View Full Version : Loss of Gardiner and Embly crippled your side?

sabre_ac
4 Aug 2003, 15:02
I was quitely surprised by the eagles this year and for a while there actually believed they were the second best side in the compeition.
That was untill I realised how reliant they are on these two players.
In all honesty your only two quality key position players, without them your team seems quite second rate.
So my questions to you guys is.

1. When will they both be back in your side
2.Without them are you any hope of causing damage in the finals?

Au_Blue#24
4 Aug 2003, 15:11
Originally posted by sabre_ac
I was quitely surprised by the eagles this year and for a while there actually believed they were the second best side in the compeition.
In all honesty your only two quality key position players, without them your team seems quite second rate.

gardi
embers
fletcher
gaspar

These absentee's have really hurt us. Easily all in the top 10 of our squad. But in saying that, I still believe we could have won yesterdays game with the cattle we had. To many passengers

RzrBlade
4 Aug 2003, 15:32

No. 1st week out of the finals if they don't return and we drop next weeks game. If we win agains the Crows, we should still make the top 4 if we hold our other two home games, and from there should make the prelim - thats as far as I can see us going this year now though.

If we squeeze into the top 4 then we will most likely make the prelim with a home semi-final after a qualifying final loss, but would lose in the premlin most likely.

Jabber
4 Aug 2003, 16:11

I'm surprised Sabre, a quite tactful post.

You may as well say what we are all thinking though - Without Gardy & Embley we are no hope of either getting a top 4 spot or making it past the first week of the finals. :(

Streaker
4 Aug 2003, 16:43
I think Cox did a great job in the ruck and we just need our midfielders to position themselves better. Cox won all afternoon but it was sharked by a Saints player on most occasions. Given a bit more time I am sure Judd, Cousins and Kerr could learn to read him a bit better.

If you ask me our biggest loss has been Fletcher.

daddy_4_eyes
4 Aug 2003, 16:51
We're missing arguably our top 3 performers of the year, clearly we will be weaker without them. It basically means we've dropped back to the pack a bit, whereas with them in the side we're probably amongst the top teams.

Having said that, there is no excuse for the lack of effort, accountability and skill we saw on Sunday.

carlyp
4 Aug 2003, 17:09
Originally posted by daddy_4_eyes
We're missing arguably our top 3 performers of the year, clearly we will be weaker without them. It basically means we've dropped back to the pack a bit, whereas with them in the side we're probably amongst the top teams.

Having said that, there is no excuse for the lack of effort, accountability and skill we saw on Sunday.

Totally agree, but guys do remember that I dont think many teams would beable to cope with the likes of Gardiner, Embley, Fletcher and Gaspar! We've been hit hard by injurys, its badluck but theres nothing we can do about it!

sabre_ac
4 Aug 2003, 17:18
Originally posted by Jabber
I'm surprised Sabre, a quite tactful post.

You may as well say what we are all thinking though - Without Gardy & Embley we are no hope of either getting a top 4 spot or making it past the first week of the finals. :(

Now now Jabber all my posts are tactful on this board.
I may have a dig at the eagles but I at least would like to think I back it up.

carlyp
4 Aug 2003, 17:20
I may have a dig at the eagles but I at least would like to think I back it up.

Yes, you do. I seriously dont think anyone could disagree with what you have to say after yesterdays performance. But I think its best to remember one thing: One good game does not maketh a team neither does one bad game unraveleth a team and their season.

shmardin
4 Aug 2003, 17:49
when are they all back.....any chance this week

Au_Blue#24
4 Aug 2003, 17:59

Your definition of tactful needs to be clarified. Apparently "sound of crickets" and "you must live a sad life" are lewd rude and crude on the freo board. I really want an explanation sabre !!

carlyp
4 Aug 2003, 17:59
Originally posted by shmardin
when are they all back.....any chance this week

I think Gardi and Fletcher are still a week away and Embley is due back for round 22 IIRC. The last I heard is that Gaspar is indefinate!

Black Thunder
4 Aug 2003, 20:16
We came into the game without Gardiner, Embley and Fletcher. Probably our three best players this year - but we still shoulda won - we are a better team.

But when some of your best players really don't have an impact it makes it impossible.

