View Full Version : North v Clarke

Pages : [1] 2

Phone
3 Nov 2010, 23:09
http://www.theage.com.au/sport/cricket/north-firms-as-captain-over-clarke-20101103-17e1p.html

Johnson#26
3 Nov 2010, 23:21
Katich, anyone? Steve Waugh talks him up in his autobiography as top shelf captaincy material. That sort of kudos from that sort of person should ensure it's his mantle whenever he wants to assume it. 35yo or not, he'd be awesome. He's tough.

anti_
3 Nov 2010, 23:22
mitch marsh.

Shifty1
3 Nov 2010, 23:24
Oh God no!!!

King Elvis
3 Nov 2010, 23:28
What the **** is wrong with these idiots?!

North shouldn't even be in the side, and we're talking about him as a potential Captain?!

**** me, we're a joke.

Bomber Bears
3 Nov 2010, 23:33
fuuuuuuuu...

The Falcon Strike
4 Nov 2010, 00:03
the story is not North as captain - that's just a juicy tidbit.

the story is that Clarke simply can't gather a groundswell of support from the other players to be captain. The stories about clarke and the rest of the team have been around for years.

He's been annointed as the next captain - but the reality is - it's hard to do the job when you are neither liked nor respected.

On the north front - i don't think he's an overly special captain either that would warrant underperformance with the bat.

unstable punt
4 Nov 2010, 00:05
neither of those prats, White is the go

SouthSwans
4 Nov 2010, 00:06
Katich or Watson. Preferably Katich.
White would be my next choice.
Someone on SEN tonight said Tim Paine.

King Elvis
4 Nov 2010, 00:12
See, that kind of chat is just retarded.

White is not a Test Cricketer, and the day we select a guy purely for his leadership credentials is the day that we're totally and utterly ****ed (as opposed to just mostly rooted at present).

stmookeyj
4 Nov 2010, 00:16
Neither, one of whom has no idea about tactics and hopes for miracles, and the other shouldn't be in the side.

King Elvis
4 Nov 2010, 00:20
Let's just pray that Ponting has two years left in him, then Khawaja or someone will be ready.

holybishop
4 Nov 2010, 00:21
Anyone who has paid attention to the WA side in recent years cannot doubt North's leadership and ability to be a captain. CA love him because they've kept him around for so long. If he can find form in the Ashes then he's a strong chance of being captain because of his leadership qualities.

Bomber Bears
4 Nov 2010, 00:22
http://static.reelmovienews.com/images/gallery/as-michael-bluth.jpg

Him?

King Elvis
4 Nov 2010, 00:31
Anyone who has paid attention to the WA side in recent years cannot doubt North's leadership and ability to be a captain. CA love him because they've kept him around for so long. If he can find form in the Ashes then he's a strong chance of being captain because of his leadership qualities.
He's shit though.

Plugger35
4 Nov 2010, 00:32
North is a pretty decent captain but I don't think you can appoint him when his position in the team is on such shakey ground, if he had a great Ashes series that might change though. Katich would be a good choice too but he is as old as Ponting so probably not much point in appointing him.

Not many other decent options really so they would most likely choose Clarke, even if it's against other players wishes. Would be like another Kim Hughes situation though where senior players undermine him and it all ends in tears.

Maybe we should just bring back Warney for a couple of years as captain.

King Elvis
4 Nov 2010, 00:35
Puddings Cosgrove.

Plugger35
4 Nov 2010, 00:53
We could do a lot worse than appoint Puddings as captain.

Would be a throwback to the good old days where players went out together on the piss after a day's play. Would do wonders for team spirit.

TheLongWalk
4 Nov 2010, 00:57
Well, to quote Bad Boy Bubby: "Well, if that's all there is, we're f***ed!"

