View Full Version : Cameron White - the man Australia's been missing
Cameron White has been overlooked as a candidate for a middle order spot in our test side for too long. Such a classy player who we often associate with being 'only good for the OD/t20 format', or reckless with his wicket. At 27, his time is coming to become apart of the test side, hopefully replacing one of the under pressure batsman in our middle order. (Hussey, or North if they can't maintain form) He is the perfect fit in terms of age (cricketers reach their prime in their late 20s-early 30s, eg. Shane Watson), and his experience will certainly enable any younger guys we bring into the side after to flourish. Has captained Victoria, Australia A and Aust. under 19s in various formats. We often call for the older guys in Hussey and North to be dropped, but the fact is if they were in form it wouldn't be a problem.
Surely the perfect combination of experience and versatility (his FC record is often overlooked and deflated because he played as a spinner at times, has averaged 50+ in the last 3 years) is what our side needs. The best leader in Australian cricket should be in the side, because for mine his temperment and ability is what our middle order needs.
dan warna
21 Nov 2010, 10:44
Aye, I think he should be groomed as captain or vice captain.
He certainly won't be a batsman with an average of 50, but he's a fantastic slips fielder, he has a great tactical head, and is a proven winner as captain.
If he can average as well as M. Waugh or Taylor, plus hold down first slip, mid on and captain or vice captain, he'll be worth the 5 or so runs difference between with an average in the mid to low 40s.
Plugger35
21 Nov 2010, 10:47
We could do a lot worse than picking White as a no.6 batsman. He is an attacking, fast scoring batsman which is perfect for that role plus he has good leadership ability and is one of the best slips fielders in the country.
Not sure why he hasn't been mentioned as a contender along with Ferguson and Khawaja. I think maybe the fact he is still viewed as an allrounder and a specialist ODI and T20 player gets counted against him.
Personally I reckon he would be a better selection at no.6 than either Ferguson or Khawaja, at least in the short term.
We could do a lot worse than picking White as a no.6 batsman. He is an attacking, fast scoring batsman which is perfect for that role plus he has good leadership ability and is one of the best slips fielders in the country.
Not sure why he hasn't been mentioned as a contender along with Ferguson and Khawaja. I think maybe the fact he is still viewed as an allrounder and a specialist ODI and T20 player gets counted against him.
Personally I reckon he would be a better selection at no.6 than either Ferguson or Khawaja, at least in the short term.
Among the reasons he has not been mentioned is his FC form had a small blip. Part of it may have been to do with playing a lot of limited overs cricket but there was a dry spell between hundreds until yesterday. Given Khawaja's form has dipped slightly if White can go back to Shield cricket and back his Australia A ton up he could well put his name forward.
Hussey/North may getting first crack at the Test team but any failures will see spots open up and the coming Shield game is a great chance for all contending batsman to show there names, none more so than White.
Gazza_11
21 Nov 2010, 11:45
My only problem with White is his straigh bat. Too many times we see him getting bowled through the gate early in his innings. Happened against SL at the MCG and in Sydney, and I think in the first innings for Australia A.
Plus numerous times last summer. If he works harder on that in his first 10-20 runs he has to be in the side. Could have been in there 2 years!
Gak Attack
21 Nov 2010, 13:43
My only problem with White is his straigh bat. Too many times we see him getting bowled through the gate early in his innings. Happened against SL at the MCG and in Sydney, and I think in the first innings for Australia A.
Plus numerous times last summer. If he works harder on that in his first 10-20 runs he has to be in the side. Could have been in there 2 years!
Agree but I also think he should be in the team. He would be the ideal 'floater' in a Test side... it's a shame they don't play them in tests though. I wonder if in future Paine does replace Haddin if this move will help White? White followed by Haddin currently could get you a lot of runs quickly or give the opposition 2 quick wicket, perhaps when a more defensive player comes in at 7 they will need a player like White somewhere in the batting lineup in my opinion.
