View Full Version : Which jumper design do you prefer?
Giants FC
19 Nov 2010, 20:41
There's to be an official poll on the GWS website, but I thought it'd be interesting to get a feel of how the BigFooty GWS board feels about it.
Exhibit A - orange with a charcoal G
http://images.theage.com.au/2010/11/16/2047813/svGWS10-600x400.jpg
Exhibit B - Orange upper, charcoal lower, white G
http://www.abc.net.au/reslib/201011/r674193_4929815.jpg
The Jaguar
19 Nov 2010, 23:21
I went orange with charcoal G.
I originally liked the white G jumper but that was before I saw the side and back of it, which just makes it look horrible. It's got the charcoal side panels and solid orange back which just doesn't suit the front at all. If they made the back match the front better it would get my vote, but it doesn't.
The other jumper therefore wins by default. It's not that inspiring but at least the overall design looks clean from all angles. Personally I would put a charcoal straight yoke on it (like the old Lions jumper) just to break up all the orange a bit.
Both efforts are still better than GC though! :thumbsu:
I prefer the charcoal G. Simple and clean. The only change I would make to it, is to make the collar and cuffs charcoal, it would just define the shape of the jumper a bit more.
The white G is trying a bit to hard to be 'zazzy'. And the the swans (cross town rivals) wear a lot of white, so white should be avoided in my opinion.
Whichever they choose the socks should be changed to orange/charcoal stripes, like richmond or essendon. Stripey socks are just better.
MightyFighting
20 Nov 2010, 09:54
The orange, charcoal and white one has the advantage that its colours are more different from Hawthorn's and Richmond's.
Mr Crow!
20 Nov 2010, 13:06
I chose: Orange upper, charcoal lower, white G
UrLordLeper
20 Nov 2010, 13:10
I voted for the 'white G' option, purely because I feel it is the one that is the more appealing to their potential young fans, and would sell more of. Personally I'm not overjoyed with either design.
Both jumpers would do well with balck trim around the neck and arm holes, as there needs to be more definition between the jumper and the players' skin tones. Personally I thing the 'g' shape isn't instantly recognisable as a 'G' either.
The possible 'away' guensey in Blue would probably look the best based on the 'charcoal G' design. Have all the orange changed to a light blue, and then have either orange panels at the side with a orange G, orang panels with a charcoal G, or charcoal panels with an orange G.
Done.
MightyFighting
20 Nov 2010, 13:39
The 2nd jumper is clearly the public's favourite, which no doubt guarantees that the first jumper will be chosen.
Mr Crow!
20 Nov 2010, 13:53
The 2nd jumper is clearly the public's favourite, which no doubt guarantees that the first jumper will be chosen.
I was about to say exactly the same thing! :)
The white G is a great looking jumper.
The Jaguar
20 Nov 2010, 16:06
I think people need to see the whole jumper in order to make a proper choice. This is a picture of the "white G" jumper from the side, which shows the charcoal side panel and the all-orange back. I just think its a bit sloppy from a design prespective because the lower panel of charcoal doesn't flow around to the back at all and the "white G" gets cut off by the side panel. I just think it looks messy.
The all orange jumper looks the same from the back, but at least it matches the front of the jumper. I dunno its just my opinion. I was on board the "white G" jumper before I saw this pick, which just ruined it for me completely.
http://i53.tinypic.com/4qo3si.jpg
I agree with people needing to see the whole jumper, but that look actually makes it prefer it to the whole orange one. I feel the orange isn't a good enough looking colour to feature on the whole of the jumper, it needs some contrast and this obviously provides it.
UrLordLeper
20 Nov 2010, 17:16
I think people need to see the whole jumper in order to make a proper choice. This is a picture of the "white G" jumper from the side, which shows the charcoal side panel and the all-orange back. I just think its a bit sloppy from a design prespective because the lower panel of charcoal doesn't flow around to the back at all and the "white G" gets cut off by the side panel. I just think it looks messy.
