View Full Version : Team ACT?

swaneagle24
10 Nov 2010, 17:13
My take on the "Canberra connection":

TEAM ACT? (http://ajt212.wordpress.com/2010/11/10/team-act/)

Not a great move when they've billed themselves as a team for the Western Sydney community...

M312
10 Nov 2010, 17:26
Yeah some of the stuff that is being said by people like Sheedy and Holmes is so disrespectful to us and contradictory to what they have been saying read this and pay attention to what Sheedy say's http://www.abc.net.au/news/stories/2010/11/10/3062330.htm?site=sport&section=afl I can't believe it. It is the same message he has been sprouting to us, you have waited so long, what he said we had waited so long. Dale Holmes you have a part of a club,oh gee leave us with the crumbs. What about 2 jumpers, what is going on. To me it looks like the afl has over promised us and are under delivering. If it is alright for the GC to play all their home games on the coast, what is wrong with us. I have sent an email to the club still no response.

canberra_dee
10 Nov 2010, 17:38

Not a great move when they've billed themselves as a team for the Western Sydney community...

Great move by GWS and the AFL. Now they have ACT and WS as their bases, they will be even stronger

Great deal by the ACT government, in looking after AFL fans in Canberra. Canberra now have a part ownership of a team in the AFL, and we will have board representation and be reflected in the normal GWS jumper as well as have a special ACT jumper for the 4 games that are played in Manuka

canberra_dee
10 Nov 2010, 17:40

It is a great move as now GWS will have ACT and WS as their bases, and be even stronger

M312
10 Nov 2010, 17:47
It is a great move as now GWS will have ACT and WS as their bases, and be even stronger

You obviously have spent no time in sydney let alone west sydney, maybe canberra are happy with the crumbs but the few from up here who are keen are not happy. The idea of GWS was to grow the game in West Sydney not the ACT,and this seems to have been hijacked. So Canberra Dee you get right behind the club, because with decisions like this you won't have part ownership you will have full.

greatgatsby
10 Nov 2010, 18:00
Of course it's a good idea. This team was always going to struggle representing 'Western Sydney" alone. For the uninitiated Canberra does have real footy culture (half the people living here came originally from Aussie Rules states) and a strong local comp (which the Swans reserves don't dominate). The Canberra connection will strengthen the club and Canberrans (and surrounding districts - total pop. > 1/2 million) will embrace them in a way they haven't Sydney or North(!!).

There will inevitably be a 'second team' element to GWS (I'll never support them when they're playing Freo) but this is no different to the situation facing all expansion teams (even the Eagles as I recall).

Gotta do something about the colours though - leave them to the Bulldogs!

M312
10 Nov 2010, 18:07
Of course it's a good idea. This team was always going to struggle representing 'Western Sydney" alone. For the uninitiated Canberra does have real footy culture (half the people living here came originally from Aussie Rules states) and a strong local comp (which the Swans reserves don't dominate). The Canberra connection will strengthen the club and Canberrans (and surrounding districts - total pop. > 1/2 million) will embrace them in a way they haven't Sydney or North(!!).

There will inevitably be a 'second team' element to GWS (I'll never support them when they're playing Freo) but this is no different to the situation facing all expansion teams (even the Eagles as I recall).

I agree the team is and was going to struggle but surely we could have tryed a bit harder, if the idea of expanding the game was the goal was it not then selling the afl to the people who already love it achieves nothing. If that was the case then let's start a team in tassie,and the ACT and forget about the West of Sydney, but we should put in the hard work and try to get a core who support us as that will enrich the code.

swaneagle24
10 Nov 2010, 18:11
Granted it gives them two supporter bases, but the problem is that this move will likely alienate their key supporter base - those in Western Sydney for whom this team is allegedly being established!

canberra_dee
10 Nov 2010, 18:12
You obviously have spent no time in sydney let alone west sydney, maybe canberra are happy with the crumbs but the few from up here who are keen are not happy. The idea of GWS was to grow the game in West Sydney not the ACT,and this seems to have been hijacked. So Canberra Dee you get right behind the club, because with decisions like this you won't have part ownership you will have full.