So who from the rest of these???:
http://cricket.com.au/mens-players

I really really dont know anymore. I think there was a great point made on the run home on SEN the other night, when the Ox was saying that no one actually likes the members of the Australian cricket team anymore. So true. Who would you want out of the current lot over at your place for a barby?
Cam white, Maybe Brad Hodge (not even on list I know), but anyone from the curent test team? Nup, Couldnt give a stuff. Dougy Bollinger or Mr Cricket maybe. Clarke or North? C'mon!!
Compare that to Warney, Gillie, Pidgeon, Dizzy, Langer, Symonds, Heals, DK Lillie, Tangles (lol!) Boonie. I have purposely left Hayden off this list.
But you get the point! We are in real strife.
Like others, just cant stand the selectors. It would be great to just admit that we are shite, sack the selectors, and urge there replacements to just get in youngters that play attacking and likeable cricket. With a bit of flair and larrikanism. Get back to likeing the game again for people that have a go, and that would then hopefully lead to getting some bums back on seats. I actaullly loved watching Andrew McDonald play when selected. Not the greatest, and was obviously a bit green, but I thought was really starting to improve and bowl intelligently, and had that aura of a young bloke having a go!!
Boonie and Merv - start picking players in your own bloody mould or GTFO!!

unstable punt
4 Nov 2010, 01:08

It's just a crap story, North is NO GOOD either is Clarke, they need to start looking somewhere else.

Bombers_Forever
4 Nov 2010, 06:26
Anyone but Clarke..........

Katich is the best current candidate by a mile. He has captained NSW (something Clarke doesn't do) and lead them to some titles. If only he was about 3 years younger, he would be a certainity.

Get Ferguson or White in the side - both are good candidates but need to get in the squad first.

Bombers_Forever
4 Nov 2010, 06:28
CA's problem is they annoited Clarke as Pontings scucessor years ago and didn't actually have a back up plan in terms of other candidates.

Skeppersap
4 Nov 2010, 07:25
Hahaha,

This thread is amusing. Very very funny!!!!!

People rubbishing the thought of North being captain (despite the fact that in the last test and his last first class innings he scored a 100), yet at the same time there is a plethora of people suggesting that Cameron White (or Khawaja, hahahahaha) should be captain! The same Cameron White that got a golden duck last night and cant contribute anything with the ball. He cant even make the test side!!!!!!!! Seriously embarrassing.

There are 2 options only at the moment, North and Clarke. Most people agree that Clarke will be a terrible choice. At this stage, it must be North.

Skeppersap
4 Nov 2010, 07:27
Well, to quote Bad Boy Bubby: "Well, if that's all there is, we're f***ed!"

So who from the rest of these???:
http://cricket.com.au/mens-players

I really really dont know anymore. I think there was a great point made on the run home on SEN the other night, when the Ox was saying that no one actually likes the members of the Australian cricket team anymore. So true. Who would you want out of the current lot over at your place for a barby?
Cam white, Maybe Brad Hodge (not even on list I know), but anyone from the curent test team? Nup, Couldnt give a stuff. Dougy Bollinger or Mr Cricket maybe. Clarke or North? C'mon!!
Compare that to Warney, Gillie, Pidgeon, Dizzy, Langer, Symonds, Heals, DK Lillie, Tangles (lol!) Boonie. I have purposely left Hayden off this list.
But you get the point! We are in real strife.
Like others, just cant stand the selectors. It would be great to just admit that we are shite, sack the selectors, and urge there replacements to just get in youngters that play attacking and likeable cricket. With a bit of flair and larrikanism. Get back to likeing the game again for people that have a go, and that would then hopefully lead to getting some bums back on seats. I actaullly loved watching Andrew McDonald play when selected. Not the greatest, and was obviously a bit green, but I thought was really starting to improve and bowl intelligently, and had that aura of a young bloke having a go!!
Boonie and Merv - start picking players in your own bloody mould or GTFO!!

Hahahaha, Hodge was one of the more disliked cricketers going around. Not sure how you put him up there!

dumb
4 Nov 2010, 07:38
haddin? captained act/nsw? at least he wouldn't sit on his hands if batting is to go by.
would have thought hussey would be the man if not clarke but i guess that means they know huss isn't around for much longer.

heh, pretty much in freefall eh?

BONG RIPS MKII
4 Nov 2010, 08:23
bring back warnie

King Elvis
4 Nov 2010, 08:25
We could do a lot worse than appoint Puddings as captain.

Would be a throwback to the good old days where players went out together on the piss after a day's play. Would do wonders for team spirit.

