View Full Version : News GWS Club and name launch 16 November!

Redb#
14 Oct 2010, 12:44
Club name, guernsey, and colours will be unveiled.

HereIam86
14 Oct 2010, 13:58
Alot of people reckon they will be call the Wovles.

UrLordLeper
14 Oct 2010, 14:18
I am very excited!!!!!!

And they aren't even my team!

Rellik666
14 Oct 2010, 14:25
GIANTS.... :thumbsd:

mattys123
14 Oct 2010, 14:32
GIANTS.... :thumbsd:

Seems 100% now.

Jesse Hogan by AFLNewsInsider

@3AW693 (http://twitter.com/3AW693) @AFLNewsInsider (http://twitter.com/AFLNewsInsider) gwsgiants.com.au (http://gwsgiants.com.au/), wsgiants.com.au (http://wsgiants.com.au/) and westsydneygiants.com.au (http://westsydneygiants.com.au/) all registered to a Sydney-based marketing agency...

I don't mind the Giants name, being a SF Giants fan, as long as you sack Sheedy after 1-2 years (so he doesn't break Mchale's coaching record) I'm behind you.:)

Giants FC
14 Oct 2010, 14:49
I voted for Wolves, but Giants is OK. Better than Pride......

Exciting times. It's been quite a process over the last couple of years to see the club go from an idea to where we are now - and it's only going to step up from here as the start of their AFL existence gets closer.

LeatherPants
14 Oct 2010, 14:50
Hope it's the wolves :thumbsu:

kronic
14 Oct 2010, 15:25
What I posted in the AFL thread:

Wolves all the way. Impressive animal, apex predator and there social structures etc. fit in with the club's philosophy and what Sheedy has been spruiking about.

Works well for marketing too, "Come join the Wolfpack, Western Sydney..."

kronic
14 Oct 2010, 15:27
Seems 100% now.

Jesse Hogan by AFLNewsInsider

@3AW693 @AFLNewsInsider gwsgiants.com.au, wsgiants.com.au and westsydneygiants.com.au all registered to a Sydney-based marketing agency...

I don't mind the Giants name, being a SF Giants fan, as long as you sack Sheedy after 1-2 years (so he doesn't break Mchale's coaching record) I'm behind you.:)

So is the equivalent in Wolves.

Domain Name: gwswolves.com.au
Registrar ID: Melbourne IT
Registrar Name: Melbourne IT

Registrant: FRIEND GROUP PTY LIMITED
Registrant ID: ABN 15104765675
Eligibility Type: Registered Business
Eligibility Name: FRIEND GROUP PTY LIMITED
Eligibility ID: ABN 15104765675

Thermonuclear
14 Oct 2010, 15:36
My vote would goto Wolves. Giants does not do it for me.

HereIam86
14 Oct 2010, 16:06
Found this on AFL insider gwsgiants.com.au, wsgiants.com.au and westsydneygiants.com.au all registered to a Sydney-based marketing agency. Looks like they are going with Giants and 3aw said they are going to be call the Giants. I like the Wovles Giants seems to American there is a baseball team and football team with that name same with the Gold Coast Suns it's American there is a basketball team over there with that name.

mcuzzy
14 Oct 2010, 17:11
wolves is an awesome name

giants...eh...nah

wally funk
14 Oct 2010, 17:21
hopefully after a while they'll realise the mistake they've made and change it to wolves. after all the gold coast were originally planning to just be called gold coast fc if i recall...

Mr Eagle
14 Oct 2010, 18:06
Giants is a great name, but as someone has pointed out those domain names don't mean a damn thing.

blydog01
15 Oct 2010, 09:04
Guys just letting you know Tim Golds has broken his tibia bone in his leg on Wednesday night whilst kicking around the footy. Surgery today but should be fine.

Redb#
15 Oct 2010, 12:46
prefer Wolves myself.

Some Synergy in West Sydney Wolves. (WSW)

However, if they are to retain the G in GWS, then Giants is obviously on the money.

I agree on domain names, the GWS twitter account has already stated all possible names were registered prior to the poll. This would stop some smart arse registering it.

Black Falcon
24 Oct 2010, 13:20
Hopefully, GWS will not leak their moniker name to the press like GC did. Actually GC had an insider post it on BigF two months before the Reveal but not too many posters believed it. Courier Mail ran the GC Suns name up in headlines one week before D-Day.

Sheeds, please don't give us the safety drip treatment that GC did. Sock us right between the eyes. Do a mischevious spread of names in the headlines. Throw in Wombats for good measure. :D

catters05
24 Oct 2010, 14:35
Surely they will drop the Greater, and just call the team Western Sydney ........... (Wolves :D)

Black Falcon
25 Oct 2010, 00:20
Surely they will drop the Greater, and just call the team Western Sydney ........... (Wolves :D)

We should all pray to Saint Mary McKillop for this outcome. Hallejuhah. :)

bPrime
27 Oct 2010, 15:42
Any word on the colours? I really hope they don't stick with the white, blue and red but seeing how GC didn't really change colours from their original logo i'm not holding my breath.

