on his past form, he's a monty to keep failing. I just want him out of the team so a player (young, old, whatever, I'd take Dussey) with some consistency, that doesn't need to be on the verge of being dropped to perform, can come in.
Cotchin 9
10 Oct 2010, 17:47
Always been a fan, good on him for getting runs. Will build some much needed confidence heading into the Ashes. :thumbsu:
King Elvis
10 Oct 2010, 17:49
How dare he make runs when both the team's innings and his career are on the line!
How about making some runs when his career isn't on the line?
What's that saying, one swallow doesn't make a summer?
So, we're actually mad that a player is making runs and putting the team in a strong position because we want him dropped for not making said runs and putting team in strong position?
How strange.
More the fact he tends to do it once every 10 innings; the other 9, he struggles past double figures.
Awesome.
Bombers_Forever
10 Oct 2010, 17:50
The way some of you are carrying on, you make it sound like he wasn't trying in his previous innings, and that he pulled out of the bag to save his career.
Nice ton Northy. Keep it going - the more you are in form, the less chance of another NSW player getting into the team.
King Elvis
10 Oct 2010, 17:52
The way some of you are carrying on, you make it sound like he wasn't trying in his previous innings, and that he pulled out of the bag to save his career.
Nice ton Northy. Keep it going - the more you are in form, the less chance of another NSW player getting into the team.
I know he's been trying - I actually really like North, he comes across as a great individual; and he'd obviously be extremely disappointing with himself and his performances of late.
But whether or not he's a good bloke is irrelevant.
It's the selectors who I blame for creating this situation.
thorne89
10 Oct 2010, 18:00
I know he's been trying - I actually really like North, he comes across as a great individual; and he'd obviously be extremely disappointing with himself and his performances of late.
But whether or not he's a good bloke is irrelevant.
It's the selectors who I blame for creating this situation.
This is true, hence why Michael Clarke will be our next captain :p
Spiritof82
10 Oct 2010, 18:37
Good on him, 114 runs more than wonderboy Clarke, and he manages to keep his place in the side each test.:cool:
The Lone Wolf
10 Oct 2010, 18:42
Good on him, 114 runs more than wonderboy Clarke, and he manages to keep his place in the side each test.:cool:
Agrees with this.
If only the run machine Michael Clarke were under pressure like North has been under?
Prove the critics wrong in the forthcoming Ashes series North.
King Elvis
10 Oct 2010, 18:48
I really, really hope he does.
Sylvia Saint
10 Oct 2010, 18:54
It's not that we don't want North to succeed, it's just that we want to see those Ashes back where they belong this summer... and that means picking the best possible XI. North's selction is/was very iffy at best. And he should not have been playing in this test. simple as that. It's much harder to get out of the Aussie test side than it is to get in it!
I hope to God he proves us wrong in the Ashes. But something tells me he won't.
ps. serious LOLarskates at those questioning Clarke's spot in the team.
frankrizzo
10 Oct 2010, 18:57
North was penciled in by the selectors for the ashes no matter what, at least this way he has some runs heading into it.
BarneyBent
10 Oct 2010, 21:27
Maybe the journos should question his spot in the team before every game. He'd average 100 for sure!
if he continues the form, then no worries. it would finally be good to be able to depend on the middle order again.
but seen some of the headlines... pity he couldn't have made any last test when the series could have been 1-0 us. calling it repaying the selectors faith, when he's only paying the interest on the overdraft.
Doodlesweaver
11 Oct 2010, 05:34
if he continues the form, then no worries. it would finally be good to be able to depend on the middle order again.
but seen some of the headlines... pity he couldn't have made any last test when the series could have been 1-0 us. calling it repaying the selectors faith, when he's only paying the interest on the overdraft.
Was anyone convinced that his place was on the line? Scoring runs just confirmed his place rather than saved it.
I hope he gets a big ton in the Perth test rather than these 120's he keeps getting.
King Elvis
11 Oct 2010, 08:59
Good post.
Having both North and Hussey in the Ashes side worries me.
Smokey_22
11 Oct 2010, 10:07
To those questioning Clarkes form - check his innings by innings stats. You have no idea. Anti NSW garbage.
Nuke Fremantle
11 Oct 2010, 11:52
He's very 'Mark Waugh' in the sense that he'll fail, fail and fail again and when he's just about to get the chop, pulls out a big innings. Repeat cycle.
Like Waugh, he'll probably finish his Test career with a mediocre average of around 40 while the national team suffers from his inconsistency.
Doodlesweaver
11 Oct 2010, 16:47
He's very 'Mark Waugh' in the sense that he'll fail, fail and fail again and when he's just about to get the chop, pulls out a big innings. Repeat cycle.
Like Waugh, he'll probably finish his Test career with a mediocre average of around 40 while the national team suffers from his inconsistency.
