View Full Version : Macdoogal injured?
Just heard on Channel 10 that he has done his groin. But it was Goose age so who knows. Terrible luck for him if its right.
Originally posted by RIPPER_46
Just heard on Channel 10 that he has done his groin. But it was Goose age so who knows. Terrible luck for him if its right.
Oh jesus ****ing christ! This cant be happening! What have we Eagle fans done to hurt you oh football god? Surely after the Judge era we have payed whatever penance was expected of us. Have we not been well behaved and patient?
Please...somebody tell me this aint so! We cant do without Macdougal ASWELL as all the other guys who we have missing. Well boys, looks like with the injurys we have all you gotta do is turn up to training and not have slept with georgina worsfold and you got yourself a game this week.
Gary Ayres must be rubbing his hands and licking his lips!
daddy_4_eyes
6 Aug 2003, 21:53
Settle down Carly. Sh*t happens, players get injured, and Freo keep missing out on finals. But no need to get so worked up over an unconfirmed injury.
I dont really want to panic.....but.........in the same training session, as mentioned by CH10 Seira hurt his leg, Fletcher jogged laps and Wirra walked laps. Woosha said they would not risk Fletcher.
Originally posted by daddy_4_eyes
Settle down Carly. Sh*t happens, players get injured, and Freo keep missing out on finals. But no need to get so worked up over an unconfirmed injury.
Hey D4E, I dont know about you but I cant handle this slide down the ladder thats been happening. Were being absolutely mawled by injurys and Im starting to get really stressed that were going to blow a big opportunity this year. If we wernt in with a chance I wouldnt give a toss but when I know that WE could POSSIBLY get close to that last weekend in September but probably wont because of some unexplained mass of injurys I start to think that the football gods are playing with us! Its freaking me out!
daddy_4_eyes
6 Aug 2003, 23:04
Dunno if we are a realistic chance this year. Despite the Vic media orgasming over our midfield, I don't quite see WC as a premiership quality team ATM. No doubt on our day we are top notch, but we have to compete with Port, Adelaide, Brisbane, Collingwood (home ground Grand Final) and potentially Sydney.
Next year I can see us going 22-0 though ;)
Dunno if we are a realistic chance this year. Despite the Vic media orgasming over our midfield, I don't quite see WC as a premiership quality team ATM. No doubt on our day we are top notch, but we have to compete with Port, Adelaide, Brisbane, Collingwood (home ground Grand Final) and potentially Sydney.
Next year I can see us going 22-0 though ;)
I agree.
A little while ago, after the Lions game I thought we were. But since Sunday Ive been thinking a little differently. I think that we may go close to a preliminary final IF we get our best team on the ground. But realisticallyt we possibly need a KP backmen to make our defensive six out of and another mini final or two before we can really start to come of age.
Next year? Well thats the beauty of the whole thing, with a tough preeason under our belt we can go the next step from being a very talented young side that starts well and fades as the young guys get tired and injurys settle in to the premier team in the league and the flag winner!
GoEagles
7 Aug 2003, 00:55
I think we need to play Fletcher. Judging by last weeks performance, Cousins, Chick and Judd won't be able to match Adelaide's fab-four midfield (Mcleod, Riccuto, Goodwin, Bickley)
Originally posted by GoEagles
I think we need to play Fletcher. Judging by last weeks performance, Cousins, Chick and Judd won't be able to match Adelaide's fab-four midfield (Mcleod, Riccuto, Goodwin, Bickley)
Yes. If he's even 80% close to full fitness he has to be on the ground on Saturday. Christ knows we need to do something.
Originally posted by GoEagles
I wouldn't think so GoEagles, Macca's been on a half forward flank for the past 2 weeks, Roo only got 13 touches last week, Goody's only been back for 2 weeks after 5 out with a broken wrist and is still getting back into it, while Bicks is playing in spurts, on and off the bench.
I say rest Fletch for another week and bring him back when he's 100% :)
larrikin
7 Aug 2003, 03:29
Saw it on Sports Tonight and it didn't look that bad - let's be a bit optimistic on it. I guess if he doesn't play Seaby would have to be in line for his AFL debut.
And as for you, Ant, we'll leave Fletch out if McLeod suddenly has to rack off and attend to one of his daughters.:D
eagleskickass
7 Aug 2003, 04:29
Originally posted by larrikin
Saw it on Sports Tonight and it didn't look that bad - let's be a bit optimistic on it. I guess if he doesn't play Seaby would have to be in line for his AFL debut.
And as for you, Ant, we'll leave Fletch out if McLeod suddenly has to rack off and attend to one of his daughters.:D
I dont know about this, Seaby isnt acting like a player expecting to be a chance to play this year. hes all geared up for WAFL vs East perth this weekend. Not saying he wont just i dont think hes actually in the coaches thoughts as much as we think he is.
larrikin
7 Aug 2003, 04:32
Originally posted by eagleskickass
I dont know about this, Seaby isnt acting like a player expecting to be a chance to play this year. hes all geared up for WAFL vs East perth this weekend. Not saying he wont just i dont think hes actually in the coaches thoughts as much as we think he is.
What are you basing that on?
eagleskickass
7 Aug 2003, 05:09
Um the fact i talk to Seaby all the time lol, he kicked my ass in table tennis a good 3-4 times tonight, luckily for me he sucks at stingers:D
eagleskickass
7 Aug 2003, 05:10
and lets just say he is pretty open bout his footy, and he isnt talking like someone who expects to get a call up this season.
mouldy_bread
7 Aug 2003, 09:49
Fletcher won't play this weekend.
