View Full Version : Kane Cornes

Macca19
1 Apr 2001, 14:13
The kid is a massive talent!!! He will be an absolute star. He played great today for Glenelg

carb70
1 Apr 2001, 21:24
I only saw a little bit of the last quarter of that game and Cornes was pretty impressive. I saw a game last year between Port and Glenelg where Cornes was playing on Didac and I thought Didac beat Cornes pretty easily that day. I was hoping we could pick Didac up in the draft with our number 4 pick but we gave that away for Wakelin so I was dissapointed that we wouldn't get the oppertunity to get him. But going by the form that Cornes has shown so far this year I quite happy the club has pick him up especially with pick number 20, he is going to be a absolute superstar.

Grave Danger
1 Apr 2001, 22:34
There's some suggestion that Brent Guerra could be in trouble with the Tribunal. Hopefully not, but Kane would be an ideal replacement.

QT
1 Apr 2001, 23:07
In 5 years, were gonna have to go back to this thread and see who ended up a better player, Lawrence Angwin or Kane Cornes?

CARN THE CROWS http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/wink.gif

------------------
"I came here to win, I am a winner" - Denzel Washington , Remember The Titans ; 2000

carb70
1 Apr 2001, 23:24
Originally posted by QT:
In 5 years, were gonna have to go back to this thread and see who ended up a better player, Lawrence Angwin or Kane Cornes?

CARN THE CROWS http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/wink.gif

QT, You have lost the plot. What has Lawrence Angwin got to do with anything?. He wasn't even memtioned until your post. Infact who is Lawrence Angwin?.

Grave Danger
2 Apr 2001, 09:18
It's just QT's futile attempt to hide the fact that the C-words fûcked up badly by not selecting K. Cornes when they had the chance...

tribey
13 Jan 2005, 17:04

CARN THE CROWS

BUMP.

Yes, with Laurence tearing up the training track at Deadsh1t FC, what ever happened to that Cornes boy?

Port1978
13 Jan 2005, 17:38
BUMP.

Yes, with Laurence tearing up the training track at Deadsh1t FC, what ever happened to that Cornes boy?

But it's only been 4 years....not 5.....

Sheeds
13 Jan 2005, 17:38
HA HA :D
What a great thread!!!!!!!

Eago77
13 Jan 2005, 17:56
But it's only been 4 years....not 5.....
Probably only needed to be 3, perhaps less.

Port1978
13 Jan 2005, 18:28
Probably only needed to be 3, perhaps less.
Yeah, you're probably right there. ;)

blackdiamond
13 Jan 2005, 19:24
If only QT still posted here so we could have a go at him, I wonder where he went. :confused:

crazy_big_al
13 Jan 2005, 20:07
If only QT still posted here so we could have a go at him, I wonder where he went. :confused:

maybe he was once scott :)

Paralowiepower
13 Jan 2005, 20:24
Off the rails like Lawrence maybe? locked up somewhere in a white jacket?

blackdiamond
13 Jan 2005, 20:29
maybe he was once scott :)
Im sure you would have liked him CBA. :p

Arsene Wenger
14 Jan 2005, 02:09
KC is a gun

Nicski
14 Jan 2005, 07:05
I love threads like this - great stuff Kane :)

Alternatively you can get the opposite, when a certain player gets really talked up and they end up amounting to nothing...

crazy_big_al
14 Jan 2005, 07:15
I love threads like this - great stuff Kane :)

Alternatively you can get the opposite, when a certain player gets really talked up and they end up amounting to nothing...

M stevens :rolleyes:

Eddie Woloschek
14 Jan 2005, 07:16

Yes, the footy argument is setled, but the jury is still out on who would be the better crook. I guess one's had a good head start and the other is probably not interested in those pursuits.

portentous
14 Jan 2005, 07:34
One has quick hands ON the field and the other......:)

tribey
14 Jan 2005, 08:49
Sticking with the current theme.

How has the 2000 Matthew Bode for our first round pick deal - turned out to be Shaun Burgoyne - worked out for both parties?

I'd say it's win/win.

You've got a 12-year excitement machine, while we've got a player who gives us a midfield option if all our other onballers are abducted 4400-style.

Porthos
14 Jan 2005, 09:12
I think Bode suffered for lack of proper opportunities at Adelaide. Probably a bit late to reform his game now though.

tribey
14 Jan 2005, 09:16
I think Bode suffered for lack of proper opportunities at Adelaide. Probably a bit late to reform his game now though.

Was never worth the first rounder we coughed up for him though.

Too small, too light, poor disposal and lacks pace.

Porthos
14 Jan 2005, 09:18
True, I think we were lucky to get what we did, but compared to giving up #4 for Darryl Wakelin, it seemed reasonable at the time.

Bresh
14 Jan 2005, 14:37
QT = Carmelo Anthony

Point and laugh.

portentous
14 Jan 2005, 14:45
QT = Carmelo Anthony

Point and laugh.

> :D

blackdiamond
14 Jan 2005, 17:09
QT = Carmelo Anthony

Point and laugh.
Im sure Carmelo would use his real name to post under but he probably still can't pronounce it, poor guy!

Ford Fairlane
15 Jan 2005, 15:14
Picking Kane was relatively easy, but I reckon around 3 years ago Macca picked a scrawny Magpies HFF named Aaron Davey to be a future star. Pity the Port staff weren't reading these boards ... ;)

Macca19
15 Jan 2005, 17:40
Picking Kane was relatively easy, but I reckon around 3 years ago Macca picked a scrawny Magpies HFF named Aaron Davey to be a future star. Pity the Port staff weren't reading these boards ... ;)

Correct:

From 20-5-2002
"The thing that impressed me most was the debut of Aaron Davey. Write this name down because he will be a STAR!! That was the most impressive debut ive seen since Mcleod debuted in 94. If you were to combine Peter Burgoynes flashiness with Mcleods pace and evasiveness then this kid is the result. 3 goals, a load of touches and was probably our second best player behind Tony Brown who had about 40 kicks. Its a pity we probably wont have Davey longer than this year tho :("

Dunno why we overlooked him really. He played some very good games and showed his speed and skills often. One that got away.

Ford Fairlane
15 Jan 2005, 21:17
He looked pretty scrawny back then, but he looks a fair size now. I read Gavin was unhappy we didn't pick him up last year after he recommended him (I think they are cousins, and so Gav doesn't like playing against Aaron).

Macca19
16 Jan 2005, 07:59
He was scrawny but he had that raw talent that made you look into your budget and see who it was.