Puddings is a selfish, unprofessional, undisciplined wanker.

saint_larry
4 Nov 2010, 08:41
giving north the captaincy would be pakistani like.
just have clarke captain more meaningless one dayers, hone his skills a bit.
if ricky retired today though, would have to give it to katich.

JMc#5
4 Nov 2010, 08:59
Hahaha,

This thread is amusing. Very very funny!!!!!

People rubbishing the thought of North being captain (despite the fact that in the last test and his last first class innings he scored a 100), yet at the same time there is a plethora of people suggesting that Cameron White (or Khawaja, hahahahaha) should be captain! The same Cameron White that got a golden duck last night and cant contribute anything with the ball. He cant even make the test side!!!!!!!! Seriously embarrassing.

There are 2 options only at the moment, North and Clarke. Most people agree that Clarke will be a terrible choice. At this stage, it must be North.

Pull your finger out mate... North bats at 6 and often fails when the team is struggling - not captaincy worthy.

When Steve Waugh was at 5 you knew that if we were 3/45 he'd come in and steady the ship... Whereas if North came in at 4/100 more often than not he'll be back in the pavillion. North makes his tons when the teams going well. No thanks.

Honestly, we're in massive strife captaincy wise. It's 100% obvious Clarke will not be captain now, surely...

We need punter to hang around until the next Ashes in England and get some youngsters in the team desperately...

deeman12
4 Nov 2010, 09:11
North has 5 centuries and 4 fifties. He clearly converts his starts, but he seldom gets a start. It's always a cheap wicket with him. Poor captaincy material really.

Would it be an absurd idea to bring a guy like George Bailey into the team and mould him into the next captain over the coming years? FC form ain't bad and is technically proficient in my opinion. Currently captains Tassie so he's obviously learning the caper. Definitely behind Usman, Ferguson and probably Voges and White to a lesser extent.

Phone
4 Nov 2010, 09:15
that article seems to take the point of view that the young guys like clarke and the old guys don't...now seeing how everyone on here wants to replace all the old guys with more young guys, surely there's no problem here?

(this post is not entirely serious)

NorthBhoy
4 Nov 2010, 10:26
CA needs to work out who ****ed up so much that these two utter imposters are apparently the only two options for the captaincy. That's job one. Find them and then publically shame them.

What a shambles.

Topper Harley
4 Nov 2010, 10:34
We have a 20/20 captain who isn't in the best 11, and we've seen how well that goes.

Why would we add a test captain who isn't in the best 11?

The Cotch
4 Nov 2010, 10:35
Hilf! :thumbsu:

NorthBhoy
4 Nov 2010, 10:41
Hilf! :thumbsu:

Just about the only contracted bloke who doesn't seem like a flog.

Give him the job.

BarneyBent
4 Nov 2010, 10:44
I'm taking it Watson doesn't have any captaincy skills? Because he's perfect in every other respect. He's an allrounder, so he's always involved. He bleeds for his country (to the point that he can come off as a douchebag when things go right). He's a slips fielder, so he's close to the action. He speaks well. He's recognisable. And right now, he's our best player.

Majinbuu
4 Nov 2010, 10:48
Mitchell Marsh :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

lemmon
4 Nov 2010, 10:48
Wasnt Clarke U 19's captain but did such a shit job they replaced him with Ritzy who proved quite successful?

Doodlesweaver
4 Nov 2010, 10:51
Just about the only contracted bloke who doesn't seem like a flog.

Give him the job.

Tim Paine seems like he has a brain and I'll always like Kat, but yeah, Hilf is great.

I'm getting to the point with the Aussies where I want players I like to do well but don't care whether the team wins or loses. I honestly thought last night's game was funny.

Sat there watching with my Dad and we both pissed ourselves laughing when Johnson bowled that wide first up in his last over. It was so predictable.

The Reaper
4 Nov 2010, 11:50
Bring in George Bailey for the Ashes
I don't particularly rate Ponting's captaincy but he must now stay on long enough for Bailey to develop support.

If Clarke is creating friction behind the scenes then drop him.
This goes for any player purposely creating friction.