The all orange jumper looks the same from the back, but at least it matches the front of the jumper. I dunno its just my opinion. I was on board the "white G" jumper before I saw this pick, which just ruined it for me completely.
http://i53.tinypic.com/4qo3si.jpg
Well I understand that, the 'white G' option would look better if it was orange and charcoal at the back as well as the front.. But it doesn't change my preference as both backs are orange..
I reckon the orange on the back looks good.
Aren't they going to be wearing both anyway?
I reckon the orange on the back looks good.
Aren't they going to be wearing both anyway?
Until they bring there Blue one out.
The thing that gets me about the orange with charcoal G is that gthe design is basically the same as GC only different colors. We don't really want that do we?
Mr Eagle
21 Nov 2010, 20:31
The thing that gets me about the orange with charcoal G is that gthe design is basically the same as GC only different colors. We don't really want that do we?
There's that, plus the fact that the G is a bit of a dud. If the monogram was a stronger symbol, I wouldn't mind it at all...in fact given that I reckon GC's home strip won't survive five years, I'd say go for it and let them be the ones to change.
don't mind either of the jumpers; but i personally prefer the "white G" jumper
on a sidenote, has anyone purchased a gws giants jumper?
Mitchell Madness
29 Nov 2010, 06:52
should have been a wide "V" jumper with the current colours, would have looked much better.
by wide v i mean a simmilar design to Melbourne Victory in the A league
matty p
12 Dec 2010, 16:57
It simply has to be the all-orange guernsey. The all-orange will actually give the Giants an identity. Orange will be synonymous with GWS much like purple is now synonymous with Freo. The other guernsey choice is just a mish-mash of colours and the off-centre G just makes it even worse.
Look at what happened at Freo. They originally went for the complicated 4 colours of purple, white, green and red, but the club finally realised that it was purple at heart and have now simplified the guernseys to purple and white.
A kit consisting of an orange upper and charcoal lower with the charcoal shorts would of looked decent I think.
So basically the second picture without the 'G'.
Damo Crows Fan
13 Dec 2010, 15:09
The possible 'away' guensey in Blue would probably look the best based on the 'charcoal G' design. Have all the orange changed to a light blue, and then have either orange panels at the side with a orange G, orang panels with a charcoal G, or charcoal panels with an orange G.
Done.
Couldn't. agree. more. I've done a quick mock up of what this could look like for a jumper thread, and even my p!ss weak paint effort looked better.
http://i874.photobucket.com/albums/ab303/nomadbass/BETTERGWS.jpg
I'd also like to know whether it was Falous choice or the GWS execs to put him in the 'white G' one. Might just be luck of the draw, but to many people the idea of picking 'Izzies Jumper' make it all that more appealing. He's the face of the club for its early years, so for ever on now we'll look back at these formative years and see him in THAT guernsey regadless of whether it gets picked or not. Idont know if that will have any bearing, but its worth thinking about.
Mr Eagle
13 Dec 2010, 16:35
I'd also like to know whether it was Falous choice or the GWS execs to put him in the 'white G' one. Might just be luck of the draw, but to many people the idea of picking 'Izzies Jumper' make it all that more appealing.
I reckon you're spot-on. They're using that jumper in what seems like the majority of their promo stuff.
4DiMeNSiONaL
16 Dec 2010, 08:07
White G.
The all orange reminds me of NAB Cup umpires.
White G.
But agree that the charcoal (which is looking rather black in the photos) should be on the lower back as well. And the arm/neck trim should be charcoal as well.
But to add more contrast and establish the orange as the primary color I would have it with orange shorts. :eek: :thumbsu: :D
If Essendon can wear red shorts, GWS should have orange shorts.
And also think the striped socks might go OK as well. Need more orange!
Anyone want to do a front/back markup of this suggestion? White G jumper - extend charcoal around back, charcoal arm/neck trim, orange shorts, orange/black hoops on the socks.
I'm telling you - its a winner.
Everton
26 Dec 2010, 11:42
I prefer the charcoal G. Simple and clean. The only change I would make to it, is to make the collar and cuffs charcoal, it would just define the shape of the jumper a bit more.
The white G is trying a bit to hard to be 'zazzy'. And the the swans (cross town rivals) wear a lot of white, so white should be avoided in my opinion.
