View Full Version : Are we still little boys in a big mans comp.......
Black Thunder
9 Aug 2003, 17:51
or are we genuine players......
the question is going to be answered in this second half.
Having let the game slip so easily at the end of that second quarter, I really fear what the answer will be though :(:(
Black Thunder
9 Aug 2003, 17:54
BTW, this HAS to be the final straw for Troy Wilson, unless he can do something amazing in this second half.
After he took that first mark and delivered to Fido, i thought "****, could we see another comeback from him" but so far have been left with an empty feeling after seeing him run under the ball time and time again and dropping absolute sitters :(
and Sierakowski hasn't actually been that bad around the ground, but he just can't go into the ruck........he has the vertical leap of one of them little sausage dogs. 30 hit outs to 12 in a half is pathetic. GET WELL SOON GARDY!! WE NEED YA BAD!!
RogerMellie
9 Aug 2003, 17:57
Well it is a fairly decent unit West Coast is up against. That and the fact that you're missing your three best-perfomed players. Subiaco holds no fear for Adelaide, as they proved a few weeks back when they got within one point against us with a few of their key players out. Just checking the stats, Clarke has a phenomenal 25 hit-outs to half time.
Black Thunder
9 Aug 2003, 18:03
Originally posted by RogerMellie
Well it is a fairly decent unit West Coast is up against.
Exactly!! That's why this is the biggest half of our season. To be the best you gotta beat the best.
Amazingly we're leading the clearances 23-17, despite getting ****TED on in the ruck. Cox is really struggling and I'd rather keep Siera down back and give Cox a rest with McDougall or someone.
Or do what St Kilda did against us earlier in the year when Gardy was dominating them and just put in a false ruck to just run through and take him out while faining (sp?) to attempt a hit out.
Chris Judd HAS TO LIFT!!!! come on mate, that's six VERY quieet quarters on end, we need something from ya!!
daddy_4_eyes
9 Aug 2003, 18:15
I don't understand these predictions of doom just because we aren't dominating each and every game. WC are missing Gardiner, Fletcher, Embley, McIntosh, Gaspar and Morrison, that means 6 players usually not good enough to play seniors are running around against Adelaide this week. Of course we'll be weaker than usual.
We're still a chance at victory, but if we lose we will have lost to a team with premiership aspirations just about peaking.
EscapeHere
9 Aug 2003, 18:23
Just heard Sampi and Glass are out... more injuries?
daddy_4_eyes
9 Aug 2003, 18:41
Originally posted by EscapeHere
Just heard Sampi and Glass are out... more injuries?
Replaced by Wilson and Munro. A couple more injuries and we'll be effectively playing our reserves.
steve_rat
9 Aug 2003, 18:41
we got no hope of this one guys...
don't you hate injuries!!!
steve rat
RzrBlade
9 Aug 2003, 19:15
We have been ass-raped by injuries in the last month, but that is still no excuse. Dismal delivery for majority of the day, I mean who are we kidding, it was disgraceful.
Black Thunder
9 Aug 2003, 19:17
well I don't know what to think....
we weren't ever in the contest after that blitz at the end of the second term, but we weren't exactly killed.
Sierakowski's second half was fantastic, and has surely saved his career....for now anyway. The same couldn't be said for Wilson, who's only feature in the match was two good marks, which he kicked one goal and missed a sitter with the other.
Braun was great and toiled hard all day, and topped it off with a great last term.
Kerr was good in patches and went missing in others - likewise Cousins.
Chick and Judd were very quiet again.
Phil Matera finished off very well but didn't do much else apart from his goals, but those alone kept us in it.
Staker and McDougall we're only in the match for very short parts.
Jakovich probably had a points defeat against Carey.
Haynes was reasonable and really presented well, and is clearly the best option at FF for the time being, and possibly for the future. I've always thought of him as being a third tall option, but perhaps maybe he could just be the man..........We just seem to look like we have an avenue to goal when he is at FF.
Selwood was allright on debut, did a few neat things, but you couldn't expect him to do to much.
Cox was smashed in the ruck completely in the first half, and rebounded to be about level i thought in the second.
Jones was reaonable and took some good marks.
I think 2003 was always a pipedream for us.....we're still young and raw and abit rough aroudn the edges, and probably need at least one more year, probably two though to be a REAL force.
We're still in the hunt, and when Gardiner and Embley and Fletcher come back, who knows what can happen.......
