View Full Version : pies 3rd on the ladder = bad
maggie20ct
29 Jul 2003, 12:07
looking at the probable final 8, if the pies end up 3rd at the end of the season we are gonna have to make the trip up to subi to play west coast, and if we lose that we have a game at the mcg followed by playing port at aami. this would be one of the hardest finals fixtures, and finishing 2nd or 4th, even 5th would make things easier for us.
Finishing 2nd would give us our first final at the mcg and a weeks off and finishing 4th would see us play port at aami (a much easier feat than going to subi)
Port will finish 1st and if everything works out nicely Adelaide will finish 2nd and then we can have a home final at AAMI Stadium. :)
fan4collingwood
30 Jul 2003, 19:11
Still way to early to be talking about finals...lets take one week at a time.
We could finish top of the ladder or we could lose all games and be out of the 8, or somewhere in between.
The Scarecrow
30 Jul 2003, 21:06
I don't think Collingwood would finish 3rd anyways.
We must aim for 2nd. Port will finish 1st.
Try and win every game and take what comes.
Originally posted by Nic
Try and win every game and take what comes.
Exactly.
A trip to Subi would be OK I reckon. We play a very hard brand of footy come finals time and I'd relish the chance to unleash that on the hard running West Coast.
a trip to perth could be promoted by MM as all out warm, particularly with his history there and the fact we've been blasted all year for not having to play in perth. it would be our chance to prove it makes no difference etc. i'd rather adelaide though
Lockyer24
31 Jul 2003, 20:05
How does 2nd sound then?
The Scarecrow
31 Jul 2003, 21:29
Originally posted by Lockyer24
How does 2nd sound then?
Going to be hard, but if we play our best and win all the remaining games we may have a small hope of getting 2nd.
daicos4ever
31 Jul 2003, 21:40
Originally posted by The Scarecrow
Going to be hard, but if we play our best and win all the remaining games we may have a small hope of getting 2nd.
Small hope? All it takes for us to come second is if we win every game and West Coast drop one. Us winning every game though, I wouldn't count on it. After this week it'll be very, very tough to win even 2.
The Scarecrow
31 Jul 2003, 22:30
I am worried about the Sydney, Brisbane, and Adelaide games, but Adelaide shouldn't be very hard. I think Essendon could be a problem, if we take them lightly. West Coast looked to have a decent draw, Freo might be a tough game for them.
We won't lose another game until June next year.
FlavaFlav
1 Aug 2003, 15:27
You heard it first
Collingwood will BEAT West Coast in a perth final should they meet, as long as we can negate Gardiner, we arte more talented than they are and I suspect the home town pressure on WCE would affect them as it did Port in 02
It's a non-event now.
Top 2 would make it easier considering that you get a home state final.
To make top 2 we just need to keep on winning.
If we don't finish Top 2, we must prepare to travel to Perth/SA/Sydney or Bris in the 1st week of the finals(Providong we make T4 of course!).
If we are good enough, we will win.
Originally posted by MarkT
We won't lose another game until June next year.
I think we will lose the Wizzer Cup Grand Final to Adelaide again. They will be hungrier than us and they have the wood on us in practice matches. Apart from that I think you are right.
maccas_no1
2 Aug 2003, 10:31
Adelaide will be easy hey scarecrow:rolleyes: we play well at Telstra Dome and we have beaten Collingwood there before.............2003 Wizard Cup Grand Final I think:eek: :D
I think the only disadvantage to us is that Adelaide travel too Perth the week before to play West Coast and then against your mob on the Friday night,we may run out of legs in the last quarter:(
It will be a great game though and Im looking forward to it,should be a great atmosphere with a near full house:)
Originally posted by maccas_no1
Adelaide will be easy hey scarecrow:rolleyes: we play well at Telstra Dome and we have beaten Collingwood there before.............2003 Wizard Cup Grand Final I think:eek: :D
I think the only disadvantage to us is that Adelaide travel too Perth the week before to play West Coast and then against your mob on the Friday night,we may run out of legs in the last quarter:(
It will be a great game though and Im looking forward to it,should be a great atmosphere with a near full house:)
A strong argument right there for the banning of Smiies, happy faces etc. Worst Post Ever.
de_LICA_ish18
3 Aug 2003, 18:26
If we beat Brisbane this week, we will go into second spot. Thats assuming that Adelaide lose to West Coast in Subi.
thats the most rediculous thing i have ever heard, who cares who we play.....to win a flag you need to be better then everyteam out there.
What happend last year we were not only underdogs against port we had our captain out...and we beat them, the better team will win on the day no matter of Subiaco, AAMI or the MCG
Originally posted by de_LICA_ish18
If we beat Brisbane this week, we will go into second spot. Thats assuming that Adelaide lose to West Coast in Subi.
Either way there are advantages for us in it as long as we win the next two games.
Adelaide win - we pass them Round 20 when we play them and WCE are 6 pts behind us with 3 games left which means it would be very hard to come up with a travel to Perth for the first week of the finals.
West Coast win - we go 2nd, can get 2 games clear of Adelaide when we beat them the week after.
*Done with the provision that we win the next two games.
Run homes....
Adelaide -
WCE (away)
Collingwood (away)
Kangaroos
Port Adelaide
West Coast -
Geelong (away)
Looking at the run homes...I wouldn't mind too much if the Eagles got done but to me that certainly is the key match of the round to shape the 8 along with Collingwood v Brisbane.
Oh, and Bruce Samazan rocks.