View Full Version : 33. David Gourdis

Ize Of The World
14 Dec 2010, 14:38
Big bodied, extremely athletic key defender who has been groomed for a full back role after playing forward for most of his junior career. Has been known to feature prominently in "Hottest Players in the AFL" lists.

Height: 193cm
Weight: 93kg
DOB: 14/3/1989

http://www.richmondfc.com.au/players/playerprofile/davidgourdis/tabid/8473/playerid/20038/category/senior/season/2010/selected/bio/default.aspx

Drafted in 2007 via the PSD at pick 1 after being surprisingly overlooked in the National Draft. Matt Burgan's phantom draft had him going at pick 36 to Carlton -
36 – CARLTON – DAVID GOURDIS Subiaco, WA, Tall forward, March 14, 1989, 192.4cm, 88.9kg
The whereabouts of Gourdis in this draft is one of the more intriguing queries, as he has been variously rated as a top 20 pick right through to a rookie selection. The Tigers are definitely interested, but they would have to claim him at No.18 as he is unlikely to sneak through until No.51. He has also been linked with the Blues and as they need to replenish their forward stocks since the loss of Lance Whitnall and Josh Kennedy, Gourdis will certainly come into their thinking. If available, Mitchell Farmer will be a strong chance here.

Bio: Tall, athletic forward who is strong on the lead. Showed outstanding athletic ability at the 2007 NAB AFL Draft Camp, ranking first overall for the 20m sprint (2.83 sec) and in the running vertical jump (101cm). He also ranked in the top 8 per cent in the six-by-30m repeat sprints.
http://www.afl.com.au/Season2007/News/NABAFLDraftBlogwithMattBurgan/BlogArticle/tabid/8123/Default.aspx?newsId=53419

However others, most notably the highly revered former Tiger mod Weaver, had him going as high as pick 5 -

5. Bulldogs - Dave Gourdis

Gourdis is the best key position player in the draft and certainly the best tall forward prospect. Dogs remain desperate for a marking option and Gourdis' style which is as a hit-up CHF like Tarrant will probably sit well with a team that likes to run. Gourdis is quick off the mark and has a huge motor. He is well built and an improving and long kick. He is a safe selection because even if flops up front he has a long career down back. That pace off the mark is the key. Lets him get separation on backmen, and gives him closing speed when he is defending. Unlike a few of the other touted big men he can actually kick a goal and finish-off his good play, but isn’t a selfish forward. Will coach-up well.

He was also pick 5 in the 2007 BigFooty Phantom Draft
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=393244

Post camp, but pre draft, Talent and Coaching Manager of WA Football Commission had this to say -
He’s a very team-oriented player; probably overly so. One thing he could probably do is keep the ball to himself a little bit more; he tends to go over and above in terms of bringing other players into the game, but he’s a very coachable and flexible young player with a lot of the attributes that clubs are looking for.

He was also 1st in the vertical standing jump and 20m sprint, with results that remain in the top 1% ever at draft camp.
http://www.afl.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/208/Default.aspx?newsId=53283

His pre-draft highlights are very impressive, although it is clear he is a man amongst boys while playing in juniors. Like many young guns, he didn't get the run he deserved for Subiaco.

0hT7BRv6D4w

It is still unclear as to why Gourdis slipped to us in the PSD, however given that it took him 3 years to finally debut, his overlooking was probably valid. After being picked up in 2007, he was strangely delisted a year later after failing to crack a game, then rookied a short time later. Gourdis spent the last two years on the rookie list, dominating at Coburg during 2010 and finally earning the last 3 games of the season in the AFL, immediately appearing at home and comfortable against the likes of Kosi, Waite and Jay Schulz.

Prior to the Christmas break, assistants Danny Daly and Brendon Lade appeared underwhelmed by Gourdis' performance on the training track.

David Gourdis
David has been upgraded after a couple of good games towards the end of last year that showed he can play at the level. Has been a little bit off the boil to start pre-season, but is getting back into it. Really needs to work on his decision-making and skills.
http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/106154/default.aspx

With 2011 a make or break year, Gourdis should be first in line for full back. At 193cm and 93kg, he is big enough to play on just about any forward in the comp, but the key thing is his closing speed, which makes him an extremely difficult defender to get away from on the lead. More than this, he is too good for VFL, as shown for 19 rounds last year. Expecting big things in 2011.

