View Full Version : 35. Ed Curnow (rookie)
TheGeneral
7 Dec 2010, 10:45
Welcome to Carlton.
Ex-Adelaide http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=402039
Curnow hoping for a second chance in AFL (http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/curnow-hoping-for-a-second-chance-in-afl-20101206-18mu6.html)
Curnow broke his ankle in the mud at Trevor Barker Beach Oval against Sandringham in round 12.
It ended Curnow's season and led him to doubt whether his dream to resurrect his AFL career - that began as a rookie as a raw 18-year-old at Adelaide - could be resurrected.
He was by far the best player in the VFL and the Liston Trophy count proved it in which he was the leader, before Shane Valenti and Stephen Clifton stormed home to take the prestigious award.
''I enjoyed my time at Adelaide but I've got a completely different mindset now. Over there, I just thought how hard it's going to be to play AFL and I felt like I was always coming from behind, whereas now I feel like I'm more mature as a player.'
http://img840.imageshack.us/img840/3323/svcurnow420x0.jpg
Ed Curnow [left] and Cam Pederson horse around at training.
Curnow hoping for a second chance in AFL (http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/curnow-hoping-for-a-second-chance-in-afl-20101206-18mu6.html)
GordonBlue
7 Dec 2010, 11:14
Looks like he is the perfect story to a young kid that couldn't cut it at his first stint at AFL... works his but off and matured and is now ready to take his opportunity with open arms...
I have a feeling GWS' recruiting has shocked a few clubs into getting hands on players they weren't expecting...
TheGeneral
7 Dec 2010, 11:40
GWS passing with two picks mightn't be a good sign for this year's rookie draft. :confused:
644J9qdl73U
2007 Pre Season and Draft Camp results
3.01 20m sprint, 8.85 agility run, 15.0 beep test, 56cm vertical leap
Link (http://www.afl.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/208/Default.aspx?newsId=54203)
“Ed had a fantastic year, he’s a running machine and is very driven. He’s been doing athletics since the footy season finished and he’s got fantastic 400m and 800m running ability. He’ll give Nathan van Berlo a good run in the pre-season stuff when he gets here.”
Link (http://www.afl.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/208/Default.aspx?newsId=54203)
Link (http://www.adelaidenow.com.au/sport/rookie-crows-flying/story-e6frecrl-1111115421288)
Curnow, selected from the Geelong Falcons, is a natural athlete and streaked to the line first in the Crows' three-kilometre time-trial after Christmas.
Even supremely fit Nathan van Berlo, who ran his personal best time behind Curnow earlier this month, has his hands full keeping pace with the former distance runner.
"He's run 800s (metre races) and 1500s competitively and trained with some really top runners back in Melbourne so he's not foreign to hard-running training," Adelaide physical performance manager Stephen Schwerdt said.
Curnow finished third behind by Brett Burton and van Berlo at the University Loop yesterday but the Glenelg-listed teenager still holds the club's time-trial record.
"When we have had running sessions he's (Curnow) excelled as you would expect," Schwerdt said.
"It's not that long ago he was specifically training for athletics, that was something our other guys haven't been doing so you would expect him to be going well, it hasn't been a surprise."
Link (http://www.adelaidenow.com.au/sport/rookie-crows-flying/story-e6frecrl-1111115421288)
Not sure what type of midfielder Curnow is, but his pace and run will be handy if we lose a mid to injury. Ed is almost tailor made for the type of football we played when we were at our best this year.
Curnow is allegedly indigenous.
*runs from Mister Carlton*
Splendini
7 Dec 2010, 11:51
I reckon Ed could slot straight into Brock's role if his body doesn't hold up...was a real work horse at U18 level who won plenty of his own ball......obviosuly has elite endurance and can run all day
He's going to add a fair bit to your midfield. Surprised GWS didn't draft him.
TheGeneral
7 Dec 2010, 16:44
CFC TV: Rookie Draft - Curnow (http://www.carltonfc.com.au/cfc%20tv/tabid/10443/contentid/318565/default.aspx)
Impressive second efforts and hard running.
GordonBlue
7 Dec 2010, 18:38
CFC TV: Rookie Draft - Curnow (http://www.carltonfc.com.au/cfc%20tv/tabid/10443/contentid/318565/default.aspx)
Impressive second efforts and hard running.
Thats very impressive... not expecting too much... but really enjoy the watch
Sin City
7 Dec 2010, 19:29
Brilliant video footage, looks like we might've got ourselves a beauty.
TheGeneral
9 Dec 2010, 17:18
CFC TV: Curnow Interview (http://www.carltonfc.com.au/cfc%20tv/tabid/10443/contentid/319036/default.aspx)
Didn't we delist Joey Anderson?
TheGeneral
11 Dec 2010, 17:21
What Curnow could bring to our list excites me more than Duigan.
Impressed by his inside and outside work after watching his highlights again. Moves and runs hard like Murphy with his link up work and dancing feet to baulk players. The snapped goal from the stoppage was a Murphy-esque kick in the one take.
TheGeneral
7 Jan 2011, 21:10
niw3btch2Z4
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=niw3btch2Z4
I'm shocked that TradeDraft has finally uploaded Carlton videos. ;) :D :thumbsu:
I'm really excited to see what this kid can bring to the team, but I just looked up his stats and he's smaller than I thought. I was expecting someone about Judd's size, or at least McLean's. He's about half way between McLean and Murphy. He's still spoken of as a tough inside midfielder regardless of size, so it doesn't really matter, but I just thought he was going to be bigger.