Bucking Beads
21 Nov 2010, 13:48
Will be tough for him to get in the side at number 6 with Steve Smith around IMO. I dunno if Whites batting is up to Test cricket.... Would be worth a crack for sure. Couldn't do ay worse that Andy Symonds
australian selectors have been missing his form... doesn't immediately scream for attention like say, r mcdonald might have done lately. in fact looking at the games he hasn't played much cricket... made a 1 and 7 and i think that's all he may have played this season?
(forgot australian a vs eng XI)
pretty much can pick him in the ODI's without worry. power-hitting, good field/slip, leadership.
his introduction to tests was probably not all that good though if i remember he was picked as half-half, spinner batting at 8. north or hussey make way you'd probably have to include him, or as we also like to do, pick a youngster like kwaj to play 6 before they play higher up later in their career.
SurfingTheVoid
21 Nov 2010, 14:48
Not a good enough bat for the top 6, not a good enough bowler for anything.
Pity, as his captaincy is astute. But he has poor technique and is not Test-worthy (yet, maybe ever).
eddiesmith
21 Nov 2010, 15:02
Why Ferguson is rated ahead of him is the biggest mystery of all
SurfingTheVoid
21 Nov 2010, 15:09
Ferguson has a better record in Shield, where it actually matters.
eddiesmith
21 Nov 2010, 15:17
Ferguson has a better record in Shield, where it actually matters.
Oh yeah that half a run is massive difference, of course you always ignore the fact that Ferguson also has a career high season of 42, been about 5 years since White had a year that bad... :)
White since moving to more of playing as just a batsman has averaged over 50.
He also plays limited shield cricket due to his ODI commitments.
Will get a crack eventually, but to rate someone like Smith ahead of him is ridiculous.
White has the knowledge, and only the short sighted posters will assume he is only good for one format. Has all the traits of a quality middle order player. (6 for mine)
rioli is a hack
21 Nov 2010, 15:34
The simpe truth is White simply isn't a test standard player.
He lacks class and ability.
He has already played 4 tests too many where he averaged 29 with the bat and 68 with the ball.
His first class average is well....average at best. Only 42 with the bat and 40 with the ball.
You are seriously deluded if you think this guy is the answer to our Test team problems.
But then again you guys think Siddle, McKay and Hastings are international standard cricketers......go figure. :confused:
Bucking Beads
21 Nov 2010, 15:52
Will get a crack eventually, but to rate someone like Smith ahead of him is ridiculous.
White has the knowledge, and only the short sighted posters will assume he is only good for one format. Has all the traits of a quality middle order player. (6 for mine)
Get your Bushrangers cap off champ.... White is a gun and would most likely go well given a solid run in test cricket. Smith should be rated highly at his age to show what he has with the bat is very very good. If he continues with his improvement he will be twice the player White is.
So your judging his test prospects based on when he was our front line spinner in India, batting at 8?
Even the great Warne had issues there.
rioli is a hack
21 Nov 2010, 15:55
Get your Bushrangers cap off champ.... White is a gun and would most likely go well given a solid run in test cricket. Smith should be rated highly at his age to show what he has with the bat is very very good. If he continues with his improvement he will be twice the player White is.
Excuse me?
You can't acquire class. Class is like grace, and you can't have a little grace. You either have grace or you don't.
Sorry mate, White has no class.
He may be a gun, but only of the water pistol variety. :mad:
Bucking Beads
21 Nov 2010, 15:59
Excuse me?
You can't acquire class. Class is like grace, and you can't have a little grace. You either have grace or you don't.
He is a gun in ODI and T20 format, do you watch cricket or just dribble crap??
Obviously White has alot going for him, their late coach made him the youngest captain in their history.