We don't have enough fine players to carry him. Waugh was cushioned somewhat.
at least hes hitting hundreds i guess
personally i think Usman Khawaja should be number 6, hes a gun
King Elvis
11 Oct 2010, 19:13
Khawaja looks set to make a double ton in the domestic comp.
lewigie
11 Oct 2010, 19:55
He hasn't even bowled today.
Drummond
11 Oct 2010, 23:32
He was always going to do it wasn't he? Was always going to save his career and then we'll have to put up with his usual horrible scratchy batting during the entire Ashes series. :(
Meanwhile Khawaja slams an unbeaten 175 today which will be to no avail.
Doodlesweaver
12 Oct 2010, 12:40
In North's defence facing the Indian spin bowling at Bangalore is a bit different to facing the mediocre attack of SA on Adelaide oval.
But we can expect his next score at Perth now where we'll be fighting to save the ashes.
OzBomber
12 Oct 2010, 20:00
Dizzy got dropped after a double ton, surely North can be dropped after a ton?
We can only hope.
red+black
12 Oct 2010, 20:01
Another day, another failure.
He made a hundred to get his career average up to a scratchy 38. And he follows it up with a 3. It's great that he can make a score, but the volume of failures cannot be overlooked. If he scores a hundred every 3-4 innings, his consistent single figure scores undo any good work he does.
thorne89
12 Oct 2010, 20:32
Clarke failed too..average around 8 for the series I think.
Winnah.
tazzietiger
12 Oct 2010, 20:47
North backs up his 1st innings score with a 3 no surprise there here we go with another load of low scores from him again.
OzBomber
12 Oct 2010, 20:54
3, 128, 10, 0, 0, 16, 20, 0, 90, 9, 112, 21, 2, 10, 8, 1
His last 16 innings (32 in total). Goes back to December 16 last year.
2 hundreds
1 Ninety
3 Ducks
5 single figure scores
5 scores between 10 and 30.
11 of his 32 innings have been in single figures.
He has scored the same amount of centuries as ducks. 5.
Only 5 times has he scored between 30 and 99.
Wow. :o
red+black
12 Oct 2010, 21:02
I don't particularly want any Australian batsman to fail, but even though North makes the occasional hundred, in doing so, he doesn't instill me with confidence.
Even if you just go back to the 90, his recent average is below 30. Go back to the 112, it's back up to 35. Add the rest and it's below 30 again.
He is not in the side on merit but more so that perhaps no one is absolutely beating down the door.
Drummond
12 Oct 2010, 21:09
I don't particularly want any Australian batsman to fail, but even though North makes the occasional hundred, in doing so, he doesn't instill me with confidence.
Even if you just go back to the 90, his recent average is below 30. Go back to the 112, it's back up to 35. Add the rest and it's below 30 again.
He is not in the side on merit but more so that perhaps no one is absolutely beating down the door.
Really??
red+black
12 Oct 2010, 21:13
I'm trying to play devil's advocate. I cannot understand the selectors' terminal faith with incumbents.
wild side
12 Oct 2010, 21:36
Our selectors and Ponting's undying faith in non-critical performers will lose us the Ashes. North, Hauritz and Clarke should all be dropped in my opinion.
Won't happen though, I think it'll be the worst of the 3 that'll get dropped.......... Hauritz. He really is a joke of a baggy green wearer.
Get ready for a long disappointing summer !http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon11.gif
jimmy_clement#8
12 Oct 2010, 22:41
Would've been nice to give say, I dunno, Khawaja a baggy green before the 1st test at the Gabba.
Ashes debut in your bid to reclaim the urn, nice one selectors. It'll take until Melbourne or Sydney when England's got the series in control before North exits the side, you can bet your bottom dollar on it.
King Elvis
12 Oct 2010, 23:17
So he made 3?
What a ****ing shock.
I posted in the match thread that he'd fail again - doesn't make me a genius, I bet most of you thought he'd fail as well.
Absolutely ****ing pathetic that he's still in the side. We are going to be the #5th ranked Test side for the first time in history, and it's because the godamned retarded arseholes on the selection panel have no idea what they're doing.
Give Khawaja the Baggy Green he's earnt through consistent performances, and then **** off.
red+black
12 Oct 2010, 23:22
^^ Wow! We do drop to 5th unless we win the Test.
I'm sure even if we lose, North will pick up 2-3 wickets and keep his spot.
I think it was more the manner in which he failed that's more frustrating though.
All he had to do was move his foot a little bit and he would have been able to smother the ball, or even make it a half volley. Pretty simple stuff.
King Elvis
12 Oct 2010, 23:30
I think it was more the manner in which he failed that's more frustrating though.
All he had to do was move his foot a little bit and he would have been able to smother the ball, or even make it a half volley. Pretty simple stuff.