Sin City
8 Jan 2011, 13:19
Pick 28 Brisbane
The Lions still have a pretty good top 18 but with the length of their injury list last year they were really found out. They are capable of competing with most teams and getting a player at this stage who can step in and play without a lot of development time would be a big advantage. Curnow the athlete would also be very handy. Curnow is very difficult to place and could go in the top 20 or well down the list (if GC don’t take him).
Ed Curnow
DOB 20 Ht 182 Wt 83
Curnow seems to have been discounted by most as a prospect in this year’s draft and I really don’t understand why. Sure he has a broken leg that might keep him out for a fair bit of next year but the kid is only 20 still and if teams rule him out because of a few games early next year they could be missing out on a Michael Barlow standard player who could excel for the team that takes him for the next 10 years. Curnow has shown enormous development this year and there is no reason to think that he would not continue to develop once he gets back on the park.
He has a fantastic attitude and the coaches at Box Hill cannot speak highly enough of him. He was delisted by Adelaide after 1 year on the rookie list in 2008 with concerns centering mainly on his disposal skills. Rendell at the time suggested that the decision could come back to bite them on the bum and that may well end up being the case. He has worked hard improving his skills and this year showed his skills are certainly up to AFL standard. The other thing which he had to improve was his strength in the contest. He bulked up a lot over the preseason and put a lot of work in the gym and he looked like a different player out there this year. Suddenly he was strong enough to mix it in the clinches and he was able to dominate around the stoppages.
There was never any doubt of his athletic ability, indeed he set the 3km record whilst he was a rookie with the Crows. He has elite level endurance and good speed. Now much like Barlow he is a well rounded midfielder who runs all day and can get in at the clearances and win his own ball. He has quick, clean hands and makes good use of the balls he wins in tight. Confidence was also a big aspect of the leap that Curnow made this year. This year he finally worked out that he could dominate at VFL level and he went out and did it. I think the mental side is something any club taking him must remember. He is one guy who initially might require a bit more positive reinforcement than many especially whilst recovering from his injury.
I note that the Box Hill B&F he had his arm in a sling. I assume he has taken the opportunity to clean up a problem there whilst he is recuperating from his leg injury. Curnow was injured in week 13 missing the final 8 games of the VFL season. Despite this he won the Box Hill B&F and finished 3rd in the JJ Liston Trophy. He had 5 BOG in the 12 completed games he played. In the State game with WA he was very unlucky not to win the BOG given he accumulated 38 possessions in another dominant display. Quite simply he was the stand out player in the VFL this year and perhaps only Krak would stand between him and the mantle of best player not playing AFL football. In my opinion he is too good not to be picked up by some team this year despite his injury.
Overall Curnow has taken a massive step forward this year and apart from his injury he would certainly be getting massive attention. He looked every bit as good as Barlow did the year before and any team in the league would love to have another Barlow type in their midfield.
My personal draft rankings:
28. Ed Curnow
Ed Curnow (VIC)
Height: 178cm, Weight: 79kg, DOB: 07/11/1989
Recruited from: Box Hill Hawks
Style:
Range: late-rookie
Why: Had a really nice season at VFL level up until injury. Was frighteningly good and looks good enough to play regular AFL games. As a rookie selection could be really valueable pickup and really help a team allot. Have a feeling he will prove that he is deserving of the 2nd chance.
Pick 48 Essendon Edward Curnow Box Hill Hawks
Clearly the best player in the VFL before injury- Curnow is a tough and hard at it midfielder who I think can make an immediate impact in the AFL once fully fit. Curnow is a beast at winning his own footy but can also play outside and be an effective link player.
Being a horse racing man, the VFL has pretty good form lines with the performance of Michael Barlow this year and I reckon Curnow can be a really solid contributor to the Bombers in the next 5 years.
Curnow was a rookie at Adelaide but was let go- he is probably the type of midfielder the crows had plenty of at the time. The bloke has got to the VFL and refined his game enormously. Curnow had limited exposure to the TAC as he was playing predominantly for Geelong Grammar if my memory serves me correctly. So I consider him a 'young' 21 year old.
There are quite a few players I really considered with this pick. I reckon Orren Stephenson is the best ruckman remaining and I seriously considered him. Cameron OShea was seriously considered because of his competiveness and nice size- I am just thinking his ideal role is at hb which Essendon have a few players who rotate through there. I considered Kelvin Lawrence because of the sheer excitement of the way he plays however I suspect he is more a rookie selection. At the end the stiffest bloke was Jordan Schroeder from calder who i think is seriously underrated on the BF boards. I eventually went for Curnow just but I hate not picking Schroeder I just like him so much.
This sees me out for the draft as our next pick will be used on Ben Howlett who will be a very solid midfielder.
I hope we get an opportunity to have a rookie draft as there will be some interesting names that will come out.
3. Ed Curnow, 180cm, 82kg, 20 y.o, Box Hill Hawks (VFL), Midfielder
Yet another of the 'best outside the AFL' types, for pure inside work, Curnow would perhaps be the best around in state ranks. Broke his leg in the middle latter parts of the year, but still managed to win the Box Hill B&F and also finish top 5 in the JJ Liston trophy.
