View Full Version : Usman Khawaja
Bomber Bears
11 Oct 2010, 21:07
Couldnt find a thread about him. Absolute gun. In his 21st first class match at present, averaging 54 and currently on 175*. Dravid like in his play. Should be our next test three and should be the next middle order test batsmen picked, ahead of Ferguson.
BarneyBent
11 Oct 2010, 21:17
He's not quite as safe as Dravid, but has more of an attacking game. There are some similarities though, definitely (in fact I thought his first 50 or so runs today was VERY Dravid-like). A couple of years ago I thought he might be destined to be an impressive state player but never crack it on the international scene, but since then he has ramped it up and is playing magnificently, and is still young. Should definitely be the next middle-order batsman in line.
DeadlyAkkuret
11 Oct 2010, 21:29
Clean up on aisle Drummond.
King Elvis
11 Oct 2010, 21:32
Should be in for North, now.
Port_Adelaide
11 Oct 2010, 22:38
Should be in for Hussey, now.
Efa.
apollo_creed
11 Oct 2010, 23:09
Couldnt find a thread about him. Absolute gun. In his 21st first class match at present, averaging 54 and currently on 175*. Dravid like in his play. Should be our next test three and should be the next middle order test batsmen picked, ahead of Ferguson.
What has Klinger done wrong for two seasons? :rolleyes:
The Governor
12 Oct 2010, 07:13
Usman Khawaja is on 175 not out and he should be awarded his first baggy green cap in the 1st Ashes test in Brisbane next month. He can easily bat at number 4 and he has the technique and temperment to succeed at test level. He has the maturity of a young Mark Taylor and he knows how to build an innings.
With Michael Hussey, Marcus North and Simon Katich on borrowed time, I would bring in Usman Khawaja for Michael Hussey; Phil Hughes for Simon Katich and Stephen Smith for Marcus North.
Changes have to be made for the long term future of Australian cricket. It was exciting to see Peter George play his 1st test match and he seems to be the ideal line and length bowler we need who can dry up the runs from one end. I was also excited to see Tim Paine showing his true abilities on the test arena.
I just hope Gregory Stephen Chappell will make the tough calls because the Australian test XI has not made any progress since the retirements of Glen McGrath, SK Warne, Justin Langer, Matthew Hayden, Damien Martyn and Adam Gilchrist. Our bating has gone backwards and the buck stops with Tim Nielsen and Andrew Hilditch.
As I have mentioned before, the Australian TEST XI will not regain the number 1 test match ranking unless Katich, North and Hussey are culled from the test match XI.
Finally, in reference to Michael Klinger, Michael Klinger has missed the boat for test match honours. Under Greg Chappell, Chappell would look at Finch, Usman Khawaja, MItchell Marsh, Phil Hughes, Moses Henriques, Josh Hazlewood, Peter George, James Pattinson and other youngsters who have attended the AIS Academy over the past 2 seasons. These youngsters are the future of Australian cricket. If the selectors choose Ferguson, Klinger, Bailey, Jacques and co, the Australian TEST XI will never reclaim the number 1 test match ranking.
Unfortunately, Australian cricket has fallen into the trap of the previous English cricket system model where seasoned experienced first class players will make their test debuts at the age of 28. And, this selection policy will never work. English cricket was not getting anywhere from 1987 to 2003 until Rod Marsh was poached from us to set up the English Academy in 2001.
I will tip an England victory on Australian shores and Ricky Ponting will go down as one of the worse test captains in Australian test cricket history.
King Elvis
12 Oct 2010, 09:12
Judas!
Bomber Bears
12 Oct 2010, 11:18
Just brought up his double century
What a gun, 209 and climbing. Average has shifted from 48 to 55 so far.
Someone to watch. We're in desperate need of this sort of stability. (In the Aust. middle order)
BarneyBent
12 Oct 2010, 11:56
Usman Khawaja is on 175 not out and he should be awarded his first baggy green cap in the 1st Ashes test in Brisbane next month. He can easily bat at number 4 and he has the technique and temperment to succeed at test level. He has the maturity of a young Mark Taylor and he knows how to build an innings.
With Michael Hussey, Marcus North and Simon Katich on borrowed time, I would bring in Usman Khawaja for Michael Hussey; Phil Hughes for Simon Katich and Stephen Smith for Marcus North.
Changes have to be made for the long term future of Australian cricket. It was exciting to see Peter George play his 1st test match and he seems to be the ideal line and length bowler we need who can dry up the runs from one end. I was also excited to see Tim Paine showing his true abilities on the test arena.
I just hope Gregory Stephen Chappell will make the tough calls because the Australian test XI has not made any progress since the retirements of Glen McGrath, SK Warne, Justin Langer, Matthew Hayden, Damien Martyn and Adam Gilchrist. Our bating has gone backwards and the buck stops with Tim Nielsen and Andrew Hilditch.
As I have mentioned before, the Australian TEST XI will not regain the number 1 test match ranking unless Katich, North and Hussey are culled from the test match XI.