His efforts for our ODI side suggest otherwise mate, he often adapts to the state of our innings to make runs and put us in a winning position. I just don't see how someone like North or Hussey are better options. He ticks every box, looking at his FC figures only show how he's been able swiftly move from being a bowling all rounder to a middle order batsman. Is there really alot wrong with having an aggressive streak to your game in the test arena?
For God's sake.
Aren't you Victorians happy enough that you've destroyed the national team by forcing a whole galaxy of duds on us already? :eek:
Please not another one.
White has already been given a very decent go at international level, and been found wanting.
rioli is a hack
21 Nov 2010, 16:04
He is a gun in ODI and T20 format, do you watch cricket or just dribble crap??
You obviously can't comprehend the OP which clearly frames this thread around White being selected in the TEST TEAM.
I guess you are just trying to hijack this thread. BF doesn't need trolls like you.
:heart:
rioli is a hack
21 Nov 2010, 16:05
Obviously White has alot going for him, their late coach made him the youngest captain in their history.
His efforts for our ODI side suggest otherwise mate, he often adapts to the state of our innings to make runs and put us in a winning position. I just don't see how someone like North or Hussey are better options. He ticks every box, looking at his FC figures only show how he's been able swiftly move from being a bowling all rounder to a middle order batsman. Is there really alot wrong with having an aggressive streak to your game in the test arena?
Ignorance is bliss I suppose. :footy:
For God's sake.
Aren't you Victorians happy enough that you've destroyed the national team by forcing a whole galaxy of duds on us already? :eek:
Please not another one.
White has already been given a very decent go at international level, and been found wanting.
Haha, well I'm West Australian for starters.
It's just my opinion, and again looking at the stats you'll find he's been given a go as our spinner. (not as the middle order batsman he's transformed himself into) Which we all know isn't a 'fair go' given Hauritz and even Warnes recent efforts in India.
SurfingTheVoid
21 Nov 2010, 16:15
White would be another North. Would come off occasionally, but not enough. His technique is way too suspect.
There's no point in aggression if you can't harness it as the situation requires. Who cares if White has struggled to a 50 average the last couple of seasons - Bevan, Hick, Ramprakash...all averaged much more and were Test duds.
Bucking Beads
21 Nov 2010, 16:27
You obviously can't comprehend the OP which clearly frames this thread around White being selected in the TEST TEAM.
I guess you are just trying to hijack this thread. BF doesn't need trolls like you.
:heart:
I don't think White should be in the test team.....
rioli is a hack
21 Nov 2010, 16:29
White would be another North. Would come off occasionally, but not enough. His technique is way too suspect.
There's no point in aggression if you can't harness it as the situation requires. Who cares if White has struggled to a 50 average the last couple of seasons - Bevan, Hick, Ramprakash...all averaged much more and were Test duds.
So to paraphrase: you also think White is a spastic.
Good post.
I'm just so tired of people who ignore what is staring them in the face.
The last thing we need right now is a player who has consistently done very little of note at state level.
We have selected too many of these guys over recent years, and it is now showing for all to see.
It also intrigues me that some people argue that because he was made a state captain at a young age that this should play in his favour.
Sorry, but wtf does this have to do with whether he would be a success right now as a middle order batsman at Test level?
It's just my opinion, and again looking at the stats you'll find he's been given a go as our spinner. (not as the middle order batsman he's transformed himself into) Which we all know isn't a 'fair go' given Hauritz and even Warnes recent efforts in India.
He has played for years (largely as a batsman - though they used the excuse he was an all-rounder when first picked) at international level, and generally been nothing special at all.
In India at Test level, he had chances to prove his mettle with both bat and ball. But, plainly, his selection was a disaster.
Now converting him to a specialist Test no.6 with a dog of a technique against straight balls? No thanks. :confused:
It suggests he has leadership capabilities, which would make him worthy to suceed Ponting/Clarke.
Again, I don't see how he has to be special to play at no.6, his FC century against England recently demonstrated his temperment.
