View Full Version : The Swans this week

jacqui9
5 Aug 2003, 10:54
I see the Swans as a bigger challenge than the Lions and the Power. They are severely underrated and it is going to be tough for the Hawks this week. We can do it, but it is not going to be easy.

Syd
5 Aug 2003, 11:15
Originally posted by jacqui9
I see the Swans as a bigger challenge than the Lions and the Power. They are severely underrated and it is going to be tough for the Hawks this week. We can do it, but it is not going to be easy.

Stay home, spare yourselves the travel and mail up the 4 points! :D

jacqui9
5 Aug 2003, 11:25
Originally posted by Syd
Stay home, spare yourselves the travel and mail up the 4 points! :D

I will be home, and keeping tabs on the guys from the comfort of my loungeroom

grimlock
5 Aug 2003, 11:53
Any ideas who will play on Big Bazza??

jacqui9
5 Aug 2003, 12:17
Maybe Nick holland if he is fit, Joel Smith, Mark Graham if he is fit

goaldrush
5 Aug 2003, 12:38
Should be a great game.

Isn't on Free to air tv on Saturday night in victoria which is a pain in the bum.

Smith will play on Barry Hall.

Mark Graham will play. He had a cold and had to pull out on Sunday.

Syd
5 Aug 2003, 12:58
Originally posted by goaldrush
Should be a great game.

It'll be over by 3/4 time leaving ur lot plenty of time to contemplate choosing either Eade or Wallace to replace Scwabby and discussing who has the best hair style......

grimlock
5 Aug 2003, 13:35
Geez your injury woes must be pretty bad. Any chance of Rawlings moving back into defence?

jacqui9
5 Aug 2003, 13:39
Originally posted by grimlock
Geez your injury woes must be pretty bad. Any chance of Rawlings moving back into defence?

No we need him up forward at the moment. Our injuries are bad that has been the difference all year. i cannot recall one instance when we have been able to field a full strength side.

goaldrush
5 Aug 2003, 13:45
Originally posted by Syd
It'll be over by 3/4 time leaving ur lot plenty of time to contemplate choosing either Eade or Wallace to replace Scwabby and discussing who has the best hair style...... I don't think that will be happening....................

As far as I know, Schwabby is staying at Hawthorn. The ppl who put schwabby where he is now haven't been contacted.

grimlock
5 Aug 2003, 13:48
Joel Smith usually plays well on O'Loughlin, who has been in good form. Who will now play on Magic? Hodge?

goaldrush
5 Aug 2003, 13:51
Joel Smith usually plays well on O'Loughlin, who has been in good form. Who will now play on Magic? Hodge? Mark Williams

grimlock
5 Aug 2003, 13:54
Isn't Williams a forward?

goaldrush
5 Aug 2003, 14:17
Isn't Williams a forward? He can play up forward and he can play down the backline too. He played down back when the hawks won against Fremantle.

TheMase
5 Aug 2003, 15:41
What is your prediction Suzi?

I reckon Swans by 59 points ;) ;)

goaldrush
5 Aug 2003, 15:55
Hawks by 6 points

It will be a big challenge for the Hawks this week. We gave Port Adelaide a scare last week.

TheMase
5 Aug 2003, 16:00
Hawks by 6 points

It will be a big challenge for the Hawks this week. We gave Port Adelaide a scare last week.

You did give Port Adelaide a scare, ON YOUR HOME TURF!

If this game was played in Melbourne, I would be picking the Hawks. But considering your injury problems, and playing on the SCG, I think you are being extremely optimistic tipping yourselves when the only team to beat Sydney in Sydney was Adelaide way back in Round 3.

tige19
5 Aug 2003, 16:16
Originally posted by Syd
It'll be over by 3/4 time leaving ur lot plenty of time to contemplate choosing either Eade or Wallace to replace Scwabby and discussing who has the best hair style......

As a Hawthorn supporter i couldnt agree with you more!!! i think Wallace should take the job for the next 3 years until Matthews is avilable.
I only disagree on 1 thing with you, i believe the game will be over at about 10 minutes into the 2nd quarter after Hawthorn being more than competive for 35 minutes will get 5 or 6 goals straight kicked on them.
We might as well concees Barry Hall 6 or 7 now if Graham plays on him the blokes a hack.

cheers

jacqui9
6 Aug 2003, 10:11
Originally posted by Syd

Shane Crawford is the biggest pretty boy in the AFL. He is also the best damn player in our side, and a magnificent captain.