Willo #6
27 Oct 2010, 15:56
GWS will not be wearing red, white an blue. They were solely promotional colours, to promote th GWS brand pre-AFL years. The red, white and blue were used because they were the colours of the AFL logo.

swaneagle24
27 Oct 2010, 16:39
They're advertisng jobs as Greater Western Sydney Football Club...

Mr Eagle
27 Oct 2010, 18:54
They're advertisng jobs as Greater Western Sydney Football Club...

That would be odd, considering the legal entity is Western Sydney Football Club Ltd. But I suppose you can't blame them for having a bit of an identity crisis at this point.

Giants FC
27 Oct 2010, 21:36
At the moment they only can advertise as Greater Western Sydney Football Club, or as Team GWS - otherwise, no applicant will recognise who they are applying for a job with. Once the name is announced at the launch, they can advertise under that name.

I'll be attending the launch. Will be interesting to see what the final verdict is for name, colours etc. Once that's been revealed, I guess it won't take long for the club to be flogging merchandise.....

desie
1 Nov 2010, 12:51
I'm not overly optimistic, my only hope is that the name is not easily "pisstakeable" by our friends at the Terrorgraph and Morons Unlimited.

Again, I'm not overly optimistic :D

The Jaguar
1 Nov 2010, 13:19
I'm not overly optimistic, my only hope is that the name is not easily "pisstakeable" by our friends at the Terrorgraph and Morons Unlimited.

Again, I'm not overly optimistic :D

Yeah we made a mistake with the "Power" name for this very reason.

Whenever we win some peanut from the Advertiser will make a headline along the lines of "Power Surge" or "The rise of a new Power". The same goes for when we lose and its "Power Failure" this and "Team X turns off the Power" that.

Its absolutely ridiculous but journos are just too lazy too pass up an easy pun! Giants would be horrible for this imo. I can see it now..."West Sydney takes Giant steps towards the finals" or "Giant mistake" etc etc.

As for the reveal West Sydney Wolves should be the name and NSW double blue should be the colour. No ifs buts or maybes. Just keep it strong and simple.

Mr Eagle
1 Nov 2010, 19:58
Superior pun potential is what the marketers want these days! Hell, that's half the reason they chose 'Western Force' for the Super 15! Forceful, a force to be reckoned with, en-force-ers, blah blah blah. They love it.

M312
10 Nov 2010, 10:48
Was looking forward to this but not anymore I have to say this play thing for the afl has lost me, I have just read they will play 3 home games in canberra and have a canberra home jersey, this is the straw that breaks the camels back, own jersey playing 3 games plus 1 pre season game. The afl should pack GWS up and send it to canberra because the damage they have done with this decision is irreparable People don't seem to understand when you have a team up and running you can take games to other areas but not when starting a new team, why are we in west sydney being treated like mugs, gold coast are playing all their home games at home but we are not good enough it seems. I think the afl are going to be in for a big suprise if they think they can treat a region with other options in what sports to watch like this http://news.smh.com.au/breaking-news-sport/gws-commit-to-some-afl-matches-in-canberra-2010111

Snoop Dog
11 Nov 2010, 10:20
mate i reckon that is a bit harsh. I think the opportunity for GWS is how they make their supporter market as big as it can be and hence want to embrace Canberra. The challenge is then how you embrace them and hence the homes games I think is fine. Whether than means a seperate jumper or not am not sure.

M312
11 Nov 2010, 10:33
mate i reckon that is a bit harsh. I think the opportunity for GWS is how they make their supporter market as big as it can be and hence want to embrace Canberra. The challenge is then how you embrace them and hence the homes games I think is fine. Whether than means a seperate jumper or not am not sure.

I don't think so, the reality is people in the ACT will attend the games, but that isn't why this club was supposedly set up. It was setup to expand the game in Sydney ( specifically western sydney) The club should have played all their home games in Western Sydney for atleast 10 years and tryed to convert some people,by having this fall back position and a different jumper one has to doubt their stomach for the fight. It looks like an exit strategy and how many people in GWS are going to get behind that?

BrotherEstapol
11 Nov 2010, 14:23
I'd put my money on them giving Canberra the shit games in the draw.
Why? Cause I reckon they've got a better chance of getting a crowd here against the crap teams than you would in Sydney.
Canberra is deprived of footy compared to in Sydney, so it also saves GWS from "oversaturating" the Sydney market while the NRL has lots of matches scheduled in Syndey.

dlanod
12 Nov 2010, 05:19
Why? Cause I reckon they've got a better chance of getting a crowd here against the crap teams than you would in Sydney.
Canberra is deprived of footy compared to in Sydney, so it also saves GWS from "oversaturating" the Sydney market while the NRL has lots of matches scheduled in Syndey.

Wouldn't surprise me to see one or two of the games from the home and away season technically being a WBD or a Kangaroos home game. Get non-drawing games out of Melbourne, WSYD keeps 11 games locally.