RzrBlade
9 Aug 2003, 19:26
Originally posted by Black Thunder
I think 2003 was always a pipedream for us.....we're still young and raw and abit rough aroudn the edges, and probably need at least one more year, probably two though to be a REAL force.
We're still in the hunt, and when Gardiner and Embley and Fletcher come back, who knows what can happen.......
I think 5th is the best position we can hope for now. I can't see us winning next week against Geelong unless we get back a few stars, if that doesn't happen we will lose and have buckley's chance of making the top 4.
It wasn't a bad effort, considering.
I think virtually every player put in a good effort but Adelaide had superior players out there.
I know Cuz has been carrying at least one injury all season and i think Judd and Kerr are carrying injuries now too. Chick is clearly not right. He should have been able to slip into the midfield and replace Fletch.
Apart from Jako, BB and Siera we are very young v Adelaide, particularly on the ball, but we will develop.
I thought Chambers looked very good, Fido was looking good again and Staker gets better every week.
I doubt if we will get key players back next week, maybe Fletch. Then the Dees will want to lose to get the priority pick. We should see some top players back then and fit for the Freo game.
daddy_4_eyes
9 Aug 2003, 20:20
Originally posted by Frodo
I doubt if we will get key players back next week, maybe Fletch. Then the Dees will want to lose to get the priority pick. We should see some top players back then and fit for the Freo game.
Radio people reckon Gardiner's probably another 2 weeks away, and Wirrpunda may miss with a knee injury (de ja vu?). Got any news on either?
mouldy_bread
9 Aug 2003, 22:26
Does anyone know why Sampi was dropped?
Black Thunder
9 Aug 2003, 22:34
Originally posted by mouldy_bread
Does anyone know why Sampi was dropped?
he has been a bit quiet of late, but I'd of thought there would be plenty of other guys on the chopping block before he would've been.......
mouldy_bread
9 Aug 2003, 22:41
he has been a bit quiet of late, but I'd of thought there would be plenty of other guys on the chopping block before he would've been.......
Argh, Sampi blind-folded would have been better for us than Wilson..
I can't believe he missed that shot at three quarter time, and how many marks slipped through his hands, it was so frustrating..
Black Thunder
9 Aug 2003, 22:45
I can't believe he missed that shot at three quarter time, and how many marks slipped through his hands, it was so frustrating..
it was incredibly frustrating to watch Wilson out there today.......I honestly couldn't understand why Sampi was dropped either.
And Haynes is a much better option at FF, and over the last few weeks he has kind of made me think he'll end up being a better option at FF than some of the other talls we have......
mouldy_bread
9 Aug 2003, 22:48
it was incredibly frustrating to watch Wilson out there today.......I honestly couldn't understand why Sampi was dropped either.
And Haynes is a much better option at FF, and over the last few weeks he has kind of made me think he'll end up being a better option at FF than some of the other talls we have......
Totally agree with both comments, although wouldn't mind seeing Lynch get a run again somewhere in the forward line.
Black Thunder
9 Aug 2003, 22:52
and to say we need Embley back is the understatement of the century.
You can see how much we missed his presence around the centre of the ground when we moved from CHB to CHF, we just had no one who could constantly take a mark in that region.
Gardiner will relieve some of the pressure in that region, but Gardiner won't spend 80% of his match running the lines between CHB and CHF.
Anyone know of the injury situations with Gardy, Fletcher and Embley??
And how long till Gaspar and Milli are back on the park?
Black Thunder
9 Aug 2003, 22:55
Totally agree with both comments, although wouldn't mind seeing Lynch get a run again somewhere in the forward line.
yea I don't see why he hasn't got a run, even at CHB of FB, but I wouldn't hold too many hopes from him down back, but he could just do it.
Plus he's a big body which is something we miss. We really need him or Johnson or someone else we draft/trade for who has a really big body to be a major part of our team in the future.
We could seriously do with an Alistair Lynch, Barry Hall type player, even if their not as good, but just someone who makes a real physical presence, and isn't affraid to run through a pack and split some heads.
Even if the rest of the game is a bit one-dimensional, or they struggle in the skills department, we could really benefit from a big man who exerts some physical pressure on the opposition. Chick is a physical player, so is Kerr, but against the likes of Jonathon Brown, Warren Tredrea and co. they aren't going to cause much physical damage because they're just not big enough.