We will give it our best damn shot.

Syd
6 Aug 2003, 10:28
Shane Crawford is the biggest pretty boy in the AFL. He is also the best damn player in our side, and a magnificent captain.

We will give it our best damn shot.

I dunno.. Matty Lloyd fancies himself for that title !!

Best shot or no, we should win this one at home. Coupled with a Pies loss to the Lions and the order will be restored !!

Who's going to the game ??? I'll be there under the Dougie Walters stand ****ed as a newt and cheering loudly !!

goaldrush
6 Aug 2003, 11:11
Originally posted by TheMase
You did give Port Adelaide a scare, ON YOUR HOME TURF!

If this game was played in Melbourne, I would be picking the Hawks. But considering your injury problems, and playing on the SCG, I think you are being extremely optimistic tipping yourselves when the only team to beat Sydney in Sydney was Adelaide way back in Round 3. We have got three of our top players coming back this week so because of that Hawthorn will win by a goal up at the SCG

TheMase
6 Aug 2003, 11:28
We have got three of our top players coming back this week so because of that Hawthorn will win by a goal up at the SCG

How about you give a little credit to Sydney? You obviously rate your team better than Sydneys.
How come we are in 4th and you way down the ladder?

Gets some real perspective why dont you, you are playing on our home turf against one of the form sides of the competition.

If this was in Melbourne, fair enough, but it isn't!!

grimlock
6 Aug 2003, 11:35
Ease up Mase, you can't fault a person for supporting their own team. Its their own opinion after all.

jacqui9
6 Aug 2003, 12:38
How about you give a little credit to Sydney? You obviously rate your team better than Sydneys.
How come we are in 4th and you way down the ladder?

Gets some real perspective why dont you, you are playing on our home turf against one of the form sides of the competition.

Doesnt matter where or whom you play. If you want it bad enough, you will win.

NMWBloods
6 Aug 2003, 12:40
Doesnt matter where or whom you play. If you want it bad enough, you will win.

Ummm..... Nice sentiment, but I don't think so...

TheMase
6 Aug 2003, 13:11
Ease up Mase, you can't a person for supporting their own team. Its their own opinion after all.

True mate. And any other person I would probably give credit to.

But Suzi still believes that Hawthorn will make the finals. Talk about being unrealistic!!

Sydney by 50+
Hall to kick 7 ;) ;)

jacqui9
6 Aug 2003, 13:13
Originally posted by NMWBloods
Ummm..... Nice sentiment, but I don't think so...

ANd so very true - we almost beat Brisbane in Brisbane

tige19
6 Aug 2003, 16:01
We have 3 players coming back but 1 which is a dud (Holland) another who has not captured the form from 2001 (Barker) and i belive we have 1 gun (Everitt).
Losing Hay will kill us and we will pay for it.
There is no doubt about it that the there is something wrong with the Hawthorn fitness staff.

cheers

jj flash
6 Aug 2003, 18:45

Well, we did give you guys a flogging once this year. "ON OUR OWN TURF" as has been noted. Are you Swanettes suggesting you're team play like turnips at the Home of Football?

myee8
7 Aug 2003, 00:16
He can play up forward and he can play down the backline too. He played down back when the hawks won against Fremantle.

Mark Williams is a midfield forward who hasn't played down back yet. More importantly Mr Williams didn't even play against Freo. Perhaps one of your cousins in the Hawthorn hierarchy told you the wrong info? :rolleyes:

TheMase
7 Aug 2003, 09:20
Originally posted by jj flash
Well, we did give you guys a flogging once this year. "ON OUR OWN TURF" as has been noted. Are you Swanettes suggesting you're team play like turnips at the Home of Football?

If you read earlier I said that if it was played in Melbourne, you'd probably be close to picking the Hawks.

Also that game was back in Round 4, and was EASILY our worst game of the season. It was our 3rd loss in a row back then, and we have only lost 3 games since.

goaldrush
7 Aug 2003, 12:32
True mate. And any other person I would probably give credit to.

But Suzi still believes that Hawthorn will make the finals. Talk about being unrealistic!!

Sydney by 50+
Hall to kick 7 ;) ;) Barker, Holland and Everitt are all back in the Hawthorn side this week.