Finally, in reference to Michael Klinger, Michael Klinger has missed the boat for test match honours. Under Greg Chappell, Chappell would look at Finch, Usman Khawaja, MItchell Marsh, Phil Hughes, Moses Henriques, Josh Hazlewood, Peter George, James Pattinson and other youngsters who have attended the AIS Academy over the past 2 seasons. These youngsters are the future of Australian cricket. If the selectors choose Ferguson, Klinger, Bailey, Jacques and co, the Australian TEST XI will never reclaim the number 1 test match ranking.
Unfortunately, Australian cricket has fallen into the trap of the previous English cricket system model where seasoned experienced first class players will make their test debuts at the age of 28. And, this selection policy will never work. English cricket was not getting anywhere from 1987 to 2003 until Rod Marsh was poached from us to set up the English Academy in 2001.
I will tip an England victory on Australian shores and Ricky Ponting will go down as one of the worse test captains in Australian test cricket history.
You know, all these rants and raves would actually have some merit if you didn't include our most in form and reliable batsman of the last 24 months in them.
Your arguments are decent for North and Hussey. Both are getting on. Both aren't performing to a good standard. But Katich IS performing to a good standard. The problem with the Australian selectors is that they are sticking with old players DESPITE THEIR FORM. Katich's form is not an issue, so that argument doesn't apply to him.
King Elvis
12 Oct 2010, 15:47
Khawaja should be playing this Test.
**** you Selectors, you are responsible for us being #5 in the world rankings.
Drummond
12 Oct 2010, 16:40
Usman is a serious, serious gun.
Should be playing for Australia at this very minute.
One of the classiest batsman I've seen. His pull shot would be his best shot, plays it like a young Ricky Ponting.
placebo
12 Oct 2010, 17:28
He's such a gun.
Would love him in for Hussey during the Ashes.
dan warna
12 Oct 2010, 18:17
David Hussey has averaged 54/55 for much of the past decade that hasn't seen him being selected...wait what?:rolleyes:
realsniper09
12 Oct 2010, 18:17
You know, all these rants and raves would actually have some merit if you didn't include our most in form and reliable batsman of the last 24 months in them.
Your arguments are decent for North and Hussey. Both are getting on. Both aren't performing to a good standard. But Katich IS performing to a good standard. The problem with the Australian selectors is that they are sticking with old players DESPITE THEIR FORM. Katich's form is not an issue, so that argument doesn't apply to him.
Completely agree.
Putting in Katich's name doesn't do the argument any good at all...
Bomber Bears
12 Oct 2010, 19:31
Mark Ramprakash absolutely flays county attacks around, yet averaged under 30 at test level. How much of Dusseys average is boosted by his performances against county sides? He's decent, no doubt, but unfortunately for him his peak was around the time of some other decent batsmen.
Khawaja and Tendulker both score 214. Coincidence?
I called for him to be in the test squad in the next 12 - 18 months about... 12 - 18 months ago.. will try and dig up the posts, may take a while :D
HaHa
Found them out of pure luck :p
Here (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=13363919&highlight=khawaja#post13363919)
and
Here (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=13433419&highlight=khawaja#post13433419)
One even dated back to December 08..
God I made some horrible calls back there, Pomersbach (wasn't the only one though), Michael Hill :o..
HaHa
Found them out of pure luck :p
Here (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=13363919&highlight=khawaja#post13363919)
and
Here (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=13433419&highlight=khawaja#post13433419)
One even dated back to December 08..
God I made some horrible calls back there, Pomersbach (wasn't the only one though), Michael Hill :o..
AMAZING!! Absolutely amazing, you named him along with 7-10 players 18 months ago and he came through! You're brilliant!
Thanks dude, glad someone has some respsect around here and notices the good rather than all the bad :thumbsu:
The Reaper
12 Oct 2010, 20:45
Khawaja should be playing this Test.
**** you Selectors, you are responsible for us being #5 in the world rankings.
It makes me sad when I know that the only changes for the Gabba will be to drop Paine and bring back Bollinger (Bollinger is one of the best pace bowlers though).
I can't blame the selectors for the bowling. Sadly this seems to be the 'least bad' (because I refuse to use the word best) bowling combination we have.
The selectors attitude in regards to the batting is disgraceful.
I can sort of understand the rational between giving an out of form player an extended run but what is the point of giving Hussey an extended run?
He is 35. Even if he returns to form how much longer will he play?
Why wasn't Hughes given the same chance to return to form as Hussey and North? Hughes at least will be playing long term.
If North is playing so he can become a vice-captain for Clarke then why hasn't White being given an opportunity? White is a proven captain and few would argue that he is an inferior bat to North.
Cousin Jed
12 Oct 2010, 21:55
Thread is about Usman not:
Cashed up bogans
Wagga Wagga
NSW bias
NSW being shit despite selector bias
etc.
Dr Awkward
12 Oct 2010, 22:33
Get him in now. And Hughes.
The continued selection of Hussey is a joke.
jimmy_clement#8
12 Oct 2010, 22:38
Put Usman in at 5, drop Hussey to 6.
japaljarri
12 Oct 2010, 22:56
Been keen to see him for a while. Certainly should be playing this test for mine, l dont think North deserved the chance he got. North and Huss have been very lucky for too long (another argument).
Want him in the side at 5 or 6 and learning the ropes from Ricky for a few years. So that he (and/or Ferguson) get that experience from a master before taking over at #3.
