View Full Version : Pup throwing the ball at Shane Watson

BERBA
6 Nov 2010, 01:19
Absolute gold :thumbsu:

I could watch it over and over and over again.

Kim Hagdorn
6 Nov 2010, 01:28
Massive WTF.

Cooldude
6 Nov 2010, 01:28
First it was a terrible terrible throw from Haddin

Then Clarke just went for glory, if there's anything that ever sums up this selfish, self-absorbed twat, it is him.

Admittedly Watson was probably at fault a little as well since he should be standing behind the stumps in theory and not in front of it, but can't blame him since any sensible bloke would just lobbed the ball back at him for an easy run out.

Zarrix
6 Nov 2010, 01:31
I could not stop laughing at the footage when I saw it on the news. Need a youtube asap :P

DamoESP
6 Nov 2010, 01:59
I could not stop laughing at the footage when I saw it on the news. Need a youtube asap :P

Not the best quality but I found this:

rGR-fMWWtXA

krisholio14
6 Nov 2010, 02:00
Not the best quality but I found this:

rGR-fMWWtXA

That's better

Higs
6 Nov 2010, 02:16
A complete shambles, pretty much sums up where the team is at right now

Tapee
6 Nov 2010, 04:02
6ueKL7LSMWU

Having seen this angle of it, Watson rightly deserved to cop that in the knee. Instead of running back to catch the ball, he gave up and had a sook about it the moment he saw it wasn't going to land right above the bails.

King Elvis
6 Nov 2010, 07:25
That's kinda irrelevant though; if Clarke wasn't a ********, he would've been out.

Bucking Beads
6 Nov 2010, 08:37
How predictable lets blame Clarke LOL, bloody seriosuly

dan warna
6 Nov 2010, 08:45
a simple throw to watto would have seen him out easily...

clarke is a solid to good batsman but can be outwitted by the willow he wields and the leadership capacity of a potato.

JimDocker
6 Nov 2010, 08:45
How predictable lets blame Clarke LOL, bloody seriosuly

He has got tattoos and he has been in ads for underpants ! Of course he is to blame !!!

There were clearly 3 people at fault. Haddin's throw was a shocker. Watson, did indeed decide that the best course of action after the bad throw was to have a sook and Clarke's decision to throw at the stumps rather than run in and dislodge the bails or lob it to Watson was wrong.

As a Pom, I reckon I enjoyed it more than most :)

Bucking Beads
6 Nov 2010, 08:48
a simple throw to watto would have seen him out easily...

clarke is a solid to good batsman but can be outwitted by the willow he wields and the leadership capacity of a potato.

Watto was to busy whinging to catch a ball. Haddin is at fault anyway what a muppet.

dan warna
6 Nov 2010, 08:53
the era of steve waugh or allan border discipline is gone.

and we can't rely on the weight of talent under the tubby taylor era.

Lets face it, the bowling attack of McGrath Warne and Gillespie, and supported by Hughes, lee, fleming, McDermott and others who filled that 3rd and 4th bowling spot isn't there

Even the least capable of that era of bowlers would be comparable with the bowling attack we have now.

Young bowlers are doing their back in more than Bruce Reid did in a month of sundays, and pie tosses like Horrorwitz are considered our best spinners in the land.

We really need some border like discipline in fielding, fitness and second efforts.

Bucking Beads
6 Nov 2010, 08:58
the era of steve waugh or allan border discipline is gone.

and we can't rely on the weight of talent under the tubby taylor era.

Lets face it, the bowling attack of McGrath Warne and Gillespie, and supported by Hughes, lee, fleming, McDermott and others who filled that 3rd and 4th bowling spot isn't there

Even the least capable of that era of bowlers would be comparable with the bowling attack we have now.

Young bowlers are doing their back in more than Bruce Reid did in a month of sundays, and pie tosses like Horrorwitz are considered our best spinners in the land.

We really need some border like discipline in fielding, fitness and second efforts.

I completely agree, the attitude and commitment of the Aussie team is a joke at present. We need Border to put his hand up and coach this side..

alfy!
6 Nov 2010, 10:29
Don't really see how Pup was at fault, but I suppose people are having fun jumping all over him this week.

BarneyBent
6 Nov 2010, 11:40
Clarke wasn't really at fault. Watson had his back turned, and Clarke actually had a clear shot at the stumps. I didn't mind him having a ping. The problem was Watson saw Clarke at the last second, and tried to jump out of the way, which actually put him IN the way of the ball. Both could have done things better, but neither commited a mortal fielding sin.

Haddin's throw was were the problem started. I know he was throwing with a keeper's inner, but that's no excuse. That throw should have gone straight into Watto's hands. If any individual is to blame for that mixup, it's Haddin.

Bradesmaen
6 Nov 2010, 11:49
Question is.. why did Pup have to peg it at the stumps? He should have just walked up and taken the bails off the ********.

BarneyBent
6 Nov 2010, 11:59
Question is.. why did Pup have to peg it at the stumps? He should have just walked up and taken the bails off the ********.