Whichever they choose the socks should be changed to orange/charcoal stripes, like richmond or essendon. Stripey socks are just better.
Agreed
recently got the white G jumper-
Front:
http://i518.photobucket.com/albums/u345/Zanek19928/gwsjumperfront.png
Back:
http://i518.photobucket.com/albums/u345/Zanek19928/gwsjumperback.png
I think it looks really good :)
soreplums
5 Jan 2011, 23:30
Greater West Sydney Rangas? Change the "G" to an "R" and recruit Lingy!
Honestly, I don't mind the jumper but I agree that a Charcoal and Orange back with a white number would look better. I like the way the colours are similar to Balmain/Wests Tigers. It may encourage their supporters to at keep an eye on a "second" team like Victorians do with the Storm.
Greater West Sydney Rangas? Change the "G" to an "R" and recruit Lingy!
Honestly, I don't mind the jumper but I agree that a Charcoal and Orange back with a white number would look better. I like the way the colours are similar to Balmain/Wests Tigers. It may encourage their supporters to at keep an eye on a "second" team like Victorians do with the Storm.
Not everyone in Western Sydney supports Balmain/West Tigers therefore I think it was a bad move.
Mr Crow!
8 Jan 2011, 23:28
I wonder when this will be decided by the club?
What will they wear in their 2 x 40 minute games in the first round of the NAB Cup?
My prediction ... they will wear one design in one game, a different one in the other. Probably the last chance to showcase the two before the final decision is made.
What colour are the socks on option B? I prefer option B's design but notice that the socks are cut off in the image.
Mr Eagle
3 Feb 2011, 21:06
What colour are the socks on option B? I prefer option B's design but notice that the socks are cut off in the image.
Same socks for both - all-orange.
UrLordUnbeliever
8 Feb 2011, 23:12
Perhaps we could redo this poll with the recently discovered 3rd strip the GWG boys have been wearing..
Mr Crow!
28 Mar 2011, 06:26
I thought that it was going to be decided which jumper would be the official one at the NAB cup games... what happened?
Mr Eagle
29 Mar 2011, 00:36
I thought that it was going to be decided which jumper would be the official one at the NAB cup games... what happened?
Decided to take their time, I'm guessing. Declaring your hand a season ahead of your AFL debut wasn't the best plan to start with.
Mr Eagle
29 Mar 2011, 20:28
If you look at the team shop online (messy as it is), orange/charcoal/white is now 'official playing guernsey' and orange with monogram is now 'training guernsey'.
Tassie19Cairns20
31 Mar 2011, 10:14
I like the first one better, but both designs look good to me. Big fan of the orange.
von_wafer
13 Apr 2011, 19:01
Perhaps we could redo this poll with the recently discovered 3rd strip the GWG boys have been wearing..
Which is the 3rd strip? I've only seen the 2 mentioned in the OP. Pretty keen on getting the orange and charcoal with white G, have seen it for $95 at Rebel.
AussieFTW
14 Apr 2011, 12:37
Which is the 3rd strip? I've only seen the 2 mentioned in the OP. Pretty keen on getting the orange and charcoal with white G, have seen it for $95 at Rebel.
This is the one.
http://www1.pictures.zimbio.com/gi/Adam+Treloar+GWS+Giants+Training+Session+OirJJhiDpaKl.jpg
Interesting thing about this one is that is has a grey back, where the backs of both alternatives are orange..
Might mean it gets used as a alternate / clash gurnsey against teams with red/yellow backs..
Either way it's grown on me.
von_wafer
14 Apr 2011, 17:12
Not bad though I still think I prefer the other one. Gonna buy one as soon as I find it in my size.
Jose Cruzeiro
17 Apr 2011, 14:22
This is the one.
http://www1.pictures.zimbio.com/gi/Adam+Treloar+GWS+Giants+Training+Session+OirJJhiDpaKl.jpg
Interesting thing about this one is that is has a grey back, where the backs of both alternatives are orange..
Might mean it gets used as a alternate / clash gurnsey against teams with red/yellow backs..