Footywire - http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/pp-richmond-tigers--david-gourdis

Spluff
18 Dec 2010, 10:32
His skills and decision making aren't the greatest, but then again, I'd put them on par with McGuane's (and for that matter, Darren Glass). If he can learn the gameplan so he knows where to kick it/run to (because when he takes off down the field, nobody can catch him. His run out of defence can be exhilirating) at all times, he should have no problems. He can execute simple kicks pretty easily (and he's actually got pretty good skills by hand), it's when he's under pressure or taking the risky option that it gets a bit wonky.

The difference between him and McGuane, though, is that this guy can be an absolute defensive weapon, a la Brian Lake. He reads the play well coming in, and gets to where the ball is coming in time and time again, marking opposition kicks very regularly. There were a few games in the VFL where he racked up an absolutely obscene amount of marks. There were games where he'd take 15 marks and get 30 posessions from full back. The guy is an incredible mark of the football, and his athleticism means he can zone off his man to mark opposition kicks, as his closing speed allows him to get back to his man in time to spoil.

He'll never be Mr. Reliable like Astbury, but he can be the gamebreaker that Astbury will never be.

Ize Of The World
7 Jan 2011, 09:29
http://www2.pictures.zimbio.com/gi/David+Gourdis+AFL+Rd+20+Blues+v+Tigers+Aucf2X9oerll.jpg

The Goo owns Lachie Henderson on debut in round 20, 2010

CeltDave
9 Jan 2011, 11:48
He needs to play early and the club needs to persist with him, even if he makes a few mistakes. If he can get some confidence early in the season, I am sure he will be a massive asset for the Tiges.

Runandhyde
13 Mar 2011, 12:43
any word on the Goo? Was one of, if not our best defender late last year. Was in everyones best teams before NAB and now seems to be forgeten. Is he injured or out of form or what?

Ize Of The World
23 Mar 2011, 12:52
David has had a few hiccups over the pre-season injury wise, and hasnt been able to put a lot of footy together over a consistent period of time. He's at a stage now where he has joined in the main group again and should hopefully be in the mix over the coming weeks.

And yet when talking about contenders for key back posts this season, he only names Thursty, McGuane, Rance and Astbury. I don't really get what's going on with Gourdis, he has to be the most mysterious player on our list. I asked a couple of further questions about Gourdis on Daly's live chat but they weren't answered.

Ize Of The World
18 Apr 2011, 18:06
Hugely varied opinions on this guys game for Coburg over the weekend. I saw the first 2.5 quarters and thought he looked great, his disposal in the backline was great and he got plenty of it. Was singled out by the coach at Quarter Time as having had a great start, and seemed to get a rev up from his team mates too.

Supposedly he had an average last quarter though, and let Thornton outmark him a number of times, as well as kicking a few out on the full. One thing he has over most full backs getting around is his pace on the lead though - he makes it very hard for forwards to grab anything on the lead.

I'm still incredibly confused by the man.

Minty
18 Apr 2011, 22:58
Hugely varied opinions on this guys game for Coburg over the weekend. I saw the first 2.5 quarters and thought he looked great, his disposal in the backline was great and he got plenty of it. Was singled out by the coach at Quarter Time as having had a great start, and seemed to get a rev up from his team mates too.

Supposedly he had an average last quarter though, and let Thornton outmark him a number of times, as well as kicking a few out on the full. One thing he has over most full backs getting around is his pace on the lead though - he makes it very hard for forwards to grab anything on the lead.

I'm still incredibly confused by the man.

Flown back from end of season 2010 footy trip to Phuket with mysterious illness and hospitalized.....resut in ordinary pre-season. Last quarter of Sundays game he played inujured

Ize Of The World
16 May 2011, 19:39
The Goo was in the best again for Coburg this weekend, returning to his best position at full back and holding the tide against a flood of forward 50 entries from Nth Ballarat.

Ize Of The World
16 May 2011, 19:40
Some additional info:

- David decided in juniors that he wanted to be a left footer, and so changed his preferred kicking foot. Hence why his kicking was considered well below the rest of his game pre-draft. This may be a good reason as to why he slipped so far.
- The Goo is a very articulate, well read young man.

