View Full Version : What players do we want in the upcoming trade period?

kouta_43
30 Jul 2003, 10:58
I was thinking we would need midfielders and a backline, our forward line is pretty good (Whitnall, Fevola, Lappin, Mckernan, Kouta) and its all youth except KOuta and Mckernan.

Who do you think Carlton will go for, or What players do you reckon woul dbe good at Carlton for season 2004?

The Old Dark Navy's
30 Jul 2003, 14:08
Clearly midfielders though it is highly likely that we will pick up a tall with our priority pick as a lad named Bradley seems to be the standout second pick this year behind Cooney a midfielder who the Dogs will probably opt for. If both teams address their deficiencies those picks will swap.

TheSheik
30 Jul 2003, 14:15
Originally posted by kouta_43
our forward line is pretty good (Whitnall, Fevola, Lappin, Mckernan, Kouta)

That is a woeful forward line, Mckernan doesn't know wha tthe ball looks like, Lappin has been played in defence, Kouta is in the midfield, Whitnall is a lost acause so that just leaves Fevola as the only real option along with Brad Fisher.

I have said this a million times and I'll say it again, we have to forget about this supposed focus on midfieders, we need to get the spine right first and foremost. We don't have anyone to play in the four key posts down the middle and until we do, we will never beat anyone. Quality talls are not easy to find but once found, you can build a team around them and we appear to have the young players who can fill out the flanks and the pockets.

Midfielders are much easier to get hold of as there is a plethora of them around, so go get the tall timber first, then worry about the onballers.

HBF
30 Jul 2003, 19:26
What we need is a quality player or two in the midfield and a quality backman. Look to the draft to find a tall and see if we can orchestrate a trade for a midfielder.

Will probably be laughed off the site for this, BUT if we can get Trent Croad at bargain basement prices, this may help strengthen up our backline.

Also look for players from the Bulldogs, namely Brown and Murphy.

It was also reported in the Herald Sun a few weeks ago that we
may go for Caydyn Beetham

Should be interesting though come trade time.

BluesPrez
31 Jul 2003, 14:35
Sheik, how about Adelaide? Their spine wasn't quite right yet because they have such an awesome midfield with good flankers they've become a dangerous side.

West Coast is another, they have no true FF, Haynes is there as a pinch-hitter, they play Jakovich at CHF because they have no height up forward but because of their dynamite midfield they can mask these deficiencies. Hawthorn a couple of years ago had a great spine,

FF - Barker
CHF - Holland
C - Crawford
CHB - Rawlings
FB - Hay
R - Rehn

but because they lacked depth in the midfield they couldn't quite make it.

Barring CHB our spine isn't too bad:

FF - Fevola
CHF - Whitnall
C - Davies (question mark)
CHB - ??
FB - Thornton

Our midfield on the other hand is completely ruined. I say we should fix up our midfield and concentrate on winning the ball before we worry about the holes in our spine, we have holes in the spine but where in our side doesn't have holes?

HBF
31 Jul 2003, 20:12
Aside from the Richmond game this year, we've gootten very little from King Kouta this year. BluesPrez, i'd insert Kouta at CHB to add some height and strength in the backline.

What we really are crying out for is some midfield grunt. Whether we go for some young talent in the draft or see if we can get something via a swap or preseason draft, Carlton need to move heaven and earth to get midfielders.

Correct me if i'm wrong, but Wirrpunda has yet to sign. Carlton should through as much money his way to get him to Optus Oval!!

Thrawn
31 Jul 2003, 23:46
Originally posted by HugeBluesFan
[B]Aside from the Richmond game this year, we've gootten very little from King Kouta this year.

You're joking, aren't you?

He's the leading player in hardball gets and clearances in the competition. He's been our best player by far this year and has been BOG for us on several occassions. The Herald Sun ranking system has him in the top 20. He'd be leading our B & F now.

What we need is some class and speed injected into our midfield. Too many blue-collar players on our list that have bad disposal. Whitnall will stay at Carlton, I am a firm believer in that as you already know. But we need some speed in our midfield, and a key position player in defense who can actually defend his man and not be over the age of 25.