Had a solid year last year in his debut season at VFL level after being delisted by Adelaide in '08 but took his game to a whole nother level.
An inside ball winning midfielder, he is not overly quick, but manages to get himself to the right spots and shovel the ball out to team mates with short pin point hand passes. Curnow would add immediate strength around the contest to the Giants list.
Hawthorn - #69
Ed Curnow (VFL – Box Hill Hawks) 180cm 78kg
With Hawthorn’s premiership window pretty wide open and after having taken a few high upside guys and with a number of player in the right age group at the club, I’d probably look to add a mature ager and Curnow from the limited bits I have seen of him this season has taken his game to a whole new level.
Ex Adelaide player now playing for the Box Hill Hawks. Just seems to have that hunger to get back to AFL level. Been amongst the bests most games which is great to see. Really just an outstanding athletic package who without a doubt belongs on an AFL list. At this stage in the draft he represents really good value for a guy who could step into the side and play AFL quality football and really adds a whole lot of leg speed which Hawthorn fans are pretty keen on adding.
Had an outstanding game in the VFL v WAFL state game and was the standout midfielder on the ground on the day. That game really stood out in my mind and showed that against pretty reasonable competition that he can stand up and impact the contest. I expect to see him back on an AFL list in 2011.
Name: Ed Curnow
D.O.B: 07/11/1989
Height: 183cm
Weight: 83kg
Previous Clubs: Adelaide (AFL)
Ed Curnow cuts a very impressive figure among most VFL obseervers. He has done everything in his power to earn another crack at the big time. His 40 disposals in the state match for the Big V were all class and could not have ordered a better audition for recruiters than that. He uses the ball well enough without being penetrative, he runs to the right spots and is dangerous when the ball hits the deck, with or without the ball he is always hunting it. A rare but good trait to have in an inside midfielders repoitoire.
I also think someone will take a chance on him as I think these two are some of the leading lights out of this years "Barlow" group of players.
Sin City
10 Jan 2011, 18:35
From Talking Carlton
I didn't know who he was at first till I asked someone.
!@#$%& me dead. He has pace to burn and a one grab player too.
Reminded me of a more skillfull Armfield with that pace and at times I thought he was Garlett, such was his pace.
I couldn't see why he wouldn't be a bonafide AFL midfielder, but who does he replace with Gibbs be released to play midfield?
He's going to add shitloads of pace to our team if he comes in...and I reckon from what I saw he will make his debut in 2011.
Blueboys7
10 Jan 2011, 22:47
I was under the impression that he wasn't that quick, more so a player with elite endurance, meaning he doesn't slow down. Having that much pace would make him a real threat to McLean place in the side if he can actually find the footy.
The issue with Curnow has been his disposal by foot and let's be honest, it isn't McLean strong suit either. That should be a very interesting battle in the seasons to come but I suspect Curnow won't exactly be close to senior selection early in the 2011 with his leg injury from last year holding him back.
C4[2]Yo`DooR
11 Jan 2011, 07:06
Is it wrong for me to feel more excited about the prospect of drafting Curnow into our club than Watson?
Perhaps it's just me, but I'm really finding it hard to get excited about Watson - even if I do think he will add to our side for years to come. Don't get me wrong, I'm wrapped that we drafted Watson, I'm just more interested in what Curnow has to offer given his reputation.
Blueboys7
11 Jan 2011, 07:28
Yo`DooR;19935099']Is it wrong for me to feel more excited about the prospect of drafting Curnow into our club than Watson?
Perhaps it's just me, but I'm really finding it hard to get excited about Watson - even if I do think he will add to our side for years to come. Don't get me wrong, I'm wrapped that we drafted Watson, I'm just more interested in what Curnow has to offer given his reputation.
I have a similar view, I'm very excited about Curnow. There is something about a player who gets delisted and has to work their arse off to get to the level of play that he managed last year. His work ethic is fantastic and being in an AFL environment he should thrive.
The fact that he was delisted also means that he knows what it is like to lose that dream of playing AFL. I don't think he will let it slip though.
On Watson, I personally am not getting too excited for now because he is a development prospect and won't be playing for a few years. I don't subscribe to the thought that he is ready made, he still has a he'll of a lot to learn where as Curnow is certainly ready to go once fit.
Sin City
6 Feb 2011, 08:12
As reported elsewhere, Robbie and Curnow looked great.
Ed Curnow's looks like he was born to play in the wet. Seemed liked a faster more skilful version of Libba. Didn't realise how strong he was.
After the game they went into some great one on one tackling and wrestling drills. Curnow again and Labi looking very strong. There is no doubt we are a bigger, stronger group this year.
Are we still able to promote another rookie?
After today's performance, would have to be Curnow.. Looked really good.
Curnow was BOG for mine. Clean hands, kept his feet in the wet and a few lovely moves to open up space in heavy traffic. We might have a few inside mid options after all. What it really means is greater competition for spots which will benefit the club enormously.
http://www.carltonfc.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/4311/newsid/107363/default.aspx
Despite the brief distraction, Waite played well, as did rookie Ed Curnow (from Box Hill Hawks), defender Michael Jamison and former Cat Jeremy Laidler.