King Elvis
12 Oct 2010, 23:22
I'm on the verge of ignoring Cricket until Khawaja is in for North or Hussey.
earlsta
13 Oct 2010, 00:31
It'll be fantastic if he gets a gig. I'm assuming he will..making double hundreds at that age is a pretty big thing, especially if you have the NSW cap on :D.
Pretty sure North or Huss will be culled for him, he's a gun.
It's great for Australian sport..for so long we have been a multi-cultural country and yeah about time a player with Indian heritage recieves the baggy green cap, it will be great for the youngsters in the system, seeing him make the big stage.
He could be in the very elite in the test arena.
apollo_creed
13 Oct 2010, 06:55
Apparently he's the next Bradman according to those who have rarely seen him bat. A fair wrap!
King Elvis
13 Oct 2010, 08:56
earlsta; I think he's from Pakistan, not India; anyone?
The Governor
13 Oct 2010, 09:14
Usman Khawaja scored a double ton whilst Michael Hussey, Marcus North and Simon Katich failed in the 2nd innings whilst Ricky, Shane Watson and Tim Paine put on a gallant fight against the Indian bowling attack.
Aaron Finch scored 84 runs against Western Australia in a shield match at the WACA!!
The Australian side has to be refreshed with youth!! Usman Khawaja, Aaron Finch and Phil Hughes have to be in contention for test match honours during the up and coming Ashes series ahead of Klinger, Bailey and David Hussey!!
As Michael Atherton pointed out in the UK press, the English squad have no fear. The decision to play the young players 5 years ago and the decision to continue along the path has paid dividends. The young players have the hunger to win whilst Australia's persistence with mature age players is fraught with danger.
And, half of you have no idea about my argument and logic behind Simon Katich and Marcus North. Simon Katich is grafting an innings and he is preventing Phil Hughes and Usman Khawaja from gaining as much test match exposure in the test XI.
People forget that David Boon made his test debut at 25 and he was forced to retire in 1995 at the age 35. As a selector, he has prolonged the careers of Katich, Hussey and North by not giving them the tap on the shoulder. At the end of the day, David Boon is a hypocrite!! He has forgotten that tough decisions have to be made for the long term future of Australian cricket.
And, we will lose this test match against India!! Who wants a head coach who sits at the ICC dinner playing with his mobile phone??
THE GOVERNOR
RangaInTeal
13 Oct 2010, 09:22
Same same aren't they? :eek:
People forget that David Boon made his test debut at 25 and he was forced to retire in 1995 at the age 35. As a selector, he has prolonged the careers of Katich, Hussey and North by not giving them the tap on the shoulder. At the end of the day, David Boon is a hypocrite!! He has forgotten that tough decisions have to be made for the long term future of Australian cricket.
Boon averaged 25 in his last 10 tests. Katich is currently averaging 57 in his last 10.
etc etc etc
Stop treating Cricket like AFL. You dont just throw youngsters in the deep end to 'give them exposure', you try to pick the best team you have all the time - and that doesn't involve dumping Katich who has been one of our shining lights over the past year.
King Elvis
13 Oct 2010, 11:03
My team for the Ashes;
Watson
Hughes
Katich
Ponting
Clarke
Khawaja
Smith
Haddin/Paine
Johnson
Hilf
Bollinger
That should be our team, no question in my mind.
Smith is your spinner, but Katich and Clarke are both required to bowl a bit as well.
kreuze control
13 Oct 2010, 11:06
was born in pakistan
Hayesuel
13 Oct 2010, 15:02
My team for the Ashes;
Watson
Hughes
Katich
Ponting
Clarke
Khawaja
Smith
Haddin/Paine
Johnson
Hilf
Bollinger
Smith is your spinner, but Katich and Clarke are both required to bowl a bit as well.
Out of the changes you've made id say Khawaja is the only realistic one.
Whilst Hughes is a future opener he hasnt done anything since he was dropped to warrant a recall. The Kat/Watto partnership has been solid since they've teamed up and wont be broken up this ashes series, possibly after but not before. Not saying its not a good shout but the selectors arent ballsy enough to do it. Would also involve Kat voluntarily making way for Hughes if the selectors wanted to go that way and i cant see him agreeing to make way for a younger guy when he's done so well and battled so hard to cement his own spot in the team.
Ponting will never bat at 4 and is the best 3 we have.
Questionable whether Smith is ready yet both batting and bowling wise but i definitely wouldnt begrudge him if he got a gig. Ponting has a fair bit of love for Haurry, at least via the press, but whether that's a case of him trying to keep Nathans confidence high after continual average perfomances or if he genuine is anyones guess.
kingbet22
13 Oct 2010, 15:24
governor i just noticed you listed katich as a fail in the 2nd innings he scored 24 off 45 balls but than you said paine put in a gallant fight and he scored out for 23 off 63 balls...i agree that north should be dropped and hussey is very close to being dropped but katich has been one of our most reliable bats the past few years so he shouldnt be dropped if he continues batting the way he has no matter how old he is...also don't know much about aaron finch but after 7 or so first class matches and averaging 37 he wouldn't be any where near ready for test match cricket i would think...usman really needs to get a call up and replace the consistently failing north
BluesMan
13 Oct 2010, 17:28
My team for the Ashes;
Watson
Hughes
Katich
Ponting
Clarke
Khawaja
Smith
Haddin/Paine
Johnson
Hilf
Bollinger
A bit harsh to push one of the all time best number 3 batsmen of his thrown... Hughes isn't ready IMO, I assume he's injured, thats why he's not playing the NSW shield match.