He got bowled leaving one in the first Test.
He's completely cooked; our persistence with him is totally irrational.
Rumblah#16
13 Oct 2010, 12:35
North is terrible. As Kingy will back up, I've been questioning his inclusion in the side for almost as long as he has.
The ball that bowled him yesterday, I've seen U/12's hit those. Pitched on middle, spinning towards off stump, so he bats up at leg? WTF?
I sometimes wonder if he's just trolling Cricket Australia.
Ashes XI
Hughes
Watson
Katich (better suited to #3 in my opinion, technique is strong and he rarely throws his wicket away)
Ponting
Clarke
Hussey/Khawaja (would like to see Khawaja in ASAP, however it's unlikely)
Haddin/Paine (Haddin is a peanut, and even though Paine has made scores, Bad Haddin will be back)
Johnson
Hauritz
Hilfenhaus
Bollinger
saint_larry
13 Oct 2010, 17:32
in a perfect world, north will come back to australia, play a few shield matches, fail, fail, fail, just like last season.
and then the selectors will see norths indian series average, 35, and say, Hey, thats pretty shit.
And then they'll SWING THE AXE.
alas, wishful thinking.
The Lone Wolf
15 Oct 2010, 12:08
in a perfect world, north will come back to australia, play a few shield matches, fail, fail, fail, just like last season.
and then the selectors will see norths indian series average, 35, and say, Hey, thats pretty shit.
And then they'll SWING THE AXE.
alas, wishful thinking.
What was Michael Clarke's average in the Indian series again?
Just askin'. :)
King Elvis
15 Oct 2010, 12:44
So there was massive attention given to his first innings ton; yet silence on his second innings failure.
The Lone Wolf
15 Oct 2010, 12:48
And in the meantime, Clarke failed in all 4 Innings in India. :D
King Elvis
15 Oct 2010, 12:56
And in the meantime, Clarke failed in all 4 Innings in India. :D
He's still one of our best 2 batsmen over the last 2 years.
His failures were very ordinary, but he's got a long way to go before he's in a slump like North/Huss.
Illinois Nazi
15 Oct 2010, 14:23
They've painted themselves into a corner with Clarke. Having spent the last few years announcing that he WILL be captain after Ponting, they can't really drop him now.
As for North, I really hope he can put it together at home this summer because I have no doubt he's going to be in the team.
Hayesuel
15 Oct 2010, 14:40
They've painted themselves into a corner with Clarke. Having spent the last few years announcing that he WILL be captain after Ponting, they can't really drop him now.
I dont think that's such a bad thing, he's still the most obvious choice for captain after Ponting and despite this lean series he has been fairly consistent. The selectors choosing a younger yet experienced player who will take charge for a long period of time is the right way to go over someone like Katich who is nominated a lot but doesnt have a lot of time left in the game.
Also remember after the public break up with Bingle he came out and hit 168 against the Kiwi's which goes someway to showing he's mentally tough enough to take over.
The Lone Wolf
15 Oct 2010, 16:35
That Bingle bullshit century is the thing that has stopped Clarke from getting critisism though. Before and since that century, he has failed.
I don't think he is the obvious choice, the only reason why people say that, is because of the stupidity by the ACB by saying he's the accessor after Ponting. They should never have said that.
Hayesuel
15 Oct 2010, 17:02
Who is your standout choice for the next captain?
frankrizzo
15 Oct 2010, 17:16
Personality wise i can't stand the bloke but people questioning clarke's batting form are clueless.
During our teams downhill slide in the past 2 years he averages 52 and that's with 7 tons, he 's basically been holding together our pitiful middle order by himself for 2 years.
The Lone Wolf
15 Oct 2010, 17:28
To be honest Hayesuel, right now Australia doesn't have a stand out choice as captain. I would stay with Ricky Ponting, until someone stands up and who is ready to take over his spot. I don't think Clarke should be the one to take over, or be appointed to take over by the AC, he should have to earn the right to captain Australia like others have done in the past, not be given the job on the platter.
Hayesuel
15 Oct 2010, 18:13
Oh i agree, keeping Ponting as captain is a non issue for me and is by far the best for all involved. I cant see him giving up the armband until he retires as well which is a good thing as i think he still has a couple more seasons in him.
However, of the players in the side now who are both good enough to hold down their position in the team and young enough to be there long term, Clarke is, at least in my opinion, the most obvious choice.
red+black
15 Oct 2010, 21:21
Personality wise i can't stand the bloke but people questioning clarke's batting form are clueless.
During our teams downhill slide in the past 2 years he averages 52 and that's with 7 tons, he 's basically been holding together our pitiful middle order by himself for 2 years.
yeah this. can't question Clarke (at this point in time) when the spotlight really needs to be on others in the side.