Out top 12 for 2003 so far IMO is - Gardiner, Embley, Fletcher, Cousins, Judd, Wirrpunda, Ph. Matera, Kerr, Chick, Jakovich, Jones and Haynes. (Cox would be in the top 10 if he had been given more chances, but hasn't due to great form of Gardy)

How many of those had an impact on the game - Cousins played well for about a quarter, Wirrpunda was *OK* but far from good, Chick was a notch or two above Chick, Jones put in a 4 quarter effort but there's only so much damage he can do, and Haynes put in about 10 minutes of good footy.

Whilst Judd, Ph. Matera, Kerr and Jakovich had absolute NO impact on the match at all.

And the 5 that did have some sought of a dip, really didn't do anything great themselves.

No side can win when they're best players aren't firing.

This weekend will be more than just a test - it will be our season and show how much heart and courage we have to bounc eback from something like that.

Frodo
4 Aug 2003, 21:43

I don't see Embers as a kpp, he's been in the midfield. We are missing Milli and Gaspar as kpp's. Jako, Doogs, Cox and Gardy have been very handy. Sure losing Milli, Fletch, Gardy, Wooden, Embley and Morrisson is a big blow, but only a temporary one. I would suggest that if Freo lost Pavlich, Haselby, Bell, Cook, Headland and a couple of lesser lights then you guys would be in much bigger trouble.

Kenny_01
4 Aug 2003, 22:19
Originally posted by Frodo
if Freo lost Pavlich, Haselby, Bell, Cook, Headland and a couple of lesser lights then you guys would be in much bigger trouble.

I doubt it. Plus that's nearly our whole midfield. You boys still had Cousins, Kerr and Judd who are meant to be 3 superstar midfielders.

carlyp
4 Aug 2003, 22:46
Originally posted by Kenny_01
I doubt it. Plus that's nearly our whole midfield. You boys still had Cousins, Kerr and Judd who are meant to be 3 superstar midfielders. -

If you guys lost Pavlich and another 2 or 3 of your best players you would definately struggle, just like any side would. Dont deny it. A team is travelling along nicely and then they sustain some injurys to 3 of their best 5 players and you dont think its going to have an adverse affect in the first couple of weeks till the guys that are meant to stand up in the place of the best 3 start pulling their weight and playing well. These 2nd tier players have to learn to play a completely different game when their the players that are expected to fire. We cant expect the likes of Braun and Jones and Chick to change their game that quickly. We got away with it last week because Embley was playing for the majority of the game but this week we crashed. I would expect that the likes of Braun, Jones and Chick will have a much better game against Adelaide.

Ripper
4 Aug 2003, 22:47
I think we beat Brisbane without Simmonds and Carr. Two of our top 8 IMO

carlyp
4 Aug 2003, 22:49
Originally posted by RIPPER_46

In Perth or at the Gabba????

Milkman
4 Aug 2003, 22:58

Hardly your best players.

Ripper
4 Aug 2003, 23:01
Originally posted by Milkman
Hardly your best players.

Both in the top 8. We have some hard decisions soon with trying to find a spot for blokes who are fighting to get IN the side. E.G. Koops , Grover , Siegert & Webster.

ozzult
4 Aug 2003, 23:01
I think we beat Brisbane without Simmonds and Carr. Two of our top 8 IMO Two of your top 8... stretching the straw here.

I think Embley, Fletcher and Gardiner have easily been our 3 best players over the whole season, and to lose your top three is a massive blow. Add to that the injuries of Gaspar, McIntosh, Morrison.

You remove your top three players from any team in the AFL, and it is automatically a weaker side. Although, this is not an excuse for the performance on Sunday.

carlyp
4 Aug 2003, 23:16
Originally posted by ozzult
Two of your top 8... stretching the straw here.

I think Embley, Fletcher and Gardiner have easily been our 3 best players over the whole season, and to lose your top three is a massive blow. Add to that the injuries of Gaspar, McIntosh, Morrison.

You remove your top three players from any team in the AFL, and it is automatically a weaker side. Although, this is not an excuse for the performance on Sunday.