TheSheik
1 Aug 2003, 00:09
Originally posted by BluesPrez
Sheik, how about Adelaide? Their spine wasn't quite right yet because they have such an awesome midfield with good flankers they've become a dangerous side.

Carey at CHF isn't a bad start, plus they have Hart at FB.

West Coast is another, they have no true FF, Haynes is there as a pinch-hitter, they play Jakovich at CHF because they have no height up forward but because of their dynamite midfield they can mask these deficiencies.

I thought Wilson was their FF ?? In their premiership years they had Sumich, White, Jakovich & McIntosh down the middle.

Hawthorn a couple of years ago had a great spine,

FF - Barker
CHF - Holland
C - Crawford
CHB - Rawlings
FB - Hay
R - Rehn

That is a great spine from which to build a team around. Finding big players down the middle is the key, there is always plenty of mid-sized players to fill the rest ofthe team. Holland, Hay & Rawlings are all in the 194-196cm bracket.

Barring CHB our spine isn't too bad:

FF - Fevola
CHF - Whitnall
C - Davies (question mark)
CHB - ??
FB - Thornton

Our midfield on the other hand is completely ruined. I say we should fix up our midfield and concentrate on winning the ball before we worry about the holes in our spine, we have holes in the spine but where in our side doesn't have holes?

All those players in the key positions are too short to fill the roles, if they are not 194cm or better, then they will be in a pocket or on a flank.

RzrBlade
1 Aug 2003, 00:25
Originally posted by TheSheik
I thought Wilson was their FF ?? In their premiership years they had Sumich, White, Jakovich & McIntosh down the middle.

Wilson has played only 3/4 games this year. Probably will get delisted come seasons end. Haynes has shown quite a bit up forward IMO - he can take marks but just on occasions lets himself down with disposal of the footy. He will most likely will not be traded.

You can have Chad Morrison though.

BluesPrez
1 Aug 2003, 13:48
With regards to Adelaide, Hart plays HBF or BP not FB. He's 189cm tall. Bassett (190cm) normally plays FB and Ken McGregor plays CHB (he's 195cm). So they're not overly tall.

FF - Perrie 191cm
CHF - Stevens 193cm
C - Riccuito

I can see what you mean but look at the spine that Adelaide has, it's not exactly top class. Perrie is not a world-beater and neither is Mark Stevens. Adelaide's midfield has kicked most o its goals in th e last couple of years, with Carlton, our midfielders struggle to consistently kick goals. As a result our forward line is too predictable, we just kick it to Fevola or Whitnall or McKernan or whoever is down there and their flankers just play loose. let's get some more goal scoring options from the midfield first.

Duffman95
1 Aug 2003, 17:55
All those players in the key positions are too short to fill the roles, if they are not 194cm or better, then they will be in a pocket or on a flank. If height is the only thing on your mind, go watch basketball (why would you want to is beside the point)

You are missing Angwin in your calculations, Livingston as well (HAVE PATIENCE FFS!! he nearly died 2 years ago with one of his organs or something), and Thornton is a sensational player, composed... just a wonderful full back... i'd rather have a player with skill, talent, heart and footy brains then some doof-doof with height

Fevola & Whitnall, what a combination, we have a good forward line, all we need to do is get it in there effectively... ie. we need a quality midfield... in all fairness French is an ok tap ruckman, if we had some good quality midfielders we would look much better than what we do now

That in turn helps our defence... on Sunday the defence wasnt in disarray, but it wasnt going great because the ball was going in there so much, it was almost helpless, they had no chance...

A good midfield solves more problems than some think

Effes
2 Aug 2003, 00:40
Good post Duffman.

Corey is gone,
Fev, Red are staying, along with Angwin
Red at CHF, Angwin FF/FP, Fevola FF/half forward running into the centre square then ducking back.

Players we will target:
*Guerra GUN I WANT HIM AT OUR CLUB.
*Beetham
*Koulouritis
*A running midfielder/crumber from North;)
*Brett Backwell

We will use the preseason draft HEAPS. Look at the room we'll have in the cap after the cleanout.

I cant believe people wanna trade Whitnall...his best footy is ahead of him...I'd rather trade Campo, his best footy will be gone by the time we're next in the 8.