Black Thunder
9 Aug 2003, 23:06
We also need to work on our manning up through the midfield.
I know we have an attacking midfield, and rely on Judd, Cuz, Kerr, Fletch and co to kick goals, and we play a positive brand of football where "we want to play better than them" rather than "not play worse than them" (if you get what i mean)......but when the chips are down like today, you need to man up and tighten up to not let them get away.
We got done in the hit outs, but I think we won the clearances (if we didn't win them, we didn't lose by much) but we never had any real decisive breaks from the clearances, whereas when the Crows got the clearnace, often they broke away easily.
Juddyzthebest
10 Aug 2003, 00:11
This game was so odd..... we prbly could have won it if wilson didnt bloody missed from like 10m out.. may have given us a bit of momentum.Oh well **** happens. We can kiss our top 4 chances goodbye and to be honest with u im very scared about next week. Geelong have rejuvinated and we r VERY vulnerable. Did u c how many clangers we did??? Shocking!!! Look i know its proably no excuse but the injuries is all i can put our performances of recent weeks down to. Even Nigel Smart and Gary Arres said it in interviews after the game. Filling up the gaps with unexperienced players is a risky thing to do when your playing a experienced side like Adelaide, but obviously we dont have a choice.
I thought Chambers and Serakowski played very well, but Wilson..pheww send him back to East Perth.Staker is impressive as well and has really stepped up recently. I really hope we get Gardnier and Fletch back next weekend.. theyve done thier time havent they?
It would just b so dissapointing if we just scrape into the finals like last year after sitting 2nd on the ladder for so many weeks...I think everybody cursed us after having a pretty good first 16 rounds. ( U know the whole Eagles for premeirship..Judd for brownlow..yadayada). Ive said it before and il say it again the Carlton game was the worst thing for us and ever since Judd signed on the dotted line he's had some very poor efforts.
Last week i was pi**ed off this week im just upset and dissapointed. We know our boys deserve to really b up amongst it come September and to just bomb out and give up would be such a shame. They really need to win next week can u image if we sit at eight we'l b playing Port at AAMI in the finals... GOD HAVE MERCY ON US ALL!! Hopefully the Kangaroos can beat the Dockers that way we dont drop to 7th...
COME ON BOYS DONT GIVE UP THERE ARE STILL 3 GAMES LEFT!!!!
eagleskickass
10 Aug 2003, 00:18
Originally posted by Juddyzthebest
They really need to win next week can u image if we sit at eight we'l b playing Port at AAMI in the finals... GOD HAVE MERCY ON US ALL!! Hopefully the Kangaroos can beat the Dockers that way we dont drop to 7th...
COME ON BOYS DONT GIVE UP THERE ARE STILL 3 GAMES LEFT!!!!
Not in the first week of finals we wouldnt, finals works 1 v 4 2 v 3 5 v 8 6 v 7. If we win the first game (finishing 8th this is) we play the loser of 1 vs 4 i think? or whoever is the highest team left?
I dont expect us to win next week BUT having said that who knows. Still think we can win round 21 and 22 and if we have our full team in the finals we may well get back to our top 2 form and give it a run for our money. For us to be able to do this however we MUST get 5th or 6th so we get a home final first week.
Black Thunder
10 Aug 2003, 00:26
Originally posted by eagleskickass
I dont expect us to win next week BUT having said that who knows. Still think we can win round 21 and 22 and if we have our full team in the finals we may well get back to our top 2 form and give it a run for our money. For us to be able to do this however we MUST get 5th or 6th so we get a home final first week.
yea I think we just have to hang in there for the final few rounds, get our big guns back and who knows what can happen in the finals, but I certainly won't be holding too many high hopes.
But as I said, I think we were a little fooled earlier in the year. We had a great team, we were playing great footy, but I think ultimately we were still a year, amybe two away from genuine contendors because we're just a bit young and raw.
I think those 5 wins in a row midway through the year gave us reason to ignore the fact that we are a young and inexperienced team........
Juddyzthebest
10 Aug 2003, 00:30
[/B]
But as I said, I think we were a little fooled earlier in the year. We had a great team, we were playing great footy, but I think ultimately we were still a year, amybe two away from genuine contendors because we're just a bit young and raw.
I think those 5 wins in a row midway through the year gave us reason to ignore the fact that we are a young and inexperienced team........ [/B]
Yeh your rite... whats the worst case senario for us guys?? CAn we drop out of the 8?