Your exactly right. But still, it just goes to show that when your missing vital players you really have to work harder to cover them. Each player has to work a good 10-15% harder to cover the loss. We didnt do that on the weekend.

mouldy_bread
5 Aug 2003, 00:04
Originally posted by carlyp
We didnt do that on the weekend.

We didn't do anything :(

carlyp
5 Aug 2003, 00:10
Originally posted by mouldy_bread
We didn't do anything :(

True, apart from totally embarressing ourselves and getting ourselves kicked out of the top 4!

Kenny_01
5 Aug 2003, 00:38

Also missing Woods who has been a top 8 player this year. Some of you will say he isn't but I think he is 4th or 5th in our voting. Carr is also around that mark and Simmonds is a bit further down. We've missed McPharlin for a lot of the season, as well as Parker.

Anyway, the point is I think it's clutching at straws saying "oh but the Dockers would be doing much worse if they were missing Pavlich, etc." There was this segment done on Fox Footy a few rounds ago which I saw and it showed which team had been more affected by injury and it had the Dockers at 12th and the Eagles at 13th.

carlyp
5 Aug 2003, 00:43
Anyway, the point is I think it's clutching at straws saying "oh but the Dockers would be doing much worse if they were missing Pavlich, etc." There was this segment done on Fox Footy a few rounds ago which I saw and it showed which team had been more affected by injury and it had the Dockers at 12th and the Eagles at 13th.

Yes but you havent had your BEST three out for long periods like we have! If you had your best three out Im sure the dockers would have had a few performances like ours the other day!

Ripper
5 Aug 2003, 00:44
Yes but you havent had your BEST three out for long periods like we have! If you had your best three out Im sure the dockers would have had a few performances like ours the other day!

Were those 3 out against Port Adelaide?

carlyp
5 Aug 2003, 00:49

Fair point. That was a **** poor effort, I'll accept that! We were beaten by the better side.
We should have beaten the Saints on the weekend, we were the better side. But when youve got 3 of your best injured and your 2nd tier players dont lift to cover for them what do you expect?? Im not blaming our 2nd tier players either, itd be tough for them to change their game to cover Gardiner, Fletcher and Embers.

sabre_ac
5 Aug 2003, 01:01
Originally posted by ozzult
Two of your top 8... stretching the straw here.

Top 3 for the season is not your top 3 players
For example Embley,Fletcher and Gardiner might be your top 3 for the season but your top 3 players are Cousins,Judd and Gardiner.

Fremantle example is top 3 for the season Carr,Haselby and Bell.
Top 3 players Bell,Pavlich,(Any number of players McPharlin,Headland,Haselby,Polak,Farmer,Medhurst etc).

That said I think you over rated Fletcher, solid player but ultimately you would be more hurt had you lost Judd or Cousins.

Kenny_01
5 Aug 2003, 01:01

Yes but you havent had your BEST three out for long periods like we have!

If Cousins, Judd and Wirra were missing, you would probably call those 3 your best 3 players as well.

We should have beaten the Saints on the weekend, we were the better side.

Then Port should go 22-0, Adelaide 20-2, Brisbane, 19-3, Collingwood 18-4 and so on.

Saints were better on the day and that is what counts.

carlyp
5 Aug 2003, 01:05
If Cousins, Judd and Wirra were missing, you would probably call those 3 your best 3 players as well.

Then Port should go 22-0, Adelaide 20-2, Brisbane, 19-3, Collingwood 18-4 and so on.

Saints were better on the day and that is what counts.

If you look at form Sabre, you would see that Fletcher, Gardiner and Embley have been far more consistent and far better generally than Cousins, Judd and Wirra.
Yes the saints were better on the day but that doesnt make them the better side. Its the Eagles who will play finals this season and not the Saints! They were better on the day but their not better overall!

Kenny_01
5 Aug 2003, 01:20
If you look at form Sabre, you would see that Fletcher, Gardiner and Embley have been far more consistent and far better generally than Cousins, Judd and Wirra.

Here is the top 5 of our POTY voting after Rd 13 before the Brisbane game.