Player Profile following his drafting in 2007

Name: David Gourdis
Star Sign: Pisces
Aims for the 2008 season: become a better kick, work on my fitness and participate in everything - work hard to give myself the best possible chance.
Toughest moment in footy: missing out on a game in the NAB U18’s as it was the first real time I wasn’t selected for a team.
Memories of your first AFL game (or state level game): I remember having a great game in the U15’s against NSW, booting 3 on the run.
Favourite training drill: Full ground running and kicking drills
Football Hero: Tony Lockett
Sporting Hero: Tony Lockett
Which AFL Club did you support as a kid: Sydney Swans
In junior footy I could: take marks and kick bags of goals.
The day I was drafted I: was excited and proud. I hung out with my mates and girlfriend
If I wasn’t a footballer, I’d be: a long jumper, or work in marine biology.
Most embarrassing moment at school: smashing a teachers car window with a golf ball
Favourite holiday destination: Coral Bay (WA)
My life after football will be: working in wildlife or owning a business
Favourite movie of all time: Lord of the Rings saga.
My CD collection includes: a bit of everything
Last book I read: 1984
Favourite Quote (and its source): When the storm breaks some people cowl in terror, and some spread their wings and soar (Elisabeth, Golden Age)
What are your hobbies interests outside of football: Fishing, other sports, hanging with my mates

Ize Of The World
16 May 2011, 19:42
More detective work -

He doesn't have a bad attitude just needs a dose of self belief and stop needing to think that he is the 15th best player on the field and should pass to better players all the time. Take 'em on son - demand the footy. He is the one key forward in the country jumping up and down, waving his arms around screaming "kick it to him, kick it to him"

And this...

I work at the AIS and as such am involved in the draft camp testing that takes place every year. I've gotta say I really liked the look of this young fella and his sprint time was sensational for a guy of his size. I also watched his skills work and was very impressed with his hands and his reading of the ball in flight - I expected him to go reasonably early.

His only issue was his self belief. At the camp he always seemed to be a little down and certainly not as sure of himself as some of the other players. He didn't interact particularly well with other members of the testing groups and didn't project a huge amount of confidence in his interviews with club officials. I'm not sure why that would be because from what I saw of him he definitely bleongs on an AFL list. A lot of the coaches/recruiting staff took notice when he ran that 20m sprint time - but his attitude tempered the interest. If this is something that he can work on, and I sincerely believe that he can, then I think he will be a very good footballer. If his issue is resolved you blokes have picked up an absolute steal.

middy
16 May 2011, 20:07
If there has ever been a time for this bloke to grab a spot in our back six permanently, now is the time. As someone who prides himself on knowledge of defence, the Goo for me is someone we must persevere with. His body-on-body positioning and reading of the ball in flight are superb. Perhaps his biggest asset is his ability to play on the 'monsters' as everyone seems to call them these days. Can guarantee Minson wouldn't have kicked four with the Goo out there.

Toadvine
16 May 2011, 21:14
For me it has to be about his application, attitude and preparation in training, I cant think of any other reason why he wouldn't be getting a game.

I'm no Rance basher but Goudis' surely offers more than him? More Athletic, Better size (for a KPD), Better hands and surely his skills are better or at least on par.

He deserves a chance.

Ize Of The World
16 May 2011, 21:19
Agree Toady, and his form in the last 3 games of last season was more than solid I thought. I just don't get it. In Hardwick's presser yesterday they asked him about KPDs, or lack thereof, and he mentioned Moore and Thursty on the sidelines, both about 3-4 weeks away, and that we had Astbury in the reserves. No mention of the Goo at all... It's becoming a common theme from the coaches, he's the invisible player. Surely he can't have his papers stamped yet?

Barnzy
16 May 2011, 23:22
Pretty sure he's been playing up forward for Coburg the last few weeks.

middy
17 May 2011, 09:58
For me it has to be about his application, attitude and preparation in training, I cant think of any other reason why he wouldn't be getting a game.

I'm no Rance basher but Goudis' surely offers more than him? More Athletic, Better size (for a KPD), Better hands and surely his skills are better or at least on par.

He deserves a chance.

That's the only reason I can come up with as well mate. Resting ruckmen are absolutely killing us in the forward 50, no way McGuane has a chance against them. Either he is on the outer with the coaches, or his attitude is just not right.

Morro
17 May 2011, 13:06
Maybe he has signed with GWS????

Ize Of The World
17 May 2011, 15:25
Pretty sure he's been playing up forward for Coburg the last few weeks.
Played about a game and a half up forward but was back to defense last week. Looks so much more comfortable there. I do think he could have been a good CHF, but he's more suited to Full Back especially since coming to Richmond and playing there almost exclusively. In his first season with us he played CHF for Coburg reserves and kicked bags and did the ridiculous and impossible, very much in the Richo manner of things. Unfortunately he only played a handful of games and spent the rest of the season on the sidelines. When we re-drafted him as a rookie, it seems he was converted into a defender.