The point is he can harness his aggression, has made twin hundreds in the shield final. Don't see why so many of you want to pigeon hole him as a 1dimensional player.
rioli is a hack
21 Nov 2010, 16:50
It suggests he has leadership capabilities, which would make him worthy to suceed Ponting/Clarke.
Again, I don't see how he has to be special to play at no.6, his FC century against England recently demonstrated his temperment.
The point is he can harness his aggression, has made twin hundreds in the shield final. Don't see why so many of you want to pigeon hole him as a 1dimensional player.
Why would the Australian selectors pick a specialist fieldsman on the basis that Victoria has performed well against other states missing true international calibre players whilst he has been captian?
Bucking Beads
21 Nov 2010, 16:52
Why would the Australian selectors pick a specialist fieldsman on the basis that Victoria has performed well against other states missing true international calibre players whilst he has been captian?
Andrew Symonds says HI....
rioli is a hack
21 Nov 2010, 17:02
Andrew Symonds says HI....
Were you born this stupid or is it something you have worked hard at for decades?
SurfingTheVoid
21 Nov 2010, 17:04
In India at Test level, he had chances to prove his mettle with both bat and ball. But, plainly, his selection was a disaster.
Agreed. We were in some bad positions when he came in, and he had the opportunity to show something. He didn't. And that was in the middle of his "purple patch".
TheColeTrain
21 Nov 2010, 17:11
Don't know why the OO bothered to be honest, thus isn't the place for intelligent discussion as most posters don't have a ****ing clue regarding cricket.
Agreed. We were in some bad positions when he came in, and he had the opportunity to show something. He didn't. And that was in the middle of his "purple patch".
Lol he was batting at 8 in India mate.
Every time he made a start he was either left stranded or forced to hit out due to a lack of partners and dismissed because of it.
No doubt he deserves to get another crack at it, doubt he will get one though. Unless he can be in form at the right time.
Cousin Jed
21 Nov 2010, 17:33
Oh dear god.
In before lock....
I think he'll get another chance, there's been plenty of buzz around his possible selection. Seems like his possible replacements couldn't even hold their own against Englands second string attack, yet it's wrong to suggest Whitey at number 6 could really benefit the side in the short and long term.
Makes no sense to judge him on his test figures thus far when the role he was forced into didn't suit him to begin with. (Batting at 8 and bowling spin when he never even bowls himself)
Smokey_22
21 Nov 2010, 18:24
White hasn't taken his opportunities at domestic level.
While he has been averaging 50 in the past few seasons, he hasnt scored many hundreds and at the same time others such as smith, hughes and khawaja have clearly outperformed him.
His hundred for Australia A needs to happen more often.
At the moment he isnt even under consideration for a test spot, and rightly so.
He's a much improved cricketer these days; still vulnerable through the gate early but everyone's got an area of weakness. We could do worse certainly.
SurfingTheVoid
21 Nov 2010, 19:34
Lol he was batting at 8 in India mate.
Every time he made a start he was either left stranded or forced to hit out due to a lack of partners and dismissed because of it.
No doubt he deserves to get another crack at it, doubt he will get one though. Unless he can be in form at the right time.
Rubbish. He had plenty of time in a number of innings.
Bucking Beads
21 Nov 2010, 20:25
He's a much improved cricketer these days; still vulnerable through the gate early but everyone's got an area of weakness. We could do worse certainly.
We are doing worse right now IMO, although I would have Khawaja, Smith and maybe Ferguson in ahead of him.
dan warna
21 Nov 2010, 20:27
So how did Khawaja and Ferguson go when given an opportunity face England seconds? pretty pathetic effort from both of them don't you think?
North's career statistics are equivalent to whites, As for Clarke, average's 47 in shield cricket and was averaging mid 30s when selected on potential.
How long was the great s.waugh carried before he proved himself, about 3 years? turned into one of the great leaders of the team.
Mark Taylor and Mark waugh both averaged mid to low 40s in test cricket.