1) Peter Bell - 49 (1)
2) Paul Hasleby - 44 (2)
3) Matthew Carr - 38 (2)
4) Dion Woods - 32 (4)
4) Matthew Pavlich - 32 (5)

So against Brisbane, we were missing 2 of our top 4 players for the year, along with Simmonds, our number one ruckman.

doesnt make them the better side. Its the Eagles who will play finals this season and not the Saints! They were better on the day but their not better overall!

Duh.

carlyp
5 Aug 2003, 01:24

1) Peter Bell - 49 (1)
2) Paul Hasleby - 44 (2)
3) Matthew Carr - 38 (2)
4) Dion Woods - 32 (4)
4) Matthew Pavlich - 32 (5)

So against Brisbane, we were missing 2 of our top 4 players for the year, along with Simmonds, our number one ruckman.

Alright fair enough. Injurys affected us but still there are no excuses, we were dismall, we wernt on the ball but rest assured that we'll be much better for the rest of the season!

drexel
5 Aug 2003, 01:46
Freo just has a more even team... only Bell is the standout right now, but most judges would have Gardiner, Fletcher, Embley above Bell on this year alone...then drop off to Pavlich, Haselby and co...
It means we definately rely on our star players more but at least we have them. The word is all 3 will be back by Rd 22 and answer the big question.

carlyp
5 Aug 2003, 01:49
Originally posted by drexel
The word is all 3 will be back by Rd 22 and answer the big question.
Thats good news.

Black Thunder
5 Aug 2003, 01:56
Freo just has a more even team... only Bell is the standout right now, but most judges would have Gardiner, Fletcher, Embley above Bell on this year alone...then drop off to Pavlich, Haselby and co...
It means we definately rely on our star players more but at least we have them. The word is all 3 will be back by Rd 22 and answer the big question.

I thought Gardiner and Fletcher would be back without the next week or two.....Embley back before finals??

carlyp
5 Aug 2003, 02:00
Originally posted by Black Thunder
I thought Gardiner and Fletcher would be back without the next week or two.....Embley back before finals??

That was my understanding too.
Gardiner and Fletcher for the Cats or Demons game and Embley for the dockers game or if were lucky the Demons game!

Kenny_01
5 Aug 2003, 02:08
but most judges would have Gardiner, Fletcher, Embley above Bell on this year alone.

Bell will be a shoe in for the AA side, I guarantee it. He is also paying $14 for the Brownlow. He will be our only player in the AA side though.

carlyp
5 Aug 2003, 02:15
Bell will be a shoe in for the AA side, I guarantee it. He is also paying $14 for the Brownlow. He will be our only player in the AA side though.

I think Gardiner and Embley will be unlucky not to make it and it wouldnt surprise me if Fletcher was in their somewhere too. Apart from a few obvious games the three of them have been great this year!

Black Thunder
5 Aug 2003, 02:29

Bell will definetaly be in there - most probably on the bench.

Embley won't be in there now - this injury would have cost him any chance at all-australian and best and fairest.

Black Thunder
5 Aug 2003, 02:36
Prior to this round I had this team as my AA team:

Backs - Graham John**** - Matthew Scarlett - Gavin Wanganeen
Half Backs - Rohan Smith - Mal Michael - Chris Johnson
Centres - Lenny Hayes - Nathan Buckley - Nick Stevens
Half Forwards - Chris Tarrant - Warren Tredrea - Mark Ricciuto
Forwards - Luke Power - Matthew Lloyd - Phil Matera
Rucks - Michael Gardiner - Chad Fletcher - Michael Voss
Interchange - Adam Goodes - Peter Bell - Matthew Pavlich - Chris Judd

The only change between this week and last week would be Chris Judd dropped or Robert Harvey.

When I made that decision I came to the last position on the bench, and I reckon Harvey had probably had the overall better year but for his ability to win a game I put Judd on the bench........but after last week that has once again tipped the scales in Rob Harvey's favour.

daddy_4_eyes
5 Aug 2003, 12:22

Gardiner out, 6 players injured by the time the final siren rang.

Yeah, we weren't effected by injuries that game...

larrikin
5 Aug 2003, 12:27
There was this segment done on Fox Footy a few rounds ago which I saw and it showed which team had been more affected by injury and it had the Dockers at 12th and the Eagles at 13th.
What's the relevance of this?

