View Full Version : Sydney vs. Kangaroos

Sydneyfan
13th April 2001, 11:03
The Kangaroos play Sydney at the SCG on Saturday night, it should be great match and I reckon it's going to be a close result, could go either way. A lot of people have already started to write the Roos off but I'm sure the Roos will come out to play hard on Saturday night in front on a largely parochial Sydney crowd. Hopefully there should be a good turnout for the match, since it's a Roos home game. I'm going to the match with a mate whose a Roos supporter so it could be interesting after the match, if it was a particularly volatile match http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/wink.gif

I'm picking the Swans in a very close match but I wouldn't be surprised if the Roos get up in this one.
Sydney by 5.

Bloodstained Angel
13th April 2001, 13:17
Remember this game last year ?

We looked home, untill they rattled on 7 in a row in the 3rd and, although we drew level late in the game, they had our measure.

I distinctly remember a half-fit and obviously in-pain Carey absolutely ripped us up at CHF.

I fear the same might happen on Saturday. The parallels are already freaking me out.

On paper I think we are better than them, but I just hope we have got the guts and gumption to stand up and fight for this FOR THE WHOLE 4 QUARTERS PLEASE !!!!!!

no naps

no 'lapses'

no valiums at halftime

no standing around the packs watching them get the hard ball

no nonchalantly missing crucial shots at goal.

100 percent effort in mind and body - thats all I'm asking for.

If we get rolled - we get rolled and tough bikkies, but I don't think my blood pressure could stand another fade out from a winning position.

My prediction - Swans by 11, but I ain't terribly confident.

cheers

BMD
13th April 2001, 13:31
Likewise, I'm a bit apprehensive about this one.

I fully expect the Roos to be switched on for this one, as their pride will be stung.

It will take 4 quarters of effort, hopefully we have it in us.

Swans in a close one with fingers crossed.

Tim_in_Philly
13th April 2001, 21:50
If you look at both of last year's games they followed a similar pattern till mid-way through the third. Swans five goals clear at half-time, North rally with two or three quick goals, in the first game no-one stood up for the Swans and the North rally turned into an avalanche, in the second game Kelly stood firm for the Swannies and the rally was repelled and we won running away. So, the good news, we seem to have the knack of getting on top of them early, the bad news, Kelly is missing this week, the good news, several of the youngsters stood firm last week when the Eagles rallied. My feeling is we'll win in a similar manner to last week - a goodish lead cut down but not obliterated by the end. A couple of late goals might push it to Swans by 20.

Boo a Roo for me! :-)

I'm flying back to Oz at the weekend for a couple of weeks of work so I will be at the Bomber game - trust us to get them on the rebound.

jod23
14th April 2001, 02:40
Well if you cant beat them for yourselves or the fans then do it for me http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/biggrin.gif

God i hate the roos and its a whole lot of fun to see tham languishing at the bottom of the table. If you keep them there and with the Bombers loss its like a dream weekend in footy, now all i need is the Coasters to beat the Saints.

big pig
14th April 2001, 17:33
will dunkley be on carey or rocca? how the defense goes for the swans will decide the result, as both teams will get a lot of opportunities. also going a bit smaller this week with nicks replacing doyle. i suppose goodes will get back up ruck duties or maybe ball.

my tip schauble kicks one and the swans win by 7