Xtreme
4 Nov 2010, 11:56
I'm taking it Watson doesn't have any captaincy skills? Because he's perfect in every other respect. He's an allrounder, so he's always involved. He bleeds for his country (to the point that he can come off as a douchebag when things go right). He's a slips fielder, so he's close to the action. He speaks well. He's recognisable. And right now, he's our best player.

Would be just as bad as having Gillard as our PM :eek:

oh wait :p

The Reaper
4 Nov 2010, 12:06
Just out of interest

Which players are creating problems?

SouthSwans
4 Nov 2010, 12:17
Hopefully Rick holds out for another two years, but if he hung it up today...
In order of preference;
1. Katich
2. Bring back Gilly/Warney
3. Watson
4. White
5. Bailey
6. Haddin
7. Hilfenhaus
8. Paine
9. Ferguson
10. North
11. Klinger
12. Clarke

It really is an awful set of options...

mattymac
4 Nov 2010, 12:18
just when you thought it was safe to go back in the water...

north is horrible under pressure and barely clinging to his spot. he has to worry bout his own form constantly how is he supposed to captain on top of that. and clarke is a muppet but due to his premature anointment as successor to the crown there has been no long term planning for an alternative. who is there in and around the team? kat is too old now, prolly be gone the same time as punter. hilf i like but i'm loathe to see pace bowlers as captains due to injury concerns. who else has the temperament and head on their shoulders? noone whose in the team yet. maybe paine, fergs, marsh or smith oneday but we're gonna have to suffer thru a clarke era first.

bunsen burner
4 Nov 2010, 12:22
Ferguson needs to come into the team sooner rather than later. Need to see if he's up to test cricket.

One thing is certain: Clarke is a f***head and can't be captain.

Bomber Bears
4 Nov 2010, 12:42
So essentially the issue is that Senior players dont like home truths from Clarke?

FMD. You reckon Waugh and Border were everyones mates all the time? No, of course not. But they lead the side in the best interests of the side, NOT in the best interest of their mates.

There seems to be a rotton senior culture in the Australian side at the moment.

If it were up to me Katich would've been captain for a couple of years now, but his time is past as a captain.

The Falcon Strike
4 Nov 2010, 12:45
So essentially the issue is that Senior players dont like home truths from Clarke?

FMD. You reckon Waugh and Border were everyones mates all the time? No, of course not. But they lead the side in the best interests of the side, NOT in the best interest of their mates.

There seems to be a rotton senior culture in the Australian side at the moment.

If it were up to me Katich would've been captain for a couple of years now, but his time is past as a captain.

Border may not have been liked - but he was damn well respected. Clarke has neither.

Clarke isn't delivering home truths - the Katich/Clarke spat a few years ago would suggest the opposite

Bomber Bears
4 Nov 2010, 12:48
I think Clarke is a ****wit BUT he also appears to be his own man. I'd rather a leader who did what was best for the team rather than what was best for his mates, which has been the over-riding feeling in the Ponting era, especially after the other senior players (particularly Warne and Gilchrist) retired.

The Falcon Strike
4 Nov 2010, 12:53
I think Clarke is a ****wit BUT he also appears to be his own man. I'd rather a leader who did what was best for the team rather than what was best for his mates, which has been the over-riding feeling in the Ponting era, especially after the other senior players (particularly Warne and Gilchrist) retired.

I get the feeling Clarke does what's best for Clarke - not for the team or his mates.

Steve Waugh was massive on building blokes up and giving them support. It's where Poting learnt it from.

Langer would never have had the career he did without Waugh.

Tom Moody wouldn't have been a part of our 1999 WC win if it wasn't for Waugh

It can be seen as 'jobs for the boys' if you're losing. But is viewed completely differently when you win.

King Elvis
4 Nov 2010, 12:57

What home truths?

He shot his mouth off about Bollinger/Hussey, basically insulted them and questioned there dedication to the side (when he's the bitch who Kat wanted to fight for trying to leave early, and bailed to sort out his dumb ex); without realising Cricket Australia had forced them to do it.

alfy!
4 Nov 2010, 13:21
Surprised not more people are talking about Haddin. Seems a good choice, how old is he? Yeah, Paine may be close to replacing him, but Haddin surely has a few credits up his sleeve.