Kapital city TIGER
12 Nov 2010, 07:46

were never going to see Carlton v Collingwood here,
or even any of the big Melb clubs- and until Manuka gets an extra stand or 3 it would be a waste and would pack out before they had a chance to put the pie warmers on - and as you point out footy fans in Canberra will turn up to anything they get - even next year Swans vs Dogs for like the 4th time in a row I actually cant wait for GWS just to see something else!

I hope some improve in the FTA coverage is an outcome of this push- FFS AFL - you wanna grow the brand? deal with the TV- compensate stations from taking a hit on ratings by giving them good deals on showing games in NSW

sometimes this year lack of coverage was ridiculous what was unavailable in the average home! I even watched a few games on that crappy dot to dot thing on the AFL website (and was...greatful!, [sob!]...sorry, ...Im ok Im ok...sigh...)

Sydneyfan
12 Nov 2010, 10:12
Not long now until the launch.

My odds on the team nickname:
Giants 2-1
Wolves 3-1
Rangers, Pioneers, Stallions 10-1
Walers 20-1
Others 25-1

Team name:
West Sydney {nickname} 3-2
GWS {nickname} 2-1
NSW(/ACT) {nickname} 3-1
Western Sydney 8-1
Others 40-1

Colours:
Light Blue/Dark Blue 2-1
featuring Green and/or White 5-2
Red, White, Blue 3-1
Other Colours or Combinations 4-1
featuring Orange 6-1

It sounds be interesting to see what the end results are.

jimmy_clement#8
13 Nov 2010, 19:08
As if it hasn't been leaked already. The Suns was out of the bag just under a week out from their announcement.

Mr Eagle
13 Nov 2010, 20:22
As if it hasn't been leaked already. The Suns was out of the bag just under a week out from their announcement.

And it looks like the AFL has learnt its lesson. Domains and trademarks aren't giving anything anyway this time.

seysearles
14 Nov 2010, 02:00
And it looks like the AFL has learnt its lesson. Domains and trademarks aren't giving anything anyway this time.

http://fightpastor.com/fightpastor.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/02/doh.gif

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/new-afl-team-may-be-a-pack-of-wolves-20101112-17r5q.html

swaneagle24
14 Nov 2010, 10:16
The thing is, people can speculate and research domain names all they like, but if the name is something left-field that noone has thought of, how are we going to know?

UrLordLeper
14 Nov 2010, 10:43
The thing is, people can speculate and research domain names all they like, but if the name is something left-field that noone has thought of, how are we going to know?

like for instance the GWS SwanEagles

Mr Eagle
14 Nov 2010, 12:26
http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/new-afl-team-may-be-a-pack-of-wolves-20101112-17r5q.html

Exactly my point. People can debate why who grabbed what domain when but there's at least two major options that no-one can rationally separate.

Trademarks. You can (and lots of people have) run a search of trademarks applied for by the AFL. They have applied for several variations on "Western Sydney Football Club" and at least five different nicknames. The AFL needs to protect itself from opportunists, so it has to get the legalese sorted out before launch.

M312
14 Nov 2010, 13:29
Intersting how it looks like they are only going to release the nick name, Is that correct or am I reading that wrong.

Mr Eagle
14 Nov 2010, 14:46
Intersting how it looks like they are only going to release the nick name, Is that correct or am I reading that wrong.

It'll be the whole name. Poor choice of words by the Age journos.

M312
14 Nov 2010, 14:49
It'll be the whole name. Poor choice of words by the Age journos.

No problems thanks for clearing it up

greatgatsby
14 Nov 2010, 16:42
were never going to see Carlton v Collingwood here,
or even any of the big Melb clubs- and until Manuka gets an extra stand or 3 it would be a waste and would pack out before they had a chance to put the pie warmers on - and as you point out footy fans in Canberra will turn up to anything they get - even next year Swans vs Dogs for like the 4th time in a row I actually cant wait for GWS just to see something else!

I hope some improve in the FTA coverage is an outcome of this push- FFS AFL - you wanna grow the brand? deal with the TV- compensate stations from taking a hit on ratings by giving them good deals on showing games in NSW

sometimes this year lack of coverage was ridiculous what was unavailable in the average home! I even watched a few games on that crappy dot to dot thing on the AFL website (and was...greatful!, [sob!]...sorry, ...Im ok Im ok...sigh...)

Agree Tiger - no chance of seeing your mob or any of the bigger Melbourne clubs in Canberra. AFL will use the op to send Port and Freo:thumbsu: to Canberra.

By the way - got to have Foxtel, better than FTA coverage anyway.

brandonr54
15 Nov 2010, 19:54
Wolves is the better name but it think it will be giants and two blues (Dark/light) as the colours which will be awesome

Barkly St End
16 Nov 2010, 19:11
Just checked the promo: www.teamgws.com.au

Inspirational stuff - where do I sign??!!

BowerTower
16 Nov 2010, 19:13
Why are Carlton stars featured in this video? You can have Setanta but not Murphy/Simpson.

canberra_dee
16 Nov 2010, 19:13
http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/105264/default.aspx

It is Giants after all

jimmy_clement#8
16 Nov 2010, 19:14
Video's interesting, massive focus on the ethnic groups represented in Western Sydney.

The jumper does look better in the flesh than as a graphic granted.