While we would love to have a full time AFL team in Canberra, we are probably too small to have a full time. I think the deal is as good as it will get for AFL fans in the ACT who want to watch AFL games live here

Interesting to see the details of the 3 regular AFL games in Canberra. I would think it may be a GWS home game, and 2 victorian teams selling their home matches to the AFL - like it happens in Darwin where Port who are the away team in both the matches are really the "home" team

HSSB
10 Nov 2010, 18:15
It will be good for footy and GWS, probably brings in some money to GWS aswell, something like what Hawthorn did in 06

canberra_dee
10 Nov 2010, 18:16

Agree 100% with you. The deal by Barr will make ACT AFL fans feel that GWS is their team

Also while I will take any ACT GWS membership in addition to my Melbourne FC membership, I'll also not support them when they play the dees, but otherwise go the GWS. I suspect that many AFL fans here will take GWS membership by converting their pledges to memberships, but it will take a long time for GWS to replace their original team in their hearts!

swaneagle24
10 Nov 2010, 18:17
While we would love to have a full time AFL team in Canberra, we are probably too small to have a full time. I think the deal is as good as it will get for AFL fans in the ACT who want to watch AFL games live here

Interesting to see the details of the 3 regular AFL games in Canberra. I would think it may be a GWS home game, and 2 victorian teams selling their home matches to the AFL - like it happens in Darwin where Port who are the away team in both the matches are really the "home" team
The article on afl.com.au mentions "home games" multiple times, huge error if they're all home games down there.

M312
10 Nov 2010, 18:22
This is the problem, it would be more palatable for fans if it wasn't home games,but the articles all say home games, I have contacted both the afl and gws but I have not recieved a reply.

canberra_dee
10 Nov 2010, 18:42
This is the problem, it would be more palatable for fans if it wasn't home games,but the articles all say home games, I have contacted both the afl and gws but I have not recieved a reply.

I do not think it will be 3 home games, although the reports here in the Canberra WIN and ABC have said that GWS will play 3 regular season home and away games in Canberra

http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/105020/default.aspx

It would make more sense for GWS to play 1 or 2 of its home games in Manuka, and for the poorer victorian clubs to sell their home games against GWS. This is what happens in Darwin against Port. That way everyone wins

swaneagle24
10 Nov 2010, 19:20
This might've been a good idea IN ten years time, not for ten years... The club really should think about establishing themselves in Western Sydney before delving off into other locations.

We've seen some success from Hawthorn-Tasmania, BUT, they're a well established club in a saturated Melbourne AFL market. GWS, on the other hand, are not established at all and have half of Australia's largest city, being Sydney, all to themselves as far as AFL is concerned.

canberra_dee
10 Nov 2010, 20:30
http://www.chiefminister.act.gov.au/media.php?v=10128

the media release on the deal by the ACT government

greatgatsby
10 Nov 2010, 20:47
http://www.chiefminister.act.gov.au/media.php?v=10128

the media release on the deal by the ACT government

$2.35 million per annum - given the package it probably stacks up well against buying games for little reward in the recent past.

One Fell Swoop
10 Nov 2010, 22:02
Very clever marketing by the AFL.

When the team fails in Western Sydney, it will move to Canberra, by which time there will be a big new stadium for it to call home.

swaneagle24
10 Nov 2010, 22:04
Very clever marketing by the AFL.

When the team fails in Western Sydney, it will move to Canberra, by which time there will be a big new stadium for it to call home.
I'm 20 years old, have lived in north-west Sydney that whole time, did my 13 years of school and 3 years of uni in the area, have followed AFL for 15 years, and have played for 10 years. Now I, for one, won't be investing in a membership for a part-time Western Sydney team.

Kapital city TIGER
11 Nov 2010, 06:55
I'm 20 years old, have lived in north-west Sydney that whole time, did my 13 years of school and 3 years of uni in the area, have followed AFL for 15 years, and have played for 10 years. Now I, for one, won't be investing in a membership for a part-time Western Sydney team.

well if thats the best a true blue AFL fella like yourself from ~GWS can muster to support a local team , they may as well just play ALL home games in Canberra, call em the Kapitals. Go the Swannies eh.

Seriously, I feel for AFL fans in Sydney / NSW but GWS isnt a backyard team for one part of Sydney , they seem to be trying to claim western NSW rather than just a part of the city.

And the reason they are looking for support from elsewhere is probably that there is sfa support for the team actually in GWS and wont be for years (how long did the Swans take to build a loyal following? - still trying you might say with how fickle crowds are in THE BIGGEST CITY IN THE COUNTRY

seriously - Sydney doesnt have the SUPPORT for another team, so stop your whingeing that they are going to play a couple of home games elsewhere! Plenty clubs WITH loyal lifelong fans do this - are FORCED to do this for $$ but GWS is having so much $$ thrown at it its embarassing.

The ACT Govt is going to get lambasted here for hom much $$ they are throwing at this deal, (Raiders and Brumbies likely to upchuck any moment)

tbh I reckon ACT will really get on this, much more passionatly than the majority of Sydney (GW or other parts..) and, in 10, 20 years get dumped again, after funding and syupporting the very team that snookered the ACTs chance of ever having a national team.
But in the meantime AFL fans are just slavering over the prospect of having 3 local games (yee fkn HAR) a year.