I believe that just as a huge pack mark can inspire a side so can a simple miss like BB's have the opposite effect on a side. I swear that I sensed the whole teams heads drop when he fluffed that one. And the supporters.
I don't want to remember BB that way. I would prefer he had not played at all this season and my memories could have been of a ferocious player crashing the packs.
To a lesser extent I was saddenned to see Jako play on Carey. Jako beat him consistantly for years...but today...........I'd rather Doogs or Sierra had played on him.
Black Thunder
10 Aug 2003, 00:36
Originally posted by Juddyzthebest
Yeh your rite... whats the worst case senario for us guys?? CAn we drop out of the 8?
mathematically we can, but we'd have to be desperately unlucky, and really play **** to lose to all three of Geelong, Melbourne and Fremantle.
We could turn it right around and win all 3 finish, top 4 get a double chance and get an upset win over Port or someone and move straight to the PF - I guess we can dream :p
The next 3 weeks is a huge test for a young side. Coming in with our three best performers for the year out, bringing in some inexperience to replace them, is always a big ask and with finals on the line. It's a huge test of character, and we are going to find out a lot about our guys over these weeks.
Just on that note, perhaps this is the best thing for our future.
By that I mean, in hindsight, we were probably never going to win the premiership (we all harboured hopes midway through the year, particularly after that Lions win), and to face a big challenge such as what we are now faced with, could be something that could really help the careers of some of young guns, particularly the second-tier young guys like Kasey Green, Adam Hunter, Brent Staker, Andrew McDougall and all those types of guys. If we can get through these next few weeks, it will give the lads a bit of mental resiliance which we can call upon in future years when we are faced with a challenge.
If I were in Woosha's shoes, I would be saying (and i'm sure he is) "take on the challenge, relish it, enjoy it, savour it, don't turn your back on it, because smooth seas don't make great sailors"
daddy_4_eyes
10 Aug 2003, 01:00
I think those 5 wins in a row midway through the year gave us reason to ignore the fact that we are a young and inexperienced team........
I think you are wrong there. Best 22 available, we are probably only behind Port and Adelaide. A premiership was probably stretching it a bit, but to say we are two years away from being premiership contenders is very pessimistic. What next, a 5yr plan?
As has been mentioned, we're missing a good 6-8 starting 18 players, including our top 3, and several are suspected to be carrying injuries/niggles. If we can get close to a full team on the park for the last two games of the H&A, get a bit of a run with two wins and set up a home final/double chance, we are a chance of a Preliminary final.
USAEagle
10 Aug 2003, 01:28
I think the only bad thing Wilson did today was hitting the post.
I know that sounds like I wasn't there, but I was, and here is why I say that.
I think he was being used as a decoy today. There were a couple of times when the ball came in to him a bit over his head that he looked like he missed the mark on purpose. One time for sure, he made a sort of grab, then tipped it on to Matera, who goaled. The other oen that went right through his hands in miles of space was almost too obvious. Fido was right behind him and he goaled off that one too.
All in all, a much better performance than last week. I am upset about it - and I had a migraine as well, but realistically, even though people say you can't use it as an excuse, it is a fact. No team missing the likes of Gardiner, Fletcher, Embley, Sampi, and to a lesser extent, Glass, is going to beat a side with the names that Adelaide is not missing. I mean Essendon goes missing if just Lloyd and Hird are out. I think most of the boys had a go this week. Chambers made a big case for his continued inclusion. So enough of the doom and gloom. We get our boys back, rested for the finals and we may be singing our song at least once in September.
Also I think we will beat Geelong next week, because of what I saw and heard of last night's game, both they and the dees played like crap, but the dees were just crappier.
Black Thunder
10 Aug 2003, 02:01
Originally posted by daddy_4_eyes
I think you are wrong there. Best 22 available, we are probably only behind Port and Adelaide. A premiership was probably stretching it a bit, but to say we are two years away from being premiership contenders is very pessimistic. What next, a 5yr plan?
probably not two, but we certainly needed players like McDougall to come along, and we could also do with Gaspar asserting some authority without getting injured, and that is something that had a fairly remote chance of happening in 2003.
But the future is bright*, and as I said, this test we face over the next 3 weeks could end up being the best thing for our kids in the future.
*When you look at the fact our team is still young, has played the majority of this year with average KPP, and IMO still has A LOT of improvement in their games, says a lot about this group we have. And even our coach is still quite young for a coach, and is still evolving his own game plans and styles which our boys can adapt too.