NorthBhoy
4 Nov 2010, 13:24
One thing is certain: Clarke is a f***head and can't be captain.

Surely it's as simple as that.

Seriously, if I was James Sutherland and could be somehow assured Ponting either stepping aside from the side or the captaincy wouldn't cause a massive shitstorm, I would be yanking Warne of a slapper/poker table and giving him whatever he wanted to take over.

The Reaper
4 Nov 2010, 13:28
Bob Simpson would be the precedent forWarney becoming captain

courtjester
4 Nov 2010, 13:29
The captaincy after Ponting is the least of our troubles now. We need to start winning some games.

Badesumofu
4 Nov 2010, 17:16
Clarke shouldn't be captain.

Kat is too old, as other have said, if Ricky's plane crashes or he retires tomorrow or something, Kat would be who I'd bring in, but that's a stop-gap - it's not a solution to the problem we are discussing.

North is not good enough to be able to to guarantee his spot in the side, and that means it would be silly to make him captain. It would explain why he hasn't been dropped if they're considering it, though.

From there it's all blokes who aren't yet established in the side. Tim Paine would be a good choice, Cam White would be an excellent captain, but I'm not convinced he's a good enough bat to hold a spot in the Test team. If they are going to pick someone to be the captain, I'd go White over North, though. Ferguson could captain one day, but it's not his time yet.

Haddin is a bad keeper, and throws his wicket away far too often to be captain.

What all this tells me is that CA need to refresh this side right now. Bring in Ferguson to see if he can establish himself, Paine should become full time keeper. Guys like Khawaja need to be given a go. Ponting can play for another 2 years most likely, and will just have to, even he's only going to average 35 with the bat over that time. In 2 years time appointing someone like Ferguson or Paine might be a realistic option.

King Elvis
4 Nov 2010, 17:20
I love Ponting.

sammy 2
4 Nov 2010, 17:31
Tim Paine seems like he has a brain and I'll always like Kat, but yeah, Hilf is great.

I'm getting to the point with the Aussies where I want players I like to do well but don't care whether the team wins or loses. I honestly thought last night's game was funny.

Sat there watching with my Dad and we both pissed ourselves laughing when Johnson bowled that wide first up in his last over. It was so predictable.
im getting that way too.

Bucking Beads
4 Nov 2010, 17:38
What was the opiniong of people when Punter was first given the captaincy of the Australian cricket team. Whoever is the next captain will have to rebuild a dynasty not take over in the middle of one like Punter has. White would be good but isn't in the sid eand probably won't be. North should not even be in the team. I do wonder which senior players are unhappy with Clarke. Hussery?? Gone very soon. Katich?? Is 35 won't last much longer. Punter?? Is a knob will be his last series if we lose Ashes. Haddin?? Though Clarkey and him were mates. Watson?? maybe but doubtful

mark73
4 Nov 2010, 17:58
What the **** is wrong with these idiots?!

North shouldn't even be in the side, and we're talking about him as a potential Captain?!

**** me, we're a joke.

On perfomance neither should Michael Clarke. To be fair I doubt anyone actually thinks Noth will be our next captain, but why does this bloke continually escape criticism?

Bucking Beads
4 Nov 2010, 18:04
On perfomance neither should Michael Clarke. To be fair I doubt anyone actually thinks Noth will be our next captain, but why does this bloke continually escape criticism?

Clarke doesn't deserve to be in the test team?? You surely jest...

power09
4 Nov 2010, 18:28
Unless they are playing England i go for the other team, i hate the aussie team atm, Clarke mostly, the smug douche

saint_larry
4 Nov 2010, 18:38
Unless they are playing England i go for the other team, i hate the aussie team atm, Clarke mostly, the smug douche

this, except i cannot stand hussey & north.
Its not that i hate the team, i just really dislike half the players, and sri lanka 3 tiems more likeable players. gah.