M312
11 Nov 2010, 07:55
well if thats the best a true blue AFL fella like yourself from ~GWS can muster to support a local team , they may as well just play ALL home games in Canberra, call em the Kapitals. Go the Swannies eh.

Seriously, I feel for AFL fans in Sydney / NSW but GWS isnt a backyard team for one part of Sydney , they seem to be trying to claim western NSW rather than a part of the city.

And the reason they are looking for support from elsewhere is probably that there is sfa support for the team actually in GWS and wont be for years (how long did the Swans take to build a loyal following? - still trying you might say with how fickle crowds are in THE BIGGEST CITY IN THE COUNTRY

seriously - Sydney doesnt have the SUPPORT for another team, so stop your whingeing that they are going to play a couple of home games elsewhere! Plenty clubs WITH loyal lifelong fans do this - are FORCED to do this for $$ but GWS is having so much $$ thrown at it its embarassing.

The ACT Govt is going to get lambasted here for hom much $$ they are throwing at this deal, (Raiders and Brumbies likely to upchuck any moment)

tbh I reckon ACT will really get on this, much more passionatly than the majority of Sydney (GW or other parts..) and, in 10, 20 years get dumped again, after funding and syupporting the very team that snookered the ACTs chance of ever having a national team.
But in the meantime AFL fans are just slavering over the prospect of having 3 local games (yee fkn HAR) a year.

You are kidding, it is the arrogant attitude of people like you why the game isnt the number 1 game in Sydney. As has been said plenty of times, GWS did not come to the afl the afl came to GWS and promised us our own team.I'm from here and have always followed the game but most people don't.The argument there are other clubs with lifelong supporters forced to do this, so what is the afl trying to grow the game in Western Sydney or not? that is the question, but I'm looking at it from someone who want's the game to grow in Western Sydney, were as you just seem to be interested in seing games in Canberra which will prove nothing and convert no one

Pessimistic
11 Nov 2010, 08:12
Canberrians think nothing of travelling to western sydney.

Giving them ownership means they will also attend games in sydney. It works twice.

Wouldnt put it past the AFL to have vic teams also playing 'home' games in canberra - saves losing dough at etihad

The state v capital angle has mileage too

M312
11 Nov 2010, 08:18
Canberrians think nothing of travelling to western sydney.

Giving them ownership means they will also attend games in sydney. It works twice.

Wouldnt put it past the AFL to have vic teams also playing 'home' games in canberra - saves losing dough at etihad

The state v capital angle has mileage too

It may work twice in your mind as you already support the game as do canbeerans,but I can assure you this is already being seen as a sign that they are looking for an exit strategy, and that my friend is not good if as we were told it was about expanding the game in western sydney. Signals matter

swaneagle24
11 Nov 2010, 08:25
Good luck to Canberra getting three games a year down there, but the AFL and GWS shouldn't waste their time telling Western Sydney this is their team, representing fourteen unique communities in GWS, built from their community blah blah blah, if they're going to then go to Canberra and spread the same story (and have a nod to the ACT on their regular jersey!). Noone in Western Sydney will want to see anything Canberra-related on the jersey of the team which was supposed to be theirs.

Why would I want to invest anything - time, money or otherwise - in a team which can't even get their story straight? God help them when they line up in R1 2012 and Sheeds goes with a position rotation strategy, ala Auskick, so all the players are happy get a go in all positions.

The Convert
11 Nov 2010, 08:37
Lets get some understanding here. The push comes from AFLNSWACT and the crossovers with GWS are extraordinary. GWS is about establishing a NSW team rather than a transplanted team, no matter how much we love them. The senior admin people now with GWS have their roots in NSW footy and want to spead the love. The problem is they need to get Western Sydney to love them first. They should have signed a few TAC Cup players even if only for one year. If not up to it let them go. Maybe the problem was the max number they could play in Canberra comp.

If they want western Sydney to embrace them they have to show the love because at the moment it just is not there in practice.

M312
11 Nov 2010, 08:38
Good luck to Canberra getting three games a year down there, but the AFL and GWS shouldn't waste their time telling Western Sydney this is their team, representing fourteen unique communities in GWS, built from their community blah blah blah, if they're going to then go to Canberra and spread the same story (and have a nod to the ACT on their regular jersey!). Noone in Western Sydney will want to see anything Canberra-related on the jersey of the team which was supposed to be theirs.

Why would I want to invest anything - time, money or otherwise - in a team which can't even get their story straight? God help them when they line up in R1 2012 and Sheeds goes with a position rotation strategy, ala Auskick, so all the players are happy get a go in all positions.