Throw in the fact he's a superb fielder and a fine tactician you have a very good player at the test level.
<shrug>
Bucking Beads
21 Nov 2010, 20:31
So how did Khawaja and Ferguson go when given an opportunity face England seconds? pretty pathetic effort from both of them don't you think?
North's career statistics are equivalent to whites, As for Clarke, average's 47 in shield cricket and was averaging mid 30s when selected on potential.
How long was the great s.waugh carried before he proved himself, about 3 years? turned into one of the great leaders of the team.
Throw in the fact he's a superb fielder and a fine tactician you have a very good player at the test level.
So one game makes a player?? I wouldn't complain at all if White was put in at 6. I do however think Smith is just as good as him right now and will get much much better.
Plugger35
21 Nov 2010, 20:47
So one game makes a player?? I wouldn't complain at all if White was put in at 6. I do however think Smith is just as good as him right now and will get much much better.
Batting wise maybe but White is a better leader/captain and also an excellent slips fieldsman. Smith still has youth on his side and will no doubt play for Australia in time but I reckon White would be a better selection at present.
At 27 he is still in the prime of his career and could be a good captaincy candidate when Ponting retires. Deserves another chance imo.
mattymac
21 Nov 2010, 21:15
Why Ferguson is rated ahead of him is the biggest mystery of all
a pom who has a deadset vico bias... you are the biggest mystery of all
<shrug>
He's worth the punt, his track record is better than most believe.
I agree Khawaja should be ahead of him, but White deserves more of a look. Not as a spinner, as a middle order player.
Borisdog
22 Nov 2010, 00:15
Mark Taylor and Mark Waugh may well have had early 40's averages but I seem to recall them facing attacks of the quality Cameron White would be lucky to last 2 overs against. ( With the exception of the Poms in that era ).
Having said that he's far from the worst option out there at the moment, which is more an indictment of the lack of depth we have than a vote for his batsmanship.
Like many Australian players he doesn't move his feet early in his innings.
At 27 he is still in the prime of his career and could be a good captaincy candidate when Ponting retires. Deserves another chance imo.
Shouldn't have a captain who isn't good enough to be in the team imo.
Look, I hear what people are saying but every generation there are a bunch of players are always on the borderline but who miss out on sustained test careers. Sure, it can seem a bit baffling/unfair/whatever, but it happens.
If he's only played four tests to date and the selectors are thinking of guys like Smith, Ferguson and Khawaja ahead of White, I'd suggest it's probably time to get over it.
Selective Retention
22 Nov 2010, 11:13
Get the tape out of his dismissal in the first innings for Australia A.
That's why he is not a test class batsman, happens way too often to White.
King Elvis
22 Nov 2010, 12:18
Excuse me?
Under-rated post!
dan warna
22 Nov 2010, 17:25
Get the tape out of his dismissal in the first innings for Australia A.
That's why he is not a test class batsman, happens way too often to White.
how did smith, khawaja and ferguson go?
Jimthegreat
22 Nov 2010, 17:33
Rubbish. He had plenty of time in a number of innings.
He made mid 40's in his last 2 Tests in India batting at 8, 3 positions lower than where he should be. He had a bad start, albeit at no. 8, of 6, 18no, 5 and 1 in his first 2 Test. Better after that, 46, 44 and 26no. Seemed he was stranded a couple of times (18no & 26no) and made a couple of decent scores. Failed in 3 of his 7 innings all in his first 2 Tests. There's been absolute gun batsmen over the year have had worse starts to their careers. Better option surely than Hussey or North.
http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/player/8291.html?class=1;template=results;type=batting;view=innings
White needs to settle himself earlier, and play his natural game from the get go.
My criticism of him is that he doesn't play himself in at his own pace, that's why he gets bowled early.
dan warna
22 Nov 2010, 20:59
Bat white at no.6 and forget about his bowling.
he needs to become VC.