# SR Watson 10
# BJ Haddin 49
# MJ Clarke 27
# MEK Hussey 71*
# CL White 0
# SE Marsh 31
# SPD Smith 12
# MG Johnson 10
# JW Hastings 16
# XJ Doherty 3*

douche, douche, huge douche, mega douche, good-un, meh, overrated meh, douche/dud, vic bias, meh.
1 player in last nights team i'd say i like.

amer
4 Nov 2010, 18:42
Despite all the bullshit flying around, we have some -great- promise on the domestic scene. Hughes, Khawaja, Hazlewood, Mitch Marsh, Steve Smith, dynamic cricketers with all the talent in the world, and they're likable cricketers. But **** me the immediate future looks shaky.

dan warna
4 Nov 2010, 18:45
the most successful FC cricket captain in Aus is Cameron White

he's got the most out of an essentially good ordinary shield side to be the dominant force in FC cricket for much of the past decade.

Bucking Beads
4 Nov 2010, 18:48
this, except i cannot stand hussey & north.
Its not that i hate the team, i just really dislike half the players, and sri lanka 3 tiems more likeable players. gah.

# SR Watson 10
# BJ Haddin 49
# MJ Clarke 27
# MEK Hussey 71*
# CL White 0
# SE Marsh 31
# SPD Smith 12
# MG Johnson 10
# JW Hastings 16
# XJ Doherty 3*

douche, douche, huge douche, mega douche, good-un, meh, overrated meh, douche/dud, vic bias, meh.
1 player in last nights team i'd say i like.

Can't understand why it matters if players are douches... They play for a team which is the Australian cricket team. You either support Australia or you don't it shouldn't matter about who is in the team.

mark73
4 Nov 2010, 19:33
Clarke doesn't deserve to be in the test team?? You surely jest...

Based on what?

BACCS
4 Nov 2010, 19:49
Well it is pretty obvious why North has had such a long run in the team now. Personally, neither him or Clarke will be our next captain I feel, after reading that article. For once, I actually see this as a positive. It seems as if the people running the show are finally realising we need a serious revamp of the side, and youth is a must. Ferguson and co would be loving it I reckon.

The Reaper
4 Nov 2010, 20:12
Well it is pretty obvious why North has had such a long run in the team now. Personally, neither him or Clarke will be our next captain I feel, after reading that article. For once, I actually see this as a positive. It seems as if the people running the show are finally realising we need a serious revamp of the side, and youth is a must. Ferguson and co would be loving it I reckon.

North was given a lot of patience because the selectors felt he could provide support for a Clarke captaincy in the future.
Obviously this excuse no longer applies.

I've also read that Bollinger may get dropped for Siddle at the Gabba :thumbsd:

If this happens I will actually support England at the Gabba so that the needed changes will be made

BACCS
4 Nov 2010, 20:21
North was given a lot of patience because the selectors felt he could provide support for a Clarke captaincy in the future.
Obviously this excuse no longer applies.

I've also read that Bollinger may get dropped for Siddle at the Gabba :thumbsd:

If this happens I will actually support England at the Gabba so that the needed changes will be made
Where have you read that? I'd be very suprised if Bollinger made way for Siddle, even our selectors aren't THAT bad. And you are exactly right re. North, but it also means our selectors are starting to realise we need a new approach to finding our next captain, Clarke isn't the answer anymore.

The Reaper
4 Nov 2010, 20:40
Where have you read that? I'd be very suprised if Bollinger made way for Siddle, even our selectors aren't THAT bad. And you are exactly right re. North, but it also means our selectors are starting to realise we need a new approach to finding our next captain, Clarke isn't the answer anymore.

http://www.theaustralian.com.au/news/sport/fit-siddle-edging-past-bollinger/story-e6frg7mf-1225947503029

Hoping it is just newspaper filler

mattf83
4 Nov 2010, 21:25
wasn't clarkes odi captaincy record extremely good?

NMFC 1811
4 Nov 2010, 21:35
Clarke will still get it, but only because CA and it's selectors like pissing off the Nation every once in a while.

We are in real strife as a Cricket Nation when this little ponce takes over.

Bucking Beads
5 Nov 2010, 06:10
Clarke will still get it, but only because CA and it's selectors like pissing off the Nation every once in a while.

We are in real strife as a Cricket Nation when this little ponce takes over.

because of the players he will be captaining not because of him as a captain...