You are spot on the problem here is and has been mixed messages ( or even lie's) told to the peolpe of Western Sydney. Sheedy and his crew have sold us on the we have been witing to long story and we are here for the long haul,and support us as we are the only local team ( a swipe at the south melbourne swans history) yet now they spin the same story to the ACT and give them their own jersey plus some sort of Canberra recognition on the other jumper.The people who love this are people from the ACT or people from other parts of Aus were AFL is king.No one from Western Sydney thinks this is a good idea, that's the people who support the game and if you alianate them then you have no chance of getting their mates to support the club.

M312
11 Nov 2010, 08:41
Lets get some understanding here. The push comes from AFLNSWACT and the crossovers with GWS are extraordinary. GWS is about establishing a NSW team rather than a transplanted team, no matter how much we love them. The senior admin people now with GWS have their roots in NSW footy and want to spead the love. The problem is they need to get Western Sydney to love them first. They should have signed a few TAC Cup players even if only for one year. If not up to it let them go. Maybe the problem was the max number they could play in Canberra comp.

If they want western Sydney to embrace them they have to show the love because at the moment it just is not there in practice.

Well said start the club get a solid base, show your commitment, then explain the need to play a few games. At the moment they have spread themselves way to thin.

swaneagle24
11 Nov 2010, 08:59
Hmm I wonder why there's no mention of Canberra on the Team GWS website yet...?

M312
11 Nov 2010, 09:13
Hmm I wonder why there's no mention of Canberra on the Team GWS website yet...?

They won't even respond to emails sent to them,respectfully asking for an explanation and how they can justify it. Nothing I'm starting to think they don't understand they are in an area were it is hard to get people to games and even support the code. You can't sugar coat a bitter pill and it is time to talk to the fans, not just turn up at media conferences I think this say's it all read this. How can they now state this with a straight face http://teamgws.com.au/index.php?id=17

Kapital city TIGER
11 Nov 2010, 10:43
You are kidding, it is the arrogant attitude of people like you why the game isnt the number 1 game in Sydney. As has been said plenty of times, GWS did not come to the afl the afl came to GWS and promised us our own team.I'm from here and have always followed the game but most people don't.The argument there are other clubs with lifelong supporters forced to do this, so what is the afl trying to grow the game in Western Sydney or not? that is the question, but I'm looking at it from someone who want's the game to grow in Western Sydney, were as you just seem to be interested in seing games in Canberra which will prove nothing and convert no one

funny stuff!
ok Ill cop to arrogance in believing that AFL> RL or RU but thats just my opinion (and, probly most other AFL fans...)

I dont think anyone thinks that GWS is from Canberra do they? despite the link now confirmed.

I just find it amazing that some people can get this new team created in their own town, on a silver platter,and complain that they have to miss a couple of games while expanding their supporter base!

And well done GWS/NSWAFL for getting it up, but its surely by virtue of the vast numbers on NONSUPPORTERS to be converted that it happened.

Please excuse my arrogance - ? its born of sour grapes and is more resentment than arrogance - SYD is getting the new team not Canberra after all, we are getting the crumbs and paying a MOTZA TO GWS for them, even while knowing that the bottom of the cheque is the final nail in the coffin of hopes for a local team in the national comp. And we will likely quickly become converts- plenty will goto all games here and GWS will sure become most's 2nd fave team, and their kids' actual team.

Now I know some / most supporters of the Vic teams especially the big ones (ala the Tiges!) moan like theyve been stabbed through the heart if their club plays a home game somewhere else, so I acknowledge this is a tiny bit hypocritical, and obviously if it were my home town and the team was going to play games elsewhere, (which, actually is quite likely, in that Ainslie FC I would think might get a run in a 2nd tier comp SUPPORTING GWS / SS if such a comp gets up) Id be a bit peeved too, but i think most can see that GWS are getting a VERY GOOD deal$$ from the ACT, which will help in all their undertakings, whilst growing the game, and supporter base in WNSW, without much compromising support in Sydney particularly - yourself excluded, but them Im inclined to think your loyalties lay with the Swans? Or dont you want fans from the rest of NSW?

As to proving or converting no-one - I think there will be a lot of interest not just in Canberra but the REGION as well -which is after all rugbyland, even if Canberra itself has had a strong and undernourished AFL roots (which have been overgrown by Raiders&Brumbies being in the National comp)

M312
11 Nov 2010, 10:56
Do you seriously believe that you can create a club and then give them 2 homes and 2 jumpers and people will be happy? As for not being grateful,it is the AFL who launched the side NO one in Western Sydney was calling for it and then they pull the rug.You say it is only 3 games I say that is the start. I will still support the afl as it is the game i love, I'm just dirty that they come here and tell us what they are going to do 1st play at Blacktown ( now Homebush) ask anyone who lives in West Sydney if they regard that as West, and now they sell 3 home games to another region, and most worrying a different jumper.

swaneagle24
11 Nov 2010, 10:58
I just find it amazing that some people can get this new team created in their own town, on a silver platter,and complain that they have to miss a couple of games while expanding their supporter base!

rIt's not about missing a few games, people are likely to not be able to attend all games anyway. It's about GWS promoting themselves as Western's Sydney's team, for their community, built on their values, then making this link with Canberra and engaging their community, involving them in the regular jersey, giving them their own jersey. A lot has been said about the "fickle Sydney sporting market", how do you think Western Sydney will respond to their team having part ownership in Canberra?