If they are set on making clarke captain, he needs a vc who can set fields and lead, because clarke can't.
Selective Retention
23 Nov 2010, 10:21
how did smith, khawaja and ferguson go?
Similarly.
The first two you have listed have 5 or 6 years on White.
If White hasn't sorted out a technique flaw by now, he won't.
Bucking Beads
24 Nov 2010, 19:19
Bat white at no.6 and forget about his bowling.
he needs to become VC.
If they are set on making clarke captain, he needs a vc who can set fields and lead, because clarke can't.
Clarke has done pretty well with the captaincy when he has had the chance... White captained Australia A well when the Poms made 500.... Biased merkin.
dan warna
24 Nov 2010, 19:38
Clarke has done pretty well with the captaincy when he has had the chance... White captained Australia A well when the Poms made 500.... Biased merkin.
yes and white has captained Vic to being the dominant shield side for much of the past few seasons and the last u19 australian world cup winning captain.
Bucking Beads
24 Nov 2010, 19:53
yes and white has captained Vic to being the dominant shield side for much of the past few seasons and the last u19 australian world cup winning captain.
Dominant because of his captaincy or dominant because they had the best team in the shield by a long way??? Think about it..
dan warna
24 Nov 2010, 20:30
Dominant because of his captaincy or dominant because they had the best team in the shield by a long way??? Think about it..
wait, I though victoria was full of crap players because they can't get any in the test side?!
eddiesmith
24 Nov 2010, 21:42
After seeing how Victoria has played with Hussey at the helm, alot to do with his captaincy
As for Clarkey, his captaincy has been pretty bloody ordinary
After seeing how Victoria has played with Hussey at the helm, alot to do with his captaincy
As for Clarkey, his captaincy has been pretty bloody ordinary
This. Those who say Ponting is a reason behind our decline would surely admit a better captain at the helm would've helped the situation.
millsie
25 Nov 2010, 23:08
For God's sake.
Please not another one.
You mean duds like Warne and Fleming. IIRC these are the last two Vics to have a regular spot in the Australian test team. And of course now we have Peter Siddle. Guys like Matt Elliott, Hodge and McDonald were never really given the time to cement their spots in the side. If Marcus North was a Vic you can be sure he wouldn't have been given the amount of opportunities he's had.
millsie
25 Nov 2010, 23:13
If the Vics had the best Shield team by a long way then shouldn't there be more Vics playing in the test team?
dan warna
26 Nov 2010, 17:40
white was given 4 tests where he batted at 8 and averaged 30...
how long was clarke carried for in his first incarnation in the test side?
the great s.waugh was carried in the test side for nearly 3 years.
White is one of our best ODI batsman and 20/20 bats, he is a great leader, even though our shield side is in decline atm.
heck how long was hauritz carried in the test side? M.waugh barely got his average about 40 for his whole test career and white is twice the leader m.waugh was :rolleyes:
as for duds, kreja, casson, robertson ring any bells?
Bucking Beads
26 Nov 2010, 17:54
If the Vics had the best Shield team by a long way then shouldn't there be more Vics playing in the test team?
Well Hodge was shafted and Hussey should have been given a crack instead of North. How many players did the dominant QLD teams have in the aussie side???
dan warna
26 Nov 2010, 18:05
Hayden, Healy, Kasperwisc, Harris, Symonds, Shane watson, Love (unlucky was a lovely batsman), law (again unlucky), Andy Bichel.
Love and Law were very unlucky and as a batsman I'd rate love ahead of slater and taylor and law was superior to m.waugh, martyn and others tried around that time.
Haydo's = legend, heals = legend, Kaserwisc, kept brett lee out of the side and was adequate as the 3rds pacemen behind mcgrath and dizzy.
Probably Qld fell victim to the love affair with slater, lee, m.waugh and some good batsman like love, maher, (as well lehmann, siddons etc) were kept out of the test side.