To a lesser extent I was saddenned to see Jako play on Carey. Jako beat him consistantly for years...but today...........I'd rather Doogs or Sierra had played on him.
Kemp and whoever the other idiot commentator said the same thing after the game....Carey won the battle, but IMO I thought it was pretty even.
Carey kicked 3 but he only kicked 2 on Jakovich. The third came from Jako providing a target from a kick in, only for Wirra (who had a shocker) to kick it out on the full. I watched as Jako immediately sprinted back to the goal square to Carey. But the Crows were two fast, they bombed it to the top of the square and Carey took the mark to kick his third. That wasnt Jako's fault.
People only ever seem to remember Carey kick goals or take marks but nobody ever remembers the countless times Adelaide kicked it to Carey and Jako made the spoil? I didnt think Jako won the battle but I dont think Carey did either.
As for the game, I was extremely disappointed straight after the game but looking back on it now, it wasnt all doom and gloom.
Banfield
Gaspar
Embley
Gardiner
Fletcher
Sampi
Glass
McIntosh
That's 8 players who are probably in our best 22 this year who didnt play. Now that's no excuse, but it is still encouraging to only go down by 25 or so points with that much firepower watching from the sidelines.
We are good enough to beat Geelong and then we are at home to Melbourne and Fremantle. We still have a great chance of finishing top 4 and getting that double chance. By then all of our best players should be back and should we win, all of a sudden we are in a Prelim....so it isnt as bad as it seems.
Sure it's disappointing to be back down the tail end of the 8 after being in second for most of the season but a few results went our way this weekend to keep us in easy reach of that top 4 spot. So let's get positive, whoop Geelong next week and get our season back on track.
All this 2 years away talk is crap. If we weather the storm and Gardy, Fletch, Banner, Samps, Embers etc all come back from injury we can win it as early as this September! Were good enough. If not....who cares, we load up again next year with a season of footy behind Sampi, Doogs, Staker etc....Judd and Kerr get better. Everyone gets better and we storm it in 2004 :D
In closing....im annoyed and shattered with today's result. Im just trying in vain to stay positive.
Milkman
10 Aug 2003, 11:34
Personally I'm very worried about the Geelong game. Geelong nearly beat a full strength eagles at subi earlier this year. Melbourne SHOULD be a walk in the park, but freo will be much tougher to beat this time round. There is every chance that freo's hopes of making the finals will depend on this game. Unless we are at near full strength, plus have a sudden return to form, I think freo will win that game.
Originally posted by jod23
People only ever seem to remember Carey kick goals or take marks but nobody ever remembers the countless times Adelaide kicked it to Carey and Jako made the spoil? I didnt think Jako won the battle but I dont think Carey did either.
Jod, Carey made three goals in the first half too, and Jako only came good after Carey's knee started to be a problem.
IMO the Carey/Jako contest in the first quarter was the catalyst to our defeat.
We won't beat Geelong next week. Injuries are no excuse but we just don't have the healthy cattle or the experience at the moment. But things will be looking up the following week when we get to play the demons at home who will be going for a priority pick.
Voice of Reason
10 Aug 2003, 13:09
Jod, Carey made three goals in the first half too, and Jako only came good after Carey's knee started to be a problem.
IMO the Carey/Jako contest in the first quarter was the catalyst to our defeat.
The Adelaide supporters on their board mostly gave BOG votes to Carey for creating so many goals. I thought Jako did get back into the game and didn't lose by that much, but there's no doubt Carey convincingly won the first half.
Juddyzthebest
10 Aug 2003, 13:27
It looks like Fletch is gunna b back this weekend against Geelong. A family member of mine saw a few of the boys out last nite (Fletch, Sera, Cousins, Kerr, Read) and they said he'l b back... Gardnier not until Melbourne game.
Yeh it is fisable to get into the top 4 providing a few teams lose next week. What annoys me the most about yesterday was that everything was set up for us to finish top 2..... Sydney lost, Collingwood lost and i think we r just ahead of Brisbane in %. Ohhh im spewn! Next week is probably the most important game of the season for us... and im scared to realise they nearly beat us when we were at full strength at HOME..plus i no its not by much but they did beat Port as well. Start praying ppl.
Oi just another Q what about Gasper? Whats the go with him?
Gaspar - injured still. MDB said does not look a chance for the rest of the year.