This one with a charcoal (or even orange) back would rock! :thumbsu:
AussieFTW
17 Apr 2011, 16:19
I am happy with the grey back, it should be either a charcoal or grey back. Have a primarily orange strip, and have a more neutral stip like this, that would be sweet.
CC Giant
18 Apr 2011, 16:03
The three stripes is a good design, but has clashes with the Saints and Magpies.
A quick note; it was difficult to pick Saturday's jumpers from a distance, with the Hawthorn Jumpers and our blending quite a lot.
Personally, I would like to see orange being the dominant colour, with hooped sox or black sox with orange trim. A white away strip would be ideal, with subtle lines of orange and charcoal defining our identity.
Murraj1966
18 Apr 2011, 16:33
Get your own design!
AussieFTW
18 Apr 2011, 21:17
The three stripes is a good design, but has clashes with the Saints and Magpies.
A quick note; it was difficult to pick Saturday's jumpers from a distance, with the Hawthorn Jumpers and our blending quite a lot.
Personally, I would like to see orange being the dominant colour, with hooped socks or black sock with orange trim. A white away strip would be ideal, with subtle lines of orange and charcoal defining our identity.
Yeah, as good as the 3 stripes is, it's probably not a great option against teams like St Kilda, Collingwood or even Hawthorn.
So you're saying in the AFL there's a possibility our 'white G' gurnsey could clash with the Hawks? I suppose it's not a huge deal, as we will be coming up with a 'light' clash strip as well, which I am hoping will be an alternate version of the 'white G' strip, with orange at the top, a charcoal G and white /silver/grey everywhere else.
HARPSichord
18 Apr 2011, 21:23
This is the one.
That is an awesome jumper. :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:
Where can I buy one??
Everton
18 Apr 2011, 23:30
http://img200.imageshack.us/i/gwsshouldbejumpers2012.jpg/
These should be the GWS Giants kits from next season.
Left to right: Home, Away, Clash, Clash v Swans.
I added sky blue because (1) that is the traditional NSW colour, (2) orange, sky blue and charcoal are awesome colour combinations and (3) GWS said they were going to have sky blue as an away or clash jumper.
von_wafer
18 Apr 2011, 23:32
Where can I buy one??
Not sure about that one but the I've seen the white 'G' jumper at Rebel sport for $95, elsewhere for $110.
bipolarbeaR
24 Apr 2011, 20:46
Where can I buy one??
All it needs is an Eagle logo in the middle :P
GiantForce
24 Apr 2011, 20:53
Personally I prefer the Orange with chargoal G
AussieFTW
25 Apr 2011, 14:52
I'm looking forwrd to the announcement of our 2012 playing strips - including the ACT strips!
thedaz47
28 Apr 2011, 14:27
Are both still available online? It'd be pretty cool to get the one they don't use.
von_wafer
30 Apr 2011, 19:23
Are both still available online? It'd be pretty cool to get the one they don't use.
It was last I checked. Advertised as their training jumper.
Only available in kids sorry.
https://secure.shopdesq.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=productlisting&CategoryID=1986&OrgID=7972
zimmer86
1 May 2011, 12:09
Well i bought myself a gurnsey the other day, must say they do look good. Will be good to see this so called light blue jumper. Does anyone know when this will happen. On the GWS site they are asking for people to come up the GWS ACT home gurnsey.
Mr Eagle
1 May 2011, 13:05
Well they're looking for a symbol...which they may or may not ignore completely.
Having said that, I've got some entries in there so everyone be nice about the process ;)
muttley45
3 May 2011, 19:16
This is the one.
looks like a badly faded/bleached st kilda jumper :thumbsd:
thedaz47
4 May 2011, 08:40
I guess I'm planning to buy the matchday one then. I live in a mining camp and can't wait to wear it to rugby league training out here. c=
AussieFTW
5 May 2011, 00:01
looks like a badly faded/bleached st kilda jumper :thumbsd:
I thought that when I saw it too - but the Saints jumper goes Black, White Red, when the Giants is Orange, White, Charcoal...
Anyway it's grown on me a lot since I first saw it..