Ize Of The World
17 May 2011, 22:17
From Coburg report this week -

David Gourdis
Made a welcome return to form. Looked more comfortable back in his customary role deep in defence following a stint up forward. Spoiling and rebounding were highlights of his performance in the backline.

middy
19 May 2011, 14:25
With Moore going down, (not that he was playing) this is perhaps the last roll of the dice for the Goo. I have a strange inkling we may be seeing him in the team pretty soon, no idea why though. Could also be a handy swingman.

Infamy
23 May 2011, 05:24
I'd say that with Grimes going down with a hammy and Goo playing well at Coburg he's in with a chance. That's if we feel we need another tall.

Spudregus_87
24 May 2011, 01:00
From Coburg report this week -

David Gourdis
Made a welcome return to form. Looked more comfortable back in his customary role deep in defence following a stint up forward. Spoiling and rebounding were highlights of his performance in the backline.

Loving this :thumbsu:

Hope he comes straight in for Grimes.

T4P
24 May 2011, 14:32
With Moore going down, (not that he was playing) this is perhaps the last roll of the dice for the Goo. I have a strange inkling we may be seeing him in the team pretty soon, no idea why though. Could also be a handy swingman.
You foresaw Grimes' injury? hahah

Kapital city TIGER
24 May 2011, 22:25
jeez

this guy
gets some rave reviews from some, sure looked the goods in the preseason, and yet...where is he?
He was our great fwd hope for a couple of years while JR was being developed, but has been playing back since (we got Viks, Post)
would like to see him and give Thursty another roll, even if just spelling McG / Grimes / Rance

Ize Of The World
25 May 2011, 15:50
David Gourdis
Another solid effort in defence, up against Frankston’s tall forwards. Made a couple of errors, but stuck to his task, overall, and fought the game out. ___________

Ize Of The World
25 May 2011, 15:57
Some anagrams for David Gourdis -

I'd Avoid Drugs
Dig Dud Savior!
I, God, Add Virus

http://images.smh.com.au/2010/08/21/1832094/saints-tigers-clash_420-420x0.jpg

Ize Of The World
31 May 2011, 16:45
Exchanged thumbs up with the great man at half time during the Coburg game on the weekend. Yelled out "great stuff Gooey" after he collected the ball at his feet in a warm up drill. He looked up in surprise, and I gave him a :thumbsu: which he promptly returned with a grin. No doubt his excellent second half in the backline was influenced by, if not entirely due to, my careful confidence booster.

Barnzy
31 May 2011, 19:05
Reckon he was pretty good on the weekend in the VFL. Should get a run of games in Grimes vacated spot. It's now or never anyways for him, is it not? Nothing to lose.

Minty
31 May 2011, 20:27
Reckon he was pretty good on the weekend in the VFL. Should get a run of games in Grimes vacated spot. It's now or never anyways for him, is it not? Nothing to lose.
Check out his 'mark of the day' in 2011 VFL Round 9 on you tube - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1OBc26n3jq4&feature=related... he has
plenty of ability

Rustof
31 May 2011, 21:07
Really hope Dimma gives him a shot like he did with Grimes. It seems he's out of favour and if he ends up at another club next year that gives him a real shot I reckon he would turn into a solid FB.

Ize Of The World
1 Jun 2011, 16:35
David Gourdis
Very good game from the backman, who is back to his best form of last season. Took seven marks and had 10 spoils. Is playing with renewed confidence and making a very valuable contribution to the Coburg defence.

The Goo is right back in town.

Continstar
3 Jun 2011, 23:55
Ize he was immense last weekend. Took mark after mark and the last 3 weeks it's been the Gourdis that Richmond has hoped for. Adam Potter tried him in attack and it failed miserably, but back in Defence now he looks the goods

Richmond_Groupie
8 Jun 2011, 08:49
Could get a gig this Sunday! Go GOOOO

Continstar
14 Jun 2011, 11:42
was once again one of Coburg's best, 15 spoils and 8 rebound 50s shows he had a lot to do, unfortunately Port Melbourne were too classy all over the park, he was definitely not at fault though

Ize Of The World
15 Jun 2011, 11:04
David Gourdis
Was Coburg’s best player on a difficult day for the team. Had a good battle in defence against quality opponents and persisted admirably to finish with 15 spoils and 14 possessions. Provided some good rebound to top off an all-round impressive display in the back half.
There's a trend developing here.