Like ant said, better to wait until he is 100%, hopefully the coaching staff think the same way.
I can't assure you of that, however, Macca has had a bad case of the flu this week (hardly trained at our main session) and wouldn't be feeling 100%. And Ronnie Burns is in the same boat.
Personally, I think your team's supporters' pessimism about this game is misplaced.
Au_Blue#24
7 Aug 2003, 14:32
Originally posted by ant
Personally, I think your team's supporters' pessimism about this game is misplaced.
I dont think its misplaced - we have some big names out and a few in doubt.
Originally posted by Au_Blue#24
I dont think its misplaced - we have some big names out and a few in doubt.
If it were at Footy Park you'd have Buckley's chance but it's at Subi, you haven't lost there all year! And players the ilk of Judd and Kerr could not possibly play so badly again, you're going to bounce back hard, Woosha style.
If I were an Eagles fan, I'd be feeling very confident.
eagleskickass
7 Aug 2003, 16:43
Originally posted by ant
If it were at Footy Park you'd have Buckley's chance but it's at Subi, you haven't lost there all year! And players the ilk of Judd and Kerr could not possibly play so badly again, you're going to bounce back hard, Woosha style.
If I were an Eagles fan, I'd be feeling very confident.
These, along with how we rebounded after the Port game, are what is giving me great confidence:) Missing the players we are is daunting, but the better teams can cover(not fully but at least partially) injuries to key players. We dont deserve to be top 4 contenders if we cant cover the injuries we have even though they are to key players.
Voice of Reason
7 Aug 2003, 16:50
Originally posted by ant
If it were at Footy Park you'd have Buckley's chance
Now don't you go upsetting the Collingwood fans with that sort of remark.:D
On Seaby, I think he will be given a full year in the WAFL with West Perth to develop, put in a big pre-season and be ready for action next year (thus assisting me to achieve successive Premierhips with the Falcons in 2003 and the Eagles in 2004). :D
sabre_ac
7 Aug 2003, 18:26
Ah how the mighty have fallen.
I must admit I do feel for you guys as I was actually enjoying seeing your team up their (that doesnt mean I enjoyed the effect it had on eagle supporters).
So its now a very real possibility that the dockers could end up ahead of the eagles on the ladder, as you will struggle to win many more games.
On the McDougal loss..well you all know my opinions on this guy.
Originally posted by ant
I wouldn't think so GoEagles, Macca's been on a half forward flank for the past 2 weeks, Roo only got 13 touches last week, Goody's only been back for 2 weeks after 5 out with a broken wrist and is still getting back into it, while Bicks is playing in spurts, on and off the bench.
I say rest Fletch for another week and bring him back when he's 100% :) Geez ant. I don't know if that's your pessimism coming through again (which you've bagged the Eagles supporters for) or whether you think GoEagles is on the West Coast selection committee and you're trying to con him. ;)
McLeod was good last week off a flank, and will be at his best on the wide expanses of Subiaco now that he's over the flu.
Ricciuto had to deal with the league's best tagger last week, other than that he's been in sensational form.
Goodwin's rate of improvement from his first game back to the second was excellent I thought, he could be close to his best this week with that rate of improvement.
And Bickley playing on and off the bench, well that's been happening for a while, so what's new? He's still as tough as anyone else on the field for the 60-70% of the match that he's out there.
daddy_4_eyes
7 Aug 2003, 19:33
Originally posted by sabre_ac
So its now a very real possibility that the dockers could end up ahead of the eagles on the ladder
Oh what a successful season the dockers will have had :rolleyes:
Originally posted by sabre_ac
So its now a very real possibility that the dockers could end up ahead of the eagles on the ladder, as you will struggle to win many more games.
The perennial dream of a Frocker fan..sod the flag.. being above WCE is their idea of success.
Originally posted by DaveW
Geez ant. I don't know if that's your pessimism coming through again (which you've bagged the Eagles supporters for) or whether you think GoEagles is on the West Coast selection committee and you're trying to con him. ;)
McLeod was good last week off a flank, and will be at his best on the wide expanses of Subiaco now that he's over the flu.
Ricciuto had to deal with the league's best tagger last week, other than that he's been in sensational form.
Goodwin's rate of improvement from his first game back to the second was excellent I thought, he could be close to his best this week with that rate of improvement.
And Bickley playing on and off the bench, well that's been happening for a while, so what's new? He's still as tough as anyone else on the field for the 60-70% of the match that he's out there.
All true and taken into account DaveW, but if I were the WC brainstrust I'd make sure I focused on Burton, Shirley, Ladhams, Bode and Stenglein etc. first....you wouldn't want these guys free to dominate through the middle, then WC would really be in strife. I hope GoEagles reads this.
larrikin
8 Aug 2003, 01:57
Originally posted by ant
All true and taken into account DaveW, but if I were the WC brainstrust I'd make sure I focused on Burton, Shirley, Ladhams, Bode and Stenglein etc. first....you wouldn't want these guys free to dominate through the middle, then WC would really be in strife. I hope GoEagles reads this.
There's a board called Adelaide.
Use it.
There's a board called Adelaide.
Use it.
Ah okay.....that'd be the one under general talk boards? Cheers, thanks for the advice mate.
RogerMellie
8 Aug 2003, 02:53
Oh what a successful season the dockers will have had :rolleyes:
Well, yeah. That would mean we'd finish in the top eight which we've never done before.