High Flying Flag
5 May 2011, 16:46
I'm in love with the stripes. Would probably buy one to support the club if they had that design. I'm keen on GWS
High Flying Flag
5 May 2011, 16:48
Get your own design!
You change yours so much that there's no guessing what yours will look like in 5 years :p
Besides, Collingwood, Hawthorn and North are doing fine. So are Richmond and Essendon and as are Melbourne, Sydney and Port. Even yourselves and WCE have the same design now.
Everyone's crying out for traditional designs, let them have one like yours then
NobleBlood
10 May 2011, 06:28
This is the one.
I actually went and found that exact pic and was going to post it til you had hehe.
Anyway its amazing. It is so much more attractive than the original. The "G" is so ugly and untraditional. Its obviously similar to St Kilda and so it carries a sort of afl icon. Its like a legitimate AFL jumper. When you compare the AFL jumpers to other sports like NRL, the NRL have zero tradition and some clubs change their home jumper design yearly.
This one has identity, and is simplistic and unostentatious. This has to be used as a home jumper. They already failed on the colours, and if they do a shitty design to, gawd that will be disappointing.
Black Falcon
12 May 2011, 09:01
The three panel Saints strip was iconic until WCE borrowed the idea for their new home strip and added the eagle.
The Suns have shown that being original with their strip (sorry Carlton) really works.
So I'd rather GWS keep to their launch strips rather than adopt a Saints copycat. Orange and charcoal = HOME , other one AWAY cos of its white G.
The Saints style may be kept for extreme clash occasions, as an emergency, as orange can clash easily. Maybe the launch jersey design will clash badly with other club guernseys, we won't know till it begins.
Demons had to drop their silver alternative, as did Freo their 'green' strip.
Stick to the launch designs for a few years at least. :footy:
AussieFTW
12 May 2011, 19:18
The three panel Saints strip was iconic until WCE borrowed the idea for their new home strip and added the eagle.
The Suns have shown that being original with their strip (sorry Carlton) really works.
So I'd rather GWS keep to their launch strips rather than adopt a Saints copycat. Orange and charcoal = HOME , other one AWAY cos of its white G.
The Saints style may be kept for extreme clash occasions, as an emergency, as orange can clash easily. Maybe the launch jersey design will clash badly with other club guernseys, we won't know till it begins.
Demons had to drop their silver alternative, as did Freo their 'green' strip.
Stick to the launch designs for a few years at least. :footy:
I don't think there's anything wrong with the Giants having a strip similar to that of St Kilda..
Essendon and Richmond have a very similar strip, just different colours.. Same with the Kangaroos, Hawthorn and Collingwood.
If they were going to copy a traditional strip though, I really wish they'd gone with something different though.. But this one does look damn good.
Black Falcon
12 May 2011, 19:35
Aussie, can someone give us the costing to fit a team with new guernseys.
I'm sure it aint cheap, and that if the GWS (sorry AFL) have already invested that amount in the Saints lookalike, and the guernseys are in the kit lockers somewhere, then they will be used. So you are stuck with them.
Question is, the application.
Is the Saints guernsey the H or A ?
Regarding a clash strip, surely a whitish version with some orange and charcoal on it would be needed, but no news on it.
That would make 4 alternatives. Too many.
Are those two 'launch' strips the final item or were they 'developmenmtal' ?
Mr Eagle
13 May 2011, 20:10
The team hasn't committed to any strips at all for 2012. They will, in all likelihood, look at how people react to the various jumpers they play in and train in this year to get a feel for the best option for their debut in the AFL.
GiantForce
13 May 2011, 22:25
The team hasn't committed to any strips at all for 2012. They will, in all likelihood, look at how people react to the various jumpers they play in and train in this year to get a feel for the best option for their debut in the AFL.
Yeah, no point in getting all hyped and fussed about these ones. I think the one with the white G might be our main jumper next year. But other than that it's a guessing game. The one with the charcoal G/the one stripped one may never be seen again after this year.
Do we even need a clash/away jumper? Cant see any clashes between the other 17 clubs home jumpers and our likely 2012 one (White G with Orange and Charcoal). The closest thing to a clash is Hawthorn...and blind Freddie can see the difference.