City Search
15 Jun 2011, 21:11
If he does not get a game this week than he will be delisted, simple as that.

Barnzy
20 Jun 2011, 15:31
The Coburg Tigers pulled off a huge upset victory over the Casey Scorpions in yesterday’s VFL Round 12 clash at Casey Fields.

Just a week after losing to Port Melbourne by 104 points, Coburg completed a stunning form reversal to down top-four team Casey in difficult conditions by 10 points - 9.18 (72) to 8.14 (62).

Full-back David Gourdis produced an excellent performance for Coburg, restricting the Scorpions’ star spearhead Brendan Fevola to just one goal with strong defensive play, and providing plenty of rebound out of the backline.

Coburg Tigers Gourdis Wheeler White Tuck Power Graham

http://www.richmondfc.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/6301/newsid/116642/default.aspx

TimeFor11
20 Jun 2011, 15:43
He is in form but the above statement stating delistment because not getting game Vs Brisbane a bit ridic. He is likely to get a game this week you would think or in the coming weeks and if he fails to impress well then yes it will be it.

However, be a little patient some of you Goo lovers need to understand his early season form was reportedly bloody awful so just be happy he has turned it around his last 3 weeks.

Ize Of The World
20 Jun 2011, 16:01
He is in form but the above statement stating delistment because not getting game Vs Brisbane a bit ridic. He is likely to get a game this week you would think or in the coming weeks and if he fails to impress well then yes it will be it.

However, be a little patient some of you Goo lovers need to understand his early season form was reportedly bloody awful so just be happy he has turned it around his last 3 weeks.
You're spot on, Gourdis should have to perform for numerous weeks at Coburg before he comes in to replace an uninjured player, just like anyone else. The issue I think is more that we have had players injured in his position, and others who have not been performing as well have been given the green light ahead of him.

Ize Of The World
21 Jun 2011, 11:47
David Gourdis
Again was Coburg’s best player. Shut Brendan Fevola out of the game with an excellent defensive performance. Provided strong rebound and was composed with the ball in the offensive chains. Took some good intercept marks and finished with 20 possessions.

But we all knew that.

middy
21 Jun 2011, 13:37
Might as well just start copying and pasting the coaches quotes each week.

Continstar
21 Jun 2011, 23:11
always stands out at the back now, such an improvement over the player that was very very close to being dropped to the VFL reserves!

kicking is still an issue...i actually saw him kick a ball with his knee two weeks ago against Port Melbourne, but all the other signs are brilliant

Rustof
23 Jun 2011, 17:12
Go the Goo!

mcuzzy
23 Jun 2011, 23:18
he's got a game!

http://www.richmondfc.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/6301/newsid/116945/default.aspx

glad i get to look at dem glutes all day (no homo)

City Search
24 Jun 2011, 17:24
It's now or never for the Goo

CeltDave
26 Jun 2011, 11:46
On the back of not a great performance yesterday, I still believe we weed to stick with Goo for a few weeks in the seniors to give him a chance to settle and get a little bit of confidence in his game.

You can't expect a young player to come in to AFL and get up to the speed of it straight away, nor can we expect improvement if he is in 1 week and out another.

Give him a month of senior footy and then at least an informed judgement call can be made on his ability to fulfil the potential that the club have seen in Goo.

Ize Of The World
26 Jun 2011, 18:53
In his first game for the season yesterday against the Dees, Gourdis had 16 touches made up of 12 handpasses and just 4 kicks. 7 of his possessions were contested, a good ratio. He also had 4 marks, including a ripper contested grab in the first quarter, as well as 2 tackles.

Despite what has been reported from observers, stats suggest that the Goo had an effective game by foot, with a disposal efficiency of 75%, and a total of 0 recorded clangers. However it's clear to anyone who saw the game that he did in fact make a couple of errors by foot, luckily they did not result in turnovers for Richmond.

He also had 9 1%s, second most in the game behind only Jared Rivers who is a bit of a 1%s king.

I know this is only the statistical view, and we all know that he made mistakes which aren't reflected here, but it does look like a very adequate first game of the season for the big Goo.

Ize Of The World
11 Aug 2011, 15:45
Just in case you were wondering, Dave Gourdis can do backflips from a standing start. 2:10 ;)

ZZMuSUA_sMQ