Kapital city TIGER
11 Nov 2010, 11:15
rIt's not about missing a few games, people are likely to not be able to attend all games anyway. It's about GWS promoting themselves as Western's Sydney's team, for their community, built on their values, then making this link with Canberra and engaging their community, involving them in the regular jersey, giving them their own jersey. A lot has been said about the "fickle Sydney sporting market", how do you think Western Sydney will respond to their team having part ownership in Canberra?

well, be interesting to see the name when its announced- and to see if it retains the 'Sydney' identity or moves immediately to more 'NSW' or regional identity.

I think WS will respond a bit like you but maybe not as extreme. Its still clearly going to be more GWS than anywhere else, but they made the decision to try and spread the base.

Apologies if they actually name them the Capitals or GiantStupid Flagpoles or GWS&ACT but, that wont be happening will it!

I dont give a toss about the ACT guernsey idea, but I think the ACT campaign may well have insisted on some form of recognition, and I also think that will HELP THE CLUB too by claiming a whole Territory for very little.

Someone talking about it as if its a harbinger of an exit strategy - I just dont see it, think there is more optimism about growing a supporter base, than that or it wouldnt have got off the ground!

swaneagle24
11 Nov 2010, 11:23
I think WS will respond a bit like you but maybe not as extreme.
haha yes I must admit I'm pretty annoyed at this whole thing. I just think from a marketing perspective they're jumping the gun big time as far as target markets go. They really should be looking to solidify their position in Western Sydney before looking elsewhere.

M312
11 Nov 2010, 11:44

well, be interesting to see the name when its announced- and to see if it retains the 'Sydney' identity or moves immediately to more 'NSW' or regional identity.

I think WS will respond a bit like you but maybe not as extreme. Its still clearly going to be more GWS than anywhere else, but they made the decision to try and spread the base.

Apologies if they actually name them the Capitals or GiantStupid Flagpoles or GWS&ACT but, that wont be happening will it!

I dont give a toss about the ACT guernsey idea, but I think the ACT campaign may well have insisted on some form of recognition, and I also think that will HELP THE CLUB too by claiming a whole Territory for very little.

Someone talking about it as if its a harbinger of an exit strategy - I just dont see it, think there is more optimism about growing a supporter base, than that or it wouldnt have got off the ground!

All your points are extremely valid but read this http://www.sportingpulse.com/assoc_page.cgi?c=1-4710-0-0-0&sID=56131&news_task=DETAIL&articleID=10497748 no were does it mention the ACT and now before a ball is kicked they have changed.If they really wanted to hook up with the local communities play a game at Homebush, Blacktown and campbelltown. The population is huge if you want to do the hard work, with due respect to the ACT if this club was set up properley we wouldn't need you. It will take as they said 20 or 25 years, you only get 1 chance to set things up and they have gone about it strangely.

Kapital city TIGER
11 Nov 2010, 13:31
[quote=Kapital city TIGER;19548048]

All your points are extremely valid but read this http://www.sportingpulse.com/assoc_page.cgi?c=1-4710-0-0-0&sID=56131&news_task=DETAIL&articleID=10497748 no were does it mention the ACT and now before a ball is kicked they have changed.If they really wanted to hook up with the local communities play a game at Homebush, Blacktown and campbelltown. The population is huge if you want to do the hard work, with due respect to the ACT if this club was set up properley we wouldn't need you. It will take as they said 20 or 25 years, you only get 1 chance to set things up and they have gone about it strangely.

yeah they have clearly changed the focus from that presser from the start of this yr, but this is a club that basically doesnt exist - you cant expect them to remain true to their non existant roots, or get their exact identity bedded down before they exist!

- they measured the support they might get from ACT in the campaign, -we are a low hanging fruit it was easy enough to pluck, with juicy $$ as a reward - 5000 people pledged $50 to show their support - without any specifics of it going into membership or anything - ready made fans, who may or may not barrack for GWS, but will be turning up to games, and more than likely buying memberships (many of whom probably hail from GWS or NSW or Sydney anyway and gety back 'home' regularly) and some as well as or in preference to the clubs they barrack for- like the Hawks get at Launny.