"[And] we were pretty happy with the way Ed Curnow went. With his work rate and his ability to find the ball, he's going to have some impact this year."
http://www.carltonfc.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/4311/newsid/107363/default.aspx
http://img26.imageshack.us/img26/7758/curnow6.jpg (http://img26.imageshack.us/i/curnow6.jpg/)
Jeremias
6 Feb 2011, 09:42
Can't wait to see him in action next week. :thumbsu:
He will surely be one of our nominated rookies for season 2011.
Blueboys7
6 Feb 2011, 21:00
This guy will play senior football this year, no doubt about it.
blueblood25
11 Feb 2011, 10:27
http://a5.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/180662_10150098198158334_108959538333_6180121_355871_n.jpg
jae.sus.christ.
curnow is just friggn huge. i'm not even sure how that's possible.
Jeremias
11 Feb 2011, 10:48
Can't wait to see him in Navy Blue tomorrow night.
A solid performance through the NAB series will give him every chance of having a significant impact in the seniors this season.
At this stage I don't think he's going to be in the senior team against Richmond in round 1 but if he performs to a high enough standard over the coming weeks then he'll give himself every opportunity to be there.
C4[2]Yo`DooR
12 Feb 2011, 08:24
I've got a strange feeling that Curnow has already been offered a contract by GWS :D
thylacine60
12 Feb 2011, 09:50
http://a5.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/180662_10150098198158334_108959538333_6180121_355871_n.jpg
jae.sus.christ.
curnow is just friggn huge. i'm not even sure how that's possible.
Neither is Ellard.
as always Thy, :D:thumbsu:
Sin City
12 Feb 2011, 23:19
Great start, we've got ourselves a player :thumbsu:
Had it in my head that it was Cunrow.
That was probably the only disappointing aspect from his game tonight.
Sin City
13 Feb 2011, 07:45
http://img511.imageshack.us/img511/6971/curnownab.jpg (http://img511.imageshack.us/i/curnownab.jpg/)
http://img151.imageshack.us/img151/1909/curnownab2.jpg (http://img151.imageshack.us/i/curnownab2.jpg/)
TheGeneral
20 Feb 2011, 09:59
Barlow closing in on return (http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/barlow-closing-in-on-return-20110219-1b0g0.html)
Barlow's experience has also been pivotal to new Carlton rookie and former Box Hill player Ed Curnow, who fractured a leg a week after Barlow's season-ending injury.
Curnow is on track to follow in Barlow's footsteps and make an immediate impact in the AFL.
''It was pretty strange with the timing of it … it was really sad to see him [Barlow] go down, and then it happened to me,'' Curnow said. ''He has given me a call a few times to keep me posted on how he's going.''
Barlow closing in on return (http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/barlow-closing-in-on-return-20110219-1b0g0.html)
Good return in light of that leg injury.
TheGeneral
24 Feb 2011, 18:53
I reckon Ed could slot straight into Brock's role if his body doesn't hold up...was a real work horse at U18 level who won plenty of his own ball......obviosuly has elite endurance and can run all day
http://twitter.com/#!/SamLandsberger/status/40628201969553408
Spoke to a key Bullants official. Reckons Carlton rookie Ed Curnow will heap selection pressure on some Blues mids including Brock McLean.
http://twitter.com/#!/SamLandsberger/status/40628491829510144
Curnow was the best VFL midfielder last year at Box Hill until breaking his leg. Fully recovered and training well. A contested ball king.
C4[2]Yo`DooR
25 Feb 2011, 06:53
I have a sneaky feeling that Ed will be one of our two nominated rookie's.
Blueboys7
25 Feb 2011, 09:14
Yo`DooR;20258840']I have a sneaky feeling that Ed will be one of our two nominated rookie's.
He is certainly no Albert Proud who would have already been elevated. :p
Sin City
28 Feb 2011, 07:35
Blues hand out Giant lesson (http://www.carltonfc.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/4311/newsid/108481/default.aspx)
Rookie-listed Zach Tuohy showed plenty of dash off a wing and half-back, while Ed Curnow picked up his share of possessions. Andrew Collins (ex-Richmond) and Jeremy Laidler (Geelong) showed enough, especially early, to suggest they'll be excellent acquisitions.
Blues hand out Giant lesson (http://www.carltonfc.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/4311/newsid/108481/default.aspx)
http://img819.imageshack.us/img819/8775/curnow7.jpg (http://img819.imageshack.us/i/curnow7.jpg/)
Sin City
28 Feb 2011, 18:23
Training - 28 February 2011 (http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=291255&id=108959538333&fbid=10150109746143334)
http://img192.imageshack.us/img192/1272/curnow8.jpg (http://img192.imageshack.us/i/curnow8.jpg/)
http://img193.imageshack.us/img193/9301/curnow9.jpg (http://img193.imageshack.us/i/curnow9.jpg/)
Sin City
1 Mar 2011, 12:57
“Lift Off” for Curnow (http://www.carltonfc.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/4311/newsid/108603/default.aspx)
Curnow’s association with the N.I.C.K. Foundation is through friends and he is looking forward to his involvement although admits an understudy will be required for the first performance on Friday night.
“While I am thrilled to be involved and really looking forward to the performances, Friday I have a rather more important engagement,” Curnow said this week at Visy Park.
“We are playing Adelaide here at Visy Park on Friday afternoon so I will be busy doing what I love most of all, playing football. However Saturday I will be available to play the role in both performances so that will be fantastic.”