BACCS
5 Nov 2010, 07:48
http://www.theaustralian.com.au/news/sport/fit-siddle-edging-past-bollinger/story-e6frg7mf-1225947503029

Hoping it is just newspaper filler
The only thing I got out of that article is how much of a tosser Vaughan is.

Belnakor
5 Nov 2010, 09:52

I read somewhere back when Haydos was going through that form slump before he retired, Clarke decided he was going to give Haydos some batting tips, Punter style. Apparantly Haydos told him to get ****ed :)

Kahuna
5 Nov 2010, 11:24
Cricinfo, 4th November,
North rejects speculation over Test captaincy

Marcus North (http://www.cricinfo.com/ci/content/player/6943.html) has rejected speculation that he may be in line to be Australia's next Test captain. There have been suggestions in the Australian media of a rift in the national team over Michael Clarke's limited-overs captaincy, and position as next in line for the leadership role behind current incumbent Ricky Ponting......

http://www.cricinfo.com/australia/content/current/story/485409.html

Nearly fell off my chair when I read this late last night. Seriously, Marcus North the guy that most of us want out of the team, is being rumoured as being the next test captain, however the rumours are denied.

I think this just furthers shows how safe he is in the team and that we will be picked for all 5 ashes tests :(. England must be loving it, unless he does something drastic to prove me wrong.

All a rumoured team rift before the Ashes is a great thing......

King Elvis
5 Nov 2010, 11:31
Haha, The Dos, what a legend.

That's what I think Clarke's problem is, he does seem to have a holier-than-thou attitude.

I've said before, I think the making of Ricky Ponting was the shit he got himself into as a young player; he learnt how fleeting it all is and how quickly you could lose it forever, and he realised that being a freakish talent isn't going to be enough.

Clarke has (to his credit, I guess) never had to deal with too much controversy or bullshit, and I think it shows.

Ricky, even if you don't like him, you'd follow him - Clarke, I wouldn't.

And Siddle ahead of Dougy?

FMD.

mattymac
5 Nov 2010, 11:49
the poms will have a massive hard on if we front up with siddle and johnson

power09
5 Nov 2010, 16:53
just heard on the tv that North made 19 off 70 something balls
get out of the team!

Bucking Beads
5 Nov 2010, 17:04
the poms will have a massive hard on if we front up with siddle and johnson

I follow Michael Vaughan on Twitter and he seems to think if Siddle is fit he will trouble the Poms. I laughed and called him a pommy ****.

BACCS
5 Nov 2010, 17:23
just heard on the tv that North made 19 off 70 something balls
get out of the team!
19 off 73 balls, and never looked threatening apparantley. England must already be planning their victory speech.

amer
5 Nov 2010, 17:31
Siddle in form and phyiscally fit is a bit of an enigma - once the tail is up he starts nicking the 150 mark and gets the ball to move around, totally different look about him when it happens. See: Boxing Day test against the Saffers in 2008. Warne made the call that he would be the best bowler in the world within 2 years following that performance. Injury put pay to a crucial summer of development for him though.

Personally my thoughts on him are mixed. He's an unusual cricketer - he'll spend half the day throwing them down with the pace hovering in the high 130s, then something; god knows what; is set off in that skull of his and he produces this outrageously good 150kph fare to rip through a few. If we could bottle that he'd be a world beater, but he's produced it only in fits and spurts. And therein lay the comparisons to Johnson.

dan warna
5 Nov 2010, 17:52
Clarke has some batting talent even if he isn't a leaders ass. performed better than I thought he would, I thought low to mid 40s, and now looking at high 40s career average.

North can't bat or bowl, and how have WA been going in the various domestic competitions...

Might be a really nice guy, but good ordinary batsman, and average leader.

looking at leadership, katich and white stand out as the FC leaders (Its a burn saying katich but there you go...)

Bucking Beads
5 Nov 2010, 18:04
Katich is on his last legs so I don't think he is an option.

power09
5 Nov 2010, 18:10
19 off 73 balls, and never looked threatening apparantley. England must already be planning their victory speech.

he never looks threatening

NMFC 1811
5 Nov 2010, 19:24
because of the players he will be captaining not because of him as a captain...