When you say ' if the club was set up proberly' I think you mean 'if the club had already built a reliable supporter base in the place where it is goint to be located' but thats yet to happen.

I appreciate that blurring the identity with the ACT connection wont help in GWS - but I think its insignificant, and will have the club better placed to garnish support outside of Syd in NSW (and...u know...Canberra)

I reckon they will suck it and see for a decade or 2 - are people going to be clamoring for AFL games on the telly in Wagga, Goulburn, etc? Not now but heaps more will be interested as a result a new NSW team, and I think more so if it is a bit NSW and a little less Sydney.

tho I dont know what the club has been up to Id think they will be ramping up their presence in GWS to build a heartland next year and another level up once they have an actual National AFL team playing, and if they do a bit of regional work too, I dont see how it hurts much - I apreciate the alarm on the split focus, but really dont see GWS losing much support, but getting much more.

M312
11 Nov 2010, 13:52
[quote=M312;19548303]

yeah they have clearly changed the focus from that presser from the start of this yr, but this is a club that basically doesnt exist - you cant expect them to remain true to their non existant roots, or get their exact identity bedded down before they exist!

- they measured the support they might get from ACT in the campaign, -we are a low hanging fruit it was easy enough to pluck, with juicy $$ as a reward - 5000 people pledged $50 to show their support - without any specifics of it going into membership or anything - ready made fans, who may or may not barrack for GWS, but will be turning up to games, and more than likely buying memberships (many of whom probably hail from GWS or NSW or Sydney anyway and gety back 'home' regularly) and some as well as or in preference to the clubs they barrack for- like the Hawks get at Launny.

When you say ' if the club was set up proberly' I think you mean 'if the club had already built a reliable supporter base in the place where it is goint to be located' but thats yet to happen.

I appreciate that blurring the identity with the ACT connection wont help in GWS - but I think its insignificant, and will have the club better placed to garnish support outside of Syd in NSW (and...u know...Canberra)

I reckon they will suck it and see for a decade or 2 - are people going to be clamoring for AFL games on the telly in Wagga, Goulburn, etc? Not now but heaps more will be interested as a result a new NSW team, and I think more so if it is a bit NSW and a little less Sydney.

tho I dont know what the club has been up to Id think they will be ramping up their presence in GWS to build a heartland next year and another level up once they have an actual National AFL team playing, and if they do a bit of regional work too, I dont see how it hurts much - I apreciate the alarm on the split focus, but really dont see GWS losing much support, but getting much more.
Yep all well put views I think I have calmed down a bit now and are a bit more understanding, I just hope the club after Tuesday become more open with potential supporters. If the club guarantees ( as much as they can) that they are not going to up and go to canberra fully. The only reason I come back to that is,yes if you have to or want to play some home games their fine, but when you have a Canberra specific jumper it leaves the door open for suspicion, when what we all know will happen for atleast the first 10 years we will struggle to attract fans in Western Sydney and it would be easier in Canberra. Anyway the decision is made now we have to live with it

Choota
11 Nov 2010, 15:11
GWS is going to be a laughable disaster.

M312
11 Nov 2010, 15:25
GWS is going to be a laughable disaster.
Thanks for your positive thoughts, now gtfo :)

The Jaguar
11 Nov 2010, 17:19
I think this is a clever move from the AFL.

Obviously it's a good money spinner but it will also sure up some extra support for the team. Realistically there would be very few West Sydney people that would actually attend all 11 home games anyway, so maybe 7 or 8 games will be enough for them because lots will still continue to follow an NRL team aswell.

And if the whole venture shits itself then Canberra gets itself a team with little fuss. Even the jumpers will be ready. :thumbsu:

canberra_dee
11 Nov 2010, 18:05

Exactly - all these people in WS crying over a couple of home games in ACT. Given the huge investment that the ACT government has made, it is partly our team too

Already the Rugby codes have started to moan and attack this deal, calling it way too generous

But for AFL fans in the ACT it is good news ....roll on 2012

canberra_dee
11 Nov 2010, 18:12
Do you seriously believe that you can create a club and then give them 2 homes and 2 jumpers and people will be happy? As for not being grateful,it is the AFL who launched the side NO one in Western Sydney was calling for it and then they pull the rug.You say it is only 3 games I say that is the start. I will still support the afl as it is the game i love, I'm just dirty that they come here and tell us what they are going to do 1st play at Blacktown ( now Homebush) ask anyone who lives in West Sydney if they regard that as West, and now they sell 3 home games to another region, and most worrying a different jumper.

I don't know why people think GWS will pull out of WS and go full time in Canberra. The fact is that Canberra and the region around it is too small to support a full time AFL team, and the AFL needs the Sydney market.