All profits from “Lift Off” will be directed to the N.I.C.K. Foundation, with tickets available through nickfoundation.startix.com.au
“Lift Off” for Curnow (http://www.carltonfc.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/4311/newsid/108603/default.aspx)
TheGeneral
1 Mar 2011, 13:05
Fantastic story and initiative.
The Weekend Australian had a great article about drawing attention to suicides which aren't mentioned in the news.
More people kill themselves than die on the roads.
Sin City
13 Mar 2011, 20:23
http://img30.imageshack.us/img30/2834/curnow10.jpg (http://img30.imageshack.us/i/curnow10.jpg/)
NAB Challenge match: Carlton v Geelong (http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=294932&id=108959538333&fbid=10150119046278334)
Sin City
14 Mar 2011, 09:25
http://www.talkingcarlton.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=29578
Forgot to add Curnow was very good. He is good at diving in for the ball and then being able to handball to someone and release them forward. Not just a hard at it player who doesn't really benefit the team; he sets his teamates up.
Curnow looked good in and under, bit of pace on him aswell.
Curnow got into the game the longer it went,
Curnow is someone who I think will be in the team round 1. He covers the ground really well and runs all day. He seems to play bigger than what he looks.
Curnow - Provided a contest in the clinches and worked hard when not in possession. Will provide good competition for a senior berth.
- Curnow and Twomey will add to our overall midfield depth in 2011. In fact, with Ellard out, I think Curnow will probably play in Round 1.
Curnow - Mid - Strong with the tackle and strong in the tackle, having the ability to stand up or break out of the hold to fire the ball away. Quick release of the ball by hand and showed more willingness to run, carry and kick long as the game wore on. Has a turn of speed and a reasonable side-step and I suspect as the strength returns through his ankle this will improve further. Personally I would select him ahead of Robinson as I feel he can run out the game better. With Robinson developing, this bloke and one B. McLean I am feeling a lot better about our clearance/inside mid stocks.
I thought Twomey, Curnow and Watson also showed remarkable poise for young blokes.
Solid games from Laidler,Duigan,Twomey and Curnow.
Two other lesser light caught my attention yesterday being Eddie Curnow and Wade Twomey.Curnow just kept going for the hard ball all day.He dished out nicely,used the ball well,and seemed to run hard both ways all day.A good pickup by WH and his sidekick Cazz.
Curnow looks very good
Sin City
15 Mar 2011, 16:19
Yo`DooR;20258840']I have a sneaky feeling that Ed will be one of our two nominated rookie's.
Ed gets the nod as nominated rookie (http://www.carltonfc.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/4311/newsid/109344/default.aspx)
Ed Curnow’s dogged resilience and persistence has been rewarded with his elevation to Carlton’s senior list as its nominated rookie for 2011.
“Ed was a highly-touted player for the Box Hill Hawks in the VFL last year, prior to incurring a season-ending broken ankle, and what we’ve since seen confirms why he was so highly-touted there,” Icke said.
“He’s displayed good form in the NAB Cup and the NAB Challenge Series, and his on-field ability, coupled with his uncompromising work ethic, means he has earned his chance.”
“He (Curnow) is making a really big impact on the playing group and I know the coaching staff as well, with his diligence, hard work and the way he’s generally performed on-field,” Harris said. “He’s obviously had a go at it before, he knows what’s required and his work ethic has been excellent.”
Ed gets the nod as nominated rookie (http://www.carltonfc.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/4311/newsid/109344/default.aspx)
TheGeneral
17 Mar 2011, 16:57
X1GO6O6kyMs
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X1GO6O6kyMs
Sin City
18 Mar 2011, 11:50
There is a girl called Eliza Curnow from Geelong (same as Ed) who looks a bit similar to him, she won the Australian U20 800m championship race last week and has been making a name for herself for about the last year and a half. I'd guarantee they're related, looks like good endurance runs in the family.
GordonBlue
18 Mar 2011, 12:30
There is a girl called Eliza Curnow from Geelong (same as Ed) who looks a bit similar to him, she won the Australian U20 800m championship race last week and has been making a name for herself for about the last year and a half. I'd guarantee they're related, looks like good endurance runs in the family.
Edward Curnow and Eliza Curnow are friends on Facebook...
Sin City
18 Mar 2011, 12:31
Edward Curnow and Eliza Curnow are friends on Facebook...
You're scaring me :p
Splendini
18 Mar 2011, 12:33
dead spit !!!
TheGeneral
18 Mar 2011, 12:37
dead spit !!!
That's what she said...
Ed and Eliza Curnow >>>>> David and Georgie Clarke
Sin City
18 Mar 2011, 12:39
I was a big, big fan of Georgie Clarke
Splendini
18 Mar 2011, 12:44
I tried to crack on to Tamsyn Lewis once upon a time....needless to say it was a massive fail :o
Sin City
18 Mar 2011, 12:46
I tried to crack on to Tamsyn Lewis once upon a time....needless to say it was a massive fail :o
Haha, worth a shot though.
GordonBlue
18 Mar 2011, 12:48
You're scaring me :p
That's what she said! Wait what
GordonBlue
18 Mar 2011, 12:48
Wasn't she a Carlton girl?
Splendini
18 Mar 2011, 12:52
don't recall, was too intoxicated :o
Sin City
18 Mar 2011, 12:53
Wasn't she a Carlton girl?