If Red was pullin hammies then YES I would trade him, but he has done a medial ligament...if we said he was injury prone, then so is Kouta, cos he did one too I think in rd 20 2000....and we all know Kouta aint injury prone.

Kid Dynamite!
2 Aug 2003, 19:10
Originally posted by Bluemike
*Guerra GUN I WANT HIM AT OUR CLUB.

What would you be prepared to offer? This guy wont come cheap.

*Koulouriotis

Fair enough, this will probably depend on whether he's offered a new contract and has enough patience to stay with the club. What would you be offering.

Effes
2 Aug 2003, 19:20
I guess what you want is what you need....and with your list you really dont need much topping up. Mayb Campo for Guerra, Guerra would come home, so would Campo and it would mean Campo can play in a side that will contend for the flag this year and for a few following, it will also allow Geurra to be in his home state.

I've heard that Koulouritis may actually be delisted, but I guess we'll wait and see.:D

Kid Dynamite!
2 Aug 2003, 19:33
At the moment I'd say we probably wouldnt want Campo, if you're looking to trade him then I'd say you'd be leaning more towards the Crows. We're probably looking for some seasoned (by seasoned I mean 24 - 26 year olds) defenders to get us through the next few seasons while the rest of our young defenders (White, Thurstans and Gilham) have time to develop. Paxman wont be around for much longer and neither will Hardwick.

Where'd you hear that? At the moment it probably isnt too far from the truth, he just cant seem to crack it with Port. Although we'd probably look at trading him to get something in return rather than just giving him up for nothing, he'd probably get a spot in a lot of senior sides at the moment.

koulagirl22
2 Aug 2003, 23:23
I've heard that Koulouritis may actually be delisted, but I guess we'll wait and see.:D

Yeah well, if you can offer someone good enough you can save your picks and trade for him!

He's been doing really well in the SANFL and he'd be a damn good pick up.

TheSheik
4 Aug 2003, 21:59
Originally posted by Duffman95
If height is the only thing on your mind, go watch basketball (why would you want to is beside the point)

You are missing Angwin in your calculations, Livingston as well (HAVE PATIENCE FFS!! he nearly died 2 years ago with one of his organs or something), and Thornton is a sensational player, composed... just a wonderful full back... i'd rather have a player with skill, talent, heart and footy brains then some doof-doof with height

Fevola & Whitnall, what a combination, we have a good forward line, all we need to do is get it in there effectively... ie. we need a quality midfield... in all fairness French is an ok tap ruckman, if we had some good quality midfielders we would look much better than what we do now

That in turn helps our defence... on Sunday the defence wasnt in disarray, but it wasnt going great because the ball was going in there so much, it was almost helpless, they had no chance...

A good midfield solves more problems than some think

You have absolutely no idea do you ?? :rolleyes:

Tony_Clifton
6 Aug 2003, 00:56
A good midfield does solve more problems than you think. Just look at West Coast.

I know its pie in the sky stuff but as a Fremantle supporter what would we have to give up for campo as I am a huge fan of his. Whats your best price/worst price?

The Old Dark Navy's
6 Aug 2003, 11:40
Don't want to go overboard with Longmuir/Pavlich dream on trades and haven't been watching the Dockers of late. You wouldn't swap one of your gun young midfielders for a gun older midfielder so that doesn't apply.

If Campo was to go and I have to say I am happy to keep him, then a trade for Croad may be worth a punt. A versatile KPP and his brother is here which may help both of them. Pagan could get the best out of him. However, this should only happen IF we are going to pick up a couple of midfielders in the draft. As the draft is a lottery and trade week comes first, it may be too much of a gamble. A Nick Stevens or a Nathan Brown trade on top of that might alleviate that gamble a bit though.

Duffman95
7 Aug 2003, 21:24
You have absolutely no idea do you ?? :rolleyes: Well, obviously, seen no-one agrees with me in this thread........... maybe you're the one with no idea, cant even see the merit in my point, and always looking to make Carlton look as bad as possible... (yes, we arent flash, but weve got some young players that will go a long way... eg. Thornton, Waite, Fisher, Sporn, Wiggins even etc..)