The arrangement that the AFL and GWS has stuck with the ACT government is great. It ensures that the national capital has the national game played regularly, and the $26 million paid over 10 years plus the 5000+ people in the ACT who have paid their pledges will ensure that there is a ready cash flow to the GWS

As for different jumper - given that we Canberrans have put our money where our mouth is, and we have board representation in GWS, why can't we have ACT represented in our jumper. It has been sold here as the ACT having a part ownership of the GWS, and it is only fair that our region is represented in the jumper

Giants FC
11 Nov 2010, 19:58
I believe the contract is for 3 games per season, not necessarily home games.

My radar tells me that the Western Bulldogs will stop playing their home game against the Swans in Canberra and play GWS there instead. The AFL is interested in hearing from any other club who wants to sell their home game against GWS to Canberra. But if there are no more takers, it'll be 2 home games down there per season.
I'd prefer it to be only one home game down there, but that would need another Victorian club putting their hand up to play their home game in Canberra. I can live with 2 home games there, but I wouldn't want to be playing any more than that.

swaneagle24
11 Nov 2010, 20:01
Exactly - all these people in WS crying over a couple of home games in ACT. Given the huge investment that the ACT government has made, it is partly our team too
That's the whole point, the spin from GWS this whole time has been that this is Western Sydney's team, representing their communities, built from their values; now they've given part ownership to the ACT, reneging on the whole basis of the club!

dlanod
12 Nov 2010, 05:21

My radar tells me that the Western Bulldogs will stop playing their home game against the Swans in Canberra and play GWS there instead. The AFL is interested in hearing from any other club who wants to sell their home game against GWS to Canberra. But if there are no more takers, it'll be 2 home games down there per season.
I'd prefer it to be only one home game down there, but that would need another Victorian club putting their hand up to play their home game in Canberra. I can live with 2 home games there, but I wouldn't want to be playing any more than that.

That's pretty much what I expected, giving the phrasing of the initial press release. I was expecting the WBD game, and maybe a Kangaroos game, to be technically away games for WSYD. Two away games would leave 11 games in Sydney (10 home games and one Sydney-hosted derby at ANZ).

Kapital city TIGER
12 Nov 2010, 07:04

My radar tells me that the Western Bulldogs will stop playing their home game against the Swans in Canberra and play GWS there instead. The ---........ I can live with 2 home games there, but I wouldn't want to be playing any more than that.

Now that Ive had a dip at all you GWSsiders whining about losing a couple of games, let me start my own whingeing....

the ACT offer was for FOUR (4) AFL games (av) per year for 10 years, plus a game of national significance(?...ttp here but to be significant, that means..a FINAL...) now, my understanding, and probably a lot more peoples tat have coughed up $ on this understanding was that these would be 4 AFL h&a games (at a guess 2 home, 2 away for gws) as distinct from the NAB Cup, which I will have a look at if the Tigers are playing but regard as of no import whatsoever, andI would aactualy rather see the Tiges training if I could.

including a NAB game in this deal is, as I see it a betrayal. GIVE ME $10 / $50 bucks back u bastards!

The NAB is not even the same game (by the GODS the AFL comes up with some halfarsed SH!TE in the NAB rules?! )

(Not that this obvious deception, fraud and robbery has raised that much ire, after next years turning the screws up on us of 1 boring game ss v wb ...again..we will just be so greatful foir something different Manuka wil lbe overflowing every game)

Will there be a Swans vs GWS game in the ACT?
I wouldnt have tought Sydney could afford to lose a local derby
my guess is that its a 'game of national significance' and they will do it once in the ten years' even though its actually a game of 'national insignificance as the rest of Aus cuoldnt give a hoot'

that is, unless its THE FIRST MATCH....

be a shame to have less Syd games here, as the Swans have a lot of support here (I guess some of that will move over to GWS when they start) but they have always had the advantage here, even when other teams are trying to make links in the ACT (poor old Kangas...)

M312
12 Nov 2010, 09:03

Well I think we are going to be disapointed. It is clear he is feeling the heat and the backlash from Western Sydney, what's up to 10 mean? is that 10 or could it be 9, by yesterday afternoon I was coming around but they have lost me. Come right out and tell us how many home games. Go to GWS site and They try to explain what is going on. I tryed to put link up but it's not working

canberra_dee
12 Nov 2010, 19:17
the ACT offer was for FOUR (4) AFL games (av) per year for 10 years, plus a game of national significance(?...ttp here but to be significant, that means..a FINAL...) now, my understanding, and probably a lot more peoples tat have coughed up $ on this understanding was that these would be 4 AFL h&a games (at a guess 2 home, 2 away for gws) as distinct from the NAB Cup, which I will have a look at if the Tigers are playing but regard as of no import whatsoever, andI would aactualy rather see the Tiges training if I could.

including a NAB game in this deal is, as I see it a betrayal. GIVE ME $10 / $50 bucks back u bastards!