Hawthorn players knew her pretty well :o
Sin City
24 Mar 2011, 10:11
Great to see him selected for tonight, have a blinder Ed :thumbsu:
blueblood25
24 Mar 2011, 13:18
http://media.olympics.com.au/files/aocMedia/aocImage/imageHiRes/Eliza_curnow_1500m.jpg
What a fox!
[/nolezo]
Congratulations and best wishes to Ed and his family for tonight.
We know we have a good one with you, mate.
Go get 'em.
Sin City
25 Mar 2011, 08:09
Link (http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/carlton-coach-brett-ratten-gets-on-board-and-good-signs-for-richmond-coach-damien-hardwick/story-fn7si0bn-1226027796552)
If Judd was the last-term star and Marc Murphy and Bryce Gibbs his accomplices, a first-gamer came along for the ride.
The Blues have found one in former Adelaide rookie Ed Curnow, whose 10 last-term touches and 24 in all showed the Blues have recruited a second-chance gem.
Link (http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/carlton-coach-brett-ratten-gets-on-board-and-good-signs-for-richmond-coach-damien-hardwick/story-fn7si0bn-1226027796552)
The Toad
25 Mar 2011, 11:23
What a first game. Very, VERY impressive. A lot to like about this lad, the way he threw himself into every contest was bloody awsome. Looking forward to watching him get even better as the season goes on.
I think we may have a winner here.
Blueboys7
25 Mar 2011, 22:57
I was stoked to see him kick the first goal, it really set him up for a great game. He won plenty of it and used it very well, he is one that will put the team first with blocks, sheppards and tackles.
Sin City
28 Mar 2011, 21:51
Debutants, young and old, look at home in the AFL (http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/debutants-young-and-old-look-at-home-in-the-afl-20110328-1cd08.html)
Notable newbies:
Ed Curnow, 21, (rookie list Box Hill VFL) Carlton midfielder
24 disposals, 5marks, 1 goal, 7 tackles.
Excelled in every facet of his first AFL game as a midfielder. Neat in the clinches, and able to find space to link play, his superb first game is further evidence that the best VFL players can make the transition to the elite level. His emergence puts pressure on the oft-injured Brock McLean, and his tackling in the clinches could help ease the pressure on star Blues A-graders Marc Murphy and Chris Judd.
Debutants, young and old, look at home in the AFL (http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/debutants-young-and-old-look-at-home-in-the-afl-20110328-1cd08.html)
Sin City
29 Mar 2011, 08:41
Box Hill trio stars in AFL debut (http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/box-hill-trio-stars-in-afl-debut/story-fn53khop-1226029561920)
Curnow, last year’s Box Hill’s best-and-fairest winner, ripped holes in Richmond’s midfield on Thursday night and won 10 possessions in the final term as Carlton eroded a 14-point deficit to clinch victory.
"That was the icing on the cake, Curnow on Thursday night dominated through the middle and then Pedersen last night was tremendous and Markovic held his own," Hawks general manager Andrew McLeish said.
Box Hill trio stars in AFL debut (http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/box-hill-trio-stars-in-afl-debut/story-fn53khop-1226029561920)
Sin City
5 Apr 2011, 22:43
Curnow making most of second chance (http://www.carltonfc.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/4311/newsid/110948/default.aspx)
"I was just thankful for the opportunity. It's taken a while, but since I've been at Carlton, I've just really enjoyed my footy," Curnow says.
"I've had a good run. It was great news to hear that I'd been rookied first and then to get the call up for the first game was great. I've had a bit of a good run and hopefully I can keep it going."
Curnow has experienced a thoroughly deserved change of fortunes over the past few months.
Curnow making most of second chance (http://www.carltonfc.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/4311/newsid/110948/default.aspx)
Sin City
15 Apr 2011, 11:55
Hungry Ed Curnow gets his big break at the Blues (http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/hungry-ed-burnow-gets-his-big-break-at-the-blues/story-e6frf9jf-1226039342877)
"He's a kid who's desperate, hungry and wants to make a big impression," Ratten said.
"The way he's gone about his work and how he wants to be perceived as a player ... he works extremely hard and he's trying to get the most out of himself."
At 21, Curnow already is a football journeyman. He played juniors at Modewarre, outside Geelong, and for Geelong College in the APS system.
Hungry Ed Curnow gets his big break at the Blues (http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/hungry-ed-burnow-gets-his-big-break-at-the-blues/story-e6frf9jf-1226039342877)
TheGeneral
26 Apr 2011, 15:58
Curnow blitzing for the Blues, April 17, 2011 (http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/curnow-blitzing-for-the-blues/story-fn53khop-1226040540985)
"I think a lot of it for me also was about getting my confidence up and being a consistent player,"
"You can't help it when you get injured, it's just something you have to deal with,"
"I'm training as hard as I can and I've got to do everything to stay in the side, so I'm basically putting myself on the line every week."
"I was too young to be honest. I reckon there's a lot of boys like that, so the recruiters are starting to swing a bit on what age they take guys," Curnow said.
"For a lot of young blokes coming out of school is too young to get picked up, so two years in the VFL certainly helped me."
Curnow blitzing for the Blues, April 17, 2011 (http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/curnow-blitzing-for-the-blues/story-fn53khop-1226040540985)
Sharks On A Plane
27 Apr 2011, 13:06
What more can you say about this bloke?
I think we were all secretly hoping he could have an instant impact in light of McLean's struggles, but he really has gone above and beyond what would be expected of a first-year player (despite being a mature-ager).