Bucking Beads
26 Nov 2010, 18:07
Hayden, Healy, Kasperwisc, Harris, Symonds, Shane watson, Love (unlucky was a lovely batsman), law (again unlucky), Andy Bichel.
Love and Law were very unlucky and as a batsman I'd rate love ahead of slater and taylor and law was superior to m.waugh, martyn and others tried around that time.
Haydo's = legend, heals = legend, Kaserwisc, kept brett lee out of the side and was adequate as the 3rds pacemen behind mcgrath and dizzy.
Probably Qld fell victim to the love affair with slater, lee, m.waugh and some good batsman like love, maher, (as well lehmann, siddons etc) were kept out of the test side.
sounds like Vics are in the same boat, they have had quite a few players get into the Australian side over the years...
dan warna
26 Nov 2010, 18:10
Watch love bat once in a shield game, thought he was one of the most impressive players who didn't get to play test cricket :(
definitely a cut above many players selected above him.
Subprime
26 Nov 2010, 18:11
I'm not sure White's the answer but he could do no worse than
North. He's an exceptional slip fielder, can bowl a bit and add some variety and when he comes off with the bat the runs flow quickly.
He's also played a lot more cricket than some of the others in contention for the spot and may just grasp the opportunity.
Bucking Beads
26 Nov 2010, 18:24
Watch love bat once in a shield game, thought he was one of the most impressive players who didn't get to play test cricket :(
definitely a cut above many players selected above him.
Was superb in first slip also, played a few tests against the Bangers got a ton his last test I think. He always scored a ton against my grade team in brissy
dan warna
26 Nov 2010, 18:26
Love for Love?
aye, could have done with some steel at the top of the order before langer and haydo's settled into the top spot.
did he come for slats? I forget now.
Slats wasn't fit to polish Love's boots, and love was a gentleman on the field, and i really can't see love doing the 'one bounce and its out' histrionics.
Bucking Beads
26 Nov 2010, 20:18
Love was batting at 6 from what I can recall, I think he was replaced by Darren Lehman...
dan warna
26 Nov 2010, 20:23
Love was batting at 6 from what I can recall, I think he was replaced by Darren Lehman...
Love opened for QLD a lot though, he didn't really get a fair run for Aus.
Bucking Beads
26 Nov 2010, 20:26
Love opened for QLD a lot though, he didn't really get a fair run for Aus.
Love batted 3 for QLD and Punter was batting there at the time so it was going to be tough for him.
I can see him been selected when Ponting retires. He's a better option than Ferguson.
dan warna
26 Nov 2010, 20:40
Love batted 3 for QLD and Punter was batting there at the time so it was going to be tough for him.
I think in his last shield game he came it at 3 or 4, but fairly sure he played a fair few as an opener as well, but <shrug> memory is fading with old age :D
Bucking Beads
26 Nov 2010, 20:45
I think in his last shield game he came it at 3 or 4, but fairly sure he played a fair few as an opener as well, but <shrug> memory is fading with old age :D
Well for the majority of Loves career at the Bulls Maher and Hayden would have opened. I think love may have had stints at opener but sure he was a first drop. Very elegant batsmen.
http://www.trueallrounder.com/2010/12/cameron-white-the-man-australia-is-missing/
Smokey_22
7 Dec 2010, 17:04
http://www.trueallrounder.com/2010/12/cameron-white-the-man-australia-is-missing/
Not exactly breaking the door down is he..
The door is already off the hinges. Could do worse them White...say the current number 6 for example.
Who is though.
Adelaide Hawk
7 Dec 2010, 17:43
Australia needs to select White ASAP, for 2 reasons:
1. As a replacement for Marcus North. White can also fill the role of bowling a handful of overs for something different.
2. It gives the selectors another option for a future captain.
eddiesmith
7 Dec 2010, 18:17
Neither is the man everyone wants to open the batting...