He was a good 5-6 metres away from the stumps, going from a standing start, while the batsman was probably 7-8 metres away from the crease, but already moving. It would have been a tight finish.

glenferry23
6 Nov 2010, 12:18
He was a good 5-6 metres away from the stumps, going from a standing start, while the batsman was probably 7-8 metres away from the crease, but already moving. It would have been a tight finish.

already moving? mate the batsman had given up, started walking off almost until he saw the debacle & sprinted back in

BarneyBent
6 Nov 2010, 12:43
already moving? mate the batsman had given up, started walking off almost until he saw the debacle & sprinted back in

He stopped moving when the ball was thrown, he started moving again when he saw the ball was going to miss Watson. Watch it again. The batsman (who was it again?) got back into his crease only a few moments after the ball hits Watson. If he'd been standing down the other end of the pitch, Punter would have had time to have another shy at the stumps.

mattymac
6 Nov 2010, 21:07
gods that sh1t gets funnier every time you see it. full blown muppetry. one of those incidents that will go down in cricket folklore. we suck so bad we're a joke

reggie
6 Nov 2010, 21:24
Watson rightly deserved to cop that in the knee. Instead of running back to catch the ball, he gave up and had a sook about it the moment he saw it wasn't going to land right above the bails.

^This^

Clarke's throw, while not totally necessary was on line to hit middle half way up had Watson not been standing right in the way sooking it. And then Watson gives Clarke a stare?!?

thorne89
9 Nov 2010, 10:53
^This^

Clarke's throw, while not totally necessary was on line to hit middle half way up had Watson not been standing right in the way sooking it. And then Watson gives Clarke a stare?!?

What? Fact is Watson was standing in line with the stumps, so why the hell would Clarke...hell, anyone in that situation...throw?

It's like an AFL player kicking it into the man on the mark in the goalsquare, they could argue that if the player hadn't been there it would have been a goal. But because there was a player there, common sense would indicate that kicking it over the player (or passing the ball to Watson) would have been the smart move.

Funny stuff though :thumbsu:

P.S. Marcus North would have passed it to Watto ;)

BarneyBent
9 Nov 2010, 10:57
What? Fact is Watson was standing in line with the stumps, so why the hell would Clarke...hell, anyone in that situation...throw?

It's like an AFL player kicking it into the man on the mark in the goalsquare, they could argue that if the player hadn't been there it would have been a goal. But because there was a player there, common sense would indicate that kicking it over the player (or passing the ball to Watson) would have been the smart move.

Funny stuff though :thumbsu:

P.S. Marcus North would have passed it to Watto ;)

But Watson wasn't in the way to start off with. 2.5 stumps were clearly visible. Watson jumped the wrong way, and ended up getting in the way, when he wasn't in the way previously.

mattymac
9 Nov 2010, 11:08
its just epic:D. couldn't be more slapstick gold if they staged it

PrideOf
10 Nov 2010, 10:23
Clarkey's just living every Australian boy's dream.

It used to be wearing the baggy green.

Now it's hurling a cricket ball at Shane Watson from close range. Hard.

Quinz
10 Nov 2010, 10:39
Completely Haddin's fault Pridey. As a multiple premiership keeper I want you to have a chat with him.

http://img818.imageshack.us/img818/1269/clarkewatto.png

"Take this Watto!"

jackster83
10 Nov 2010, 13:23

Quoted for truth. :p

PrideOf
10 Nov 2010, 14:17
Completely Haddin's fault Pridey. As a multiple premiership keeper I want you to have a chat with him.

Mate, I've done one-on-one coaching with Haddin, had him over for dinner, given him inspirational speeches and made him watch my DVD of my best 100 catches. Still nothing.

BERBA
10 Nov 2010, 14:58

Hahaha yes!

thorne89
10 Nov 2010, 19:17
I'd rather the roles had been reversed!

krusden
14 Nov 2010, 20:02
my problem is that clarke seemed to think it was humorous when he should have been annoyed with himself. seemed to think it was a bit of a laugh.
i reckon he lacks respect in the locker room

BarneyBent
14 Nov 2010, 20:07
my problem is that clarke seemed to think it was humorous when he should have been annoyed with himself. seemed to think it was a bit of a laugh.
i reckon he lacks respect in the locker room

I don't know about you, but he looked pretty pissed off to me.

Piefan16
14 Nov 2010, 20:57
[quote=Cooldude;19511386]"Then Clarke just went for glory, if there's anything that ever sums up this selfish, self-absorbed twat, it is him."

hahaha, agreed

Doodlesweaver
15 Nov 2010, 00:00
[quote=Cooldude;19511386]"Then Clarke just went for glory, if there's anything that ever sums up this selfish, self-absorbed twat, it is him."

hahaha, agreed

I hope Watson gets the chance to return the favour.

magic_johnson!
15 Nov 2010, 19:58
To be fair to watson, he was behind the stumps for the haddin throw, and even if he had realised clarke had gathered so soon he still would have been in the way of the throw.

Faceless_Man
16 Nov 2010, 15:49
clarke should be shot for trying to destrot the great mans career