The thing that has impressed me most about Ed is his composure in traffic. Rarely gets tackled and often manages to wriggle into the clear and dispose of the ball cleanly by hand or foot. He really has become an indispensable part of our midfield virtually over night, and I look forward to many more years of quality football from him. :thumbsu::thumbsu:
Sin City
27 Apr 2011, 13:14
Look forward to stirring Richmond supporters up about how good he'll be once he's had a full pre-season :p
Twomey2Betts
27 Apr 2011, 14:12
What more can you say about this bloke?
I think we were all secretly hoping he could have an instant impact in light of McLean's struggles, but he really has gone above and beyond what would be expected of a first-year player (despite being a mature-ager).
The thing that has impressed me most about Ed is his composure in traffic. Rarely gets tackled and often manages to wriggle into the clear and dispose of the ball cleanly by hand or foot. He really has become an indispensable part of our midfield virtually over night, and I look forward to many more years of quality football from him. :thumbsu::thumbsu:
It's almost freakish how he can get a ball out to our mids in a tight hard scrap. Even when he seems to have no right to.
And you're right about the composure, there were some really critical bits of play late in that last quarter against the Cows, where his ability to coolly slip around his opponent and control the ball and get it to a teammate kept driving us forward. His concentration seems amazing, just never panics. Maybe my username should have been Curnow2Judd :p
thylacine60
1 May 2011, 17:57
Emma Quayle, top read. Mr Ed could easily have given it away had he been made of less sterner stuff. :thumbsu:
http://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/afl/afl-news/as-the-crow-flies-20110422-1drjh.html
I wonder if CFC would have considered recruiting Ed if Grigg hadn't left.
We might owe Grigg a debt of gratitude:cool:
I wonder if CFC would have considered recruiting Ed if Grigg haven't left.
We might owe Grigg a debt of gratitude:cool:
As time goes on we may owe Grigg much gratitude.
I'm sorry for the poor start Collins had with us, but on the weight of what was on offer in the pre-season, he does fill that HFF role quite nicely for us.
Time will tell, but there'll be no tears for Grigg from these quarters.
Splendini
3 May 2011, 21:14
Yup, surely they didn't identify his potential and pick him on his merits..........just sayin...
You're probably right......but then again funnier things have happened on the way to the forum.
C4[2]Yo`DooR
4 May 2011, 14:01
Yup, surely they didn't identify his potential and pick him on his merits..........just sayin...
The CFC Recruitment team owed us anyway, after they overlooked another indigineous inside midfielder in this years draft.... after he was sacked by Brisbane.
Splendini
4 May 2011, 14:24
Very true :rolleyes:
C4[2]Yo`DooR
23 May 2011, 12:49
I just had a chat with Ed - he says that he is at least one month away from playing.
inyourcool
25 May 2011, 16:02
Ok C4, so you are sticking with that it seems!
I certainly dont have mucg faith with the club injury updates...
blueblood25
27 May 2011, 12:56
:confused:
Well that's shit.
Guess were gonna have to rock out with our Brock out.
.. Sorry
C4[2]Yo`DooR
27 May 2011, 13:08
:confused:
Well that's shit.
Guess were gonna have to rock out with our Brock out.
.. Sorry
You've just put the worst image in my head.
Thanks.
Blue Dawn
27 May 2011, 19:17
Yo`DooR;21094164']I just had a chat with Ed - he says that he is at least one month away from playing.
Wouldn't surprise as they'll take no risks with Ed and really have no need to given our next 4 weeks.
TheGeneral
1 Aug 2011, 12:04
https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-face-Ed-Curnow-makes-when-he-disposes-of-the-footy/156466017753788
http://resources1.news.com.au/images/2011/07/31/1226105/609713-curnow.jpg
Judderson
27 Oct 2011, 20:42
#35- ED CURNOW
Expectations and Pre-Season
At the beginning of 2010, Ed Curnow was ready to partake in a season with the Box Hill Hawks, desperate to make a name for himself in the VFL competition in an attempt to achieve his dream of being an AFL player, much like James Podsiadly did a year previously. The dedicated Curnow started the season in stellar form, which was reflected in his polling in the VFL Liston Trophy, finishing second for the season. However, the fortunes of Ed could have been a lot different if it wasn’t for a season-ending broken ankle in Round 13, as at this stage, he was ahead in the Liston count. This didn’t stop Ed from becoming the victor of Box Hill’s Best and Fairest, and his early season form was enough to see him picked up by the Navy Blues in their first pick of the Rookie draft.
A perceived deficiency of Carlton’s was their lack of quality midfielders who could assist the great Chris Judd in becoming an outside player where he could damage the opposition even more so than previously. Though, despite this, at the start of 2011 year, Ed seemed to be behind the likes of Brock McLean, David Ellard and to an extent Mitch Robinson in terms of inside midfielders, and was potentially considered to be “making up the numbers” on the rookie list. Ed’s initial priority was to get over his ankle injury, and then make his way into full training in order to potentially gain senior selection.
As recognised by many keen observers at Carlton pre-season training, Ed was one of if not the best trainer on the track, often being one of the first on the track and close to the last to leave. Initially, Ed was stuck to rehabilitation and subsequently simply run-throughs pre-Christmas, as he joined in on full training with the majority of his teammates after they came back from their break. Ed partook in the intra-club matches, and was a particular standout in the second game in what was torrential weather, revelling in the wet conditions. Ed was also in the squad for the 4 NAB Cup and Challenge weeks, and was impressive in the final Geelong game.