TheMase
7 Aug 2003, 12:52
Barker, Holland and Everitt are all back in the Hawthorn side this week.

And ... ???

The Legend
7 Aug 2003, 12:52
Swans by 5-6 goals. Poo'n'wee will be playing for prides' sake, but I don't think that that'll be enough. The inclusions of Barker, Holland, and Everitt will give Hawks some drive, but as in the case of pride, not enough to get the job done (I see one of these three re-injuring themselves).

jj flash
8 Aug 2003, 09:57
If you read earlier I said that if it was played in Melbourne, you'd probably be close to picking the Hawks.

Also that game was back in Round 4, and was EASILY our worst game of the season. It was our 3rd loss in a row back then, and we have only lost 3 games since.

Well our form was pretty ordinary at the start of the year as well so I wouldn't get too excited blood boy.

Syd
8 Aug 2003, 10:08
Well our form was pretty ordinary at the start of the year as well so I wouldn't get too excited blood boy.

Yeah, and your the FORM team of the comp ATM too :rolleyes:

goaldrush
8 Aug 2003, 11:09
And ... ??? The hawks will win because of those players in the side

Syd
8 Aug 2003, 11:34
The hawks will win because of those players in the side

We'll see how todays delusion holds up tomorrow night!

Couldn't be happier than to see some underdone, slow talls added to your team :D

jj flash
8 Aug 2003, 11:44
Originally posted by Syd
Yeah, and your the FORM team of the comp ATM too :rolleyes:

..and Sydney are :rolleyes:

goaldrush
8 Aug 2003, 11:51
Originally posted by Syd
We'll see how todays delusion holds up tomorrow night!

Couldn't be happier than to see some underdone, slow talls added to your team :D Excuse me but our talls aren't slow.

TheMase
8 Aug 2003, 13:26
..and Sydney are :rolleyes:
Yep, we are definitely one of the form teams of the comp. Probably top 2-3?
Losing to Adelaide IN ADELAIDE by 4 points isnt something I am about to get upset about!!

goaldrush
8 Aug 2003, 13:42
Losing to Adelaide IN ADELAIDE by 4 points isnt something I am about to get upset about!! At least Hawthorn beat Adelaide.

jacqui9
8 Aug 2003, 13:55
Originally posted by Syd

Couldn't be happier than to see some underdone, slow talls added to your team :D

Dont you dare speak about Nick Holland like that!!

jj flash
8 Aug 2003, 14:00
Losing to Adelaide IN ADELAIDE by 4 points isnt something I am about to get upset about!!

Sorry you are right. In the last 8 games the Swans have won one more match than the Hawks. You are definately the form side of the comp.:D

TheMase
8 Aug 2003, 14:12
Sorry you are right. In the last 8 games the Swans have won one more match than the Hawks. You are definately the form side of the comp.:D

Last 8 games isn't exactly recent is it?
Using selective statistics??

How about we use our last 5 games?

Hawthorn -

Lost to Port by 4 points - HOME
Lost to West Coast by 56 points - AWAY
Beat Melbourne by 7 points - HOME
Lost to Brisbane by 12 points - AWAY
Beat Western Bulldogs by 71 points - HOME

Sydney -

Lost to Adelaide by 4 points - AWAY
Beat Fremantle by 15 points - HOME
Beat Carlton by 31 points - AWAY
Beat St Kilda by 51 points - HOME
Beat West Coast by 8 points - HOME

So Sydney have won four of their last five
Hawthorn have won 2 of their last 5 (and those two of the bottom three sides).

Both teams played 3 teams in the 8. Sydney won 2, Hawthorn won 0.

I know whose form I would rather

jj flash
8 Aug 2003, 14:48
Statistics are usually selective, yours no less than mine.

Apart from the second half fadeout against West Coast, our form has been pretty good of late. The other two losses were against ladder leader Port and the reigning premier on their home ground (both very narrow loses).

I could argue that St. Kilda at the SCG, and Carlton anywhere are pretty easy wins. Also Freo are not really that impressive at the moment, so scraping in against them at the SCG is nothing to write home about. Not sure if beating WestCoast at home is so great either. In the last 4 weeks they have been smashed twice whilst playing away.

TheMase
8 Aug 2003, 14:55
Statistics are usually selective, yours no less than mine.

Apart from the second half fadeout against West Coast, our form has been pretty good of late. The other two losses were against ladder leader Port and the reigning premier on their home ground (both very narrow loses).