In 2012 we just need our main jumper and an ACT jumper (Which shouldn't be too different from our main one, maybe just move the AFL and Skoda logos on the jumper down an inch or 2 down and put the ACT Flag and ACT symbol above them. I'd be happy with that).
Everton
14 May 2011, 08:28
Do we even need a clash/away jumper? Cant see any clashes between the other 17 clubs home jumpers and our likely 2012 one (White G with Orange and Charcoal). The closest thing to a clash is Hawthorn...and blind Freddie can see the difference.
Against Gold Coast, Sydney and Hawthorn.
Personally I think GWS should go with the orange jumper with charcoal G and for away games against the clubs mentioned, charcoal jumper with orange G (basically just a reverse).
GiantForce
14 May 2011, 14:37
Against Gold Coast, Sydney and Hawthorn.
Personally I think GWS should go with the orange jumper with charcoal G and for away games against the clubs mentioned, charcoal jumper with orange G (basically just a reverse).
Sydney? Are you blind? The GWS main jumper and the Sydney main jumper are completely different from each other! Same with GC. They'd be more a clash between an all white jumper and a all black jumper!
Fair enough for Hawthorn...but really some white shorts for the away team would solve that
Everton
14 May 2011, 14:40
Sydney? Are you blind? The GWS main jumper and the Sydney main jumper are completely different from each other! Same with GC. They'd be more a clash between an all white jumper and a all black jumper!
Fair enough for Hawthorn...but really some white shorts for the away team would solve that
Sydney and Gold Coast clash from the back (all red v all orange)
GiantForce
14 May 2011, 14:46
Sydney and Gold Coast clash from the back (all red v all orange)
White shorts anybody? For a GWS home game just have the GC/Swans put some white shorts on and vice versa. There's no problem IMO
Everton
14 May 2011, 14:47
White shorts anybody? For a GWS home game just have the GC/Swans put some white shorts on and vice versa. There's no problem IMO
White shorts don't work nowadays as some players wear compression stuff inside their shorts and it makes them look like they are wearing white shorts on TV.
GiantForce
14 May 2011, 14:59
White shorts don't work nowadays as some players wear compression stuff inside their shorts and it makes them look like they are wearing white shorts on TV.
Thanks to gava93 from the jumpers resources thread http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=823975&page=3
http://i599.photobucket.com/albums/tt79/gava93/Sydney20111.png?t=1305177161
http://i599.photobucket.com/albums/tt79/gava93/GWS20111.png?t=1305178337
If you struggle to tell the back of those jumpers apart somethings wrong with your eyes
Everton
14 May 2011, 15:50
Thanks to gava93 from the jumpers resources thread http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=823975&page=3
http://i599.photobucket.com/albums/tt79/gava93/Sydney20111.png?t=1305177161
http://i599.photobucket.com/albums/tt79/gava93/GWS20111.png?t=1305178337
If you struggle to tell the back of those jumpers apart somethings wrong with your eyes
Have to admit Jumper 1 with charcoal shorts gets rid of the clash, but I do believe GWS should go with Jumper 2, with orange shorts and orange socks. And reverse the design for the clash. White should be avoided in their jumper as it is a part of the Swans colours.
GiantForce
14 May 2011, 16:00
Well the jumper posted there (Orange upper, charcoal lower, white G, charoal shorts and orange socks) will more than likely be our main one in 2012. The only team it might clash with would be the Hawks...but even then its still pretty clear to tell who's who
Mr Eagle
14 May 2011, 16:45
The AFL's policy on what clashes with what is not necessarily based on common sense.
GiantForce
14 May 2011, 16:53
As proven with the Lions and GC. Every Clash match one team will have to wear their Clash jumper!
But the difference between GWS and Sydney's jumpers is far greater than Lions and Suns
Everton
14 May 2011, 18:27
Well the jumper posted there (Orange upper, charcoal lower, white G, charoal shorts and orange socks) will more than likely be our main one in 2012. The only team it might clash with would be the Hawks...but even then its still pretty clear to tell who's who
The orange jumper with charcoal G should be the main jumper as it would last longer. the other one will end up like Port Adelaide and Fremantle's old jumper.