2011 Season
Ed was rewarded for his strong pre-season, and with some luck due to the persistent injury of McLean, Ed received a spot in the Round 1 line-up against Richmond as the nominated rookie. To add to this feel-good story, Curnow kicked the first goal of Carlton’s season, and was mighty impressive, racking up 24 possessions and 7 tackles. However, what was even more telling was the fact that the superstars of Murphy, Gibbs and Judd were arguably the three best players for the Blues on that Thursday night season opener, all managing to hurt the valiant but ultimately unsuccessful Tigers with their outside game, which can be attributed to Ed’s inside work.
Curnow continued to impress throughout the next month and a bit, averaging a bit over 24 disposals as his midfield buddies in Murphy and Judd were arguably in career-best form. However, disaster struck in Round 7 against St. Kilda, where Curnow injured his shoulder in a tackle in the first quarter of the Monday night game. To add insult to injury, a completely dog act by Leigh Montagna bumping into Curnow undeniably aggravated the injury, causing even Judd to retaliate, sparking a quarter time melee. Ed attempted to return to the field but wasn’t fit enough to do so, and questions were raised regarding why Curnow would return, considering it was quite obvious that he wasn’t fit to play. This highlighted Ed’s importance to the team, as Blues management were intent on getting him back on, although in hindsight it wasn’t the best decision.
Ed was out for a month before he returned to action against Port Adelaide in Round 11 and played for the next 2 weeks, but he clearly wasn’t right. Ed was sent back to the Northern Bullants and played only 2 more matches for the season, those being against Collingwood and Essendon, but he was unable to find the amazing form which he had at the start of the year. Ed seemed to be conscious of his shoulder in these games, especially in his return game against Port, and thus received what Carlton supporters have since dubbed the “Andrew Walker surgery”.
2012 Expectations
Looking onto 2012, Curnow could still prove to be a vital cog in the Blues line-up provided he stays fit. If history is anything to go by with this particular surgery, Ed should seemingly have no worries with his shoulders, but his seemingly injury-prone nature has Carlton supporters worried and uncertain about whether or not Ed can stay on the park on a regular basis. However, the nature of the inside game is seemingly taking its toll on Judd, and Ed may be needed next year so the skipper can stay on the park and dominate just like he did with the West Coast Eagles in their glory years. Ed’s importance to the Blues was highlighted in the John Nicholls medal count, polling in his first six games and being on 4th on the count before his shoulder injury.
Key Stats for Ed
Average of 19 disposals in 11 games (excluding the St. Kilda game)
Average of 5 tackles per game
Average of 7 contested disposals per game
Top 10 at Carlton for Inside 50s
Best Game for 2011
Whilst any of the opening six games could easily have been recognised as Ed’s best game, the Round 6 Friday night game against Sydney may very well have been his finest. In what was a drought breaker, with it being the Blues’ first win in Sydney for 18 years, the conditions in Sydney and resultantly the SCG suited Ed perfectly. The first half was essentially a scrap-fest, where no goals were scored in the second quarter by either side, yet Ed was a highlight. While the night is renowned for both the Blues breaking their drought (in torrential rain) and royalty reigning supreme and being in the spotlight (that is, Chris Judd’s dominance and not the Royal Wedding), Ed also starred, racking up 24 disposals, 10 tackles, 5 marks and 4 clearances. Ed was one of the many heroes on this night, which was one of the highlights and pivotal points of the Blues’ 2011 season when it was still in its infant stages.
TheGeneral
2 Nov 2011, 14:41
A Sri Lankan experience (http://www.carltonfc.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/4311/newsid/125736/default.aspx)
Only three weeks ago I set off with a team of 10 to Northern Sri Lanka. The team included Australian Netball Star Sharelle McMahon and AFL players Shaun Burgoyne (Hawthorn Football Club), Simon Hogan and Cameron Guthrie (Geelong Football Club). We were lead by Pippa Grange (Bluestone Edge Director, Global Reconciliation) who had organized this trip and previously headed a trip last year to the South of Sri Lanka.
http://www.carltonfc.com.au/Portals/0/SRI%20LANKA%202011%20sml_-151.JPG
http://www.carltonfc.com.au/Portals/0/SRI%20LANKA%202011%20sml_-173.JPG
A Sri Lankan experience (http://www.carltonfc.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/4311/newsid/125736/default.aspx)
Mr. Ed's 22nd Bday today :)
C4[2]Yo`DooR
9 Apr 2012, 14:21
http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/41394000/jpg/_41394310_glitter_pa203.jpg
TerryWallet
13 Apr 2012, 01:26
I think Curnow will be a regular in our best 22.
Yes he has some limitations, namely a slow first 2 steps off the mark and only an average kick.
But i think he is a good fit for the rest of our midfield.
Murphy,Judd and Simpson are attacking midfielders and push forward of the contest beautifully. I think Curnow complements them as a defensive midfielder working on the other side of the stoppages and play. He has a strong body, is hard at it and has a great work ethic and endurance. And he is comfortable playing the complementing role that we need around our jets.
Watching last year and so far this year, i reckon we play winning footy with Curnow in the team. I'm not saying he is a gun or matchwinner but i think he's a valuable cog in a tough, winning team.