I could argue that St. Kilda at the SCG, and Carlton anywhere are pretty easy wins. Also Freo are not really that impressive at the moment, so scraping in against them at the SCG is nothing to write home about. Not sure if beating WestCoast at home is so great either. In the last 4 weeks they have been smashed twice whilst playing away.

How about this stat then .... Isn't very selective at all ;)

Since the start of the year we have lost 6 matches, you have lost 10

Even more impressive, since Round 4, we have lost 3 matches.
Hawthorn have lost 8 in that same period ;)

Point was with the last 5 game stat was. The only games you have won have been against Bottom 3 sides. Whereas 2 of our 4 wins come against teams in the 8.

Fremantle's form has actually been pretty good, and at the time West Coast were doing quite well.

Carlton might not look impressive, but we took our foot off the pedal after half time.

Thought I would point out that you lost to the "Easy win Saints" ;) ;)

Syd
8 Aug 2003, 17:18

Let that be your consolation as you watch us play in September while you look for a new coach and yes Jacqui and Suzi... some talls with speed!!!

Swans by 44 points

jacqui9
8 Aug 2003, 17:55
Originally posted by Syd
Let that be your consolation as you watch us play in September while you look for a new coach and yes Jacqui and Suzi... some talls with speed!!!

Swans by 44 points

Ahem......Would be nice to see you win a premiership since when??? SO long ago I cant remember

Syd
9 Aug 2003, 11:55
Ahem......Would be nice to see you win a premiership since when??? SO long ago I cant remember

Wow you must have put a LOT of thought and time into that witty comeback Jacqui!!!!

Guess I've been put in my place fellas :D :D

Seriously, you coming to watch us in person in September or just on the telly ????

jacqui9
9 Aug 2003, 23:15
Originally posted by Syd
Wow you must have put a LOT of thought and time into that witty comeback Jacqui!!!!

Guess I've been put in my place fellas :D :D

Seriously, you coming to watch us in person in September or just on the telly ????

Just fonished watching you blokes on telly. I dont think I will bother cose they werent all that impressive!!!!

TheMase
10 Aug 2003, 10:30
Just fonished watching you blokes on telly. I dont think I will bother cose they werent all that impressive!!!!

You're correct. We were shocking. Probably our 2nd worst game of the season. Our worst was also against you guys.

Credit where credit is due, you guys played great footy and applied a heap of pressure on us.

Good luck for the rest of the year.

jacqui9
10 Aug 2003, 13:38
Wherefore art thou Syd??

Big Boss
11 Aug 2003, 01:36
Well well well, Mase & Syd have shown themselves to be the absolute tools that they are.
Got anymore stats for us Mase you ****er?? You'll be lucky to win another game for the season.

1933 indeed.

I'm off now to watch one of my 9 Hawthorn Premiership DVD's, 7 of which they won in my short lifetime.

Big Boss
11 Aug 2003, 01:44
Fremantle's form has actually been pretty good, and at the time West Coast were doing quite well.

Carlton might not look impressive, but we took our foot off the pedal after half time.

You must have your very own Sydney excuse book. That above drivel is pretty desperate, and sad.

Thought I would point out that you lost to the "Easy win Saints" ;) ;)

Thought I would point out that you lost TWICE this year to the 'statistically-poor-compared-to-Sydney' Hawks.

Big Boss
11 Aug 2003, 01:58
Originally posted by The Legend
Swans by 5-6 goals. Poo'n'wee will be playing for prides' sake, but I don't think that that'll be enough. The inclusions of Barker, Holland, and Everitt will give Hawks some drive, but as in the case of pride, not enough to get the job done (I see one of these three re-injuring themselves).

You really should change your username. Get a clue while you're at it.

Originally posted by Syd

That's twice this year Roos has been outcoached by Schwab. Worrying signs for Roosy you'd think.

I think you are being extremely optimistic tipping yourselves when the only team to beat Sydney in Sydney was Adelaide way back in Round 3.

Sydney by 50+
Hall to kick 7

Sideburns Luke strikes again!

grimlock
11 Aug 2003, 02:35
Originally posted by Big Boss

That's twice this year Roos has been outcoached by Schwab. Worrying signs for Roosy you'd think.