As For Usman, he will go very close to selection. Hussey has it over North atm, so Norths under the pump.
Pretty left field but, could anyone see the highly rated Callum Ferguson in before the currently performing Usman Khawaja?
I can see the selectors picking Ferguson and batting him at 6, then move him up to 5, when Hussey goes then Khawaja comes in to bat at 5/6.
apollo_creed
13 Oct 2010, 18:25
Ferguson has a shit record in the longer form - consistenly unreliable and unable to put together big scores.
Would be an unjustified decision.
Funnily/sadly enough - I reckon it's possible.
Bomber Bears
13 Oct 2010, 18:39
A bit harsh to push one of the all time best number 3 batsmen of his thrown... Hughes isn't ready IMO, I assume he's injured, thats why he's not playing the NSW shield match.
As For Usman, he will go very close to selection. Hussey has it over North atm, so Norths under the pump.
Pretty sure he is in India with the Australian squad
Reincarnation
13 Oct 2010, 18:40
Ferguson has a shit record in the longer form - consistenly unreliable and unable to put together big scores.
So did Michael Clarke before he was promoted into the test team. Thus far I would prefer Ferguson in the test team than Khawaja although both should/will be good international crickters.
Doodlesweaver
13 Oct 2010, 19:03
So did Michael Clarke before he was promoted into the test team. Thus far I would prefer Ferguson in the test team than Khawaja although both should/will be good international crickters.
Problem with the Ashes is that Khawaja is a leftie and believe me that is a huge problem, considering that Swann eats left-handers for breakfast, lunch and dinner. They need to replace the shaky lefties, North or Huss with a right-hander.
There's no point in debuting a leftie at 5 or 6, they'll just be a sitting duck.
Ferguson can play spin, I've seen him stand up under pressure when the Aussies were busy folding all around him on various occasions in one day cricket.
I'd certainly trust him before White.
apollo_creed
13 Oct 2010, 19:59
Fergsuon struggles to keep the ball on the ground.
I've seen him play quite a lot.
Doodlesweaver
13 Oct 2010, 20:07
Who would you suggest then?
It has to be right-hander, a leftie debuting during the Ashes in the middle order is bound to come aground. And it's not fair on a young player, when the experienced lefties will struggle.
Ferguson has 'apparently' only began to really put everything together in the past two years after being somewhat of a 'wild child' in his younger days.
He is finally on the straight and narrow and has shown that he is mentally tough enough in his first 30 - odd one day games that he is good enough to play international cricket, however; test cricket is a whole different kettle of fish.
Still, would love to see him (and Khawaja FWIW) in the international team, sooner rather than later.
This is exactly why I thought that they could possibly pick Ferguson over the performing Khawaja.
Problem with the Ashes is that Khawaja is a leftie and believe me that is a huge problem, considering that Swann eats left-handers for breakfast, lunch and dinner. They need to replace the shaky lefties, North or Huss with a right-hander.
There's no point in debuting a leftie at 5 or 6, they'll just be a sitting duck.
Ferguson can play spin, I've seen him stand up under pressure when the Aussies were busy folding all around him on various occasions in one day cricket.
I'd certainly trust him before White.
Khawaja (Pakistani born), a NSW (spinners paradise, even in grade cricket) would be able to play spin IMO.
Any top line batsmen in Australia is good against spin, mind you, i do agree that Ferguson looks very impressive when he played against some of the spinners in his debut ODI season.
Wouldn't be to fussed either way if it was Khawaja or Ferguson in the team, just get this feeling that it will be Ferguson first.
Same problem Michael Clarke has.
Seems to hit the ball 'through' the field rather than over it?
Still, Michael Clarke seems to be doing pretty well with it, whilst Ferguson averages, what mid 40's in todays ODI game, good going for a 25 y.o with 25 ODI's behind his back.
King Elvis
13 Oct 2010, 21:35
Mate, I absolutely love Ponting (some homo), the bloke is a legend - I want him in the Test side for as long as possible, performing as well as possible.
The fact we desperately need him at #3 is an indictment, that nobody has been identified to bat in that key slot, take the heat off of Punter a bit, and let him play for a couple more years without that pressure, it's unbelievable.
pistonbroke23
15 Oct 2010, 08:45
Okeefe got 4 for 90 against sth aus.Get him in the test side mate.Bat him at 5 and bowl him from both ends.Hes a NSW player!
Bomber Bears
15 Oct 2010, 09:43
There's a vaccination for distemper mate, might stop you forthing at the mouth every time a talented New South Welshman is mentioned.
nineteen eighty
16 Oct 2010, 05:40
Who would you suggest then?
It has to be right-hander, a leftie debuting during the Ashes in the middle order is bound to come aground. And it's not fair on a young player, when the experienced lefties will struggle.
I agree with you Doodles that a leftie will struggle against Swann and that a rightie (x2) needs to be introduced into the team. What are the chances that the selectors also see this and act on it?
It wouldn't surprise me in the slightest if they ignored Swann's phenomenol record against lefties and introduced a leftie into the team.