Clarke folds under pressure most times. But yeah, let's make him Captain.

The truth is we don't have anyone else.

Bucking Beads
5 Nov 2010, 19:41
Clarke folds under pressure most times. But yeah, let's make him Captain.

The truth is we don't have anyone else.

LOL yeah because that is true, you just don't like or rate Clarke so you would never want him to be captain.

STC
5 Nov 2010, 23:10
Seriously, White would be a better batsman and captain than either of them. Seriously. I'm not even joking. I'm not wrong either.

Caesar
6 Nov 2010, 00:07
I don't like it. As you say, he's already carrying the team in so many ways that I think it would be tantamount to England giving Flintoff the job. Let's face it - whoever takes over is going to be under a shedload of pressure, because in all likelihood things are going to get worse before they get better. Watson's the one person in the team who's working pretty much perfectly, I'd rather not mess with him too much.

Someone mentioned Haddin. I know he comes off as a flog, but outside of Katich (who doesn't seem like he'll be in the team long enough to take over) he honestly seems like the best option - mentally sound, experienced, hard-nosed and determined. My only concern is that Paine is making his position in the side look less than safe right now.

Really, we're looking for the least worst candidate here. There is nobody with the right combination of cricketing ability, age, intelligence and experience in the side right now to make a good captain.

Which is why even though I don't like Ponting's captaincy I want him to stay in the side whilst he's still averaging over 40 on a month-to-month basis. Renew the rest of the side, demote him down the order if you like, but we really need him leading the team for the foreseeable future.

NMFC 1811
6 Nov 2010, 06:51
LOL yeah because that is true, you just don't like or rate Clarke so you would never want him to be captain.

Correct, i do not like or rate Clarke. He has not been able to elevate his batting to the place where it needs to be. He crumbles when he needs to fight out an innings.

But unless someone stands up in the next few months to a year, i will be stuck watching this clown skippering the Country.

Bucking Beads
6 Nov 2010, 08:40
Correct, i do not like or rate Clarke. He has not been able to elevate his batting to the place where it needs to be. He crumbles when he needs to fight out an innings.

But unless someone stands up in the next few months to a year, i will be stuck watching this clown skippering the Country.

Do you watch cricket?? Clarke averages high 40's and has saved our bacon on many occasions... Lords test in the ashes just to name 1. He was also one of the few batsmen that turned against the Saffers 2 years ago. You wouldn't know that because your head is so far up your A$$.

The Reaper
7 Nov 2010, 10:07
Clarke's recent poor form can be contributed to the fact that he should not be batting at number 4.

Clarke should bat at 5 or 6 or not at all.

dan warna
7 Nov 2010, 12:22
North out for 1, run out, in the second innings.

:rolleyes:

BACCS
7 Nov 2010, 13:07
North out for 1, run out, in the second innings.

:rolleyes:
It won't make a scrap of difference though.

NMFC 1811
12 Nov 2010, 22:46
Do you watch cricket?? Clarke averages high 40's and has saved our bacon on many occasions... Lords test in the ashes just to name 1. He was also one of the few batsmen that turned against the Saffers 2 years ago. You wouldn't know that because your head is so far up your A$$.

Relax Joycey.

360noscope
12 Nov 2010, 23:01
This is a ridiculous comparision, there is NO chance in hell that the selectors will leave Clarke out of the 11 for Brisbane. However, North is on very shaky ground against the likes of Steve Smith etc.

dan warna
12 Nov 2010, 23:17
This is a ridiculous comparision, there is NO chance in hell that the selectors will leave Clarke out of the 11 for Brisbane. However, North is on very shaky ground against the likes of Steve Smith etc.

And Smith is on shakey ground against the vics :D

360noscope
12 Nov 2010, 23:22
And Smith is on shakey ground against the vics :D

Thats just his bowling. :)

gbatman
13 Nov 2010, 08:25
North shouldn't even be in the side.

No one can captain Australia well because we keep selecting spud bowlers like Johnson who you can set fields for and can't bowl to plans.

Piefan16
13 Nov 2010, 19:31
Well, it looks like punter will have to keep going for A lot longer than we all expected, based on this thread :P