Isn't Hughes only averaging 23 or something similair in recent times? (this season)
eddiesmith
7 Dec 2010, 18:28
Isn't Hughes only averaging 23 or something similair in recent times? (this season)
28 but just the 1 half century coming in the 2nd innings of the A game when Cameron White the bloke who is too shit for Australia tonned up :)
White is averaging just 34 from less games
White would be picked on his ODI form and the fact he has shown he can play against International attacks and he loves playing England in any form of the game
Hopefully he has a good summer in the shorter form of the game.
As I said in the article,
averaging 50+ for Victoria in the past 4 years, more than North and Clarke and nearly as much as Mr. Cricket.
I can honestly say I don't know much about cricket and I'm not a great fan of the game but perhaps one of you aficionado's could explain to me why the younger Hussey can't get a game for Australia in the test side.
Smokey_22
8 Dec 2010, 10:49
Who is though.
Khawaja, Hughes and Smith have all been more impressive with the bat, in any season. Come on you know this.
I think White is a gun but he doesnt deserve to be in front of the 3 mentioned.
I can honestly say I don't know much about cricket and I'm not a great fan of the game but perhaps one of you aficionado's could explain to me why the younger Hussey can't get a game for Australia in the test side.
Dave Hussey's record is great and he's been unlucky. Perhaps he's a bit on the older side (33) though and just hasn't singled himself out in sheffield shield like the Klingers, Hugheses, Khawajas and Smiths. Topped the run-scoring last year and was in and out of the ODI team. Wont play tests.
i_hate_scams
8 Dec 2010, 10:52
Hussey is just too old now. if 2-3 years younger he mightve been a chance.
Gets another opportunity against England this weekend for the Vics, if he performs then the selectors would have to be blind to ignore him.
An ideal type of player to bat at 6.
dan warna
8 Dec 2010, 17:24
Hussey is just too old now. if 2-3 years younger he mightve been a chance.
Should have been selected ahead of many others.
over 10k FC runs at 55 plus :(
Age should have nothing to do with it, and doesn't. Don't serve that up as any sort of an excuse.
benny_cousins
8 Dec 2010, 17:56
White has shown how good he is under pressure in the one day form of the game and has been consistantly good in the Sheffield Shield for the last 4 years averaging 50+. Unfortunately for him he never gets to play a full season because of his one dayers. He was the only one to post a good score in the Australia A game. Interesting to see his bowling average is better than Hauritz, Smith and Doherty too... Would be an ideal number 6.
hong_kong_bond
8 Dec 2010, 18:11
Gets another opportunity against England this weekend for the Vics, if he performs then the selectors would have to be blind to ignore him.
An ideal type of player to bat at 6.
For some inexecusable reason, apparently the selectors are going to pick the squad for Perth on Friday.
Makes perfect sense - why wait to see the outcome of the NSW v SA game, or more than 1 day (at best) of the Qld v WA game, or the Vics v Eng game.... :confused:
eddiesmith
8 Dec 2010, 18:12
Of course it makes sense, they will get everything they need by Friday, the only team who matters will be finished by then ;)
For some inexcusable reason, apparently the selectors are going to pick the squad for Perth on Friday.
apparently it might be delayed until Saturday.
Tyberious Funk
8 Dec 2010, 18:55
For some inexecusable reason, apparently the selectors are going to pick the squad for Perth on Friday.
Makes perfect sense - why wait to see the outcome of the NSW v SA game, or more than 1 day (at best) of the Qld v WA game, or the Vics v Eng game.... :confused:
It's not like a some unknown superstar is going to emerge out of any of those games :o
Would like to see White put up a big score, make the selectors take notice.
i_hate_scams
9 Dec 2010, 13:04
Age should have nothing to do with it, and doesn't. Don't serve that up as any sort of an excuse.
unforturately the people that matter has a different option in that regard.
but then again the selectors are also idiots. Hussey shouldve replaced North 2 years ago.