The NAB is not even the same game (by the GODS the AFL comes up with some halfarsed SH!TE in the NAB rules?! )

Will there be a Swans vs GWS game in the ACT?
I wouldnt have tought Sydney could afford to lose a local derby
my guess is that its a 'game of national significance' and they will do it once in the ten years' even though its actually a game of 'national insignificance as the rest of Aus cuoldnt give a hoot'

True it was sold as 4 games a year for 10 years. The cynic in me thought one of these would be a NAB game, and I was right. But still 3 games a year for 10 years is still a good deal, especially when you look at the new junior pathways and the chance for regular AFL here

As for Sydney vs GSW in ACT, I think not. Both of these matches will be played in ANZ. If anything they might brand the GWS vs Melbourne match as one of national significance?

canberra_dee
12 Nov 2010, 19:20
Well I think we are going to be disapointed. It is clear he is feeling the heat and the backlash from Western Sydney, what's up to 10 mean? is that 10 or could it be 9, by yesterday afternoon I was coming around but they have lost me. Come right out and tell us how many home games. Go to GWS site and They try to explain what is going on. I tryed to put link up but it's not working

The link
http://www.teamgws.com.au/index.php?id=11&tx_ttnews[tt_news]=118&tx_ttnews[backPid]=10&cHash=4b28431ce4

Upto 10 means u are probably looking at 10 games - but one of these could be the Sydney Swans home game vs GWS?

Worst case for GWS fans in WS could be 2 home games in the ACT with the other game being a melbourne club selling a game to Manuka. Best case is 1 home game in Manuka with 2 teams from melbourne selling home games

Mr Eagle
12 Nov 2010, 20:11
It's a gamble for the club to spread itself around a bit, but hey it's got me sucked in. And anything that keeps the Swans out of Canberra is AOK by me!

M312
12 Nov 2010, 20:52
The link
http://www.teamgws.com.au/index.php?id=11&tx_ttnews[tt_news]=118&tx_ttnews[backPid]=10&cHash=4b28431ce4

Upto 10 means u are probably looking at 10 games - but one of these could be the Sydney Swans home game vs GWS?

Worst case for GWS fans in WS could be 2 home games in the ACT with the other game being a melbourne club selling a game to Manuka. Best case is 1 home game in Manuka with 2 teams from melbourne selling home games

What's the go for next season 11 home 11 away? So in 2012 that would be 12 home 12 away is that right?

canberra_dee
12 Nov 2010, 21:06
What's the go for next season 11 home 11 away? So in 2012 that would be 12 home 12 away is that right?

In 2011, it is 11 home and 11 away. Happy to be corrected but it will be
same in 2012 as well - however with 18 teams that will be 1 extra game a round compared to now

WS fans in GWS before the ACT deal had a maximum of 12 games they could have watched - counting the Sydney Swans's home game in ANZ. With the ACT deal you will still get 10 home games if what the link states is true.

This would indicate that GWS will allocate a maximum of 2 (if they count the Swans home game in ANZ as a home game) or a minimum of 1 home game to ACT.

M312
12 Nov 2010, 21:33
In 2011, it is 11 home and 11 away. Happy to be corrected but it will be
same in 2012 as well - however with 18 teams that will be 1 extra game a round compared to now

WS fans in GWS before the ACT deal had a maximum of 12 games they could have watched - counting the Sydney Swans's home game in ANZ. With the ACT deal you will still get 10 home games if what the link states is true.

This would indicate that GWS will allocate a maximum of 2 (if they count the Swans home game in ANZ as a home game) or a minimum of 1 home game to ACT.

Thanks for that

no orange peeler
15 Nov 2010, 08:44
The Sydney market could not possibly cater for 12 home games for GWS and 12 for the Swans in one season. The Market will need a rest. Hence the reason GWS will tap into 10 thousand in Canberra and possibly down the line 10-15k in Albury as oppose to getting 5-10k in Sydney. The $ makes sense the AFL love it as it promotes the brand across a broader market.
With the possability of a real "local" content for GWS with the recruiting concessions games in Canberra and Albury make sense especially as Sydney can not sustain 20+ AFL games per season.

dlanod
15 Nov 2010, 16:00
Bit of an overstatement, it'd only be 11 Sydney home games, 11 Western Sydney home games, and two of those will be derbies.

M312
15 Nov 2010, 17:17
Bit of an overstatement, it'd only be 11 Sydney home games, 11 Western Sydney home games, and two of those will be derbies.

Spot on I don't know why people don't use some vision this team and club should be judged in 10 or 15 years it will be a generation thing, I'm just not sure some people have the heart for the battle that is coming.