Doodlesweaver
16 Oct 2010, 06:19
I agree with you Doodles that a leftie will struggle against Swann and that a rightie (x2) needs to be introduced into the team. What are the chances that the selectors also see this and act on it?
It wouldn't surprise me in the slightest if they ignored Swann's phenomenol record against lefties and introduced a leftie into the team.
Yes, that is what I expect to happen somehow. They don't appear to follow cricket, honestly, they don't.
King Elvis
16 Oct 2010, 07:55
Merv went on a wine tasting tour instead of attending a tour match during The Ashes - and didn't want to have Foxtel installed as he didn't think watching the domestic comp was important.
dan warna
16 Oct 2010, 09:53
There's a vaccination for distemper mate, might stop you forthing at the mouth every time a talented New South Welshman is mentioned.
i have no problem with quality players earning their stripes.
Glenn McGrath and S.waugh are among my favourite players for Aus that i have seen. I especially liked s.waugh's in your face captaincy.
I do think however that talented players from other states often don't get the opportunities or that NSW players get.
dan warna
16 Oct 2010, 09:55
Mate, I absolutely love Ponting (some homo), the bloke is a legend - I want him in the Test side for as long as possible, performing as well as possible.
The fact we desperately need him at #3 is an indictment, that nobody has been identified to bat in that key slot, take the heat off of Punter a bit, and let him play for a couple more years without that pressure, it's unbelievable.
I think punter is an outstanding player but the pressure on him with a few fragile players is tremendous.
Also i think from a leadership perspective, he's carrying a big burden on his own since the retirement of warne.
King Elvis
16 Oct 2010, 11:09
I think punter is an outstanding player but the pressure on him with a few fragile players is tremendous.
Also i think from a leadership perspective, he's carrying a big burden on his own since the retirement of warne.
Agree completely.
The senior guys in the side, who should be taking some fo the load from his shoulders - North/Hussey - don't even deserve to be in the team; Clarke is alright, but a bit up and down, Katich is rock solid, but apart from that, Ponting is it.
The people, especially ex-players, sinking the boot into him should be ashamed of themselves.
Merv went on a wine tasting tour instead of attending a tour match during The Ashes - and didn't want to have Foxtel installed as he didn't think watching the domestic comp was important.
That's ridiculous.
King Elvis
16 Oct 2010, 16:35
That's ridiculous.
Check out the thread when it become public, swear filter copped a solid workout.
eddiesmith
16 Oct 2010, 18:49
That's ridiculous.
Of course what is conveniently ignored when people say that is that Merv was not the selector on duty at that stage of the tour and he was over there as part of his other job, it was Hilditch who was supposed to attend
Fair enough. It's still pretty garbage that he doesn't have Foxtel though.
King Elvis
17 Oct 2010, 12:12
You sure about that?
I thought he was over there in an official capacity, and considering he was constantly doing interviews with the Foxtel guys regarding players and selection, you'd think he'd want to be clued in to what he was talking about.
apollo_creed
17 Oct 2010, 14:29
Top knock today.
BarneyBent
17 Oct 2010, 15:33
Top knock today.
Sarcasm? So he got 5. He's allowed to fail occasionally, and nobody has ever claimed he is a particularly fantastic OD player anyway.
apollo_creed
17 Oct 2010, 17:20
Actually - he's been built up as the next Brian Lara on here reading some of the posts from people who have looked at his age, and his decent stats. Very few of those proclaiming his greatness in this thread would have seen him bat anywhere near enough to form a decent opinion.
The thing is - he made a big score against South Australia and suddenly he's the in thing, wth everybody jumping on the bandwagon.
Granted, his record is impressive for someone his age but the overreaction on this site aobut the guy is nothing short of pathetic. Look at this thread - and others about the national team. It's littered with people who wouldn't have seen the guy play screaming for his selection. As I say it's pathetic.
And can we not read too much into a double century against what probably was the worst South Australian bowling attack I can remember seeing.
The guy has a long way to go - but seemingly everyone is ready to ignore that for him to be selected ahead of more deserving candidates.
"Ohh lets pick him. He made 200 against South Australia and he's 14 years old!!" :rolleyes:
Muppets.
BarneyBent
17 Oct 2010, 17:33
Actually - he's been built up as the next Brian Lara on here reading some of the posts from people who have looked at his age, and his decent stats. Very few of those proclaiming his greatness in this thread would have seen him bat anywhere near enough to form a decent opinion.
The thing is - he made a big score against South Australia and suddenly he's the in thing, wth everybody jumping on the bandwagon.
Granted, his record is impressive for someone his age but the overreaction on this site aobut the guy is nothing short of pathetic. Look at this thread - and others about the national team. It's littered with people who wouldn't have seen the guy play screaming for his selection. As I say it's pathetic.
And can we not read too much into a double century against what probably was the worst South Australian bowling attack I can remember seeing.
The guy has a long way to go - but seemingly everyone is ready to ignore that for him to be selected ahead of more deserving candidates.
"Ohh lets pick him. He made 200 against South Australia and he's 14 years old!!" :rolleyes:
Muppets.
Well someone's grumpy.
You point out another bloke who is consistently scoring centuries in FC cricket at the rate he is, who is relatively young, and who is a middle order bastman with a sound technique and a near indomitable temperament (in other words, exactly the sort of batsman the current Test team needs).