Also just watched the news and the GWS jumper (v Brisbane Lions reserves) has a grey G and GWS were wearing grey shorts (as the away team).
The AFL's policy on what clashes with what is not necessarily based on common sense.
It's not really based on colour. It's based on a combination of light vs dark and who kicks up a stink. Since the AFL basically own GWS, the latter part is out , so red and orange could both be "light" colours.
GiantForce
14 May 2011, 18:57
The orange jumper with charcoal G should be the main jumper as it would last longer. the other one will end up like Port Adelaide and Fremantle's old jumper.
Also just watched the news and the GWS jumper (v Brisbane Lions reserves) has a grey G and GWS were wearing grey shorts (as the away team).
Hey I dont disagree. I prefer the one with orange and Charocal G (However I do like both). But the one with Orange upper, charcoal lower, white G, charoal shorts and orange socks will most likely be our main jumper
Black Falcon
14 May 2011, 23:57
I was at the game Everton, and GWS definitely wore their white G and white shorts as the away team. Looked alright too, which surprised me cos I thought it was the weakest. But thats the thing, its only when you see the GWS guernseys played in day and night that we'll really know as to their effect from a marketing/brand viewpoint.
Meantime Everton, check your TV colour adjustments, as the GWS were definitely not wearing 'grey' or charcoal shorts today. I was there. :D
Black Falcon
15 May 2011, 00:05
Hey I dont disagree. I prefer the one with orange and Charocal G (However I do like both). But the one with Orange upper, charcoal lower, white G, charoal shorts and orange socks will most likely be our main jumper
And I'm the opposite. The white G and white shorts worked a treat as the Away strip.
This would mean that the orange and charcoal top and charcoal shorts would be the Home strip as it is darker. Consequently, it would force all other visiting teams to wear their light strips or white clash strip.
Its as simple as that. Maybe the 3 panel Saints copy will be used when there's a design clash, but against who, as the GWS design is otherwise original.
Mr Eagle
15 May 2011, 13:08
Actually... I think they were pale silver shorts!
http://www.gwsgiants.com.au/assets/files/News Images/brissynewsacademy.jpg (http://www.gwsgiants.com.au/assets/files/News Images/brissynewsacademy.jpg)
Look at it full size and compare the G to the shorts - they are definitely different colours!
I love that jumper. Hopefully it's the one we keep come AFL time.
westie88
15 May 2011, 14:56
I like the white "G" jumper better - looks better with the charcoal shorts than the white/silver (whatever colour it is!) shorts.
Love the guernsey but a no for those shorts, wow.
Mitchell Madness
16 May 2011, 00:33
GWS should go for a striped jumper
Orange base, Charcoal stripes with a white outline on the stripes
GiantForce
28 May 2011, 15:27
What's this jumper? No clash at all V Eastlake with our main jumper. Away Jumper? We've played lots of Away games already and havent worn that
http://desmond.yfrog.com/Himg610/scaled.php?tn=0&server=610&filename=2cxlw.jpg&xsize=640&ysize=640
That looks like a training jumper, not a real one...
GiantForce
28 May 2011, 17:13
Well thats what we wore today. That was the lads going into the rooms at HT.
Sheedy talking to the team at QTR time.
http://desmond.yfrog.com/Himg620/scaled.php?tn=0&server=620&filename=87489497.jpg&xsize=640&ysize=640
Choco talking to the team at 3QTR time.
http://desmond.yfrog.com/Himg614/scaled.php?tn=0&server=614&filename=vxdgg.jpg&xsize=640&ysize=640
BIGDAZR
28 May 2011, 19:08
i like that jumper better then the orange one
Mr Eagle
28 May 2011, 19:15
Nothing wrong with experimenting at a time like this.
GiantForce
28 May 2011, 19:27
While I think it's good they've got the blue to represent NSW sporting colours......I think we're better off not having any blue at all. We should just stick to our colours. Orange, Charcoal and white for all our jumpers.
Jirahax
30 May 2011, 16:13
The second jumper with the charcoal bottom and orange is personally my favourite, it really stands out on the field.