View Full Version : 21. Cameron Richardson

shiraz
1 Dec 2010, 20:01
Welcome to North Melbourne Cameron Richardson, number 21.

http://mm.afl.com.au/Portals/0/richardsonx.jpg http://mm.afl.com.au/portals/0/Images Kangaroos/CamRichardson_246a.jpg

aRpzpDZxcPU

Number: 21
Height: 189cm
Weight: 87kg
DOB: 02/12/87
Recruited from: North Ballarat Roosters (Vic)

Following from the success of recent mature age recruits like Liam Anthony and Michael Barlow, Cameron Richardson was recruited as a mature age player from North Melbourne affiliate North Ballarat Roosters. Richardson was a key player in the North Ballarat Roosters VFL premiership in 2010.

North Melbourne secured North Ballarat defender Cameron Richardson during the 2010 AFL Draft Week, with the club sending its round-two NAB AFL Draft pick 35 to Gold Coast in exchange for the promising 22-year-old.

Richardson was one of 10 previously drafted or previously nominated players pre-listed by Gold Coast, after starring with the North Ballarat Roosters - North Melbourne's VFL affiliate.

Richardson was on-traded to the Roos half and hour before the end of trade week, after telling the Suns he wasn't interested in playing for them and that he only wanted to join North Melbourne.

Brad Scott says: He'll play as a 23 year-old next year and we think he'll have an immediate impact. He's a 189cm half-back flanker and wingman. He's strong overhead and we think he can play a variety of roles.

Kevin Sheehan says: Hard-running medium defender who makes good decisions on when to mark or spoil. Was a dual best and fairest winner in the Ballarat league in 2006 and in 2008.

The following his a collation of his "In his own words" features on afl.com.au corresponding to the draft periods of 2009 and 2010.

In his own words
What type of player are you?
2010 Answer: A running defender.
2009 Answer: I am a player who has a genuine enjoyment for the game. I am versatile and hard working and always put 100 per cent effort into the game. I continuously seek and take opportunities to improve my skills and push myself to a higher level.

Which AFL player do you feel you resemble, and why?
2010 Answer: Andrew Mackie from Geelong - similar position and game style.
2009 Answer: Luke Hodge. He is a versatile midfielder who is good both on the ground and in the air and he disposes of the ball well.

What are your strengths as a footballer?
2010 Answer: Run and carry, decision making with the ball, spoiling or marking the ball.
2009 Answer: Winning the ball on the ground and in the air, my composure and creativity with the ball as well as my goal kicking accuracy.

What parts of your game would you like to improve?
2010 Answer: Tackling, handballing under pressure.
2009 Answer: I would like to improve my voice and instruction around the field. I also feel that there is area to widely improve my fitness after commencing my first ever pre-season this year.

Which AFL team do you support and how did you come to barrack for them?
2010 Answer: Essendon - family influences.
2009 Answer: Essendon due to parental influence from a young age and as they always play a good brand of football.

Who has been the biggest influence on your career so far, and why?
2010 Answer: Family and coaches with ongoing support and directions.
2009 Answer: Numerous past coaches with the direction and encouragement they have continuously provided me with and a strong support group of family and friends.

Other links
Choc Tops to Sweet Dream (http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/103920/default.aspx)
Cam Richardson's Utah (http://www.kangaroos.com.au/latestnews/newsarticle/tabid/4912/newsid/105900/default.aspx)

Patch Adams
1 Dec 2010, 22:02
2010 Answer: Essendon - family influences.
2009 Answer: Essendon due to parental influence from a young age and as they always play a good brand of football.

lol, had to change the Good Brand of Football part...

welcome to North Cam:thumbsu: hope he lines up there round one next year

RandySavageNMFC
2 Dec 2010, 01:13
Of everyone we have recruited this off-season, Cameron will line up in the seniors first. He is Liam Anthony V.2

RooHooDoo
2 Dec 2010, 07:19
This guy really looks the goods.

Hopefully full time footy will see him bring that running game to AFL level. Its definitely something the side is crying out for.

shiraz
2 Dec 2010, 11:01
What parts of your game would you like to improve?
2009 Answer: I would like to improve my voice and instruction around the field. I also feel that there is area to widely improve my fitness after commencing my first ever pre-season this year.

So after aiming to improve his fitness in 2009, he arrives at the club in peak condition at the end of 2010, and then goes on to win the club's first time trial after returning from Utah. Impressive. Basti must be cut. Got some competition!

jozeph
2 Dec 2010, 16:35
http://cdn.womenshealthmag.com/files/images/0901-bring-sexy-4.jpgDid an image search, very nice indeed.:eek:

Joshen
28 Mar 2011, 20:33
After a fantastic pre-season including winning one of North's time trials and some impressive pre-season form Cam was justifiably awarded a round 1 berth and while was not spectucular (as to be expected on your debut) he was no where near worst. Unfortunately no Foxtel meant I couldn't catch the game but he amassed 17 disposals 7 of which were kicks and 10 were handballs in addition to his 2 marks. He also laid 3 tackles to go with 8 contested posessions and probably most importantly had a disposal efficiency of 82%.

Will hopefully improvement along with the team next week against Collingwood in his first home game as a Kangaroo the planned structure should benefit all defenders instead of a makeshift plan thanks to the lack of ruckman.

Short and sweet this week as I haven't seen the game will hopefully put in a more detailed report next week when we (those in Melbourne) get to see him and the rest of the team play in the flesh.