Maybe you haven't seen much of him bat, maybe you hadn't heard of him until the 200 against SA, but a lot of people have been following him since he came into the NSW side, and do actually know what they're talking about.
eddiesmith
17 Oct 2010, 17:39
You sure about that?
I thought he was over there in an official capacity, and considering he was constantly doing interviews with the Foxtel guys regarding players and selection, you'd think he'd want to be clued in to what he was talking about.
He was probably involved in some selection discussions but the fact is Hilditch was over there for atleast the 1st test or so and he was the one supposed to be at the tour game. I read an old article where they were attacking him for not being there.
Merv was at every game, he runs his tour groups and they would take precedence as he is being paid to do it and at that point of the tour he was not on duty. I do believe from memory he took over at some stage during the tour but yeah the article I read said Hilditch was there for the 1st test as the selector
apollo_creed
17 Oct 2010, 17:41
Well someone's grumpy.
You point out another bloke who is consistently scoring centuries in FC cricket at the rate he is, who is relatively young, and who is a middle order bastman with a sound technique and a near indomitable temperament (in other words, exactly the sort of batsman the current Test team needs).
Maybe you haven't seen much of him bat, maybe you hadn't heard of him until the 200 against SA, but a lot of people have been following him since he came into the NSW side, and do actually know what they're talking about.
I've analysed this on another thread.
I think Cameron White is ready. As is Phil Hughes.
Don't worry - I know of Khawaja. I have some like for his batting.
I don't think he's the right option for at this time to be introduced in such a high pressure, high stakes environment.
People on here are so quick to criticise the selectors but there's little logic to the alternatives many of them are quick to suggest.
I think half the excitement is due to how rubbish our middle order is, coupled with a push for fresh blood. Given the way the Shield is structured these days, it's not often you see a quality unlimited-overs bat emerge in his early 20s.
Who was the last one - probably Clarke. Most of the young talents are like Ferguson, White, Watson - they burst onto the scene as List A players, then take some time to mature and temper their style for the long game.
That said, I agree he needs more time at a first class level - he hasn't even had a full season in the NSW First XI yet. The Shield is good, but it's not Test cricket.
apollo_creed
17 Oct 2010, 17:44
1. Watson
2. Katich
3. Ponting
4. Clarke
5. Hussey
6. White
7. Haddin
8. S.Smith (what is there to lose? he's batting low - and fwiw I don't think Haddin is anywhere near reliable as a batsman and would strongly consider Paine but Smith is still raw, and maturing as a batsman and it would be stupidly risky to put him higher)
9. Johnson
10. Bollinger
11. Hilfenhaus
apollo_creed
17 Oct 2010, 17:48
I think half the excitement is due to how rubbish our middle order is, coupled with a push for fresh blood. Given the way the Shield is structured these days, it's not often you see a quality unlimited-overs bat emerge in his early 20s.
Who was the last one - probably Clarke. Most of the young talents are like Ferguson, White, Watson - they burst onto the scene as List A players, then take some time to mature and temper their style for the long game.
That said, I agree he needs more time at a first class level - he hasn't even had a full season in the NSW First XI yet. The Shield is good, but it's not Test cricket.
I don't rate Ferguson at all. Would be a big mistake to even consider him for a middle order spot.
I've seen UK play and he will be a test cricketer within 2 or 3 years. I have no doubt of that but there's no point introducing him in this environment when (imo) 1) there are better options 2) his inexperience could be decisive. pressure demands experience.
I'd pick Hughes ahead of White but you just can't change the top order.
Re: the quality of the shield - it's a reasonably high standard but that SA bowling attack was probably the worst they've put out to play a first class cricket game for 20 years. (at least)
you won't get a less threatening bowling attack in domestic cricket, much less the international version.
I don't rate Ferguson at all. Would be a big mistake to even consider him for a middle order spot.
I've seen UK play and he will be a test cricketer within 2 or 3 years. I have no doubt of that but there's no point introducing him in this environment when (imo) 1) there are better options 2) his inexperience could be decisive. pressure demands experience.
Why do you not rate Ferguson Appollo_Creed?
As for Khawaja, Khawaja at three, Ferguson at possibly 4, 5 or 6 and you could fit both into the side no worries.
Who are these "better options" you speak of? experiences should not mean squat, pick your best 11 and watch them fail or succeed.
Khawaja has the temperament to make it as a batsmen now I feel. He is by the way nearly 24 years old, would you like to wait "a couple more years" so he can mature more? he will be 26 - 27 then and other players may have over taken him or he may have reached his prime.
BarneyBent
17 Oct 2010, 17:54
I've analysed this on another thread.
I think Cameron White is ready. As is Phil Hughes.
Don't worry - I know of Khawaja. I have some like for his batting.
I don't think he's the right option for at this time to be introduced in such a high pressure, high stakes environment.
People on here are so quick to criticise the selectors but there's little logic to the alternatives many of them are quick to suggest.
White is yet to show he can score consistently in FC cricket. Granted, his opportunities have been limited of late due to ODI and T20 engagements, but his past performances in Shield cricket, and his performances with the bat in his short foray into Test cricket, aren't promising.