Geez, we better sack Roosy and begin the plans to poach Schwabby. IMO, Roosy was not outcoached, the players just didn't perform to their usual standards. Considering our lack of tall players, which is your team's strength, I think Roosy has done a fantastic job this year.

Nice of you to conveniently wander into this thread after the game was played. I didn't see you sticking your neck out with your predictions pre-game. Hope you enjoyed your little cheap shots.

jj flash
11 Aug 2003, 10:01

Credit where credit is due, you guys played great footy and applied a heap of pressure on us.

Good luck for the rest of the year.

Thanks but our season only goes for three more weeks. I really would like to see you guys do well in the finals but I just don't like your chances, especially without Ball.

At least Collingwood have been exposed for the great pretenders they are. Do us a favour will ya, just knock Collingwood or Essendon out of the finals in the first week.

Cheers,

JJ

goaldrush
11 Aug 2003, 10:13
Carn the Hawks.
Come on ppl, wheres the faith?

Syd
11 Aug 2003, 10:34
Wherefore art thou Syd??

Out on the weekend... having a LIFE outside of BF.

We fairly well sucked and didn't deserve to win. How your lot let us back to within 3 goals is beyond me.

Anyways, I'll stand by my earlier comments as we will be playing in September and your lot will not.

BTW Jacqui, nice of you to miss me !! ;)

Syd
11 Aug 2003, 10:36
Well well well, Mase & Syd have shown themselves to be the absolute tools that they are.

So for backing our team we are "tools"??? You sir, have shown yourself to be a tool of the highest order in making that statement.

I'm off now to watch one of my 9 Hawthorn Premiership DVD's, 7 of which they won in my short lifetime.

Living in the past cuz the future aint too rosy???

jacqui9
11 Aug 2003, 13:15
Originally posted by Syd
Out on the weekend... having a LIFE outside of BF.

We fairly well sucked and didn't deserve to win. How your lot let us back to within 3 goals is beyond me.

Anyways, I'll stand by my earlier comments as we will be playing in September and your lot will not.

Oh I have a life outside BigFooty - but i never forget idiots who get ahead of themselves.

You may be playing in September, but you aint gonna get very far.

TheMase
11 Aug 2003, 13:31

That all depends on which Sydney side shows up.

If the FULLY COMMITTED, Sydney side with a lot of HEART and DESPIRATION shows up, we will make the Prelim or perhaps the Grand.

If the side that showed up on Saturday night, LACK OF COMMITTMENT, NOT MAKINGS LEADS, SOFT, LACKLUSTURE then we will go out in the first week.

Syd
11 Aug 2003, 14:27
Oh I have a life outside BigFooty - but i never forget idiots who get ahead of themselves.

My, my aren't you the gracious queen...

Makes it even better knowing your mob's out come September...

Still, t'will leave them time to get their hair done and co-ordinate their handbags!

Ohhhh and a big

Welcome IDIOT back atya

try the Hawks board... the enjoy mediocrity there!

Syd
11 Aug 2003, 14:59
BTW beeyotch...

Originally posted by Syd

You forgot this bit!!!

But I forgive you !! :D :D :D :D

Mr. Snrub
11 Aug 2003, 17:28
That all depends on which Sydney side shows up.

If the FULLY COMMITTED, Sydney side with a lot of HEART and DESPIRATION shows up, we will make the Prelim or perhaps the Grand.

If the side that showed up on Saturday night, LACK OF COMMITTMENT, NOT MAKINGS LEADS, SOFT, LACKLUSTURE then we will go out in the first week.

I agree - potentially we can beat any team in the comp, therefore potentially we can win the flag...

Problem is there are quite a few teams who can say that. Hopefully the Swans will get their act together against the Lions this week and show that they really can mix it with the best in the comp.

jacqui9
11 Aug 2003, 17:51
Originally posted by Syd
My, my aren't you the gracious queen...

Makes it even better knowing your mob's out come September...

Still, t'will leave them time to get their hair done and co-ordinate their handbags!

Ohhhh and a big

Welcome IDIOT back atya

try the Hawks board... the enjoy mediocrity there!

I will enjoy the medioocrity there. It is better than the gutter filth over here. (I just mean Syd, the rest of you are sportsmen)

Big Boss
12 Aug 2003, 01:14
1933 anyone here remember it? :p :p

grimlock
12 Aug 2003, 02:50
Mate if I were you I would start planning something to do for September - you might find yourself with a lot of free time on your hands