King Of The Hille
18 Apr 2011, 21:03
Hey guys sorry just a quick question, what is this blokes job security like?

B Tron
19 Apr 2011, 15:43
Hey guys sorry just a quick question, what is this blokes job security like?
I'll be honest with you mate, I reckon he'll be running around for North Ballarat for the next few weeks. Check the teams on Friday but I'm pretty confident he'll be having a spell.

King Of The Hille
20 Apr 2011, 10:54
I'll be honest with you mate, I reckon he'll be running around for North Ballarat for the next few weeks. Check the teams on Friday but I'm pretty confident he'll be having a spell.

Thanks for the answer mate. :thumbsu:

Joshen
24 Jun 2011, 17:11
Cam returns to the team this week. Hopefully for him (and all of us) his first win in the Royal Blue and White.

Joshen
24 Jul 2011, 10:01
Cam was recalled this week, unfortunately for him as sub.

Watched him during the breaks and looked really clean picking the ball up off the deck, few kicks missed the coach who was with him though.

Was subbed on for Warren halfway through the third quarter and ended the game with 3 kicks, 3 marks and 3 handballs. I thought he lead up well and his intensity was pretty good. Played in the forwardline which was a surprise but didn't impact the scoreboard and only had 1 inside 50 directed his way.

All in all not a bad game from Cam but could have done more. He may be dropped this week but if he is in the team I hope it isn't as sub, I don't think it suits him with his endurance ability.

Joshen
30 Jul 2011, 18:56
Richo played probably his best game for the club last night, performing quite solidly against the Blues.

While he only gathered 11 possessions (7 kicks and 4 handballs) his intensity was good applying pressure well.

I thought he made space well getting into good positions but couple of the kicks weren't to his advantage.

Got lucky with his kick to Adams resulting in a mark and subsequent goal, but his disposal certainly wasn't bad (no shockers that I can remember). Played a bit all over the ground and acquitted himself well in all areas, just needs to get a bit more of the ball which will come in time.

Most disappointing part of his game last night was probably the marking contest with Ellard on the 50 arc, spilt the mark and ball was tied up. But all in all a pretty good game for Cam, hopefully he can build on that for the last 4 rounds of the season.

groo
30 Jul 2011, 19:10
He covered a lot of ground. When his team mates gain the confidence to use him I think he will be a real asset to this team that struggles for run at the moment. He is adjusting to this level and I hope Brad continues to play him.

RooHooDoo
30 Jul 2011, 19:31
He covered a lot of ground. When his team mates gain the confidence to use him I think he will be a real asset to this team that struggles for run at the moment. He is adjusting to this level and I hope Brad continues to play him.
I agree.

Last night was the first time he didnt look completely out of place.

Poor Bastard seems to come in right when the team starts stinking it up again.

He definitely needs a few games now to settle and hopefully we can really find out what he has to offer.

Daz
30 Jul 2011, 21:26
Was he tagging Scotland after half time?

Joshen
30 Jul 2011, 21:56
^ to be honest I don't know, sorry mate

Hunters Host #3
4 Aug 2011, 14:57
Was he tagging Scotland after half time?

Not a tag 'per se'.

Although he made an effort to keep Scotland accountable throughout the night. One example, being his snap and miss straight after half time where he ran 100m to provide an option.

I noticed that in comparison to his very first few games, we aren't feeding him the ball as much, and he is doing a lot of unrewarded running.

Once through the middle of the ground I think it was Harps could have drew the player and dished it to Cam who could have used his run and carry, and Levi at one stage in the third quarter should have looked inboard and given him the pill..

Hope he gets another game. He will improve.

gustev
6 Aug 2011, 07:14
I noticed that in comparison to his very first few games, we aren't feeding him the ball as much, and he is doing a lot of unrewarded running.

Yeah, that stood out to me aswell. Will have to work hard to get the pill, and continue to improve his disposal if he's to be a bit more of a go to man.

Looks like he will get another game time this week.

B-Rock
8 Aug 2011, 19:47
I have been a Richo fan for a while. Enjoyed his hard running at VFL level last year.

I really hope he can aclimatise to the AFL pace soon.

I cant help but wonder if he would have been delisted at the end of this year, had he not had a 3(?) year contract in place.

If he was on a one year deal, at 24 next year, I would have thought he would be in a bit of trouble given his output.

Looking for a big pre season from him. I am hoping that once he starts believing he belongs with the big boys, he will become the hard running half back we are crying out for.

I really dont think we have been helping his cause by playing him on the HFF.

Daz
8 Aug 2011, 20:13
He was impressive of Sunday. I reckon the goal would have given him a bit of confidence too.

He's the type of player who's going to make us nervous because every time he gets it, he takes off. Fortunately, we need a guy in the backline who takes the game on. I like him.

Hunters Host #3
9 Aug 2011, 14:10
He was impressive of Sunday. I reckon the goal would have given him a bit of confidence too.

As soon as he slotted that Daz, I thought the exact same thing.

He'll derive some confidence from that goal, and his disposal was good again on the weekend.

Big_H
8 Sep 2011, 08:57
Good debut season for Pedo. 14 games - 18 goals....pinch hit in ruck, back and forward line. Gonna be a very handy utility type player for us.

Ummm...?

Dan
8 Sep 2011, 15:36
Ummm...?

Wrong ****en thread idiot idiot idot :o