Khawaja has a fantastic temperament. What makes you think White would be any better under such pressure? Or Hughes? In a pressure situation, I'd take Khawaja over those two in a heartbeat.
Khawaja is scoring runs, he's doing it sensibly, he has shown great levels of maturity, and has a superb ability to bat under pressure. He has everything our current middle order lacks.
Personally, I'd like to see Hughes at 5 (perhaps with a view to moving up to opener when Katich retires), Khawaja at 6 (or the other way around). They are very different players and would complement each other down the order well.
I'm always skeptical of bats whose main claim to fame is good performances on an Adelaide pitch, but Khawaja has shown he can bat pretty much anywhere. That said, I don't really rate the Shield bowling attacks these days - look at how North and Hughes got ripped apart when they made the step up.
Maybe next summer. There are a number of bats around that are better than North (and arguably Hussey) so there's no need to rush him.
eddiesmith
17 Oct 2010, 17:58
I dont get the criticism of Whites batting in India, he batted at no8 and as the series wore on he got better, still averaged 29 which isnt bad at all for the no8 and it was the year after his ODI batting really took off, his FC batting has been around 50 or so for the last 3 years, basically what people are doing is saying he isnt good enough yet and in 3 years he will be too old.
I agree with Apollo on Ferguson, done great doing the Michael Bevan role in ODIs, but his fc record is average, its worse than Whites shield record and he isnt a young option compared to White given there is only about 13 months between them
The other advantage is White is he is a slipper and Australia struggles there atm
Add me to the list who can't understand the calls for Ferguson in the test team. I quite like how last year the selectors were getting criticised for admitting they factored in OD performances when picking the test team, but no-one's complained about Paine getting into the test team through OD's - Wade is the best back-up keeper if we focus solely on FC cricket; Paine is the best OD back-up - and now people are saying we should pick Ferguson for the same reason. Stick to one opinion plz guys
I was of the opinion that Usman needed another season in FC cricket a couple of weeks ago. I still think that. But he won't let us down anymore than North will, and he's definitely better than Ferguson as a FC player. Hughes is coming back from injury, did poorly for Hampshire and is a opener, so please forget about him. White I'm 50/50 on as a long-term test player, but once again he's better than North right now. White will get in if he has a good series.
Phone
I just get the feeling that they may pick Ferguson ahead of Khawaja as Ferguson has had some exposure against world class attacks through his time in the One Day team in the past 18 months or so.
I am all for having Khawaja in the test team (ahead of Ferguson), but I get the feeling that they (the selectors) may select Ferguson ahead of Khawaja.
Smokey_22
17 Oct 2010, 18:52
Add me to the list who can't understand the calls for Ferguson in the test team. I quite like how last year the selectors were getting criticised for admitting they factored in OD performances when picking the test team, but no-one's complained about Paine getting into the test team through OD's - Wade is the best back-up keeper if we focus solely on FC cricket; Paine is the best OD back-up - and now people are saying we should pick Ferguson for the same reason. Stick to one opinion plz guys
I was of the opinion that Usman needed another season in FC cricket a couple of weeks ago. I still think that. But he won't let us down anymore than North will, and he's definitely better than Ferguson as a FC player. Hughes is coming back from injury, did poorly for Hampshire and is a opener, so please forget about him. White I'm 50/50 on as a long-term test player, but once again he's better than North right now. White will get in if he has a good series.
No he will not.
White hasnt done well in FC cricket at all, his entire career and is a long way down the pecking order.
"selectors...for admitting they factored in OD performance"
As Eddie said he doesn't have a bad FC record over the past two-seasons - although i have doubts over his ability to make a century, Paine has the very same doubts too - and quite frankly I back him to perform if we need him a lot more than pretty much any other option.
Although change that to "White will get in if he has a great series.". If White is to hit two centuries during the series you're dreaming if you think they won't pick him.
Lethal44
17 Oct 2010, 19:20
IMO he'll replace Ponting within the next 18 months, don't get me wrong I love Ponting, but I reckon he'll get the tap on the shoulder sooner than later, expecially now that they have a ready made replacement.
dan warna
17 Oct 2010, 19:31
No he will not.
White hasnt done well in FC cricket at all, his entire career and is a long way down the pecking order.
your kidding right? he's averaged about 50 for much of the past 4 or 5 seasons if not more.
his average is down from when he broke into the shield side and batting at no.8 and 9 where he averaged sub 20 for the first 3 seasons of his career.
fast tracked into the side as an 18 year old after captaining the u19 side to the junior world cup win
Doodlesweaver
17 Oct 2010, 20:06
The reason I'm calling for Ferguson is because he's a right-hander with some international experience who has coped well at ODI's.
I see no use in bringing in lefties into the middle order. I mean some of the people on this board are suggesting that Phil Hughes come in at 5 or 6.
With his technique or lack of, is he going to be able to cope with a more than decent spin bowler? I really doubt it. Considering how the selectors have treated him in the past, sticking him there could be the kiss of death for a couple of years for him.
apollo_creed
17 Oct 2010, 20:10
Why do you not rate Ferguson Apollo_Creed?
Seen him play enough Shield cricket (and one day domestic cricket) to be underwhelmed about certain aspects of his batting - aspects which I think will prevent him having sustained success at international level.