A few rounds ago we hadn't had too many injury problems. It's since that time that Gardiner, Embley and Flletcher have gone down which was the whole point of the thread...

Frodo
5 Aug 2003, 12:34
Both in the top 8. We have some hard decisions soon with trying to find a spot for blokes who are fighting to get IN the side. E.G. Koops , Grover , Siegert & Webster.

So how come McManus is still in the side? 50%+ of Freo supporters jeer him at games.

Ripper
5 Aug 2003, 12:36
Originally posted by Frodo
So how come McManus is still in the side? 50%+ of Freo supporters jeer him at games.

Macca has been brilliant this year & very good last year. CC has bought out the best in him.

Frodo
5 Aug 2003, 12:37

It was in that game that Fletcher and gardy were badly injured and others played on with lesser injuries. The Port game was the one that hammered our list with injuries. It is a game I will long remember.

Frodo
5 Aug 2003, 12:41

But you played at Subi...not in Victoria. The home advantage is significant. Neither team has lost at home at Subi no matter what injuries they had.

Frodo
5 Aug 2003, 12:43
Macca has been brilliant this year & very good last year. CC has bought out the best in him.

Like that goal miss from 10m straigh in front last week.....brilliant :rolleyes:

Ripper
5 Aug 2003, 12:52
Don't try to change the subject.

Do you think that Woosha has maybe yelled at them too much and the message isn't getting through? I remember CC replying when asked why he doesn't yell at the players that it only has an effect for a while and it doesn't achieve much. It would be pretty disheartening for a player to get lots of physical attention on the field and then get verbal abuse at 1/4 & i/2 time.

daddy_4_eyes
5 Aug 2003, 13:33

Do you think that Woosha has maybe yelled at them too much and the message isn't getting through? I remember CC replying when asked why he doesn't yell at the players that it only has an effect for a while and it doesn't achieve much. It would be pretty disheartening for a player to get lots of physical attention on the field and then get verbal abuse at 1/4 & i/2 time.

Apparently Woosha is a quietly spoken guy and doesn't say much. He leaves it to his assistants and only spends a handful of minutes talking to the group at the breaks.

[anti-freo jibe]
What must be disheartening is listening to you coach talk about the 5yr plan at every press conference, whether freo win or lose. Players either feel their coach doesn't think much of their current abilities/skill, or they feel they can get away with mediocrity because they are on a "5yr plan".
[/anti-freo jibe]

Kenny_01
5 Aug 2003, 13:34
Ripper, Woosha is a great coach, what are you talking about?

And on McManus, I've been one to bag him a lot but he has been very good this year... amongst our top 10 players for sure.

Larrikin... fair point. Just saying throughout the season though, both teams have been relatively lucky with injuries. We both have missed some players during some point this season.

And against Port Adelaide, those injuries occured after the game was well and truly lost.

noodle
5 Aug 2003, 13:34

please tell me how many times you have seen whoosha go spare on any of the eagles players? if he does yell then it is behind closed doors.

Ripper
5 Aug 2003, 13:36
Ripper, Woosha is a great coach, what are you talking about?

That's what I thought but the Vibe I got from this board is that He stands over the players and they wouldn't dare put a foot wrong.

I must have got the wrong Impression.

Kenny_01
5 Aug 2003, 13:37
Originally posted by daddy_4_eyes

[anti-freo jibe]
What must be disheartening is listening to you coach talk about the 5yr plan at every press conference, whether freo win or lose. Players either feel their coach doesn't think much of their current abilities/skill, or they feel they can get away with mediocrity because they are on a "5yr plan".
[/anti-freo jibe]

Not disheartening at all mate. More than happy with the way things our going. Connolly has his way of doing things and he has stuck to his plan from the day he arrived.

Mr Q
5 Aug 2003, 13:48

I don't really think that the various POTYs around here exactly reflect the value of players. I'd say by now Ben Cousins is leading the BFWCPOTY, but IMO Cousins has not been our best player, nor in our best three. I'd say Gardiner has clearly been our best, but Embley is next. Cox is reasonable cover for Gardiner, but we don't seem to have anyone that can really cover for Embley (Jones would be the closest).