(admittedly he has surpassed my expectations at one day level)
There's two things. Firstly he struggles to get on top of the ball and is a naturally aggressive player. He doesn't have the range of shots, or power of someone like Gilchrist or Lara to get away with this. He's never really in/safe at the crease because of this - evidenced by the conspicuous lack of high scores throughout his career. Too many opportunities being presented.
And he has the Blewett flaw. Will get found out in test cricket where he has to stay in the crease more and play more conventionally - he might look elegant but the gap is noticeable and decent inswing bowling can always expose this flaw.
As for Khawaja, Khawaja at three, Ferguson at possibly 4, 5 or 6 and you could fit both into the side no worries.
Definitely not yet mate.
Ferguson isn't a lost cause and I don't think he's hopeless or anything but there's a reason he struggles to score big and enjoy long stays at the crease.
Who are these "better options" you speak of? experiences should not mean squat, pick your best 11 and watch them fail or succeed.
Cameron White and Phil Hughes are the two who standout to me.
(slightly off topic rant)
And it's a shame with Cosgrove being so unprofessional because Khawaja aside he's probably the next most talented not currently in the test team batsman we have playing in domestic cricket at the moment.
(actually I take that back. forgot about Hodge.)
What a sad case Cosgrove is. He would've been a long term national team player had he made the right decision(s) three seasons ago and would probably be established in all three as we speak.
Khawaja has the temperament to make it as a batsmen now I feel. He is by the way nearly 24 years old, would you like to wait "a couple more years" so he can mature more? he will be 26 - 27 then and other players may have over taken him or he may have reached his prime.
I wouldn't pick him ahead of White but if they do take the risk many are proposing then it will be interesting to watch.
Anyway, I posted my team a few posts back and would like to see White given a chance. I really like him as a cricketer. Improving batsman, excellent fieldsman and an impressive cricket strategist.
Firmly believe the same people calling for Hughes to bat at 6 were the same people calling for his sacking during the Ashes.
apollo_creed
17 Oct 2010, 20:16
No he will not.
Ignorant mate.
And unfortunately I think you're resigned to posting constructed by state loyalties and providing unresearched arguments.
White has improved as a batsman from the first stage of his career. It's all about the learning process. He's been a state cricketer from a young age and during that time - if you've watched him at the crease, and compared his form at various stages, you'll have noted the improvement in quality - it should be noted he has evolved into a batsman. (remember he started his career as a bowling all-rounder)
Doodlesweaver
And he has the Blewett flaw. Will get found out in test cricket where he has to stay in the crease more and play more conventionally - he might look elegant but the gap is noticeable and decent inswing bowling can always expose this flaw..
This sounds like Michael Clarke when he first came into test cricket, and he still leaves a gap and hits in the air more than one would like. He does alright though. He's learnt to curb his attacking instincts somewhat.
I try not to think about Cosgrove as it seems such a ridiculous waste of talent.
England have a player in a similar boat and this guy can bowl as well. Samit Patel oozes talent but is a fatso unfortunately.
BarneyBent
Firmly believe the same people calling for Hughes to bat at 6 were the same people calling for his sacking during the Ashes.
Not me. I'm a huge Hughes fan, and I want him in the team, but there isn't room for him as an opener at the moment. I reckon he has a game that is suited to batting down the order, but on the other hand, he has runs on the board as an opener. I'd get him in at 5 or 6, let him do his apprenticeship there, and then unless he's absolutely killing it, move him up into the openers position when Katich retires.
Smokey_22
18 Oct 2010, 09:07
Ignorant mate.
And unfortunately I think you're resigned to posting constructed by state loyalties and providing unresearched arguments.
White has improved as a batsman from the first stage of his career. It's all about the learning process. He's been a state cricketer from a young age and during that time - if you've watched him at the crease, and compared his form at various stages, you'll have noted the improvement in quality - it should be noted he has evolved into a batsman. (remember he started his career as a bowling all-rounder)
Refer to this thread.
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=687288
When I posted that he hasnt done well at all, I mean compared to the other batsmen who are competing for a test spot.
How you can justify White is in the top two spots for a test return is laughable. Statistically he is left for dead by many others, except perhaps North. He's not in the best 10 batsmen in the country. I'll pay you 10-1 that he'll never play another test. No, 100-1.
King Elvis
18 Oct 2010, 09:18
I try not to think about Cosgrove as it seems such a ridiculous waste of talent.
Was an article on him this weekend where he was saying how great it is to be in Tasmania, and how much better the culture is over there.
Still doesn't accept any responsibility, still blames everybody else - the bloke is a cancer.
All the talent in the world, but zero application and zero accountability, he'll waste his career - thankfully, it couldn't happen to be a more deserving individual.
powermacs
18 Oct 2010, 09:31
Watched some of his innings the other day (I love holidays), very impressive. Should be in the team ASAP. Bats nothing like Dravid, who is the most boring batsman in the world. Is very wristy in his play, a lot through mid wicket. Would have been handy in India.
Bomber Bears
18 Oct 2010, 19:04
Watched some of his innings the other day (I love holidays), very impressive. Should be in the team ASAP. Bats nothing like Dravid, who is the most boring batsman in the world. Is very wristy in his play, a lot through mid wicket. Would have been handy in India.Dravid at his peak was awesome, he's a good 4 years past his peak however.