While Cousins and Judd would possibly be better overall players, their actual impact this year has been less than Fletcher, maybe because other teams tend to disregard Fletch, but not having him there means that the damage he has been doing is not there at the moment.

I would say if there is any one player we couldn't afford to lose this year it was Embley. Against the Saints last week though nothing would have saved us, we just had a dog of a day; every team has them every year, and we always seem to reserve a performance like that for St Kilda away.

All in all though, I think its too premature to judge, as I think last week's performance is out of character for the season (Port are just better than us), and that we need to wait a couple of weeks to see if our injury concerns will wipe us out.

carlyp
5 Aug 2003, 13:54
Originally posted by noodle
please tell me how many times you have seen whoosha go spare on any of the eagles players? if he does yell then it is behind closed doors.

The answer is: very rarely. My guess is that IF he had a problem with something someone did on the field he'd say "I wasnt happy with that", if they kept doing it then he might get angry and have a bit of a yell but he'd do it behind closed doors and away from the playing group so as not to embaress the player in concern.

larrikin
5 Aug 2003, 14:38
Larrikin... fair point. Just saying throughout the season though, both teams have been relatively lucky with injuries. We both have missed some players during some point this season.

And against Port Adelaide, those injuries occured after the game was well and truly lost.
Yep, we had a good run up until the Port game, and it just shows our depth isn't up there with the top couple of sides (Port's injury list is just as long as ours).

However, there is no excuse for the performance on Sunday. We had a better 22 on paper than the rabble who turned up.

carlyp
5 Aug 2003, 14:49
Originally posted by larrikin
Yep, we had a good run up until the Port game, and it just shows our depth isn't up there with the top couple of sides (Port's injury list is just as long as ours).

However, there is no excuse for the performance on Sunday. We had a better 22 on paper than the rabble who turned up.

Yep. I believe the players we had playing were good enough to win convincingly but it just goes to show that when you have injurys to your best players and the best players you have left are playing terribly, you really have to rely on the 2nd tier types. Its plain to see that our 2nd tier types arnt up to it when the best 5 or 6 are injured or not performing which was the case on the weekend. We need more from the 2nd tier players when the first 5 players arnt around to perform.

Voice of Reason
5 Aug 2003, 16:17
That's what I thought but the Vibe I got from this board is that He stands over the players and they wouldn't dare put a foot wrong.

I must have got the wrong Impression.

I think the real situation with Woosha is that he has a great deal of respect from the players. He rarely shouts at all - doesn't need to.

On the subject of the thread, much as it pains me to say so, sabre's pretty close. Gardiner was outstanding in the first half of the season and the combination of a dominant ruckman tapping to an excellent attacking midfield was very hard to stop. Fletcher gave us some grunt in the midfield to complement the attack of Cousins, Judd et al.

Losing them both at the same time was cruel and meant we no longer had the dominant midfield, so we had to look for different options. Our main strength, which had enabled our small forward line to kick more than anyone else, was negated. Embley is literally our only player who no other team can successfully match up on and can be relied upon as a tall to bob up in attack, take a mark and score a goal. Losing him was disastrous in the circumstances.

The next 5 weeks will tell and I hope that the St Kilda game was to some extent just "one of those days". But maybe Dennis Cometti is right and we are shot and will just fall into the 8 on %, only beating Melbourne in the run-in.

carlyp
5 Aug 2003, 16:34
Originally posted by Voice of Reason
The next 5 weeks will tell and I hope that the St Kilda game was to some extent just "one of those days". But maybe Dennis Cometti is right and we are shot and will just fall into the 8 on %, only beating Melbourne in the run-in.

I reckon its a one off bad day thats very common in a young side.

Voice of Reason
5 Aug 2003, 16:37
I reckon its a one off bad day thats very common in a young side.

I hope so too. Dennis was basing it on what he saw away to Sydney and Port as well as the first half against Hawthorn though, not just the Saints.

carlyp
5 Aug 2003, 16:44
Originally posted by Voice of Reason
I hope so too. Dennis was basing it on what he saw away to Sydney and Port as well as the first half against Hawthorn though, not just the Saints.

Well he has every right to think that but I think we'll know alot more about this season and our prospects on Saturday night. If we win, were a chance to do something. If we lose we'll make up the numbers imo